Falling Leaves Of Red And Gold

Glorious fall has returned to our orchard and it is wonderful. The leaves are just beautiful on our Japanese Maple tree, which always gives us a great show this time of the year.

The Japanese Maple In Fall Color

In my earlier post, If you don’t like the weather in New England, wait five minutes, you know that we had a record setting snow before Halloween. It is not that New Englanders don’t expect or like snow but it was just to early. The snow has melted except for a few patches where there isn’t much sun. The leaves that were covered by eight inches of snow can now be mulched.

The Snow Is Almost Gone

There is a lot of tree trimming and removal that has to be done. The weight of the snow ripped some of the apples trees right out of the ground and others were broken in half.

Uprooted Apple Tree

As I was out on my garden tractor mulching, I had some visitors that I thought you might enjoy seeing.

The Wild Turkeys Don't Seem Worried About Thanksgiving

You would think that we had a turkey farm. There are about fifty turkeys in the orchard everyday.

Deer In The Orchard

We always have a lot of deer because of the apples and all the green grass. They are staying in the woods more now that it is hunting season but venture into the orchard early in the morning and late afternoon.

I am so happy that beautiful fall weather has returned so that I can be out in the orchard to enjoy it. Maybe there will still be time to make an apple pie. I hope that you enjoy the photos from a day in my life in New Hampshire. Autumn greetings to everyone and I hope your day is as nice as mine.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

83 Responses to Falling Leaves Of Red And Gold

  1. Amy says:

    wow, the colors on that tree are absolutely beautiful!!! I love fall :)

  2. Beautiful photos! Glad you are having more seasonal weather! We have been in the high 60′s and low 70′s, but everything changes tonight! Tomorrow’s high will be 45! I’m sure a few more warm days will return later in the month!

  3. spicegirlfla says:

    How sad for the apple trees! Are you able to save them? The colors of fall are just gorgeous and so is being able to see deer and turkey roaming free!

    • Karen says:

      HI Linda, Unfortunately we have probably lost at least twenty trees and there are more that are so large that they can’t be pulled back up. This is the worst time of the year to prune so we will only cut what is absolutely necessary and see what survives come spring. We have hundreds of trees but it is always hard to see this kind of damage. A lot of people had trees come down on their homes so we were lucky there. I never get tired of enjoying all the wonders that surround us here in New Hampshire.

  4. Love the photos – ‘your’ turkeys let you get that close? The ones at our place run the mintue they see us…

    • Karen says:

      The turkeys think they own this place. They don’t seem to be afraid of me or the noise of my tractor. You have to wait for them to slowly cross the road right in front of your car.

  5. How wonderful to be surrounded by such beautiful trees and amazing colours. How do the apple trees survive winter if this was only one fall of snow! It’s also great to see the deer in the orchard – such a different picture for us in Oz.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jenny, This is such a beautiful time in New Hampshire. People come from all over the world to enjoy our fall color. The reason that we had such damage to the trees is because the snow came so early. Our apple trees not only had all their leaves but were still loaded with apples. There was 8 inches of very heavy wet snow that the leaves collected on the trees. The weight either broke the large branches or brought the whole trees down. This happened with other kind of trees as well…hundred year old trees came crashing down all over New England.

  6. a lovely post Karen, and such beautiful pictures of your orchard and your visitors, and your day. Thanks

    • Karen says:

      Hi Claire, Thank you for your compliment. I’m happy that you enjoyed the pictures. I was hoping that my readers my enjoy seeing a little more about our home in New Hampshire.

      • Oh I definitely do, from the lows of fallen trees to the highs of seeing wild turkeys. The latter is not something I ever get to see around here !

      • Karen says:

        Thank you Claire, I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the post. This is the largest amount of turkeys that we have had in the orchard. There are over fifty at last count.

  7. Karen Harris says:

    Beautiful photos. I’m sure the turkeys thought that with all the snow it must be at least December and they surely made it through Thanksgiving and were home free. I would love to look out my window and see all of that fall splendor. Thanks for sharing it.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Karen, Thank you for visiting another Karen’s blog. I’m so happy that you enjoyed the post…we do have a beautiful fall. I love your theory that the turkeys think it is December because of the snow. Actually, I think they would do anything for the apples in the orchard. To heck with being the Thanksgiving guest most often invited to a table.

  8. Robin says:

    It’s so nice that the fall weather has returned after that storm! We are also enjoying some beautiful weather and colorful trees.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Robin, Thank you for your visit and comment. I want to let you know that your name is special to me as that is my daughter’s name. Fall is the most beautiful of all seasons in so much of our country.

  9. Ann says:

    SO beautiful! I’m sorry you lost some apple trees – but nature certainly abounds at your place!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ann, We certainly live with nature in all its glory. Actually, each and every season is beautiful…it is just that fall is so spectacular.

