Grilled Shrimp With A Crispy Bacon And Gorgonzola Salad

Mention the word salad when the question comes up, “what’s for dinner“, and you might get a frown or a mumble. At least that is what might happen in our family this time of the year when we are trying to eat lighter. But if the answer is grilled shrimp with a crispy bacon and gorgonzola salad, you will get a smile…especially if they can smell the bacon cooking.

Grilled Shrimp With A Crispy Bacon And Gorgonzola Salad

Grilled Shrimp With A Crispy Bacon And Gorgonzola Salad

My husband and I try to maintain a healthy diet that is well-balanced. When we are traveling or holidays are involved, we both indulge in some foods that we don’t eat that often. Afterwards, we try to eat lighter for a week or two and we are back to where we want to be…weight wise.  Many times when people try to lose a few pounds, they give up flavor along with the calories. It may not be as fast, but it is much easier to eat a smaller portion of something you like along with more vegetables for your evening meal.

This dish is an example of how you can have a satisfying dinner with lots of great flavors. It is not a “diet” meal…it is just not calorie laden as there is no pasta, rice or potatoes served alongside. The shrimp are marinated in a homemade barbecue sauce and grilled. The salad of mixed greens is tossed in a gorgonzola vinaigrette which is then sprinkled with crispy applewood smoked bacon and an additional bit of crumbled cheese.

Grilled Shrimp With A Crispy Bacon and Gorgonzola Salad

This recipe is for two persons, adjust the recipe accordingly.

For this recipe prepare in advance the:

Homemade Barbecue SauceMix together 1 Tbsp. Dijon Mustard, 2 Tbsp. Ketchup, 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce, 1 tsp. hot sweet chili sauce, 1/2 tsp. lemon juice, 1/4 tsp. each of salt, pepper, onion powder, and garlic powder.

Crispy Bacon: cut three slices of thick cut applewood smoked (if available) bacon into 1/2 inch pieces and fry until crisp. Drain on paper towel.

Gorgonzola Vinaigrette: Mince 1 clove of garlic and infuse with 1/4 c. olive oil (either by heating in a microwave safe bowl for 10 to 15 seconds in the microwave or simmer in a pan for 2 to 3 minutes). In a bowl whisk together 1 tsp. Dijon mustard, 2 Tbsp. sherry vinegar, salt and pepper to taste. Slowly whisk in the infused oil and garlic. Add 2 Tbsp. crumbled gorgonzola cheese (or blue cheese of your choice). Mix well, until the cheese is incorporated.

Proceed with the recipe:

4 to 6 jumbo shrimp (8/10 count), per person, peeled and deveined

Pour the barbecue sauce over the shrimp and marinate for 30 minutes. Either in an oiled grill pan or on an outdoor grill, cook the shrimp on each side for 2 to 3 minutes until pink and cooked through.

mixed salad greens                                                                                                                     1/4 c. additional crumbled gorgonzola cheese

Toss salad with the vinaigrette, and plate. Sprinkle the bacon over the top of the salads and top with the additional cheese. Place the grilled shrimp on the side of the salads and serve.

****

This is a very simple recipe to prepare and can be modified easily to your own tastes. It is an indulgent meal…how could you not like a salad with bacon and cheese.  If you are in a part of the world where it is the season for wonderful tasting homegrown tomatoes, do add some to this dish and you will have a great salad version of a BLT.

If you enjoyed this recipe you might like to take a look at:

Arugula Salad With Figs, Prosciutto And Gorgonzola Dolce

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

161 Responses to Grilled Shrimp With A Crispy Bacon And Gorgonzola Salad

  1. Kristy says:

    I had to laugh as I know the salad groan well. Sometimes I even do it and I’m the one that planned the meal. This sounds like a good compromise of health and flavor. I don’t think I’d mind eating this one for dinner at all!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristy, If I ask “would you like a salad to go along the the meal”, I never get an enthusiastic “yes”!!! This salad certainly changed that. A little bacon and cheese can make most anything delicious. Thank you for your comment.

  2. Tandy says:

    If it’s got bacon in it, it has to be amazing :)

  3. This looks so good, I could eat it from breakfast this morning! I would not suspect that this was a lighter dish. I will certainly try it in the future!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Kelli, for your nice compliment. It really is a lighter dish…a gorgonzola vinaigrette instead of a thick mayo based dressing, and only one and a half strips of bacon per serving. Serving the salad with the grilled shrimp, it was a delicious and filling meal.

