Fregula Con Vongole, A Tradtional Pasta Dish From Sardinia

Spaghetti or linguini with clams is a very popular dish in most Italian restaurants, wherever in the world you may be dining.  The Italian island of Sardinia has its own version of pasta and clams known as Fregula (Fregola) Sarda con vongole. The dish can be found on the menu, whether you are in the tiniest seaside osteria or a fine resort restaurant.

Fregula Sarda is a pasta made from semolina rolled into rough, porous balls that are dried and then toasted until golden. They resemble couscous but are larger and heartier with a nutty taste. Once cooked they will have doubled in size with a chewy texture. The pasta can be found in Italian markets, specialty stores or online.

Fregula (A Sardinian Pasta) With Clams

Fregula With Clams

  • 2 dozen small clams, purged and cleaned
  • 1 cup of water, plus extra as needed
  • 3 T. olive oil plus extra to drizzle
  • 1/2 small onion, chopped fine
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 c. white wine
  • 1 c. clam broth ( 8 oz. bottled)
  • 1 c. fregula
  • 2 or 3 plum tomatoes, peeled and seeded, diced
  • 1/2 tsp. chili flakes or to taste
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh parsley, minced plus additional for garnish
  • salt and pepper to taste

To clean and purge the clams: Scrub clams well and put in a bowl of salted water and let sit for an hour. Carefully lift the clams out, rinse and repeat the procedure. Carefully lift out the clams again and discard the water. Your clams should be purged of most of their sand.

Heat a pan, add the one cup of fresh water and the purged clams and steam until opened. Discard any clams that do not open. Remove the clams and set aside. Strain the clam juice through a coffee filter or cheesecloth and reserve.

Heat the 3 Tbsp. of olive oil and sauté the onion until soft. Add the garlic and cook until soft but not colored. Add the wine and reduce to half. Add the reserved clam  juice and the clam broth, salt and pepper to taste. Bring to a boil and add fregula, reduce the heat and simmer until tender (approx. 15 – 20 min.), stirring so that the pasta doesn’t stick. If the pasta appears dry, add additional water. Taste  and adjust seasonings.  Add the tomato, chili flakes and parsley and cook for a few additional minutes.

Spoon the fregula into bowls, top with the reserved clams, parsley and drizzle with extra olive oil.

Fregula is a wonderful pasta to try. It can be cooked in boiling salted water like regular pasta and dressed with butter and herbs or served with your favorite sauce. It can also replace barley in soup recipes. I would love to know what you think of fregula and how you have used it.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

173 Responses to Fregula Con Vongole, A Tradtional Pasta Dish From Sardinia

  1. Debra Kolkka says:

    I haven’t heard of this type of pasta, I will look out for it.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Debra, Living in Italy part of the year, I would think that you might be able to find fregula. I would love to know if you find it.

  2. What a tasty meal. I will look out for fregula, sounds delicious. :-) Mandy

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Mandy, for your nice comment. I think that you might find fregula in an Italian specialty market if you have one nearby.

  3. ramblingtart says:

    I did not grow up cooking seafood, but I absolutely love it and have been collecting cookbooks to help me learn how to do this strange thing. :-) This dish looks wonderful! :-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Krista, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. It is funny that I didn’t grow up on seafood either only fried fish on the rare occasion. Now I prepare it quite often.

  4. I’ve got to look for some fregula. Something about that small pasta seems so Summery.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lea Ann, I think this is a pasta that you can eat anytime of the year. I should be able to find the pasta at an Italian specialty store. Thank you for your comment.

  5. This is a new one to me. I have always loved Spaghetti alle Vongole, so if I can track down some of this pasta, I know I´ll love it! Those clams look so good :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tanya, I discovered this pasta just recently and love both its nutty taste and chewy texture. I have a feeling that you will probably have to get your pasta on one of your trips to London or online. The small clams were good.

