Spring…I Think Not

If you live in the northern hemisphere, spring arrived on March 1st according to the World Meteorological Organization and will last for the months of March, April and May. Many of my fellow bloggers who garden have spoken about spring weather for weeks. At our home in New Hampshire, maybe spring will really be here on March 20th which is the day that is considered the first day of spring by being the day of the Vernal Equinox.

Spring is here…I think not. We had 14 inches of sticky wet snow on the meteorological first day of spring. Snow shovels are back on the front porch, the snowplow is on the truck and you can hear the sound of snowblowers in the air.Apple Trees Encased In Snow

Look at the orchard with the apples trees totally enclosed in sticky snow.

The Ice On The Pond Is Covered In SnowYou can hardly see the ice covered pond for all the snow.

Mounds Of Snow To Climb To Get To The GardenAfter plowing the drive, there are mounds of snow to climb over to get to the garden gate. We won’t be going to the garden shed any time soon.

Inside Looking OutInside the laundry room, looking out through the icicles at the snow covered mountains in the distance.

Icicle CageLooking out through an icicle cage. If you are wondering about the photos, they are all shot in color. When you hear about a gray day in New England, this is what it looks like.

Our average temperatures for the month of March are in the 40′s for the day and the 20′s at night so the snow will melt and refreeze each day. By the time the snow has completely melted, I hopefully will see daffodils starting to bud. I always look forward to their sunny color. Until then, I am very happy that we have a wonderful yellow house to brighten our days.Our Yellow House Can Brighten A Gray Day

The sun came out for ten minutes and I ran out to capture the sun shining on all the icicles. Does the tree look familiar? That is the Japanese maple that everyone loved this fall. Now instead of brilliant red leaves, it is covered in large gobs of sticky with snow.

Icicles CurtainsThe sparkling icicles have created ice curtains over each window. They will grow every day until they are inches thick. The icicles curtains certainly change your view of the outside world.

Snow Equipment Is Back In The BarnThe drive has been plowed and all the snow equipment is back in the barn. Since it is spring, do you think it won’t be used again? I’ve learned when you live in New England to never say never. After all, the first snowfall of the season was on Halloween and last year we had snow on the first of April. Mother nature gave us an April Fools Day snowstorm.

For the time being, I will have to dream about spring flowers, budding apple trees, and green grass. I have enjoyed the photos of lovely red bud trees and bright azaleas that Linda at Lulu Musing has on her blog. If you are having mild weather and have lovely flowers blooming now, please post some photos on your blogs to cheer those of us who are living in a black and white world now. Your photos will keep our spirits up and make us smile.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

183 Responses to Spring…I Think Not

  1. Kristy says:

    We have that same gray look here today too. I love how your house is a spot of color though! I have a feeling spring will be here before we know it. :)

  2. viveka says:

    Karen, wonderful photos – this is how winter should be for me – even in March … we had only snow for one day this season, not good enough – Didn’t even knew you could have winters like this .. I been in NYC during strong winter days with loads of snow – and snow storm on St Patrick’s day. #
    And I LOVE yellow houses – it’s bring the sun on grey day and – it sparkles on a sunny day.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Viveka, This has been a very strange winter season for so many areas of the country. Our yellow house can bring a smile on a gray day. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  3. Oh my goodness…you got hammered. But wow! Is there beauty in getting hammered or what? I love the snow pics that look like black and whites…I had that happen last Friday when I went out for a walk with my camera after a good snowfall. Wacky weather is in the news today…I think I would rather have the snow that what has pummeled the mid-west–so sad. ~~Bliss

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bliss We really did get a lot of snow but thankfully this time of the year it shouldn’t last too long. The photos do look like black and white don’t they. We are blessed that we haven’t had the horrible storms crossing the country right now. My heart goes out to all the communities that have lost so much including lives…just terrible.

  4. Maureen says:

    Your photos bring back such great memories and when you said a cottage in Maine – wow. Now, back in the olden days when I grew up there, if you had a place on the lake it was a camp and if you had a place along the ocean it was a cottage. :) We had a camp out at the Belgrade Lakes and a cottage at Ocean Point. Both were rather rustic. (okay a lot rustic!) Thanks for fond memories.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Maureen, Thank you for your comment. I had to smile about your reference to camps and cottages. All of our New England friends call our cottage a camp. Camp doesn’t sound cute and I think our place on Long Lake is very cute. I am happy to have brought back memories of your time in Maine. Last summer I did a post about our cottage and our remodeling it into a “cottage”.

