Bar Harbor And Acadia National Park

Spending a holiday in the state of Maine is on the bucket list of many people. Ask the place they most want to visit and the answer probably will be Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.

View From The Terrace At The Bar Harbor Inn And The Margaret Todd Four Masted Schooner

What is the draw that has so many of us wanting to spend time in one of  Maine’s top destinations?  In the 1800′s, American’s wealthiest families spent time in this beautiful spot…the Astors, Carnegies, Fords, Morgans, Rockefellers and Vanderbilts. Why did they all pick this particular spot? What brought the rich and famous to the area is also what brings tourists from all over the world to this special place. The answer is the natural beauty and the simplicity of the land.

Bar Harbor And Frenchman’s Bay

Mention Bar Harbor and people immediately think of lighthouses, lobsters,  and a harbor filled with lobster boats and cruise ships. They think of adventures on the water kayaking, sailing, fishing and whale watching or on the land either hiking or biking the many miles of marked trails in Acadia National Park.

Lobster Boats

Lobster Boats In The Harbor

My husband and I have enjoyed visiting this area several times and always look forward to returning for a few days. The West Street Hotel is a wonderful new boutique hotel that opened in July and was our hotel of choice for this stay. It is at the corner of West Street which runs along the water and Main street where all the shops and restaurants are located. The town docks are right across the street making this a perfect location.

West Street Hotel

The hotel was designed to not look like a massive building but instead like a row of small connected buildings of different colors and different balconies looking out over the harbor. Inside, the lobby is contemporary with a nautical design.

The Warm And Inviting West Street Hotel Lobby

There are comfy seating areas, either around a warm fireplace or in the library.

Harbor Side King Room

Upstairs the rooms with balconies overlooking the harbor are spacious, with flatscreen TV’s, IPod docking stations and the baths have huge walk in showers.

Tour Boats For Whale Watching And Fishing

The hotel has a rooftop pool with wonderful views and its’ restaurant, Paddy’s Irish Pub has outdoor tables to watch the comings and goings of the tour boats.

Across the street you find several restaurants right on the water where you can have a cocktail, chowder, fresh seafood and of course a lobster roll.

Colorful Viewing Of The Harbor

Directly across from the West Street Hotel is a wonderful little group of colorful shops.

Colorful Shop In Bar Harbor

This is also where you can buy a ticket for a trolley tour of Acadia National Park.

Oli’s Trolley Across From West Street Hotel

Taking the trolley instead of driving has it advantages. The driver gives a wonderful history of Mount Desert Island, Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Also you don’t have to worry about taking your eyes off the road which you might be tempted to do if you were driving. The views from the top of Cadillac Mountain are beautiful and worth the price of the trolley ticket alone.

View Of Offshore Islands From Acadia National Park

If you do visit Acadia National Park, you might want to make a reservation to have a simple lunch at Jordan Pond House. It is right across from one of the original gate houses for the 57 miles of carriage trails.

An Original Gate House On The Carriage Trail In Acadia National Park

You can sit outside with a view across Jordan Pond to the Bubble Mountains. Be sure to order their popovers, everyone loves them.

If you would rather have lunch in town, the Terrace at the Bar Harbor Inn is nice spot.

Have Lunch Under An Umbrella At The Terrace Of The Bar Harbor Inn

Sit outside under an umbrella and sip a cool drink, have lunch and watch the passing boats and the Margaret Todd schooner dock at their pier.

I found Bar Harbor to be a colorful and down to earth resort town that gives tourists plenty of options. From a romantic holiday for two with a lobster dinner in town to a jammed packed adventure for an entire family experiencing the glories of Acadia National Park. Yes…it should be on everyone’s bucket list.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

149 Responses to Bar Harbor And Acadia National Park

  1. It’s on my bucket list. It’s a great area for us avid birdwatchers.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lea Ann, From all the comments from my readers, Maine is definitely on a lot of peoples’ travel wish list. Bar Harbor has so much to offer that it seems to be on top of the list of places in Maine to visit. It is the perfect place for an avid birdwatcher. I can’t believe my wonderful experience of seeing the eagle in my last post, “A Boater’s Dream”. To see the eagle perched on a peak facing an American flag…unbelievable.