  6. A beautiful dinner no doubt my friend :)
    Thank you!

    Cheers
    CCU

  7. This is one of my favorite dishes to order when we eat out, Karen! I’m thrilled to have this recipe!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Smidge, I’m happy that I could supply you with the recipe. Nice to hear that you have tried fregula. A restaurant in Portland, Maine serves this dish as an special appetizer sometimes. Actually, an Italian market in Portland is where I purchased my pasta. Enjoy!

  8. Norma Chang says:

    Fregula is new to me, I must look for it. Your clam dish looks so delicious, I want to dig in.

  9. lvaletutto says:

    I’ve never tried Fregula before. I thought it was white beans at first! I would love to try it though. I wonder if I can find it here in Germany….

    • Karen says:

      Hi Laura, I would think that if there is a specialty market in Cologne that carries Italian products you might find it there. Otherwise, I guess you could order it online.

  10. Karen Harris says:

    What a lovely dish. My husband would love it. I wonder if Israeli couscous would work.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Karen, Thank you for your nice compliment. You could use Israeli couscous but the texture and nuttiness would not be there. If you do use it to make the dish, I would suggest toasting the couscous to a golden brown first.

  11. flavorsofthesun says:

    I”ve long bee fascinated with the food of Sardinia, though I have never visited there. This dish looks so inviting. What a great combination of flavors.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Victoria, Thank you for your nice compliment. I think that some of the ingredients and flavors are similar to those found in North Africa. The Sardinian sailors brought back ingredients from there in their trading.

  12. Oh my goodness that looks absoutely divine Karen. Sardinia is one of the islands in the Med I’ve yet to visit, I must put it back up to the top of the list. Med island food is in my mind just perfect! And now I’m going to look out for this kind of pasta – totally new to me

    • Karen says:

      Hi Claire, Thank you very much for your nice compliment. I think the pasta is new in our area as well…I only have seen it at one Italian Market in Portland, Maine. I’ll have to buy a couple of bags for the winter when we are back in New Hampshire. I would think that you could find it in a specialty food store in London.

  13. ambrosiana says:

    I love Fregula and I did not know you could get it in the US since it is a very regional type of pasta!!! Top dish Karen!!!! Brava!!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Ambrosiana, for your lovely compliment. I haven’t seen the pasta in New Hampshire. I bought mine in a wonderful Italian market in Portland, Maine. I’m always on the lookout for new and different food products. I’m glad that I prepared a favorite dish of yours.

  14. bombedpop says:

    this looks great – adding to my must try for this weekend.

  15. ChgoJohn says:

    I don’t recall ever having Fregula, Karen, but I have enjoyed vongole many times, just last week, in fact. Your recipe is a little different from what I prepare and I’d like to give it a try. I bet that Italian market will have Fregula and, if they do, I’ll be heading to the fishmonger directly after. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, I don’t think you see fregula too often outside of Sardinia. I think it is a relatively new item in our country that you will find in the specialty markets and some trendy restaurants. I hope you get a chance to try it…it’s chewy texture and nutty flavor is very different from other pastas.

  16. That’s absolutely gorgeous! I love how you’ve presented it. I’ve never managed to find fregula anyway. Perhaps I could order it, but that seems a little expensive. I’ll keep my eyes peeled…

    • Karen says:

      Hi Frugal, Thank you so much for your nice compliment. I do hope you can find fregula somewhere at a reasonable price. Since it doubles in size when cooked and is heartier than other pastas, I find it goes farther than most dried pastas.

  17. hotlyspiced says:

    This looks very inviting and so delicious. I haven’t had fregula before but I have seen it in the shops. I must try it. I looks yum, yum, yum xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, Thank you for your nice compliment. It is good to know that you have seen it in the stores. I think you would enjoy it as the pasta is very different from others both in taste and texture.

