Maine, The Way Summer Should Be

Maine, The Way Summer Should Be. For a memorable weekend or even an entire summer of old fashioned fun, there is no better place to be than Maine in the summer.  A leisurely walk along the rugged, picturesque coastline can lead out to a point where you might discover a lighthouse, a hidden cove or a spectacular view. Let me show you how I spend my summers and perhaps you will want to plan a trip to see Maine for yourself.

Click on any photo to see the slide show.

To see Maine from the air, you can be adventurous and take a ride in an open air biplane, I can attest that it is a real thrill.  Perhaps you would prefer a seaplane, taking off and landing in one of the many lakes in Maine. Which ever is your choice, the view is terrific.

Click on any photo to see the slide show.

If boating appeals to you, then Maine is where you want to be. You can ply the offshore waters in a four masted schooner, sailboat, trawler or powerboat and visit one of the thousands of islands that are accessible only by water. If you are lucky, you may be able to tell your friends about spotting a seal, eagle or whale on your adventure.

Click on any photo to see the slide show.

If you visit the inland sections of Maine, there are hundreds of lakes both large and small. On our lake in the summer resort town of Naples, water sport activities are limited only to your imagination. You can rent a canoe, kayak, jet ski, or boat. Waterskiing or tubing behind a boat is very popular. You can take a cruise on the paddle-wheeler, Songo River Queen or admire one of the classic wooden boats from the dock in town.

Just away from the water is entertainment of a different sort…festivals, fairs and parades  for the child in all of us.You will find quaint main streets to stroll, roadside stands and farms to visit. There are game arcades, zip lines and miniature golf for the young members of the family to enjoy. At a campground, you might find a ballgame or a game of  horseshoes,  or you can just find a shady spot to relax in the shade and read a book.

Click on any photo to see the slide show.

If your idea of a vacation in Maine wouldn’t be complete without a lobster, you don’t have to search far. You can go to a lobster shack on the water, attend a lobster bake on the beach, or go to a restaurant in town. If you have friends that have a cabin or cottage on the lake, perhaps they will serve you a lobster roll and a piece of blueberry pie for lunch.

Click on any photo to see the slide show.

Sunset From Our Dock

Sunset From Our Dock

Whether you spend time in one of the pretty harbor towns along the rugged, picturesque coast or stay at a campground, cabin or cottage on one of the inland lakes, I know that you and your family will enjoy Maine, it is the way summer should be…truly memorable.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

260 Responses to Maine, The Way Summer Should Be

  1. It looks wonderful, Karen. Great photos. Enjoy your summer there!

  2. Now this a post a Chamber of Commerce could love. We were in your beautiful state on Saturday along with all of Massachusetts and half of Connecticut and Rhode Island. But there’s always room for more. :-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Judy, I hope you had a good time…it was a nice day on Saturday. Your comment made me laugh. Getting to Maine is an easy drive which makes it a popular destination for New Englanders. We always comment about the New England license plates we see…most from Massachusetts. :)

  3. kbosin says:

    Oooh, those tiny little Maine blueberries! Great post, the Maine tourism people should give you a special treat for that.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kathy, I’m happy that you liked the post…we really do enjoy our summers in Maine. We have loads of wild blueberry bushes but the birds and critters get most of the berries. :)

  4. Always so beautiful there! When I think of Maine, I always think of blueberries and I wish we could have a longer season here. Lovely pictures covering myriad adventures you can have in Maine – the Maine Office of Tourism should hire you! :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kelli, Maine truly is a beautiful state and we have a great time during each summer that we spend here. We have wild blueberries plants on our property but the berries are still green. The birds and critters usually get to them the day before I plan to pick…sneaky little things. I usually get one tart from picking and then buy the rest.

  5. Sue says:

    Love that view from the plane–what a unique perspective.
    And you know–I thoroughly enjoy ALL your pics You have a knack for capturing the beauty of a place. Still waiting for those adoption papers in the mail-LOL!!
    Have a great week, Karen.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Sue. I’m happy that you enjoyed the photos. Riding in the biplane was a terrific experience that I will never forget. You are on the top of the adoption list. :)

  6. “perhaps you will want to plan a trip to see Maine for yourself” – definitely. You know how much I love Maine, despite never having been there in person (yet)! Unfortunately life got in the way last year (I looked after my mother when she was very ill) and this summer I am busy working before going back to resume my undergraduate studies in the autumn. So, my Maine plans are on hold for the time-being.

