Welcome To Our Summer Cottage

Welcome to our summer cottage. If you have followed my blog from the beginning, you read “Let’s take a ride” and “Needs a little work“. They are the background on how we discovered our summer cottage and the work that needed to be done.

Our Summer Cottage

At first I thought of a white or cream interior for that “cottage” or “lakeside” look. I wanted the cottage to have that beautiful and tranquil feel that you see in so many magazines. But I also wanted an easy keeper with a fun look. I decided to go outside of my comfort zone…you see I was afraid of color. What my husband and I ended up with is a simple, easy to keep cottage that is a mixture of old and new. And I now know…I am not afraid of color after all.

Summer seems to be slipping away, like sand between my fingers. Before long we will be closing the cottage for the season. I thought it was about time that I took you on a little tour and show you some before and after photos.

There used to be a stacked washer/dryer in the family room that you saw as soon as you walked in the front door. The kitchen stove and cabinets extended into the room as well. The floor was buckled and a portion covered with stick on vinyl squares.

Family room with washer-dryer

The appliances and cabinets were removed. The floor was removed and a nice wide pine floor put down.  The dark wood was painted to brighten everything up.

Family Room

Dining Area

Dining room

We did away with the  old dining room shown in the above photo to make a proper kitchen and a place where guests can watch us cook.

Kitchen

A Place To Sit And Watch Us Cook

The bathroom got a nice makeover.

Bathroom

Bathroom

The master bedroom was the easiest fix. A simple paint job and furniture.

Master Bedroom

Master Bedroom

I hope you enjoyed the tour of our summer cottage.  The next time you are wondering what to do on a nice day, perhaps you should “take a ride”. You never know what you will discover along a back road somewhere.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Welcome To Our Summer Cottage

  1. Candace says:

    It’s beautiful! I love what you’ve done with it. Nice job!

  2. Karista says:

    So beautiful Karen! Looks like a little slice of heaven.

  3. It’s beautiful! Love the colors in the family room.

  4. I love it! It is quaint and beautiful Thank you for sharing

  5. Ann says:

    Karen – this is stunning! My husband and I enjoyed your entire cottage…what a beautiful job you did! I’m a Little Miss Neutral when it comes to color. I was wondering…being a foodie/cook who spends her time in the kitchen a lot, how are the floors holding up? We’re considering manufactured wood flooring for our kitchen and was hoping you had some advice.

    • Karen says:

      Hello Ann, Thank you for your nice compliment. I think that you won’t have any problems with a wood floor in the kitchen, especially manufactured wood.

      • Ann says:

        Oh, this is GREAT news! Hubby and I are getting a freezer and 2 desks for our office this month. The end of the year is new livingroom furniture (I’m going out on a limb and getting 50s style – brown and sage with a really cool barrel chair that is brown, sage and cream “feather” design). Next year it’s a cruise and a month in London. The FOLLOWING year is wood flooring!

  6. Wow! What a beautiful retreat! The ‘before’ pictures remind me of the boat house my former in-laws had on an Oklahoma lake…One big room with everything, a tiny bathroom, and the open-to-the-lake boat shed.
    Congrats on finding and finishing your cottage!

  7. Judy says:

    Stunning, inviting, comfortable, lovely, these are the words that come to mind. A place to say, “Ah…”

  8. Bonnie says:

    Karen, I love what you have done with the cottage, It looks so comfortable and chic at the same time. Your updates are wonderful.

  9. ambrosiana says:

    Karen, your summer cottage is so beautiful, warm and cozy!! Even though I have not met you, I can see you have such good taste and I can see that classy touch in everything.

    • Karen says:

      Even when we don’t get to meet our fellow bloggers, it feels like many are good friends. I aways enjoy your lovely comments, thank you so much.

  10. You did an amazing job!
    I love the make over of all the rooms and the fact that there is a place forf people to watch you cook

  11. cabinet stew says:

    You did a great job updating it but not “over-stylizing” so that it didn’t lose it’s Maine cottage charm. Excellent use of color. Is the cottage open year round? do you visit in the winter? Just curious?

