A Salad Of Warm Potatoes, Mussels And Shrimp

A salad can be more than just lettuce with bottled dressing. It can be the star of the dining table. Fresh crisp greens, warm potatoes, mussels and shrimp is a complete meal…only needing a loaf of crusty bread to serve alongside.

A Salad Of Warm Potatoes, Mussels And Shrimp

My recipe was inspired by a dish that my husband had while we were on our European trip last fall. In my post Au Revoir France, Ciao Italy, I mentioned that my husband was dreaming of finding the ultimate little seafood restaurant on the Italian Riviera (the Ligurian coast) for lunch. Just outside of San Remo, we found his dream restaurant, Byblos located right on the water. One of the dishes that we had that day was a warm octopus and potato salad dressed with olive oil.

Instead of octopus, I used black mussels which are also found on menus in that area. Since this was going to be our main course, I added shrimp and served the potatoes and seafood on a bed of spring greens dressed with a light lemony dressing. This recipe is simple to make and doesn’t have a long list of exotic ingredients. Use your imagination to adapt the recipe to your own tastes.

A Salad Of Warm Potatoes, Mussels And Shrimp

  • 2 lbs. black mussels
  • 1/4 c. olive oil  plus an additional 2 Tbsp.  to dress the seafood
  • 1/2 c. white wine
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 or 4 shrimp per person, shelled and deveined
  • 6 – 10 small red skinned potatoes (depending on size) cut into bite size pieces
  • 1 – 2 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp. chopped fresh oregano
  • 2 Tbsp. chopped fresh parsley
  • 1 tsp. salt or to taste
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes or to taste
  • 7 – 8 oz. salad greens (your choice of tender lettuce)
  • a light dressing of 3 Tbsp. of olive, 1 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice, salt and pepper to taste

Wash the mussels well and remove any beard, if present. Place the mussels in a large pot with the oil, wine and garlic and steam over high heat until the mussels open. Remove the mussels, discard any that do not open and reserve the broth. When the mussels are cool enough to handle, remove from the shells and set aside in a large bowl.

Add the shrimp to the broth and steam until they turn pink. Remove the shrimp and place in the bowl with the mussels and reserve the broth.

Place the diced potato in the reserved broth (add water if needed to cover) and cook until tender but firm. Remove the potatoes from broth and add to the mussels.

Reduce the broth to the consistency of a dressing and place in a small bowl. Add the additional 2 Tbsp. of olive oil, lemon juice, salt, pepper and chili flakes. Mix to combine  and pour over the potatoes, mussels, the chopped oregano and parsley. Taste and adjust seasoning if necessary. Toss gently so that potatoes absorb the dressing.

Toss the lettuce with the lemon dressing. Place lettuce on a platter or in individual bowls and top with the potato and seafood mixture.

The warm seafood salad makes a nice first course similar to what we had in Italy but it is substantial enough to have as a main course. Either way, I think you will enjoy the dish.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

130 Responses to A Salad Of Warm Potatoes, Mussels And Shrimp

  1. Michi says:

    Ooh, this looks divine!! I’ll bookmark it so I can make it later! I love Mediterranean seafood dishes – fish fresh out of the Mediteranean is such a great delight.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Michi, Thank you for your very nice compliment. Fresh seafood is delicious and what we have enjoyed while traveling along the Mediterranean coast has been great. I hope you will enjoy the recipe.

  2. Definitely a winner this one. I also like to find meals to have for guests that will taste amazing, can be made a little ahead and served warm/ near room temp. I think your right as an appetizer or a special lunch would be nice too. looks so good!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you very much Wendy, for your lovely compliment. This is a great do ahead dish as it lets the flavors develop. I hope you and your guests will enjoy the recipe.

  3. Little Sis says:

    Wow. That looks lovely. And just right for these days that are still a bit chilly.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Little Sis, for your nice compliment. I think that this is a dish that could be enjoyed anytime of the year…it really is delicious.

  4. Mad Dog says:

    I could eat that now with some aillioli

  5. lulu says:

    I haven’t even had breakfast and already I’m thinking ahead to dinner if this is on the menu. This looks like a real winner. I know the shrimp here will be good, but the mussels might be a little iffy. Just the opposite is true in Maine!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lulu, Sorry to have you thinking about dinner so early in the morning but I’m glad you like the recipe. This dish is very adaptable to whatever seafood is fresh in your area on any particular day. Even chunks of fresh fish could be added.

  6. Razel Rull-Navarro says:

    Oh dear! Another recipe to try. We love seafood … my son LOVES mussels. I love kipfler potatoes so do you think I can substitute the red potatoes with them?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Razel, Thank you for your nice comment. You could use any potato in this recipe…red potatoes were fresh in the market when I prepared this dish. I hope you will enjoy the recipe as much as you liked the Romesco sauce.