  5. Kathleen says:

    Hi Karen,
    I never thought of March 1 as the start of Spring, even the 21st leaves us without any color! Maybe by the end of April we will see some blooms!
    That being said, we have been spared the snow and ice this year, and the money I saved on snow plowing has been eaten up by the ever rising cost of oil and gas. Vacation? What is that?
    It will be interesting to see what summer brings to the summer tourist area where I live. Last year was pretty bad, this year isn’t shaping up to be better. So many places have gone under.

    The icicles are amazing! Last year we had so much snow that I bought dh a roof rake for Cmas. It worked, kept the snow away! :)
    Enjoy the weekend!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kathleen, Thank you for stopping by and your nice comment. You are right, spring comes late to our home. We have a roof rake as well but the only place we can use it is on our porch roof. The icicles are growing by the minute and are so pretty when the sun is out.

  6. At least you have a bright yellow house to look cheery against the snow! That’s so weird that it’s almost 50 degrees here in Ohio, but you have all that snow.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Julie, Yes the yellow house looks so cheery but especially in the winter on a bleak and gray day. It is supposed to warm up by the end of the week and that should start the snow melting.

  7. Thank you for visiting my blog recently. I’m always happy to find another New Hampshire blogger. I sould be out taking pictures for future posts, but we have steady drizzle here in the Keene area. Spring can’t come soon enough for me.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your comment. It is always nice to find bloggers interested in gardening that live in your area. It is hard to take photos on a drizzly day…lets hope the sun comes out and melts our snow.

  8. Sissi says:

    Winter can be beautiful indeed! I love your photos! The yellow house colour must look joyful in every season. This is why I have painted my flat walls in light yellow (slightly lighter). White would be too cold for most of the year.
    Even though it’s beautiful, I wish you Spring’s arrival soon!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Sissi,for your nice compliment. Another thing we have in common…the color yellow. Most of the walls in our home are various shades of yellow, although none as vibrant as the exterior.

  9. Wow. That’s some real snow you have there, Karen! I’ve only seen snow like that a couple of times (in my life) here in the deep south, and both times it was around March 3…but none this year. Your house is so pretty in the snow and sunlight…glistening yellow like those flowers you’re waiting for. Stay warm and I hope your flowers come soon! :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Betsy, Thank you for your nice comment and wishes for flowers. Yes…we did get our share of snow. Hopefully when the snow melts the daffodils will be coming up.

  10. Bonnie says:

    I loved your photos Karen. What a lovely home you have, even covered in 14 inches of snow…Wow I thought our six inches was bad. I could move into your yellow house in a minute and be happy as can be there. It’s cheerful even in the snow.

  11. The house brings back wonderful memories of living in New England, also memories of a wet sloppy spring snow morning that was the last straw and I moved away. Still love to visit though.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Dohn, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice comment. Some years the snow can get to you and other years it is a piece of cake. This year has been easy as far as snow although when it comes its been in large amounts. New England is so beautiful and it’s nice to know that you return for visits.

  12. Debra Kolkka says:

    It is very beautiful, but no spring like at all. It has become quite warm here in Italy. I planted my pansies this week.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Debra, Thank you for your nice compliment. I love pansies…they are such a happy little flower that always brings a smile to my face.

  13. Tandy says:

    That is amazing, our autumn (fall) has not started either :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tandy, I was thinking about you and all the other bloggers living in the southern hemisphere. You are starting your fall…one of my favorite seasons.

  14. Rathai says:

    Those pictures are gorgeous! I could be staring at those pictures for hours but I have to admit that I’m glad that the snow has melted away here in Sweden, at least where we live. The spring is here and I hope the spring is here to stay. :) BTW, I love your house. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rathal, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. Our snow had all melted away too until we got this storm. We think our house is special…it was built in 1730.

  15. Wow We’ve seen nothing like that here in downstate New York….Winter has passed us by and the crocuses and daffodils are up…itching to start planting, but Must. Resist. Temptation. Must. Delay. Gratification. Thanks for a lovely view of what I am missing (especially icicle curtains)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Natalie, I’m glad you enjoyed the post and seeing what you have been missing. I’m very envious of you having crocuses and daffodils up. You made me laugh…we definitely “must rest temptation and delay gratification. When I plant my tomatoes at our garden in Maine, I have to wait until Memorial Day. I have pushed the envelope by a week but everyone up there thinks I am crazy because of frost.

