Slow Braised Beef Brisket

Slow braised beef brisket fills the kitchen with such wonderful aromas that you may find yourself pacing in front of the oven wanting to take a peak but don’t. The secret to melt in your mouth tenderness is the steam from the vegetables and broth totally enveloping the meat. Just remember that low and slow is the way to go with a piece of meat that… if cooked improperly can be dry and stringy.

As you can see from the photo, the brisket that I cooked was so moist that it glistens with flavorful juices. Of course, a light pan gravy made from the vegetables in the bottom of the roasting pan just added to the enjoyment. Served with roasted baby carrots and buttered egg noodles, it was a simple but very satisfying meal.

Slow Braised Beef Brisket Served With Roasted Baby Carrots And Buttered Noodles

Slow Braised Beef Brisket

  • 1 beef brisket (about 2 1/2 lb.) flat cut
  • 2 large onions, sliced
  • 1 can beef stock
  • 1 can (14 oz.) petite diced tomatoes
  • 6 – 7 whole cloves of garlic, peeled
  • 3 carrots cut in chunks
  • 2 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar
  • 3 whole bay leaves
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh thyme

To be added later:

  • peeled baby carrots
  • 1 Tbsp. flour mixed with 1 Tbsp. butter to create a paste (beurre manie)

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.

Trim the brisket fat to an even thickness of about 1/4 inch. Season with some salt and pepper. Place brisket fat side down in a hot skillet and sear until brown and some fat has melted. Turn and sear the other side. Remove and set aside. Sauté the onions in the same skillet until soft and translucent. Remove and place in a roasting pan. Place the brisket on top of the onions, fat side up.

Deglaze the skillet with the beef stock, scraping up all the brown bits and pour over the brisket. Add the tomatoes, garlic, carrots, vinegar, bay leaves, salt and thyme. Cover the brisket with heavy foil and place in the oven for about 2 hours.

At this point, remove from the oven and baste with the pan juices. Add the baby carrots, cover with foil and return to the oven for 30 minutes to an hour or until meat is fork tender. (Total cooking time is approximately 1 hour per pound).

Remove brisket to a platter. Take out most of the onions and tomatoes and place on top of the  brisket.  Surround the brisket with the baby carrots and cover to keep warm.

Remove the bay leaves and taste the broth for additional seasonings. Add the flour and butter paste and stir until combined. Let simmer for about 5 minutes.  Take a stick blender and whiz to combine the remaining tomatoes, onions and garlic that remained in the sauce. Place sauce in a gravy boat and serve alongside the sliced brisket.

This is such a simple meal to prepare. Even a novice cook will have no problem making this meal and will be certain to get plenty of compliments.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

131 Responses to Slow Braised Beef Brisket

  1. That looks delicious Karen! I’m looking forward to making stew this week to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day now.

  2. Mmmmm…I feel like I can already smell this cooking. It sounds so delicious. Now I’m going to have to go get a beef brisket…you know that, right?

    Thanks for a great recipe!
    ~FringeGirl

  3. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve never cooked a brisket; it just wasn’t in the family’s repertoire. In the past week, a few have encouraged me to cure my own brisket to make corned beef and I’ve already collected a couple recipes. Now, however, it looks like I’ll be buying a 2nd brisket. I’l need it when I cook your recipe here. That looks too good not to try it!

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, My mother never made brisket but my aunt did and it was out of this world delicious. She is the one who told me how to make it. I hope you will enjoy it.

  4. Hello Karen, I found your blog through Five Euro Food. You have a lovely place here! Now I have to figure out how to subscribe to your blog as Google (my platform) doesn’t work well with WordPress (your platform) :)

  5. 6-7 whole cloves of garlic — you’re singing my song! Your brisket looks amazing, you are so right about low and slow, you cannot hurry this cut of meat. At least, no amount of pacing in from of my oven has ever worked for me either.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Judy, Thank you for your nice compliment. I think a lot of people don’t care for brisket because they think it doesn’t have much taste. With a big piece of meat you need the garlic. The slow roasting makes the garlic creamy and sweet. It can be taken out before pureeing for those that think it is too strong of a flavor.

  6. such a succulent looking platter of brisket–I like that you put balsamic vinegar into the braise–it helps tenderize as it infuses flavor.

  7. You made my mouth water and I drooled all over your pretty blog!

  8. Anonymous says:

    I like Brisket cold in a sandwich with loads of red onion rings and horseradish cream … not anything I would cook, wonder why because it’s a dish that don’t need much attention. Some aroma that fills the kitchen while cooking it – your photo is spot on – that is so appealing. Well done.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Viveka, Thank you so much for your nice compliment. I wholeheartedly agree about a brisket sandwich with red onion and horseradish cream being so good. I always look forward to having some leftover brisket for sandwiches.

