A Spectacular Sandwich

Is there anything better than a sandwich with a thick slice of tomato straight off the vine, I think not. Add applewood smoked bacon, crisp lettuce and a smear of mayonnaise and you have a spectacular sandwich. At least that is what my husband kept saying as juice from the tomato was dripping on to the plate while eating this BLT.

Bacon, Lettuce And Tomato…A Spectacular Sandwich

Starting tomato plants from seed when there is snow on the ground in New Hampshire makes the anticipation of the first BLT all the greater. The seeds were germinated on a tray across my bathtub which was in front of a warm, sunny window. They were then placed in our potting shed where they were nurtured  until the danger of frost was over.

Planted at the end of May at our cottage in Maine, the plants are now towering above their tomato cages and stakes at seven feet tall.

The Tomato Plants Are Seven Feet Tall

The plants have a good amount of green tomatoes considering all the rain and cool weather at the beginning of the growing season. Each year you never know what kind of crop to expect.

Green Heirloom Tomatoes

The Cherokee Purples were the first of the heirlooms to ripen this year and went into the delicious BLT sandwiches which my husband and I enjoyed. Their deep red, almost purple color lived up to their name. The taste was outstanding…a true rich flavor and very juicy.

Ripe Cherokee Purple Tomatoes

The Sungold and Black Cherry tomatoes are giving us a few ripe tomatoes each day.

Ripening Cherry Tomatoes

Sungold Cherry Tomatoes Ready For Picking

The tomatoes are ripening earlier this year. I think this is a result of starting from seed, growing them in the potting shed and having larger plants to put in the ground.

Hopefully we will have a nice crop of tomatoes. I’m already looking forward to my next tomato sandwich. Any suggestions of how it should be prepared?

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

197 Responses to A Spectacular Sandwich

  1. That is a great looking sandwich!

  2. Gary Lum says:

    That is indeed spectacular :-)

  3. Judy says:

    We’re green here on the seacoast – lots of green tomatoes hanging on the heirloom vines and green with envy that yours have turned. Congrats, and that sandwich looked delicious.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Judy, I have lots of green tomatoes as well. This is the earliest I have had ripe tomatoes so I was pleasantly surprised. The sandwich was delicious.

  4. Your tomatoes look fantastic! YUM.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Ashley, for your nice comment. I’m very pleased with the way the tomato plants are growing. Having ripe tomatoes so early is great.

  5. Bonnie says:

    “No”, that’s the answer to your question regarding a tomato sandwich! It is the best and we are enjoying them right now. Once again, due to weather, our season is late, small and precious. There are five lovelies lined up in the kitchen window at the moment. Your tomatoes look delicious.

    Best,
    Bonnie

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bonnie, I know it must be hard gardening when the weather has been so hot where you are. I’m glad that you have vine ripe tomatoes just waiting to go into a sandwich.

  6. You nailed it with the word Spectacular – Enjoy your tomatoes!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Southern, My husband kept saying the sandwich was spectacular so I knew that would be the title of this post. The flavor of the sandwich was terrific.

  7. Eva Taylor says:

    Your tomatoes look fabulous, Karen, and that sandwich is out of this world! If I were to have a tomato sandwich it would be a panini, with fresh bufala mozzarella and basil, drizzled with some EVOO and some sea salt; hot or cold. And a glass of Pinot Grigio, now that’s a perfect lunch.

  8. Sue says:

    Oh, you’re cruel. I’m WEEKS away from a ripe tomatoe. I cannot wait for that first BLT.
    Those Cherokee Purples are a pretty tomato. I stick with red, because I’m not sure I could tell when they are ripe-LOL!
    Well, I’d say I hope you have a wonderful week, but with ripe tomatoes I suppose that’s a given!
    : )

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sue, sorry to be showing you ripe tomatoes so early. Last year I didn’t have a ripe tomato until the middle of August. I think the Cherokee Purple is such a great tasting tomato. As you can see from the photo, the color is red except on the shoulders where they are purple green so no problem knowing when they are ripe.

  9. Norma Chang says:

    I am sooooo jealous of your Cherokee Purple Tomatoes and your cherries. I am still waiting for my first tomato to ripen and now we have the threat of late blight.
    That is the best looking BLT sandwich. Just finished breakfast but I have room for that sandwich.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Norma, I’m very pleased with the tomato plants. I’m watching mine closely…I keep cutting any branch that turns yellow. I walk around the garden with scissors and a glass of water mixed with clorox. I sterile the scissors after each branch is removed and put the leaves into bags that go to the dump and not composted. I hope you don’t get blight. The sandwich was so good…the first is always the best.

