An Honor and a Challenge

Roger Stowell at Camerahols/Food, Photography & France is a blogger who feels like an old friend. He has passed along a challenge to me from Yummy Chunklet. I feel flattered that he included me with well known bloggers. I will not think of Roger as “a swine” as he mentioned in his challenge even though he has put me in quite a quandary.

The challenge has two rules:

  • Publish a link specifically for the categories below
  • Nominate up to 5 bloggers to take part

If you are new to my blog, I should explain that my blog is a little different from many of my fellow bloggers. While a lot of my blogs relate to food, I also like to share other experiences in my life.

  • The most beautiful post: The Good, The Bad and The Ugly. I have included photos of my garden…flowers and critters both good and bad.
  • The most popular post: Grilled Pork Chops with a Peach and Kiwi Salsa. This is a flavorful dish for summer that is as pretty as it is good.
  • The most controversial post: I try not to be controversial and so far I don’t think my readers have thought so. 
  • The most helpful post: Buffalo Ribeye – From Farm to Table. I thought that this post let people know that buffalo meat has less fat, fewer calories and cholesterol than fish, chicken, or ostrich. 
  • The post that was surprisingly successful: Founder’s Day in Paris. Up until that time most of my blogs were food related and this post strayed from that subject and was well received.
  • The post that did not get the attention it deserved: Mediterranean Grilled Lamb. I was surprised that this post didn’t do well until I realized that  the photo appearing on WordPress was the platter of my raw marinated lamb instead of the nice photo after it was grilled. It might also be that a lot of people don’t like the flavor of lamb. That being said The Best Lamb Burger was very successful but who doesn’t love a burger.
  • The post that I am most proud of: Antique and Classic Wooden Boat and Car Show. I have to say that I was honored that this post was put on Freshly Pressed. It was such a surprise and I am extremely grateful to have been selected by WordPress.

Now I would like to pass the baton on to the following bloggers that I enjoy reading:

There were many blogs that I would like to have added to this list but in keeping with the rules I kept it to the five listed above. I hope that the bloggers that I selected will enjoy the process of going back in time and selecting their favorites. I have enjoyed going to the other participants sites and reading their posts. Some I remembered and some I did not.

Thank you Roger for including me in the challenge.  

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to An Honor and a Challenge

  1. Kristy says:

    Great round-up. It is fun to go back and look through past posts isn’t it?! Still love the picture of the “bad” little guy. I’m going to have to go through and read some of the others that I’ve missed. :)

  2. Hi Karen and thanks so much for the nomination..what an honour! Really enjoyed reading some of the posts that I had missed….and I didn´t have a problem with raw lamb but I am a bit of a carnivore :) Congratulations too to you on being nominated by Roger, well done!

  3. Brilliant reply to the challenge. The gauntlet has been picked up and flung in my face. Bravo!

  4. ambrosiana says:

    Well! You have a lamb lover here and those who did not appreciate that post, there are missing something really great!!! I think your blog is awesome and this is a great way of catching up with the posts I have missed!!!

  5. I loved the Mediteranean Lamb – yes, the ‘ready for the grill’ shot, too.
    Looks like you met the challenge quite nicely!

  6. I loved both your lamb posts. What a great round up here and I’m glad to see some of my favorite bloggers too.

  7. lulu says:

    Good for you. It has been a treat checking out your recipes and the other foodie sites you connect with.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lulu, Thank you very much. I’m glad that you have enjoyed my recipes as they are all original. I think there are so many great and talented blogger out there just waiting to be discovered. I am very lucky that so many people seem to enjoy my blog.

  8. lvaletutto says:

    Hi Karen!
    I was away in Berlin for the past few days visiting with friends and I didn’t notice that you had been freshly pressed until reading your most recent post. Congratulations!!!!!! I’m so thrilled for you! Sorry I’m late with the excitement but better late than never.
    Best wishes,
    Laura

  9. Cool list- I enjoyed looking at what you compiled.

  10. Tandy says:

    Thank you so much Karen for the honour! I am off now to read your post that did not get the attention it deserved. Well done on being freshly pressed! Have a super day :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tandy, Thank you for the compliment. I was thrilled to have been chosen for “Freshly Pressed”. I hope you enjoy the challenge…I know you are up to the task.

  11. Charles says:

    As someone who just started reading your blog, it’s nice to see a few of your other posts. I like your piece about buffalo. There’s a restaurant near me which serves, as well as “regular” stuff, bison and buffalo and they’re really, really good, as well as being so much better than some other meats!

    • Karen says:

      Hello Charles, It’s so nice having you as one of my readers. Happy that you went back through some of the older posts…it’s a good way to get to know me. Buffalo is really great tasting and much healthier than many of the other proteins we eat.

  12. spicegirlfla says:

    Karen, Thank you for your kind nomination of my blog! I’m so very flattered! I have seen a few of these and find it so interesting to view posts that I missed or brought back a nice memory. I’ll have to think this one through, but in the meantime, I love lamb and your post on lamb was filled with lots of extra great recipes too! I find your blog always interesting having a nice blend of travel and recipes.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Linda, Thank you for the nice comment on my blog. It is a blend of travel and food. Those are the two things my husband and I love. Your blog is great and I know people will enjoy what you come up with on the challenge.

  13. cabinet stew says:

    The challenge is a cool idea.
    As for the raw lamb shot- I say a true meat lover is not scared off by the photo!! :-)

Leave a Reply