  18. This is delicious. Just the kind of dish I love. (I don’t seem to be getting email notifications of your new posts so I’ll try pressing the button again.)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kay, Thank you for your nice compliment. I have made this dish several times and really do enjoy it. Sometimes there are glitches in WP…thanks for pressing the button again. I appreciate your following along.

  19. Sissi says:

    I have never heard of fregula! I must see if I can get it here (but I doubt, even though there are lots of surprising Italian regional products). Thank you for this discovery!
    It looks fabulous. I love pasta with clams.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sissi, Thank you for your nice compliment. I don’t think most people have heard of fregula. I know that the pasta can be ordered online but perhaps one of your specialty markets will have it. It is a nice change from regular pasta with clams as the fregula is cooked in the clam broth.

  20. I love clam linguine so this looks absolutely delicious – Fregula is such a cute pasta!

  21. Karista says:

    You’ve made me so hungry! Karen I love this recipe. The fregula pasta is fabulous and combined with the clams, wine and all the other deliciousness this looks like the perfect summer meal.

  22. I’ve not seen Fregula before, but perhaps they may have it in our international farmer’s market. Your clams are so lovely, how I wish we were closer to the sea here. We can get pretty fresh seafood, but it never tastes the same as when one is coastal. Lovely dish!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Betsy, You might be able to get the fregula at your international market…if not it can be ordered online. If you have trouble finding fresh clams, some markets have chopped frozen clams that could be used successfully in this recipe. I keep them in my freezer for making clam chowder.

  23. A_Boleyn says:

    I had to read over the recipe carefully because I thought the pasta that you were using was Israeli couscous, the much larger version of those little grains that we’re more familiar with. I’m very tempted to make this dish as I have a package of shelled clams in my freezer waiting for inspiration. We’ll have to see though what my tummy calls for. Thank you for this very innovative new clam dish. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Boleyn, I think a lot of people might think this dish was made with Israeli couscous but fregula when cooked doubles its size. It has a chewy texture and nutty flavor that Israeli couscous doesn’t have. Thank you for your nice comment and I’m glad you like this new dish.

  24. Oh this makes me wish I had a full kitchen again! Living in a small flat in Rome right now, with no stove :( But I will look for this dish when we head to Sardegna next month!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Francesca, I know what you mean. When we travel in Europe and I go to the markets, I wish I was staying in a place that had a wonderful kitchen. I’m sure you will definitely find this dish on the menu when you travel to Sardegna. Let me know if you get a chance to try it on your visit.

  25. France says:

    Thank you for introducing us to something new! I’ll have to look for it at the market.

    • Karen says:

      Hi France, I’m glad you like the recipe. I’m always on the lookout for new food products to try and I am very happy with the fregula. Its’ taste and texture is so different from usual pasta.

  26. viveka says:

    Little Chef, you have done it again …. stunning photo, simple recipe … clams I have problems with – love mussels, but calms .. don’t know what it’s with them and me. The dish looks AWESOME!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Viveka, for your lovely compliment…I really do appreciate it coming from a real chef. Actually, I think mussels would be good served this way as well.

      • viveka says:

        I’m sure mussels can be used instead of clams … your photo are so good … it’s like the smell comes through the screen. Nothing fancy, just a good shot of good food.

      • Karen says:

        Your right…this really is a simple dish that you would find at the smallest seaside osteria in Sardinia.

      • viveka says:

        Never been to Sardinia .. suppose to be beautiful – haven’t been a lot to Italy at all .. on the Italian Rivera around Genoa and Rome.

      • Karen says:

        Love the Italian Rivera and everyone one must go to Rome if they get a chance.

  27. lulu says:

    Last night I made something like this with pasta for 10 people. There were no leftovers, so I guess it turned out OK. The clams were maybe the best I’ve ever had, so fresh and flavorful.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lulu, We are very lucky to have such an abundance of fresh seafood here in New England. Pasta for 10…you must have big pots. I’m sure it was delicious.