  10. Wonderful looking tomatoes, Karen! We should see the first ripe ones by weeks’ end on the cheery tomatoes, but the maincrops are still a ways off.
    Next sandwich? Good sourdough bread, sliced thick and spread with mustard. Parma ham, lightly smoked gouda, run under the broiler or thow on the grill long enough to melt the cheese, and add tomatoes and arugula….
    Enjoy a bite for me, while you’re at it!

  11. You can’t believe how envious I am, especially as we just lost all our tomatoes, probably due to a virus. Eat another one for me!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Anna, I am so sorry to hear that you lost all your tomato plants. I know you will miss having fresh tomatoes this year. I have been watching over mine carefully and cutting off any branches that don’t look right.

  12. Ashley says:

    Our tomatoes are doing great, but if I don’t catch them early enough they will split before they ripen on the vine. I’ve heard sprinkling powdered milk on the soil would prevent that but I haven’t tried it yet. Anyway, I would suggest some pimento cheese and tomato along with some bacon. It’s to die for!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ashley, I’m happy to hear that your tomatoes are doing well. It is a fine line between picking a tomato a little underripe and letting it go and then having it split. It can happen quite often after a rain and some varieties are more prone to splitting than others. Growing up in the south, I’ve had many a pimento cheese sandwich. Adding bacon and tomato sounds wonderful. Thanks for your suggestion.

  13. Your tomatoes look so healthy my friend, a wonderful crop :D
    Great use in your sandwich – so thick and tasty!
    I actually adore roasting tomatoes and making a toasted roasted tomato cheese sandwich – the best :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Uru, for your nice comment. The tomato plants seem to be healthy…considering all the rain and cool weather shortly after they were planted. A toasted roasted tomato cheese sandwich sounds really good.

  14. Oh wow! My favourite sandwich and this looks truly spectacular.

  15. Hands down, it’s the best sandwich in the world. I’m still waiting for my first ripe tomato and we always celebrate with a BLT.

  16. lulu says:

    With only two meager tomato plants in my little garden, my yield is not likely to be as abundant as yours but we’ll enjoy what we have. Nothing better than a BLT!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lulu, Two tomato plants should give you a nice amount of tomatoes…at least I hope so. I always plant extra plants because I am so afraid of losing plants to disease. At the end of the growing season I tell myself to plant less the next year but I don’t take my own advice. Tomato greed always takes over each spring.

  17. Monique says:

    I am so disappointed..I planted 6 different varieties..watered by hand..loved..nurtured..watched each shape grow.. told them they were gorgeous..only to get up one morning to find every single one gone.
    Crows? Squirrels? Gone.Too late now:(

    I wanted a sandwich like that:)

    Bravo!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Monique, I’m so sorry to hear that a critter got every single tomato. I know how you feel…several years ago a groundhog took a bite out of 26 tomatoes…it was heartbreaking. Last year a groundhog ate every lettuce plant down to a nub.

  18. Hotly Spiced says:

    Your tomato sandwich looks so inviting and delicious. Your heirloom tomato plants are incredible. They have produced the most amazing tomatoes. I’d love to drop in with an empty basket! xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, Thank you for your nice compliment. I wish you were my neighbor…not only would I share tomatoes with you but I might get invited to share one of your delicious meals.

  19. It is hard to beat a BLT with tomatoes like that, but we like tomato on a tuna melt and grilled cheese too. When straight from the vine, my husband prefers a simple plate of sliced tomatoes with salt and pepper as a side dish, I prefer Caprese salad. What a glorious harvest you have to look forward to!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Judy, Thank you for your nice comment. I do like tomatoes on a grilled cheese as well. Once all the tomatoes are ripening, there will be sliced tomatoes every evening. No matter how you like to eat vine ripe tomatoes the flavor is incredible.

  20. I remember when you posted about planting the seeds! How time flies! What beautiful tomatoes they’ve grown to be. I agree, BLT sandwiches are the best! :-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Dana, Time really has flown since I started the seeds. The plants have done so well. I’ll always start tomatoes from seed from now own. It seems everyone really enjoys a BLT. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  21. A delicious sandwich indeed! You have a huge garden!