  16. Oh dear, it really is more of a Winter Wonderland where you are right now – very, very beautiful though!

  17. ChgoJohn says:

    Well isn’t that wonderful? Old Man Winter knew you were away and didn’t want you to miss out. So, he waited until your return from Florida before pelting the Northeast with a snowstorm. What a guy! Let’s hope he’s equally considerate when it comes to leaving. One should never overstay one’s welcome. Still, giving credit where due, those icicles are a work of art. Beautiful!

    • Karen says:

      Love your clever comment, John. Yes…we really thought we had escaped Old Man Winter. He is sneaker than I gave him credit for though. I love the icicles too. They have grown thicker and longer since the photo. If the sun comes out again they will be spectacular.

  18. Mad Dog says:

    Wow, it’s been 59º F here all week, though it’s not supposed to be as warm as that yet ;-)

  19. ceciliag says:

    Wow, you really DID get dumped on, we have some forecast but only 30 percent so i am crossing my fingers! i really do not want to shut all the animals back in the barn again! hope that is the last of it! c

    • Karen says:

      Hi Celi, Boy did we get dumped on is right. I’ll just keep watching your green shoots of grass slowly coming up and wish only sunshine for you and the farmy.

  20. Michelle says:

    We are having the opposite. Daffodils bizarrely started blooming in February. Saw some quince in bloom in the city where it’s a bit warmer yesterday. If flowers bounce back from the blasted storms we’ve also had, I promise to post some photos for you! Your Winter Wonderland is quite lovely though.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Michelle, Daffodils in February, wow! If they bounce back, photos will definitely make me smile. No matter how much we don’t want snow at this time of the year, I still love the beauty of it all.

  21. k.m. says:

    I LOVE your house. I mean, look at that view from your laundry room! The crocuses and daffodils are out here, but I’d trade them for some real snow :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi K.M., Thank you for your lovely compliment. We do have wonderful views from the upstairs windows. Another person with crocuses and daffodils. Melt snow, melt.

  22. Wow! We got nothing but rain in Philly from this storm. Enjoy!

    • Karen says:

      Rain will make your flowers grow and bloom. Actually, we are supposed to have rain later in the week but that will just make the snow true to ice.

  23. Lea Ann says:

    Well, it’s awfully pretty. I saw on the news that you were getting Winter weather. Welcome to my world, we’ve had snow on the ground since October.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lea Ann, Yes…I thought about you and all the snow you have. That was us last year…which was way too much. We really can’t complain about the winter we had this year and it is beautiful.

  24. Something similar happened hear in SLC Karen, as old man winter was on existent during winter, yet he has shown up with cold and snow for March. Crazy!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jed, It really has been a crazy winter season. I was hoping that since we had escaped snow for so long that it might be the end of it. So much for wishful thinking.

  25. LOVE the pix! Just gorgeous. We wore shorts yesterday as it was almost 80. The yellow on your home is so cheery, nice choice!

  26. Wow, that looks like winter wonderland Karen, so beautiful. But I am happy that we are expecting 13°C by Wednesday…there is no snow in TO!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eva, It does look like a winter wonderland right now. I think you have had a milder winter like us up to this point. It is going to start to warm up here as well later in the week.

  27. Anonymous says:

    Karen, your photos show that even a grey New England day has its own special beauty. Your beautiful yellow home is a happy burst of colour in the late winter landscape. Here in Southwestern Ontario where I live, it’s also grey and somewhat bleak today, with a brief and welcome burst of sunshine. The temperatures have been up and down, and generally unseasonably warm. I like to think Spring really is coming soon, but you never know what last-gasp surprises Winter may have in store for us!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your lovely comment. I hope that we will all enjoy the warmth and sunshine of spring soon.

      • musingmar says:

        Me too, Karen, me too! I don’t know why my comment was posted as “anonymous” but it was from me, Musing Mar.

      • Karen says:

        Hi Marlene, Nice to know that you are my anonymous visitor. Sometimes there are glitches in WordPress…thank goodness it doesn’t happen too often.

  28. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge says:

    Wow! That is so foreign to me! But also it is so beautiful. Those icicycles are amazing.

