Braised Short Ribs With Wild Mushrooms

Braised Short Ribs of Beef  With Wild Mushrooms is a dish you might expect to have in a fancy restaurant but it is a great meal for a lazy weekend evening at home. It is the perfect comfort food to enjoy on one of spring’s final chilly nights or if you live in the southern hemisphere, the cold weather just arriving. The beef short ribs are simmered low and slow in a red wine sauce and finished with wild mushrooms. Serve this fork tender meat to your family over egg noodles, pappardelle, polenta or mashed potatoes for a delicious meal.

Braised Short Ribs With Wild Mushrooms Served Over Egg Noodles

Braised Short Ribs With Wild Mushrooms Served Over Egg Noodles

Short ribs of beef used to be a considered cheap rustic peasant food and were often served for Sunday suppers. They have now been made popular by chefs who like to include this old-fashioned dish on their menus at a high price along with expensive steaks. While not as cheap as they once were, the boneless short ribs that I used in this recipe are still reasonably priced in my market. Hopefully they will be well priced at your meat market, as well.

Like most braised dishes, short ribs benefit from slow cooking in moist heat whether cooked in a dutch oven on top of the stove, in the oven or in a slow cooker. The meat turns into melt in your mouth goodness with a sauce that is so delicious…you will be wiping your plate clean.

Braised Short Ribs With Wild Mushrooms

Recipe serves 4, plan accordingly

Preheat oven to 325 degrees

  • 1 or 2 Tbsp. oil
  • boneless short ribs, approx. 2 per person about 6 inches long by 1 inch thick, cut in half
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp. tomato paste
  • 2 c. red wine
  • 2 c. beef broth
  • 1 c. mushroom broth (made by soaking several pieces of dried porcini mushroom in boiling water, then strained through a coffee filter)
  • 1 carrot, cut in half
  • 4 or 5 cloves of garlic, smashed
  • 2 sprigs of fresh thyme
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 or 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 pkg. wild mushrooms of your choice, sliced

Season the short ribs with salt and pepper on both sides. Heat oil in a large Dutch oven and when hot add the meat. Brown well on all sides then remove to a plate. Add the onions and cook until soft and translucent, then add the tomato paste and cook for 30 seconds. Add the red wine, scraping up all the brown bits and cook until reduced by half. Add the beef and mushroom broths, carrot, garlic, thyme and bay leaves. Return the meat to the pot and when it comes to a simmer, cover with a tight fitting lid and place in the oven. Cook for approximately 2 1/2 to three hours or until tender.

Remove from the oven, set the meat aside and cover to keep warm. Discard the carrot, bay leaves and thyme sprigs. Strain the cooking liquid in a gravy separator and return to the pot and simmer to reduce to sauce like consistency.  In the meantime, melt the butter in a sauté pan. Add the sliced mushroom and cook until brown and tender. Add the mushrooms to the sauce along with the meat and simmer until warm.

****

Although the calendar says spring has officially arrived, we still have patches of snow in the shady spots of our orchard. Days are into the 40′s but nighttime temperatures have been down in the 20′s. The short ribs braised in wine sauce with wild mushrooms was the perfect meal for this kind of weather. I served the tender, succulent meat over buttered noodles sprinkled with some chopped parsley. A glass of the same red wine that I used to cook the short ribs, in my case a Pinot noir, accompanied the meal. I hope you get a chance to prepare the delicious and comforting meal. Enjoy!

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

171 Responses to Braised Short Ribs With Wild Mushrooms

  1. Delicious, Karen, and perfect for the weather here in London at the moment – I got caught in a snow blizzard yesterday!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kay, This has been a crazy spring…I’m looking forward to green grass, daffodil blossoms and spring’s warmth to stay around for awhile. This dish really is nice to have on a cool evening and I’m glad you like it.

  2. This is one beautiful comfort dish. We have had 3 weeks of rain, wind and nasty weather in HK so this would be perfect for this weekend. I am sure it will still be raining….

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bobbie, Thank you for your compliment. Three weeks of rain and nasty weather…that is terrible. Yes, you definitely need a comforting meal for you and your family.