  22. Mad Dog says:

    By the look of the pictures, your husband is absolutely right!

  23. I’m going to have to pin this Karen – that sandwich looks divine! I just love BLTs in the summer when tomatoes are so tasty – just a few months left and then it’s back to grainy tasteless nothings…Thanks for the recipe and beautiful pictures!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Kelli, for your nice compliment and pin. Why of why can’t the tomato season last longer. Although if we could get tomatoes like this all the time maybe we would take them for granted but I don’t think so.

      • Karen, I belong to a networking group on FB called Food Blogger Network. A woman who is also on there said a spot on FB called “The Gypsy Meltin Pot” was posting other people’s pictures and not giving proper credit. I went over – I think I saw some of Brandies at WKnd Pot luck and Haley the domestic rebel, Jecca and Pam on Om Nomalicious and you! Haley found several of hers on there and sent and email asking her to take them down and then she reported her to FB. I don’t know if you have a FB page but if you don’t someone you know could let you borrow theirs and go through all the pictures – there are LOTS of them. Let me know if you find any of yours.

      • Karen says:

        I appreciate the heads up Kelli. It is a shame when you work hard to develop original recipes and get good photos that someone then takes advantage and doesn’t give proper credit. I will have to check to see if any of my photos are there. Thank you!

  24. spree says:

    Cherokee Purples are so full of flavor, just right, aren’t they?! Your crop looks to be a full and gorgeous one, you lucky you! For me, slices of tom, a good goat cheese or sheep’s milk feta, basil, and freshly ground pepper on good bread, toasted. (Second choose, a good bean spread with sliced tomatoes and drizzled olive oil.) Really how can you go wrong with beautiful homegrown tomatoes on a sandwich? Tending and picking them lakeside seems pretty idyllic! :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Spree, Tending to the garden when you have a lake view is very nice indeed. The tomatoes are doing great so far…I hope they continue to do well. Thank you for your suggestions. I just bought goat cheese yesterday and the bean speed sounds interesting. Thanks so much for your comment.

  25. Larry says:

    I agree with your title. I’d love to grow tomatoes where I don’t have to worry about fungal diseases – yours look so healthy.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Larry, We are not immune to fungal diseases here but I think the heat and humid where you live plays a big role in leaf disease. I keep a watchful eye for the first sign of a problem and if so tackle it head on. I’m glad you liked the title…after my husband said it three times, it was a given.

  26. expatchef says:

    Ummm….can you send me couple of tomatoes to make this sandwich now? ;) Looks amazing. And I love the pictures of your garden.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Carla for your nice comment…I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. I know that you have wonderful tomatoes in Spain…I’ve enjoyed them in my travels there. Wish I could send you some of mine for a sandwich.

      • expatchef says:

        We do, but every year, it seems like there are less and less flavorful tomatoes……..and the really good ones cost a fortune! Oh well, hopefully I can plant some next fall.

      • Karen says:

        I do have to say that the tomatoes in the the markets have no taste here as well. It is the main reason I grow my own. They are delicious and a package of seeds is so inexpensive.

      • expatchef says:

        I totally agree. I only hope I can have a space soon to grow my own as well!

  27. cabinet stew says:

    Spectacular is the right word!!! BLTs are my favorite sandwich! I am still waiting for my tomatoes to turn red but when they do, it will be BLTs every night! I am desperately craving one now!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Carol, I’m sure your tomatoes must be coming right along. We dream of our first BLT every year. I’m happy to say that this is the earliest we have been able to enjoy one from our own tomatoes. All the babying of those little seedlings paid off.

  28. That sandwich and this post as a whole make a lovely tribute to the humble and much-loved tomato.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you so much Victoria, for your lovely compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the post about our tomatoes and how we enjoyed the first ones in a BLT.

