Thai Green Coconut Curry

The tropical warmth of Florida was still on my mind when I returned to New England and the snow covered ground of our home in New Hampshire. If you are like me, a warming meal from a tropical climate is perfect on a cold night. I enjoy Thai food and one in particular…green coconut curry with its aromas of lemongrass and ginger cooking in sweet coconut milk and its vibrant color reminded me of the lush green tropical gardens I had recently enjoyed .

Green coconut curry is wonderful on a cold night but the nice thing about this meal is that it is also great when the weather is hot and steamy as in Thailand, a country that is famous for its flavorful curries. This dish of tender moist chicken and vegetables cooked in a green coconut sauce has a combination of ingredients that can be found in several dishes that you might have had before. It can easily be adapted to the meats, vegetables and herbs that you have in your kitchen and can be easily changed to become a vegetarian and vegan curry by replacing the chicken with tofu.

Green Vegetable Curry With Chicken

Thai Green Coconut Curry

Green Coconut Curry

Serves two, adjust the recipe accordingly.

  • 1 Tbsp. oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • a two-inch piece of ginger, peeled and grated
  • 1 to 4 Tbsp. of green curry paste (I used 4 Tbsp. or 2 oz.), depending on your taste
  • 1 can of coconut milk (do not shake)
  • 1 Tbsp. fish sauce (soy sauce can be substituted)*
  • 1 tsp. lemongrass paste
  • a three-inch piece of lemongrass, tough outer leaves removed, smashed
  • 3 boneless, skinless chicken thighs, cubed into bite size pieces (tofu can be substituted)*
  • 1 medium potato peeled and cubed (I used yellow)
  • 1/2 c. chopped fresh spinach (puree with a little water) or finely minced
  • 1/2 c. frozen peas
  • 1 green onion (scallion) sliced for garnish
  • wedges of lime to be served alongside

*Substitutes for vegan and vegetarian diets. Also check the ingredient list on different brands of green curry paste or prepare your own.

Heat the oil in a pot, add the chopped onion and cook until translucent. Add the garlic, ginger and curry paste and cook for several minutes. Spoon off the thick coconut cream from the top of the coconut milk and add to the pot, cook several minutes until thick and fragrant. Add the remainder of the coconut milk, fish sauce, the lemongrass paste and the stalk and stir well. Add the chicken and potatoes and cook until done. Stir in the spinach and peas and heat for a couple of minutes. Remove the lemongrass stalk before serving.

To plate, I like to mound some jasmine rice in a bowl and pour the curry over it. Garnish with green onions and serve with a wedge of lime on the side.

****

Each bite of this colorful curry is a mix of exotic and fragrant spices, mixed in a sweet creamy coconut sauce with chicken and vegetables. Green and yellow curries are much milder than red curries but can be made spicier with the addition of a fresh chili if you wish. If you happen to live in an area that has an Asian market, you can make the curry more authentic by making your own curry paste and using galangal, kaffir leaves and Asian spinach. Instead of the spinach, you can use Thai basil or cilantro to give the curry its bright green color. No matter how you prepare this year round dish,  the slightly sweet, salty, and spicy flavors of green coconut curry will lead you back for more.

If you enjoy curries, you might enjoy reading: Thai Red Pork Curry

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

212 Responses to Thai Green Coconut Curry

  1. Karen, the green curry looks so exotic and I bet it’s tasty too.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Angie, This is a very tasty curry. It is flavorful without being as hot as some other curries that I make. Thank you for your compliment.

  2. One of my favourite curries and this looks fabulous, Karen.

  3. Barbara says:

    Backing up a bit Karen….Lovely review of The Pillars Hotel. My parents lived in Ft. Lauderdale, my daughter was born there and I still have a brother and son living there. I live about 1/2 hour north and still consider it home.
    Spicy food and hot weather are a perfect match. Your green coconut curry looks wonderful and the spices are enticing. Love dishes like this, but don’t make them nearly enough.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Barbara, I’m glad that you enjoyed my post about The Pillars Hotel. We have family in Davie, Delray Beach and Vero Beach that we visit but the Pillars is our little romantic getaway. I’m happy that you like the green curry recipe…it really is very flavorful.