  3. Hotly Spiced says:

    This looks like yummy comfort food. I still can’t believe that in April you are still having snow – your spring is such a long time in coming. Maybe you’ll have a late and extended summer xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, This really is a comforting meal and perfect for our cold nights. Yes, snow is still on the ground in all the shady parts of our orchard. I’ll be glad when it stays above freezing at night and the last of the snow melts. I do hope we have a beautiful summer this year. Thank you for your nice wish and compliment.

  4. This recipe ticks all my boxes. I will be trying this recipe – the egg noodles really appeal too. Its making me wish it was on the menu for tonight!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Maria, I’m happy to know that you like the recipe. It is a nice meal and I did like serving it over the egg noodles. Thank you for your nice compliment and I hope you will enjoy the dish.

  5. cabinet stew says:

    YUM! This is also a dish that I keep wanting to try at home and never seem to get around too! I fear that by the time final semester projects are turned in ( 4-5 weeks from now) it will be 80 degrees out every day and I will no longer be craving comfort food but Ice cream instead! Might have to wait for a rainy early summer day!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Carol, I know you will be happy when your projects are behind you. We still have some cool weather in early May usually, so maybe you will get a chance to have the short ribs.

  6. YUM! I love braised short ribs and these look fantastic!

  7. OOH! I love this!
    Any changes for doing it in a slow cooker?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Marie, I’m glad you like the recipe…thanks! No, I don’t think I would make any changes to the recipe as long as you brown your meat and do the wine reduction before putting everything in the slow cooker. Then I would use the low setting, at least on mine as it cooks hot.

  8. What a wonderfully comforting meal for the cooler night we have at the moment Karen. Winter will sadly soon be here.
    Have a beautiful weekend. :-) Mandy xo

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Mandy, for your nice compliment. You are right, this is a very nice meal to have this time of the year when both the earth’s hemispheres experience some cool temperatures…although you will be getting colder as we start to warm up. Hi hope you have a nice weekend as well.

  9. This is an amazing recipe..I bet they were so tender, falling off the bones. I love the idea of cooking the ribs with mushrooms and will definitely be making this one soon :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tanya, You are right…the meat gets incredibly tender. I think the mushrooms give this dish a depth of flavor and makes for a delicious sauce. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  10. savourytable says:

    Short ribs are one of my favorite cuts of meat to braise. I remember when I first started cooking they were very cheap, but now are quite expensive to buy at my local market. Next time I catch them on sale, this will be on the menu.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Karen, I think short ribs have gone up in price now that the chefs have made them so trendy. I put a package in the freezer while they were at a good price. Hopefully, you will catch them on sale and if so enjoy them. Thank you for your comment as always.

  11. oh yum Karen..i really love short ribs, but i rarely make them…i love the mushrooms and the egg noodles..just looks delish… lovely post..sarah

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sarah, I’m glad you enjoyed the post and recipe and thank you for your compliment. We enjoyed all the rich flavors in this meal and the egg noodles were a nice accompaniment to soak up the delicious sauce.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Elizabeth! This was a delicious meal…probably better than it looks. It is hard to make something brown look good in a recipe although I’m sure you would have no trouble. :)

  12. Lea Ann says:

    This sounds incredible Karen. Slow braised meats have become my favorite thing to cook, when I can find the time. And this looks so inviting over those egg noodles. Thanks for this recipe.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Lea Ann, for your lovely compliment. Slow braised meats develop such a wonderful flavor. The short ribs went so well over the egg noodles, I glad you like the recipe.

  13. Looks delicious! Inspiring me to get short ribs from the butcher very soon! :-)
    Kenley

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Kenley, for your nice compliment. I’m happy that I have inspired you to get short ribs from your butcher…I think you will enjoy this meal.

  14. Chef Emil says:

    well, I left a comment earlier; however, looks as if it has disappeared into cyberland……so I will re-create it. Divine, this looks simply divine! I can just taste the creamy gravey and succulent meat over those wonderful egg noodles. Porcinie, the perfect choice for this meal. I have a bottle of French Pinot Noir in the wine cellar just waiting for this piece of inspiration. Marvelous!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Emil, Actually your first comment did come through and I will eliminate it. I really appreciate you taking the time to write your comment a second time…you are always so complimentarily of my recipes. I think the porcini broth adds a real depth of flavor to the sauce. I also used fresh shitake and oyster mushrooms as well. You bottle of French Pinot Noir will be wonderful with this meal.