  29. Those are some beautiful tomatoes! I think I’m going to have to make a BLT today.

  30. Ha, ha, you beat me to the punch, Karen, as my next post is also about BLT’s, though mine will have a small twist to it. Your tomatoes are simply gorgeous, and how I wish I had sunny spots in my yard where I could grow tomatoes. Instead I have some stringy plants in pots on the deck with 3 or 4 wee tomatoes that may never ripen…but I try! Fortunately I have friends who are very kind and share with me. That’s a perfect and classic looking sandwich, and I plan to have one for lunch! :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Betsy, Thank you for your nice compliment. I’m glad you liked the photo of the BLT…I know you will enjoy yours as well. If you notice in my other posts about our summer home, I don’t have many areas in my yard that get a lot of sunshine. Even in the tomato garden, the tomato plants furthest from the water are shorter because they don’t get as many hours of sun as the ones closest to the lake.

      • We’ve already enjoyed…just slow to get my post up. Nothing can beat a good BLT, that’s for sure! I remember reading that about your shaded areas, Karen…ours is total shade unfortunately. My little garden plot where I’ve tried to grow tomatoes only gets about 2-3 hours of spotty sun a day if that…and half the plants die. The rest, if they live, will maybe make a tomato or two in September or October, but they don’t have that summer taste. Still, I persevere in pots!

      • Karen says:

        Two to three hours of sun isn’t very much, that is for sure. Growing in pots does at least give you a chance for some homegrown tomatoes that I know you must be enjoying.

      • LOL, if they ever ripen and a squirrel doesn’t get them first…but I have a tomato angel that has kept me supplied lately, as you’ll see in my post that I was writing when I saw yours…I just knew by your headline that your perfect sammy would be a BLT…great minds, and ’tis the season! Meanwhile I shall dream of a day when I can have tomato plants as beautiful and as prolific as yours. :)

      • Karen says:

        I do hope that you get your sunny garden someday but in the meantime a tomato angel sounds wonderful. I look forward to your post.

  31. musingmar says:

    Oh, this sandwich looks so good.! This is the first year in many that I haven’t grown tomatoes, and seeing your garden makes me realize I need to plant some next year. Thank goodness for the farmers markets where I can buy some fresh-grown!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Marlene, Thank goodness that you have a nice farmers market nearby to buy good tomatoes. Having a plant or two of your own is nice especially when you consider the price of heirloom tomatoes.

  32. Perfect…we enjoy these sandwiches a lot at this time of year with our own tomatoes and delicious bacon “smuggled” back from the UK in my case!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tanya, I know your sandwiches must be good especially with your “imported” bacon. Whenever we go back to New Hampshire, I fill my car with goodies that I “import” back to Maine. At least I don’t have to worry about customs. LOL.

  33. Gorgeous! I was in love with those earlier pics already when you (first) brought the plants in from the greenhouse and they flourished in the spring. To see the sandwich and read your description of how it was dripping with tomato juices & flavours is delightful!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Allie, Thank you so much for your kind comment. I do know that many of my readers have enjoyed following along with the progress of the tomatoes…I’m happy that you are one of them. I wish you were here and I could let you taste one of the tomatoes.

  34. Nothing beats a home grown tomato! Yours look fabulous Karen

  35. niasunset says:

    Your sandwich seems to delicious and your garden, your photographs and your tomatoes! They are great! What can I say, Bon Appetite! Thank you dear Karen, love, nia

    • Karen says:

      Hi Nia, Thank you for your lovely compliment. I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos and the post about the tomatoes and the sandwich.

  36. OMG Karen… those tomatoes!!!!!! They look unbelievable!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Beth, Thank you for your compliment. The tomatoes are doing very well for early in the summer…I hope we will get a good crop this year.

  37. Sissi says:

    You cannot imagine how I envy you these tomatoes… This sandwich can be a real delight as long as I have good bacon, as you say, and of course good tomatoes. I love club sandwiches even if they are ordinary and whenever I go to a pub I take them: they are often the best pub dinner option because really not difficult to prepare as long as they are freshly made. They taste great with a glass of Guinness ;-) Hamburgers and other dishes are always a bigger risk.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Sissi, for your nice compliment. This is my favorite summer sandwich when you have great tasting tomatoes. We buy a thick sliced bacon that is smoked over applewood that really goes so well with the fresh taste of the tomatoes. Wish I could share one with you.

  38. rachelocal says:

    Nothing is better than a home-grown tomato. Your photos are fabulous, Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Rachel, for your very nice compliment. Homegrown tomatoes during the summer are really one of the best things imaginable.