  4. Karen Harris says:

    Beautiful colors here. I love curry in any weather, but you are so right, these flavors just brighten a cold winter’s day.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Karen, for your nice compliment. I agree about curries being great anytime of the year but the bright color was a nice reminder that spring will be here soon.

  5. I love curries and it’s one dish I really want to get better at preparing. This looks great!

  6. For The Love Of YUM! I love, love, love Thai Food and my all time fav is Green Coconut Curry!! What a beautiful dish you created! Hope the trip to Florida was fun, loved the post about the Pillars Hotel, looked like such a wonderful place. Now I am hungry!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tin Man, I always enjoy your comments.”The love of yum”…I love it. I’m glad that you enjoyed the post and the one on our stay at The Pillars. It was wonderful to get away from the cold and snow for a little while.

  7. When I lived in Bahrain, I would go with friends once a week to the Thai Club just to eat green curry, usually shrimp. These are just flavors that speak to me in a big way. Nice version.

  8. afracooking says:

    This curry looks increadibly fresh and zingy!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Afra, I’m glad you like the looks of this green curry. The fresh spinach and peas does give it a nice fresh taste. Thank you for your compliment.

  9. Jerry says:

    Looks tasty! One of these days you should try making your own green curry paste for a real treat. I think the hunt for the paste ingredients is almost as fun as cooking it! *smile*

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jerry, Thank you for your nice compliment. When time is of the essence, a commercial curry paste is good but I agree that making a curry paste from scratch is nice. Finding the ingredients can be a challenge sometimes…kind of like a scavenger hunt.

  10. Amy says:

    This looks great! So I have a question for you…what do you do with the rest of the curry paste after you open it? Do you keep it in the fridge or freezer? And how long does it last? Whenever I make curry, I end up wasting the rest because it sits in my fridge forever until i finally throw it out cuz I’m worried it’s gone bad…

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your compliment, Amy. One of our markets has started to carry more Asian products and I have tried several brands. I used the whole container of the curry paste in this recipe so I can’t give you its name. I have used Thai Kitchen products in the past and think they are good. I think if properly stored in glass or plastic in your refrigerator or freezer, you could keep a commercial paste until its “best if used by date” but always check its look and smell.

  11. Mary says:

    This looks delicious & I happen to have everything except the curry paste & lemongrass ingredients! Hmmm, I may give this a try very soon! Thank you!

  12. koritt says:

    Yum! I’m going to have to try making this sometime soon! :)

  13. OK, first this is fantastic. Second, we really are on the same wavelength. Not only did we have the curry in our roundup today, but we had a new curry last night.

  14. Eva Taylor says:

    Thai green curry is one of my ultimate favourite curries; its perfumey aroma just hits my taste buds absolutely perfectly. I’ve made my own green curry paste from an Australian Thia cook book that’s excellent, but I usually have a jar of Thai Kitchen green curry paste in the refrigerator for a quick meal. The combination of fragrant spices with the sweet coconut milk is positively addictive.
    The peas are an interesting addition, I don’t think I’ve ever had it with peas before, but I have to tell you I really love the variation of green.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Eva, for your nice compliment. I agree with you about the fragrance of green curry…it is lovely. I know that peas may not be authentic but here in New England you will find them in some curries. They do contribute to the vibrant color of this dish.

  15. Tandy says:

    This is one of my favourite curries :)

  16. katiepede says:

    I adore any curries with coconut in…… Can I come for tea? :-D

  17. My husband and I are big Thai curry lovers! He likes the yellow one and I like them all! What curry paste do you use, Karen? We have a wonderful Asian market in our neighbourhood and it is well stocked with all their greens…I wish I knew what they all were! I plan to make fresh curry paste one of these days. I love the green colour of your curry, I am sure it tasted as wonderful as it looks.

    Nazneen

    • Karen says:

      Hi Nazneen, I know what you mean about the curry pastes. I stand in the international isle of one of our markets and wonder the same thing. Thai Kitchen was the only one I could get until a few months ago, now I’m experimenting with a few new ones. I don’t have the jar to give you the name of the last one. I’m glad that you like my version and thank you for your nice compliment.

  18. trangquynh says:

    the curry looks stunning Karen, its green color is really intriguing ^^ but what I love the most about this dish is it can be easily turned into a vegan curry, what a great idea ;)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Trang, for your nice compliment. I’m happy to know that you like the fact that this curry can be adapted to vegan very easily as well as its nice green color.

