Vegetarian Lunch

I had an unexpected call from a friend visiting Portland and invited her up to the lake for lunch. Lunch had to be something that was simple to put together, knowing that she would arrive at the cottage in less than hour. It had to be vegetarian as she doesn’t eat any kind of meat.

Grilled vegetables

The previous evening, I had made a grilled vegetable dish and had plenty left over. The vegetables would go into whatever I would serve for lunch. I remembered a recipe from years ago called Impossible Pie. It was quick, very good and could be made with any number of different ingredients. In no time, I had a vegetable pie in the oven and a simple salad made. It was cooling on the counter when she arrived.

Roasted Vegetable Impossible Pie

Roasted Vegetable Impossible Pie

  • 2 1/2 c.  cooked vegetables  (mine were zucchini, onion and tomato)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 c. shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 c. Bisquick
  • 1 c. milk
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. pepper
  • 1/2 t. garlic powder
  • 1/2 t. onion powder
  • 1/2 t. dry thyme, crumbled
  • 1/2 t. dry oregano, crumbled

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Butter a glass pie plate and place vegetables in the bottom. Mix eggs, milk and seasonings in a bowl. Add the Bisquick and mix until there are no lumps. Stir in cheese and pour mixture over the vegetables. Place pie plate on a baking sheet. Bake in the oven for 35 to 40 minutes until golden brown and a toothpick placed in the center comes out clean. Cool on a rack.

Roasted Vegetable Impossible Pie and Salad

Roasted Vegetable Impossible Pie and Salad

In less than an hour, I had a light vegetarian lunch that was delicious using leftovers and items from my pantry. I was able to spent time visiting instead of panic shopping and cooking.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Vegetarian Lunch

  1. I could just eat a bowl of the vegetables but the pie looks good too!

  2. Gary Lum says:

    Looks good. I had not heard of Bisquick before. I just looked it up. That’s very convenient.

    • Karen says:

      Thanks Gary. I keep Bisquick in my pantry. We get a lot of guests at the lake and we can whip up pancakes, waffles, etc. in no time. Of course, from scratch is better. It is summer living on the lake and I like to keep things simple.

  3. Looks delicious! I´m not a vegetarian but I´d love that for lunch :)

  4. Karista says:

    Great idea for my Farmer’s Market fresh veggie shopping spree!

  5. Touch2Touch says:

    So glad you posted (and of course made!) this recipe —
    I lost my Impossible recipe book, and the recipes were perfect for just such occasions. They’re magical in a way — you stir together this bunch of stuff and voila! dinner. Or dessert. Depending.
    Yes I agree, from scratch is better. But who has time sometimes?
    Of course your photos add to the deliciousness!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tsarina, I’m so happy to supply your long lost recipe. There may be some that think something like this should be made from scratch. When time is of the essence, I believe in using shortcuts that produce good results. I think the Impossible Pie is a great example of that. Please enjoy your next pie and thank you for your comment.

      • Oh my gosh! My father had that cookbook too! And I remember when I was in high school and was a vegetarian (thankfully a passing phase), I used to make this all the time. Gosh, does this bring back memories! Thank you for posting it! Now I have to make it again as an adult!

      • Karen says:

        Impossible pie is an old recipe. A friend gave me a recipe for a dish that she prepared that was similar. The basic recipe can be changed in so many ways. We really enjoyed the pie with the grilled vegetables.

  6. Kristy says:

    Delicious! I love that you just threw all of this together into a new meal. What a great friend you are!

  7. Anonymous says:

    Looks and sounds amazing! I envy the culinary gifted. xxBliss

  8. Monet says:

    Oh my goodness…I have such a crush on your blog! Thank you for sharing with me. I’m about ready to curl up in bed, and now I’ll have yummy dreams. I hope you have a great end to your week. I’m glad I stumbled upon your blog tonight!

  9. What a great idea! My Mom’s close friend is vegetarian I will share this recipe with her! Thanks Karen for sharing this wonderful dish!

  10. You’ve definitely impressed my wife – Impossible Vegetable Pie is duly allocated a place in our menu.

  11. Susan says:

    I cut and pasted this recipe and will be using it on that zuchinni sitting on my counter. What a simple , yet delicious, sounding recipe!

  12. Tandy says:

    what a great use of leftovers – and nice that you could have lunch with a friend :)

  13. Tom C says:

    That looks so awesome Karen! I love cooking with left-overs.

  14. I remember making Impossible Pie with hamburger and onions when my kids were little…Great idea with the veggies!

  15. Linda says:

    I’ve so enjoyed browsing your site as I so enjoy finding someone who loves and writes about Maine. I see your tomatoes have gotten as unruly as mine! Here’s hoping for a good harvest.

  16. Ann says:

    This dish looks amazing! SO creative and beautiful…. Speaking of beautiful – your blog is amazing! As soon as I post this comment, I’m popping in my email address! It should be fun comparing what we make during the seasons – you living in New England and me living in the Deep South!

  17. ambrosiana says:

    I’m always for pies and this veggie one is gorgeous. Who said impossible? This is so “possible” to make!!! By the way, I love the side salad, it looks so tasty!!!!

  18. Candace says:

    I haven’t made an Impossible Pie in years. You have reminded me today how much I enjoyed them. I’m going to have to find some Bisquick and make that for my family. It looks delicious with your roasted veggies. I’m happy to find your blog and look forward to following along with you. It’s so nice to meet another New England blogger. Have a beautiful day!

  19. I love coming up with ways to use leftover veggies. Great job!

  20. Looks and sounds wonderful!

  21. Penny says:

    I love your blog and this is a great way to use those leftover roasted vegies. You live in two beautiful places like we do. Looking forward to following you.

  22. leaf says:

    This dish looks delicious! Thanks for posting!

  23. cabinet stew says:

    Fantastic! My mom is long-time (40 years) vegetarian and although she loves her salads, fruit and veggies, etc; she often comments how nice it is to have a warm vegetarian dish once in a while! bravo!
    ps she tried hard to convert us kids growing up but with no success- however I do have an amazing love of all veggies thanks to her!

  24. I haven’t thought of Impossible pie in years. I probably had a cookbook by that title once upon a time. You did a marvelous job of pulling a vegetarian dish out of your hat for your guest. Bravo.
    Sam

  25. Carolyn Chan says:

    Genius ! And looks absolutely delicious – bet your friend was happy :)

  26. Barbara says:

    I had to smile when I read this! Impossible Pie…it’s been ages! Forgot all about it. I don’t even keep Bisquick in my pantry anymore. Guess I better do something about that! This was a great answer to a delicious lunch, Karen. I often have leftover roasted veggies…usually I do a frittata, but I’ll try this the next time!

  27. I could eat this right now and I have not been up long. It just looks wonderful. Have a great weekend.

  28. Impossible Pie! I have a bunch of recipe cards for those dating back to my college days. I’ll have to dig one out and revisit it.

  29. I LOVE grilled and/or roasted vegetables and think this must be fabulously tasty! Seems like one of those simple but delicious recipes. I can’t wait to try it. Hmm, who shall I invite to lunch? :-)

  30. Just discovered Gluten free Bisquick. It has reopened doors to foods like this. This seems like the perfect recipe to do some experimenting with the new product, simple and delicious looking! Thanks!

  31. Pingback: Roasted Mediterranean Chicken Dinner | Back Road Journal

  32. Hi Karen! Lovely recipes, and I like your taste for travel. Looks like we have in common a love for food and travel :) Keep your posts coming.

Leave a Reply

