Let Freedom Ring

Let Freedom Ring…Nothing Else Needs To Be Said On The 4th Of July

The fourth of July is the most important holiday celebrated in the United States. Instead of a post about food that people traditionally have on the 4th (and believe me there was plenty of delicious food that was eaten), I thought I would let you see how a small town in Maine celebrated the holiday.

The Color Guard Starts The Parade

The Starting Point Of The Parade Passes Under The American Flag

Children Of All Ages Love A Parade

Boys Summer Camp And Their Band Playing Marching Tunes

An Antique Truck With A Calliope

Remnants From Maine’s Agricultural Past

How Exciting To Be Part Of A Float

An Antique Truck Filled With Kids And Puppies

Horse Drawn Milk Wagon

There Is Always A Pirate Ship When You Live By The Water

Naples’ Antique Fire Truck

Harrison’s Antique Fire Truck

We have a beautiful fireworks display in the evening with funds that are raised through donations. Thousands watch the fireworks being shot from a barge in the lake…either from the causeway where the parade was held or from boats in the water.

There is a saying ” a picture is worth a thousand words” so I think I have said a lot about how our country still appreciates and celebrates our freedom.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

104 Responses to Let Freedom Ring

  1. Goodness, the color guards must have been hot! Lovely parade, thanks for sharing the photos with us! :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Celia, Actually it was a lovely day for a parade. It was 76 F degrees and a nice breeze off the lake when the parade started.

  2. Wow. What a great celebration. Happy Fourth!

  3. Wonderful Karen…I used to twirl in our hometown parade in a little town in IN when I was a younin’. We had our fireworks last night where the river meets the lake from a barge too…thousands come but I watch right from the comfort of my house without all the bugs….Happy 4th Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Donna, That is what we were missing…twirlers. That must have been so much fun when you were young. Our fireworks were supposed to be tonight but have been postponed until tomorrow because of rain. Happy 4th to you.

      • Karen says:

        Good news, the rain stopped and the fireworks went off as planned. They are so pretty with the reflections off the lake.

  4. hotlyspiced says:

    It looks like you had a lovely day and that the weather was good. Great to be celebrating freedom – long may it last! And I love the antique fire trucks xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, We did have a nice time at the parade. I love watching the children…they really loved the firetrucks. Freedom is a wonderful blessing.

  5. Beautiful patriotic photos my friend, there is so much vibrancy and fun :)
    Great post!

    Cheers
    CCU

  6. spree says:

    Was just talking this morning with my husband about “small-town America” and how it celebrates this day. We really don’t have anything to compare with the likes of this. Really, pretty darn darling! :) Happy 4th to you Karen and thanks for a look at how it’s being remembered where you live. Some very fun photos!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Spree, Thank you for your lovely comment. I’m happy that you enjoyed the post. I do love the simple life that exists in small town New England. It is so different from the hustle and bustle of Miami where we used to live. Enjoy the 4th!

  7. Happy 4th, Karen! Great pictures – thanks so much for sharing!

  8. Parades are something which have always fascinated me. Not only for the hard work and dedication of the volunteers but also for the crowds which come out to experience the event. Looks like a great sunny day, perfect for July the 4th!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Alli, I’m glad that you enjoyed seeing our small town parade. I loved seeing the faces of the children. They like the firetrucks and the simple floats, many of which they helped decorate. Of course, there is the candy and beads that everyone throws to them as well. As you say, it could never be done without all the volunteers. It was a perfect day. We just finished watching the fireworks on the lake from our dock…so pretty.

  9. musingmar says:

    The parade looks like a lot of fun! Happy Fourth of July!!!

  10. I so enjoy this holiday too! Our little seaside town celebrates with a HUGE fireworks display! The cannons actually light up my street! Happy 4th of July!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mary, I was surprised at our fireworks display our first year at the lake. A huge display that goes on for over 30 minutes. Lovely to sit on the dock and watch not only the sky but the reflections off the water. Happy 4th.

  11. You really have a knack for not just capturing a scene, but a feeling; I can really feel the spirited celebration here. :) Happy 4th of July!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you very much Hannah, for your lovely compliment. I am thrilled that the photos conveyed the excitement and pride that I saw in the faces of everyone that was at the parade.

  12. Happy, happy 4th of July to you Karen. Looks like you are having lots of fun.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you very much Teresa. The 4th of July lived up to all our expectations. I hope your day of celebration was as nice. Happy 4th.

  13. Charles says:

    That Callope looks so cool – I don’t think I ever saw one in “the flesh” before. All of the vehicles are fascinating… love the dairy one too, but I would especially love to have a look at the calliope.

