Storybook Bavarian Villages

One of the reasons for staying in the beautiful mountain village of Lermoos, Austria is its’ close proximity to the German border and the Bavarian Alps. After waking to a beautiful sunny day, my husband and I decided that it was the perfect time to drive across the border to visit storybook Bavarian villages less than an hour away. The drive towards the Bavarian  Alps was wonderful…winding past grazing cattle in green pastures that backed up to rugged snow capped alpine peaks.

The Tower Of St. Peter And St. Paul, Mittenwald, Germany

Mittenwald, Germany is one of the loveliest towns in the Bavarian Alps. The colorful town is filled with beautiful frescoed buildings with large overhanging eaves.  There is a small restored stream that runs through the center of town passed wooden water fountains, flower and vegetable gardens.

The Center Of Mittenwald

Flower Gardens And Water Fountains Are Found Throughout The Town Center

What fun to walk down the pedestrian area that winds through the center of town. It is a lively area with plenty of shops, bakeries, outdoor cafes and restaurants.

The Tower Of St. Peter And St. Paul Is The Dominant Feature In Mittenwald

St. Peter and St. Paul church is the dominant feature in town. Next to the church is a statue of Matthias Klotz, a master violin maker, who made Mittenwald famous for its’ stringed instruments that are handmade here.

Statue Of Matthias Klotz, Master Violin Maker

After walking through the town, we chose the Hotel Alpenrose, for lunch.

The Beautiful Hotel Alpenrose

It was a great decision as it appeared that it was very popular with the locals. A mug of locally brewed beer and a glass of wine,  soup and local sausages made a perfect lunch.

A Mug Of Locally Brewed Beer And A Glass Of Wine

Sausages, Sauerkraut And Mashed Potatoes With Buttered Crumbs

After lunch in Mittenwald, we continued on to Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Originally two separate towns, they were joined into one town to host the winter Olympics in 1936. The historic Partenkirchen section is especially lovely with its cobbled streets and frescoed buildings.

Partenkirschen Frescoed Building

Historic Wrought Iron Sign

This is another town where you can sit outside at a cafe and enjoy wonderful views of the Bavarian Alps.

Enjoy An Outdoor Cafe With Views Of The Zugspitze In The Background

The  spire of the Richard Strauss Institute was beautiful against the background of the famous Zugspitze, Germany’s tallest mountain.

The Richard Strauss Institute With The Zugspitze Mountain Looming Large Behind

Twelve miles further north is the pretty alpine village of Oberammergau. The village is known worldwide for its’ Passion Play depicting the last days of Jesus. It has been  performed by the villagers since 1635 every ten years. It is also well known for its many trompe-l’oeil painted buildings. Most of the homes and businesses are painted with religious themes…some covering the entire building. Other frescoes are of familiar fairy tales.

Frescoes From The Passion Play

The Hotel Alte Post

If not decorated with paintings, many of the buildings are decorated with overflowing flower boxes that seem to glow in the sun.

Overflowing Flower Boxes

Wander down the cobblestone sidewalks and look into the windows of the colorful shops. You will soon realize that another thing the village is known for is woodcarving. It is home to the Bavarian Wood Carving School that makes sure that this traditional craft is carried on for years to come. Many of the small shops are filled with intricately carved figures, religious items and wooden toys.

Sun Setting At The End Of A Wonderful Day

Our day trip into the Bavarian Alps was wonderful. We arrived back to Lermoos, Austria just in time to see the sun setting behind the mountains.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

147 Responses to Storybook Bavarian Villages

  1. Gary Lum says:

    Beautiful images Karen. Glorious.

  2. It is so quaint my friend almost feels like you are back in time :)
    Beautiful!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • Karen says:

      Hi Uru, I think you are correct about feeling like you are back in time. It is wonderful that everyone takes such pride in their history and traditions.

  3. Debra Kolkka says:

    How absolutely gorgeous!!! I love this part of Germany. We have friends who live near Erlangen and the area is so beautiful…..I need to go back.

  4. Sue says:

    I LOVED this post-this is all familiar turf to me. I used to sit on the balcony of Haus Meier and sip my Weis beer and look at the mountains in the evening. Gorgeous setting!! I miss it so. Thank you for your lovely photos—it sure stirs up some fine memories!

