Seared Sesame Tuna With Hoisin Glazed Baby Bok Choy and Fried Rice

Seared sesame tuna with hoisin glazed baby bok choy and fried rice doesn’t sound like a fall or pre Thanksgiving meal but I’m in training for a marathon. An eating marathon, that is. Next week my husband and I will be eating foods that we don’t normally eat. From appetizers to desserts, we will be eating traditional but rich foods with lots of calories. I’m sure it will be the same with all of you.

Every athlete has to prepare for a marathon and we are no different. In order to be ready for overstuffing ourselves like a turkey, we are eating light and healthy meals with lots of salads, chicken and fish. When the big day comes, we won’t feel guilty eating a nice slice of pecan pie at the end of a large meal.

The seared sesame tuna with hoisin glazed baby bok choy and fried rice is a fast and healthy meal that is easy to prepare. Fresh tuna is one of the lightest tasting fish varieties with an almost meat like texture. Make sure that you buy the freshest sushi grade tuna for this meal.

Seared Sesame Tuna and Hoisin Glazed Baby Bok Choy and Fried Rice Served with Pickles Ginger and Wasabi

Seared Sesame Tuna

2 Tbsp. toasted sesame seeds                                                                                                          A sushi grade piece of tuna about 1 inch thick                                                                               1 Tbsp. peanut oil

Take the tuna out of the refrigerator and warm up to almost room temperature. Cut the tuna into 1″ x 1″ sticks and rub with the oil. Put a drop of oil in a very hot  nonstick pan and add the tuna. Sear the tuna on each side anywhere from 15 seconds to 1 minute, depending on how rare you like your tuna. Roll tuna in the toasted sesame seeds and cut on the bias. Serve with pickled ginger and wasabi and soy sauce.

Fried Rice

  • 1 Tbsp. peanut oil
  • 1/2 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 small can of sliced water chestnuts, drained and rinsed
  • 2 c. cold rice (better if prepared the day before – left over rice will be drier than freshly cooked)
  • 1 stalk of celery, finely diced
  • 1 clove of garlic, grated
  • 1 tsp. grated ginger
  • 1 Tbsp. fish sauce
  • 2 to 3 Tbsp. soy sauce (or to taste)
  • 1/2 tsp. white pepper
  • 1 tsp. sesame oil
  • 1 carrot, made into shavings with a vegetable peeler
  • 1 small bunch of green onions, sliced on the diagonal
  • 2 Tbsp. chopped cilantro (parsley can be substituted)

Heat the peanut oil in a hot pan and add the onion and sauté until translucent. Add the water chestnuts and rice and cook until heated through. Add the celery, garlic, and ginger and cook for one minute. Add the fish and soy sauce, pepper and sesame oil and mix well. Taste for additional seasonings. When ready  to serve, add the carrot, green onions and cilantro.

Hoisin Glazed Baby Bok Choy

Steam two baby bok choy per person until tender crisp. Glaze the bok choy with hoisin sauce thinned with a little rice wine vinegar and cook in a hot pan until caramelized.

This meal comes together fast. It has wonderful asian flavors and you leave the table happy and not overly stuffed. But Thanksgiving day is fast approaching and when it comes I’ll eat that slice of pecan pie without guilt.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to Seared Sesame Tuna With Hoisin Glazed Baby Bok Choy and Fried Rice

  1. Kristy says:

    Oh! I love tuna! Unfortunately Mike doesn’t. This looks just wonderful too – and perfect for the lead up to Thanksgiving. I too have been preparing – light meals, soups, and lots of exercise! :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristy, Thank you for the nice comment. This meal would be just as good with a piece of salmon. I think we are all preparing for the big eating day.

  2. I’ve been looking for a fried rice recipe:) The seared tuna is a favorite of mine in restaurants… thanks for the dinner recipes:) Enjoy your Thanksgiving!

  3. Carolyn Chan says:

    Your tuna looks absolutely perfectly cooked. Forget it being light on calories, this looks delicious !

  4. Deirdre Reid says:

    I’m so thankful to find a new way to prepare baby bok choy! That sounds delicious, thanks!

  5. Bonnie says:

    Karen,
    This looks fabulous. We’re always looking for new flavors. And we love bok choy. Thanks for the recipes.

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    Tuna and fried rice is a fantastic combination. I love what you have done here. It is inspiring and the photo is beautiful.
    Conor

  7. Lea Ann says:

    What a beautiful restaurant quality meal. Don’t think I’ve ever mastered seared tuna, looks like you got yours perfect. I’m a big fried rice fan and I’m loving that baby bok choy. Same at our house. Lean meats and lots of veggies this past week.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lea Ann, Seared tuna is very popular in restaurants but is much less expensive when prepared at home. I think cutting the tuna into pieces helps get even cooking. I also think a very hot nonstick skillet and oiling the tuna is important. Watching what you eat before a holiday really helps.

  8. Sissi says:

    Karen, I love your idea to prepare oneself for a very rich and abundant eating marathon! I will remember your advice before Christmas (although here healthy meals are traditional: mostly seafood and fish… but sweets and cakes are abundant!). Tuna is one of my favourite fish varieties, I also prefer it rare or raw. As for sesame seeds, I put them practically everywhere! (Not only in Asian dishes). In short, thank you for the excellent idea.

  9. That made me laugh! The recipe made my mouth water!

  10. Oh and we eat seafood on Christmas Eve too, just saw your comment to Sissi.

    • Karen says:

      We do eat seafood on Christmas eve. I think so many Italian families still carry on that tradition. I can’t wait to see what you will be preparing. When we lived in Florida, we used to make a seven fish feast for our friends who had never experienced the Italian tradition.