  2. This sounds like a wonderful escape! You found the perfect base to explore from–I will definitely check out the hotel and your recommendations when I am in the area.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tatar, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. I think you would be very happy staying in Bar Harbor. I don’t think you could do better than staying at the West Street Hotel…new and very nice.

  3. A_Boleyn says:

    Beautiful, beautiful place and the pictures really give me a feel for the open-ness of the area. Makes me feel I could walk around early in the morning and enjoy the fresh air and see nothing except the ships in the distance without being surrounded by people. I’d love to stay at the Bar Harbor Inn and shop at one of those pastel coloured shops.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Boleyn, I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed the post. Bar Harbor is very quiet in the mornings. As the day goes on, more people are out and about. We stayed at the Bar Harbor Inn on previous visits…a very traditional and old fashioned hotel. The harbor is everything you would imagine. I hope you get a chance to visit some day. Thank you for your comment.

  4. Margy Rydzynski says:

    I love Acadia! Thanks for the pics and memories.

  5. Norma Chang says:

    Thanks for another trip down memory lane. A visit to Arcadia National Park and the park rangers tours (they are so knowledgable), incredible. Would love to revisit someday.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Norma, I’m happy to hear that I have taken you down memory lane. Arcadia National Park is so beautiful…thank goodness that it has been saved for all of us to enjoy. I hope that you do get a chance to visit again someday. Thank you for your nice comment.

  6. Thanks for sharing your Bar Harbor experience, and for the hotel recommendation! We take an in-state fall vacation there biannually, but have yet to find the perfect place to stay… How was the noise level there?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Leduesorelle, I’m glad you enjoyed the post about my time in Bar Harbor. I don’t think that you could find a better place to stay in downtown. West Street Hotel is new and lovely…I only wish that every hotel that I stay in was as nice as this one. Our room was totally quiet and there was no noise from outside. My husband and I were so pleased with our stay.

  7. Judy says:

    Loved the post – great reminders of our wonderful trips to Bar Harbor. It truly is a gem.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Judy, I’m glad that your enjoyed the post and it brought back memories of your trips to Bar Harbor. It truly is a gem…a “must see” if you want to get a feel of what Maine is all about.

  8. I just love the views of the water.

  9. Oh, both of these places are on my bucket list and after seeing your pictures, i’m even more confident that they should be there! It looks like you had an amazing trip.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Amber, Thank you for stopping by to visit. I’m glad that you enjoyed the post. It seems that Bar Harbor, Maine is on the bucket list of so many people. I know that if you get a chance to visit this lovely area, you will truly enjoy your holiday. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park as well as the rest of the island. Thank you for your comment.

  10. SKEdaddle says:

    Great post and images. I will have to make it out there one day.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Susan, Thank you for stopping by and your nice compliment. I would definitely put Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park on your “must visit” list.

  11. Sweet! Now we have a new destination when we go see our son. :) Lovely photos. Thanks.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Richard, You will really enjoy a visit to Mount Desert Island. There is so much to see and do in Bar Harbor, the park and the other towns on the island.

  12. Have been wanting to go here for years. But now……I really can’t wait. Thanks for the beautiful pictures and all of the tips.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Nancy, Thank you for stopping by. I’m glad that you enjoyed the post, photos and tips. I do hope you get a chance to visit the area.Thank you for your comment.

  13. Bonnie says:

    What a beautiful spot. I can see why you love to summer in Maine. (I’ve always wanted to say that or better yet to “summer” somewhere).