  19. Reg45 says:

    Can we get two orders to go? I’m in Mexico City and freezing at 36 degrees. Come on down!

  20. I have some green curry paste in my cupboard that my daughter gave me I have not yet used. I think this is the perfect recipe for it. Thanks!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Judy, It sounds like my timing was good with this post. I hope you will enjoy the curry. Thank you for your nice comment.

      • Hi Karen, just wanted to let you know I tried your recipe this weekend (combined with Raymund’s) and we really liked it! This is so easy to prepare and delicious leftovers too. Thanks!

      • Karen says:

        Hi Judy, Thank you for letting me know that you made a green curry using my and Raymund’s recipes…that is very nice. I always appreciate when someone takes the time to let me know that they enjoyed one of my recipes. :)

  21. Mad Dog says:

    That looks great and very warming for the icy weather ;-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mad Dog, The green curry is terrific for when it is cold outside. Let’s think spring…it can’t come too soon as it is snowing right now.

  22. This is good year round, I just love curries! The color is stunning Karen. Have a great day!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Paula, I agree with you…I eat curry throughout the year. The vibrant color of this dish definitely adds a bright spot on the table. Have a nice day as well.

  23. There’s something wonderful about Thai red or green curries. Lemongrass, fish sauce and coconut milk are such a great mixture of flavours. I always worry about photographing curry, but it’s the taste that counts.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Roger, I really debated about publishing this recipe as it was so hard to photograph. As you say, it is the taste that counts so I went ahead. I’m sure that you could photography a curry and make it look mouthwatering. Perhaps I’ll get to your part of the world one day and take lessons…that would be so much fun. :)

  24. This looks really good Karen! Green Thai curry is my husband’s favourite type of curry; however, the recipes I’ve been using have not met his standards. I am going to try yours sometime soon!

  25. What gorgeous color in this dish! And I’ll bet the flavor is exquisite. I love curry, but for some reason do very little Thai cooking. This must change! I love the cuisine, just never learned to cook it properly. Sounds like something I should be doing, yes? ;-) Really nice – thanks so much.

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, Thank you for your nice compliment. The flavor and aroma of the Thai green curry is wonderful. The bright color reminds me of the gardens we just left in Florida. You are such a good cook, you will have no problem preparing delicious Thai food.

  26. wok with ray says:

    That green curry looks so flavorful and I can imagine a wonderful umami on every bite. Have a restful Sunday and a great week ahead, Karen! :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ray, I have to agree with you about every bite having umami…it is a flavorful dish. Thank you for your nice compliment and wish.

  27. Nice. Looks delicious.

  28. Lovely post, Karen. Green Thai curry is such a nice dish and yours looks heavenly. I bet it tastes as good as it looked.

  29. Gary Lum says:

    Looks marvelous Karen.

  30. We love green chicken curry, and sometimes we can buy the little pea eggplants that are traditionally used in this dish at the markets. They’re a treat – slightly bitter and chewy. I’ve never seen lemongrass paste though, so I’ll be looking out for that, thanks Karen! :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Celia, I know that little pea eggplants are a traditional ingredient for green curry, unfortunately I haven’t found them in New Hampshire. The lemongrass paste that I use comes in a tube and can be found in the produce section of our market. It is made by Gourmet Garden and I checked and is carried in Sydney markets.

  31. Exotic Thai dish my friend, delicious job :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • Karen says:

      I’m glad that you like the dish, Uru. This is an easy meal to adapt to being vegetarian. Thank you as always, for your nice compliment.

  32. This looks really delicious! I have been using coconut milk recently since one of children has been reacting to dairy products (except for cheese), this sounds like a recipe to try!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Laila, for your very nice compliment. I think this is a very tasty dish that your family would enjoy. What is nice is that it has lots of flavor and you can control the spiciness of the dish.

      • I tried a varied version of your recipe…and it turned out very delicious! Thank you for the inspiration!

      • Karen says:

        Thank you Taila, I do appreciate when someone gets back to me in regards to one of my recipes. I’m happy that you tried a variation of my recipe and liked it. It is nice to know that I gave you inspiration for making a green curry.

