Mediterranean Stuffed Peppers Two Ways

After the excesses of the holiday season for the last few weeks, it is natural to think about eating a little healthier and a little lighter. As you are well aware,  the Mediterranean diet is considered one of the world’s  healthiest.

This meal follows along this healthy tradition…lots of vegetables, grain, and just a little meat all brought together with olive oil and fresh herbs. Two peppers…one stuffed with rice, feta and herbs and the other stuffed with rice and a very small portion of meat. Served with a fresh Greek Salad and grilled whole wheat pita, this is a flavorful meal… vibrant in color and appeals to all the senses.

Mediterranean Stuffed Peppers Two Ways With Roasted Potatoes

Mediterranean Stuffed Peppers Two Way

  • 2 peppers, stems removed, cut in half and seeded
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1  cup of rice
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil plus additional for drizzling
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh dill, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh mint
  • 1/2 lemon (juice plus zest)
  • 1/2 c. feta cheese
  • 2 or 3 Tbsp. toasted pine nuts
  • 1 large plum tomato, chopped fine
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 can chicken broth or water (for baking)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Steam pepper halves until just starting to turn soft but still hold their shape (I use the microwave) and let cool.

Saute onion with 1 Tbsp. olive oil until translucent. Add garlic and cook for one minute more. Place in a large mixing bowl. Cook rice according to package directions but only until al dente, drain and put in mixing bowl. Add 1 Tbsp. olive oil, all of the herbs, lemon juice and zest, feta cheese, pine nuts, and tomato. Salt and pepper to taste and let cool slightly. *This dish can be prepared vegetarian…if so just skip the next section and bake according to directions.

  • 1/4 lb. or more of ground beef or lamb
  • 1 Tbsp. fresh oregano, chopped
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • salt and pepper to taste

Brown meat in a skillet, breaking up chunks, until just brown. Add oregano, cinnamon, salt and pepper to taste. Place in a mixing bowl, add one half of the rice mixture and let cool slightly.Stuff the pepper halves with the rice mixture and place in a baking dish. If you wish you can add cubed potatoes between the peppers to hold them in place. Add chicken broth or water and drizzle with additional olive oil. Bake until peppers (and potatoes, if using) are soft and tender, approximately 30 minutes.

The stuffed peppers were served with roasted potatoes that were cooked in the same pan with the peppers and soaked up their delicious juices. A Greek salad and whole wheat pita completed this meal.

Greek Salad

The flavors were incredible and the meal was very satisfying. The total amount of meat in this meal was 4 ounces for two persons (2 oz. each). If you wish to make the meal totally vegetarian…just make the peppers without the meat. Believe it or not, the vegetarian pepper was the favorite of my husband and myself.

I hope you will enjoy this meal and feel healthier after doing so.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to Mediterranean Stuffed Peppers Two Ways

  1. Karen Harris says:

    Wow, those peppers look delicious and I’ll be craving a Greek salad until I can get my hands on one. Great inspiration for a healthier year to come.

  2. That Greek salad is making my mouth water.

  3. That looks like a great meal! I love the peppers.

  4. cabinet stew says:

    Oh YUM! I love stuffed peppers and I haven’t made them in ages –so thanks for the delicious reminder! I usually lean more towards Italian style and serve with red sauce/pasta. But Med-style with the potatoes is a great idea! I have stuffed peppers with orzo before but rice is more nutritious – esp if if you use brown!

  5. spree says:

    Love eating the Mediterranean way Karen! Everything about it is good! And you’ve captured it so well here! What a beautiful meal this is!

  6. Rahul says:

    Hey Karen, This looks very beautiful and I will definitely try the vegetarian version of it :)

  7. megtraveling says:

    Healthy, light and delicious. That’s a winning combination. And it looks beautiful, too!

  8. Candace says:

    Count me in those stuffed peppers and Greek Salad. These are two of my favorites. Stay warm and have a wonderful weekend, Candace

  9. Gorgeous and I can imagine that the flavours in the veggie one are probbaly more pronounced. Delicious…guess what I fancy now?!

  10. Mad Dog says:

    That looks delicious ;-)

  11. Mary says:

    The Stuffed Peppers sound amazing but the Greek salad has me hungry. Yummy! And a healthy meal to boot!

  12. A perfect meal and wonderful photos! I’ll be making the feta one :)

  13. Monique says:

    Love stuffed peppers..the Mediterranean diet works for me:)We’ve just had about 7 inches of freshly fallen white brilliant snow:) the sun is shining the sky is blue..But it was 1 degree F this am..Your peppers would be great just about now.
    I have a stew in the oven and a tart on the counter.Beautiful baking day here in QC.

  14. ChgoJohn says:

    They say that you eat with your eyes first. If that’s the case, mine have just feasted a la Méditerranée. That’s 2 great dishes in 1 meal, Karen. Yum!