  28. sani panini says:

    This looks great! After seeing all the feedback, I really have to try it!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Alesandra, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. This is a very tasty dish…I hope you get a chance to try it.

  29. I have never cooked fregula, but have seen it in Italian markets. There is one a block from my house and they have the most wonderful pastas…I will pick up some fregula and try it out. Lovely post Karen.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Teresa, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post. I happy to hear that you have seen fregula in your Italian market. I think you will enjoy this unique pasta.

  30. o my I really want to dig into that bowl of pasta and comfort! Splendid!

  31. You know I have never tried Fregula, looks delicious.
    i have to look for it now, do you think wholefoods carries it?
    Anyway very very delicious dish…
    Thanks fro sharing Karen and you have a gorgeous week!!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Reem, for your very nice compliment. I’m glad that you enjoyed with post. We don’t have a Whole Foods but from what I’ve heard it is a terrific store. If you don’t see it in the store, maybe they could order it. I do know that you can buy it online.

      • cabinet stew says:

        Oh my!! – you should go to the Whole Foods in Portland – it is a beauty!!

      • Karen says:

        Hi Carol, We are planning to go to the Whole Foods in Portland some day when we have a cooler. We went to Trader Joe’s a couple of weeks ago. I don’t really know what I was expecting but I was very disappointed. Everyone raves about the market…maybe the Portland store is just very small.

      • cabinet stew says:

        Definitely bring a cooler to WF and I don’t think you will be disappointed. TJ’s are all very small – their strength is pantry staples and frozen foods. They don’t really try to compete in the “fresh” aspect. WF is expensive for those items (so I get them at TJ) but I do love the WF prepared foods/salad bar ( go hungry -they have tables to eat at) and the bakery and cheese departments are great. (See my post on “robusto”) I shop at both for those reasons. I do have some issues with WF flying in organics from around the world, showing they are just a big corporation after all. Buy local is best but I can’t help but be “romanced” by these stores sometimes! LOL – bet you didn’t think you were going to get an amateur analysis!

      • Karen says:

        Love the analysis and I can’t wait to go.

  32. Karen, it looks fabulous! I love clams, but haven’t seen fregula, I shall ask for it at our Italian supermarket. It does remind me of Lebanese mohgrabieh though (large pearl couscous, which takes about the same time to cook)..

    • Karen says:

      Hi Celia, Thank you so much for your very nice compliment. I bet your Italian supermarket will have it. Fregula is said to have originated in North Africa so it wouldn’t surprise me if the Lebanese mohgrabieh is similar.

  33. Conor Bofin says:

    Another lovely post. It looks so fresh I can taste the sea.
    Best,
    Conor

  34. This looks just wonderful!

  35. Eva Taylor says:

    Sounds like Israeli couscous, Karen, I wonder if the texture would be the same. I adore the texture of the Israeli couscous, so I would probably love this too.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eva, Thank you for your comment. To answer your question, the texture of fregula is very different from Israeli couscous. Uncooked, it has a rough and porous texture. When cooked, the pasta will have doubled in size and have a chewy texture and a nutty flavor. Of course, you could use couscous but I would suggest to first toast it until it turns a golden color. It would not taste quite the same but would still be tasty.

  36. Carolyn Chan says:

    Any pasta with vongole is a winner for me ! I love how the sweetness of the clams flavours the pasta. It’s funny, I’ve never heard or seen of fregola until recently – I had it at a restaurant I went to for my birthday and it was served in chicken stock with rocket and tomato with abalone on top. It was delicious ! I love the chewy texture of it and I guess because it’s so porous is just seemed to suck up all those beautiful flavours.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Carolyn, Thank you for your nice comment. The fregula dish that you had sounds really good. I think the porous texture really does soak up the flavors of the stock that it is cooked in and I love the chewy texture. I know you must have had a wonderful birthday.

  37. a rich simple and satisfying meal! Love the broth and flavors in this!