  33. Oh I love this dish of Thai green coconut curry and I will make it for my son when he’s home. My family will enjoy this – thanks for sharing & thanks for the nice blog visit today!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Betty, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. I’m glad that you liked the post and the recipe. I hope you will enjoy the curry.

  34. A_Boleyn says:

    Lovely looking dish and I like the idea of using Thai basil in the dish along with the spinach as my home grown one is very spicy. Thanks for the reminder about all those great Thai dishes.

    I haven’t made a green curry in a long time, though I use a canned paste (Maesri). I think I have everything except the lemongrass/paste. I’d probably use a combination of tofu and chicken breast as I used up the last of my thighs for … something which I can’t recall right now. Oh yes, it was Mapo Tofu.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Boleyn, for your nice compliment…I’m glad you like the recipe. I like chicken thighs as they remain moist during cooking but think a combination of tofu and chicken breast would also be good.

  35. Thank you, Karen. I always wanted to know how to make Thai green curry. This seems easy enough and delicious! Fae.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Fae, I’m glad that I could supply you with a recipe for Thai green curry. Believe me, this is such an easy dish to make. I hope you will enjoy it. Thank you so much for your nice compliment.

  36. - I’m nearly sure I’ve just licked my lips!
    – Do love the flavour of lemon grass, and even had a pot of it in my garden. Difficult to grow.
    – Haven’t had any type of curry in an age. Must come up with some ideas.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Johnny, I’m glad that you liked the recipe and photo enough to make you like your lips.
      I agree with you about lemongrass on both counts…I love the flavor and it is difficult to grow.
      I planted one in my garden in Maine, dug it up at the end of the season and it is just surviving in my potting shed until summer.
      Definitely cook yourself a curry.
      And last but not least, thank you for your comment.

  37. Such a lovely dish Karen. Asian curries are one of the ultimate joys when travelling and I’m yet to go to Thailand (but the food inspires me of course!) I have loads of kaffir lime leaves as we have our own tree here (I dearly wish) I could pass on the excess for you & your readers ;)

    I like your idea on substituting the spinach for (various) asian greens which are tricky to find. I’ll have to remember that for my foreign readers who find it difficult to get those herbs elsewhere.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Alli, for your very nice compliment. I visited Thailand when I was young and not yet a foodie…wish I could return and experience all the wonderful dishes now. I wish I was your neighbor and could share your kaffir lime leaves. I’m glad you liked my idea of substituting spinach for the Asian greens.

  38. Eha says:

    This must be one of the most appetizing photos of one of my favourite dishes. And you have taught me something as I have never put potato into my green curry, but shall try! Being somehwt of a purist I have a tendency to find time and make my own curry pastes – for some odd reason I have always bought the green curry ones and some very good brands are on the market. And yes, Gourmet Garden products are available in most of our supermarkets: I don’t think it is ‘quite the real thing’, but oft use it if the original herb is out of season or unavailable or I’m in a hurry! Love this post :) !

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Eha, for your lovely compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the photo…some dishes are very hard to photograph and have them look appetizing. I do appreciate your being a purist…living in a rural area, I am very limited to ingredients. Wish I had access to more ingredients.

  39. hotlyspiced says:

    I just love the colour of this curry and green chicken curry is a favourite of mine. It’s so full of flavour. And it’s a very warming dish on a cold night xx

    • Karen says:

      I’m glad you like my version of green curry, Charlie. It does have a nice vibrant color, doesn’t it. It was the perfect dish to enjoy during the cold, snowy weather we are having right now. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  40. Carolyn Jung says:

    I so want this for dinner tonight. I guess I better get cracking then. No time like now to indulge in a lovely green curry.

  41. I’ve only had red and yellow curry, never green before. Yours look delicious! Now I’ll have to give it a try. Thanks for sharing Karen.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Anne, I think you would enjoy a green curry with its lovely flavors of ginger and lemongrass. I’m glad you like the recipe…thank you.

  42. I love curry (and lemongrass!). This looks wonderful, Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Laura, for your nice compliment. I’m glad you like the recipe. I love lemongrass as well and I have some growing in my potting shed.