  11. Yep there will be seared tuna at my house this week! Thanks for the idea ;)

  12. ceciliag says:

    Karen your Tuna is cooked to perfection, I love it! c

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cecil, Thank you for your compliment. You can not walk away one minute while you are cooking tuna. If you do, it will be so dry that it will be hard to swallow.

  13. Miss Melly says:

    Hi Karen,
    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and commenting. I just started it last week and I’m having so much fun with it.
    I’m from New England originally. I love the photos– so beautiful! This tuna looks fantastic– I think I’ll get my husband to make it :) But I admit I’m pretty partial to Maine lobster and Maine crab! My husband and I stayed in Calais, Maine for a week in a little cottage on the Pasamaquoddy Bay (I might not have spelled that right!) Love it up there in the summer… not so much in the winter!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Melly, Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog. I’m glad that you enjoyed my posts. I’m sure your husband will make a great tuna dish.

  14. I tried salmon for the first time ever a few weeks ago. I avoided all seafood since I figured out I was allergic to shellfish in my teens. I loved it- and survived! I’ll have to try yours out.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ashley, I hope you do get to try the tuna and that it will not give you a reaction. Most people that are allergic to shellfish usually can eat fish.

  15. Hi Karen, love your line about “training for the eating marathon”, that’s priceless! My next post is along those same lines of thought, keeping the meals in between the holiday events and parties more on the healthy side. Your seared tuna dish not only sounds healthy but looks so professional…and delicious.

  16. Ann says:

    LOL! Training for a marathon….

    Whatever you’re doing – keep it up, because this look FABULOUS! Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ann, Thank you for your nice compliment. Thanksgiving day does feel like an eating marathon sometimes so eating lighter meals before helps. Enjoy Thanksgiving.

  17. Oh yum. This sounds like a dinner we would have at our house. So healthy, fresh and flavorful. I haven’t had tuna in a while but this makes me want to put it on my list. Love to see that pink. Baby Bok choy is perfect with it and I love how you shaped your fried rice – so pretty! Good idea eating super healthy all week before the big day!

  18. Sue says:

    I swore I was not going to look at your post (they always make me hungry!), but I couldn’t resist. Looks delicious–I’d love a bowl of fried rice. Have a great Thanksgiving–and enjoy that pie!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sue, I’m happy that you did stop by even though I’m sorry I always make you hungry. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving as well. I can’t wait for the pecan pie.

  19. a lovely combination Karen. And I want to try out your way of cooking the Bok Choi, it sounds perfect

  20. Charles says:

    This looks beautiful Karen – I love Tuna when it’s cooked like this too. My wife isn’t a fan – she’ll eat it raw, she’ll eat it cooked through, but not just seared like this unfortunately :( Love the idea of hoisin glazed bok choy too… They sell it at my local store, though if I buy it I always seem to forget to use it. I might force myself to remember this time!

    I saw someone recently who seared the tuna with a kitchen blow-torch, instead of pan-searing it – that looked really cool too. So many variation – yummy :)

  21. You are so right—it’s a Major Marathon! That’s why I’m grateful for recipes like this one, to break up the richness–heaviness of holiday eating.
    Fresh tuna, rare-seared, is simply delicious.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  22. lulu says:

    Your evening meals are something else and what I love is that they look so appetizing on the plate. Presentation is everything in my book!
    Goodness knows there are challenges ahead for the next month when it comes to eating, and it would do us all to follow your good example.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lulu, Thank you for your very compliment. It doesn’t take but perhaps a minute longer to make a meal look pretty on a plate. Trying to be good now definitely makes it easier to enjoy yourself during the holidays ahead.

  23. Sounds like a beautiful meal for any day to me and kudo to you for training and running in a marathon!

  24. Mary says:

    Beautiful picture. I love fresh tuna.

  25. What a beautiful meal! Fresh tuna is a real treat and you have plated it so nicely.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cathy, Thank you for the nice compliment. I’m sure that you get impeccable tuna where you are. I can only get sushi grade tuna at one market 30 minutes away from where I live so I plan ahead when I want to prepare this meal.

  26. spicegirlfla says:

    Karen, this is great! Next year I’m included an eat light countdown to the big day!! I love tuna and you’ve prepared this perfectly.

  27. This looks absolutely delicious. I have never cooked tuna but I am excited to give it a try now. thanks!

  28. CorkAndSpoon says:

    Oh my, I was just drooling over the Chicken Fried Steak, but I so hear you on “training” for Turkey Day. I think I’m going into a food coma thinking about it. May need something light like this Seared Tuna for the road to recovery! ~Ruth~

  29. What a magnificent meal – so beautifully presented too. I do like your marathon training logic – think I should implement that here at home too! :-) Mandy

  30. lovely post and lovely dish, Karen. I particularly like your recipe for fried rice and I am going to try it soon. Slowly recovering, thanks for asking.

  31. Mmm – that is PERFECTLY seared!

    Great to meet you! =) NH is my home away from home….

  32. lvaletutto says:

    I love seared, rare tuna! Actually this could just be raw too, mmmmm…… Now you’re making me want to get some sushi grade fish asap. I think I might have to make a trip into Cologne for that! You are a very dynamic cook it seems, I love the different areas of the world your cuisine takes us to!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Laura, Thank you for your nice comment. Yes, I do enjoy cooking dishes that you would find all over the world. I’m glad that you enjoy the different recipes.

  33. I love tuna and your sesame seared one looks fabulous,
    thanks for leaving such inspiring words on my blog.

  34. Megan Neal says:

    That tuna looks amazing!

  35. I love seared tuna and can’t get my husband to give it a try. I’ll serve it with your fried rice and maybe he’ll see the light. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristi, I hope your husband will enjoy the tuna along with the fried rice. You could add some chopped shrimp or bits of pork to the fried rice to make it a more substantial meal if you think he might like the meal better that way.

Leave a Reply