  4. annemarie1124 says:

    This looks amazing!

  5. kiwidutch says:

    This looks delicious!

  6. Monique says:

    Sounds and looks very good!

  7. I wouldn’t grumble at this. Well my stomach would growl.

  8. Yummy, yummy! Bacon and and blue cheese is one of my favorite combinations. I can only imagine how much better it is with shrimp! Have you ever done the shrimp with a dry rub instead of a marinade?

  9. adinparadise says:

    This sounds really scrumptious, Karen. I’ve copied it for future use. Thanks so much. :) Happy New Year to you.

  10. kbosin says:

    Hey Karen – you’ve tempted me with that title, but there’s no post when you click the link. Can you re-post? Thanks! Hungry!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kathy, I can’t imagine what can be wrong…I’ll see what I can do but it appears that others are seeing the post as I have gotten comments. Let me know what happens as I think you will like this meal.

    • kiwidutch says:

      Kbosin,
      I sometimes find a blank page or an error message when I click on a link too, usually if you wait a while and try again later it works fine. Sometimes it’s even several posts in a row (from different people) so possibly it’s linked to the cache or the server? Keep trying, Karen’s gorgeous salad recipe is worth persevering for :)

      • Karen says:

        Thank you for passing one this solution on to Kathy….I really appreciate it. I was worried that the post hadn’t gone though except that I have so many comments since I posted. I’m glad that you like the salad, Kiwidutch.

  11. Little Sis says:

    Wow. Almost all the bits I’m willing to “cheat” for in one dish. Well done!

  12. Sounds really great, Karen. I’d put bleu cheese on anything, though…so I may be biased!

  13. This recipe caught my eye immediately in my inbox. Then, when I saw it was you posting it, I just knew it would be good. And it is. Just excellent. Simple and delicious-sounding. Thanks, Karen.

  14. Ruth says:

    Yum, yum, yum, Karen! Def need to try this vinagrette for my lunches next week! You know, I am forever trying to convince me dad that healthy food can be delicious and satisfying. Even after I serve him something like this he’ll still insists healthy means boiled chicken breast lol.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ruth, I think you will enjoy the vinaigrette. You can just increase the amounts and put it in a mason jar to use during the week. It is funny about your father…I believe a lot of people think the same thing.

  15. spree says:

    I must surely be weird…I never groan at salad. :) and I know what catches some people’s attention is bacon, but for me it’s that Gorgonzola and those marinated shrimp! Beautiful.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Spree, I don’t think you are weird…I love salad and can eat it everyday. The bacon goes great with the gorgonzola…perfect to keep my husband smiling. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  16. Mad Dog says:

    That looks excellent :-)

  17. dishinwithdidi says:

    Absolutely devine!!! My family believe it or not love salad dinners, just copied the recipe Karen, thank you!!!

  18. What a lovely salad, Karen. I’ll try this when I get home. I’ll need to watch my diet after all the cheese in Switzerland!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kay, I appreciate your compliment. This will be a nice salad to slowly wean you off all the good cheese you have had while traveling. I hope you will enjoy the meal.

  19. Hi Karen, I totally agree with you about not loosing a flavor when loosing weight! Great salad indeed. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Marina, I’m glad you agree with me…you definitely don’t have to give up flavor. I’m happy that you like the salad, it was delicious.

  20. Great sounding and tasting salad. Gotta have some:)

  21. Eva Taylor says:

    This type of lighter eating is not only health smart, but it’s realistic too, Karen. The key is not to overindulge and you’ve been particularly good with the small quantity but flavourful addition of Gorgornzola and bacon; not a particularly healthy cheese or protein, but you’ve limited the quantity to still allow the salad to be satisfying with flavour and textures. I’m not one those those people who turn their nose up for a salad, so I was sold when I read the heading, and this one is a perfect dinner or lunch anytime of the year. Love how huge those shrimps are.
    Did you know that the Canada’s food guide (and the new US Healthy Eating Guide) indicates a healthy portion of protein for an adult is only 75g? That’s less than 3 ounces! I’ve always used 100g which is about 3.5ounces.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eva, Thank you for your nice compliment…I’m glad you liked this meal. I think that people can adapt recipes to be lighter but still delicious. If food is flavorful, they can certainly lose some weight and maintain their ideal weight a lot easier.

