Hip and Happening Delray Beach

Miami, Florida has the reputation for trendy styles and great restaurants but don’t count out Delray Beach. Located between stylish Palm Beach and Boca Raton, Delray Beach is called the “Village by the Sea”. With a name like that, you would think of a quiet little beach town but in reality Delray is a lively resort town.

Atlantic Ave., the main street in downtown, is lined with palm trees and brick sidewalks. Stroll along the avenue and you will pass outdoor cafes and restaurants, art galleries and boutiques that sell everything from fun souvenirs to designer clothing. At night the sidewalks are packed with a young crowd waiting to get into the latest hot spot. Valets are parking high end cars for the not so young who have reservations at one of the town’s top rated restaurants.

A short distance from the ocean on Atlantic Ave. is The Seagate Hotel and Spa.

The Seagate Hotel And Spa

My husband and I always enjoy staying at The Seagate when visiting our youngest daughter who lives a couple of miles away.

Saltwater Fish Tank

The hotel has an upscale tropical feel with large saltwater fish tanks throughout the hotel and restaurant.

Tropical Flower Arrangement

Tropical floral arrangements are found throughout the hotel, with orchids placed on your bed at turn down.

Room At The Seagate

The rooms are lovely…with amazing bathrooms.  When the shuttered window between the bathroom and bedroom is opened, you can take a jacuzzi bath, resting your head on a terry pillow and watch the flat screen TV in the bedroom.

If you want to feel sand between your toes, you can take their trolley to their private Beach Club directly on the ocean.

Rainy days prevented us from outdoor activities so we ventured down the road to Boca Raton for a little shopping and lunch. One day we enjoyed lunch at Pinon Grill, a stunning restaurant serving New American food that was not only delicious but inventive as well.

Seared Tuna With Noodle Salad

Delicious Key Lime Pie

The next day, we headed to Mizner Park. This is shopping at its best “Florida style”.

Mizner Park Shopping "Florida Style"

There are many restaurants at Mizner Park. For lunch, we decided on Racks Downtown Eatery + Tavern that serves bistro style comfort food.

Racks Downtown Eatery + Tavern

Buffalo Style Calamari

Blackened Fish Tacos

Our daughter knows that we are foodies and is quick to suggest restaurants that don’t disappoint. She picks the most interesting restaurants to try every time we are in Delray Beach. We have been to DADA, a very popular restaurant in a cute old house with outdoor seating and live music. The menu has fun comfort food. The Office calls itself a gastro pub, always busy and known for such items as truffled fries and maple bacon donuts for dessert. Right on Atlantic Ave. in downtown Delray is 32 East, a bistro that serves an ever changing daily menu of market fresh ingredients…fusion comfort food.

We always enjoy our time in Delray. Since we had drizzly, windy weather this trip, I couldn’t give you photos of this fun town. You will just have to use your imagination and wait until our next trip back to Delray Beach.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to Hip and Happening Delray Beach

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Shame about the rain, but you had some more great food by the look of the photos ;-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mad Dog, Thank you for your comment. I can’t believe we have had such poor weather this trip. This is usually the best time of the year to visit Florida. Great food though.

  2. Delray Beach sounds and looks like a fantastic place to visit! I hope you get to spend time with your daughter soon again. :-) Mandy

  3. Monique says:

    Yes I think it’s your daughter that is the main attraction:)
    :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Monique, You are right…we enjoy our time with our daughter. It is hard visiting our children since we have to plan around their work schedules but our time together is quality time.

  4. Amy says:

    Delray Beach is a great place! My dad used to own the Old School Bakery on Atlantic Ave…right before the bridge. You should check it out next time you’re there. They have wonderful Artisan bread :)

  5. It´s a pain when it rains because it curtails activities, but it looks like you are making the very best of it and still having an amazing time. Oooh….that seared tuna has my name on it!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tanya, Thank you for your comment. We are not having good weather but making the most of our time away from the cold of New England. The best part has been time with our children.