    I can just imagine warm soups, totties and roaring fires after a romp outside with my dog (who hates water but loves snow – go figure?). I’ve never had that life but have ventured into snowy regions for a day or two and its so fun! But I can also imagine the work and confinement it must bring sometimes.

    Right now it’s about 70, sunny and warm. My whiskey barrels have sprouted and my little radish, turnips and carrots are about a month old already. :) I guess I’m just an old lizard at heart because I don’t know how I’d fare in your gorgeous white world. I do love seeing it though. I love your home!

    Thanks for sharing :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Zoe, Thank you for your nice comment as usual. It is so nice to know when people enjoy seeing a world and lifestyle different from theirs. I grew up in Texas, and then moved to Miami where I spent so much of my life…both warm climates most of the year. We moved to New England and it was so different and wonderful for me. You live in such a different place…one I hope I get a chance to visit sometime. I loved your “old lizard” reference. I can just see one basking in the sun on a hot rock.

      • Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge says:

        Hahaha, yes, that’s me :) Only I don’t do that push-up thingy the real lizards do :D

      • Karen says:

        I chuckled too…that little push-up thingy that lizards do is so funny. I wouldn’t want to do that either. We had lizards all over the place when we lived in Florida.

  29. The seasons seem to be arriving later and later. You’re still in winter mode and thankfully we’re still having summer here. I can’t imagine living with all that snow though the photos are beautiful. I love the icicles!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jenny, Our world is so different and so much the same in many ways. This year has had strange weather world wide. There are times that many hardy New Englanders would say that there is too much snow. We were very lucky this year as even though we had snowfalls of a foot or more, we didn’t have that many snowstorms. This has actually been a very mild year. Make sure you stop by next year and I might be complaining bitterly about all the feet of snow on the ground but I hope not.

  30. I wished we had more snow in Chicago, It just didn’t feel like winter really came here.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Chunklet, That is funny, most people here in New England have been very happy that we have had a “relatively” mild winter. That is because we were hammered last year. We had no place to put the snow at the end of the season and had to use the bucket on the tractor to start stacking the snow…piles 6 to 10 feet tall. The morale to the story is to be careful what you wish for.

  31. trixfred30 says:

    Wow. Our day started like WInter (rain, wind, cold) and ended like summer (sun, warmth and t shirts)!

  32. ……………and here it was 84 degrees yesterday! Thanks for sharing those beautiful photographs! Stop by my blog and visit the garden now and then to stay warm.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tin Man, Thank you for your comment. I enjoyed spending time on your deck, listening to your waterfall…now I will have to venture into your garden and enjoy the warmth. Even though it is only virtual, it will still be enjoyable.

  33. Charles says:

    Wow, those icicles are insane! I’ve never seen such big ones, and so many all together! I can’t believe you had snow – just as we’re enjoying slowly warming weather. I hope any plants or seedlings don’t get affected by it!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charles, Thank you for your nice comment. No plants or seedlings to worry about. We know better than to put anything in the ground until late April or early May. In Maine, where we have our vegetable garden…it can’t be planted until the very end of May because of frost. The icicles are amazing…some years they are as big as your fist and can be six feet or longer.

  34. Wow, what beautiful images you captured of your winter wonderland, Karen! My four children would absolutely love playing in it, at least for a while. :) So great to connect with you….thank you for your visit and look forward to getting to know you better.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kay, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. Children in New England never get tired of playing in the snow. When properly dressed, they have lots of fun. I look forward to your return.

  35. Ann says:

    That looks CRAZY cold! You know I’m ALL about the warm weather!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ann, Thank you for your comment. Yes…a lover of warm weather might not care for all this snow. When dressed properly, cold weather is really not a problem.

  36. ....RaeDi says:

    Beautiful photos! It is lovely… but I agree with you spring, spring come early this year!

  37. Gary Lum says:

    We’ve not really had a Summer in Canberra this year. It’s been cold and dry most of the time. At the moment the whole of central and eastern Australia is experiencing unusual heavy rainfall. I much prefer warm and humid places like Darwin. I expect Florida is a place I’d like. I also hear Atlanta is very warm and humid.

  38. lulu says:

    I know snow is not always welcome in New England when folks are ready to see signs of spring, but it has been a mild winter. I love the snow when it is so pristine and for some reason I’m crazy about icicles. They are one of nature’s sculptures. Thank you for your mention, very nice of you.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lulu, I agree about the beauty of snow and sparkling icicles. We did had the mildest winter in years. I think we all got spoiled not having huge of snow on the ground. I loved your photos of gardens starting to come alive in Houston.