  5. Larry says:

    Having been to the area a couple of times, I can say you did a magnificent job of capturing it in your shots – I especially like the last one. I could spend a lot of time in Bavaria.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Larry, Thank you for you nice compliment. If I could only travel to one region of Germany, it would be Bavaria. The scenery is wonderful, the people are warm and welcoming and the food is terrific.

  6. Oh my goodness! It looks like a storybook! so lovely.

  7. Truly beautiful surrounds and the trompe l’oeil artwork is breathtaking. I appreciate the maintenance and upkeep to maintain those features, of course it must be partially driven by (tourists and visitors) but it’s lovely to see the national pride they take in their beautiful heritage too.

    Plus those sausages look incredible, you had me at buttered crumbs!!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Alli, I know that an artist like yourself can appreciate the wonderful buildings. Almost every building that you see is in wonderful condition. As you say, the people take so much pride in their heritage. We have seen so many people in traditional dress as well. My husband loved the sausages. He said that the buttered crumbs on the mashed potatoes was just like his German grandmother used to make.

  8. Lea Ann says:

    That photo of the overflowing flower boxes on that hotel is just amazing. Great scenery shots, thanks for taking the time to share your trip. When I see quaint little villages like that, I always wonder what the people who live there think about our American sprawling cities. And yes, I’ll take a plate of that sausage, kraut and potatoes. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lea Ann, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. The flower boxes are incredible everywhere we travel. My husband and I have had the same thoughts about when the people from those picture perfect towns come to our country…it is very different. Everything is so neat and clean here in Germany and Austria. There is no trash on the ground…you even see people wiping down the walls of buildings after a rain.

  9. Norma Chang says:

    Beautiful photos that captured the gorgeous scenery. So glad it was a sunny day to delight in the surroundings, thoroughly enjoyed the walk.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Norma, for your nice compliment. It is so nice to have sun when visiting places that are so pretty. I’m glad that you enjoyed the tour of the Bavarian villages…we had a good visit.

  10. lulu says:

    Yours is certainly a picturesque journey. What images you will carry home with you.

  11. What a beautiful, charming place. A storybook village! Stunning views. And a delicious lunch. I am enjoying your trip :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Carol, I’m glad you are enjoying our trip. These villages definitely look straight out of a storybook. We have eaten a lot of wonderful meals and this lunch was one of them. Thank you for your compliment.

  12. Hi Karen, what a lovely post and beautiful photos. I’m so much enjoying sharing your journey through the blog … I went to this area of Bavaria and Oberammergau when I was a child with my family but haven’t been back since and it’s great to be reminded how lovely it is.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Kay, for your lovely compliment. It is nice to know that you are enjoying the posts about our journey. I’m always happy when I know that I have brought back nice memories…especially when it involves family times shared together.

  13. Like the sausage plate and would like to duplicate it. Where did they put the buttered crumbs?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rosemary, This is one dish that you can certainly duplicate now that you are in Germany. The buttered crumbs topped the mashed potatoes. My husband said it was just the same way his German grandmother prepared them.

  14. Oh, what a wonderful visit you’re having! The weather cleared nicely for this part of the trip!
    Thanks for sharing it all!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Marie, We were so happy that the sun finally came out because this is such a beautiful region to visit. I’m glad you are enjoying following our trip…thank you.

  15. Oh beautiful. We were there just a year ago and you make me want to go back NOW.

  16. ChgoJohn says:

    Such beautiful country! Your description of storybook certainly does apply to these quaint villages. It is wonderful to see areas where the townspeople celebrate their culture and traditions so proudly. This is one beautiful, smile-inducing post, Karen. Thanks for sharing.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you John, for your nice compliment. Storybook is what you think of when traveling in this part of Bavaria. It is wonderful to see people that are so proud of their traditions and culture. I’m so glad that you enjoyed the post.

  17. The very last photo is just breathtakingly beautiful!
    Continue enjoying your vacation, Karen.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Angie, I appreciate your nice compliment. I didn’t know how the sunset photo would come out but it is pretty. We are having a wonderful time, thank you!

