Pan Fried Pork Chops With A Warm Tapenade

I love pork chops! They are the bargain of the meat counter and no matter how they are prepared, they take on the flavors of what you combine them with. They can be braised and covered in cream gravy, grilled and covered with salsa and if you would like something a little special you can also prepare them…pan fried with a seasoned breadcrumb coating and topped with a warm tapenade.

This is such an easy recipe to put together that it can be served during the middle of the week but it is also special enough to serve to guests when entertaining.

Pan Fried Pork Chops With A Warm Tapenade

Pan Fried Pork Chops With A Warm Tapenade

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 c. green pitted olives, sliced
  • 1/4 c. capers (I use capers packed in white balsamic vinegar)
  • 2 Tbsp. sun dried tomatoes packed in oil, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp. liquid from the capers
  • 1 tsp. anchovy paste
  • 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh herbs such as oregano or thyme
  • 4 center cut loin pork chops about 3/4 to 1 inch thick
  • flour for dusting
  • seasoned Italian dried bread crumbs for dredging
  • 1 beaten egg seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, cayenne and mixed with 2 Tbsp. milk
  •  peanut oil for frying

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Heat olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and cook until soft and translucent. Add the garlic and cook for one minute more. Add the olives, capers, sun dried tomatoes, liquid from the capers and the anchovy paste. Cook until heated through. Remove from the heat, add the herbs, stir and keep warm.

Prepare a dredging station…a bowl with the egg wash and a plate with the seasoned breadcrumbs. Season the pork chops with salt and pepper and dust lightly with flour. Dip the chops into the egg wash and let the excess drip off. Dip the chops into the breadcrumbs, turning and patting to make sure they are completely covered. Let sit for a few minutes.

Cover the bottom of an oven safe skillet with 1/4 inch of oil and heat until hot. Place the chops in the skillet and pan fry until golden on each side being careful not to let the crumbs get too brown. Remove the chops, pour off the oil and then replace the chops. Place the skillet in the oven for 6 to 8 minutes, depending on the thickness of the chops. Remove and let rest 5 minutes before plating.

Serve the chops topped with a spoon of warm tapenade. Some sautéed greens and garlic mashed potatoes would go well with this dish. Perhaps you might enjoy a side of a simple pasta tossed with olive oil, garlic and a little red pepper. No matter with you serve with the chops, I know that you will enjoy them. The breadcrumb crust seals in the juices and the flavors of the warm tapenade give a nice lively flavor to the dish.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

123 Responses to Pan Fried Pork Chops With A Warm Tapenade

  1. Really wonderful Karen! I would never have thought of tapenade. But now I am. Thank you:)

  2. This looks wonderful :D
    That tapenade really gives it an awesome touch!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. I love this tapenade – Olives are a favorite of mine. Your pork chops look perfectly fried and what a great way to top them1

    • Karen says:

      Hi Becki, I love olives as well. Using them in tapenade is one of my favorite uses. The pork chops were crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

  4. Sue says:

    Hi Karen
    Hope you’re enjoying the spring so far. This recipe looks delicious—hubby could have the pork chops, and I’d eat the topping. Ah, a strange couple indeed…….. :D

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sue, Thank you for your compliment. One dish shared two ways. Not strange at all…just different tastes. It is nice hearing from you. Spring has been good, even though the weather is crazy. I hope your gardens are doing well.

  5. Lea Ann says:

    Karen, I’m loving this recipe. Some of my favorite ingredients, onions, olives, capers = yum. However, I’m not very good with chops. Seems they usually turn out chewy and tough, unless I buy those paper thin ones and flash fry. Love those for breakfast. Wonder what I do wrong?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lea Ann, Thank you for your compliment. I would think that if your chops are chewy and tough that they have been overcooked. When frying the chops they are best when just browned on each side quickly and finished in the oven. Letting them sit for a few minutes after cooking helps them stay juicy.

  6. Wonderful recipe Karen!
    Is true, it is perfect for a week night or an especial occasion :)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Giovanna, for your nice compliment. The pork chops are quick and easy to prepare. Dressing them up with tapenade makes them perfect for a special occasion.

  7. Ooh that does sounds good – I could eat the tapendade on its own too! Love the breadcrumb crust, crunchy on the outside juicy on the inside :)

    • Karen says:

      I agree with you, Tanya. I could eat tapenade by the spoonful or slathered on bread. The crunchy crust helps seal in the juices. Thank you for your compliment…the chops are good.