  10. Oh look at how the red complements the yellow of the house. Great photos.

  11. ChgoJohn says:

    Wonderful post, Karen, although I’m sorry to read of all the storm damage to your apple trees, among others, I’m sure. Our temps have been dropping all afternoon and it looks like we may get the season’s first snow overnight. I wouldn’t mind if Old Man Winter got here a little late this year — and I’m pretty sure you would have agreed, if given the chance.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you John for your nice compliment. Yes, I think we all would like our first snow to be much later than it has been coming to much of our country. I know we all love snow for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day for the wonderful atmosphere it gives to that special time of the year. After that, living in the north we know what we are in store for the next several months.

  12. lulu says:

    Colorwise, fall kinda skipped us on the coast of Maine. The leaves pretty much went from green to brown with little hints of color. Some people say it was the wind from Irene that dried the trees out. Who knows?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lulu, We were lucky to have some early color at the cottage in Maine…maybe because of the lake and the winds coming down from Mt. Washington. On the Boston channel they said it was the worst year for color in 25 years.

  13. Lea Ann says:

    It’s so interesting about the Japanese Maples. I have 4 planted in our yard. They look like Bonsai trees next to the one in your photo. Even small, they are my favorite and I love them. And I must say, “Nothing runs like a Deere”. Great post and beautiful photos.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lea Ann, Japanese maples are so beautiful. I have no idea how old ours is but it is special. We had it cabled after the ice storm several years ago to keep it from splitting in half. I’m glad you like my Deere…it was a birthday present. Not every girl gets a John Deere for her birthday…priceless.

  14. We are well past the red splendor of Autumn up here in the north… I could only dream of having such beautiful land, trees and a Japanese maple like yours. Gorgeous photos.. oh, and the turkeys… that is so cool! If you decide to make an apple pie… I’ll be watching your blog for it!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your lovely comment. We really love our New Hampshire home, especially since itwas built in the 1730′s. So much history on this land.

  15. Loved this post about fall – my favorite season!

  16. Charles says:

    So pretty, and you’re so lucky having nature literally “in your backyard” – I’d always thought all turkeys were “domesticated” to be honest… Can you hunt wild turkeys in the same way as other things? What do they taste like? Sorry about the smashed up apple trees – you don’t seem short of apples though, although it’s always sad to have damage like this.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charles, We really do have an abundance of wildlife in our backyard. Yes, there is a short turkey hunting season with bow and arrow and some towns allow hunting with a shotgun. I have not had wild turkey but a friend has and says that it tastes the same as domesticated. You are right…we still have hundreds of trees. The sad part is that our orchard is mostly antique varieties that not common anymore.

  17. Sue says:

    What a shame about the apple trees. We have an orchard (ancient) also, and the wildlife it brings in is amazing. This years crop of apples was so bountiful we’re wondering if it’s going to be a harsh winter.
    Hubby doesn’t hunt-we love to watch the deer come in…Great shots of your critters

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sue, Yes an orchard brings lots of critters. I hope an abundance of apples doesn’t predict a harsh winter, although people do say that about acorns. I wonder what the Farmer’s Almanac would say.

  18. Tandy says:

    how lovely that the deer can enjoy the apples that fell :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tandy, The deer do eat some of the fallen apples but they also pull them off the trees. It is really funny to see them walk on their hind legs reaching for apples high in the trees.

  19. ladyfi says:

    What gorgeous photos!

  20. lovely photographs, Karen. It has been a pretty fall here in Nashville-and certainly milder. I love seeing all the wildlife you have!

  21. Eri says:

    Hello Karen, thank you so much for visiting my blog, I really appreciate it.
    It’s so nice to be here, You have such an interesting blog, filled with lovely nature pictures!
    I love fall, it’s such a beautiful season, I cant get enough of it! You’re so lucky living in such a place.
    You’ll see me here often!
    Have a nice day!

  22. Kristy says:

    Oh Karen! These pictures are just beautiful. You gave me a touch of home sickness for our last home. We had a beautiful wooded lot that was always full of deer and sometimes even the wild turkeys. While I’m happy to be around family again, I do miss the beauty that was all around us there. I think I’ll take a moment to go look at our trees now…they too are bright red and yellow. (And I can’t believe that poor apple tree! That was some snow storm.)

  23. The leaves on that tree look absolutely amazing. Al of your photos look amazing.. and you shot them with great lighting. Very nice post

    • Karen says:

      Hi Babygirl, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. Our Japanese maple always puts on a spectacular show this time of the year.

  24. Japanese Maples are so gorgeous–you are fortunate to have one. Great post! Glad you get to enjoy a few more days of Fall. Today we have had rain, hail, sleet, snow and sunshine–all in one day–sometimes I swear it was all at the same time.