  15. sybaritica says:

    That looks absolutely delicious. Funny how everyday ‘peasant’ food becomes premium price fare… rather like lobster sandwiches being what the poor kids used to take to school in New Brunswick back in the day :)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you John, for your nice compliment…I’m glad you like this meal. I agree about how food tends affect prices of what used to be considered “peasant” food. Years ago butchers would give you in a few pork ribs free of charge if they know you were making a meat sauce as a thank you for your business. Times have certainly changed although the boneless short ribs at $3.99 a pound were much cheaper than many cuts of meat when I was at the market.

  16. Monique says:

    It snowed here just this morning!

    Comfort food like this is still de rigueur!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Monique, As pretty as snow is, I know that you have to be tired of it. We still have snow on the ground where it stays shady but hopefully we won’t get anymore. I agree that meals like this will still be on our table until the weather warms up.

  17. lulu says:

    Karen, I am laughing! We must be having the same hankerings for food these days. I just made short ribs only I did them in my multi cooker. They were so tender the meat fell apart and I can assure you there were no leftovers. I know yours were delish!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lulu, Two girls with Texas and Maine ties and we even cook alike. :) This is definitely a meal that has you cleaning your plate.

  18. Mad Dog says:

    Delicious – I often cook these and serve them with mashed celeriac ;-)

  19. Thank looks so delicious! I’ll have to ask the butcher here about that cut.

  20. Bonnie says:

    Mmmmm Karen. I love everything about this. It’s rainy and cold today and this would make a perfect dinner.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bonnie, Braised short ribs are the perfect meal when you want to forget about the cold weather outside. Let’s hope that we both get some nice spring weather shortly. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  21. wok with ray says:

    I love it when meat — ribs in particular is slow cooked because it gives the dish so much flavor. Topping egg noodles with this delicious looking dish is a great idea. Have a good weekend, Karen! :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ray, I have to agree with you about braising bring out the wonderful flavors in meat. I love buttered egg noodles and just don’t use them enough. The short ribs with the delicious sauce was perfect on top of the noodles. Thank you for your compliment and wish. I hope you will have a great weekend as well.

  22. Oh this looks phenomenal. I love meals like this… And I am so happy to hear your snow is melting.

  23. This is up our alley.. All those wonderful juices from the braised rib acting as the sauce…

    Mr. & Mrs. P
    http://www.cristyandmichael.blogspot.com

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cristy and Michael, I’m glad that you like the recipe. The sauce is absolutely delicious…I hope you get a chance to prepare the short ribs. Thank you for your compliment.

  24. Short ribs are wonderful! They have more beefy flavor than most steaks (or other cuts of beef for that matter). This is a perfect way to serve them — this showcases their rich, comforting flavor. Alas, the rest of the world has figured out that short ribs are great, so their price has gone off the charts in my markets. We’re going to see some 60 degree temperatures today! Can’t wait. ;-) Good post — thank you.

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, Don’t you just love the deep rich flavor of short ribs…I can see why chefs all over the world want them on their restaurant menus. I am lucky that the price of boneless short ribs are $3.95 a pound and bone in are $4.95. I bought a couple of packages for the freezer at that price. Our high tomorrow is suppose to be 48…everyday a little more snow is melting. I’m glad that you enjoyed the post John and thank you as always for your nice compliment…it is very much appreciated.

  25. This is certainly a mouth-watering dish! I agree with Charlie, too, definitely comfort food! I didn’t know it was once considered peasant food. I guess I can understand that, but it isn’t something I’d think about today, because you’re right, it appears on some of the best restaurant menus. I don’t eat a lot of beef, but I do sometimes simply because I can’t resist certain dishes. Not too long ago we were at a very expensive restaurant downtown Los Angeles and I chose the short ribs, served with mashed potatoes. I love your recipe, and would particularly like the addition of the wild mushrooms. I’m thinking guests must line up to have dinner at your house, Karen! :-)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Debra, I appreciate you kind words about the meals I prepare. I think the cuts of meat that weren’t tender and those around the bones were not given a lot of thought before other than for soups and stocks. Things have certainly changed now…several restaurants in our area keep short ribs on the menu year round because they are so popular.

