A Spring Walk At The Edge Of The Woods

On this quiet spring morning in New England, the sky is cobalt blue and there is not a cloud in the sky. With the warmth of the early morning sun, it seems like the perfect day to head outdoors for a walk at the edge of the woods…why don’t you join me.

Cobalt Blue Sky...The Perfect Day To Leave The House And Go For A Walk

Cobalt Blue Sky…The Perfect Day To Leave The House And Go For A Walk

It will be several weeks before the orchard that surrounds our home will be in full bloom, but there is a quiet beauty still to be found on the property and in the woods and wetlands that edge the orchard. While not as showy as apples blossoms, the moss, trees and stones have a beauty of their own and are worth exploring.

The Rock Garden And Future Home To A Save The Bees Project

The Rock Garden And Future Home To A Save The Bees Project

The first stop on the walk is my rock garden which got its name because it originally was just a huge pile of rocks. With a John Deere tractor and the hard work by a couple of strong men, it became a simple garden for Tiger Lilies. This year there is going to be a change here, thanks to Donna from Gardens Eye View. She is a gardener who lives in central New York and has a lovely blog, please stop by and visit her. She recently gave away packets of seeds to save native bees to a few of her readers and I was one of the lucky winners. Having an orchard and being a gardener, I know the importance of bees in this world. The fragrant herbs and beautiful flowers that will grow from these seeds should attract the honeybees looking for food. Hopefully they will have a little help from an angel watching over them in the garden.

My Garden Angel

My Garden Angel

There is no breeze blowing so lets head over to the pond. Not a ripple on it…it looks like a mirror. Soon the water’s edge will be lined with frogs and then it won’t be so peaceful.

Not A Ripple On The Pond...It Looks Like a Mirror

Not A Ripple On The Pond…It Looks Like a Mirror

Now lets walk beyond the pond to that small brown hill in the background.

An Old Hand Dug Well And The Foundation Of An Early Home

An Old Hand Dug Well And The Foundation Of An Early Home

Our home was built in the 1730’s and for several generations, the property remained within one family and consisted of hundreds of acres of land. Later, sections were given to family members and they built homes next to it. Unfortunately, not all the homes have survived. That hill is the remains of one of those homes that burned down years ago. I’ll show you what passage of time has done to the old stone foundation.

Looking Down Into What Was The Basement...Now Home To Eighty Foot Tall Pines

Looking Down Into What Was The Basement…Now Home To Eighty Foot Tall Pines

I only walk up here in the spring because brambles, small trees and poison ivy make walking hard once the growing season starts. To give you a perspective on the size of what was the basement of the old home, the granite stones are above my head when I climb down in there and the white pines growing in the bottom are at least eighty feet tall.

Crumbling Walls Caused By Winter Freezes And Spring Thaws

Crumbling Walls Caused By Winter Freezes And Spring Thaws

I don’t know how long this foundation will stay in tact, as each year’s freezing and thawing affects the rocks. Add to that, the roots of the trees growing above that push the rocks as they grow.

Roots Of Huge Trees Move The Stone Walls

Roots Of Huge Trees Move The Stone Walls

Before we continue further long let me show you what I found…porcelain pans that somehow have not been completely destroyed by fire, time and winter’s wreath.

Pans Found Among The Crumbling Bricks

Pans Found Among The Crumbling Bricks And Leaves

Let’s head down the hill and into the woods that surround our orchard where the only sound that we will hear is the crunch of dried leaves, the chirping of  birds, perhaps the scampering of small animals, and the trickle of water from melted snow.

Stone walls can be found in the woods all over New England and we will have to climb over one on our property to get where we are going next. Don’t worry though as I know a spot where the stones have tumbled down that will make it easier to continue our walk. Just watch out for the downed trees…I don’t want you to trip.

Tumbling Rock Wall In The Woods

Tumbling Rock Wall In The Woods

Downed trees are a common occurrence in the wetland area of our property as the ground stays soft. As much as I hate to see a beautiful tree come down, it creates more light for new trees to grow. Even in the dappled light, the new trees have a lot to overcome as thousands of years ago, glaciers scattered rocks all over this area. It makes walking a challenge but the area is interesting to see and very peaceful.

Trees Growing Up, Over And Around The Rocks

Trees Growing Up, Over And Around The Rocks

Peaceful Stream In The Dappled Sunlight

Peaceful Stream In The Dappled Sunlight

It is often said that beauty is in the eye of the beholder and I think this area is extremely pretty. Nature has painted some beautiful sights if you take the time to look.

