Buffalo Ribeye Steak – From Farm To Table

Beech Hill Farm and Bison Ranch

Locally sourced food is what we all want. How about a buffalo ribeye steak direct from the farm to the table. A scenic seventeen mile ride on the back roads from our cottage in Naples, Maine took us to North Waterford, Maine known for its Worlds Fair (agricultural) that has been going on since the 1900′s.

Today my husband and I were heading to Beech Hill Farm and Bison Ranch. The farm is located in a beautiful spot with a view of the White Mountains.

View of the White Mountains

The farm has been in the Hersey family for four generations. Doretta and Ted have a herd of North American Bison, more commonly known as buffalo. Ted was kind enough to take us for a short walk up a hill from the original farm house to the pasture where the buffalo were grazing. After seeing the large bull ( the largest mammal in North America weighing around 2000 pounds) and the rest of the herd we went back to select a buffalo steak.

Buffalo grazing

We have all heard that buffalo is a healthy option to consider for a meal. We were informed that it has less fat and fewer calories and cholesterol than fish, chicken or ostrich. It is also 35% higher in protein than beef. The buffalo are raised on grass without any hormones or antibiotics. The meat can be ordered over his internet site. With all the health reasons in mind, we decided on a couple of thick cut ribeye steaks.

If you go to a famous steakhouse, you will probably order a large cut of beef with sides. Usually a potato stuffed with cheese, sour cream and bacon bits. Perhaps creamed spinach or a salad topped with blue cheese dressing. We cooked a buffalo ribeye steak topped with chimichurri sauce, grilled sweet potato wedges and a spinach, mozzarella and tomato salad.

Buffalo ribeye, sweet potato wedges, and spinach, mozzarella and tomato salad

The sweet potatoes were cut into wedges and partially cooked in the microwave. They were then drizzled with olive oil, and sprinkled with salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, smoked paprika, ancho chili pepper and sugar. They were finished on the grill for about 10 minutes.

The steak only needed salt and pepper. Buffalo steak should be cooked at a lower heat and for a shorter time than beef because of so little fat.  Going by the thickness of our steak, I grilled it on medium heat for approximately three minutes on each side and then let is rest.

So many countries prepare a green sauce: pesto, pistou, guasacaca and chimichurri to name a few. I made a chimichurri sauce. You will find many different versions of this sauce and here is mine.

Chimichurri Sauce

  • 1 c.  parsley
  • 1/2 c. oregano
  • 1/2 c. cilantro
  •  2 garlic cloves
  • 3/4 c. olive oil
  • 2 T. fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 t. salt or to taste
  • 1/2 t. fresh ground pepper or to taste

Place everything in a food processor and blend to a nice texture. Let sit for about 30 minutes for the flavors to mingle.

We made a healthier meal than you would get at a steakhouse and loved it. The steak was packed with flavor and had less fat and more protein than beef. The sweet potato wedges had a spicy caramelized flavor. The spinach salad had far less fat than creamed spinach or a salad topped with blue cheese dressing.  

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Buffalo Ribeye Steak – From Farm To Table

  1. Tom C says:

    Wow does that look amazing Karen! Great post!

  2. JamieAnne says:

    Wow! Beautiful pictures. Great post!

  3. Hi Karen, I’ve actually heard a lot of good things about buffalo steak, but have never tried it personally. Local meats are always the best, though – we try and buy local as much as we possibly can. I’ve never been the biggest sweet potato fan, but those fries look absolutely delicious – grilled to perfection. I’m a huge steak girl, so I definitely plan to try this sometime! Linking you now.

    Halie

    • Karen says:

      Hi Halie, So happy that you stopped by for a visit. Thank you for the nice compliment. I think you will really like a buffalo steak. Thank you for the link.

  4. Susan says:

    Isn’t it amazing how good a simple meal can be!?
    We’ve found a local Amish family that has just wonderful beef and chicken. Still looking for a good organic pork though
    Also love the picture of their farm. Just beautiful with the mountains in the distance…..and of course the FLOWERS! :)

  5. I love your photos! I love chimichurri! And I love Bison steaks! In fact, I just made a few last night and I’m going to post about them tomorrow. Great post, great blog, thanks!

  6. I would love to eat buffalo, unfortunately it is not available where I live. I only tried it once, in a restaurant in India out of all places, and it was offered on the breakfast buffet!

  7. Joanne says:

    From what i can tell, buffalo is the way to go if you’re going to eat red meat! So kudos to you guys! I love all of the components of this meal!

  8. quilt32 says:

    Everything about this meal sounds wonderful. I’ve never made chimichurri before so I’m anxious to try it.

  9. Lea Ann says:

    I posted about buffalo about a year ago and was surprised to hear how many of my back east readers didn’t have buffalo readily available to them in their markets. We can buy it here in Colorado at the drop of a hat, and even though it’s more expensive, sure is good. I just made chimichurri sauce for the first time last week. We loved it! That steak looks amazing! Great photos.

  10. Very much like the food shot, but I’m shedding a tear for the buffaloes who look better with their hides in place!

  11. Wonderful looking plate!

  12. ambrosiana says:

    When I saw that buffalo ribeye steak topped with chimichurri sauce, my mouth just started watering!! What a great looking dish you just made!!! OMG!!! And those sweet potato wedges looks spectacular!!!!