  26. This looks utterly delicious and flavoursome. Love braised short ribs.

  27. I’ve had many a dinner prepared “low and slow,” as my New England-born father would say and that type of preparation is one of my favorites. You’ve photographed this beautifully…the beef and the mushrooms looks perfectly done and the little touch of green from the parsley is so pretty.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Allison, New Englanders do cook a lot of dishes low and slow…very comforting during all the cold weather here. Thank you for your nice compliment…I’m glad you liked the photo.

  28. Amy says:

    This looks delicious. Love the yummy egg noodles and those huge chunks of mushroom!! This recipe is right up my alley :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Amy, I’m glad to know that this is your kind of dish. The short ribs with the mushrooms went so well over the buttered egg noodles. Thank you for your compliment.

  29. Looks fantastic, Karen! Spring is late to arrive down here too. But I don’t mind. More time for braising before it gets too warm! Thanks for the recipe!

  30. I love tender short ribs with mushrooms, how delicious!

  31. A_Boleyn says:

    Another great dish … love the beef, egg noodles and wild mushrooms. Though I’d probably whisk a tablespoon or so of flour into the braising liquid to thicken it up into more of a gravy.

  32. Wow, I sure would tuck into that! As for finding boneless short ribs here I don’t think that’s going to be possible. Must look out for them, though. Just in case I haven’t spotted them.

  33. What awesome looking meat! Yum!

  34. Norma Chang says:

    Hope I find some nice short ribs when I go shopping tomorrow. You only paid $3.99 a pound for boneless short ribs? If I saw that at the market I would scoop up all the packages. I pay more than that for the bone-in short ribs.
    We are having real spring-like weather starting today, in the 20′s tonight though (blah) but should see improvement tomorrow night. Hope you are having warmer weather also.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Norma, I hope you are able to find the ribs. Yes, $3.99 for boneless and $4.99 for bone in. I did buy an extra package for the freezer as the meat was beautifully marbled. I think our food prices are good in New Hampshire compared to other parts of the country. It is supposed to get to the high 40′s today but they are saying next week will warm into the 60′s. :)

  35. Eha says:

    Looks like a wonderful recipe. Now I know very little about ribs: again a geographical ‘thing’ methinks, as I have met them but rarely in Australia. But I do have this good butcher! Meanwhile back on the farm [don't laugh too hard!] I am going to tweak your recipe and how! I have some fantastic fresh honeycomb tripe which I adore and usually VERY slowcook in red wine, onions and herbs [the classic a la mode de Caen].. Mmhh: I may just see what I can develop in my ‘test kitchen’ :) !

    • Karen says:

      He Eha, I think if you were able to buy short ribs that you would enjoy this dish. One thing I go know is that my husband would love your tripe.

  36. Kristy says:

    Perfect Karen! I Have added a slow cooking night to our weekly menu to help on the days we’re all so busy. This will be a great addition to the mix. Delicious!!! :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristy, The short ribs would be perfect for you slow cooking night…I think your whole family might enjoy this meal. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  37. I bet your house smelled wonderful while all those ingredients cooked and blended together. It looks delicious!

  38. Tandy says:

    Thankfully they are a cheap cut of meat here as I love using them for comfort dinners in winter :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tandy, It is nice that short ribs are cheap where you live. I always wonder about costs of certain ingredients in other parts of the world.

  39. This looks delicious and perfect for the beautiful Autumn weather we are experiencing in my part of the world.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jennifer, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. This is a time of year when this dish is perfect whether it is cool spring or fall weather depending on where you live.

  40. That looks outstanding Karen! I adore mushrooms of any kind and with short ribs? WOW… I’m literally drooling here. Well done!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Anne, for your kind words…I’m glad you like the recipe. I think the mushrooms give a wonderful earthy flavor to the dish.

  41. This is more than a comfort food, Karen! It is first class meal! My mouth is watering. :P

  42. I’m so smitten with short ribs that I’m determined to make some gorgeous glazed ones this Winter. I like the look of your dish! :D

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lorraine, I think once you have tried short ribs, you are hooked. The have such a deep rich flavor that is missing in other cuts of beef. I’m glad you like the dish…thank you!