Modern Art...Tree Decorated  By Nature

Modern Art…Tree Decorated By Nature

A Peeling Bark Sculpter By Nature

A Peeling Bark Sculptor By Nature

While most people visiting New England think of viewing the white church steeples that dot the rolling landscape, visiting the lighthouses that dot the seashore and eating lobster and clam chowder, there is more to be discovered just off the beaten track. I hope that if you have the chance to visit New England that you will have the opportunity to find the hidden treasures that nature may be covering up.  It is so easy to find if you take a walk at the edge of the woods.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

216 Responses to A Spring Walk At The Edge Of The Woods

  1. Lovely post and beautiful photos, Karen. Thanks for sharing your spring walk!

  2. Maureen says:

    I’m in love with your property! 1730 was a very long time ago! I would love to visit and take that same walk with you.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Maureen, I love our piece of property too…the orchard, the woods, the view of the mountains. It is hard to believe that our home is almost 300 years old. Hopefully, the next owner will love and care for it like we do.

  3. You defintiely express the beauty that you see through your photos my friend :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  4. How nice it was to join you on your walk, through the wooded area, It’s so lovely to see where other friends like to walk. So much like where I walk, tumbled down ruins of what were once small houses. I look forward to seeing your orchard in full bloom. We have a wild cherry tree in the field which was in full bloom , unfortunately we’ve had rain with strong winds so most of the blossom has been blown off, nature can sometimes be a bit cruel. Thanks Karen for sharing your walk with such lovely photos, loved the peeling bark on the silver birch ( or was it ?)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Barbara, I’m happy that you enjoyed the walk with me. Even though an ocean lies between us, I agree that our walks are be very similar. It seems that we have the same problem with wind and rain just about the time everything is in bloom. You have a good eye, it is a birch tree with the peeling bark.

  5. We’re a little greener down here in DC which is so very welcome as I know the changes up there are for you all. Thanks for the walk Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jed, Spring is definitely welcomed…it was very slow in arriving this year. It was lovely to get out for a walk and I glad you enjoyed following along. DC must be absolutely beautiful this time of the year. :)

  6. savourytable says:

    What a beautiful place to live. I just saw a documentary about the plight of bees . . . very scary. Bravo for your efforts to help these little guys out.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Karen, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos…I do think we live in a beautiful place. I’m happy to be adding the bee garden to our orchard.

  7. Bonnie says:

    I’ve enjoyed our walk this morning. What treasures your property contains. We’ve only begun discovering New England as our younger son now lives there.

    Best,
    Bonnie

  8. What a peaceful, serene place ~ reminds me of our farm where I grew up in Missouri. As a child there were 42 acres to roam and I knew every part of it well. Of course, when I came upon stone walls, fallen trees, or out of place household items, I would imagine and play out the story around them for an entire afternoon. You are right, there is so much in nature displaying artistic flair and wondrous survival as tree and plants grow atop rocks. Beautiful photos, Karen, thank you for taking us on a walk with you today. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Judy, It sounds like we have a lot in common…I used to play in the woods of my parents ranch. Lots of good memories of those fun times. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos…thank you for joining my on my walk.

  9. Monique says:

    Very similar to here:) We are so lucky to have trees streams..greenery..gardens:)

    Pretty walk..Enjoyed it all.

  10. ladyfi says:

    You have an amazing property and a lovely house!

  11. What an absolutely enchanting area you live in! Totally jealous!

  12. I’m going to bookmark this because as i was reading and looking at the pictures I could hear to birds chirping and even the bees who haven’t arrived yet in your garden. That’s the least frazzled and most peaceful I have felt all week long! Thank you.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kelli, I’m so glad that you enjoyed the post and that it was a peaceful moment in your day. Thank you for your lovely compliment.

  13. what a wonderful post. Your home looks so inviting. I can’t wait until we have a little place with a creek and a pond. There is nothing better than owning your own plot of land.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your compliment, Anna…I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I agree with you, I think it is all our dream to own a little piece of land. We were very lucky when we found this property.

  14. What a lovely walk, and your images capture it beautifully. I hope your bee project works. The little critters seem to be threatened these days – probably because of us humans.

  15. Geek Goddess says:

    As a fellow Texan, I’m always in awe of things that are that ‘old’ – 300 years! I need to run off and visit my friend Kitty in NH this summer. Beautiful place.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Naomi, Yes, our home is really old. I think Texas has a lot of homes from the 1800’s but the Alamo is almost as old as our house. :) I hope you get a chance to visit your friend in New Hampshire, I know you will love the area.

