Salmon with Five Spice Plus…

Not only is salmon healthy, it is delicious when cooked properly. Deftly seasoned, pan sautéed, and finished in the oven will produce a dish that everyone will surely like. Add a cucumber yogurt sauce and sesame seed asparagus and you have a meal that is simple, quick and delicious.

Five Spice Plus Salmon, Cucumber Sauce and Sesame Asparagus

Five Spice Plus Salmon

  • 1 lb. center cut Salmon fillet, skinned
  • 1 t. five spice powder
  • 1 t. white pepper
  • 1 t. cayenne
  • 1 t. cumin
  • 1 t. onion powder
  • 1 t. garlic powder
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1 t. sugar
  • 1 T. peanut oil

This is a mild spice mix. If you like a stronger spice taste or more heat, please experiment as this is the minimum spice I would suggest. Mix all the spices together.  

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Coat both sides of the salmon with spice mix and let sit for 5 minutes. Heat the oil in an oven proof skillet until shimmering. Place fish in pan (it should be hot enough to instantly sizzle).

Pan sauteed salmon, click to enlarge

Saute until the fish has a light crust, approximately 1 minute, turn and sauté 1 minute on the other side.

Take the fish out of the pan and place on a plate. Pour out the accumulated oil and wipe pan with paper towel. Place the fish back in the skillet and place in the oven for approximately 3 to 5 minutes for medium rare, longer for more well done. 

Cucumber Yogurt Sauce

  • 1/2 cucumber, peeled and cut into small dice
  • 1 c. Greek yogurt
  • 1 t. fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 T. finely chopped cilantro
  • salt and pepper to taste

Place diced cucumber in a sieve placed over a bowl and lightly salt. Shake occasionally, until most of moisture has drained away, approximately 5 to 10 minutes. Mix with other ingredients and refrigerate.

Sesame Asparagus

  • 1 lb. fresh asparagus
  • 1 t. sesame oil
  • 1 T. or more of lightly toasted sesame seeds
  • salt and pepper to taste

Steam or microwave asparagus until tender crisp. Drain any accumulated water, drizzle with sesame oil, add salt and pepper. Right before serving, sprinkle with sesame seeds.

This is a quick and simple meal that brings out the best of the freshest ingredients. Healthy and really delicious.

 

 

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Salmon with Five Spice Plus…

  1. cabinet stew says:

    Awesome – but mostly thanks for reminding me of another way to use cucumbers – I have about 11 plants getting ready to start producing bushels worth!!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for the compliment. I know you will enjoy the cucumber sauce. We make it with dill and mint also. It just depends on what we are pairing it with. It’s really good and much healthier than tartar sauce.

  2. Gary Lum says:

    That looks really nice.

  3. Stephanie says:

    I just picked up a lovely salmon fillet from the grocery and was looking for a recipe! I even have the yogurt and fresh cucumber, although I may have to use a different herb or perhaps ground corriander seed for similar flavor. Nice!

  4. Velva says:

    Karen, this is proof that simple is best Fresh, flavorful and healthy.

    Cheers.
    Velva

    P.S. The best way to see Croatia is to take a ferry from Northern Italy. Yes, the car rental companies do not like to rent cars in developing countries. Thanks for visiting my blog-it gave me an opportunity to visit yours.

    • Karen says:

      Hello Velva, Thank you so much for visiting my blog. I agree that simple, fresh ingredients should be the star of a meal. I will be returning to your site often. Thank you for the advise on the ferry.

  5. I love the cucumber and yogurt sauce!

  6. Tandy says:

    I love your spice combination :)

  7. Maggie says:

    Hi Karen
    This sounds like a great way to liven up a piece of salmon (here in France we call this cut “pave de saumon”) and we eat it one way or another at least once a week, so many thanks for a new recipe to try.
    BTW next time you go on a foodie excursion to Brunswick, can I come along too, please?
    Maggie

  8. spicegirlfla says:

    Your salmon sounds lovely! I too like to saute and finish bake my salmon in the oven when I’m not out grilling! The yogurt sauce sounds fabulous, I’m definitely going to have to try that, along with the “spicey” version of your rub!!

  9. Jerry says:

    This looks amazing! The fresh wild-caught salmon has hit the markets around here so I shall have to give it a try. I wonder how it would work on the grill?

    • Karen says:

      Jerry, Thank you! I think the grill would really add to the flavor. I like to put my salmon on a soaked cedar plank when I grill it so that I don’t have to worry about turning it over and breaking.

  10. jackieinpdx says:

    Salmon and asparagus… two of my favorite foods.

  11. Kelly says:

    Your spicing sounds wonderful on the salmon as does the cucumber yogurt sauce – yum!

  12. The Swedish Chef says:

    For some reason I’ve never got around to cooking with five spice – even though I’m intrigued by the combo. This looks great – I’ll have to try it!

  13. Thanks for another gorgeous recipe for salmon. This one has five spice and cucumber yogurt sauce that makes me think —Mmmm spicy good:)

  14. Jim says:

    Hey Karen, do you think this spice would be good for grilled salmon?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jim, I think that the spice would be great on grilled salmon. You might want to add a little more spice as some will stick to your grill. Let me know how it turns out.

  15. Barbara says:

    Really like the idea of finishing the salmon in the oven, Karen. You’ve chosen some great flavors for your dish. The cucumber sauce looks delicious and is the perfect accompaniment to your salmon. (Tzatziki is one of my favorite dips and this is really similar.)

    • Karen says:

      Hello Barbara, Thank you for visiting my blog and the nice compliment. I think finishing the salmon in the oven insures even cooking throughout the fish. The sauce is similar to tzatziki and would be good as well.

  16. ambrosiana says:

    What a tasty recipe!! I love salmon with yogurt and asparagus!!! And that cilantro you added..it’s perfect!

  17. Sundry says:

    This looks great! And I have a couple of the salad sizes of that plate. Love the design, but broke mine long ago. We bought two of several different patterns including that one.

  18. karencooking says:

    I’m a fan of salmon, and five-spice powder, but I haven’t done much experimenting with salmon recipes. I think I will have to try this!

  19. Frugal Xpat says:

    I like Salmon… Thanks for sharing this recipe.. I must try it..Looks yummy

Leave a Reply