  18. I can’t believe how beautiful these towns are….picture perfect especially with the Alps behind. I really must visit this part of the world..one day!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jenny, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice comment. Do plan a visit to this part of Germany if you have a chance. It really is a beautiful part of Bavaria.

  19. You are having just an amazing holiday. I am learning so much about all of these different places and Austria is beautiful. Thanks so much for letting us see your visit through the lens of your camera. I really find it interesting how they have murals on their buildings and that sausage and mustard look killer good. I can’t wait to read your next post. Take care, BAM

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bam, This trip has been wonderful, even more so now that we have had some sunshine. We love traveling to Austria and Germany…especially by car as you don’t have to travel far to find a wonderful place to visit. I’m glad you are enjoying following our adventure. Thank you for your nice comment.

  20. Eva Taylor says:

    Looks like the weather has finally change for the better. My BF is in Lyin and it looks like rain and snow are in their forecast.
    I adore these picturesque little villages without Starbucks and McDonalds around every corner. Very reminiscent of Swiss Villages, I really must get back to Germany, we haven’t been in over 15 years.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eva, The weather changes from day to day but at least I’ve had some sunny photos to share lately. I do think you would enjoy going back to Germany…it really is a lovely country to visit.

  21. These truly are storybook villages. Having travelled in this area in my youth, I can’t think why I never went back. Your posts are just so beautiful and the towns and the food are so appealing. I had better rethink my travel plans!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Victoria, for your lovely compliment. I think you would definitely enjoy returning to this area…stunning scenery, friendly people and good food keep bring us back.

  22. What a wonderful wander I went on today with you! I love those painted buidings, the violin maker.. all of it, I desperately need to get there one day!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Smidge, I’m glad that you enjoyed tagging along on our visit to the Bavarian villages. I know you would enjoy a trip to this area…it is wonderful. Thank you for your nice comment.

  23. spree says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! Germans have a word for this sort of charm…gemütlichkeit … It applies only to the unique charm of Bavaria I think which is unmatched! Thanks for the warming up my own memories of these beautiful villages, Karen. You’ve doing a stellar job of sharing!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you so much Spree, for your very kind words. Bavaria does have a special charm that you don’t see as often in other parts of Germany. I think it is why we return so often. I’m glad that it has brought back your own nice memories of this area.

  24. I love your post about the trip. The photos are so gorgeous. I hope one day soon I can see these places for myself. Just have to save up enough money. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Anna, I’m glad to know that you enjoyed the post. Thank you for your nice compliment. I do hope that you get a chance to visit this lovely area some day in the future.

  25. Mad Dog says:

    What beautiful villages and alps ;-)

  26. Sissi says:

    I really feel as if I had done the trip with you! The villages look so incredibly beautiful and the sausages must have been as unforgettable as the landscapes.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sissi, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post. The lovely little villages were wonderful to visit. The sausages were terrific…a perfect Bavarian lunch.

  27. kitchenriffs says:

    Wow, so pretty. Cool statue of Matthias Klot, and I love that wrought iron sign. And the way some of the buildings are decorated!!! Really neat. Great looking sausage platter. I want some! Thanks for another fun post.

    • Karen says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed the post, John…thank you. This area of Bavaria has so many wonderful things to see and enjoy. The sausage platter made my husband very happy.

  28. A_Boleyn says:

    Story-book villages indeed. So many charming areas and things to see. I imagine the Christmas season is amazing there.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Boleyn, This really is a wonderful area to explore. You are right about Christmas…we have spent two in Germany and Austria and it is a wonderful time to visit. It is like nothing you have ever seen…Christmas as it should be celebrated.

  29. So beautiful, I almost wept. I’m of course talking about the beer.

  30. Viveka says:

    Your photos are so professional …. Love the details in those building – the Hotel Alpenrose – stunningly beautiful. Don’t really know what to say here … you have capture Bavaria so well. The Richard Strauss Institute With The Zugspitze Mountain Looming Large Behind – is my favorite photo.
    I love bratwurst and sauerkraut. – brings me back to my …. German finance days.
    By the way there must be something wrong with our email connection – I answered your email 4 days ago.
    I’m after your address … and full name. Could you email it.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Viveka, for your lovely compliment. I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos of Bavaria. I loved the Richard Strauss building and with the Zugspitze behind…it was just begging to be photographed. There definitely is some kind of problem with the connection between the two of us. I did send you my address…I’ll try to get it to you some other way.