  43. I love curry, and this looks so good, Karen. I could easily enjoy it both with chicken or tofu. I like the versatility, since I tend to go back and forth on meat. I’ve made yellow curries, but never gree, and this sounds delicious. It’s interesting to note the “no shaking” the coconut milk! It’s often these little hints that make the difference in an end result, so it’s good to have the direction. I’ll be making this soon!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Debra, I’m glad you like the tip about not shaking the coconut milk if you are using it for a curry. I think you will enjoy the green curry whether you use chicken or tofu…it is very flavorful. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  44. This is one of my favourite dishes! I’ve got some green chillies-I should really make some paste! :D

  45. Amy Tong says:

    I love love love Thai Green Coconut Curry!!! Yours looks fantastic and what a great way to enjoy it on cold winter night and bring back those green tropical garden memories. :)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your nice compliment, Amy. I’m glad to hear that you like green curry as well. It was a nice meal on a cold night.

  46. rsmacaalay says:

    I love this type of curry specially when extra hot.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Raymund, One nice thing about preparing your own curries is that you can make them to your own taste. Thank you for your comment.

  47. Nami | Just One Cookbook says:

    Thai food is one of my top 3 favorite food and your green coconut curry sounds fabulous! Lemongrass flavor is so irresistible. Now I’m really craving for this beautiful green coconut curry!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Nami, I have to agree with you about Thai food being one of my favorite cuisines. I love the aroma and flavor that lemongrass adds to a dish. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  48. Rosa Mayland says:

    A gorgeous curry! I am a big fan of Thai food and this looks really good.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  49. Your fabulous photo is certainly tempting me to rush out and buy the ingredients. Even better that you don’t have to make the curry paste from scratch! I love a quick meal!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jenny, I’m glad you enjoyed the photo and recipe…thank you for your compliment. This really is a very quick and tasty meal.

  50. Quite simply – heaven on a plate!
    Have a lovely week ahead Karen. :-) Mandy xo

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Mandy, for your kind words. I’m glad that you like my recipe for green coconut curry. I hope you have a lovely week as well.

  51. ChgoJohn says:

    You’ve created such a wonderful dish, Karen. Your steps make it accesible, even for someone like myself who rarely cooks anything Thai. Thank you for that.
    Green curries are my favorite, though I’m trying to become “more accepting” of red. It’s a delicate path to walk, I’m afraid. One poorly placed Thai chili and I’ll be back to green curry for another year, at least. :)

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your nice compliment, John. I’m glad that you like my recipe. I find that most Thai dishes are easy to prepare and this is one that anyone should be able to prepare. With your cooking skills, my curry would be a piece of cake. Thai chilies are very hot…when I use them in a recipe, I use them whole so that I can control the heat.

  52. Gourmantine says:

    I love thai green curry, especially because of the lemongrass involved, the scent is splendid!

  53. I adore this curry and I am sure the beautiful colours would do wonders in lifting the winter blues! Great tip too about not shaking the coconut milk :)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Tanya, for your compliment. The warming curry with its vibrate green color is perfect to brighten a winter day. I’m happy to know that you liked the tip about not shaking the coconut milk.

  54. Zirkie says:

    O my word – this sounds wonderful!!

  55. twbarritt says:

    I love the hot and cold contrasts you conjured up of the curry and the snow! I think we are all wishing for a touch of the tropics at this point!

    • Karen says:

      Hi T.W., I’m glad you enjoyed the post. This has been a long, snowy and cold winter and I’m counting the days until spring’s warmth and flowers arrive. Until then, I’ll enjoy the warmth through the food I prepare. :)

  56. I love curry! I can taste the combination of lemon grass and coconut milk right through your picture. We went to a Thai restaurant over the weekend and ordered shrimp curry. Now I’m anxious to try your recipe!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sandra, I’m happy to know that you like my version of green coconut curry. I hope you will enjoy the curry as much as my husband and I did. Thank you for your nice comment.

  57. Thank you for this Karen I LOVE curries :-) and I don’t think I have ever made green curry before I always make red Thai curry or yellow if I am adventurous :-) I must try this, it looks fantastic!

  58. musingmar says:

    I haven’t had a green curry before, but now I’d like to make this!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Marlene, Green curry is one the mildest of Thai curries but is loaded with flavor…and of course you can make it as spicy as you want by adding chilies. I do think you would enjoy it. Thank you for your comment.