  39. Paula B says:

    The sandwich and your tomatoes look delicious. I’m just starting to get the first fruits off my cherry tomato plants. Yum! I don’t have the wonderful space you have, but my containers get me through in my shady yard. :-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Paula, thank you for stopping by and your nice comment. Containers really work when you have limited sunshine. Cherry tomatoes are so sweet and good most of ours get popped into our mouths and never make it into the house. I’m sure you are enjoying yours. Happy gardening.

  40. ChgoJohn says:

    When I was a boy, once the tomatoes started to ripen, Sunday lunch was either a BLT or a hamburger. BLTs have remained a special Summer treat for me. I’ll pick and enjoy the 1st ripe tomato right there in my yard. The 2nd tomato is destined for a BLT. Your husband said it best, “Is there anything better …” No, there isn’t!

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, You and my husband are right…nothing better than a homegrown summer tomato right off the vine. Sliced in a sandwich with bacon is a real treat. Many of the warm cherry tomatoes are eaten right in the garden.

  41. megtraveling says:

    There’s something so satisfying about growing things from seed. That was interesting seeing your earlier posts when you first planted them, and the tomatoes turned out great! Now you can enjoy them…

    • Karen says:

      Hi Meg, This really was an interesting year…growing tomatoes from seed was so easy. I was able to have much larger plants by the time they could safely be planted in Maine…the plants at the nurseries were half the size. I’m glad you enjoyed the earlier posts to see their progress. I’ll be growing from seed from now on.

  42. Jean says:

    Karen, I had to chuckle when I saw this. When I want to my local farm to pick up my CSA share this afternoon, another member was looking forward to a major tomato harvest in the next week or two. Our farmer said she had been dreaming of a BLT made with the first vine-ripened Cherokee Purple. Now you have given us a visual to keep us going until the heirloom tomatoes ripen here.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jean, You had me chuckling as well. We live so close to each other in Maine and everyone is thinking about the same thing…BLT’s with Cherokee Purple tomatoes. The sandwich was worth all the anticipation over the last few months…delicious.

  43. Well done on your tomatoes :) BLT must be one of my absolutel favourite sandwiches. At the weekend, I use tomatoes with rocket in French dressing with cheese in pitta bread. That went down a treat with my guests, though it will be a while off before I can use my own tomatoes. Another of my favourite ways to eat tomatoes is to fry them with onions and chilli and then poach eggs in the mixture.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Silverbells, for your nice compliment. Your pita sandwich sounds like it was good. Your poached eggs with tomatoes, onions and chili sounds terrific as well. Thanks for the suggestions.

  44. Yikes! Those tomatoes are incredible. I have 2 puny tomatoes – 1 on each of the 2 plants I put in. Must not have the right “fertilizer”, but I don’t tend to follow through w/my gardening efforts so it’s my bad I’m sure.
    That is my favorite sandwich in the entire world, especially with the tomato right out of the garden – nice job.

    • Karen says:

      Thanks Diane, I’m glad you enjoyed seeing my tomatoes. I really think you need to fertilize to have good tomatoes. I use a product called Tomato Tone. I put a couple of tablespoons in each hole when I plant and the about the same amount once a month afterwards. I agree…nothing like a BLT with vine ripe tomatoes right from the garden.

  45. Look at your tomatoes! We can’t grow anything like that here without the fruit fly feasting, so I’ll have to just vicariously enjoy yours.. :)

  46. thebeadden says:

    I can hardly wait for our tomatoes! And that sandwich, it looks delish! We can’t buy Applewood smoked bacon here…yet! I am going to ask my grocer. I have had it and nothing compares to that flavor.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bead Den, I hope your tomatoes ripen soon. If you can find or order North Country Smokehouse bacon on line, it was voted the best bacon in the country. It is made in New Hampshire and is absolutely delicious. I bring it to Maine whenever I go home.

  47. Beautiful tomatoes! All of them.

    • Karen says:

      Thanks Greg, Just think…you have been enjoying tomatoes for sometime and I’m just having my first BLT and they are ripe early this year. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  48. Charles says:

    Mm, you’re right – crispy bacon, lovely, tasty tomato… there are few better sandwiches indeed. I’m thinking about all the canning I could do if I had those tomatoes… I’d make so much chutney :D

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charles, We do agree on good sandwiches. I’ll think about a chutney if I a have a good crop. Someday, you are going to have that dream home in Sweden with a beautiful garden and will have a lovely tomato crop.