    Thanks for sharing the photos of the parade Karen – there’s a lot of food posts around the web, it’s nice to see the other side of this day which is special for your guys!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charles, I’m glad you enjoyed seeing photos of a small town 4th of July Parade. The calliope is very interesting…it even has drums that play. Sometimes it is at the antique boat show that is held next month. If it is there, I’ll get some closeup photos. The horse drawn dairy wagon is from the 1920’s.

  14. Sue says:

    What a fun day! I loved that old Milk wagon! Our day was spent trying to keep cool. Hope the temps were a little better over your way. This heat is only good for growing corn!
    : )
    Happy 4th, Karen.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sue, It was a fun day with great weather (80 degrees) for the parade. It poured in the early evening but cleared in time for the fireworks on the lake. A good time was had by all.

  15. ambrosiana says:

    Beautiful!!! I love the way Americans celebrate the 4th of July!! I really admire your patriotism. This is why America is such a great country!!

  16. Great day for a parade! I just LOOOVE antique firetrucks!
    So steamy down here, we did the hotdogs inside at dinner…

    • Karen says:

      Hi Marie, It was a great day for the parade. It is funny how different the weather can be just a few hours north. I had to change into jeans and a long sleeve shirt when we went out on the dock for the evening fireworks.

  17. mykitchenstories says:

    wow Happy 4th of July. The pictures are fantastic Karen. I’d love to be in one of these small towns to experience the real America
    http:www.mykitchenstories.com.au

  18. Larry says:

    Looks like you all had a fine Independence Day.

  19. Nice post, Karen. I love everything about my small town and always look forward to summer celebrations. I especially like those old fire trucks.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cathy, Thank you for your compliment. I do enjoy life in a small town. It is wonderful that the old firetrucks have been restored and keep so well by a group of volunteers. The children really do love them.

  20. Karen: Thanks for sharing this part of our culture. Parades are not a big part of our celebration where I live so it was good to know this is a continuing tradition in our country. So good to see everyone showing their patriotism, especially the children.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Southern, I’m happy that you enjoyed the post. New England is big on parades and I think they are a lovely tradition. The children really did seem to enjoy themselves.

  21. Thank you for sharing. What a nice parade!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Theresa, for stopping by for a visit and your nice comment. Parades are so much fun…I’m glad you enjoyed the photos.

  22. kate says:

    Looks like a fun day! I think small towns really do have the best parades!

  23. ChgoJohn says:

    All the trappings of a great 4th of July, Karen, and it looks like you enjoyed them. That’s great!

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, I was a nice 4th of July. Lovely weather, a simple parade that we all love and beautiful fireworks over the lake. I know you must of had a nice 4th but very hot from what I heard on the TV.

  24. Eva Taylor says:

    There is no country in the world more patriotic than America; it’s such a wonderful sentiment. Canadians are quietly patriotic. We had fireworks in Wisconsin while visiting our friend’s and their new cottage, but it’s been so darn dry in those parts that they had to cancel all fireworks if they weren’t on water. Shame really. We had an American flag in our front urn in Toronto. Hope you had a great celebration.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eva, America is very proud of its’ history and very patriotic. I love living in New England where patriotism seems to be a wonderful part of life in the small towns. We did have a wonderful celebration. I know you must have had a wonderful time with your friends…their home looks lovely.

  25. Mary says:

    What wonderful photos! We spend most of the holidayin a neighboring small town and enjoy the charm of their parade and festivities. It is like taking a step back in time. I know you had a great day. Blessings…Mary

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Mary, for your nice compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. You think the same as I do, the charm of small towns is like stepping back in time. Friendly, safe, and welcoming. I hope you enjoyed the 4th as much as we did. Have a lovely day.

  26. cabinet stew says:

    Great pics and reminds me of growing up and riding my “banana seat bike” with colored streamers in the handle bars in the local parade of my town! and sparklers in the backyard!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Carol, Thank you for your nice compliment. The 4th was celebrated at the lake just the way you remember spending yours from your youth.

  27. Karista says:

    Beautiful pictures Karen! It looked like it was a wonderful day in Maine! I especially love the pirate ship. :) I remember a similar parade in Bar Harbor many years ago (about 18). One of the most fun 4th of July celebrations I’ve attended. With lots of lobster too!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Karista, Thank you for your nice compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. Summer in Maine is so much fun and celebrating the 4th in any of the towns is great. Would you believe that lobster is selling for $3.59 a pound…less than ground beef.

  28. when I was a kid, watching or participating in the parade, I couldn’t wait to get out of my small town – and I did. I lived in big cities all over the U.S. and what you captured on film/digital card sums up exactly how I feel now that I’m older and wiser……….but I could have never appreciated it had I not experienced the big city life. We sat and watched fireworks between grandparents holding grandbabies, teenager’s necking on blankets, and 20-somethings playing catch with a football while we all watched in awe and listened to an elderly man who was in the Korean War tell us what the 4th of July meant to him. Such beautiful pictures!!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Kelli, for your lovely compliment. Your comment sums up what life in a small town is all about. There is an innocence and appreciation for the small things in life that are special. I appreciate that you for shared your experience of what a small town parade was all about.