  14. Beautiful photos, Karen! I’d love to spend the weekend there :).

  15. Eha says:

    I am closing my eyes at the moment and imagining I am actually there: thank you for a wish and a promise . . . one of these places in the world inexlicably on a wishlist . . .

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eha, I’m glad that you can imagine yourself being there. It really is a lovely place to visit. Do add it to your wish list…after all, dreams sometimes do come true.

  16. Beautiful holiday spot. I had never heard of it before but I can understand its popularity. I love staying in hotels that overlook harbours and eating by the sea. Very envious.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Roger, So nice to have you stop by. I can see why you might not have heard of Bar Harbor. It is about 4 hours north of Portland…5 from Boston. I think Bar Harbor and the park have the most natural beauty in the entire state of Maine. I know it is the kind of place that you could enjoy many hours taking wonderful photos with your camera.

  17. Sue says:

    Hubby and I were there the year he retired. We LOVED Bar Harbor. I think we’re banned, though–we don’t eat lobster. I think that’s against the rules-LOL!!
    Your photos are beautiful. You have a real knack for capturing the beauty of a place. I’m always disappointed by my pictures–perhaps I need to “borrow” you for my upcoming trip. You’ll be the “official” photographer!
    : )
    Have a great weekend, Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sue, Isn’t Bar Harbor wonderful. I don’t think they would ban you because of not eating lobster. Besides, I ate your share while I was there. I like the idea of being your official photographer…I’ve never been to the places that you travel to. But I do like your photos, I think you are too critical. Have a great trip!

  18. This look wonderful – I want to be there!

  19. Carolyn Chan says:

    I love how it looks like it hasn’t changed in all those years. Beautiful!

  20. Mad Dog says:

    Maine really is beautiful – put me on that list!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mad Dog, I have to agree with you. Maine has so much natural beauty. I can see why you would want to be on the list. Thank you for your comment.

  21. Suzanne says:

    What a beautiful place. I can understand why the rich like to visit there. The colours are stunning.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Suzanne, Thank you for your nice comment. The area was and is all about the natural beauty of the area. There are many well to do people that still have homes on the island but now the majority of visitors are just average tourists enjoying all the outdoor activities.

  22. viveka says:

    An other magical place – you have taken me too – that hotel room I could check into this afternoon – love your photo of the colorful stools and the little candy sweet shop – you have been very active during your visit – around town – up on the hills and down in the park. plus under the umbrellas *smile Love those places with different colored houses side by side – just like on Ireland, but on Ireland they don’t paint their house on the back only on the front ??????? Don’t have a clue why.
    Thanks again for stunning photos and sharing a beautiful spot.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Viveka, I think you have used the right word to describe the area…it is magical. Don’t you just love the colorful stools and buildings. We did do a lot in the two days we spent on the island. I am so glad that you enjoyed the post and photos. Thank you for your lovely compliment.

  23. Hubby has fond memories of his grandmother’s house on Mt. Desert Island…we should really go up next summer, if only to see if it’s still there.
    Thanks for the tour!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Marie, I’m glad you enjoyed the tour. We drove all around Mount Desert Island on our second day of the trip. I’m sure you would be pleasantly surprised to find your husband’s grandmother’s house is probably still there. There are so many lovely old homes all over the island. That is one of the things that gives it so much charm.

  24. Eva Taylor says:

    Gorgeous, Karen thank you so much for sharing. I love the first shot with the glass of vino peaking into the view; I can just imagine a leisurely lunch with the wonderful views.
    I love lobster but have to admit the lobster roll has always perplexed me. Here in TO they tend to serve it on a cottony bun which to me is no better than a supermarket hot dog bun. I actually hate that kind of bun.
    I’d really like to visit Maine.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Eva, for your nice compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Sitting under a yellow umbrella with a glass of wine and a leisurely lunch was very pleasant. Loved watching the schooner sail into the harbor and dock at the pier right in front of us. Lobster was always so plentiful in Maine, that for many years it was just considered an ordinary meal. Now everyone thinks of lobster as something special but it is still enjoyed on the bun that you don’t care for. At least it is always brushed with butter and toasted. I’ll have a post about that soon but I think you will be off on your travels. Have a great trip!