      • Charles says:

        Haha, well, I’m not sure about the tomatoes. Potatoes should be no problem to grow, but I’m not sure if the climate is ideal for tomatoes. It even snowed in a city in the north of Sweden a couple of weeks ago… not much mind you, but still… snow in July? Crazy!

      • Karen says:

        You will have to have a small greenhouse…a man can’t live by potatoes alone although they are delicious no matter how they are prepared. You are right…snow in July is totally crazy.

  49. I wish I could get my hands on that sandwich and those tomatoes look gorgeous!

  50. Karen I am amazed…we started our tomatoes the same time but mine are so far behind due to cold lousy June weather then the heat and drought. Lots of cherries just beginning to ripen. That sandwich looks delicious.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Donna, The tomato plants are doing very well. I was really worried because of the terrible rain and cool weather that we had in June as well. I have fertilized with Tomato Tone twice since they were planted. I don’t have as many tomatoes as I should because blossoms weren’t setting in the cool temperatures but what I have look like they will be nice. The sandwich was great…thanks for your nice compliment.

  51. Juliana says:

    Oh Karen, what a nice looking sandwich…I love your tomatoes vine…they sure look awesome.
    Hope you are enjoying your week :)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Juliana, for your nice compliment. The BLT was a great sandwich thanks to the delicious vine ripe tomatoes. It is a nice week in Maine…I hope you have a lovely week as well.

  52. Sounds delicious! And leave it to you to produce the Nephilim of all tomato plants. I have never seen plants that tall. Maybe the swamp they were swimming in for a minute was all a good thing.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bliss, The sandwich was delicious. Yes…the tomato plants are turning into giants and it isn’t even August yet. I was really worried when we had the flooding rains but the plants are thriving.

  53. Ah! I’m in the land of good food, but all I’m craving is that amazing looking sandwich! My favorite is the smell of tomatos as they’re pulled from the vine!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Francesca, I know that there must be times when you miss many of the foods you had for so long. The sandwich was delicious with the fresh picked tomato. I’m envious of all the wonderful food you are enjoying.

  54. Yum! Yum! This looks so good. One could never be wrong with smoked bacon and fresh tomatoes. I’ve been eating my favorite sandwich everyday while we have fresh tomatoes ~ a slice of bread, sliced tomatoes and then some type of cheese thinly sliced over the top then grilled under the broiler. So yum! I crave them during the fall/winter.

  55. We just made BLT’s the other night with a few homegrown tomatoes. Glad to see your tomatoes made it thru the rough weather this year.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mary, Thank you for your nice comment. I was really worried about the tomato plants after so much rain and cool turned their leaves yellow. But thank goodness they have done well and we are starting to enjoy fresh picked tomatoes. I’m sure you enjoyed your BLT’s as much as we did.

  56. Michelle says:

    There are few things better than a BLT at the height of tomato season. I do also like them with slices of avocado.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Michelle, It appears that the BLT is a winning summertime sandwich for lots of us. I’m having avocado and tomatoes with tonights dinner.

  57. katiepede says:

    Your tomatoes are HUGE! WOW!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Katie, Thanks for your comment. Hopefully by the end of summer I should have some that make these look small. I’ve got my fingers crossed.

  58. That is definitely one tasty looking sandwich!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Chunklet. It really was a very tasty sandwich. I was thinking about one the whole time I was babying the tomato seedlings in the potting shed this past spring.

  59. You say spectacular Karen and I say perfection! :-)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Jed, for your very nice compliment. A sandwich can’t get much better in my opinion. Simple enough to let the flavor of the tomato shine.

  60. Cucina49 says:

    Wow, your tomatoes are stunners! It’s not fair–we get such awful ones in Alaska that you don’t want to feature them in a sandwich like this.

    • Karen says:

      Oh Cucina, I can certain sympathize with you. I think we have such a short growing season in Maine, but even trying to grow your own in Alaska would be almost impossible. Your right…it doesn’t seem fair.

  61. spectacular is an understatement. This is going at the top of my to do list

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Jessica, for your lovely compliment. I know you will enjoy a BLT…especially if it is made with one of the heirloom varieties of tomatoes.

  62. Beautiful looking tomatoes Karen
    I love adding sliced tomatoes to my cheese sandwich with some lettuce..yum!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sawsan, Thank you…the tomatoes are doing good so far this year. It seems that adding cheese to a tomato sandwich is very popular among the bloggers.

