Seafood Agnolotti With Shrimp

Do you find yourself making the same pasta dish over and over? If you would like to prepare a pasta dish with a little more pizzazz for guests or a special occasion, then Seafood Agnolotti With Shrimp would be perfect It is a  simple dish to prepare…the prep work can be done ahead of time and then finished right before serving. Your significant other or guests will be very impressed.

The flavors in this dish are outstanding. The shrimp are cooked “scampi” style in a butter sauce with pancetta, diced tomato, and tarragon and then finished with a little Pernod. The sauce is then spooned over the pasta. The tarragon and anise flavors are a perfect marriage with seafood.

The nice thing about this recipe is that it is very flexible. The pasta can be your choice of any delicate stuffed pasta, preferably seafood. The shrimp can easily be exchanged for sea scallops, lobster or crab. Try this recipe as is but if you like to experiment then let your tastes and imagination guide you and create your own version.

Seafood Agnolotti With Shrimp

Seafood Agnolotti With Shrimp

For each serving you should plan on four to six agnolotti or ravioli and two jumbo shrimp for a first course, more can be added for a main course. This recipe is for two persons so adjust accordingly.

  • 4 to 6 jumbo shrimp, shelled, deveined and the shells retained to make stock
  • 2 c. water for stock

Take the reserved shells from the shrimp and place in a pan with the water and boil until reduced to 1 cup of shrimp stock. Discard shells and reserve stock. *You can substitute clam juice for the stock if you wish.

  • 1 oz. pancetta, thin slices (about 4) minced
  • 2 Tbsp. onion, minced
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 c. white wine
  • 1 c. shrimp stock (see above) or clam juice
  • 2 Tbsp. butter plus an additional 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 medium tomato, peeled, seeded and diced (approx. 1/4 c.)
  • 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh tarragon, plus additional for garnish
  • 1 Tbsp. Pernod or other anise flavored liquor
  • salt and pepper to taste

Sauté the onion and pancetta over low heat for 3 to 4 minutes (do not let brown). Add the garlic and cook for an additional minute. Add the wine and stock and cook until reduced by half. *At this point the sauce can be cooled and refrigerated until needed or continue with the recipe. Whisk in 2 Tbsp. butter. Add the shrimp and cook until pink. Remove, cover to keep warm. Add the tomato, tarragon and Pernod to the sauce and cook until the tomato is just soft. Whisk in the last 2 Tbsp. of butter, cook until emulsified to desired consistency. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Keep warm.

  • 12 (about 9 oz.) seafood agnolotti or stuffed pasta of your choice.

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add pasta and cook until al dente. Drain pasta and place in the warm sauce, turn gently to cover in sauce and then plate. Top with the warm shrimp and drizzle the remaining sauce over the dish.

This dish is prepared in the traditional Italian way of saucing pasta lightly. If you tend to like a lot of sauce with your pasta, the sauce is easily doubled. Buon Appetito!

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

122 Responses to Seafood Agnolotti With Shrimp

  1. Eva Taylor says:

    What a beautiful looking dish, Karen. I’m not much of a pasta eater (carbs) but I will definitely try the shrimp and sauce. It is indeed very impressive.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eva, Thank you for the compliment. This recipe is easy to adapted to dietary concerns. The shrimp and sauce will be delicious without pasta.

  2. Bonnie says:

    We have a number of favorite shrimp and pasta dishes that we enjoy. None use a stuffed pasta. I’m quite excited to try your recipe. It sounds as delicious as it looks. We are just back from our New England trip where we enjoyed wonderful seafood.

    Best,
    Bonnie

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bonnie, I think you will enjoy this recipe with the stuffed pasta. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip to New England…unfortunately the weather has not been great. This area really is known for wonderful seafood.

  3. Hotly Spiced says:

    Yes, guilty as charged. I often become lazy and cook the same pasta dishes over and over. But I have never cooked this and it sounds wonderful – think I need to expand my repertoire! xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, I think we can all get in a food rut…preparing dishes we are comfortable with. I hope you give the recipe a try.

  4. What a fancy little Italian dish! It looks like my trip to Italy has really inspired you. I have not used Anise flavored liquor in my fish dishes before but that sounds amazing. Yum!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bam, This is a simple dish to prepare but looks pretty on the plate when you want to make something a little special. I find anise flavors go very well with seafood.

  5. Scrumptious and so pretty! :-) Mandy

  6. viveka says:

    Karen … this looks great. And once again you’re doing things like a chef would do with getting the goodies out of the shells. Stunning photo too – really good. So me and my taste buds will put this on file. *smile

    • Karen says:

      Hi Viveka, Thank you for your compliment. The shells have a lot of flavor to contribute to a dish. I’m happy to hear this recipe will be going on file.