  22. Beautiful – we had something very similar for supper last night…we must have been on the same cooking wavelength!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Chica, Out of all the people that I follow, our cooking styles and recipes tend to be alike so much of the time. Even with thousands of miles between us, we often seem to cook dishes along the same lines…often within the same week. Two kindred spirits…I think.

  23. I am sitting here thinking this would be so yummy to have right now! I love finding new salad recipes for this time of year.. the gorgonzola is a big winner for me:) xxx

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Barb, I’m glad you like the recipe. I know it is the middle of winter with freezing temps for both of us. After the indulgences over the holidays (that I would never give up), a salad or two is a good thing.

  24. Larry says:

    I’m always up for a good salad, especially one with bacon and cheese. Siding with the grilled shrimp makes for a great meal and packed full of flavor.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Larry, You are my kind of guy. I was thinking of you when I was grilling on my stove which thankfully has a built-in grill. You can create this dish on your outdoor grill while I’m living surrounded by snow and ice. Bacon, cheese and grilled shrimp…I definitely think that would make you smile.

  25. Gary Lum says:

    Gorgeously delicious combination Karen :-)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you as alway Gary, for your very nice compliment…you have been a supporter of my blog from the beginning. This is a great dish for your incredibly hot weather but still a nice dish for our just above zero weather here in New Hampshire when your are trying to lighten up your meals.

  26. reg45 says:

    Gorgonzola anything is great! Have you ever found Gorgonzola chewing? LOL. I have never been disappointed with any of your recipes Karen. They always look good and taste incredible! Our Christmas Eve tradition here in Mexico is a romantic dinner with escargots in a little butter and garlic and a tich(?) of black sambucca, covered with a light coating of herbed bread crumbs and blue cheese and popped under the broiler. Dinner is a rack of lamb coated with fresh rosemary and grainy mustard served with blue cheese crumbles just as it comes out of the oven. Go Bleu!

    Happy New Year!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Reg, Thank you for your lovely compliment…it is so nice to know that you enjoy my recipes. I would love to have spent a warm Christmas Eve with you sharing your escargots (I love them) and rack of lamb (a favorite). All the best for the new year!

  27. musingmar says:

    This is a wise philosophy, Karen – eating healthily but with portion control and some touches of flavour and flair! A lovely salad.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Marlene, I’m glad that you agree with my thinking…a little bit of something special as far as taste goes makes a dish special…even if it is a salad. It really is all about portion control.

  28. That looks like perfect eating for our hot Sydney weather! :) Hope you’re having a great new year so far, Karen! :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Celia, You have been having terribly hot weather so far this year. Yes…this would be a nice dish to have. Thank you for your compliment and stay cool.

  29. A wonderful combination of flavours Karen

  30. Norma Chang says:

    I am with you, I eat healthy when I am at home so when travelling, partying and holidays are involved, I do indulge, need to have some fun.
    Your salad is so full of flavors. Blue cheese, love it on salads. Give me a small portion of the best, even if it is calorie laden, instead of a large portion of mediocre.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Norma, I know we all try to eat healthy when we can but I’m like you…when I’m traveling or it is a special occasion, I’m going to eat to my hearts content. It doesn’t take very long to get back on track. I’m glad you agree with me, I would rather have a small portion of something great rather than anything that is mediocre…I’d rather leave it on my plate.

  31. This is a perfect meal after all of the over indulgences of the holidays. Thank you!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lori, I do think this is a delicious meal to enjoy after the indulgences of the last couple of months. Healthy but oh so good. Thank you for your nice compliment and visit.

  32. Eha says:

    Absolutely fantastic recipe: love your version of the homemade barbecue sauce and that oomph vinaigrette. Shopping trip on Wednesday: guess what I’ll be having later! Yes, my Black Russians [tomatoes] are superb this year, but have to think about adding – your version is perfect as is and such a fabulous meal when the temperature outside is reaching 42 C ++ :( !