  9. Tandy says:

    I’ve only ever had this with prunes so I shall have to give this a try :)

  10. Claudia says:

    Your brisket is so welcoming – picture-perfect and the aroma filling the kitchen is a bonus.

  11. For me slow cooking brisket is the best method of producing a wonderful tender and juicy dish which you clearly have done here and as can be seen in your photograph. the balsamic vinegar is a nice touch too.
    I so enjoy reading your posts.

  12. A_Boleyn says:

    Definitely moist and mouthwatering … now how to get a bite of that. :)

  13. lulu says:

    I don’t know how long it’s been since I’ve cooked a brisket and who knows why when it is such a tasty and relatively easy meat to fix. You have given me incentive, but it will have to wait until after the corned beef!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lulu, I don’t know why we forget about some of our favorites, especially something as simple as this is to prepare. I have my corn beef waiting to be cooked. Such a different taste from the same cut of meat. I love them both.

  14. Christine R. says:

    I’m trying this recipe out tonight!! I was sitting here thinking about what to make for dinner and now I have the right recipe. Thanks for this post, I can’t wait to try making this delicious meal!

  15. This is one my husband would love – thanks for this!

  16. Kristy says:

    Mike would LOVE this recipe. He’s a big fan of brisket. I think I’ll pass this along to him. Maybe he’ll whip it up for us one of these days. :)

  17. That looks wonderful; the kind of meal my family loves!

  18. Mad Dog says:

    It sounds delicious – I might have to try cooking it myself ;-)

  19. Karista says:

    One of my favorite meals. This looks divine and reminds me I haven’t had a good brisket in a while. This one will have to be on my menu next week. Love!

  20. cjdelgrosso says:

    Another delicious looking dish Karen. Good job.

  21. Lynda says:

    I adore brisket. Your right; it can be dry if not cooked properly, but boy is it ever delicious when done low and slow. Yours looks super-love the addition of the garlic and balsamic vinegar. I’ll have to try that next time.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for the visit, Lynda and the nice compliment. I think the garlic and balsamic vinegar add so much to the flavor. I hope you will enjoy the brisket when you try this version.

  22. I agree with others that the garlic is a bit of a surprise, but boy, oh boy! I can smell this deep, rich dish! My extended family are huge carnivores…huge in appetite, and in some cases size. LOL! I am frequently challenged to satisfy a crowd. This would do it! Do you ask for brisket? Is that a cut of meat? Yes, I really don’t know. See the service you provide? :-) Debra

    • Karen says:

      Hi Debra, It may sound like a lot of garlic but it is not. Have you heard of the 40 cloves of garlic chicken? Roasting garlic in the oven turns it creamy and sweet. Yes, brisket is a cut of meat…it is the same cut that is used for corned beef and pastrami. Tell the butcher that you would like a flat cut beef brisket. You want a piece that has nice marbling and an even layer of fat on the top. You trim the fat down but leave about 1/4 inch. That is what bastes the beef while it is braising. Happy to answer your questions any time.

  23. Jane says:

    I don’t eat a lot of meat, but that looks so good! Nice work!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Jane, for your nice compliment. My husband and I eat more seafood and chicken but brisket is such a nice meal to make every once in a while.

  24. Brisket usually doesn’t present well, but your photo looks incredible. And the meat does look juicy and flavourful. Really yummy.

  25. nancycg56 says:

    That looks so good!

  26. Karen Harris says:

    This looks just wonderful. I haven’t made a brisket in ages. This inspires me.

  27. Yum! I love hearty, comforting food and this sounds delicious!

  28. Juliana says:

    Yum! Looks so tasty and tender this beef brisket…perfect for this kind of weather.
    Hope you are having a fabulous week Karen :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Juliana, Thank you for your nice comment. It is perfect for this time of the year, especially nice for a Sunday meal. Have a nice week as well.

  29. Purely.. Kay says:

    Just look at that brisket… yummy. It looks so tender and just wonderful. Yup, I am certainly getting hungry from this photo :)

  30. You make even the simplest dishes sing!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Greg, Thank you ever so much…I appreciate the compliment. I want people to realize that a very simple recipe can still have loads of flavor. Simply prepared dishes can be served to a gathering of friends and family and get rave reviews.

  31. Michelle says:

    Looks grand. Now if somebody would teach me how to tell in advance whether a particular brisket is going to stay near the same size or shrink to nothing when cooked!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Michelle, Thank you for your nice compliment. This is my advice when it comes to your brisket. Choose a brisket that is well marbled and has a nice layer of fat on the top. Make sure you buy the flat cut not the point cut. And most important of all…cook it at a very low temperature in the oven covered tightly with foil. You can even cook it at 300 degrees for a little longer if you want. Low and slow!