  38. This sounds lovely, Karen. I didn’t know how to purge clams, either, so it’s nice to learn something new! Thank you!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Dana, for your nice compliment. I’m so glad that you learned something new…how to purge the clams. It is terrible to have a shellfish dish and end up with a sandy broth. Even when you purge them, filtering the broth eliminates the last traces of sand.

  39. This is so lovely! Thanks for the info on purging the clams. I have very little experience with seafood (as I live so far from the ocean). I can’t stand poor quality ingredients and would rather just not eat something than lower my standards, you know?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Anna, I am glad that you enjoyed the post and that the information on how to purge clams will be useful. I understand where you are coming from about using the best of ingredients. When I shop, I always ask if a fresh product came in that day. If it doesn’t look perfect, I’ll ask if they have more in the back. Since I like to cook with fresh ingredients, many times I’ll walk away from a product and rethink what I’ll be preparing. Living in New England, I have the availability of a lot of fresh seafood as well as wonderful refrigerated and frozen local products.

  40. You always do pasta right and you always do seafood right. So this is just downright amazing.

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your very nice compliment, Greg. I always enjoy when someone of Italian heritage enjoys my Italian recipes as I try to be as authentic as I can when I create a recipe.

  41. Will look for fregula next time I am at the grocery store! Thanks for sharing! The dish looks very delicious. I envy places with fresh seafood. :)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Ming, for your lovely compliment. If you can’t find fresh clams, perhaps you might have a source for nice frozen clams. This pasta is also made with a ragu of meat as well.

  42. Cucina49 says:

    I love pasta with clams, but don’t know anything about fregula. I’ll have to be on the hunt for it–and Sardinia is on my must-visit list. David and I had gorgeous wine from there on our vacation.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cucina, Sardinia has wonderful food and wines. I hope that you will be able to find fregula…I think you will like it. Thank you for your comment.

  43. I love how the Italians take simple ingredients and turn them into a 4 Star dinner! This meal looks delicious, light, and easy to make! I’ll give it a try over the summer! Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mary, When you have the freshest of ingredients, simple can stand on its own. I’m glad that you like the recipe. Thank you for your comment.

  44. This looks amazingly delicious!

  45. Oh I have never seen this pasta before! The flavour combination is beautiful – I just LOVE anything with clams.

  46. I have never tried fregula but vongole is very popular Italian dish in Japan (probably as popular as bolognese. Your dish looks very delicious! I love eating clams with pasta…the juice from clams give really nice flavor!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Nami, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice comment. This is a good dish in that the pasta is cooked in the clam broth. It is nice to know that vongole is popular in Japan.

  47. rsmacaalay says:

    When I saw Vongole, wow its a clam recipe. I love clams, I love their flavours

  48. Tandy says:

    I have never seen this pasta here – I will add it to my shopping list for next year :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tandy, I can see why you might not have see fregula. Knowing how much you love pasta dishes, I think it would be a good item to add to your shopping list.

  49. Diane says:

    I have not heard of this pasta here, but perhaps because I have not looked. This is a dish we would both love. We are big pasta and seafood fans so together they would have to be good. Diane

    • Karen says:

      Hi Diane, It appears that so many people have not heard of the pasta. I hope you might be able to find it somewhere…if you do I’ll pass the information on the my other readers in France.

  50. Anything with clams is a winner as far as I am concerned – they are so hard to find here in Scotland they are all sold directy to the seafood companies in Spain and France and never hit the markets here because there is so little demand for seafood (apart for fish and chips) yet ironically we have such wonderful fisheries!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Keith, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your interesting comment. It is hard to believe that the majority of your country’s seafood gets shipped to other countries…that really is a shame.

  51. Mad Dog says:

    That looks delicious!

  52. I love tiny pastas! Doesn’t that look luscious will all those clams and delicious broth!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you T.W. for your nice compliment. I don’t think you will have any trouble finding the pasta…you have such nice markets in your area.