  15. I particularly love the flavors, as well as the idea, of the vegetarian stuffed pepper. They are so pretty and look delicious!

  16. spicegirlfla says:

    Love these both! I’ve not used lamb before in my peppers, I love that idea! I like using red and yellow peppers vs green, makes the presentation so colorful and healthy looking!! Fabulous dinner!!

  17. Debra Kolkka says:

    Yum! This looks delicious. I love capsicums.

  18. These sound wonderful…I have been wanting to try a good stuffed peppers recipe. Thanks!! ~~Bliss

  19. Charles says:

    Hi Karen – I make these quite a lot at home, and I have to say that I always prefer the vegetarian versions too. I think the meat adds very little to such a dish which is already jam-packed full of colour and flavour, so I’m not surprised you and your husband liked the vegetarian one most too. I like to cut the lid off the peppers and fill them while they’re standing upright. I always think the top makes a nice little lid at the end, perched on the stuffing!

    Loving the look of your Greek salad – I could eat Feta every day! :)

    Have a nice weekend!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charles, Thank you for your nice compliment. I agree that cooking and serving them upright with the little lid is pretty but I like doing it the other way when cooking for two people. I put the potatoes between the peppers and everything holds its shape. I’m with you about feta cheese and Greek salads. I could eat both everyday and not get bored.

  20. ceciliag says:

    That lovely salty feta would have been a perfect marriage with the sweet capsicum. Delicious.. c

  21. hotlyspiced says:

    What a beautiful meal – very nutritious and something everyone in the family can enjoy. I love stuffed capsicums. Yours look delicious.

  22. Christine R. says:

    Looks delicious, will have to try this one.thanks for sharing

  23. Kristy says:

    Hi Karen! Mike and I love stuffed peppers and both of these options look fantastic – though we would be partial to the one with feta. Sadly I know I wouldn’t be able to get the kids to eat the peppers though. As willing as they are to try so many different things – they refuse to try peppers. I think their grandma may have had an influence (she can’t stand to be in the same room with them).

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristy, The kids like most everything, I guess there had to be something they wouldn’t like. One option with this meal is just to serve the filling out of the peppers for your two little ones. You could just stuff the peppers for Mike and yourself.

  24. Sissi says:

    Karen, thank you for bringing so much sunshine to our Winter short days! I love both peppers and the salad and especially the salad reminds me of the hot Summer days when I only feel like having a refreshing raw vegetable meal with a bit of feta. (I also tend to put crushed garlic, and too much of it, to my Greek salad sauce, so I avoid it at lunch ;-) )

  25. Looks really pretty. I love sweet roasted peppers , not because they are healthy but because they are delicious. Your salad , I am sure was a great partner

  26. Mmm – these both sound delish. Lamb is one of my favorite treats and would taste lovely stuffed in peppers with rice. I do also like the one with feta because I like to do meatless meals every once in a while and that is a great hearty option!

  27. I never get tired of stuffed peppers. Those look wonderful.

  28. Hi Karen. This looks fabulous. I too have joined the masses and am once again eating healthy after over indulgence during the holidays.

  29. Mary says:

    What a great healthy meal. The color alone would beat back the gray and chill of this January day. The peppers look delicious and It is always good to be reminded of the benefits of the Mediterranean diet. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mary, Thank you for your nice compliment. You are right about the color…it will brighten a gray day. Some people think a healthy meal will be bland and this is far from that…the flavors are great.

  30. trixfred30 says:

    They look great – perfect for my healthy eating ‘Mrs’!!

  31. I’ve attempted stuffed peppers before, but they didn’t turn out near as well as yours!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Chunklet, I’m sorry to hear that you stuffed peppers didn’t turn out. I really don’t think you will have any problem with this recipe. Let me know if you need any suggestions on what might have been wrong with your recipe.

  32. I love stuffed peppers and I love Mediterranean food! And of course, I’ve been trying to eat healthier post-holidays. Thanks for sharing!

  33. These look uber yummy and healthy. The recipe is quick and easy and beautiful.

  34. swanlzs says:

    Looks yummy… will bookmark this one for sure. Love peppers!

  35. Ann says:

    These look delicious! I’m new to enjoying stuffed peppers….just a few years, but it’s always the same way every time. Thanks for “mixing it up” for me!

  36. Love stuffed peppers! Your “stuffings” sound fabulous. The last time I made stuffed peppers, I seem to enjoy the yellow one more than the red – it seemed sweeter with more flavour somehow. Thanks for the reminder about a great meal. :-) Mandy

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mandy, Thank you so much for your lovely compliment. I agree about the flavor being sweeter and more flavorful. I will never use a green bell pepper again. The only green ones I use are Italian frying peppers and the hot ones. I hope you will enjoy this recipe.

  37. These look Yummy! I love the Meditteranean Flavors and this is healthy for sure!