Grilled Pork Chops with a Peach and Kiwi Salsa

Grilling is a summer pastime. With the extreme heat this summer, it is almost a necessity to stay out of a hot kitchen. I think you will enjoy making the grilled pork chops with peach and kiwi salsa. The dish requires minimal prep time and is loaded with flavor. We served grilled scallions and herbed goat cheese bruschetta alongside the dish.

Grilled Pork Chop with Peach and Kiwi Salsa

Peach and Kiwi Salsa

  • 2 fresh ripe peaches, chopped
  • 1 kiwi, peeled and chopped
  • 1 jalapeño (or to taste), chopped
  •  1/4 c. chopped red onion
  • 1 large handful of cilantro, chopped
  • the juice of 1/2 of a large lime
  • 2 T. sweet Thai chili sauce
  • salt and pepper to taste

Mix all ingredients together and let stand for the flavors to mingle.

Mojo

Mojo is a sauce often used in Cuban cuisine as a marinade for pork. It is traditionally made from sour orange juice which is very tart and acidic. A close flavor is a mixture of 1/2 orange juice and 1/2 lime juice. There are many variations of mojo, some with oil and some without oil. If you don’t wish to make a mojo sauce, you can find bottled mojo in the latin section of a grocery store (Goya brand is easy to find).

  • 1/2 c. orange juice
  • 1/2 c. lime juice
  • 5 cloves of garlic, minced (according to taste)
  • 1 t. dried oregano, crushed
  • 1 t. cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste

Mix all ingredients and let sit for at least 30 minutes.

Grilled Pork Chops

Take pork chops and place in plastic bag with the mojo and let marinate one hour. Remove from refrigerator twenty minutes before grilling. Grill about 5 minutes on each side depending on the thickness of the chops until done. They should have a slight pink color. Let rest until they come to 145 degrees.

Herbed Goat Cheese Bruschetta

This is not an exact recipe. Mix peppered goat cheese with olive oil, chopped chives, chopped parsley, salt and pepper to taste. Spread on grilled bread and top with toasted pine nuts. This bruschetta can be made with any variety of herbs and nuts that you like.

I hope you enjoy this easy summer meal.  Any fruit based salsa will go well with the pork chops. We often make the salsa with crushed pineapple  when fresh fruit is out of season.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Grilled Pork Chops with a Peach and Kiwi Salsa

  1. Anonymous says:

    Beautiful Karen!

  2. such an unusual idea but i like the way it sounds!

  3. Judy says:

    I have yet to find an “exact” recipe … the bruschetta is what caught my eye, of course, I think I have a goat cheese obsession ;)

  4. Mmmmm…peach and kiwi salsa sounds fabulous! I have to try this! The Thai chili sauce in it sounds awesome! I’ve never heard of mojo before. Sounds really good though! :)

  5. koritt says:

    Yum! Wish I had seen this when I had peaches and kiwis. Guess I better get some more! :)

  6. Susan says:

    Now that looks like a delicious summer meal. You could almost EAT the picture! :)

  7. The mojo sauce sounds delicious. I think it would be a lovely marinade for portabella mushrooms too. Thanks for sharing!

    • Karen says:

      The mojo would be great on portabello mushrooms. It is not only a great marinade but can be used as a sauce with pork or steak. For a sauce, I’d add about a 1/3 cup of olive oil and heat.

  8. Stephanie says:

    I saw mojo sauce mentioned several times when I was seeking out a recipe for Cuban bread. Nice to now not only know, but have a recipe!

  9. Gary Lum says:

    That looks great.

  10. Loved this one. The salsa looked and sounded so good that I just had to do it. Luckily for me I had just purchased on Saturday some peaches, apples, kiwis, oranges and bananas as I prepare for my competition this weekend. Needless to say the salsa is a keeper. It went really well with the Honey Garlic Sausage and stuffed Jalapenos I made on the weekend.
    The recipe is also Paleo diet friendly so I will share this with some of the people at my gym that have challenges with flavor in their diet.
    Thanks for posting, timing could not have better.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Chris, I’m so happy that you liked the salsa. Your meal sounds like it was really good. Thanks for wanting to share the recipe. Good luck on your competition!

  11. Hi Karen – love the recipe here especially the mojo sauce. Have never seen it before here in London. Will be making this soon.

  12. Joanne says:

    Peach and kiwi? Now that sounds like one ROCK STAR salsa!

  13. This all looks wonderful and you are so right about this heat. It has been worse in Ky. this year than I can ever remember. We love peaches and kiwi.

  14. ambrosiana says:

    This is so beautiful!!!! I love the idea of grilled pork chops with fruits!! It is so perfect!!

  15. Love that bruschetta. And I’m definitely looking for things to do with peaches these days, thanks for the idea.

  16. Karen – Mojo is new to me but it sounds like a great ingredient for a marinade. Those pork chops would be perfect on this really beastly hot day – but then again, I love that salmon you posted too. The bruschetta and grilled scallions look really tempting too. I just need someone to step outside and do the grilling for me in this 90+ degree temperature. Hope it’s cooler where you are.

  17. Caroline says:

    Pork chops are the best. I’ve never thought to add kiwi to the mix. Love the idea though, especially since kiwis are one of my favorite fruits. Great recipe for summer! Oh, and I spy pine nuts in the background of the first photo. Approve. :)

  18. suezumout says:

    Karen I love your dinner! Pork pairs perfectly with that summer fruit salsa. I could make the goat cheese bruschetta my main coarse. :)

  19. Kelly says:

    Love this peach and kiwi salsa – refreshing, healthy and summerful. Thanks Karen!

  20. Your peach and kiwi salsa sound delightful! I’ll have to try it!

  21. You dinner looks fantastic, Karen. So much flavor going on in the pork and salsa. I bet the fruity salsa would be delicious with grilled fish too.

  22. Karista says:

    Love the peach and kiwi salsa Karen! I’ll have to post your link on my fb page, foodies will love this!

  23. Chef Jim says:

    Karen, the Peach & Kiwi salsa sounds amazing. I love experimenting with salsas and have only dabbled in using fruits in them. This one will definitely get me out of that typical tomatoey rut! Thanx for sharing!

  24. cabinet stew says:

    a heavenly looking meal. I made a peach cobbler recently and now I wish I made this…but there is still time in peach season!
    ps thanks for inspiring me to try the “mojo”- it readily available in my Boston area markets but I never tried it-i will now!

  25. matt3141 says:

    This salsa sounds amazing! Next time I do some grilling I’ll have to try it out.

  26. Pingback: I Bid A Fond Farewell To Summer As I Look Forward To Fall | Back Road Journal

  27. Pingback: Pan Fried Pork Chops With A Warm Tapenade | Back Road Journal

Leave a Reply