  53. Mary says:

    Your recipe sounds delicious. I would try to use them in a rissoto. Might work! Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Mary, for your nice compliment. This dish will remind you a little of a risotto because you cook the fregula in the clam broth.

  54. My wife grew up on Long Island, is Italian (though not Sardinian), and love clams, so I’m definitely sharing this recipe with her…and then I’ll probably be making it. ;-)

    • Karen says:

      A New York Italian will definitely love this recipe, Jed. You better start searching for fregula. I know both of you will love this recipe (that based on the comments from my Italian husband). Thanks for your comment, as aways.

  55. Kristy says:

    You always leave me drooling and craving your pasta dishes Karen. This one is no exception. I love clams!!!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristy, Thank you so much for your lovely compliment. Since you love clams, I think this is a recipe that you would really enjoy as the pasta is cooked in the clam broth for addition flavor.

  56. Amy says:

    I’ve never seen this type of pasta, but this dish looks delicious!!!! I love clams so much. Oh my, I’m seriously drooling.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Amy, for your nice compliment. Living in Manhattan, you will have no trouble finding this pasta. Actually, I’m sure that there are restaurants in the city that have this on their menu. This is a dish that you can definitely make…it is very easy.

  57. This sounds and looks wonderful. This pasta is new to me.

  58. beti says:

    I want to try it! it looks pretty good almost like mini gnnochis

  59. That looks absolutely amazing! I love clams and pasta, so this is something that would be perfect for me. Great photo too. Yum!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Daisy, If you love clams, I know that you will enjoy this recipe. You have such wonderful specialty markets in NYC that you won’t have any trouble getting fregula. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  60. What a lovely dish! I have seen fregula around but never bought it. I will have to try it out now.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Nazneen, Thank you for the visit and your nice compliment. I’m glad that you have seen fregula…now you will be able to make this traditional Sardinian pasta dish.

  61. Never seen this before in Italy – looks fabulous and really delicious. Have always LOVED spaghetti alla vongole, so this is right up my alley!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Susan, for your nice compliment. As with many of the foods of Italy, I think this traditional dish is basically found only in Sardinia. If you like spaghetti alla vongole, I think you will enjoy this unique pasta. Cooking it in the clam broth really adds to the overall taste of the dish.

  62. We have a very similar kind of pasta called maftool only this one is cooked in a tomato sauce and with chicken.
    I am embaressed to say I have never tried clams, not a big fan of sea food but I think your reccipe is really tempting

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sawsan, Thank you for your nice compliment. The Sardinians make another fregula dish that is cooked in tomato sauce…I bet it is similar to what you make. I’m sure it is delicious.

  63. Larry says:

    I looked at the photo before reading and I thought it was corn. The dish sounds delicious.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Larry, Thank you for your compliment. Corn and clams…actually I have had corn fritters with chopped clams when I lived in Florida at a seafood restaurant.

  64. sybaritica says:

    Hi Karen … first, I love your recipe. Second.. can you identify the specific variety of clams you are using. I have the same type in my freezer and would love to know what they are.

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, Thank you for your nice compliment. I buy my clams from our market in town that unfortunately doesn’t list the name of their clams, oysters, mussels, etc. so I can’t be of help. I asked one time, what kind of corn they were selling and they told me yellow. LOL

  65. danyandy says:

    wow! this looks absolutely delicious! I seriously have to try this one! :) thanks for posting !

  66. I can’t believe I’ve never heard of fregula Karen. I really must try this — and soon. It just looks amazing with those clams. It looks so fresh with those flecks of chili flakes and fresh parsley. Yum!

  67. I love the idea of a hearty semolina that soaks up those beautiful juices and sauce from the clams. I’m yet to make fregola but I know a few recipes from around which show how quick and simple it is to make. Now you’ve inspired me to try something different :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Alli, I think it is terrific that you want to make the fregola. I would love to hear from you if you end up making it. I’m like you…I like to try new things. Thank you for your nice comment.