    Lovely photos. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Grace, I’m happy that you enjoyed the post and photos. I know that one day you will get a chance to cross the pond and see Maine for yourself. In the meantime, you can enjoy my photos over the summer. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  7. Eha says:

    Thank you for the delightful journey . . . now I would not mind picking up one of those moreish lobster rolls [and perchance even just a small piece of blueberry pie], taking off my shoes and coming sitting with legs dangling over the edge of your dock: you would guarantee one of those sunsets, wouldn’t you? [says a gal about 10 pm on a winter's night in the middle of a cyclonic rainstorm Down Under . . . you should hear the downpour, hmph!!]. But seriously, your summer haven is in a beautiful place . . .

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eha, I’m happy that you enjoyed the post. We usually have beautiful sunsets that I try and capture from our dock although I find my photos really don’t do them justice. Each summer, my husband and I always comment on how lucky we were to find our little spot…not very big but lovely none the less.

  8. Foodie in WV says:

    l love the sunset photo! I would also love that maine is a lot cooler and has lower humidity than we have been having :) Sounds like a great place to have summer!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Ann, I’m glad that you liked the sunset photo. The camera (or at least when I use it) never quite captures the true beauty of what you see in person. You are right about the weather, most of the summer the weather is lovely. No comparison to when we lived in south Florida. :)

  9. Bonnie says:

    Lovely! We’ll be heading that way in two weeks.

    Best,
    Bonnie

  10. Awww… filled with memories in this post. :)

  11. Absolutely magical Karen, thank you so much for putting such a remarkable post together to share with us. Maine looks like just the place where I could happily spend the rest of my days. How very special that you have a holiday home there. Fabulous! :-) Mandy xo

    • Karen says:

      Thank you so much Mandy, for your lovely compliment…I appreciate your kind words. We are very lucky to have our little cottage on the lake in Maine. I love sharing all the lovely places that we visit in Maine each summer with my readers.

  12. Your photos are beautiful and capture the beauty of Maine wonderfully. My favorite summertime memories of Maine are blueberry ice tea and cold Atlantic water swimming.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sarah, I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos and that they brought back happy memories of summer in Maine. I’ve never been brave enough to venture into the cold Atlantic water but many people do. :)

  13. Oh Karen, there is a new slang term in the UK “Well-Jell” meaning I’m extremely jealous. Think this sums it up a treat.

    • Karen says:

      Hi David, I hadn’t heard the term “Well-Jell” before. I learn something new most every day from my blogging friends. Hopefully, someday you will get the chance to spend some time in Maine…it is lovely.

  14. Absolutely gorgeous and a great reminder as I plan to visit more spots I have missed in retirement…Maine is one if these. I know my sister and brother-in-law would love it too.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Donna, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post. Maine really is a wonderful place to visit during the summer. It will be a perfect place for you to see once you have retired, I know you will enjoy the time spent here.

  15. wanderoneday says:

    I’m going to a wedding in Maine next year – they have yet to set the date so I’m hoping it’s in the summer! These photos look gorgeous and make we want to relax in a hammock with a fresh lemonade and a lobster roll :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jen, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. I’m happy that you enjoyed the photos. I know that you will enjoy attending your friends wedding in Maine…hopefully, it will be summer. It is a wonderful time of the year to visit.

  16. Monique says:

    I LOVE MAINE.. hope we go back soon..
    Your pictorial is wonderful as well as YOUR spot.

    So summer to me..

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Monique, for your nice compliment. I think that anyone who gets a chance to visit Maine always wants to return. Our little spot is lovely…a wonderful place to enjoy the simple pleasures of life with friends and family. :)

  17. So very, very, very jealous! I LOVE Maine. A couple of years ago we rented a house there and spent the Summer………….for the joy. I love the people, the weather and most especially the food. I ate 3 lobsters a day while we were there. Thank you so much for the wonderful photos.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tin Man, Lobsters are a “must have” on any visit to Maine but you may have set the record with 3 a day. I guess we are jealous of each other. I’m jealous of all your weeks recently spent in Europe…wish I could get my husband to stay that long. :)

      • Have you looked into the small boat river cruises? Perhaps you could do one of those and stay extra and either end or continue by train to another destination. We MUST find a way to make him go and STAY a while!!