    • Karen says:

      Your right…we didn’t want to loose the Maine feel. We mixed antiques with new so that it would have a cottage feel. No, we don’t use the cottage in the winter. We drain all the pipes when we close it down for the season. Believe it or not, most of the town closes down after Columbus day.

  12. Looks lovely! Beautiful, fresh colors. I would love to drive through New England. Some day when my little ones are a bit older and more appreciative of the outdoor beauty.

  13. Charles says:

    Beautiful – such a lovely place to spend summer… I love the little seat where you can “sit and watch the kitchen action”. The grass outside too in the first picture… looks so tranquil and peaceful!

  14. Gary Lum says:

    Gorgeous. That looks like a lovely place to spend summers.

  15. Hi Karen, your summer cottage is lovely and it emanates peace. Is a place to build new memories and enjoy the remembrance of the old ones, Congratulation, obviously your talent goes beyond the kitchen, must consider a Blog about interior design.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your kind comment. Memories are being made at the cottage. My original plans for this blog was to write about a lot of different topics. I’m happy that I have gotten a nice response to this post as I have so many foodies among my readers.

      • Me too was planning to write about different things, (let it simmer, meanwhile lets talk about other things…) but can’t find the time or the appropriate topic…

  16. I love the use of the bright colors! It really adds a lot of life to your getaway.

  17. lulu says:

    No wonder you enjoy your lake place. It looks like a very cozy place to be and the dining room table is just right for all those guests you entertain. Good for you for stepping out with color!

  18. Wow! Not sure how you had the time to do all the updates and color changes with the many trips you have made. The place looks fabulous! Love the color and the guest hang out near the kitchen. It is so welcoming and peaceful.

    • Karen says:

      Hello Valerie, Thank you for your compliment. I guess you can say that I never have a dull moment. The cozy area keeps guests happy and we can continue to visit while cooking.

  19. Tandy says:

    you have done an amazing job! I just love the family room and may have to borrow the idea of different fabrics for our study :)

  20. Caroline says:

    Love the cottage so much! Great kitchen, and that white wicker couch is adorable. I would never want to leave. :)

  21. Lisa says:

    Wow, Karen.
    It looks absolutely beautiful! I love the look of the kitchen! It looks spacious. And what a relaxing style in the master bedroom.

    It looks like a lot of effort has gone into your cottage – you must be proud of your hard work! :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lisa, Thank you for you very nice compliment. Thank goodness the cottage is small so that we could make it nice but not fancy. It was a labor of love.

  22. Monique says:

    Your audacious color choices have charmed me:)

    This place is adorable.
    What a sweet life..love what you did with every single room..These photos just make me want to see more:)
    Love that ottoman on the rug w/ the print..oh so fresh and cute..

    The cottage looks perfect.More please:)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Monique, I’m so glad that you enjoyed seeing the cottage. Thank you for your lovely comments. We love the ottoman…it’s on castors. When we have company, I can move it next to our window wall, put some pillows on it and it becomes more seating.

  23. It looks so peaceful and homely and welcoming – what a fabulous place to spend happy times with loved ones.

  24. shawnhirtle says:

    Hi Karen,

    It was really enjoyable seeing your tour. How long have you been working on the cottage to give it your updates and style?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Shawn, I am so happy that you enjoyed the tour of our little cottage. Everything was done within a year although we are always on the lookout for small finds to make it more homey.

  25. Christina says:

    What a beautiful cottage! I love all the pictures that you have shared. :)

  26. What a wonderful tour! I love how much work you put into this. Just such a charming place.

  27. Susan says:

    Karen-wow!! Beautiful! You’ve done a terrific job! So light and airy. And of course, I have to comment on the wall color–I have the same. Sometimes it almost “glows” in the rooms and I love it so. It must be very hard to close that up for the year. Just lovely.

  28. joshuafagans says:

    What a wonderful looking getaway, I am definitely jealous!

  29. CorkAndSpoon says:

    The colors in the master bedroom contrast beautifully with your headboard. Absolutely lovely!

Leave a Reply