  63. TasteFood says:

    Spectacular indeed. Now I am quite hungry.

  64. Christina says:

    I am so jealous of your ripening tomatoes…I can’t wait for mine to ripen! :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Christina, Don’t be jealous…I’m sure that your tomatoes will be ripening any day. I think having my seedlings growing under lights in the potting shed gave them a great start.

  65. Ruth says:

    Aw! They grow up so fast. It seems like only yesterday we were bundled up in sweaters while they basked in your sun soaked tub. I’m hoping my two plants will produce a decent crop. So far I’ve gotten one, but I noticed lots of flowers when I watered them this evening so there’s hope! :-) BLTs and fried green tomatoes here we come! Yum!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ruth, Loved you comment…yes they do grow up fast. Lots of blossoms is a good thing, it eounds like you will have a nice crop.

  66. Carolyn Chan says:

    How wonderful to have so many different varieties of tomatoes ! And yup, that’s a pretty good sandwich !!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Carolyn, Each variety of tomato has such a different flavor and color. The ones I’m growing this year have been winners in the past. Hope this year will be as good.

  67. leduesorelle says:

    All this heat has been great for the tomatoes, incredible season we’re having, no? We’ve been gorging on tomato-cucumer sandwiches every day, and had BLT past last night!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Leduesorelle, Thank you for stopping by and your nice comment. It does look like we will have a nice crop of tomatoes this season…I have my fingers crossed.

  68. Margy Rydzynski says:

    Reblogged this on Life in the Rydzynski Zone and commented:
    Wow! Doesn’t this look good?

  69. Kristy says:

    Now that’s a BLT! Love the shot of the vines with the water peaking int he background. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristy, The tomato garden is in a nice spot. The plants get breezes coming off the lake which helps prevent leaf disease. How are the herbs that you and Miss A planted doing? Good I hope.

  70. I wish my computer was scratch and sniff as I can almost imagine the lovely sweet smell of the tomatoes on the vine. You are killing me with those photos but I am okay as in 2 days I am on my way home and can finally eat a fresh homegrown tomato!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bam, The tomatoes are going to be great this year…at least I hope so. Enjoy your time at home and eat lots of tomatoes while there.

  71. Tandy says:

    Those tomatoes look amazing and I would love that sandwich for my breakfast. I love tomatoes with pesto and mozzarella, or tomatoes with bacon and avo :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tandy, I have to agree with you about having a BLT at breakfast. When we travel, I often order a BLT in the morning as I’m not much of a breakfast eater but love this sandwich.

  72. Fabulous to see the progres your tomato plants have made Kare.! And gosh haven’t they grown! The ones in my greenhouse are a good size with a few just starting to ripen, the outdoor tomatoes are still a way behind. And what better way to eat them – a BLT! I’m also a fan of simple too, like a plate of sliced tomatoes with some olive oil and pepper – a perfect snack, starter or salad!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Claire, The tomato plants really have taken off. It is a good thing my husband is tall or I might need a ladder next month when I’m picking. Sliced with a sprinkling of sea salt and a drizzle of olive oil is how we eat a lot of our tomatoes. Glad to hear you are starting to get ripe tomatoes as well.

  73. Hi Karen. I say spread some toasted bread (your choice) with a soft cheese (goat cheese or Boursin). Pile on the tomatoes and cucumbers. If you like sweet with savory, add a little dollop of chutney, or add a layer of sun-dried tomatoes to double the tomato flavor and add texture.

  74. Liz says:

    Wow, your tomatoes look great! With our drought, I’m not getting my usual donation of tomatoes and zucchinis from my friends :( But I did buy some tomatoes from our nearby produce stand and plan to enjoy BLTs for dinner soon!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Liz, Thank you for your nice compliment. It is a shame that the drought is really hurting many peoples gardens…especially where water restrictions are in place. Enjoy your BLT.

  75. It has been so HOT here in Atlanta, but our little tomatoes are holding on for dear life! So far, the Sweet 100’s are about depleted, so I am TOTALLY jealous of your bounty. Hopefully, our Patio Tomato plant will survive and all of our green fruit will turn bright red. Congrats on all of your hard work – growing from seed is a triumph!!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Susan, for your nice compliment. I’m really happy that I started the tomato plants from seed this year. I will definitely be doing it from now on because I’ve never had tomatoes this early. Good for you that your tomatoes are hanging in there with all the heat that you and your plants have endured.