    • Karen says:

      Thank you so much Eha, for your lovely compliment…it is very much appreciated. Little things mean a lot when you are trying to build flavor or as you say…oomph. It is very important to add as much taste as you can while still keeping a dish as healthy as possible. I’m so glad to know that you are having great luck with your Black Russian tomatoes. I have had luck with them and the flavor is terrific. A couple of months and I’ll start seeds on my bathtub again. :)

  33. You had me at bacon… you know how my teenagers are about bacon. They feel like it is one of the main food groups. This is a great low carb meal to satisfy my boys. Take care, BAM

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bam. Oh, yes….bacon seems to be a magic ingredient with the male species. If I mention soup or salad, I don’t get a good response. But just let me go into the kitchen and start cooking bacon as an ingredient in that aforementioned soup or salad and all of the sudden they are very happy. Our husbands say…happy wife, happy life…I say give them bacon. :)

      • I think I am going to invent an alarm clock that emits a bacon smell instead of making an alarm noise. My teenagers always sleep through alarm clocks but if I cook bacon they are up in a flash! Take care, BAM

      • Karen says:

        I think male hormones and bacon must have some kind of a genetic link…like your idea. LOL

  34. That is one delicious looking salad. I bet all those flavors tasted wonderful together.

  35. What a great salad meal! Gorgonzola is a favorite cheese in my house, so this would be a very welcome dish. The grilled shrimp look delicious too.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Lisa, for your nice compliment. This was a delicious meal with lots of taste. I agree with you about gorgonzola…I love it. The grilled shrimp with the barbecue sauce went so well with the salad.

  36. A_Boleyn says:

    Tasty salad .. if I can replace the gorgonzola with another type of cheese. I’m not a fan of the blues.

  37. Great looking salad!! I love the shrimp and gorgonzola. I really need to eat a lot more of them given I gained 10 lbs over the holidays. :o I’ve lost 3 lbs and hopefully will lose the other 7. Then I can get serious about losing the other 15 I really need to lose.

    • Karen says:

      I’m glad you like the salad, Richard. I think that it is only natural that you gain weight during a holiday season that is so much associated with food memories from when we were young. Good for you for losing 3 pounds already…the rest will come off before you know it. A meal like this gives your great taste but doesn’t make you feel deprived.

  38. elizz says:

    looks so delish! got to try out your recipe. :)

  39. I love grilled shrimp, what a delicious salad!

  40. rsmacaalay says:

    I can live without rice or bread with the salad looks like that :)

  41. All of a sudden, summer is here. I want salad now! Delicious Karen, just what the doctor orders this time of year.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you David, for your nice compliment. I’m a salad girl and can eat it in the summer sitting at our picnic table or in the winter, when its snowy. I’m glad you like this one…it is simple but full of flavor.

  42. Sounds fantastic, I’m all about salads right now! And everything is better with bacon :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Chris, I’m glad you like the salad…perfect for when you are wanting to eat a little lighter after all the indulgences during the holidays. Thank you for your compliment.

  43. A really yummy and flavourful salad loaded with good stuff.

  44. Three of my favorite ingredients–shrimp, gorgonzola, and bacon. And luckily, I always have them in the fridge and/or freezer. Thank you for the light dinner options.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mary, I always have the same ingredients as well. I try to keep a well stocked kitchen, especially during our snowy winters.I’m glad you like this idea for a light dinner.

  45. Conor Bofin says:

    Very nice indeed Karen. I am impressed. Good to be eating a little lighter at this time of year.
    Best,
    Conor

  46. megtraveling says:

    I like the idea of enjoying meals while you’re traveling and then eating smaller portions when you get home – very sensible!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Meg, I have to be a little sensible when I’m home because I’m not going to give up all the wonderful food that is available while traveling. You never know if you will get the chance again to experience the foods we come across in other parts of the world.

  47. I love grilled shrimp! And shrimp and bacon are so nice together (scallops and bacon is another dynamite combo). Nice salad — it looks delish. I agree that smaller portions is the way to go when trying to lose weight. For most of us, it’s all about quantity. And it’s a great idea to make a salad like this where you have a distinctive flavor that will satisfy your taste buds, and then load up on veggies.