  31. Charles says:

    Those are some views – I should really explore Europe more… haha, I’ve seen so much less than you and I darn well live here!! Love the first picture especially – breathtaking mountains!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charles, You made me laugh with your comment. You do live there and I’m sure I have seen a lot more. We had this conversation last year when I was traveling in Europe. You really do need to explore Europe as it is in your backyard so to speak. At least I can be your travel guide through my photos. Thank you for your nice comment.

  32. starlight says:

    spectacular photos.. i love the building with overflowing flower boxes.. awesome storytelling as if i’m right there walking along with you.. thank you for sharing your beautiful photos.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Elizabeth, for your lovely compliment. I’m happy to know that you felt like you were with me on our Bavarian day trip. Wasn’t the building with the flowers just amazing…I loved it.

  33. Karen what an absolutely charming town and that food is some of our favorite….another wonderful trip for me to put on my list.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Donna, I’m so happy that you enjoyed the post. The Bavarian towns were so quaint and charming…definitely put them on your wish list. Thank you for your comment.

  34. Eha says:

    Have been smiling widely for the last ten minutes of scrolling: you truly have caught the atmosphere of the place. The day was just right to catch wonderful colours as far as the mountain panoramas go and the tourist ‘rush’ looked to be over. Closed my eyes and remembered sitting outside at the Hotel Alte Post last time around . . . awhile now :) !

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Eha, for your lovely compliment. I’m glad that you enjoyed the post and photos and that they brought back good memories of past visits. We enjoyed stopping at the Alte Post for a glass of wine and a mug of beer…the atmosphere was wonderful. I’m so happy that the weather improved for this portion of our trip.

  35. i saw all the bicycles in that one photo and it makes me wonder how wonderful it must be to ride bicycle around that pretty little town

  36. mjskit says:

    The town looks quite interesting, but those mountains behind it look incredible! What jagged and sharp peaks! Another great set of photos! I love that your sharing your trip! Thanks!

    • Karen says:

      Hi MJ, The mountains are a very majestic backdrop to the beautiful little towns in Bavaria and Austria. I’m glad that you are enjoying the photos of our travels . Thank you for your nice comment.

  37. Hotly Spiced says:

    It’s so beautiful, Karen. It looks like it’s straight from a fairy tale. I would love to walk those streets and the meal was so, well, German! xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, The Bavarian towns that we visited are so charming. They do remind you of the fairytales we all grew up with. My husband’s lunch is very typical of what you can order in the stubes in this region of Germany. Thank you for your comment.

  38. It’s impossible to choose a favorite photo. You are so correct to state the villages as “storybook.” They could easily be movie sets they are so charming and appealing, and completely unlike any places I’ve ever visited. They are so colorful, aren’t they? You must easily have thousands of photos!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Debra, I’m glad to know that you enjoyed the photos. You are right about the number of photos…there are so many nice ones that I haven’t included in the posts. The Bavarian villages do look like they are movie sets…so charming. Thank you for your nice comment.

  39. Karista says:

    Absolutely stunning! It does look like scenes right out of a storybook. The sausages looked delicious!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Karista, I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos. This region of Germany really is so quaint and charming. I had a taste of my husband’s sausages and they were delicious.

  40. I am so enjoying our beautiful trip. What magnificent shots Karen, thank you. :-) Mandy

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Mandy, for your nice compliment. I’m glad that you are enjoying following along on our trip. We are visiting some of the loveliest areas of Austria and Germany.

  41. Karen, so you visited Mittenwald and Garmisch Partenkirchen too – these two town are most certainly typical Bavarian fairytale places to visit! I am glad that you are enjoying your trip so much and taking us all along – your wonderful photography really highlights all the wonderful places that you visit! Looking forward to your next stop!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Andrea, I’m glad that you are enjoying following along on our journey. It had been several years since we had visited this section of Bavaria…it is so charming. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  42. lvaletutto says:

    It looks like you’re having a lovely time Karen! I’m so glad to see that the weather has finally cleared up for you :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Laura, We are having a nice time, especially now that the rain has stopped. Sunny days, mountains and quaint towns make a nice combination while traveling.