  13. leaf says:

    Looks delicious!!

  14. Integrated Memoirs says:

    Although I don’t eat beef, and I’m lactose intolerant, I must say…this meal looks GREAT! You can come and cook here anytime (Joseph would love the steak).

    • Karen says:

      Your comment is greatly appreciated, especially since you don’t eat beef. I have some previous posts that you might enjoy, especially the salmon recipe.

  15. Susan says:

    What a beautiful area! You are so lucky to have a bison farm so nearby. Talk about skipping the middleman! Your steak and Chimichurrri sauce look so good!

  16. Oh, wow. I’m only just eaten and that picture made me hungry! So good to see that you actually got to ‘follow your food’ up the road – it’s so rare for people to even be aware what country, let alone farm, their meat comes from.

  17. daniellepalomares says:

    This looks amazing. I’ve never had buffalo (might of had a buffalo burger as a child) so I need to put this on my “to do list”. Cool blog!

  18. Now THAT is a great-looking plate!

  19. It’a really nice to know that the buffalo are still faring well. I personally am a vegetarian, but I can still appreciate the aim of this. If I had to eat meat again, I think I might opt to try buffalo.

  20. This all looks wonderful. I love sweet potato fries, too. There is a buffalo farm not far from me and they serve it in their restaurant as well. I am going to have to go there now and try it. Have a great week.

  21. Maggie says:

    Haven’t seen buffalo steaks in the boucherie here in Normandy yet, but will try your sauce recipe for sure!
    Maggie

  22. Jerry says:

    What a beautiful farm! You’re lucky to have such a wonderful source for bison so close at hand. Yes. i am jealous.

  23. Fantastic meal, it looks so good! Especially with the sauce.

  24. Claudia says:

    Hey Karen, very interesting post and the meat looks very nice and juicy. I really share your opinion that locally sourced food is great! It is a good feeling to know where the meat comes from! Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

  25. Gorgeous photos! I’ll pass along the recipe to a friend who orders bison online.

  26. That looks so amazing! Your blog is amazing!

  27. Mary says:

    Thank you for the information about the benefits of buffalo meat. There was much there I didn’t know. Your sauce sounds delicious . I hope you have a wonderful evening. Blessings…Mary

  28. Bonnie says:

    Hi Karen,
    I like buffalo. It makes great burgers too.
    I’m currently in Albany but just spent a day or too in New Hampshire this week. It was beautiful. I had never been there before but Hope to be able to go again. Maybe I’ll even get up to Maine next time. :) You sure live in a beautiful (and very green) part of the US.

  29. My husband and I LOVE buffalo meat, and we had also read that it’s leaner than chicken breasts and lower in cholesterol.

    I’m so excited to find a recipe for Chimichurri Sauce!!! We bought some not too long ago, but I bookmarked the recipe and when we run out, I’ll make some using the recipe you listed. Thanks! :)

  30. Kelly says:

    There is nothing better – environmentally and nutritionally – than farm to table. And, how about those sweet potato fries… love them!

  31. What an interesting post, Karen. There is a buffalo ranch a few miles from where I live but I don’t think I’ve ever tried it. Your dinner looks delicious and now I’m curious. I’ll watch for buffalo on local menus. Don’t think I’ve ever seen it in the market.

  32. Yummy! We have lots of buffalo out here where we live and I just love it! But wow, you really make the food look fantastic! Great blog!

  33. Alyson says:

    Whenever I get a bunch of parsley from my CSA I say I need to make a chimichurri sauce but never do. I must do it next time. That meal looks great!

  34. roastedroot says:

    Nicely done, there is nothing like the freshness of farm to table. The difference is truly notable! We all should be raising food on our land, if only it were that simple…

  35. cabinet stew says:

    FANTASTIC! if you asked me what my “last meal” would be…it would be that exact meal. Beef or Buffalo steak – that whole plate is my favorite things to eat!!!
    On a side note…I used to live and work in Norway ME many years back and one time the buffalo broke loose and were running the streets of Norway! (I think they were from that very farm – which I have visited before.) You should look in the archives of the local paper (“advertiser-democrat”?) for the amusing picture that ran.
    Also a question: does that little general store/restaurant in the middle of Waterford still sell those obscenely big sandwiches? (Dagwoods _ I think they were called!)

    • Karen says:

      Yes, the little general store/restaurant in the middle of Waterford still sells the big sandwiches. I love the story about buffalos running the streets of Norway.

  36. Beautiful pictures. I love the nutrition information you provided. I would not have know that, and you truly let the meat shine with simple sides. Wonderful!

  37. ....RaeDi says:

    We eat buffalo, no beef anymore, that and fish, and chicken… it is surprising how many do not realize how good buffalo is the flavor is outstanding, this dish look delicious and makes me want a buffalo steak, maybe next weekend, have enjoyed your site….RaeDi

  38. Pingback: I Bid A Fond Farewell To Summer As I Look Forward To Fall | Back Road Journal

  39. Pingback: Simple, Simple, Simple | Back Road Journal

Leave a Reply

