Farmers Market Beet Greens

Trips to the farmers market still inspire what we will prepare during the next couple of days for our evening meal.

Today there were green tomatoes…yes we have them also, so we passed on by.

Green Tomatoes

Fresh fennel is always great in a salad… just dressed with extra virgin olive oil, fresh squeezed lemon juice, with a little salt and pepper. So crisp and fresh.

Lovely fresh fennel and cabbage

Look at that lovely basket of fresh pulled onions, good in so many recipes. Never too bitter or strong early in the season.

Fresh onions

Some wonderful aged hard goat cheese, much better than cheddar.

Aged goat cheese

Look at that stack of greens and fennel. I asked if there were any beet greens and they came through with not only beet greens but the loveliest small beets still attached.

Stacks of Greens

Todays dinner was easy. It was just some grilled sausages from the Sausage Kitchen and sauteed beets and greens. Simple and good.

Sauteed beets and greens with garlic

Sauteed Beets and Greens with Garlic

  • 1 bunch of beets with their greens
  • 2 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 3 T. olive oil
  • 2 t. sherry vinegar, or to taste
  • salt and pepper

Cut beets from greens. Peel and cut into bite size pieces. Wash greens well and cut stems off but save. Boil beets and beet stems until tender. In a large skillet, saute garlic in oil until golden but not brown. Remove and save. Add beets, stems and greens. Saute until greens are just wilted. Add sherry vinegar and garlic. Season with salt and pepper to taste and serve.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Farmers Market Beet Greens

  1. Ann says:

    Oh – FABULOUS! So bright, colorful and delicious! What a wonderful farmers market you have! I love that they have cheeses there…

  2. Candace says:

    Mmmm! I love summer veggies from the farmers market! I don’t know that I’ve ever eaten beet greens but I have some growing outside. What a great way to give them a try! Thanks for sharing! Have a great weekend, Candace

  3. Gary Lum says:

    Those vegetables look lovely

  4. lulu says:

    You know, I always throw away the beet greens because I don’t know what to do with them. I’m going to give them a try next time I pick up beets at the farmers market. Produce is just starting to be plentiful, and I love the freshness of it all and appreciate the folks with dirt under their fingernails who grow it.

  5. Very, very good food – and beautifully seen.

  6. Tandy says:

    oh, how lucky you are! A friend of mine suggested I add some raw fennel into my spinach and it really tastes great. Have a super weekend :)

  7. Jerry says:

    Looks great. I lost control a bit when I was at the Farmers’ Market yesterday – so much to pick from . . . when you spend so long in the winter when there is NOTHING to choose from it is hard to resit.

  8. Dainty Dot says:

    Sautéed beets! Lovely idea. We use the beets and greens in a delicious soup. Will post that recipe to The Dainty Dot next week!

  9. bliss says:

    Oh, your posts always make me hungry. Xxbliss

  10. Anonymous says:

    Karen,
    Love the images from your farmers market. I agree,with you, saute the beet greens – otherwise you miss out on lots of nutrients. Your meal with the local sausage looks delicious and so quick!

  11. Judy says:

    Farmers markets just speak summer to me. It breathes life into every meal!

  12. Kelly says:

    Aren’t markets the best? Thank you for this glimpse into your trip. Do you fry your green tomatoes?

  13. Mm fennel, beets, cheese…food heaven for me! Love what you did with the beet greens, delicious.

  14. I went to a local farmers market Saturday and left my camera at home. Came home with lots of fresh veggies but no photos :-(.

  15. I’ve never prepared beet greens before and this looks like a easy and delicious way to do it. They just look too good to toss out and I’m sure their dark green color means they have lots of nutrients. The market produce now is just fantastic and every week I’m tempted to bring home more than I can eat. But there are worse things…

  16. Beet greens have become my new favorite green. Our local farmers market sells baby greens that are perfect in a salad. Wonderful!

  17. Lisa says:

    Those green tomatoes look lovely! I’ve never eaten them fried – but I want to try cooking them like that one day. Lovely veg photos. :)

  18. Beautiful pics, and nice recipes on the greens! I feel they are so often under-utilized, and your recipe shows how easy they can be to cook!

  19. What a great market! I know the feeling about the green tomatoes. That’s about all I have left. Maybe we’ll get a second crop.

  20. Charles says:

    Gosh, I wish I could find a place to buy green tomatoes nearby. My mother makes a wonderful chutney using green tomatoes. I think the French are too determined to ripen them up and ship them out “red” even if it means the tomatoes will end up being poor quality/bad tasting. I’ve never been a big fan of fennel – not until I tried roasting it with olive oil, lemon juice and salt. It’s delicious, in case you haven’t tried it!

  21. ambrosiana says:

    I love farmers markets in the US. Such an amazing experience. When I was in college in Texas, I used to go to farmers markets quite often! Great post!

Leave a Reply