  29. mjskit says:

    What a fun day!!!!

  30. megtraveling says:

    What a charming way to celebrate the holiday! There’s nothing like a parade, and it sounds like the whole day was special…

  31. I like small town living and your photos give me a great view of your small town, and how you celebrate. Thank you karen!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Clarie, There is something to be said for life in a small town. I’m glad you enjoyed seeing how we celebrate. Thank you for your comment.

  32. Sartenada says:

    A very nice photo report from that special day. Antique Fire Truck was a great surprise to me.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Sartenada, for your nice compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos of our 4th of July parade. The antique fire trucks are terrific and the kids love them.

  33. Katerina says:

    Beautiful pictures that depict exactly the festive spirit of all the people participating Karen! I am sure it was a wonderful day for you!

  34. Great Celebration!!
    Beautiful pics.. Hope u had a wonderful 4th July…

  35. Mad Dog says:

    It looks like you all had a great day – happy 4th July ;-)

  36. Cucina49 says:

    What a fabulous parade! It reminds me a little of the one we have here in Anchorage.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cucina, Thank you for your nice comment. We make sure that we attend the parade every year. It is so much fun watching the children’s faces. I think the child in all of us enjoys a parade.

  37. Juliana says:

    Awesome way to celebrate the 4th…enjoyed the pictures!
    Have a great weekend Karen :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Juliana, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice comment. I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos of our small town parade. Have a great weekend as well.

  38. This is what community is all about, coming together to celebrate, remember and be present for the day.

    • Karen says:

      I totally agree with you. Small towns let you have a wonderful feeling of community. It was a wonderful day. Thank you Prairie Wisdom for your lovely comment.

  39. Pat says:

    Hi Karen!
    I’m so sorry I have been absent lately …summer time activities and the incessant heat we’ve been having has kept me off my computer more than usual.

    Your town’s 4th of July parade looked so enjoyable! There is nothing as exciting as a parade and fireworks to celebrate Independence Day!

    Have a good weekend!

    Best regards,
    Pat

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Pat, for stopping by. Everyone is so busy during the summer…don’t worry. I love whenever you stop by. Our simple parade and fireworks are about as opposite as you can get from yours in New York but we really do love them. Have a great summer!

  40. I love small towns and parades! Wishing we could have visited Maine this year, but definitely in our future:)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Marietta, I do hope you get to Maine one summer in the future…I know you will really enjoy your visit. Small town parades are so much a part of what America is all about. Thank you for your comment.

  41. Liz says:

    You’ve captured America at its best!!! What a fun way to celebrate our marvelous country…thanks for sharing, Karen~

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Liz, for your very lovely compliment. I’m so glad you enjoyed the post. There are so many wonderful things about our great country. I do hope that my photos captured a small part of the patriotism in our country. No matter how small the celebration…it is with heart.

  42. Thank you Karen! beautiful post, it made me feel as a part on that parade. We didn’t go anywhere, was very-very hot. We had a lazy 4th of July with some good food and good books. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Marina, I’m happy that you enjoyed the post…thank you for your lovely compliment. The weather in so much of the country has been extremely hot and I can understanding wanting to just stay in with good food and good books.

  43. Thanks for bringing a little forth of july tradition to Hong Kong. I so miss the parades!

  44. Kristy says:

    Looks like a fabulous time! I hope you had a great Fourth Karen! :)

  45. I Love a Great Parade – Thanks for sharing!

  46. What fun. It looks as though you had a great 4th July!

  47. Wonderful – it´s great that this celebration continues and your town has a “Fiesta” all of it´s own. I have to own up to having always wanted to be on a float (the one with puppies would have suited me fine)!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tanya, Thank you…I’m glad you enjoyed the photos of our parade. The float with the puppies was very popular with everyone in the crowd. It got lots of oohs and aaas.

  48. Wonderful pics of a wonderful celebration!

  49. What a lovely little hometown parade! A great way to spend the day amongst your neighbors!

    • Karen says:

      The parade is a lot of fun, Ducky. It is small but all the children love the old tractors and of course, the fire engines. Thank you for your nice comment.

  50. viveka says:

    Was in smoking hot Chicago this day … didn’t see any parade … and the fireworks wasn’t much to write about neither. Great post and happy proud photos.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Viveka, You certainly had to deal with lots of hot weather on your trip. I’m surprised that the fireworks weren’t very good in Chicago.

      • viveka says:

        So was I … spoiled with London’s fireworks at New Years Eve. Was expecting somehing out of the world – But I could had been in San Diego – their whole fireworks was over in 42 seconds.

Leave a Reply