  16. A_Boleyn says:

    Living on such a historic and picturesque site is both a joy and a responsibility. Your garden angel reminds me off a cemetery that I visited many years ago in New Orleans while your rock garden brings back memories of the ones my father created many years ago at our property in Tecumseh with a border of sweet alyssum and tulips in the center. One year a wild doe rabbit created a nest underneath the alyssum with a base of fur she’d plucked from her belly and had a litter. We hoped to see the rabbits hopping around afterwards but she ended up moving them to a less busy place.

    Thank you for sharing your walk.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Boleyn, I bought my angel in an antique store in Florida and had her in my garden there. When we moved, she came with us…I love her. I planted baby’s breath around her but it didn’t survive our winter. I’m glad you enjoyed the post…thank you.

  17. I love your save the bees project (well, actually there’s nothing I don’t like about this post)! I will do research into our native plants that are best for attracting bees and plant more of those species in my little gardens this summer. What a unique property you enjoy, so many stories buries in those woods! Those are my favorite kinds of places.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kat, I’m happy that you enjoyed the post and that it has inspired you to add plants to your garden that will attract more bees. :) I appreciate you lovely compliment.

  18. Debra Kolkka says:

    Thank you for a lovely early spring walk. It reminds me a little of some of the areas around Bagni di Lucca. Our spring is a little more advanced, but it is raining again and quite cold.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Debra, Hopefully your weather will warm up again. Our weather was like yours until about a week ago…now the sun is out and I’m loving the warmth. I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the walk.

  19. Hi Karen, being a born & bred New Englander I can truly appreciate this post. One of my favorite things to do is walk in the woods and stumble upon the treasure you posted here.

    When you have a moment check out this post I did a few years ago, I think you’ll enjoy it. Have a lovely week.

    http://oceanbreezesandcountrysneezes.blogspot.com/2010/10/road-not-taken.html

  20. viveka says:

    Karen, you must had some Viking blood in you … because your rock garden look just like an Viking burial – first when I saw the photo I thought that was it was. Don’t mean to offend you now.
    Like the name – angel garden … you have to come back with photos when everything is in full bloom on your grounds. Can see that your Spring is maybe even later than ours. Love your photo of the Bark Sculptor and the stream … thanks for letting me walking with you. Know I said it before, but I will say it again – I just adore your house. Love the yellow shade … honeysuckle. Can’t wait to see those trees in bloom .. will be soon, here it will happen next week. Been really sunny and warm … my post about my spring will be posted on 1th of May.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Viveka, I do know that I have Swedish blood in me…who knows maybe there really is Viking blood flowing in this body. :) I’m hopeful that the newly planned garden will be successful. It has to depend a lot on nature giving it enough rain since we will spend most of the summer in Maine. You have taken me on so many enjoyable walks, I’m glad I could take you on one through the New Hampshire woods.

      • viveka says:

        You are so great with all the greenery … I hope there will be photos of everything when it’s all in bloom.
        Yes, you have told me that you have Swedish blood … that is only good for you *smile – we are in overall very healthy people and we live long.
        I just love your part of US – pity that I haven’t seen more of it.
        Playing with plans to go back to Chicago next year … maybe a combination of New Hampshire and Maine .. can be happen. Plently time on my hands .. it’s the money .. there is less of. *smile

      • Karen says:

        I will definitely try to have photos when it is bloom. I know what you mean about travel…the time is no problem, it is always the money. :)

      • viveka says:

        Looking forward to … next stage of your angel and rock garden. *smile

  21. Marigene says:

    Beautiful photos…makes me homesick for Vermont!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Marigene, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the post and that it brought by memories of your home in Vermont…it is very lovely state as well.

  22. What a wonderful post! How nice of you to share your walk with us. You have a lovely property. Love the rock garden, and it’ll be fun to have plants that attract more bees. Really fun read — thanks so much.

  23. Beautiful walk that I thoroughly enjoyed. Wonderful wild look to the place. We have those crazy noisy frogs in the pond next to the house right now. They’re so small yet so loud.

  24. Thank you for sharing your walk with your readers, Karen. Spring walks are just lovely, aren’t they? I had a peaceful walk this morning too, past a lake with two magnificent swans gliding on it. It made me wish I had my camera with me to capture the beauty!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Grace, Thank you for your lovely compliment. I know how much you enjoy my posts about our cottage in Maine…it is in such a beautiful spot. Our New Hampshire home is very different but lovely…and yes, peaceful. I have never seen a swan in flight, that must be something to see.

  25. I really enjoyed my walk with you today, Karen…I truly felt like I was there with you! What a wonderful piece of property you have there. And I love your idea to make a rock garden into a bee garden. That will be so fun and fulfilling to see it come to fruition and attract the bees. Happy Sunday!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Betsy, for your lovely compliment…I’m glad you enjoyed the walk with me. Bees are very important to our world and hopefully this garden will grow to keep bees in our area.