  43. I grew up on peasant food and the meltingly succulent pieces of meat and mushrooms smothered in creamy gravy bring tears to my eyes.

    good grief, I typed ears and had to fix it. time for a nana nap.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Maureen, I’m glad that this dish brought back nice memories of foods from your past. Slow braising does create tender and succulent meat…this was delicious. Thank you for your lovely compliment.

  44. Ribs have never looked so enticing my friend, not dry at all :D

    Cheers
    CCU

  45. What a totally delicious idea. I’m sure you read Cooking in Sens, so you will be au fait with the difficulties of obtaining short ribs in France. However, we can get “travers de porc” which, to someone not used to American style short ribs, would probably do the job. Have to test that one out:)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Roger, I’m happy to know that you like the short ribs recipe. I remember when Rosemary prepared the Flanken (short rib) recipe…she wasn’t happy with the particular bred of beef the meat was from. She has wanted Charolais beef because it was better for grilling but for braising it wouldn’t matter. Actually any meat that you would use for pot au feu would work as well. If you use pork, I’d love to know how it worked…delicious I’m sure.

  46. Larry says:

    Sounds very good Karen – wide egg noodles are one of my favorites and I believe I have a pkg of short ribs in the freezer.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Larry, I’m happy you like the recipe…it was a delicious meal. It sounds like you have everything to make this happen. I think you would enjoy it. Thank you as always for your nice compliment.

  47. Oh yes this is a must try….yummy!! Thanks Karen!!

  48. gotasté says:

    Karen, this looks fantastic! I’ve never had short ribs with pasta before.I always find it amazing how rustic peasant food can elevate to a whole new level now. I am glad to be living in this era. :-)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Danny, for your nice compliment. The buttered egg noodles went so well with the short ribs and soaked up the delicious braising liquid. I agree with you…food has come a long way over time.

      • gotasté says:

        Those are buttered egg noodles? I am so ashamed to think they are pasta. Don’t think I’ve seen it here before…is it oriental kind?

      • Karen says:

        The egg noodles are not oriental…maybe just here in the US. They are a short (about 2 inches long), wide pasta with a little bit of a ruffle to it. Pappardelle pasta would be another good choice and many restaurants serve them on top of mashed potatoes.

      • gotasté says:

        Thank you for sharing Karen. I really appreciate it. There is so much to learn :)

  49. Karen, another wonderfully delicious looking recipe that the family would love! It is actually a fantastic idea to add the soaking liquid from the dried mushrooms to the sauce – it gives the mushroom sauce a wonderful depth of flavor that it would otherwise lack. Delicious!
    Have a great weekend!

    • Karen says:

      H Andrea, I’m happy that you liked the recipe…thank you for your lovely compliment. I agree with you about the mushroom broth. It does add lots of flavor to this dish. I hope you have a great week.

  50. The short ribs look delicious! I love how they just fall apart and are so tender in the sauce. Perfect for cold weather, we are still chilly here in CO with snow expected this week. I am enjoying it while I can before the heat sets in….I am not a heat girl.

    Nazneen

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Nazneen, for your nice compliment. You are right…the meat is so tender that it breaks easily with a fork. I’m happy it has stopped snowing here because spring is such a lovely time of the year. I hope you don’t get too much more. I agree with you about the heat…I’m not a hot weather girl either. Luckily, we spend our summers at our little cottage in Maine where it usually doesn’t get too hot.

  51. One of my favorite foods, and the wild mushrooms set it off. The image is just terrific.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Darryl, for your nice compliment. I’m glad you liked the photo. The mushrooms really added to the flavor to this meal.

  52. afracooking says:

    The meat looks wonderfully tender and flavour packed!

  53. Candace says:

    Great day for this! The sun is shining but it’s very cold out there. It looks delicious.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Candace, You are right…it doesn’t feel like spring. The short ribs are perfect in this kind of weather. Thank you for your compliment.

  54. ChgoJohn says:

    Short ribs are such a wonderful meal, Karen, and your recipe seems to do them justice. Too bad that the Food Network “discovered” them several years ago. As you noted, their price certainly has risen but at least not prohibitively so. I’d hate to endure a Winter without my kitchen filled, at least once, with the aroma of short ribs in the oven. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, I agree with you about the great taste of short ribs. They are perfect comfort food for cool weather. Thank you for your nice compliment…I’m glad you like the recipe.