      • Eva Taylor says:

        Thanks Karen, my considerate husband has made sure we have wifi in all of our accommodations so I will try to keep up.
        Wouldn’t it have been fun to meet over there? We’re trying to meet up with Sissi and Charles, on two different occasions!

      • Karen says:

        Have fun and don’t worry about keeping up with blogs. It would have been great fun to all get together while traveling. Our travels this trip will take us to the Black Forest, Alsace, Lake Constance, Triol, and Bavaria this time.

  25. Linda says:

    Hi Karen,
    Bar Harbor is indeed a beautiful place and your photos and text have really captured it so well. We haven’t been there for some time now, but there used to be a good horseback riding stable there and we rode on the carriage roads. For those uncomfortable on horseback there were carriage rides also, which took you through the grounds. I wonder if that riding stable is still open? And I think Martha Stewart’s Maine house is one of the old Ford estates in Bar Harbor. Thanks for the lovely tour.
    Linda

    • Karen says:

      Hi Linda, Thank you for stopping by and your nice compliment. Yes, the stables are still there and you can take course carriage rides through the park. Martha Stewart’s home was the old Edsel Ford (Henry Ford’s son) estate called “Skylands” and is located in Seal Harbor on the island. I’m glad you enjoyed the post.

  26. Sold! Sign me up….we will have to make the trek up next summer. Too beautiful to resist! Thanks for sharing….

    • Karen says:

      Hi Natalia, I do think you will really enjoy a visit next summer…it is so beautiful. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Thank you for your nice comment.

  27. After two nights near Rockport next week we’re headed to Bar Harbor. If I wasn’t excited before (and since your last post) I sure am now. That hotel looks like and absolute gem. Thanks for the recommendation — and your great timing for for my first Maine trip!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rosemary, I’m so glad that these last two posts have you excited about your trip. I know you will have a wonderful time. The hotel was perfect…it is where I will be staying from now on. Have a great holiday and thank you for your nice compliment.

  28. Jerry says:

    Bar Habor was the first place I ever traveled to – years ago. We camped there. When we were in a Maine a few years ago we paid a return visit. what a difference! LOL It’s almost too busy for me now . . .

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jerry, Nice to hear that you have visited the area several times. So many people go camping…it is perfect for an outdoor adventure. You are right, it has changed overtime. There can be a lot of visitors in the summer, especially if a cruise ship has anchored in the harbor for a day. We were there in the middle of the week and there was no problems with a hotel room, reservations for dinner or parking anywhere we went. I guess it is all about timing. Thank you for your comment.

  29. What a beautiful holiday getaway my friend – so much scenery and abundance of relaxation offered :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  30. Anonymous says:

    Hi Karen – it’s Gina demarco Tomanelli – i love your blog! Thanks for sharing all your wonderful thoughts, treasures, recipes and stories. Would love to take our brood to Maine – is Acadia the best spot for a weekend of fun for kids and adults? Send love to m. Best wishes – get

    • Karen says:

      Hi Gina, I’m so happy to hear from you. It is nice to know that you read and enjoy my blog. I think that Acadia would be a perfect spot for your family…there is so much to do. I think we saw more families there than any place we have visited during our summers in Maine. Love to the whole family.

  31. expatchef says:

    It has been on my bucket list for a while now, thank you so much for posting those gorgeous pictures. I am hoping we will get there soon! It looks like you had a wonderful time!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Carla, I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos…thank you for your nice compliment. Bar Harbor and the park are on so many peoples bucket list and there is good reason. I do hope you get a chance to visit…I think you will enjoy it.

