The Best Lamb Burger

Nothing is better than a juicy burger hot off the grill.  If you are tired of the usual cheeseburger and looking  for something different, may I suggest that you try my lamb burger. It’s a juicy, flavorful burger topped with a slice of red onion and tzatziki sauce. I served it with a chick pea, tomato and feta salad. I have to say that it was delicious.

The Best Lamb Burger

The Best Lamb Burger

  • 1 to 1 1/4 pound of ground lamb
  • 1/4 of a large onion, finely chopped
  • 2 T. finely chopped  fresh mint
  • 2 T. finely chopped fresh oregano
  • 2 T. finely chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 egg beaten
  • 1/4 c. dried bread crumbs
  • 1 t. fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 t. cumin
  • 1/2 t. garlic powder
  • 1/2 t. Cavender’s Greek seasoning
  • 1/2 t. dried oregano, crumbled
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 sliced red onion
  • 4 of the best buns that you can find

Gently mix all ingredients together and form into four patties. Grill until the desired doneness. Place on the buns, add a slice of red onion and top with tzatziki sauce.

Tzatziki Sauce

  • 1 c. plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1 small cucumber, peeled, seeded and finely diced
  • 1 small garlic clove minced
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 1 t. or to taste of fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 t. finely chopped fresh dill
  • 1 t. finely chopped fresh mint
  • salt and pepper to taste

Lightly salt the diced cucumber and let drain in a sieve for at least 10 minutes to drain off the liquid. Heat the olive oil and minced garlic slightly (I do this to mellow the flavor of the garlic but it is not necessary) then let cool. Mix all the ingredients together and refrigerate to let the flavors mingle. Taste for more seasoning.

Chick Pea, Tomato and Feta Salad

  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 can chick peas, drained
  • 1/2 small block of feta, crumbled
  • 1 T. chopped fresh mint
  • 1 T. chopped fresh oregano
  • 1 or 2 T. olive oil
  • 1/2 fresh lemon, squeezed
  • 1/4 t. garlic powder
  • 1/4 t. onion powder
  • salt and pepper to taste

Mix all ingredients together. Taste for more seasoning.

I hope you enjoy this burger as much as my husband and I did.  We thought it was the best lamb burger…flavorful and juicy.


About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The Best Lamb Burger

  1. That looks wonderful. Making chickpea salad is one of our summer favorites.

  2. Molly J. says:

    That looks delightful! Tzatziki is a favorite.

  3. Surely the best looking burger I ‘ve seen in a long time!!

  4. Lea Ann says:

    I like the sounds of this burger. I’ve got a good recipe with 1/2 lamb and 1/2 ground beef. I love what the lamb does to the texture. I’m a new subscriber.

  5. offwhiteliving says:

    Wow, my husband would LOVE this recipe – thanks for the idea!

  6. Mary says:

    I love a well-made lamb burger. Yours looks and sounds delicious. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  7. Karen,
    This looks and sounds yummy! I’ve never tried ground lamb – but have often considered it. Now I have a meal plan. Will definitely try it soon! Thanks for sharing.

  8. What a great post! You have given us several recipes that I can’t wait to try. The seasoning in your lamb burger looks delicious and the tzatziki is the perfect condiment. Thank you so much for visiting my blog and for leaving a comment. I’m happy I found you.

  9. The Swedish Chef says:

    I love lamb burgers – possibly even more than beef burgers, because I adore tzatziki. Your chickpea salad looks great and is definitely going on my list of recipes to try.

  10. Love your lamb burger with the Tzatziki sauce and side of chickpeas. Very Mediterranean. My husband would go crazy for this.
    Sam

  11. Colleen says:

    Sounds great and looks delicious! I usually get stuck making plain old cheeseburgers, but this is a great alternative that I’ll have to try next time. The chickpea salad sounds awesome too.

  12. Judy says:

    I love lamb, just about any way I can get it :) and this looks wonderful.

  13. Adora says:

    You’ve given me an idea with your chickpea salad and my pico de gallo. My mind is turning with possibilities now.

  14. Nicola says:

    Thank you for your visit – now I am inspired :)

  15. Your cottage and your food looks wonderful.

  16. ambrosiana says:

    Great post!! I love lamburgers!!! Loved the tomato and chickpea salad too!!!

  17. Pingback: Onion tomato burger with bacon jam « makewhatyoulove

  18. leaf says:

    Thank you for the inspiration to make burgers again. The chickpea salad looks great too!

  19. mlisgirl says:

    Chick peas are so versatile! Love them. :)

  20. Gana says:

    Hi Karen, that lamb burger looks awesome!

  21. Pingback: I Bid A Fond Farewell To Summer As I Look Forward To Fall | Back Road Journal

  22. Pingback: Best Of The Year 2011 | Back Road Journal

  23. Pingback: The Season To Be Jolly | Back Road Journal

Leave a Reply