  39. Purely.. Kay says:

    WHOA… you had 14 inches?!? We certainly had a weird winter here. We didn’t get any snow. Today it was 60 degrees alone so it felt strangely spring like here. But those snow photos are beautiful.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kay, Thank you for your nice compliment. It certainly has been an unusual winter…it will be interesting to see what the rest of the year has to offer weather wise.

  40. Pseu says:

    this morning it is raining, abd it shows no sign of stopping… rather have your snow!

  41. Nice to stop in and see your winter wonderland! Lovely pictures here. It has been a little bit cool here and no rain or snow, but I kind of wish we had at least one snowfall this year. It has been way too long since i have been in snow!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tina, Thank you for your nice compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures and wish I could send you a little of our snow. We certainly have enough to share.

  42. I think that groundhog must have lied on ground hog day. Your pictures are beautiful. I love the icicles. Take Care, BAM

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bam, I wish that groundhog could come out of his comfy little cage and see how wrong he was…at least in New Hampshire. Maybe that is it, he should travel to every state with his predictions.

  43. There’s a certain beauty to your photos. It’s like the snow just fell perfectly. =)

  44. Beautiful pictures, Karen. It looks like the dead of winter instead of the first of March. Your home is so pretty against the snow and the grey skies.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cathy, Thank you for the compliment. It not only looks like the dead of winter but feels like it as well. It is going to warm up in a few days and the snow will be melting. So much for the start of spring.

  45. The icicles! Wow!
    You are right, never say never, The weather is fluctuating so much!

    • Karen says:

      Aren’t the icicles great! They are beautiful when the sun shines on them. The sun makes them drip and grow longer. The weather really is fluctuating…warmer weather at the end of the week.

  46. Maggie says:

    Stunning shots of your black and white world. The icicles are amazing!
    Your house is is lovely, just what I imagine a house in New England to look like.
    Come over and gaze at my daffodils any time you like, until the day that your own appear through all that white, sticky stuff.
    bon dimanche

  47. Well, Karen, I’m afraid I’m not going to be of much help today. Our yard looks just like yours, perhaps with less snow.. but we have the same gray skies. I’m hoping spring thaw comes soon, apparently it’s going to get warm today so maybe this will all melt and give our trees some much needed moisture? I love your home, what a pretty yellow color and all decorated with icicle frosting:)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Smidge, You are another person eagerly waiting for the lovely first signs of spring flowers. We are going to be warming up as well later in the week. I love your description of icicle frosting…such a lovely way of putting it. Thank you for your nice compliment. We really love our antique home and think it is special.

  48. Jane says:

    I love your yellow house! We got lots of snow this last week too …

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jane, Thank you for your nice compliment on our home. Another person who is waiting for the first signs of spring. We will have beautiful spring flowers, but just a little latter than some of our fellow bloggers.

  49. Oh my! I’m glad I didn’t wake up to that in Ohio! It’s very pretty but I am so ready for spring! :-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cher, I was so ready for spring. The snow had melted and we had grass. Yes, it was brown but it wasn’t snow and then whammy…14 inches.

  50. Hi Karen,
    Just had to say I am so envious of your beautiful yellow house! Your photos are just wonderful too. Enjoy the snow!! x

    • Karen says:

      Hi Laura, Thank you so much for your very kind comment. We think our house is special…1730 and going strong. I am glad you like it.

  51. Gosh it is difficult to compute that as you are engaged in clearing away snow I have been contemplating these last few days going out without a coat as the weather has been so mild. I have also been admiring swathes of daffodils along the roadsides. Your yellow house is lovely and the temporary ice curtains beautiful. ;)

  52. Brrr… I don’t want any part of that. But you know it makes for great photos!

  53. ping says:

    I certainly appreciate looking at all that snow … what I’d give for that kind of weather here. I’m missing it so much! Those are gorgeous pics, Karen. I particularly love the one with icicles against the yellow house. Makes me all nice and peaceful inside :)

  54. Karen, your property is so pretty. I can’t wait to see pictures of your orchard in full bloom. We are about an hour drive from wine country and there are so many lovely orchards along the wine route. I’m so envious that you can walk through your door to see the orchards, rather than drive for an hour! Fingers crossed that warmer weather is on its way!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Barb, Thank you so much for your nice compliment and wishes for warmer weather. The orchard is lovely when in bloom…such a wonderful perfume to the air. It is a beautiful place to have a home, especially with a view of the mountains in the distance.