  32. Rachel Miller says:

    Oh yum! I love good food and this looks so amazing and warm. Perfect winter’s meal.

  33. Thanks for giving me my meal for this weekend!

  34. Candace says:

    I am quite sure your house smelled amazing while this was cooking. The brisket indeed looks tender and juicy. Delicious!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Candace, Thank you for your nice compliment. This really is a meal that creates wonderful aromas in the kitchen. It’s an incredibly tender, juicy and delicious meal.

  35. I’ll have to add brisket to the list now. I’ve tasted it smoked, but your braised looks so moist and delicious, and I love the touch of balsamic, the wonderful vegetables, and the garlic, oh yes!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Besty, Growing up in Texas, brisket is certainly very familiar but as you say…it was usually smoked and served with BBQ sauce. I love it prepared that way but this preparation is so different. I think you will really enjoy the recipe.

  36. Brisket always reminds me of spring and yours looks wonderful. I love that you serve it with the gravy over noodles. Yum!

  37. Hi Karen, You’re making me hungry looking at the photo and I’ve already eaten! I haven’t had brisket for along while. It looks wonderful and I can just imagine the wonderful aroma.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cher, Thank you for your nice comment but sorry I made you hungry again. Maybe a tiny piece of chocolate will help. That is my indulgence at night. I hope you give the brisket a try. I think you will wonder why you haven’t had it in awhile.

  38. Kaitlyn says:

    Recipes with the words “slow braised” and “beef” immediately catch my eye! I like that you use balsamic vinegar with the veggies! A nice way to flavor it up with out the calories of wine

  39. This is comfort food at its best, the beef looks so succulent and chunky vegetables so delicious.

  40. Larry says:

    Your plate looks delicious and it made me instantly hungry for it.

  41. Karen I have not had brisket in some time and must confess I have never made this juicy looking dish. It looks so inviting and homey and comforting.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Teresa, for your comment. Brisket is often overlooked when deciding on what to prepare for dinner. It is so simple to make and so good.

  42. Sissi says:

    What a wonderful home, simple heartwarming dish! My husband would love it! (I’m rather a pork and chicken fan and he loves the beef). I love your vinegar twist. I must use it when I make a slowly braised dish.

  43. Your brisket must’ve been spoon tender! I bet it tasted delicious as a main dish and for possible sandwich leftovers, if there were any!

  44. Looks so moist and delicious! I haven’t made a beef brisket and it is a must try for me!!

  45. How divine and delicious. I can just tell how tender and delicious and comforting this dish is going to taste. Is beurre manie the same as a roux? Take Care, BAM

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Bam, for your nice compliment. A beurre manie is different but achieves a similar result. A beurre manie is a paste (mix butter and flour together with a fork) that is added at the end to thicken a dish without creating lumps.

  46. What lovely comfort food! The meat looks so moist and tender that you can almost feel it sliding into your mouth. Unfortunately, here in the part of Mexico where I live, it is sometimes hard to get properly aged and marbled meat, but this brisket recipe would work beautifully!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Victoria, Thank you for your nice compliment. I’m happy that the recipe will work for you. I know many dishes that bloggers write about have ingredients that might be hard to find where they live.

  47. Thanks Karen for the quickie lesson, I learn something new every day. Have a great day. Take care, BAM

  48. Maddy Cruise says:

    I never had a success on making the brisket! Thanks for sharing your recipes! :) maybe I will succeed this time!

  49. Yummy! I love how beurre manié makes sauces so nice and glossy. Good idea to keep the baby carrots separate and use a stick blender too! It looks so tender and amazing!

    • Karen says:

      Thanks Daisy, for your nice comment. The baby carrots would fall apart if cooked from the start…but added at the end they still picked up a lot of the good flavor.

  50. sarah says:

    Oh my goodness! I love brisket so, so much! I want to eat this for breakfast right now.

  51. Sydney Jones says:

    This sounds absolutely delicious Karen! My boyfriend would love this :)

  52. I’m imagining the aromas in your kitchen while this cooks Karen!

  53. Looks delicious Karen. Very refreshing to see brisket prepared off the grill, as sometimes my mind can’t separate itself from fire and smoke as the only way to cook meat. ;-)

    Btw- I heard that you made your way over to La Cave a Vin this past weekend. Hope you found some good things.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jeb, Thank you for the compliment. It is funny that most people associate brisket with being smoked and eating with BBQ sauce. I was just going to let you know that I took your recommendation about La Cave a Vin. We are having cheese and wine as our dinner tonight. Thanks!