  6. Sue says:

    It does’t seem like the weather deters you from too much…..I’m glad to hear that.
    When I would go to Europe with my mother many years ago, we went out every day, rain or shine—it didn’t matter. As she always said–I’m sweet but not enough to melt! :)
    Love the aquarium in the hotel…really adds a special touch.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sue, Thank you for your comment. Since you can’t control the weather, you just have to make the best of it. The hotel has several very large aquariums…one filled with jellyfish that is very interesting.

  7. Kristy says:

    I never knew anything about Delray Beach before, but it looks like fun. That shopping – yes please! It sounds like you had a great visit. Happy Valentine’s Day!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristy, Thank you and have a special Valentine’s day with your family. Delray is one of our favorite towns to visit in Florida. The shopping in Boca Raton is a girl’s dream come true. So many shops you have heard of and then some.

  8. ChgoJohn says:

    You don’t seem like the types to let a little rain prevent you from enjoying yourselves. Besides, I don’t mind a little rain when I’m South escaping Winter. Compared to the snow or freezing rains of back home, a warm shower is a welcome change and can be refreshing. (Note I said “a little rain” and not a daily deluge.) And, by the way, that seared tuna looks incredible!

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, I agree with you. I’ll take a little rain of snow anyway. It has just been light showers except for one day of horrible rain (4inches). My husband had the tuna and he said it was a great meal.

  9. Love Delray. Haven’t been in some time, we’re due for a visit because my MIL lives there. Mizner Park is a great place, I’ll have to check out your suggestions! Shame about the rain, but still a nice getaway!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Carol, Pinon at the Boca Town Center was a really good place for lunch…the decor very upscale. All of the restaurants in Delray that I listed are good. I would go back to them all. Delray is fun, even if you are only going for cocktails at one of the outdoor cafes.

  10. Eva Taylor says:

    Go big or go home…I often think that the American restaurants really go all out, décor, food, size! Our neighbour’s just bought a condo in Boca and are there right now…enjoying the heat and sun(?). We may get a chance to use it in the future (they’ve offered it so many times), I’ll keep your restaurants bookmarked for future.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eva, I agree…you can’t let the weather keep you from having fun. If you get a chance…do use your friend’s condo. You will have a great time between the beaches, restaurants and good shopping.

  11. spicegirlfla says:

    Karen, You write so well and I so enjoy your posts!! You’ve given me some new spots to try out! I’ve not been up to Delray often but now I have some very good reasons to head up there!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Linda, Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m glad you enjoy my posts. We really enjoy Delray…it is such a nice town to visit and not so far away from you. Our daughter always has a new and interesting place for us to try during our stay.

  12. Some day I WILL stay in a pink hotel.

    If it’s not too much trouble could you please mail me an order of those fish tacos? I LOVE fish tacos and those look sublime. Or if that is problematic–could you please break into the the kitchen’s recipe vault and steal it? OK, OK–I can see how that could ruin your vacation. How about this? Since you have tasted them could you replicate the recipe when you get back home and blog about it here??? Merci! ~~Bliss (and some people are just happy with a postcard).

  13. I’ve never been, but that Key Lime Pie looks amazing!

    • Karen says:

      Hi T.W., Thank you for your comment. I think sweet tart desserts are so good at the end of a meal and that key lime pie was absolutely wonderful with lots of zest for extra flavor.

  14. Rainy days just mean more time indoors eating great food!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Claire, More time indoors eating great food…more pounds going on the body…tighter clothing. Oh well, I think I don’t mind…it will come off when we return home.

  15. Gary Lum says:

    One day I want to visit Florida and enjoy Key Lime Pie.

  16. I love the way you make the most of every visit! What a fun way to experience the time with your daughter. I’m sure it is a delight for her to share the “fine and fun” of her home turf! And here it is almost my lunch time and now I want truffle fries! Oh dear! And maybe a nap in that wonderful room? :-) Debra

  17. Judy says:

    Buffalo Style Calamari? Uh, yes please! That room would sure make it easy to stay in out of the rain ;)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Judy, Thank you for your comment. I can’t believe how good the buffalo style calamari was. The Seagate is such a nice hotel to stay at. We stay there every year when we visit our daughter.