  26. Amy says:

    Beautiful. Love the history that surrounds you! So neat :)

  27. Kathy says:

    Can’t believe how beautifully spring-like it looks in your neck of the woods, Karen. Really enjoyed looking at your pictures. Also, simply cannot imagine living in a house that was built first in the 1730’s. Just had to scroll up to look at your post again to see if I’d read it wrong. Amazing!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kathy, It took a long time for spring this year but at last it is here to stay. I glad that you enjoyed the photos and yes, our house was built in the 1730’s. You can just imagine all that has happened within its walls.

  28. I see spring is sprouting!

  29. lolarugula says:

    What a beautiful tour Karen! I think it’s really neat that you know so much history of the land around you. I’m fascinated by the old foundation and the ceramic pans and such…too cool. One of the things I loved about living in Connecticut for many years was the appreciation of history that New England seems to have. I really enjoyed this post and your photos are fantastic!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Lesley, for your nice compliment. I’m glad that you enjoyed the post and photos. I agree with you about people appreciating the history that is found here in New England.

  30. Amy says:

    Thank you for taking us along! Lovely photos of nature.

  31. I love the idea of having a bee garden – you will have to post the pictures once it blooms! Your angel is beautiful – I have been looking for one that is just right – like yours. What a beautiful piece of property you have. The foundation is kind of neat to wonder about all of the memories that took place in the house that once stood there.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Becki, I do hope the bee garden thrives and if so, there will definitely be photos. My angel is a beauty, I found her at a friends antique shop when we lived in Florida. Thank you for your nice compliment…I am happy you found this post about our home interesting.

  32. Of all the images in my mind, these are NOT what I imagined anywhere in New England to look like!!! This looks more like my neck of the woods with all its literal WOODS and streams and nature. Gorgeous!!! You took some EXCELLENT photos of nature!!!!

    Your house is pretty…I like the color and love that you have the contrasting door. We’re currently re-painting our home to a traditional white with black shutters and welcoming red door. I’m excited to see it to fruition! I’ve always dreamed of living in a Colonial-style house in those colors! My dream is coming true little by little!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Alycia, for your nice compliment. I’m glad that I could show you a little of what New England looks like. Now that all the snow has melted, I’ll be doing more posts about New Hampshire and Maine, where our summer cottage is. I know what you meal about a colonial style home…they do have a welcoming look about them.

  33. Sue says:

    Oh, I’m so envious of your wetlands area. I imagine you get to see many birds and animals. You need a bench there—-It’s just lovely. I’m glad you shared your walk with us!
    We are finally having a bit of warmth. I’ve been outside ALL day the past two days–it feels so good just to be out working again.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sue, I’m glad that you enjoyed the walk. The wetland area is beautiful but a little later on the bugs will be terrible in there. Speaking of envious…you have some of the most beautiful gardens that I know of. I go back to your old posts all the time for inspiration. I know you must be working hard but it is wonderful to be out and enjoying the warmth.

  34. I loved walking with you on your property…you have some interesting and beautiful corners. It must be fun to see the woods change through the seasons.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jenny, I’m happy that you enjoyed the walk. You are right, the property looks so different during each of the seasons…each lovely in their own way.

  35. Karen, how can you ever bring yourself to leave, even for a holiday? It’s absolutely glorious – and your house was standing more than fifty years before white settlement in Australia…

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Celia, for your lovely compliment. I’m so happy that you enjoyed the post. We are truly blessed to have this beautiful piece of property. I do feel bad when we leave it but it is always nice to come back to. It really is amazing when you think of all the history this house has seen…it was built before the American Revolutionary War. It is what makes New England so interesting.

  36. hotlyspiced says:

    I would love the chance to come to New England! Your home is so beautiful and what a great picture. It certainly is lovely to see the snow has finally melted xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, It was a long snowy winter and I can’t tell you how I am enjoying the spring warmth. I do hope that you get the opportunity to visit New England someday, it certainly is a beautiful part of the United States. Thank you for your lovely compliment about our home.

  37. I loved your garden tour. It is a beautiful property. I like your mini “Stonehenge”. Many types of bees will enjoy the garden.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Donna, I’m happy that you enjoyed the walk. I know your love of nature so your comment is very much appreciated. Stonehenge…I guess it might look a little like that. :)

  38. Monet says:

    Oh my goodness, Karen, what a joy this was to read! I loved getting to journey with you…through this place full of natural and historical beauty. Thank you for sharing!