  8. savourytable says:

    This really looks delicious. I love the tartness of green olives paired with sweet sun dried tomatoes. I will be making this soon.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Karen, Thank you for your compliment. I did like the combination of sun dried tomatoes and green olives…sweet, salty and tangy. I hope you will enjoy the dish.

  9. lulu says:

    This is my idea of a perfect dish, simple to prepare and it looks great on the plate. I bet the tapenade would also work on chicken breasts.

  10. Bonnie says:

    Lovely! This southern bred girl has had a long affair with pork chops in many ways. Thanks for another delicious recipe for the file.

    Best,
    Bonnie

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bonnie, Growing up in the south, we did have porks chops a lot. Unfortunately, my mother always cooked them way too long. Thank you for your compliment and I hope you will enjoy the recipe.

  11. viveka says:

    Don’t know what happen here .. this had gone straight into my waste bin … very odd. This is something for me – big lover of pork chops .. with or without bone. This have to go on file .. and garlic mash also something I enjoy – have you tried my carrot sweet chili mash – superb. So into file we go.

  12. That does look amazing. I can’t wait to try these! I’ve been looking for something different to do with pork.

  13. ChgoJohn says:

    This looks delicious, Karen, and I really like the idea of a warm tapenade. My only problem with this dish and recipe is that I went to the grocery yesterday. I actually had chops in my hand — they’re also a favorite of mine — but thought I’d go chopless this week. Drat! Maybe I should send you an email asking what posts you’ve planned and use the info to make my shopping list. :)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you John, for the nice compliment. It sounds like we shop alike. I’ll put meat in my basket, have second thoughts and put it back. I think you will like the warm tapenade. Warning the olives really enhances their flavor.

  14. This is the most unique preparation of pork chops I’ve seen in a long well… a very welcome refreshing way to serve them! I love olive tapenade and the addition of capers.. well, this would be lovely to tuck into!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Smidge! I cook pork chops often and the tapenade did make them special. Capers and olives are such a nice combination, I think.

  15. It’s hard to make a bad pork chop. Any way they are prepared, they just taste great! I might have to make this for a quickie dinner this week. Thanks for the recipe.
    p.s. – Your tomato plants are looking fantastic. Life doesn’t get any better than eating a homegrown heirloom tomato. yummm

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mary. The tomatoes really are doing well. I’m glad they are in the potting shed since we have had nothing but gray, rainy and cold days. I do hope you will enjoy the pork chops. This dish is very quick to put together and tastes great. Thanks for your comment.

  16. Karen, these look wonderful. I tend to overlook the humble pork chop for some reason–probably because I cook tenderloins instead, but what a great pairing with the tapenade, which I could eat on cardboard, much less a succulent pork chop!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Victoria…the pork chops are delicious with the warm tapenade. I like pork tenderloins as well but there is something about the flavor of a pork chop that I love.

  17. WOW! This looks DELICIOUS!! :)

  18. Eva Taylor says:

    Tapinade and pork have such a wonderful affinity, their flavours are so complimentary. This really does look quite delicious, Karen, particularly for a weeknight meal.

  19. Sibella says:

    Looks fantastic! :)

  20. I agree w/you on the pork chops – a great bargain. I too would never have thought of tapenade, mainly because I had to look up what it was. I’ve learned yet another new thing today, thank you.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Diane, Thank you for your comment. I can buy pork chops for less thank ground beef. If you like olives, you will definitely have to try tapenade.

  21. terry1954 says:

    sounds yummy and looks good enough to eat right now!!! lol

  22. Looks terrific. Pan-fried pork chops are a great way to get a delicious dinner on the table quickly. And a warm tapanade is a wonderful topping! Love it!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you so much Daisy, for your nice compliment. They really are a fast and tasty meal…especially with the warm tapenade.

  23. Mad Dog says:

    I love the idea of warm tapenade – excellent!

  24. Amy says:

    Nate claims not to like pork chops, but he LOVES olives, so I think I may have stumbled upon the perfect recipe to force him to branch out his food choices :) Or worst case scenario, I’ll use this tapenade on chicken or fish which I think would probably taste equally amazing…Thanks!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Amy, I hope that this dish would change Nate’s mind about pork chops. But the warm tapenade would be delicious over chicken or fish as well. Just don’t sneak in shrimp. LOL

  25. Larry says:

    This sounds awesome and I’m sure I could just eat the tapenade with a spoon. This will definitely go on the try soon list to help with my continuing clean out the freezer efforts.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Larry, I’m glad that you think this dish sounds awesome…I think I could agree with that. Oh, the cleaning out the freezer efforts. Is that part of spring cleaning? I better get down to the basement…I’m sure I have some UFO’s lurking in the bottom of my freezer.