  32. Kristy says:

    I LOVE the popovers at Jordan Pond. We had a fabulous post hike lunch there and then picked blueberries in the fields. Thank you again Karen. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristy, I’m so glad that you enjoyed the post. I know I have been bringing back memories of your trip to Maine. The warm popovers are so good…no telling how many a person could eat. On the drive back to the lake, we stopped at a roadside stand for a quart of wild blueberries for a pie as they are now in season.

  33. So beautiful. You always hear so much about Bar Harbor, but I have never seen such appealing photos. Thanks for sharing.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Victoria, Bar Harbor definitely lives up to everything you have heard about it. The whole of Mount Desert Island is wonderful. The national park, the quieter and smaller villages on the other side of the island and all the activities really make it a great destination. I’m glad you enjoyed the post and thank you for your nice comment.

  34. Karista says:

    Karen you’ve made my day! Bar Harbor, Maine, one of my favorite places in this world. It looks just as beautiful as I remember, although it’s been about 15 years since I visited. So many new buildings but still so quaint. Fantastic post!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your lovely comment, Karista. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Bar Harbor has changed over the years…some things for the better such as the new hotel where we stayed. The natural beauty remains the same as does the national park.

  35. annie says:

    Maine has been on my bucket list my entire life. I need to get crackin’ or I’ll miss it.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Annie, Thank you for stopping by and your nice comment. My husband and I love our summers in Maine…so much to see and do. I know you would enjoy visiting sometime in the future.

  36. It appears I will need several weeks to visit all the wonderful spots I have seen on many blogs this summer.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Donna, I know what you mean. There are so many beautiful places to visit and so little time each year in which to get it done. Thank you for your comment.

  37. lifeincharente says:

    I would love to see Maine, in fact I would love to see that all of that part of the world but I do not imagine it is going to happen in this lifetime! Maybe when I come back as a falcon I can soar anywhere I feel like it LOL I always have this wish to return to this world as a high speed peregrine falcon, nonsense I know but…. Lovely photos. have a great Sunday, Diane

    • Karen says:

      Hi Diane, Thank you for your nice compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. After having flown in a biplane, I can imagine what a falcon’s view of this area would be like. I hope you had a lovely day as well…feel better.

  38. Reblogged this on 4writersandreaders and commented:
    ACADIA NATIONAL PARK: America the Beautiful right here in Maine.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bette, Thank you for stopping by and enjoying my post enough to reblog it. It is always nice to meet another blogger from Maine. Look forward to hearing from you again in the future.

  39. hotlyspiced says:

    Thanks so much for this tour, Karen. It really does look like a very special part of the world. The landscape and scenery is spectacular and the architecture is gorgeous. I love the look of the hotel and all the surrounding shops and I would love to go on that bus tour. xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, I’m glad you enjoyed the tour of Bar Harbor and the national park. It truly is a beautiful spot. The trolley ride was great was great up to the top of Cadillac Mountain. We have driven to the top before, but leaving the driving to someone else was terrific. Thank you for your nice comment.

  40. danyandy says:

    love it!! I went to Bar Habor last year to visit a customer. I was lucky enough to spend a few days there. I got to explore and I absolutely fell in love with the place!! Great photos! the hotel looks fab!! :)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Daniela, for your nice compliment. I think everyone falls in love with Bar Harbor…it is a lovely place to visit. The entire island is absolutely beautiful. If you go back to Bar Harbor, I would definitely try to stay at the West Street Hotel…my husband and I thought it was terrific.

  41. Larry says:

    Great shots Karen – I hate we didn’t make it there on our trip last year, but it’s still on the list.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Larry, Thank you for your nice compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. I’m glad to hear Bar Harbor and the park are still on your list. You must let me know if you plan a summer trip up to our area.

  42. flyfishbrat says:

    Oh Karen, my absolute favorite place to vacation. We have stayed at the Bar Harbor Inn and enjoyed every single second of the visit. Taken cruises on the Margaret Todd and everyone has been a delight. Bar Harbor Maine is absolutely my first and most dreamed of vacation place. Everyone should go at least once in their lifetime, but believe me once will not be enough.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Teri, I’m glad that you agree that Bar Harbor is a great place to vacation. It sounds like you have really enjoyed your visits there. Thank you for your nice comment.