  55. Oh my! From Florida to Ice Land! Whoa! If there were a “resilience award” to pass along, I’d be sending it your way, Karen! The winter ice and snow is beautiful, however. Each season in its time, I guess! Debra

  56. rowena says:

    Those icicles are serious business! I know I was doing a little dance on my blog with the near-perfect weather last week, but the clock struck midnight and the ball is over. We are expecting mixed snow and rain tomorrow….guess I’ll break out the knitting needles.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rowena, Thank you for your nice comment. I know what you mean…our show had all melted and now this snowstorm. This certainly has been a crazy start to the year. In the teens tonight and in the 40′s as highs later in the week.

  57. ladyfi says:

    Wow – fabulous icicles and snow pictures! Sweden looked like that last year, but things are melting a bit already this year.

  58. Wow! Look at all that glorious snow!!! How beautiful. It’s like a winter wonderland!

    Here in Southern California, we had record highs in the 80s yesterday. I was down near the beach and it was PACKED.

    I love winter weather, only we here in Southern California have no idea what winter weather really is!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ducky, It really is a winter wonderland right now. It is especially pretty when the sun is out and it sparkles. I look forward to having a day by the water.

  59. Snow, especially melting and refreezing snow, is so messy but oh so beautiful.

  60. You are correct Karen, no Spring for you yet! We have daffodils, cherry blossoms, tulips and trees budding out all around us here in Nashville. It is a bit early even for us. I planted some lettuces, arugula, ever-bearing strawberries, beets and onions this past weekend in my vegetable garden..it was 70 degrees! But I would love, love, love to be where it is snowy for a few days. Lovely photos.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Teresa, Thank you for your comment. It is 14 this morning…not very spring like. It sounds like Nashville is beautiful at the moment. Wow, your garden is off and growing.

  61. I know exactly how you feel – I lived in Wisconsin for 27 years and always dreamed of living somewhere where Spring truly came in March. That dream came true when we moved to North Carolina!
    But then our summers are quite miserable – there’s always a trade off isn’t there!?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Chris, Thank you for your comment. You are right about a trade off…most years our summers aren’t bad. At our cottage in Maine, we have a light blanket on our bed for cool nights in the summer.

  62. Good morning Karen, I know you must be disappointed not to be able to get into the garden and garden but the walk around and the photos are beautiful. I particularly liked the ice cage of the icicles. I’ve known it to snow at home over Easter, so I never think winter is quite finished with us until after that!

    • Karen says:

      Good Morning to you Claire, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. I agree…after Easter usually is when it truly is springlike. Thanks for your comment.

  63. Spring really does seem to have arrived here with sunny days and chirping birds. I keep having to chase a robin out of the house- he pops in every time I open the front door. Your pictures are beautiful. Those bars of icicles are amazing. You have a lovely house. In a beautiful colour. Thanks for sharing your pictures and here’s to sun and thaw! GG

    • Karen says:

      Hi GG, Thank you for your nice compliment and wishes for a warming thaw. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. Robins are so much a part of spring. It sounds like you have a very friendly one hanging around your home.

  64. Shu Han says:

    looking at all that snow make me feel alot better about the sudden dip in temperature in london this week :/ it is beautiful though (when you’re warm inside hehe)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Shu Han, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice comment. I agree that when you are in the warm house, it is lovely looking outside at the snow.

  65. Joanne says:

    Sigh…I really HOPE spring is here sooner than March 20th…but I’ve learned not to get my hopes up too much!

  66. Mona says:

    Oh I want to be there! Your images make it looks so inviting.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mona, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice comment. Snow really can be beautiful…I’m glad you enjoyed the photos.

  67. Lynn says:

    Fascinating how weather can change so quickly, isn’t it? Our weather is similar right now, Spring was peeking around the corner and now is buried in snow again. But .. my line is: I live in hope! :)

  68. oregonsmiles says:

    Good Day Karen, I do feel very fortunate to live in a area of the world where we get to experience all of the 4 Seasons. Here in Oregon Mother Nature is a little Bi-Polar as well. 2 days ago got to 60 degrees, this morning I awoke to a white blanket of snow and snow coming down. The daffodils and crocus haven’t given up, their little heads still poking through saying…. Look at me, Look at me, Spring is coming! ~Franny

    • Karen says:

      Hi Franny, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice comment. We love all for season as well. I think the only season that everyone doesn’t want to linger is winter even though it is very beautiful. Happy to hear that your daffodil and crocus have keep their heads up despite the snow. It makes you appreciate their sweetness even more.