  26. A_Boleyn says:

    The tapenade takes it over the top from an everyday meal to a special one.

  27. Oh woman, you are speaking my language! so many of my favorite things, piled high and juicy! Lovely!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Natalia, for your enthusiastic comment. It makes me feel good to know that this dish talks to you. I am very happy with the way this dish has taken an ordinary pork chop to another level.

  28. sarahjbugg says:

    Ooh, that tapanade looks very tasty. Must try it out soon!

  29. I love pork chops, too! You’re right, they are so versatile. I love the idea of the bright flavors of your warm tapenade, brilliant, and different!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your compliment, Betsy. The warm tapenade was the highlight of the dish and really made the pork chops special.

  30. Kristy says:

    This would be right up Mike’s alley. I’m not big on capers and olives, but he and Mr. N both would love this I think. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristy, The nice thing about the dish is that the tapenade is used as a topping. You could just serve it on the side like a gravy or sauce for the two guys in your life.

  31. Yvette says:

    Karen, what a beautiful mixture of my favourite ‘Italian’ tastes, and aroma’s. I so love the base of onions,garlic and anchovies..the start of something wonderful! A great dish! x

  32. These pork chops look divine! So full of flavour and juicy too :)

  33. This reminds me a lot of Candle 79′s seitan piccata. Similar idea, with a breaded cutlet and capers, but meatless! I’m not sure that seitan is exactly a “bargain” protein, but it could be worth a very small splurge… ;) I like your addition of olives, I’ll have to try that with mine next time.

  34. Katerina says:

    Pork just like chicken is a very versatile meat and goes practically with everything. I cook pork very often and I always try to find new ways to pair it. The chops certainly look mouthwatering and the tapenade with all the different ingredients looks like the perfect umbrella on them.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Katerina, Thank you for your nice compliment. The tapenade gave such a nice flavor and would be good on chicken as well.

  35. So smart – an olive-caper-sun-dried tomato tapenade over pork chops. I never would have thought of this, but it sounds so tasty!

  36. cabinet stew says:

    I love me a good pork chop! In fact I cook them often and I am thinking of writing a book “365 days of pork chops!” LOL

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Carol, for your comment. You made me laugh…if you wrote that book it would probably be a best seller. But you would probably drive the price of pork up.

  37. Jacqueline says:

    Karen, so nice of you to visit! I love pork anything and this sounds so savory and delicious. I like the idea of dusting the pork with a little bread crumbs – the better to soak up the sauce. I definitely must Pin this one so I can make it.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jacqueline, Thank you for your visit and your nice comment. I’m happy to hear that you like the recipe enough to pin it. I hope you will enjoy the recipe.

  38. Karista says:

    My husband’s absolute favorite dish. Pan fried pork chops! And the tapenade is brilliant. A lovely way to enjoy all that pork without the heavy gravy. Not that gravy isn’t completely delicious, but I end up with a little pork with a lot of gravy. And then I have to have a biscuit. Haha! Great post Karen… Happy Weekend!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you so much Karista, for your nice compliment. I grew up eating pork chops with gravy in Texas which is a wonderful meal. But…this recipe has lots of flavor without the calories of gravy (oh the biscuit as well). Thanks for the memories and smiles of how I used to eat pork chops. Oh what we must give up to keep our bodies beautiful. LOL

  39. You know, the pork chops of my childhood were well done and rather dry, so I rarely make them. This recipe has convinced me that I need to give them another chance — especially prepared with all my favourite flavours. I also like that this recipe can be easily made on a weeknight.

    • Karen says:

      Hi BJ, I know exactly what you mean…my mother cooked pork chops the same way. Browning and then finishing in the oven gives you a moist chop that I think you will enjoy. They are easy to prepare and very good.

  40. I agree with your say on pork’s versatility AND value for $$. I’m not sure why some people would discount this as “unclean” meat (maybe because they have stomachs and appetites like humans). But I don’t care…I like pork in many ways, however you cut it (pun intended!).

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Jennifer, for stopping by and your comment. Pork is an affordable and versatile meat. I do understand and respect that some people do not eat pork for religious reasons. For the people how don’t eat pork, the tapenade would be great on chicken or fish. I hope you enjoy the recipe.