  43. I love the harbor view: it looks so peaceful. I can see myself sitting at a table while eating clam chowder and drinking that lovely white wine which appears at the beginning of the post. Great picture Karen (PS I’ve got more figs on my tree, now!!)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rita, Thank you for your nice compliment. The Terrace was a lovely place to enjoy the view of the harbor while sipping a glass of wine (and the clam chowder was good). I’m so glad that you have more figs on your tree…I hope the critter doesn’t get them.

  44. You had me with the first photo Karen, it may be something to do with the glass of dry white wine :)
    and I loved the bar stools – what a clever idea and a lovely place to sit

    • Karen says:

      H Claire, When I’m on vacation and enjoying a lovely view, there will usually be a glass of white wine somewhere nearby. LOL. Don’t you just love the colorful bar stools! Thank you for your comment.

  45. Spectacular! As you know, I have always been drawn to Maine. And since I have only been there once, it is still on my Bucket List–with you as my travel agent. I can’t wait to go back some day.

  46. We didn’t make it as far north as Bar Harbor or Acadia on our pass through Maine. We did spend some time in Camden, which I loved and Maine is definitely on the bucket list to go back to some day…would love to have a little cottage there. Thanks for taking us on a tour…you just made me want to go there even more now, and looks like you had perfect weather at a perfect time to go.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Betsy, I do hope that you get a chance to go to Bar Harbor. If you loved Camden which is wonderful, I know you will love going on to Mount Desert Island to visit the national park, Bar Harbor and the other small villages. We really did have perfect weather. Thank you for your comment.

  47. Joanne says:

    I’ve heard of how gorgeous Maine is but never could have imagined it was THIS beautiful!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Joanne, Everything that you hear about the beauty of Maine really is true. I’m glad I could share my photos with you. Thank you for your comment.

  48. Katerina says:

    I love this colonial style of New England and this hotel looks like the perfect place to rest after a full day exploring around!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Katerina, We did pick a good hotel…very warm and comforting but still with a nautical feel. Loved sitting out on the balcony with a glass of wine after a day of exploring. Thank you for your comment.

  49. kitchenriffs says:

    You’re doing a great job of telling us all of the great places we need to visit in Maine. Maine is one of those places I’ve always wanted to visit, and you’ve really whetted my appetite – almost every time I read one of your posts it moves up my vacation bucket list! Excellent post – thank you.

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, I’m so glad to hear that you have been enjoying my posts about Maine. I know that the state is on the bucket list of a lot of people who travel. I appreciate your nice compliment.

  50. We had our 1st trip Down East as a couple this year! My hubby’s been Down East a zillion years ago! It was like heaven on earth! I can’t wait to return next year and discover and play in a new area! Your photos are stunning!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Mary, for your nice compliment. The state of Maine has such a large coastline that there is always somewhere new to explore. I’m sure your trip was wonderful.

  51. ChgoJohn says:

    Maine’s coast is truly beautiful and the views of Bar Harbor and Acadia Nat’l Park are no exception. Thanks for sharing so many great photos of your trip with us, Karen.

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos…I know there were a lot. I try to show everyone how nice each area of Maine is. If they are planning to trip to Maine, they will have a better idea of where they might like to go. Thank you for your comment.

  52. Thank you Karen for the tour of Bar Harbor! The hotel looks wonderful….we hope to rent a cabin next Summer for a week in Maine. But would love to visit Bar Harbor.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Stacy, I’m glad you enjoyed the tour of Bar Harbor. How great that you are renting a cabin next year. What part of Maine will you be staying in? Wherever it is, I know you will enjoy your visit.

