Foodie Finds in the Brunswick, Maine Area

Brunswick, Maine is thirty minutes from Portland on I-95. From our home in Naples, Maine  is an hour ride trip on winding back roads that pass by lakes, wooded countryside, rock walled pastures and farms.

Maurice Bonneau's Sausage Kitchen

My husband and I had one destination in mind and left the rest of the day to whatever we might find along the way. We had both read about Maurice’s Sausage Kitchen in Lisbon Falls. It is a family run institution that is well-known both locally and further away via the Internet for its high quality homemade sausage. It is made in small batches using hormone and antibiotic free meat. We put a cooler in the back of the car and headed out.

The Sausage Kitchen was easy to find right on Main Street in downtown Lisbon Falls. Pushing open the heavy wooden door, you face a long glass refrigerated case loaded with all kinds of sausages.

Sausage Kitchen

It was like going to an international sausage festival. There were English Bangers, German Bratwurst, Greek Loukaniko, Polish Kiebasa and Sicilian Wine and Cheese sausages just to name a few. They also had bologna, salami, ham and bacon. We bought a large bag full of sausages plus imported red cabbage and sauerkraut.

Sausage and Cheese Selection

We loaded the cooler and headed for Brunswick. It was just a few miles down the road across the Androscoggin River from the historic town of Topsham. Brunswick is a typical, picturesque New England town most commonly known for it’s top ranking liberal arts Bowdoin College. It’s Main Street is lined with red brick shops, galleries and restaurants. In the center of downtown is a lovely green park known locally as “the mall” with beautiful historic homes on the street in back.

The mall was busy with a farmers market and we had to stop. There were about fifteen vendors selling fresh fruits and vegetables, herbs and flowers, homemade cheese, baked goods and more.

Sunflowers

We found out from one of the farmers that the market requires that product come from a thirty mile radius and is one of the oldest farmers markets in Maine. We couldn’t pass up tiny red strawberries, young beets and peppered goat cheese.

Baby Beets and Greens

Our fresh produce was placed into the cooler and we were off to find lunch.

We crossed back over the river to Topsham for lunch at the Sea Dog Microbrewery and Restaurant. It is located in a historic mill building with an outside deck overlooking the river. It’s a fun, atmospheric restaurant with a large menu suitable for both adults and children. They have at least 10 of their own beers on tap plus a full bar and a nice wine list. We had a good lunch starting with Mexicali Wontons with a tomatillo dipping sauce. We then had lobster gumbo, Waldorf  Salad and finished with Upside Down Blueberry crumb cake topped with cinnamon ice cream.

We will be returning to this area again for further exploration and to visit the Peary-MacMillan Arctic Museum. The museum has a collection of mementoes from the expeditions to the North Pole by Admiral Robert E. Perry and Donald MacMillan. In July and August there is the Bowdoin International Music Festival. We would also like to do a scenic drive of the bridge-linked islands known as “the Harpswells”. They are known for craft shops and galleries.

It was a wonderful day trip along the back roads of Maine. We saw pretty countryside; bought locally sourced meat, cheese, fruits and vegetables and had a nice lunch. I wonder where the next back road will take us.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Foodie Finds in the Brunswick, Maine Area

  1. The blog is fantastic – love it

  2. This sounds like a perfect day! That market just sounds amazing :)

  3. Bonnie says:

    I’ve never been to Maine. I am off in a bit to Vermont, upstate New York , New Hampshire, and Boston. I dream of Maine though….I guess this means another trip…OH DARN!!! I’ll make the sacrifice if I must. You live in beautiful country. Thanks for sharing the wonderful photos.

  4. Susan says:

    Wow-sounds like you and your husband know how to have a great time—just letting the day drift from one place to the next.
    The sunflower photo is so bright and cheery…….I love the color in it!

  5. Stephanie says:

    This sounds like an ideal day. One of the things my mother misses about Germany is some of the unique sausages that are near impossible to find in the southern U.S. I’m tempted to try my hand at sausage making someday to surprise her.

    • Karen says:

      I know why your mother misses the sausages from Germany. We go to Germany often, usually at Christmas time, and the sausages are wonderful.

  6. I love your food and recipes so much I’ve subscribed so I can savour the flavours of Maine some more!!

  7. Karen,
    Once again you and your husband have filled me with envy. The day sounds fabulous. Sorry that low camera battery caused you to lose some shots. Love the sunflowers – the colors are gorgeous! The sausage place sounds amazing. Lunch sounds amazing too. Definitely adding to my reasons to head to New England. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Lea Ann says:

    We have a stand at our farmer’s market chock full of those sausages, rotekool, imported sauerkrauts … I’d love to try each and every one of them.

  9. Mary says:

    What a fantastic day trip.I suspect I’d never had made it further than the sausage shop. I am weak willed and have a fondness for sausage and all things pork that you wouldn’t believe. I hope you have a great weekend. Blessings…Mary

  10. haleyy0806 says:

    I also have to stop at every farmer’s market I see-I’m addicted! And that store looks so awesome, wish we had stuff like that down here in Texas!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Haley, Thank you for stopping by for a neighborly visit. I would think you could find great sausage in Texas. I’m with you when it comes to farmers markets.

  11. Michael donofrio says:

    Wow I love sea dogs blueberry beer I want to go So bad

  12. Tandy says:

    I love proper sausages – which sadly we do not get many of here :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tandy, Unfortunately, we seem to have lost the small shops that specialize in products like this. It’s a real quest to search out the ones that are still in business.

  13. Carolyn Chan says:

    I am so looking forward to following your journey – I always have wondered what life would be like doing exactly what you do. From reading your blog, I love it so far ! I miss farmers markets so much – I live in Singapore where there are no natural resources :( Will have to live my life vicariously through your lens :)

    • Karen says:

      Hello Carolyn, Thank you for visiting my blog and the nice compliment. Blogs lead to meeting such nice people from all over the world.

  14. cabinet stew says:

    Wow what a perfect day! I am familiar with the area and Maine in general (lived in Norway ME for several years, many moons ago) but thanks for reminding of a great area to revisit- and THANKS for the food inspiration in the form of “Mexicali wontons” – my mind is already ticking!

    • Karen says:

      Hi, It was a perfect day. The Mexicali wontons were very good. We were in Norway this weekend…I’ll be doing a post about that trip soon.

  15. Monique says:

    Those sunflowers are exquisite!!

  16. Hannah says:

    There’s just something wonderful about farmer’s markets. Those beets are beautiful!

  17. I can’t wait to visit Maine! One day!

  18. i used to take drives up to Brunswick, but I don’t remember the sausage kitchen. i always wanted to stop by the mexican-irish pub downtown. pedro o’hara’s i believe

  19. Hi. As a fellow Mainer, I know how those little road trips can turn into something wonderful. I just wanted to ask you if you have ever been to Morse’s Sauerkraut in Waldoboro. It sounds like it would be up your alley. Here is a link to their website: http://www.morsessauerkraut.com/ It’s a terrific little market/restaurant that sells/serves European gourmet foods. It’s one of my favorite places.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Shannon, We have been to Morses Sauerkraut and I can’t begin to tell you everything we bought. They have some of the best croissants I have ever had (out in the middle of the countryside of Maine). Who would have thought!

  20. Pingback: When Life Gives You Tomatoes…Make Sauce | Back Road Journal

Leave a Reply