  59. Tessa says:

    My favorite Thai dish! I wish I had a bowl of that right now!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tessa, It appears that you are not the only one that loves this Thai dish…we all do it seems. It has so much flavor so I can see why it is a real favorite. Thank you for your nice comment.

  60. spree says:

    Love a good green curry Karen, and you’ve made us a very good one!

  61. Looks absolutely fantastic, Karen! So fresh and flavorful. I love it!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Daisy, I appreciate your lovely compliment. I think this is a nice version of green coconut curry…I’m glad you think so too.

  62. Norma Chang says:

    Your green Thai curry is making me drool. Glad you substituted green peas for the pea eggplant.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Norma, I’m glad that you like my version of Thai green coconut curry. I have to adapt my versions of certain dishes to what is available in our area…pea eggplants which are traditional, aren’t something that my market carries. I think you would like the dish. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  63. petit4chocolatier says:

    Karen, this looks gorgeous! I love the colours! Delicious :)

  64. mjskit says:

    Tonight for supper I was going back and forth between a chicken curry or Japanese beef stirfry. I went with the stirfry but now you have me craving curry! There’s always tomorrow night. This looks so good!

    • Karen says:

      Hi MJ, I think we are on the same wavelength…I made a chicken stir fry tonight. :) I’m glad that I have given you an idea for your next meal. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  65. oh wonderful karen- just wonderful. packed with amazing flavors and the strong curry flavor goes perfect with coconut. I must try

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Jessica, for your kind words. I’m happy to know that you want to give my version of Thai green coconut curry a try. Enjoy.

  66. lvaletutto says:

    I love Thai curry and I like how you made this recipe with ingredients that are easy to find in any grocery store.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Laura, I do try to create dishes that most of us can make…no matter where we live. This was a very tasty curry…I’m glad you like it. Thanks!

  67. The color of this curry is gorgeous. How lucky to get a chance to spend some time in the sun and warmth. We didn’t have snow here in Seattle this year, but the sun rarely shines either. I’m ready for spring for sure!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristi, It was so nice to get away and enjoy the sun and warmth for a few days. I loved the bright green color of the curry…it would be prefect to brighten up a gray day. I know we are all looking forward to spring.

  68. I recently used green curry paste and coconut milk for the first time in a cooking class. The flavor was so exotic and the texture so silky. I have to try using them at home sometime soon. I’ll hang on to this recipe.

  69. Karen, this sound so wonderfully warm and cozy and just perfect for a rainy, chilly night in Nashville.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Teresa, I think the curry is a perfect dish to have when the weather outside is dreary and cold. I hope your weather gets better soon. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  70. Hannah says:

    I adore Thai green curry, Karen, and now my taste buds are tingling. A perfect dish to add some warmth to the day!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Hannah, It appears that Thai green curry is a favorite with so many of us. I agree that it does add some pleasant warmth. Thank you for your comment.

  71. sounds delicious, i wonder if you could pair it with some sort of pasta?

  72. I’ve never really tried Thai food before – mainly due to difficulty finding ingredients but you certainly have a wonderful way of describing this in such an enticing manner.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Diane, I know what you mean…recipes having ingredients that are impossible to find are a challenge. I think if your market has an international aisle, you should be able to find all the ingredients. Once you have a few pantry items, you can create lots of new dishes.

  73. Your green curry is beautifully photographed. I like how you added the coconut cream and then the milk in stages to give a nice creaminess to the curry. It is this time of the year where your body wants spring to be here but the weather is not cooperating so warming your self from the inside out is perfect. take care

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Bam, for your lovely compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the photo. Some dishes can be a real challenge to photograph, especially when you want to eat it before it turns cold. :)

  74. You are the second blogger to return from Florida and to mix up a heart-warming dish to prevent the cold from coming back in:) I love Thai curry and yours looks like something found in the best restaurants. I’ve never been too successful with curries, but would love to try yours! xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Barbara, I think many of us want to escape the snow and cold for a few days…but it was waiting patiently for me to return. I appreciate your lovely compliment about my curry…thank you!

  75. Carolyn Chan says:

    I just love the vibrant colours of your curry !

  76. Joanne says:

    I love a good thai curry but don’t seem to make them at home enough! They really do seem like the best of all flavors. ANd this one sounds particularly delicious!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Joanne, I have to agree with you about all the wonderful flavors in Thai curries. I’m happy to know that you like my version and thank you for your lovely compliment.