      • I have a couple of rentals I have in mind….We liked the Cape Neddick area, but frankly their isn’t an area I didn’t love….
        This part of the country just speaks to me….

      • Karen says:

        Cape Neddick area is nice as it has a large sand beach and the famous Nubble Point light house. The craggy coastline doesn’t start until a little further up. I think wherever you end up, you will enjoy your week.

  53. cabinet stew says:

    A wonderful post – brought back memories as I have been there several times. Most recently Two October’s ago. It was the last family trip before my father grew very ill and passed away only months later. We went on Columbus Day weekend, Chilly but wonderful – I cherish the memory. http://cabinetstew.com2010/10/11/hello-bar-harbor-maine/
    on a lighter note if you haven’t eaten at Mckay’s on Main Street – do it – it is delicious and oddly they have the best butter I have ever had – I asked and was told they make their own from local cow’s milk!! no wonder!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Carol, Thank you for your nice compliment. I’m glad that you enjoyed the post and that it brought back memories of good times spent with your family. I didn’t eat at Mckay’s but thanks for the recommendation.

  54. cabinet stew says:

    oh and P.S. we full-on stalked Martha’s house/driveway!! LOL no actual sightings! But I met her once at a book signing and she was lovely!

  55. mjskit says:

    I’ve never been to Maine, but you are definitely helping me decide to put it on my places to go! What a gorgeous area you’ve share today. Thanks!

    • Karen says:

      Hi MJ, A summer vacation in Maine is lovely. So many beautiful areas to visit, so much to do and of course all the lobster to eat. I’m glad that you enjoyed the post. Thank you for your comment.

  56. Maine is sooooo far from California, but you’re right, it is a state I’d love to visit. And I always think of Bar Harbor, probably due to the stories of the notables you mentioned! I enjoyed the photos and can easily see why it is deemed such a special place. It is beautiful. I thought of you the other day when I read about a local Lobsterfest…and they’re “importing” Maine lobster. It sort of struck me funny considering the distance those Lobsters would travel, but obviously across the country when people think lobster they think Maine! :-) Debra

    • Karen says:

      Hi Debra, You are right…we are at opposite ends of the country. I think you would enjoy visiting, as it is so different from where you are. “Imported” lobster from Maine…I can see why. The price for lobster has been under $4.00 all summer long. I’ll be doing a lobster post later this week.

  57. Sissi says:

    Karen, thanks to your series of fascinating posts about Maine I almost feel as if I were on holidays… Thanks for making travel for those of us who stay at home this summer.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sissi, I’m glad to know that you enjoyed the posts about Maine. When you can’t travel, it is fun to at least see photos of places you might have heard about. Perhaps someday you will be able to visit. Thank you for your compliment.

  58. Misky says:

    Stunning! I love that bed, too. :D

  59. Bar Harbor (or as we say in Mass – Bah Hahba) is certainly beautiful. It’s been years since we’ve been up there but I still laugh about a little brain burp my husband made when we stopped for gas on our way there. John asked the attendant how far away we were & he told us “oh, about 100 miles”. Having been on the road for a while & not really thinking my husband replied “so about an hour more?” Guy took his cap off, scratched his head & looking doubtful said “weeeell, I guess you could try it”.

  60. Acadia National Park is definitely on my places to visit list now Karen. Beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jed, I think you would really enjoy a visit to Acadia National Park…the natural beauty, the views and so much to do in the park. The rangers have all kinds of free programs going on as well. Thank you for you comment.

  61. Purely.. Kay says:

    Just look at all the beautiful colors in these photos. I especially love the boats. This would definitely be a place I could visit just to relax and unwind. Just appears to be so darn peaceful. Beautiful

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Kay, for your nice compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. If you love boats, you would love this area. There are so many things that you can do by boat and appreciate the beautiful coastline and offshore islands.

  62. My husband and I spend our honey moon there. Your photos and descriptions bring back so many fond memories.

    • Karen says:

      Hi France, Bar Harbor must have been a wonderful place to spend your honeymoon. I’m glad that my photos brought by lovely memories of your special time there.