    • Karen says:

      Hi agree with you, John. Bacon and shrimp, bacon and scallops, bacon and… The strong flavors in this dish give you a feeling that you are having something very indulgent without loading up on calories. I’ll take a small portion of something good every time over a lot of something bland that some people do while trying to lose weight.

  48. Absolutely same page. I allow such indulgence that by the time I’m done, I really won’t even crave the high calorie, sugar laden delicacies of holiday and travel. I’m in that mode now too. All whole foods with loads of flavor and a little honey or maple syrup for the sweet tooth. I never know how long till I’m ready for a decadent cake, cookie or thick slice of sourdough creamed with something delish but I just ride the wave as long as it lasts.
    Happy New Year Karen. Bet you are getting your seed catalog out :-)

    • Karen says:

      I think we are definitely on the same page, Wendy. After a while of eating the goodies that we all enjoy over the holidays, a salad for a lighter meal is much enjoyed. I was just talking about what tomatoes I want to grow this year…it will be time to start seeds before I know it.

  49. Karen, I love everything about this salad — it is so perfect in every way! Wishing you the happiest of New Years!

  50. ChgoJohn says:

    You are so right, Karen, about the tendency to view a loss of flavor as a normal consequence of eating lighter. Your delicious salad is proof of just how wrong that view is, blending some very strong flavors into what must be a very satisfying meal.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you John, for your nice compliment. Great flavor can be created in a lighter meal and that is what will keep you on the straight and narrow until you accomplish your goal. If you eat bland food, you can’t keep at it very long without feeling deprived.

  51. seriously thank you. my husband is just like yours when it comes to salads. this sounds like the perfect compromise. so tasty and light!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Barbara, I think a lot of our husband are the same when it comes to salads. My husband told me he would eat this one anytime I wanted to make it. Hopefully, your husband will think so too. Thank you for your nice comment.

  52. Tessa says:

    What a wonderful combination of flavors! I hope that you had a wonderful New Year!

  53. This salad looks fantastic! Can’t wait to give it a try!

  54. petit4chocolatier says:

    Karen, this recipe looks delicious. I prepare shrimp a lot and serve it with salad. But nothing like this. I am going to try it!!

  55. spicegirlfla says:

    My son is the salad groaner…but as soon as it hits the table, he has a change of heart! I like to eat as you do also, never forgo flavor and good food, just lighten it up a bit! This has everything I love!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Linda…so you have a salad groaner too. :) I sometimes laugh how they complain before it is on the table but there are no complaints when eating them. I’m glad you agree with me about about lightening up but making the food flavorful. This salad was a good one…thank you.

  56. Andrea says:

    Karen, what a wonderful salad creation to start off the new year – the different elements of your salad all sound wonderful on their own but even better the way you combined them. I really enjoy this kind of salad and it would be perfect for a dinner invitation at this time of year. And also enjoy the way an interesting salad with some seafood or grilled meat can be presented on a dinner/lunch plate – it is always very pretty looking.

  57. Carolyn Chan says:

    You sure know how to make a salad deliciously appetizing by adding bacon and Gorgonzola!

  58. You can’t go wrong with shrimp. This is a salad that will please even the salad groaners!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Amy, Taking a few extra ingredients that are loaded with flavor and adding them to a salad makes all the difference in getting someone to enjoy a salad…at least it worked with my husband.

  59. Rosa Mayland says:

    This salad looks incredibly droolworthy! What great flavors.

    Vest wishes for 2013!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  60. Barbara says:

    Karen, we all overdo over the holidays! And oh yes, I’ve heard that salad groan. :)
    But this one…what a delight. Delicious combination of ingredients and we’d love it at my house.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Barbara, I’m learning that I’m not the only one that hears the groans when a salad is mentioned. This meal brought lots of smiles when it was set on the table and tasted. I’m glad you like the dish.

  61. Juliana says:

    What a beautiful and tasty salad Karen…love the combination of shrimps and salad with bacon and gorgonzola…wonderful together.
    Have a great week ahead!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Juliana, for your nice compliment. I’m glad that you like the flavor combination…I that that they worked well. I hope you have a wonderful week as well.

  62. Beth says:

    Even when I’m trying to be careful about what I eat, I still need lots of flavor. It looks like this salad fits the bill!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Beth, I totally agree…food is all about great taste. I think it is even more important when you are watching what you eat. Thank you for your nice comment.