  69. Absolutely stunning. Coming from somewhere that never ever has winters like that, your pictures are beautiful.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you so much for your lovely comment. We live on two different sides of the world…isn’t it wonderful that we can share where we live with so many others through our blogworld.

  70. Gray really is our main color here. Spring is always last to visit us if it comes at all. Your snow and ice images are beautiful, as I am one that really appreciates good winter scenes.

  71. I am afraid it seems the world is changing. I so totally love the photos you took. I would completely hate o be anywhere near those icicles or that snow.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sam, Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. Maybe you are near our summer cottage in Naples, Maine. It would be nice if we didn’t have snow on the ground there.

      • Hunting says:

        Nope, I’m up near Bangor. This is, like, the third year in a row all the “bad” weather has passed by us to the south!

      • Karen says:

        That is what I was afraid of. We couldn’t even get to our property last year at this time…2 ft. of snow was on the ground. You have really been lucky lately.

  72. Kimbercrafts says:

    Dreary greyness aside, you’ve done a wonderful job capturing the beauty of winter. Winter seems to forgotten about us here in upstate NY – I feel like I’ve missed out! ;)

  73. Sure, it’s cold, but what gorgeous photos! That’s the beautiful winter we haven’t (mercifully) had on Long Island.

  74. JannatWrites says:

    It doesn’t snow where I live, so I enjoyed your pictures. Even the icicles. Made me shiver :)

  75. emmycooks says:

    The photos of the icicles are amazing! I can’t imagine. When it gets down to the high 30′s in Seattle I’m too cold. :) But how beautiful you make it look!

  76. What a beautiful home! I lived in Maine for six years and I miss New England.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tricia, Thank you so much for your nice compliment…we love our historic home. We have a summer cottage on a lake in Maine and love the state as much as New Hampshire. New England is really special…especially in summer.

  77. twisterfish says:

    Beautiful photos! I grew up in New England … this post brings back many memories!

  78. It’s cold outside no doubt at your house. We just are raining every day so ready for some sunshine.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Melody, Thank you for stopping by for a visit. Actually it has been warming up each day. We had a horrible rainstorm overnight that melted the rest of the snow.

  79. {Main St. Cuisine} says:

    Such beautiful photos…you’re making me miss the fact that we never had a winter here in the South. Just skipped from fall to spring-summer. I spent many years traveling through New England to visit my Dad’s family and distinctly remember an ice storm that kept us on our trip a few extra days. Not fun for the adults, but it was great for us kids.

  80. dibnah says:

    Love the photos I really miss icicles I can remember the last time I saw some so good here, not that it’s not cold though. I’ll be seed sowing in the kitchen again today. Happy equinox.

  81. cabinet stew says:

    Oh yikes – all that snow! At my mom’s house she got about 8-10 in that storm and we only got about a 1/2 inch – barely covered the grass – down here on the north shore of Boston. Amazing what a difference in only 60 miles (distance from me to my mom’s house in Bedford, NH) and maybe 120mi (guessing you are about another 60 miles north of her)
    But as I am doing some catch up reading – we both know now that all that snow melted and we have enjoyed a weird-for-march warm-up!! Gotta love New England weather!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Carol, Yes…it is amazing the difference from one area to another with that storm. Actually, I’m east of your mother near Exeter. According to the weathermen, we hit the jackpot. Lucky us…but it has all melted and the daffodils are now in full bloom.

      • cabinet stew says:

        oh how funny I always pictured you west – more towards the Connecticut river! well than you must know the “loaf and ladle” and the “Blue Moon” which used to be a market and is now a dinner-house. Many meals eaten at both places!

      • Karen says:

        Yes…you really do know the area where I live. When the weather is nice, I love sitting on the deck outside at the Loaf and Ladle. I have not been the the Blue Moon but was told it is very good.

      • cabinet stew says:

        I love it – we have crossed paths and didn’t even know – how small the world is!

      • Karen says:

        I think we very well may have crossed paths. New Hampshire and the world really is small.

  82. Pingback: At Last It Is Finally Summer | Back Road Journal

Leave a Reply