  41. Carolyn Chan says:

    I am a huge fan of pork chops and always on the lookout for new ways to have them – great idea !

  42. Lillian (My Recipe Journey) says:

    This looks and sounds so delicious! I enjoyed looking through and reading your blog! I’m now subscribed! =)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lillian, Thank you for stopping by for a visit. I’m happy to hear that you enjoy my posts enough to subscribe…welcome. The pork chops are so juicy and the tapenade really adds to the taste.

  43. Claudia says:

    It’s never occurred to me to use a tapenade in place of a sauce and this is just the best idea. I can see me newly transformed – having tapenade with your pork, tapenade with chicken, tapenade with fish, tapendae with cheese… (wait! I already do that!). Just scrumptious.

  44. Pork chops are common use in our home….the tapanade addition sound absolutely wonderful…I am following you and look forwrd to your fute postsw….

  45. Seems like this’ll work with red snapper or chicken breast too.

  46. KarenCooking says:

    I think I would enjoy this dish immensely – I love pork chops AND green olives!

  47. Tapenade is a delicious combination with the chops, looks fantastic! I’d love to try this, we rarely have prok chops.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Carol, Thank you for your nice compliment. I think you will enjoy the flavors of this dish. The sweet of the sun dried tomatoes with the salty taste of the olives and capers goes so well with the mild taste of the pork.

  48. Charles says:

    I don’t buy *nearly* enough pork as I should do… as you say, it’s the bargain of the meat counter and extremely versatile. I love this serving idea – the tapenade addition looks wonderful and a great taste I’m sure!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charles, Pork is such a nice meat to work with. I don’t remember it too often on the menus in your area of France other than in rillets de porc but I really love it. The warm tapenade added so much flavor to the mild taste of the pork chops.

  49. What a beautiful pork chop. We love pork chops too and tapenade makes everything better. So glad to see the anchovy paste in it. It gives such incredible flavors to dishes and so many people stay away from it and that’s a shame.
    Sam

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Sam for the nice compliment. I love using anchovy paste in a lot of recipes. I agree…it provides a depth of flavor to so many dishes.

  50. Beth says:

    This looks like a delicious way to serve them!

  51. This looks too good! I’m new to trying to cook dinners, and don’t really know where to start. Do you mean easy as in even a beginner can do it? :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cathleen, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice comment. I really do think that a beginner can make this simple dish. Cooking the chops depends on having your oil hot enough. You can check this by putting a couple of crumbs from the breading station in the oil. If it sizzles, you are ready to start. The chops should sizzle when put in the skillet. I don’t think you will have a problem. I think beginners will find that most of my recipes are easy to prepare. Good luck with your cooking.

  52. Wow you do get a lot of comments! Just to let you know this dish has all the most fantastic flavours that work so well together. And, pork happens to be my favourite meat. So I will be making this recipe and bookmarking it :-)xx

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Laura, for your nice compliment. I’m very lucky that so many people enjoy my posts and like to share their comments…which I love. I’m happy to hear that you are going to prepare this recipe. I think you will really like this dish.

  53. I’m always looking for different ways to serve pork chops. The tapenade sounds delicious.

  54. mjskit says:

    I’m a huge fan of pork chops well! Love this recipe and have bookmarked it for the very near future!

  55. My hubby LOVES pork chops, and I love how different this topping is! I bet he will enjoy this. Thanks for sharing.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Yudith, for your nice comment. I hope that you and your husband will enjoy the recipe. The warm tapenade takes an ordinary pork chop to a new level with its sweet and briny flavor.

  56. Sissi says:

    Karen, as much as I love pork, I have never had pork chops! (I think I have already told you about it). Yours look fabulous and I love the “scattered” tapenade you have served them with. It reminds me I usually buy or make black olive tapenade. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!

  57. Sophie33 says:

    A wonderful & well-flavoured dinner! I love this tasty meal a lot! So delightful!

  58. Yum! That looks great. I never thought about covering them with a bread crumb and then just pan frying them. How long does it take to do it that way? Do you need to do it on lower heat to make sure it is cooked through without burning the bread crumbs?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ducky, Thank you for your comment. All you want to do is just brown each side until golden at medium high heat. They are not cooked all the way in the pan. Instead the cooking is finished in the oven…that is what makes these pork chops very juicy.

  59. Pingback: Black Olive Tapenade, another birthday treat | Kitcheninspirations

Leave a Reply