  63. Kathy says:

    This recipe looks like a *keeper*, Karen! My mouth is watering right now. Also, really enjoyed reading about your philosophy of indulging while on trips–then re-setting by healthy eating when at home. As it should be!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kathy, This recipe is a keeper as far as my husband is concerned…I’m glad you think so too. You never know if you will get the opportunity to try something a second time so I enjoy myself and then eat properly when I’m home. I never have any regrets that way. Thank you for your nice comment.

  64. lulu says:

    I have a friend who says everything is better with bacon, and from the looks of your salad that would definitely be true! I didn’t do a lot of overeating during the holidays, but that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t like to drop a few pounds though it is getting harder!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lulu, I think your friend is right, especially if you use some applewood or other specially smoked bacons that are available now. I wish I could say that I didn’t eat my cookies, fruitcake and truffles during the holidays but I did. I’m glad you like the salad…it was really good.

  65. Velva says:

    Anything with crispy bacon is always a good thing. Add cheese and it is doubly good-especailly, a salty, crumbly blue cheese cheese like gorgonzola.

    I always scold my friends when they lose sight of enjoying their food when they are trying to lose a few pounds too.

    Happy New Year.

    Velva

    • Karen says:

      Hi Velva, The combination of bacon and cheese was great. I totally agree…food has to have lots of flavor, especially when you are trying to lose a few pounds. Thank you for your nice compliment and wish. I hope you have a great year as well.

  66. Oh, yum! This is my kind of meal. Light and delicious. I have had trouble keeping my weight even and certainly there has been no hope of losing any but now I am refined sugar and grain-free, it is falling off and I can eat heaps. So win, win.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Suzanne, Thank you for your nice compliment about the salad. I’m so glad that your new way of eating is working so well for you…I have heard a lot of people say the same thing. I don’t think I could give up grain products entirely but do try the limit the amount I have.

  67. Love your salad Karen..the addition of blue cheese is great.
    Ronelle

  68. Its sooo hot in Sydney right now so its the perfect time to start whipping out fresh looking salads like this one! Thank you so much for visiting my blog Karen and Happy New Year! :D

    • Karen says:

      Hi Christine, There has been so much on the BBC about the heat and fires in Australia. I think salads is the way to go to beat the heat…that and a lot of frozen desserts. Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice comment. All the best in the new year.

  69. Colleen says:

    This looks great! I absolutely love bacon and gorgonzola by themselves. Put together? Amazing! Perfect way to add a flavor kick in a healthy meal. And I could use a lot more healthy meals around here especially after the holidays!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Colleen, for your nice compliment. The bacon and gorgonzola were a perfect way to add flavor to this salad. I think we all can use a healthy meal or two after the holidays.

  70. A lovely blend of flavors and it makes me really want some shrimp, looking at your tasty photo!

  71. mjskit says:

    This is definitely a perfect salad for this time of year when we’re trying to lose those pounds from the holidays! Shrimp and bacon – YUM! This is a keeper!

  72. Love the gorgonzola vinaigrette! Healthy, but without losing the flavor punch!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ducky, The vinaigrette gives this salad lots of flavor. It is lighter than a mayo based dressing which is great when you are trying to eat better.

  73. Sissi says:

    “Gorgonzola vinaigrette” sounds like heaven! I love the whole salad and the idea to pair shrimp with gorgonzola is something I would never think about (but now I want to try it of course!).

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sissi, The gorgonzola vinaigrette is delicious…lots of flavor and not as heavy as mayo based dressings. I think you would enjoy the combination of flavors in this salad. Thank you for your compliment.

  74. Susan says:

    This is exactly how my husband and I like to eat during the week. A small protein and a salad or veggies and no carbs at the end of the day. I love the idea of putting the gorgonzola right into the vinaigrette instead of adding it to the salad. Great idea!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Susan, We try to limit carbs when we can. That way when we feel like a dish of pasta, there is no guilt. By using the gorgonzola in the vinaigrette, you don’t need as much. It also makes a much lighter salad than using a mayo based bleu cheese dressing.

  75. cabinet stew says:

    Oh yum!! and I think this could be great with grilled chicken too! (I Love salad but my husband is a “groaner!”)

Leave a Reply