      • Karen says:

        I have gotten my husband to go from two weeks to staying three weeks, driving from destination to destination. Towards the end of our trip he starts saying he misses his friends, his own bed, etc. Maybe I’ll try adding a few days to each trip we take. Me…I can live out of a suitcase for no telling how long. :)

  18. Karen Harris says:

    Beautiful photos Karen! I have some neighbors who are from Maine and venture back every summer for an extended stay. Now I understand why. Pass the blueberry pie please!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Karen, I’m happy that you enjoyed the photos…thank you. Summer in Maine is wonderful, it keeps drawing you back year after year. Blueberry pie and I’ll even make you a lobster roll. :)

  19. Hotly Spiced says:

    I love the image of the little pontoon just off your property. How gorgeous is that. But in fact all your images are stunning. What a beautiful place to spend the summer. What sort of temperature is the water? Is it okay to swim in or is it too cold? xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos. The swim platform is so typical on Maine lakes. Lake temperatures vary depending on where you are on our lake. Our neighbors are swimming in the lake now but it is still pretty cool. It warms up a little each day of the summer. We have a little bit of a beach and the water gets to about 80F. Most people think that it is very refreshing on a summer day.

  20. rachelocal says:

    Beautiful, beautiful photos! I’m going to Portland/Freeport area this summer. Vermont (where my family’s from) is another great state in the summer, but breathtaking in the fall.

  21. Kristy says:

    You know how much we love Maine! Your photos bring it all back. We won’t make it out there this year, but hopefully again soon. It’s one of those places that got into our blood. :) Enjoy your time out there this summer. I’m looking forward to hearing about your travels and adventures.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristy, I’m happy that you enjoyed the post and that it brought back nice memories of your family vacation in Maine. I do know how much fun you all had. Maine is one of those places that tugs at your heart strings. :) More adventures to come…thanks for following along.

  22. We thoroughly enjoyed Maine last summer when we visited our youngest son. Beautiful weather and scenery, not to mention fabulous food in Portland. You really can’t ask for more.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Richard, I’m glad that you agree about Maine. Portland does have a lot of wonderful restaurants. We head down that way for lunch and a walk around town. That is also where I try to find all the hard to find ingredients for my cooking during the summer.

  23. Mary says:

    Being a part-time Maine resident I believe you have captured the state beautifully. Nothing says Maine more than lobster & blueberry pie. Now, if they could only get rid of the insane governor! LOL!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Mary, for your nice compliment. I’m glad you think I captured summer in Maine correctly. Yes, lobster and blueberry pie tends to be on everyone’s “to do” list when visiting Maine.

  24. wow I need to visit Maine thanks for your wise words on my last blog post i needed them hugs Rebecca

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rebecca, I do hope you have the opportunity to visit Maine someday. I appreciate your lovely comment about your last post…I understand your feelings completely.

  25. Sophie33 says:

    I love, love your vibrant & very colourful pictures! I want to go on Holiday everywhere you have been! I love learning about new cultures, places, the history behind it, etc: I love exploring too. X

  26. TasteFood says:

    I am sold! We’ll be there shortly visiting family in Camden. Now I really can’t wait.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lynda, Camden, Maine is a terrific place to visit. I know you will enjoy spending time with your family there. Several of these photos were from that area. I’m happy that you enjoyed the post.

  27. So pretty! I love the pictures, particularly the “Mayor’s Office” ;-) What a great spot to spend the summer! And I love lobster rolls! Fun read – thanks.

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, I’m happy that you enjoyed the post. You can’t have too many lobster rolls during a stay in Maine. Last year the price for lobsters was less than ground beef…everyone stuffed themselves on lobster. Don’t you just love the “Mayor’s Office”. We see it each summer during the Classic Wooden Boat Show that is held at our town dock.

  28. A_Boleyn says:

    I hope that I can visit you gorgeous state one day because all the sights look amazing. Bison … so cool. Do they sell the meat at the farm? I am SO making a lobster roll with the next live lobster I cook. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Boleyn, I do hope you get a chance to visit Maine one day, I know you would love the state wherever you went. Yes, the bison farm sells the meat…we have bought steaks and ground meat from them.

  29. Cecile says:

    Hi Karen – your photos really capture the beauty of Maine – a great job! I was up in Wells, ME last weekend but “didn’t get me any lobster”. I’m at the Cape right now, so I plan on rectifying my recent “lack of lobster” at a place here in Mashpee which is famous for it’s Lobster (Lob-sta..) Rolls.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Cecile, I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the photos of Maine…it really is a beautiful state. I keep hearing about Joshua’s restaurant in Wells…it is supposed to be very good. Having a lobster roll on the Cape is a nice way to spend the day. :) Have fun and enjoy!

  30. Pam says:

    It’s beautiful there. Great photos!