  55. viveka says:

    Looking good as always .. I love short ribs, but I have never thought about having it with mushrooms … but this I have to try. Never heard about a Dutch oven, had to look it up .. and one thing for sure, I don’t have one of those. I will find my way around this dish .. and I will come back to you. This screams at me.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Viveka, for your nice compliment. I think you would like the depth of flavor that mushrooms add to this dish. A dutch oven is just a heavy pot with a tight fitting lid that is used for braising either on the stove top or in the oven. I’m sure you have a pot or casserole dish that will work.

  56. Karen, your short ribs look amazing! Do you buy them from a butcher or at the supermarket? Have you ever been to Blood farm in W. Groton, MA for meats? They have amazing meats!!! I know, the name isn’t too appetizing . . .

    Have a great weekend!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Mary, for your nice compliment…the meal was delicious. I buy most of my meat at the supermarket (Market Basket). I have not been to that area of Massachusetts but if I am ever in the area…I’ll check out the farm.

      • Mary says:

        Hi Karen, it’s a nice day trip, lots of shops, health, antiques etc., and some really nice places to dine, such as Gibbet Hill.

      • Karen says:

        I always appreciate your recommendations for areas that I haven’t been to yet…thank you so much for sharing.

  57. Anonymous says:

    Anything with mushrooms has my vote! Wish I had visited before my grocery run earlier today, I think I just might have gone searching for short ribs :)

  58. Suzanne says:

    Comfort food will soon be needed here but it’s not too cold yet – still in t-shirts and sandals. But that could change at any moment. Great looking dish.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Suzanne, I’m glad you like the recipe. We are a ways away for sandal weather here…hope your warm weather continues for awhile.

  59. twbarritt says:

    These short ribs look delectable, and the photo is lip-smacking good. It’s often so hard to get a good picture of a comfort dish with beef – but I’m ready to take a forkful here!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you T.W., for your nice compliment. I’m glad you like the photo. I agree with you…it is very hard to make a beef dish like this look good in a photo. Brown food isn’t easy. :)

  60. I would be so extremely happy to sit down to this for dinner or to serve this to company or to eat it for leftovers…just scrumptious looking and so earthy.

  61. What a lovely recipe, Karen. The ribs sound delicious and while they are still expensive here, I love to use short ribs to make my stews. They have a flavor and tenderness that is hard to beat. This sounds like a wonderful dish. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mary, I’m happy to know that you like the recipe…thank you. I agree with you about short ribs having such a terrific flavor. At my market, the price is about the same as chuck stew meat. I hope you have a great week.

  62. Carolyn Chan says:

    Thanks Karen for the tips – I do almost the same thing but with pork belly and it works really well but I like your recipe where you strain the cooking liquid and reduce it – would make it much more “sauce-like” than mine turns out.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Carolyn, I bet your pork belly cooked in a similar way is delicious. I think you will like the braising liquid when it is strained and reduced…it does make a nice sauce. Thank you for your comment.

  63. This is could be 20 USD or more dish ina fancy restaurant…
    i save a dry porcini mushroom on my cabinet n find the great gerices wihin your blog….
    btw dried porcnini is cost around 18 USD of 100 gram here

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Dedy, for your nice compliment. You are right about what a restaurant charges for a dish like this. Dried porcini mushrooms are expensive but it only takes a couple of pieces to make the broth and gives the dish so much flavor. Of course, the mushroom broth can be substituted with beef broth.

  64. Sissi says:

    It looks like a wonderful homely meal indeed, but as you say the title could come from an elegant restaurant too! We don’t have wild mushrooms yet this year, but I will remember your wonderful recipe when the time comes!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sissi, Short ribs have become so popular in restaurants here but are easy and much cheaper to enjoy at home. I’m glad you like the recipe…thank you for your nice compliment.

  65. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely looking ribs Karen. Perfect with the mushrooms.
    Best,
    Conor

  66. jlaceda says:

    Oh my gosh, I made braised shorts ribs with Malbec wine once and it was a HIT with the family! I just know that your recipe with wild mushroom is just super fantastic! Got to try this soon…like, really soon! You’ve nailed this classic recipe. Cheers,
    Jen

  67. mjskit says:

    This dish looks delicious and is definitely the perfect dish for a chilly spring evening!