  39. Where you live is enchanting! I so love the pond and the woods beyond. I suppose growing up surrounded by amazing nature, and the largest group of mountains in N. Ireland, I’ve always believed nature to be so important. In a sense it’s almost as if it gives me some sort of scale to value. Wonderful post!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Johnny, for your lovely compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the post…the pond is especially pretty. It sounds as though you grew up in a beautiful place.

  40. Eha says:

    Well, I have quickstepped thru’ your garden and have already made a date with myself for tonight to go back, walk slowly and enjoy every step thoroughly :) ! Thank you for the opportunity . . . methinks my favourite stop is somewhere along that beautiful pond – are those birch trees alongside; love those so!!

  41. Mama Rachael says:

    Wow, some gorgeous property. Yeah, I live in an area where things aren’t all that old — people made things at least, so its fun to see places that are that old. Hope that bee garden does well, I love hearing the bees buzz around, and the butterflies and hummingbirds as they feast on the nectar. I have images of setting apart a bit of yard to grow a wildflower meadow. Someday!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rachael, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the outing around our home in New Hampshire.

  42. lulu says:

    I know you enjoy your time in Maine, but you have a very special beauty surrounding you in New Hampshire, too. You are a lucky girl, my dear.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Linda, I have to agree with you that I am a very lucky girl. Our home in New Hampshire is wonderful and full of history. Our little cottage on the lake in Maine is very different…although both have lovely outdoor settings. For that I’m very thankful.

  43. Tandy says:

    What a wonderful walk. I love the rock garden :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tandy, I’m glad that you enjoyed the walk. Hopefully, I’ll have more photos of the rock garden to share if the seeds I’m planting for the bees grow successfully.

  44. I am always up for a walk through the woods. This had to have been a lovely aftenoon, the photos are so enjoyable.

  45. The crumbling walls and the rock garden are just beautiful. I would definitely be one to enjoy the walks in the woods looking for evidence of time past. I am sure the orchard and expected bees will be a welcome combination! It’s really nice to see spring has come to New England, Karen. And by the way, I made the pasta with saffron and cauliflower the other day and it was awesome! :-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Debra, Yes, spring has finally arrived and is here to stay. :) I’m glad that you enjoyed following along on my walk. I’m happy that you enjoyed the Sicilian pasta dish as much as my husband and I do…thank you for letting me know.

  46. mjskit says:

    What a gorgeous morning stroll! Thanks for letting me join you!

  47. Suzanne says:

    What a wonderful journey you took us on! I am coming to visit you one day. I love the sound of that bee garden – I have seen a documentary about a group in England who are getting the various councils to grow wild seed for the bees in public areas. It looked spectacular when in bloom. Whenever I see a group of pine trees, I always think of that old Lorne Greene song, “In the Pines,” and I want to burst into song.
    You have just a beautiful property.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Suzanne, I’m glad that you enjoyed following along on my walk…we do have a lovely piece of property. I believe that you would love visiting New England as it is a beautiful section of our country.

  48. Karen, hope that you are feeling better – I can see that you took breathtaking pictures of your property, simply amazing. I really enjoyed your post so much on this sunny Monday morning!
    Have a wonderful week!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Andrea, Thank you for your wish, my hand is slowing getting better thanks to one handed typing. I can now appreciate when my husband types a letter with the hunt and peck method. :) I’m happy that you enjoyed going on a walk with me and that you enjoyed the photos.

  49. Lovely post and photos,Karen. Thanks for sharing your walk. It was delightful. :)

  50. What a lovely walk Karen! The rock walls are especially beautiful to me. I love the roundness of those rocks. There is an abundance of beauty all around us in nature. Thanks for sharing yours! Dana

    • Karen says:

      I’m happy that you enjoyed the walk, Dana. The rock walls are so much a part of the history of New England…they really are beautiful.

  51. Lea Ann says:

    Nice photos and thanks for taking us along on your walk. I would sit by that stream all day long.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Lea Ann, for your nice compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. I enjoy the sound of the stream as it passes over the rocks…it is so pleasant.

  52. 1730’s – what a wonderful history your house has. Have you researched the lives of those who have lived in the house?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Maria, I’m so happy that you enjoyed learning a little about our home in New Hampshire. I know all the family names who have owned the house. The second family passed the house down for over a hundred years within their family. It also was a very full house as the second owners had eleven children. Hopefully the house was filled with many happy times.

  53. ChgoJohn says:

    Following so much snow, Karen, any green must be such a welcome sight. This was a wonderful walk. Thanks for taking us along.