  43. Ever notice that NOTHING is ever out of place in Austria? Even the wood piles are stacked perfectly even. I just love it. Your pictures make me want to travel again.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Maureen, I totally agree with you about how perfect everything is…not only in Austria but Bavaria as well. You never see trash along the side of the road either, only lush green grass. Not only are the woodpiles stacked neatly but they usually have a design to them also. I’m glad that you enjoyed the post and photos.

  44. Absolutely gorgeous…love these pictures. It makes me want to hop in the car and head to Alpenrose right now. Of course I mean the Alpenrose restaurant in Holland, Michigan. Sigh.

  45. Amanda says:

    Oh my! These pictures look like they came out of a fairy tale! How enchanting!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Amanda, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice comment. I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos. This region of Bavaria truly does look straight out of a fairy tale.

  46. dhphotosite says:

    Lovely historic towns and breathtaking scenery…I would love to tour Europe someday!

    • Karen says:

      Hi David, This area of Germany is so beautiful. I do hope that you will get a chance to visit it someday. I’m sure you would come back with wonderful memories and great photos. Thank you for your comment.

  47. Katerina says:

    I’ve been to Germany and Austria but only to big cities! The view of the Alps is breathtaking and the village very picturesque!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Katerina, We have traveled to the big cities as well but we really enjoy the countryside and small towns. Bavaria does have wonderful scenery and is certainly picturesque. Thank you for your comment.

  48. megtraveling says:

    Absolutely charming, and the mountains are gorgeous!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Meg, I think this region of Germany is probably the most charming with the quaint villages and magnificent mountains. I’m glad you enjoyed the post.

  49. Karen, what a stunning post! I never imagined places like this still existed – the painted buildings are absolutely wonderful. Thanks for such a happy post!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Celia, for your lovely compliment. Isn’t this portion of Bavaria just wonderful…between the mountains and the pretty towns with their beautiful painted buildings. I’m glad that you enjoyed the post.

  50. Looks like a picture perfect day!

  51. I wish we had more of these pedestrian centers in town. That… I will miss. Here’s a simple dish you might try whilst in Germany… Senf Eier. Boiled potatoes, soft hard boiled eggs, a lovely creamy mustard sauce and dill. So simple and yummy.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Wendy, I do love the pedestrian centers…I think they are wonderful. If I see Senf Eier on a menu, I will order it…the dish sounds good. Thank you for the recommendation.

  52. Looks like a magical trip — right from the drive there through to the shops, food and scenery. Is 4 o’clock coffee and cake time a tradition is this part of Germany as well? That was one of the things that I remember vividly about my brief stay in Nuremburg.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Barb, Our day trip to the Bavarian villages was terrific. Our hotels have afternoon coffee and cake on an afternoon dessert buffet so I think it still is a tradition..

  53. What a storybook locale. Is it even possible to take a bad photo? Everywhere you turn is picturesque.

  54. Dear Karen, it looks like you are having a lot of fun and discovering many little pretty villages in the Alps. I like the picture with sausages and mustard…so German/Austrian!!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rita, We are having a terrific time on our travel adventure to Austria and Germany. You are right…sausages and mustard is very traditional in this area. Thank you for your nice comment.

  55. musingmar says:

    I feel like I’ve been to the Bavarian Alps with you! Such beautiful photographs and descriptions that give a sense of being there. I did notice though that the lunch of sausages, potatoes and sauerkraut had an awful lot of sausage on one plate! Was that a single serving?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Marlene, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post and photos of our little day trip. Yes that was one serving of sausages. If you look at the little dish of mustard compared to the size of the sausages, you will see that they were actually small in size. My husband had no trouble eating his lunch. LOL.