  7. Karen what a great trio combined to make a great meal. This recipe is one I will try as I love mussels so much. Never thought to pair them with potatoes. Bravo!

  8. Wow! That looks and sounds wonderful Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Rosemary, for your nice compliment. I love the fresh seafood dishes that we get along the Mediterranean coast…they were my inspiration for this dish.

  9. Agree that salads can be the centre feature of a meal, if not a meal in itself!

  10. Bonnie says:

    Lovely! The shrimp steamed in the mussel broth is a delicious idea.

    Best,
    Bonnie

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Bonnie, for your nice compliment. Each ingredient keeps adding to the flavor of the broth which is then cooked down. It really is a delicious dish. I’m glad you like the idea.

  11. How lovely to recreate a meal at home, a happy memory of a happy holiday. Lovely !

    • Karen says:

      Hi Claire, One of the nice things about traveling is the ideas you get for preparing food. I’m sure you do as well. Thank you for your compliment.

  12. Oh, so glad I stopped by here first for a yummy entree…now I am heading over to Wendy’s for dessert. This may be the best way to “diet” before the wedding. : ) ~~Bliss

  13. Gosh, Karen, as much as I love mussels, I would never, ever thought to have put them in a potato salad–how inventive! The salad looks absolutely wonderful. And so inspired.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Victoria, for your nice compliment. I take my inspirations for dishes from chefs wherever I travel. So many seafood dishes along the Mediterranean are simple combinations of vegetables along with seafood. I had a similar dish made with zucchini.

  14. ChgoJohn says:

    This is one beautiful salad, Karen, and I could easily enjoy it as a main course. Just add a nice piece of crusty bread, a glass of white, and I’d be one very happy diner! :)

  15. This looks divine! The potatoes are a really nice addition. Love, love, love mussels.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Diane, for your lovely compliment. The potatoes soak up all the wonderful flavors of the broth. Much like if you used bread to soak up all the juice in a bowl.

  16. The best part about blogging, is going through everyone’s posts and deciding which one to make for dinner.. I think yours just won;) What a perfect meal.. I’m with John.. a crusty bread and it’s just lovely as a complete spring meal!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Smidge, Thanks for your nice comment. I agree…I think I have found more recipes that sound good from fellow bloggers than from cookbooks. I hope you will enjoy the dish.

  17. Eri says:

    How lovely does this salad looks Karen! I love all the ingredients and I’m sure that the citrus is doing it’s job by giving a nice tangy kick!

  18. This sounds amazing, can’t wait to give it a try!

  19. I totally agree with you on this salad: it is something special! I’ve been making warm salads for some time by now and love it so much. I love this combination, it certainly tastes great!

  20. Janis says:

    So deliciou!!! Look at how fresh those mussels are. Yum! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

  21. Love the idea of adding potatoes to the seafood salad. It’s something I never would think to do, but it looks so delicious :)

  22. Sibella says:

    It’s lunch time here and I just came across this … :) I want it now! :D

  23. Sissi says:

    Karen, this salad sounds so original! I wonder why I have never thought of combining mussels with potatoes. I love both and their combination with this sauce must be excellent. You have really made me want to try the octopus version… I love octopus and haven’t had it for ages, but my fish shop sells it frozen all the time, so I should give it a try. Thanks for the great recipe!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sissi, Thank you for your nice compliment. It is delicious prepared with the octopus like we had in Italy. We have lovely frozen octopus here as well. However you prepare it, I think you will enjoy the seafood with potatoes.

  24. beti says:

    I’ve never really liked mussels, they seem pretty slippery and rubery but this dish looks pretty good, I think I’ll ommit mussels or maybe change them :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Beti, Thank you for your nice comment. This recipe is very adaptable. You could just use all shrimp or even add chucks of a firm fleshed fish that you like.

  25. I remember that original post (lovely!) and I love your interpretation of what you ate. Isn´t it lovely to be inspired and then recreate and then reminisce. You get to enjoy a wonderful experience several times over that way!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tanya, Thank you for your lovely comment. You are right…recreating dishes you had while traveling brings back lovely memories. The trip was wonderful and Byblos was one of our best discoveries along the way. Everyone at the restaurant was local and we know why. The dish we had that day was wonderful inspiration.

  26. viveka says:

    Great to read you old post .. about leaving France for Italy. Some holiday you had .. this week I will post my review/report on Nice. Never tried potatoes with mussels and potatoes – can’t say anything until I tried it. Looks the business, but looking good does everything you do .. I’m not convict yet. *smile – You are a great chef and to try to do something that you have eaten somewhere isn’t the easiest thing to do – it takes a bit of trimming. I do a warm potato salad with grilled chicken breast, one of our best sellers – have to dig for it. Served last time on my birthday last year.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Viveka, so much for your compliment. Your comments mean so much to me because you are a trained chef. I really try to create and recreate recipes that I hope people will enjoy as much as my husband and I do. I know your warm potato salad must be special if you had it on your birthday.