  7. This looks very good…. and I love cooking with Pernod. Yes to simple and aesthetically pleasing!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Wendy, I’m glad you agree about cooking with Pernod. I use more Pernod in cooking than I do in drinks. The flavor goes especially well with seafood. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  8. Monique says:

    Looks beautiful! I will try thismaybe w/ bacon..I know pancetta is milder,and we do like it..but for some reason..I usually sub w/ bacon..
    I think we had too much pancetta at one point and swore by it:)

    Thank you for this recipe.Lovely.
    Pineau De Charentes is quite good too..w/ mussels..and other shellfish if you want a switch on Pernod.My niece ‘s tip.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Monique, for your compliment. I use the pre sliced pancetta that is paper thin. It has a mild flavor but proscuitto or bacon will both be a good substitute. I hope you will enjoy this recipe. I will have to try the Pineau De Charentes.

  9. Looks simple and delicious. I love shrimp on anything!

  10. This is such a special dish, Karen. We love seafood and this sauce sounds divine. The stuffed pasta is such a great twist here, too. My family would love this!

  11. Magnificant………..Perfection on a plate.

  12. Beautiful dish and sounds so yummy! I have some gulf shrimp I need to use!

  13. Norma Chang says:

    That dish is mouthwatering good and so simple. I had breakfast but your dish is making me hungry, need to stop visitng food blogs between meals.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Norma, I know what you mean about reading food blogs…they do make you hunger. This dish is so full of flavor but simple to prepare. Thank you for your compliment.

  14. flavorsofthesun says:

    Another stellar recipe. I love the touch of Pernod–so perfect with this dish.

  15. Ooh that sounds wonderful – and very pizzazzy! I love dishes like this and it looks so pretty too, I bet the flavours were amazing.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tanya, I’m glad you think this dish looks pizzazzy. The flavors really are great and it is so easy to prepare. Thank you for your nice comment.

  16. flyfishbrat says:

    Oh my, this looks fabulous!

  17. cjdelgrosso says:

    hmmm using Pernod in an Italian dish? How strange. :-) I guess one could always use Sambuca! Beautiful agnolotti you have made!

    • Karen says:

      Hi CJ, Yes…Pernod in an Italian dish. Fine dining restaurants in Italy are very creative. You will find influences from all over Europe in their cooking. This is a dish that we had last fall in Italy. You can use Sambuca if you are so inclined but just remember that you will be adding a sweet factor to the dish which Pernod doesn’t.

  18. ChgoJohn says:

    Wow, Karen! That’s a beautiful dish of pasta that you’ve created and photographed so well. Great idea using the shrimp stock/clam juice in the sauce. This must be one very flavorful dish. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you John, for your very nice compliment. Using the shrimp stock lightens up the butter sauce while adding flavor. I’m happy you like the recipe.

  19. Mad Dog says:

    That’s a very sexy pasta!

  20. I love any dish that can be prepared ahead. Looks delicious Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jenny, I’m with you. When I am entertaining, I don’t want to spend all my time in the kitchen. I like to prepare as much as possible ahead of time. I’m glad you like the recipe. Thank you for your compliment.

  21. Stunning and beautiful photography, as usual. I can taste the pasta now. I’m also getting hungry.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Richard, for your very nice compliment. This is a pretty dish that is nice to serve when you want something special.

  22. Wow Karen, it looks amazing. That touch of anise must give it a very special touch :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Giovanna, Thank you for your nice compliment. I think the touch of anise really goes well with the shrimp and seafood agnolotti.

  23. katiepede says:

    My mouth is watering……. my goodness, that looks gorgeous :-)

  24. This looks wonderful! I always love a little bit of Pernod and tarragon in seafood stock Yum. It’s so easy to make shrimp stock too.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Daisy, I agree…making shrimp stock is easy. You make a dish more flavorful by using something you would normally throw away. Pernod and tarragon are wonderful with seafood. I appreciate your nice comment.

  25. Conor Bofin says:

    Hi Karen,
    That looks truly excellent. Very inventive.
    Best,
    Conor

  26. Cucina49 says:

    I adore agnolotti–it was one of my favorite dishes when we were in western Italy last year. Yours are perfect for summer–nice and light!

  27. This looks absolutely divine, Karen! I love agnolotti and serving it with shrimp makes a beautiful first course.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Laura, I’m happy that you like this recipe. It really does make a nice first course…pretty and not too filling. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  28. rachelocal says:

    Thanks for a great recipe! Can’t wait
    to try it. It looks light and rich all at the same time.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rachel, Thank you for stopping by and your nice compliment. I’m glad you like the recipe…I think you would enjoy the dish.

  29. A_Boleyn says:

    It does look like an amazing dish and a change from the usual.

  30. Fabulous flavour combinations Karen, and as you know I love seafood and this one is being boomarked the moment I complete writing this comment.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Claire, Thank you for your nice compliment. I know that you can get such lovely fresh prawns that will be delicious in this recipe. I hope you will enjoy the dish.

  31. Very fancy & impressive looking dish. Now one silly old question – what is that little pasta looking bowl you have the shrimp shitting atop?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Diane, I had to go back and look at the photo to see what you were talking about. You are just looking at the side of the shrimp where it was deveined. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  32. OMG OMG OMG… I meant SITTING ATOP? OMG I am sooo sorry & I caught it after I hit send.

  33. Erina says:

    Oh yes please YUM! Are you attending BlogHer Food this weekend?!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Erina, So happy that you like the sound of my recipe. Unfortunately I am not participating in that event. Thank you for your comment.