  68. mjskit says:

    OK, so I’m another one that has never seen or, in my case, heard of fregula. However, I do know clams and love them! This dish looks absolutely delicious and something that I know we would love in this house! Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe!

    • Karen says:

      Don’t feel bad, MJ. It appears the majority of people haven’t heard of fregula. I think if you have an Italian market or specialty grocer in your area that you should be able to find the pasta. I’m glad you like the recipe…thanks.

  69. I’m so late in the week to read this Karen, please don’t feel you need to reply! But I am so glad I rolled backwards to see what I missed. I think this would be my husband’s dream dish! He just loves linguine with clams and this is so much more! I’m thrilled with the recipe! Hope you’ve had a good week…all is well with me. I just lost track of time! LOL! Debra

    • Karen says:

      Hi Debra, I’m happy whenever you get a chance to stop by. Knowing where you live, I think you should be able to find fregula. I hope your husband enjoys the dish. Have a lovely weekend.

  70. Amber says:

    This looks amazing. We will have to try it!

  71. That looks delicious! And yes, it looks very much like cous cous!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Ducky, for your nice compliment. It looks like couscous but when you see it uncooked it is golden and very rough textured. When it is cooked it is twice the size of couscous and chewy and nutty tasting.

  72. Karen, what a beautiful and, I am sure, delicious meal! Now I am intrigued, and I need to find fregula. Sardinia cuisine is not very well known, at least by me, and I need to fill that gap. Thanks! :)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Marina, for your lovely compliment. I do think that you should be able to find fregula…if not, you can order it online.

  73. I love clams, but you can hardly ever find it in South Africa and if you do it is very expensive! This sounds absolutely delicious!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Polkadot, I didn’t realize that clams our hard to get in South Africa. This dish is delicious. I have also made it the same way but used bottled clam juice and sautéed scallops to top the dish.

  74. spree says:

    An absolutely gorgeous version of vongole Karen!! I don’t recall ever seeing fregula but I’ll be keeping my eyes pealed for it now. This is one I’ll be trying for sure and it’s making its way to my bulletin board now. That is a VERY appetizing photo!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you so much Spree, for your lovely compliment. If you can’t find the pasta in an Italian market or specialty store, you can order it online. I hope you will enjoy the dish.

  75. Anything vongole reminds me of Italy!!! I’ve not been to Sardinia, but it’s definitely on my bucket list! Local recipes are always a lovely “souvenir” from travels…and this dish looks pretty authentic to me!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Jennifer, for your nice compliment. I think that you would enjoy this Sardinian dish. Hopefully you will get to go to the wonderful island someday and then you can let me know how my dish compares.

  76. How did I miss this great dish? Yummy! I love how you have each of your clams perched on their side kind of like they are saluting…. Take care, BAM

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bam, You have been very busy and I can see how you may have missed the post. I always appreciate when you take time to visit. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  77. Susan says:

    I have looked for fregula locally but haven’t found it yet. I may need to order it online since this sounds wonderful!

  78. This looks so wonderful! Fresh clams are such a treat, especially with pasta.

  79. Pingback: A Kings ransom of Mushrooms and some Pasta lovin’… « girl in a food frenzy

  80. Pingback: The Foraging Trilogy II: To Market, To Market | Back Road Journal

  81. bombedpop says:

    Reblogged this on Fresh Force and commented:
    Love this! this is my 2nd time making. I use Rustichella d`Abruzzo brand of fregula. MY changes are to steam the clams in a mix of wine and water, 8 cloves garlic + 1 whole onion, cook the tomatoes with the onion/garlic, 2 cups fregula, 36 clams, 2 bottles clam juice, add a zucchini. Try it!

  82. Pingback: A Kings ransom of Mushrooms and some Pasta lovin’… | girl in a food frenzy

Leave a Reply

