Cocktails on the Dock – Summer Thyme Martini

If you have followed my blog from the beginning, you know that my husband and I have a summer cottage in the town of Naples in the Lakes Region of Maine. Lakeside living is easy in Maine. We do a little gardening, boating, jet skiing, cooking and grilling. Oh I forgot about our days when we take a ride exploring the back roads of Maine or driving to a lunch destination. Maybe I shouldn’t say life is easy but instead life is fun.

When the weather is nice, we also have a tradition of have an evening cocktail on the dock before we prepare dinner. It’s so pleasant sitting on the dock listing to the sounds of the water and watching boats going by. One of our favorites things is to wave and chime our bell as the Songo River Queen passes by with her decks filled with people taking a cruise of the lake.

The Songo River Queen passing by the dock

I thought you might enjoy making this Summer Thyme Martini which is a refreshing cocktail to have at the end of an afternoon. Cheers!

Summer Thyme Martini on the dock

This is not an exact recipe…you can make this cocktail for one or one hundred. It is one part of your favorite lemonade (either homemade or your favorite store-bought), two parts thyme infused vodka (add fresh sprigs of thyme to vodka and let infuse for at least three hours or more according to your taste). Pour the lemonade and vodka into a cocktail shaker with a large wedge of lemon, squeezed and dropped into the shaker. Shake hard until your hand is freezing. Pour into your favorite martini glass garnished with a slice of lemon and a fresh sprig of thyme and you have a Summer Thyme Martini. If you want to take it up a notch you always add a touch of limoncello or prosecco.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Cocktails on the Dock – Summer Thyme Martini

  1. Lovely image and sounds tasty. I’m sure we’d enjoy the cooler temps in Maine. Right now it’s so hot and humid here we’re not getting out much. Last night at dusk, it was sauna-like when I stepped outside to enjoy the fireflies for a few minutes.

  2. Sounds both refreshing and addictive–both good reasons for me to try it. XxBliss

  3. Sounds like a lovely place to be and I can think of anything nicer than listening to the water while sipping a cocktail! I love vodka and lemonade, will have to try it infused with thyme, it looks so good!

  4. Lucinda says:

    I love your martini glass it’s beautiful! I’m going to try making one of these for myself. I think it will be a good place to use the lemon thyme from my herb bed.

  5. Tom C says:

    This sounds great Karen! We’re gonna give it a try over here at SixTop. Great post!

  6. spicegirlfla says:

    There’s so much to comment… I’m envious of your getaways at your summer cottage, what a beautiful view and so relaxing! I’m loving the martini – both the glass and that drink! How interesting to infuse the vodka with the thyme! Sounds so very refreshing! And the name of the drink is absolutely perfect!!

  7. That’s right up my alley! I love fresh thyme. I wonder if it’d work with rosemary. I think thyme would taste better, but I have a giant rosemary bush.

  8. Susan says:

    What a lovely blog, Karen. I blogged about visiting Maine in 2009. It was our first visit and we loved it!!

  9. I’ll definitely be trying this at the weekend – hopefully up on the roof as the sun goes down! Thanks for your comment xx

  10. Tandy says:

    cheers! For sure I could enjoy this when summer finds us :)

  11. So refreshing! The cocktail and the view! I am feeling jealous of your summertime leisure activities.

  12. Kelly says:

    Oh, beautiful Maine…. we are Canadian and vacation in Maine every August. It was a tradition that began when I was a student in Montreal and we have kept it up with our own children who enjoy it as much as we do. Love the dock side cocktails! The thyme is wonderful.

  13. Alyson says:

    I love cocktails with herbs, especially when they come with a view!

  14. I just got some fresh thyme and most of a lemon. I was contemplating the best way to put them to use. You have just provided the perfect solution. Thank you!

  15. Julie says:

    Your summer lake living looks wonderful and so does this cocktail. I’ve done several infusions but never thyme. I have some in the garden. I’ll be giving this one a try soon! Cheers!

  16. Pingback: Rosemary-infused lemonade | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  17. Wow! Summers in Maine sounds wonderful

  18. this sounds delightful!!

  19. betsyb says:

    Maine is one of my favorite places in the world, especially in summer. Reading your blog is like taking a trip there again, and thank you! Your Summer Thyme Martini sounds like just the ticket to beat the heat this weekend, and I may try the idea of topping it with prosecco…lovely!

  20. What a great idea! I have tons of thyme and love the idea of the martini.

  21. Pingback: I Bid A Fond Farewell To Summer As I Look Forward To Fall | Back Road Journal

  22. Pingback: Four Cocktails for Fourth of July!!!! « annashortcakes

  23. Pingback: Lakeside Happenings | Back Road Journal

Leave a Reply