  18. Well, Karen, I think staying in a hotel like that one, I could easily overlook the rain (almost;) .. what a special trip!! I’ve never been there and would absolutely love to go.. the beach, the shopping, the food!! It has everything! I’m glad you enjoyed yourselves:)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Smidge, We had a really good time insight of the weather…our daughter saw to that. The Seagate is a really nice hotel and has a wonderful private beach club as well.

  19. A_Boleyn says:

    Amazing place, amazing food. Makes me want to get away from the snow, cold and damp.

  20. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge says:

    What a lovely place :) I LOVE the opening between the rooms. Ahhhhh, a jacuzzi AND big screen tv… Bliss! :)

    Everything is so beautiful. Life is good. :D

    • Karen says:

      Hi Zoe, Thank you for your comment. The rooms at the Seagate are lovely. I always make sure to get a room with the jacuzzi. They also have a separate shower so that makes both my husband and I very happy. You are right…life is good. Thank goodness, I am so lucky.

  21. Charles says:

    Oh, the seared tuna and the calamari look just beautiful, and that bedroom… what I wouldn’t give to crawl between those pristine sheets right now!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charles, Thank you for your nice comment. I think I’m very spoiled because soft sheets are very important as far as I’m concerned. We really did have some excellent seafood.

  22. I have always wanted to visit Miami, but so far haven’t made it. I love all those palm trees and the restaurants sound wonderful. I’ve got my eye on that key lime pie.

  23. Sissi says:

    Once more everything looks perfect! I will never stop dreaming about the hotel room where you can have a “window” between the bathroom and bedroom and watch tv while having a bath…
    I have never had key lime pie, but I’m sure it’s deliciously tart. I am always wondering why it is yellow and not light green…

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sissi, Thank you for your nice comment. It doesn’t get much better than a warm bath in a jacuzzi tub. Key limes are much smaller than a Persian lime and pale yellow inside and out. They are much tarter than a Persian lime as well. Knowing that we both like tart…I know you would enjoy key lime pie.

      • Sissi says:

        Thank you, Karen for this explanation. I think it’s impossible to find key limes here. Only the small, green usually Mexican lime which gives light green juice. I am sure I would enjoy this pie. I’m a big lemon tart fan, but you already know this :-)

      • Karen says:

        You are welcome Sissi. We definitely have the same tastes on food.

  24. Purely.. Kay says:

    Alright.. I think Delray Beach will be added to my list :). I absolutely love everything about this post. And just look at that hotel room. I could definitely relax in there :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kay, Thank you for your nice comment. Delray Beach is a lovely town and the Seagate is wonderful. They have a lively bar and restaurant that are very popular as well.

  25. Jane says:

    Everything looks so good! Too bad it rained … but at least you still had an amazing time! I love the tropical flowers and the fish tank!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your nice comment, Jane. We haven’t had much luck with the weather but it has still been wonderful. The Seagate’s decor is just beautiful. Perfect for a village by the sea.

  26. Looks like a nice place to holiday. the food is tempting me right now especialy the lemon pie. thanks for sharing!

  27. Wow! The key lime pie looked amazing. The buffalo style calamari is a new, I’ve never seen anything like that before.

  28. Carolyn Chan says:

    I’ve only been to Florida once – on our honeymoon my husband and I went to Cuba and then onwards to Orlando to visit Disney World and we were all prepared for sultry warm weather and we had 50 degree weather the entire time – we were so unprepared and cold but loved the rides nonetheless. Miami looks much more scenic :) and I loooove the fishtank. When we win the lottery my hubby has promised me a wall of aquarium (with someone to maintain it haha).

    • Karen says:

      Hi Carolyn, I wish we were allowed to travel to Cuba…maybe someday. We had a saltwater aquarium when we lived in Florida…and you really do need someone to maintain them especially if you have coral in them.I’m hoping you win the lottery.

  29. Pingback: Fish Tacos…Special Requests Don’t Upset Us | Back Road Journal

  30. cabinet stew says:

    I’m Back!!
    and I LOVE key lime pie! or better yet key lime cheesecake!
    I am off to the next destination….

Leave a Reply