  76. I am so jealous of all your growing tomatoes. They are so expensive here in the winter in New Zealand at the moment and they are my favourite vegetable (fruit?). I have enjoyed looking through your blog and love the record of your lives with great photos. And all those records – wettest, driest etc.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Suzanne, Thank you for stopping by and your nice compliment about my blog. Our seasons will reverse before we know it. I’ll be buried in snow and you will be enjoying wonderful warm sunny weather.

  77. I can close my eyes and taste this tomato. I have a very good memory of tomatoes out of our Maine garden. Things taste better in Maine. Good soil. :)

  78. I think the tomatoes are a HIT! For me too…Gorgeous photos. You really get some good heat units in Maine. I’m so impressed how you started them in one place and brought them to another. I’m considering this a possibility in the future.
    The sandwich looks scrumptious.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Wendy, for your nice compliment. Starting my tomatoes from seed in New Hampshire and then taking them to Maine for planting worked great. The plants are way ahead of last year when I bought starter plants.

  79. Your tomato plants are spectacular, Karen. I have one plant in a pot on my deck and its loaded with little green tomatoes. Can’t wait for them to ripen. There is nothing more delicious than a luscious BLT.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Cathy. The tomato plants are doing great this year…growing from seed is the way to go. I’m sure yours will be ripening soon. A BLT is such a good sandwich and its great morning, noon or night.

  80. Susan says:

    My husband’s all-time favorite sandwich! The tomatoes are ripening earlier this year too and they are loving the heat and dry weather. The lawn…not so much.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Susan, This is the earliest I have had ripe tomatoes…usually they don’t ripen until August. I’ve got brown spots in my yard but we got rain this morning and are supposed to get more over the weekend.

  81. fuzziepotato says:

    I am salivating just looking at those pictures—i love fresh tomatoes! You have just inspired me to go home and make one. :)

  82. viveka says:

    Karen, stunning tomato plants .. and I’m sure the taste a lot better then what I buy in the supermarket – love the photo of your sandwich … a sandwich that I eat for lunch very often.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Viveka, The tomato plants are getting really big. And yes, the flavor is so much better than what is available in the store. This sandwich is a favorite in the summer.

  83. Karista says:

    Yes, I’m catching up on my fave blogs as you can tell. :). I so adore a juicy tomato sandwich. Although four some reason I’ve been craving avocado with the tomato sandwich and I think I’ve had one for lunch everyday this week. Haha! Lovely post as always Karen.

    • Karen says:

      I know what you mean about catching up Karista…you can get behind so easily. I appreciate whenever you have the chance to stop by. I love avocado and tomato, a wonderful combination of flavors.

  84. lvaletutto says:

    Your tomato plants look great and so does that sandwich. Yum!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Laura, for your nice compliment. The tomato plants are doing good…I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a nice crop. And you are right, the sandwich was really good.

  85. so jealous of those tomatoes! you did a great job with your garden. I can only watch and long for ;)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Barbara, I do wish I could send you some of the lovely tomatoes from my garden. Better yet I wish you were my neighbor and that we could share a sandwich on some of the lovely bread that you make.

  86. Look at those gorgeous tomatoes! Are those from the tomato plants you had posted about planting earlier in the year?

    • Karen says:

      Yes Ducky…those are the same plants that I started on top of my bathtub and babied in the potting shed. They had a rough first month in Maine but have certainly grown. And the tomatoes are delicious.

  87. “Is there anything better”.. my family and I would answer with a resounding “No!” It was so cool to see these little seedlings transform into what must have been the best sandwich ever. We love our BLT’s but haven’t ever had one made from a sweet home-grown from scratch tomato like these!! It must have been heaven in every bite:D

    • Karen says:

      Hi Barbara, Can you believe those tiny seedlings grew up to such big plants already. The taste of an heirloom tomato really makes a BLT special. You are right…it is heavenly.

  88. Storm Rider says:

    Perfect looking tomatoes!! : ) Nice!

  89. Pingback: The Thrill Of Victory And The Agony Of Defeat | Back Road Journal

  90. Pingback: Garden To Table…Ripe Tomatoes | Back Road Journal

Leave a Reply