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, You are right…I am so enjoying looking out and seeing some green. The orchard will probably start blooming in the next couple of weeks as the weather is nice and warm. Oh happy days!

  54. This reminds me that I haven’t taken a walk in a long while…Beautiful wood photos, Karen.

  55. Karen, a rambling walk is just the best thing for body and mind is it not? If we all took more walks we would probably need less medical care for both body and mind!
    Your place is so lovely and soothing just to look at the photos. Enjoy all your moments there.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Teresa, I totally agree with you about a walk being good for not only the body but the mind and spirit as well. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos.

  56. Velva says:

    What a beautiful spring walk. I can imagine with a really good cup of coffee in my hand strolling in the early morning hours would be breath taking. Thanks for sharing your walk with us.
    Velva

  57. Wow, what a beautiful and peaceful place. Thanks for the great pictures.

  58. Awesome photos!!!! Is that first pic your house!! Gorgeous!!!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Cristy, for your nice compliment. I’m happy you enjoyed the photos. Yes, the first photo is our home in New Hampshire…I’m glad you like it.

  59. Hannah says:

    You’ve made me quite homesick, Karen! I grew up in the woods in Massachusetts and have such fond memories of exploring. Thank you for sharing your beautiful walk. I could hear the leaves crunching!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Hannah, I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the post and that it brought back good memories of your time growing up in Massachusetts.

  60. You do live in a beautiful part of the world. New England never fails to enchant.

  61. Kristy says:

    What a lovely walk for my mid-day pleasure Karen. Thank you. I think it is just so beautiful in your woods and what a treasure to have old homes and even discover old pans! My kids would be in heaven. There’s so much history surrounding your home. It’s truly a treasure.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristy, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post. I had to smile thinking about Miss A and Mr. N…they would be in heaven here. :) Every child that has come to the orchard to pick apples has had so much fun.

  62. Juliana says:

    Beautiful property Karen…it is sure a nice walk through the woods, and as always, I love the photos.
    Have a lovely week :)

  63. You’re living in a dream land my friend,
    lucky you…
    if i were you, i’ll set my food plate on that beauty and silent ambience captured it over and oer again ….

  64. wok with ray says:

    Old houses are always the best (my opinion). Best materials, craftsmanship, and pride. That is a beautiful serene place and really perfect for a walk. Have a lovely week, Karen! :)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Ray, for your nice compliment…I’m glad that you enjoyed the post. You are right…the craftsmanship in our home is one of the reasons it has withstood the harsh winters, and summer storms for almost three hundred years.

  65. What a beautiful clear blue sky. Thanks Karen for taking us on this ramble, isn’t nature such a marvel. I like the idea of an angel watching over your garden.

    • Karen says:

      Hi B, When I first moved to New Hampshire, I couldn’t get over how blue the sky is when there are no clouds and low humidity. When we lived in Florida, the sky was usually a milky pale blue. I’m glad that you like my angel that watches over the garden. :)

  66. soonie2 says:

    Hi Karen, thanks s much for the lovely walk. You photos are just beautiful! Not sure where you live but your images remind me of Concord MA. Regardless, it’s a wonderful area!

    ~ a fellow New Englander

    • Karen says:

      Hi Susan, It is always nice to meet another New Englander…thank you for stopping by for a visit. I live in southern New Hampshire…not far from Exeter. I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos. Hope you stop by again…thank you.

  67. ohlidia says:

    Thank you for inviting me on your beautiful walk!

  68. Such a beautiful spring walk!

  69. Thank you for taking us along on your walk! I feel relaxed already! :D

  70. Joanne says:

    i’m so happy for spring! What gorgeous scenery!

  71. gotasté says:

    Karen, your photos are just too lovely. Thank you for bringing me along for the walk. Wish I could be there in person….danny

  72. It’s absolutely stunning and I got all emotional thinking about the generations of families that went before you. Thank goodness it’s still being loved by people who love and respect the past.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Tanya, for your kind words…I’m happy that you enjoyed the post. I really is a wonderful feeling to live in and enjoy a home with so much history.

  73. Eva Taylor says:

    What a peaceful and beautiful walk Karen, thank you so much for taking us along. Nature is a little slow in waking up for spring in our neck of the woods too (in fact, the ice at the cottage just went out last weekend; last year it went out at the end of March!). I love to see all the seasons, particularly close up; you do have a lovely property and the history adds a lovely depth to it. I envy the gorgeous foundation rocks you have, they would make gorgeous hardscaping once nature has torn them out of the foundation. I look forward to seeing the rock garden in bloom, it sounds lovely. Our crab apple tree just started sprouting leaves, I suspect the blooms will follow along when they are good and ready. I can see gorgeous blooms on my lilacs and I’m very excited as one bush has been barren since I planted it about 6 years ago (a sucker from an old lilac tree we had to have removed during our renovation). I can hardly wait to see both of our gardens in bloom!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eva, I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the walk. The ice is out on our lake in Maine as well. Hopefully, the plumber can get the water back on for us and then the long process of taking back everything that goes into the cottage…it’s like moving twice a year. :) I think over the next few weeks we will both to have beautiful blossoms. Enjoy.