  27. cabinet stew says:

    I am not a mussels fan but my husband would sure love this dish! At any rate it looks delicious!!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Carol, Thank you as always for your comment. I understand where you are coming from with the mussels. Just add more shrimp so that you can both enjoy the dish. When you serve the dish, just pick out all of the shrimp for you. LOL.

  28. Perfect!!!
    This salad looks deliciously gorgeous…
    Combination of mussels and potatoes…With the sauce yumm….

    • Karen says:

      Thank you so much Reem, for your very nice compliment. This really is a simple yet very delicious recipe. I’m glad you like the looks of this dish.

  29. You have such a talent for remembering and then recreating favorite dishes! Such creativity! I know you describe as simple dishes, but the flavor combinations are choice! Very lovely…and what a wonderful memory to recall when you serve this! :-) Debra

    • Karen says:

      Thank you so much Debra, for such a lovely compliment. I really appreciate it very much. I’m lucky enough to have experienced so many wonderful dishes when traveling and love to try and recreate them. I then enjoy sharing them with my readers.

  30. OMG in heaven, what a delicious dish! I would NEVER have dreamed up this recipe! We love mussels & shrimp! I’ll be making this recipe for certain! In fact we had my mussels diablo over linguini last evening!

    Have a great week, and thanks for sharing your delicious recipe!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mary, Thank you so much for your lovely compliment. I’m so glad that this recipe sounds good to you. My husband and I really enjoyed it.

  31. CorkAndSpoon says:

    Oh, yum, Karen! That is my kind of salad. Potatoes and seafood? Yes, please! This will be perfect for all those summer cookouts around the corner :-) ~Ruth

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ruth, Thank you so much for your lovely comment. I think that a seafood salad like this is perfect for this summer’s outings. We enjoyed the original dish so much by the waters edge in Italy.

  32. Meat and potatoes! This is my kind of salad. (Seafood is meat!)

  33. Kristy says:

    Karen this salad is right up my family’s alley. Every single one of us would eat this and no doubt give it top marks. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristy, I’m glad you like the recipe. I do know that your whole family likes mussels. If you try the dish, I hope you will enjoy it.

  34. Carolyn Chan says:

    Oh wow that is truly a little taste of Italy!

  35. Are you kidding me with this amazing recipe! I am seriously in love! I am tabbing this for consumption later in the week!

  36. Lea Ann says:

    I have been on a mussel binge over the last month and this salad just sounds so wonderful. Elegant, delicious and Spring-y. A must try very soon, and I’m pinning it so I don’t’ forget.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lea Ann, I’m so happy that you like the recipe. My husband loves mussels and really liked this dish. I hope you will enjoy them and thank you for your lovely compliment.

  37. Karista says:

    Karen what a fun and delicious way to prepare a salad! A beautiful spring and summer meal.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Karista, for your nice comment. This recipe is a good one that will be repeated this summer when I love room temperature dishes.

  38. Caroline says:

    WANT that salad right now….please?! Looks and sounds fantastic. Never tried anything like it.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Caroline, This seafood salad is very similar to what we had while traveling in Italy. I’m glad you like the recipe. Thanks for your nice comment.

  39. ceciliag says:

    wow.. this is quite quite fantastic, recollecting recipes and tastes as you travel is such a lovely way to relive little parts of your journey.. c

    • Karen says:

      Hi Celi, It is fun to relive you travels by recreating dishes that stand out in your memory. I can’t tell you how often we tried different seafood salads while in France and Italy.

  40. Being veg I suppose the seafood is out but even so, a warm potato salad? In love with it :D
    Great recipe!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • Karen says:

      Hi CCU, A warm potato salad is great, I’ve had many…especially during travels in Germany and Austria. Thanks for your compliment.

  41. France says:

    I love the simplicity of this salad. It’s always nice to find one that doesn’t depend on lettuce either. The seafood looks amazing here.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you France, for your nice comment. This is a simple recipe that relies on the freshness of the seafood, good quality olive oil and herbs.

  42. Susan says:

    I love mussels but have never had them like this! What a delicious combination of goodies!

  43. Oh, this is the sort of dish I would ADORE. Much harder to get it past my husband, who’s not a shellfish or prawn fan, but maybe I need to just make it for myself and the boys.. ;-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Celia, Thank you for your nice compliment. You might be able to please everyone in your family by adding some nice chunks of poached fish to this dish. Your husband could just pick out the offending shellfish.

  44. Charles says:

    Hi Karen, I love warm potato salads – the sound of the lemony dressing and greens is sounding especially wonderful, and those wonderful shrimps… mmm :D Looks like a wonderful meal you had!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charles, I’m so happy that you enjoy this recipe. The combination of flavors is really nice. We really enjoyed the salad.