    • Karen says:

      Hi MJ, I’m glad that you like the short ribs. I think they are a nice meal to have during cool weather. Thank you for your compliment.

  68. Adri says:

    This is a glorious send-off to winter. Short ribs were common fare in my home when I was a kid. I can only imagine my parents’ surprise were they to walk into one of today’s upscale restaurants and see them on the menu! What a tempting recipe. Brava!.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Adri, for your nice compliment. I’m glad that you like the recipe. I agree that your parents would be surprise to not only see the short ribs on the menu but how much the restaurants are charging for them. :)

  69. This looks so good I wouldn’t hesitate to eat this dish even when the weather is warm…which it actually is here. The sauce looks so delicious over those big noodles.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Betsy, I have to agree with you that I would make this dish even in warm weather. What is nice is that when the weather is warm the short ribs could be prepared in a slow cooker if you didn’t want to have the oven on.

  70. rsmacaalay says:

    Mushrooms and ribs, Ohh my! I am so drooling now

    • Karen says:

      Hi Raymund, I have to agree with you…the combination of short ribs and mushrooms was delicious. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  71. Gourmantine says:

    What a beautiful and comforting dish Karen. It’s funny how dishes with most humble origins are now finding their way to the top places, but it’s also a great example of what you can do with them.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Gourmantine, for your lovely compliment. Food tends come and go…from old school to molecular, and back to comforting meals our family’s have cooked for generations. I’m happy that you like my recipe for braised short ribs.

  72. I haven’t made short ribs in ages & this recipe looks perfect to me. I love the wild mushrooms in there. Alas, although my bulbs are poking through the ground down here in Massachusetts, we’ve still got plenty of snow patches & a big pile behind the back porch that should be gone…oh I’d say about July. Ah well, at least it gives my dog a cool place to sleep on – she’ll be hugging that patch forever.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Diane, I’m happy to know that you like my recipe for short ribs. Yes, spring is dragging it’s feet arriving in New England. I can’t wait for the last of the snow to melt but until we get its warmth, this is a warming meal.

  73. Purely.. Kay says:

    Karen, you have this amazing way of making me so hungry, that I find myself planning dinner at lunch time lol. And I wouldn’t mind making braised short ribs tonight.. just wish I could leave work and get everything I need to make this.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kay, Even though I make you hungry, I’m glad that you enjoy my posts. I do think you would enjoy making this dish…the flavor is wonderful and the meat is extremely tender. Thank you as always, for your nice compliment.

  74. Misky says:

    Stunning meal. I hope to recreate it when I have a kitchen again.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Misky, I know you are so looking forward to you kitchen project being completed. This would be a nice meal to try out your new oven…I hope you will enjoy the meal as much as we didi. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  75. Sound delicious Karen. Spring hasn’t obeyed the calendar here either although the last few days have been milder.

    • Karen says:

      Hi B, Spring certainly has been slow this year. Hopefully the warmth that we are all looking forward to will be here soon. In the meantime, the short ribs make a nice comforting meal. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  76. This looks like such a delicious comfort meal. I love it!

  77. You have my attention! Hubby and I are soooooo addicted to mushrooms, we grilled some last night for our salad…..soooooo good!!! You recipe looks delicious. We haven’t cooked with short ribs yet, but now I believe we need to change that:-) Hugs, Terra

    • Karen says:

      Hi Terra, I’m happy to know that you liked the recipe. I think mushrooms add flavor to a lot dishes. I hope you get a chance to try the boneless short ribs…they have so much flavor.

  78. I’ve seen a couple of beautiful beef rib recipes of late and one thing it reminds me of (is to get in the kitchen) and get my oven on low for a slow braise. I’m gladly welcoming the cooler, darker evenings and a slow cooked rib with wild mushrooms sounds very autumn welcome-worthy!

  79. Carolyn Jung says:

    A hearty dish that I can never turn down. Love making these because you throw everything in one pot. ;)

  80. Heaven on a plate…period. :-)

Leave a Reply