  74. I can just feel the calm and quiet in these photos! I’m taking a weekend trip to Maine in a few days, and really looking forward to seeing some similar sights! :)

  75. So pretty Karen – and very similar to my part of NE herein upstate NY! We live at the edge of a huge area of state forest land that was at one time a series of family farms – lots of old foundations and stone walls up there as well, though each year they tumble down a bit more.

  76. Beautiful blue cobalt sky. I have not seen that since I loved in Hong Kong. For just a moment you helped me escape HK in my mind as I could feel the crisp air, smell the clean fresh air and hear the leaves crackle under my feet while we took that nature walk together.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bobbi, I do love the beautiful blue sky that we get in New England when the humidity is low. I’m glad that you enjoyed following along on the walk and that it took you away from HK for a few minutes. :)

  77. This is beautiful Karen!
    Can I say something? You know oneday I want to visit you and see all this gorgeousness with my eyes and feel it… This is just so beautiful. And I mean it!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Reem, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post. New England is a beautiful part of our country and I can see why you would want to visit. California is beautiful as well…just so different. :)

  78. Sissi says:

    Walking in nature has got nothing to do with walking in the city centre… As much as I love living in the centre, I find your property beautiful and calming. It would be so nice to snap my fingers and have a walk with you. Beware! You will attract many potential guests!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sissi, I do wish all it took was a snap of the fingers to enjoy a walk with me…I would like the company of my readers. I’m happy that you enjoyed following along even if it wasn’t in person. :)

  79. josephine says:

    Oh Karen, thank you for taking the trouble to organise a virtual walk with you — and how truly beautiful and inspiring, I really enjoyed it. Also, I wanted to tell you — aren’t you delighted by the EC’s stand to stop pesticides for two years as a preventive measure to help the Bee population? It’s a start, isn’t it … just like your seed planting …. well done.

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/2013/apr/29/bee-harming-pesticides-banned-europe

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jo, I’m happy that you enjoyed the walk…thank you. It sounds like the EU is heading in the right direction with banning certain pesticides. Hopefully my bee garden is another step in the right direction as is our orchard. We don’t use any chemicals…it is totally natural.

  80. Katerina says:

    One of the things I loved in NH was the nature! Living in a capital as is Athens, I very much appreciated the greens and the forests and the little squirrels looking at me through my apartment window. Beautiful photos Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Katerina, for your nice compliment. I glad that you enjoyed the photos and that they brought back nice memories of your time in New Hampshire.

  81. Karen what a lovely walk in nature….I was intrigued by the rock circle and then I saw what your plans were…what a wonderful spot to plant those seeds….I can’t wait to see them grow…..and thanks for the shout out and link to my blog!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Donna, I thought the rock garden would be the perfect place to plant the seeds that you sent. It is at the crest of a hill on the property…close to the pond and orchard. I hope it grows well. It is my pleasure to let everyone know about your lovely garden blog and thank you again for the seeds.

  82. flippenblog says:

    I need that walk now!

  83. cabinet stew says:

    Mother nature and history make a good couple don’t you think? I spent many happy hours in the woods surrounding my childhood home exploring,hiking and also finding random cellar holes and treasures. I miss that aspect of rural New England now that I am in the Boston Metro Area! Will have to make a point to “walk the land” when I am visiting my mom next.

  84. Purely.. Kay says:

    I agree with another poster, your property is simply gorgeous. And the walk in the woods is just what I need. Serene and relaxing. Thanks for this beautiful post Karen :)

  85. what a wonderful walk and wonderful pictures! I felt like I was right there with you! Thank you for that peaceful time away from my busy day!

  86. Love it Karen, you have such a beautiful, peaceful piece of property. It’s hard to pick any one particular area that I like the most – each has it’s own feel but of course I’m always drawn to water – the pond, stream, very restful. I love the birch bark ‘sculpture’. Have you had any problems with your birch in the past few years? I lost a gorgeous patch of white birch that was attacked or infected with something and had to have them all taken down.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Diane, for your nice compliment. So far we have not had a problem with the white birch. We have lost several during snow and ice storms that have caused them to break or pull out of the ground but none from insects or disease.