  45. Cucina49 says:

    I wish I had found that restaurant when I was in San Remo last year! That salad looks astonishing…definitely Ligurian in inspiration. If you ever go to Imperia, which is relatively close to San Remo, there is a seafood restaurant called Nero di Seppia that is to die for.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cucina, The restaurant was a real find…on the water, all locals and some of the best seafood we had on the trip. I’ll make note of the recommendation if we are ever in Imperia. Thank you for your nice compliment on my seafood salad.

  46. OoOoo, you had me on “warm potatoes!” Loooovely. Xx

  47. It is breakfast time here in Asia and this warm salad is on my list for lunch. Spring is a time for change and having the warm with the cool is a lovely idea. Guess what, later this month I am off to Italy. We will not be on the coast but my taste buds are ready for anything. Take care, BAM

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Bam, for your nice compliment. I hope you will enjoy the dish. I know you will have a wonderful trip to Italy…it should be a lovely time for a visit.

  48. Juliana says:

    Karen, this warm salad looks really good as the weather here in Southern California does not want to settle…hot one day and freezing cold next :)
    Hope you are having a wonderful week!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Juliana, for your nice compliment. We are having the same crazy weather…one day I’m wearing cotton, the next day I’m dressed in wool. Have a lovely week as well.

  49. Claudia says:

    I love substantial salads and you can be so creative. Saving this – it has it all – taste and good lucks! I’ll be spending a week in Maine come June. Cannot wait – haven’t been there since I was a young teen (that was…. a few years ago).

    • Karen says:

      Hi Claudia, Thank you for your very nice compliment. I hope you will enjoy the salad. June is a nice time to visit Maine. I know you will have a wonderful time.

  50. Pat says:

    My husband and I would love this delicious salad, Karen! My husband is from Calabria, Italy, where potatoes are incorporated into many regional dishes like this. He remembers his mother making potatoes and snails, and baccala cooked with potatoes in a white sauce.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Pat, I think the two of you will enjoy this dish a lot. Both of the dishes that your husband’s mother cooked sound terrific. We would love those as well.

  51. This warm salad sounds and looks really good! Thanks for sharing!

  52. Mary says:

    This sounds wonderful and very very French. I know I’d love this. Have a wonderful day. Blessings…Mary

  53. Congrats my friend, I have awarded you the Versatile Blogger Award today :D
    You deserve it!
    Check it out here: http://gobakeyourself.wordpress.com/2012/05/02/vanilla-maple-caramel-popcorn-my-guest-post/

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Choc Chip Uru, for thinking of my blog for the Versatile Blogger Award. I always appreciate it when someone enjoys my blog and honors me with an award. I’ve been lucky to have been given this award before, you can read more about me in my post Surprises while traveling. I will add you name as a presenter. Thank you again.

  54. machisan says:

    Love the idea of this i must try that…

  55. hotlyspiced says:

    You certainly have had some amazing traveling experiences. I would so love to go to France and Italy. You are right about salads. They can be a complete main course if you want them to be. I love the look of this – so many incredible flavours, colours and textures – delicious! xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, My husband and I really have had great travel adventures. The foodies that we are…finding great restaurants are always on the agenda. This salad really did remind us of the wonderful seafood salads that we enjoyed on our last trip. Thank you for your nice compliment/

  56. I’m sure the flavors of this salad would make me think I was sitting in a little Italian restaurant by the sea. Cooking the potatoes in that wonderful broth must have given them a delicious extra bit of flavor. Lovely salad, Karen. I’m saving this recipe.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cathy, The salad did bring back memories of our trip to the coast of Italy. Cooking the potatoes in the broth did add great flavor. I hope you enjoy the recipe. Thank you as aways for your comment.

  57. Pam says:

    What a great combination of ingredients! It looks delicious.

  58. love all the flavors going on in this dish. The mussels go perfectly with those potatoes. Hearty yet light with the seafood! LOVE IT

  59. Trish says:

    Mmmmm this looks heavenly! :)

  60. This is a star for sure Karen, I love having a salad for a main course. They are interesting, full of different flavors and textures

  61. Shrimp and mussels…..count me in. This sounds delicious and something I know my husband would love as well. So beautifully presented too.
    Sam

  62. What a beautiful combination of flavors! I will have to make this for my daughter who is a seafood lover.

  63. hotlyspiced says:

    There’s so many dishes here but crabs and mango go so well together and the combination really does make you feel that summer has arrived. xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, You stumped me for a minute and then I realized you were commenting on my other post…not the mussels. Happy that you like the crab cake recipe with the mango salsa.

  64. dskrzycki says:

    I really love mussels but nobody in my family does. They don’t know what they are missing. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