  54. Cucina49 says:

    Slow cooking is the only way to go with a brisket. Great recipe–I will be doing a brisket for Passover in a couple of weeks and will keep this in mind.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cucina, I know you probably have a special brisket recipe of your own for passover…but I think you might enjoy this one. Thank you for your comment.

  55. Mmm … I love the melt in your mouth tenderness of slow cooked meat. I like the idea of adding balsamic vinegar – I am sure it adds an extra dimension of flavour.

  56. That looks soooo good! My mouth is watering. I love cooking things low and slow. They come out so flavorful and tender and its so easy to do because you don’t have to slave away in the kitchen for hours!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ducky, Thank you so much for your nice compliment. You know exactly what I am talking about. Put the brisket in a low oven and walk away for several hours…simple and delicious.

  57. Amy says:

    I haven’t made brisket in soooo long. Oh man, it looks so good with buttered noodles. I have GOT to make this soon.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Amy, Thank you for your nice comment. Brisket and buttered noodles just seem to go together so well. Especially with the nice sauce on the side.

  58. Karen, I’ve always wanted to make brisket but I never have — mostly because I know so little about it. Yours looks just amazing and has inspired me to try it some time!

  59. It looks wonderful! I shouldn’t have perhaps read this so soon before dinner! :P

  60. Our daring cooks challenge this month was about braising. I just love what braising does to meat or even vegetables!
    As you said, the smell alone is worth it

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sawsan, Thank you for your comment. When I braise meats there are always vegetables in the mix as well. They add flavor to the broth and the broth adds flavor to the vegetables and meat. It ends up being a wonderful dish full of flavor.

  61. This looks mouthwatering! I love a brisket that is cooked well!

  62. Oh my, this does look like it would melt in my mouth, Karen. I wish I could reach into my screen and scoop up a big forkful.

  63. spicegirlfla says:

    This does looks so melting tender Karen! I’ve actually not ever cooked a briskett…except in a cooking class!! This has reminded me I really must try for my son. He’s definitely a meat and potatoes guy and I know he will love it.

  64. I’ve just bought a new braiser and can’t wait to try this.. I can imagine having this quietly simmering on a quiet weekend day!

  65. I could eat this everyday and be a very happy girl.
    Sam

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sam, I totally agree. I try to buy a brisket that is large enough to have for several meals. The flavor is better the next day for another hot meal and it makes yummy sandwiches.

  66. hotlyspiced says:

    I love a one-pot meal and that looks absolutely delicious xx

  67. Pingback: The Luck Of The Irish | Back Road Journal

  68. ....RaeDi says:

    Beautiful! Am going to use up the last of our brisket (in freezer) some time this week. The looks and sounds delicious!

  69. Absolutely beautiful. I love slow cooked dishes both for the flavour and the convenience of preparing something and then going about your day while it cooks! We don´t often get beef here but when we do it´s either a very expensive cut of steak or something suited to slow cooking, so I will be on the look out!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Tanya, for your nice compliment. I think this recipe could be used for any meat that would benefit from slow cooking. I’m like you…I like a dish that more or less takes care of itself.

  70. Susan says:

    I love brisket and make it a few different ways but this one sounds like another great way to make it. It looks delicious and tender!

  71. I am excited to check out this one. My hubby LOVES brisket, and I know this one will be a huge hit!

  72. Pingback: Whole Food Wednesday - Braised BBQ Beef Brisket | beyondthepeel.net

  73. cabinet stew says:

    simply perfection! and just when I thought it couldn’t get any better, I read the comment about the sandwich with red onions/horseradish and I practically had to stop reading, go the store and buy a brisket!
    On a related note: I “corned” my own brisket this year for St. patty’s day (maybe I will post about it next year) and was very proud when my Irish husband said it was the best ever. Doing my own was easy and far-less salty than store bought corned. But we just love a regular old-fashioned brisket like yours!! I was planning chili for Sunday dinner tomorrow but….

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Carol, for your very nice compliment. That brisket was the best we ever had. I really think the balsamic vinegar really added to this dish. I’m proud of you for corning your own brisket…that is great because too many times when you buy it, the meat is way to salty. That is when I find soaking store bought corned beef and changing the water several times get rids of the salt. But brining your own brisket is definitely the way to go.

  74. Pingback: Back To Reality | Back Road Journal

  75. There’s a reason for the term retro-tastique! Because it is :) I love beautiful braised with wide egg noodles. It’s so European and easy to see why a comeback can be great sometime. Yum!

  76. Pingback: Whole Food Wednesday - Braised BBQ Beef Brisket - The Restless Palate

Leave a Reply