  77. Purely.. Kay says:

    I LOVE thai food so I must try this recipe out. Everything just looks amazing and delicious. I wish i could eat this tonight

    • Karen says:

      I agree with you Kay, Thai food has such incredible flavors. I’m glad that you like my version of green coconut curry and hope you will enjoy it. Thank you for your lovely compliment.

  78. teresa says:

    oh yum! i do love a good curry, this looks just delicious!

  79. Susan says:

    I have never made this kind of dish! I feel sadly lacking in my lack of diversity. Something I need to remedy. Judging from the comments, it is something that is well loved.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Susan, I cook different ethnic cuisines because our area is lacking in restaurants of any kind. I have always enjoyed discovering new flavors in food. I think that the Thai green coconut curry would be a good introduction into the wonderful flavors of Thai cooking.

  80. Ruth says:

    Mmmmm, curry. One of my favorite “back pocket” dishes. I’ve been craving all sorts of Thai food since taking one of my bestties to our fave college Thai restaurant over the weekend (it was the only one for YEARS!). She wants me to learn how to make pad woon sen now, so I can teach her lol.

  81. This is one of my favorite Thai dishes. Your version sounds wonderful and it has great eye appeal. I hope you’ve had a great day. Blessings…Mary

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mary, I’m glad that you like my version of green coconut curry…it does have a vibrant color. Thank you for your lovely wish and I hope you have a nice day as well.

  82. Katerina says:

    This is definitely the right food for the right weather! I love curry and coconut! Hang in there spring will come eventually!

    • Karen says:

      I agree with you Katerina…this was perfect for the weather we have been having. Snow yesterday, today and tomorrow. I’m so looking forward to spring. Thank you for your nice comment.

  83. bellini says:

    I am intrigued by the lemongrass paste. This is something I must keep an eye out for.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Valli, The product that I use is made by Gourmet Garden and comes in a clear tube. It is usually sold in the produce department. It is very convenient as I’m sometimes not able to buy fresh lemongrass.

  84. If you fancy a holiday in Australia you could deliver two servings of this pronto. We have this often but I don’t think mine has ever been as beaufiful as yours.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your lovely compliment, Maureen. I wish you lived around the corner instead of halfway around the world. I’m sure you make a wonderful version of this curry.

  85. When I visited in Florida recently, my daughter and I went to a Thai restaurant in Tampa where I ate a delightful green curry dish. Armed with your recipe, now I think I can make it at home. (Hope Mr. Rosemary goes for it!)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rosemary, I had a wonderful meal in a Thai restaurant in Tampa years ago. I don’t remember the name of the restaurant but I remember the meal vividly as I accidentally swallowed a whole Thai bird chili. I hope you and Mr. Rosemary enjoy the curry. Thank you for your comment.

  86. I absolutely love curries, but have never tried making them at home – I always wait until I go to my local thai restaurant instead. =) I need to change that and start making some of them at home – yours looks wonderful!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Amy, Thank you for your visit today and your nice compliment. Curries are so simple to make…I think you will like experimenting with them at home. The nice thing is that you can make them to your exact taste.

  87. We had curry last night! It is so warming on a cold night. I love the pureed spinach here. We add it in whole but that would make a nice change. Totally trying that.

    • Karen says:

      Hi France, With all the cold weather we have been having, we need all the warming food we can get. By pureeing the spinach, I was able to get a nice bright green color. I hope you will enjoy the curry and thank you so much for your comment.

  88. Karen, I could never have enough curry recipes, this sounds wonderful!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Chris, I have to agree with you…curries are delicious and there are so many to try. I’m glad you liked my version of green coconut curry…thank you for your nice compliment.

  89. Yum. Delicious winter warming food.

  90. My kind of food Karen! You know we nearly always have a batch of fresh paste in the freezer, ready and waiting for the moment we say … hmm Green curry tonight? A real favourite, and you are right about the flavours of lemongrass – so subtle so delicate so Thai!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Claire, I do know you enjoy your curries. Lemongrass is such a wonderful ingredient…not only for its taste but the wonderful aroma it gives to the dish you are preparing.