  56. Hi Karen! It’s so fun to visit your blog and now I feel like I just traveled to another part of world – even though it’s virtual I had such a wonderful time checking out your photos with your stories. My grandma used to travel Europe and shared so many pictures while I was growing up. Your post brought back some memories with her, too. :) Thanks for sharing!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you so much Nami, for your lovely compliment. I’m glad that you enjoy visiting my blog. It is nice to know that the post brought back fond memories of time spent with your grandma.

  57. Amazing photos! I worked one summer in the Swiss Alps near the border of Austria. Your pictures made me long to be back in these beautiful mountains!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Chris, Thank you for your compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. The mountains in Europe are spectacular no matter which country you visit.

  58. A House and A Garden says:

    Wow. That’s so stunning!

  59. Juliana says:

    Wow Karen, the pictures are great…they are so vivid, that I almost feel that I am there :)
    Thanks for sharing this with us…
    Have a great week ahead :)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Juliana, for your nice compliment. I’m glad that you enjoyed the post and photos. It is nice to know that you are enjoying following our adventure.

  60. Beautiful photos as always. I’ve been trying to find Oberammergau on a map in relation to Obersdorf. My daughter had the opportunity to train at the Obersdorf Olympic Skating facility. She had an incredible experience & I’m kicking myself for not being a chaperon on that trip!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Diane, I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos. Oberammergau is about 10 miles north of Garmisch-Partenkirchen which is just north of Innsbruck. I’m sure you would have had a great time chaperoning your daughter’s skating team. Thank you for your comment.

  61. Susan says:

    Absolutely stunning scenery and architecture! They really do look like buildings out of a storybook.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Susan, I’m glad you enjoyed the post. This really is a lovely region of Bavaria to visit. The charming villages really remind me of something out of a storybook. Thank you for your comment.

  62. Kristy says:

    This looks so idyllic Karen. You guys certainly know how to do Europe. I hope to get back there someday and when I do, I’m going to consult you for tips for sure! I just love these quaint villages. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristy, This area in Bavaria is very idyllic. I would be more than happy to give you some times if you decide to plan a trip to the area. Thank you for your comment.

  63. It’s a different world out there, isn’t it?! Lovely, peaceful and sincere!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sibella, It really is a different. As you say…peaceful and beautiful. We love the Bavarian region of Germany. Thank you for your comment.

  64. Made me long for the days when I lived in southern Bayern Karen, especially seeing the sign for my favorite brewery in the world…Augustiner. Thanks for sharing!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jed, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post and that it brought back memories of your time living in Bayern. My husband has had an Augustiner or two on this trip. Do they make a bad beer in Germany…perhaps but my husband hasn’t come across one yet.

  65. The Bavarian villages are storybrook, aren’t they? I love how they painted the frescoes on the exterior of the buildings, rather than the interior as you’d see in Italy. And I love the flower boxes on the window sills too!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ducky, The painted frescoes made the towns really special and the flower boxes gave such lovely color to the buildings. Thank you for your comment.

  66. Jen says:

    What a gorgeous place! Oh my goodness I could fall in love! Your photography is just beautiful; I feel like I’m travel along with you. Thanks for sharing!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jen, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. This part of Bavaria really is special…I’m glad you enjoyed the post.

  67. The backdrop of mountains is so pretty in all your photos. And, those towns couldn’t be more charming! What a fun day.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Lisa, for your nice comment. I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos. This area of Bavaria is certainly charming and we enjoyed visiting each of villages.

  68. andmorefood says:

    your photos are gorgeous. I am jealous of your travels, and all that beautiful light in your photos!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Sonya, for your very nice compliment. I’m glad that you enjoyed the the photos. Our trip through Austria and Germany was wonderful. We were very lucky with the weather for the last two weeks of our trip because the first week we had mostly rain. Thank you for stopping by.

  69. petit4chocolatier says:

    Karen, absolutely beautiful. This is definitely a fairy tale that I wish I was in :)

    I hope you don’t mind if I reblog your link on my reblog page?

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Judy, for your very nice comment. This area of Germany really is lovely…I hope you get a chance to visit someday. I am flattered that you want to reblog a link on your page…I really do appreciate it.

  70. cabinet stew says:

    wow! breathtaking scenery,charming people and food! I had no idea – this part of Europe is a mystery to me! and the sausage alone would make me happy!

Leave a Reply