  87. afracooking says:

    Thank you for taking me with you on your walk! You have a truly beautiful home! And it is wonderful to read how much you appreciate it!

  88. Patrick says:

    How blessed you are to have your own piece of Nirvana. I envy your ability to walk through such a beautiful space. Hell as a quadriplegic, I envy your ability to walk period. HA, HA, May I ask why you haven’t done any makeover to the front of your house. A picket fence with perennials in front and back of it.

    Worried about our fruit trees here in Kansas City. First time in history highs in the thirties, And some doubt global warming?.

    Blessings to you,

    Patrick

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Patrick…they are very much appreciated. We have tried to keep our home true to the period that it was built (1730). First period Colonial homes in rural areas were very plain. Door yards and picket fences did not come until later periods. There is a stepped back modern addition to our home. On the side of that, I do have a garden with a picket fence. We spend our summers in Maine and that is where I have all my perennials. You will be seeing those gardens in posts over the next few months. Last year our three hundred tree orchard bloomed early and then we had hard frosts in Early May. The end result was almost no apples last year. This year the weather is back to more normal conditions. You never know from year to year what the weather will bring.

  89. musingmar says:

    Simply lovely. I enjoyed walking with you!

  90. Gorgeous! Such a beautiful array of greenery and that paper bark tree picture highlights those beautiful textures that we all know and love in nature. It’s safe to say those frosts and snow have truly dissipated by now and I really look forward to seeing the honeybee ‘rescue’ garden you establish soon. They’ll be happiest when in your lovely gardens I’m sure.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Alli, I’m glad that you enjoyed the walk around my property. There is so much beauty surrounding us…we just need to take the time to look in the hidden places that are around us. I’m hoping the honeybee garden is a success. Thank you for your nice comment.

  91. lvaletutto says:

    Thanks for the nice walk through your woods Karen. I love your rock garden/save a bee project idea! And my favorite photo along your tour is the peeling bark birch tree.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Laura, I’m glad that you enjoyed following along on my walk. It was fun to discover such an interesting tree in the woods.

  92. megtraveling says:

    These are exquisite pictures – they show that spring is worth waiting for!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Meg, for your nice compliment…I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos. Spring is such a lovely time of the year, especially after a long winter.

  93. Jane says:

    You are right, sometimes you do have to look around to see the beauty, but it is worth it! Thanks for sharing your walk!

  94. Dear Karen, oh my gosh you live in such a beautiful place! Thank you so very much for sharing your walk and these beautiful images. You have made my day.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Liz, for your lovely compliment, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post. We do live in a beautiful spot. The orchard is in bloom now…I’ll be posting photos of the apple and pear trees filled with flowers soon.

  95. Beth says:

    You’re making me long to visit! Your photos are wonderful – a lovely tour.

  96. Karen I made time to read this post with my first cup of coffee this morning. Thank you for the beautiful walk through your property. You are a wonderful blogger and photographer and story teller.

  97. Thanks for taking us along, with you on a beautiful walk. Love love the scenery’s Karen :)

  98. dhphotosite says:

    I had a super time on the walk with you. It reminded me of our camping and hiking days in New England. We spent most of out time in VT. NH. and ME.

    • Karen says:

      Hi David, I’m glad you enjoyed taking a walk with me and that it brought back pleasant memories of your time in New England. :)

  99. Beautiful Captures – enjoyed the walk too:)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Renee, I’m glad that you enjoyed the walk. You must come back for another visit as the orchard is in bloom…I think you will enjoy the photos.

  100. Beautiful classic New England. I love it.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Wendy, I’m glad you enjoyed the post. If you want to see classic New England, you must pop by again and see the photos of the orchard in bloom. :)

  101. adinparadise says:

    I’ve loved my visits to New England. It’s such a beautiful place, and you’re very fortunate to live there. Your house looks charming. :)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Sylvia, I’m glad to know that you enjoyed visiting New England…it really is a lovely area of our country to visit. We do think that our home is special, especially considering how old it is…coming close to 300 years.

  102. I have never been to New England, only traveled East once, to New Jersey and New York. This glimpse you’ve given me of your property is simply welcoming and peaceful. Imagine the stories those stone foundations could reveal… Your acreage is simply charming.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Audrey, Thank you for your visit. I do hope you get a chance to travel to New England some day…it is a lovely place to visit. I’m glad you enjoyed seeing a little of our property.

  103. Sophie33 says:

    Such a lovely post, dear Karen & beutiful pictures too! :) Thanks so much for sharing it with us all! ;) xxx You live in a beautiful area!

Leave a Reply