      • Have you ever tried growing it Karen, I’m giving it another go this year

      • Karen says:

        I planted some last year in Maine. When we closed the cottage down at the end of the season, I dug it up and put it in a large pot. It is living in the potting shed until the end of May when we return to Maine for the summer. It is a couple of feet tall but the stalks are thin.

  91. viveka says:

    This is a curry for me … easy, not a lot of ingredients – by the way I found Panko in a supermarket in Gothenburg. This is one for after my mum weekend. Have everything at home accept the lemongrass. Just up my path, thanks Karen – I wish you a great weekend.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Viveka, I’m glad that you like my version of Thai green coconut curry and you are right…not a lot of ingredients. I’m happy to know that you were able to find Panko breadcrumbs. I know you will love the crunch they give to so many dishes. I hope you have a wonderful weekend as well.

      • viveka says:

        Yes, was over the moon when I saw the Panko on the shelve – very expensive – really excited to use it. This curry will happen after the weekend.

        What I like about it is that is basic ingredients – have to get lemongrass, but that shouldn’t be a problem.

  92. megtraveling says:

    I like your point that this is good in the winter as well as when the weather is hot. It sounds like a very versatile dish!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Meg, Absolutely…curries are wonderful no matter the season. Most were created in the hot climates of the world but are also enjoyed in the winter to warm us from the inside out. Thank you for your nice comment.

  93. That is really a different dish with many flavors. It looks exotic too. I am not one for curry or peas, but really it does look good.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Donna, Thank you for your nice comment especially since you don’t care for curries or peas. You might think of this as a suggestion for a flavorful stew with lots of delicious flavors. What is lovely is that you can use this as a guide to create you own dish with flavors that you would enjoy.

  94. Sissi says:

    It seems we are both in a Thai mood these days ;-) Your curry looks fantastic. I have always preferred green curry from the red one, though it looks often less appetising (when it becomes khaki green…). Putting green peas has made yours look just perfect!

    • Karen says:

      You are right, Sissi…we have both been in a curry mood. I added the pureed spinach to brighten up the color of the dish and then added the peas for extra color. I’m glad you like my version.

  95. soonie2 says:

    I love curry! I will definitely be trying this!

  96. Karen, I really like the presentation of your Thai Green Coconut Curry – the striking green color of the curry and the white serving plate – love those two colors (especially in food photography). Your recipe sounds wonderful with many delicious flavors that harmonize so well together – what a terrific dinner to remind you of the “green tropical gardens”! I also wanted to let you know that I enjoy the variety of cuisines in your posts so very much!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Andrea, I am happy that you enjoy the variety of cuisines that influence my cooking and the recipes I create. I think my cooking is varied because of lack of ethnic restaurants where I live. We have to drive at least 20 minutes to even get to a restaurant…then most of them are chains serving just OK food. Thai food is one of our favorites and the green coconut curry turned out to be a colorful and delicious recipe. Thank you for your compliment.

  97. Kathy says:

    This looks really good! I adore curry. Maybe would substitute tofu for the chicken, but love the looks of this recipe. It also is very hard to get lemongrass in our neck of the woods, darn it. I do enjoy the addition of that taste.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kathy, I’m happy that you like the curry recipe. Tofu will work very well in this dish. Try looking for lemongrass paste (I use a product by Gourmet Garden) in your produce department…it seems most markets are carrying it now. You can just use a little more of it in the recipe to replace the lemongrass stalks. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  98. Ali says:

    Thai green curry is another favourite!

  99. This green curry looks so good! Well done!

    daisy

  100. I love Thai curry but I’ve had the worst luck with lemon grass: I seem to get mostly woody, fibrous stems! Recently I found lemon grass paste in a tube at my local grocery store and it has been a welcome substitute for the fresh version. Your curry looks so good, I’m going to have to try the veggie version.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rajini, I keep the same paste as you do in my refrigerator as I can’t always find lemongrass at our market. I hope you enjoy the veggie version.

  101. yinyin says:

    ^ – ^ your green coconut curry looks amazing,Karen ! My mouth is watering out here! I tried a green curry rice with chicken just a couple days ago, hope it may bring an idea for your yummy kitchen ,have a nice day ^ – ^!

  102. I am not a curry fan at all, but I like the look of your dish and I like the idea of being able to substitute the chicken for tofu

Leave a Reply