  34. oh i am always making the same pasta dishes but now i have a new one to add to my list- this one! It looks great

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jessica, I think that you will be happy adding this dish to the ones you always make. Enjoy and thank you for your comment.

  35. lulu says:

    Hmmm, I made pasta dough yesterday and have some left over. Sounds like you have given me something to do with it. Now, if I can just find some good shrimp. Should have picked up some when I was at Whole Foods in Portland today.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lulu, I hope you enjoy this dish when you try it. Tell me…you don’t drive all the way to Portland to do your grocery shopping.

      • lulu says:

        No, I had to take friends to the airport and stopped at the two places. They have some offerings we don’t get here.

  36. Short and sweet– “Oh my goodness!” :-) Debra

  37. Tandy says:

    Buonissimo! I’ve got so much tarragon in my garden so this will be an easy ingredient dish for me to make :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tandy, The tarragon in my garden comes back every year and is huge. I love its flavor and use it a lot. Thank you for your nice comment and I hope you enjoy the recipe.

  38. Charles says:

    Hi Karen – what a wonderful sounding dish – I bet the flavours are wonderfully rich with that lovely shrimp-shell stock!

  39. Not just pasta. I find myself saying, “okay” every time John says, “Can we have [insert something we've had heaps of times before]” He’ll eat most anything but he does have his favorites.

    This looks beautiful.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Maureen, for your nice compliment. My husband and I have the same thing happen. It is very easy to cook our favorites instead of trying new ways of preparing a meal.

  40. Sibella says:

    Excellent dish! Yum yum! :)

  41. Larry says:

    It’s always nice to learn something new – I had to look up Agnolotti. Your sauce sounds very good and I like the “something different” thought.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Larry, We do need to be a little adventurous with our cooking occasionally. The agnolotti are perfect for something a little different but very easy to prepare.

  42. All I can is “YUM!”. Thanks for the pictures and recipe. Looks like a great idea for a cool summer dish.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Susan, for your nice compliment. This dish really is yummy. Perfect for the summer when you don’t want to spend a lot of time in the kitchen.

  43. what a presentation! this could easily be served in a 5-star restaurant. love this sauce with the savory mix of meat (pancetta) and fish. yum!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Barbara, Thank you for your very nice compliment. I do think it is a dish that is perfect for a special occasion and appreciate your kind words.

  44. France says:

    Shrimp, Pernod, and pancetta is a lovely combination. Sounds just wonderful Karen.

  45. Pam says:

    What a delicious look dish!

  46. Simply Life says:

    LOVE this idea! I really am making pasta a lot and love this idea of changing this with a bit of seafood! YUM!

  47. Kristy says:

    This is a beautiful pasta dish! It’s funny I went all fall/winter long without really craving pasta. Then spring and summer arrive and it seems that’s all that’s on my mind. A nice light pasta dish with a glass of wine to eat on the patio. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristy, Thank you for your nice compliment. I think that in the spring and summer we tend to be outdoors more. We don’t have to spend much time in the kitchen to prepare a pasta dish.

  48. Karen.. what a dish for me to come back to blogging to.. this is just what I love to cook up for friends.. I love the additional flavors of pernod and tarragon!

  49. sybaritica says:

    Lovely Presentation! I am going to follow and put a link to you at my blog :)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you John, for your nice compliment. I am happy that you are going to be following my blog. I really do appreciate you adding me to your blogroll…that means a lot.

  50. I love that this is simple enough to prepare on a weeknight, but elegant enough to make for a dinner party. This recipe is a keeper!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you BJ, for your nice compliment. It really is a nice dish for a dinner party but also for a weeknight as well. Happy that you like the recipe.

  51. cabinet stew says:

    Are you sure you are not secretly a professional chef? LOL! because that is a stunning dish! I am so hungry right now ugh! ;-)

  52. Beautiful looking dish Karen, especially with the addition of pancetta. Yum!

    Hope you’ve been well while I’ve been away from blogging. Cheers!

  53. Susan says:

    Wonderful flavors in this dish! I love eating shrimp in the spring and summer.

  54. danyandy says:

    This looks amazing!!!! will definitely try this!

  55. The dishes we never get tired of are worth sharing. Thanks for sharing yours! Looks yummy. Now, what would be one of my favorite family meals….

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Global Garnish for your nice comment. This is a lovely recipe that I thought was worth sharing with my fellow bloggers. I’m glad that you like the recipe.

  56. Your presentation looks very elegant and inviting!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Amy, for your very nice compliment. This dish is nice when you want a special meal but easy enough to serve during the week.

  57. mwkitchen says:

    pernod, tarragon, prawns, pancetta.. wow this is an amazing combination and something I need to try! Presentation is spot on too.

  58. Kim Forni says:

    Wonderful dish. I like how you boil the shrimp shells. Anyone who throws them away is crazy!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kim, Thank you for your nice compliment. The Agnolotti really are delicious. I freeze any shells I don’t use for future stocks.

  59. Kim Forni says:

    And by the way.. we have the same plates ;)

Leave a Reply