  25. Mary says:

    What wonderful photos. I love your property turkeys and al :-) l. It’s a shame you lost trees to the storm. That always breaks my heart. I hope you have a great evening.Blessings…Mary

    • Karen says:

      Thank you so much Mary. No matter how many trees you have, you hate to see them go like this. Especially since they were antique varieties that can’t be replaced. We do have a lovely piece of property in New Hampshire. We are on the highest point in our lithe town and have a lovely view of the Presidential Mountains in the background. I don’t think I can take a photo that would do the view justice. The one nice thing is that it is so peaceful…just the sounds of mother nature.

  26. Emily Gooch says:

    Beautiful images Karen. I lived in Rhode Island many years ago and New England definitely have the most amazing foliage colors than anywhere else I’ve been to. And looks like you don’t have to worry about the store running out of turkeys for Thanksgiving. ;)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Emily, New England does seem to have the best color for fall. You are right…I don’t have to worry about a turkey shortage. Thank you for your compliment on the photos. Mine pale in comparison to what you take. I would love to take lessons someday.

  27. We have some fall colors in Utah (a temporary stop of us), but it’s nothing compared to the glorious colors you have in NE. :-)

  28. Sissi says:

    Karen, thank you once more for visiting my blog. I am so happy I met you! Your blog is extremely interesting and particularly eclectic. When I saw the first photo I thought “it reminds of of Japanese Autumn photos” and then I saw the name of the maple ;-) I would love to have such colours in front of my window.
    Have you ever had wild turkey? I wonder how it tastes… I have never found even any free-range turkey meat here (of course wild turkeys don’t live in Europe) and since I stopped eating battery chickens and other animal reared in cages several years ago, I stopped buying turkey.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sissi, Thank you for your very nice compliment. I had seen your comments on many of the blogs I read and am indeed happy to meet you as well. I have not eaten wild turkey but some of our friends have. They say there is not difference in taste between wild and domesticated.

  29. Hello Karen,
    The photographs are so beautiful, trees, deer, wild turkeys (you made laugh with those not worrying about thanksgiving)… Your place is so so nice.
    Thanks for sharing!

  30. Karen, your beautiful photos make me more determined than ever to make a point of seeing the colors in New England. I especially love the photo of the Japanese maple in front of the yellow house (I simply adore yellow houses!).

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jean, Thank you for your comment. Our yellow house always gets comments. We discovered this original color when we restored the 1730′s house. it is beautiful when surrounded by snow against a brilliant blue sky.

  31. I love Japanese Maples. They are stunningly beautiful. Fall is my favorite season – you wake up one day and all the trees are technicolor reds and oranges and yellows.

  32. Amazing photos – we just don´t get colorus like that in Andalucia. And we certainly don´t get deer in our back garden (just the odd wild boar or hungry mountain goat!). Do hope some of those damaged trees can be saved…such a shame.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tanya, Thank you for your nice compliment. If we had a wild boar in our backyard, I know my husband would go hunting. We love wild boar whenever we see it on a restaurant menu. If some of the trees survive through the winter, we will try pulling them up with the tractor and stack in the spring.

  33. renee says:

    Wow, what an incredible place you live in! Do you buy your turkey????

    • Karen says:

      Hi Renee, Thank you for your comment. We are so lucky to live on such a wonderful piece of property. A 1730′s house with an apple orchard. Actually we are invited to friends for Thanksgiving so the turkeys are safe. If it wasn’t for all the feathers, I might be tempted to try one of our visitors.

  34. cabinet stew says:

    Ahh the turkeys – Always so funny to me how they come out of hiding the most during hunting season. My mother and friends all have them visiting in their backyard – I have yet to see any down here in Lynn, Ma (but we did get a woodchuck -which I still can’t believe to this day!) I consider turkeys the “nerds” of the bird world – all gawky and funny looking! LOL
    As for the apple trees – after you assess the survivors in the spring – you should (and you were probably already going to do so) cut it up for cord wood. BUT I also think you should consider chunking or chipping some for smoking meats on the grill. Folks would pay good money to have access to all that fruit wood for their smokers!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Carol, Turkeys are really funny…you should see how funny looking they are balancing in our crabapple trees. They consider those two trees the best in the orchard. I have thought about selling apple wood from all the spring pruning but it would be hard to do.

  35. Wow, that Japanese Maple looks incredible! My boyfriend’s parents went to Connecticut to see the fall colours this year, they said it was BEAUTIFUL! It’s pretty amazing here in the UK, but looks to be something else over there with you guys!

  36. That tree is gorgeous.
    Looks like you’ve having really nice views at the moment.

  37. Janice says:

    What a beautiful New England home you have, and everything looks so lovely in the autumn. I visited New England once – about twenty years ago – and would love to return one day. Unfortunately we were there just too soon to see the leaves turning red. Thanks for visiting / commenting on my blog.

  38. Pingback: Spring…I Think Not | Back Road Journal

Leave a Reply