  63. Well I’ll chime in… Maine is now on my bucket list too! I’ve been only once on a college tour with my son to Bates, Bowdain and the other one near by! I did request a drive to the coast but only had literally 15 minutes to appreciate the beauty.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Wendy, The list of people wanting to visit Maine is growing. Last year we went to a farmer’s market in Brunswick where Bowdain College is. It is a charming little town. I agree with you that 15 minutes isn’t much time to appreciate the beauty of the coast. I do hope you get a chance to spend more time in Maine. Thank you for your comment.

  64. Juliana says:

    Karen, again thank you so much for “taking” me to this vacation…I love all the pictures especially the colorful stools…it is so soothing.
    Have a wonderful week :)

    • Karen says:

      Actually…I am the one to say “thank you” Juliana. I am always appreciative that readers enjoy my posts about my travel experiences. Aren’t the colorful stools so much fun. Have a wonderful week as well.

  65. I used to live in Halifax and I heard about Bar Harbor all the time. Now I know what all the fuss was about. Thanks for making me feel like I was right there with you Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Barb, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post. There has always been a nice connection between the two towns. A few years ago, my husband and I took the ferry from Portland to Nova Scotia for a motorcycle trip around the island. On the return we took the fast catamaran from Halifax to Bar Harbor. It doesn’t run anymore or we would have extended this trip to Halifax…we liked the city a lot. Thank you for your nice comment.

  66. Ruth says:

    Wow, these places are real??? Everything looks like it came out of a picture story book. Very beautiful!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ruth, Maine really does have places that look straight out of a story book. I think all of New England does. I’m so happy that we have so many beautiful places to visit that are just a few hours drive away from where we live. Thank you for your nice comment.

  67. Ok Karen – once again this is great! We did Maine about 5 years ago with our youngest daughter. We began in Kennebunkport and stayed at the Franciscan Guesthouse – a monastery with sparely furnished, but clean and comfortable guest houses – and great breakfast. We mostly enjoyed eating at “The Clam Shack”! Moved on to Surrey and stayed in a B&B – it’s a long story I shan’t go into today but we met a wonderful Russian girl there who we remain friends with today and it was a wonderful location for visiting Camden, Bar Harbor and Acadia. We rented and rode bicycles all around the carriage roads in Acadia, saw sunset from Cadillac Mountain and ate lunch at Jordan Pond House – the PopOvers are delicious! In Camden we took a private day sail and thoroughly enjoyed seeing Maine from the sea! YOU, my friend are blessed to live in such a remarkable area of the U.S. Thanks for bringing back all those wonderful memories!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Linda, for your nice compliment. I’m glad I brought back memories of your trip to Maine. It sounds like you had a wonderful time on your visit. My husband and I love living in New England. We have so many wonderful places to visit within a few hours drive. Within a four hour drive, we can head north and be in Bar Harbor or head south and west and be in New York City.

  68. ladyfi says:

    Your photos of Maine are just stunning!

  69. Oh, Karen, this post was wonderful to read! Maine is definitely on my bucket list (as you know). :) In a way, the landscape reminds me of Scotland but Maine has its own unique beauty and charm. Ah well, hopefully I will have the ability to visit next year…and I am hoping to do a Master’s degree in Massachusetts, not far from lovely ME, at some point in the next few years.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Grace, Thank you for your lovely compliment. I do know how much you love Maine and wish you could live here. Massachusetts is just a hop, skip and a jump from Maine. Well maybe just a little further but only a couple of hours away.

  70. I absolutely love Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. It’s so lovely and charming!

  71. cindy knoke says:

    Loved our time here. So beautiful! Your photos are gorgeous and I love your hotel room! Great post!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice comment. I’m glad you enjoyed the post and photos. Bar Harbor is a wonderful place to visit.

Leave a Reply