  31. What a beautiful post. I’ve never been to Maine, but with these pictures I want to drive on up right now!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Pamela, Thank you for your lovely compliment. You will have to think about visiting sometime. It takes 5 hours to drive from Brooklyn to Portland. We see quite a few NY license plates when we are on the Maine Turnpike. :)

  32. Hannah says:

    Oh Karen, what a way to begin my day! I was sighing looking at all your photos. My husband and I honeymooned on Monhegan Island, and when growing up I spent lots of time along the coast and at Sebago Lake. Maine really is the way summer should be! Enjoy your time!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Hannah, I’m so happy to know that I have brought back memories of your time spent in Maine. Long Lake where we are is connected to Sebago Lake by the Songo River. I’m glad that you agree with me about summers in Maine…they are special. Thank you for your lovely compliment.

  33. dahliadd says:

    Ahh….soooooo gorgeous!!! Gr8 pics!! Love Maine in the Summer!! Sure hope we make it up there this Summer!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Dahlia, I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos of Maine in the summer…thank you for your nice compliment. I hope you get a chance to visit this summer.

  34. So beautiful, so summery!

  35. Looks absolutely idyllic! Beautiful images. Wish I could take a trip there this next week.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Darryl, Maine really is idyllic…old fashioned fun with family and friends in pretty surroundings. Hope you get a chance to visit.

  36. Karen, Maine looks so very beautiful! I am awe struck by the bison, what a sight to see! I imagine the air to be very crisp and fresh too! Thank you for sharing.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lizzy, Maine is beautiful and most all summer the weather is wonderful…especially if you are near the water. Would you believe that I just took the feather comforter off our bed and changed to a cotton blanket. I always remind anyone coming to Maine to bring a sweatshirt or sweater…they are often needed in the evenings.

  37. Rosemary says:

    I loved my one-and-only (YET, that is) trip to Maine. Can’t wait to return.

  38. Beautiful, beautiful photos Karen! I’ve never been to Maine before, but hope to make it one day!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Sibella, for your compliment. I’m happy that you enjoyed the photos of Maine. I hope that you get a chance to visit sometime in the future. We love our summers spent here, it is a great place to visit.

  39. afracooking says:

    Ah now that is what summer looks like ;-) here it is grey, cold and wet! Thank you for letting me live vicariously through you :-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Afra, I happy that you enjoyed the photos…hopefully you will end up having a lovely summer. We had a very rainy and grey spring but I’m hoping now that it is officially summer that we all have warm sunny weather. :)

  40. Looks fantastic! I’ve never been to Maine, but have some friends up there and have always wanted to go. Thank you so much for the tour in pictures!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Daisy, Maine is a wonderful place…you should try to visit your friends who live here. I believe you would have a terrific time. I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos…thank you!

  41. Geez Karen…now everybody’s going to want to go there. Oh well, I guess there’s always room for a few more since it is a big state. I love Maine & there’s nothing like sitting outside with a fresh ‘lobsta’ soaked in butter.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Diane, You really made me laugh. Summer in Maine will be a little secret between you, me and my readers. :) I always write about the things I love…places to visit, hotels to stay at and restaurants that are great. I’ve often wondered if someday I’ll be told “we are so sorry, we are totally full” because I wrote about it. As you say, it is a big state so hopefully there will be a place for everyone who wants to visit. I totally agree with you about having a fresh lobster while sitting outside with a view of the water somewhere in Maine…it doesn’t get much better.

  42. dhphotosite says:

    Thanks for such a wonderful tour Karen. As you know, Maine really tugs at our hearts. We have been there many many times camping, doing the B&B scene, several week long cottage stays, and generally roamed all over the state. We even honeymooned in Maine. I miss it so and this has helped a great deal!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you David, for your very nice compliment. I’m happy that my post brought back such lovely memories of your times spent in Maine. I totally agree with you that once you have spent time in Maine, it tugs at your heart strings to return. It is hard to explain but it is the way life used to be. :)

  43. Mad Dog says:

    I was convinced by John Irving and the Cider House Rules. I love that seaplane ;-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mad Dog, I love watching the seaplane…it takes off and lands in the center of the lake just off our dock. I agree with you about Cider House Rules…John Irving has written so wonderful books.

  44. Amy says:

    Delicious lobster! Lovely shops…. Perfect place for the summer! Thanks for the tour, Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Amy, I’m happy that you enjoyed the tour…thank you! Last year lobster was $3.99 a pound in Maine. We made lobster rolls, lobster salad, lobster fra diavolo, etc. Lobster and blueberries are so much a part of our summer. :)

  45. Norma Chang says:

    Spent a week on the Maine coast one summer few years back. One week was not enough. Oh yes, I indulged in lobster. I could polish off 2 lobster rolls right this moment. Thanks for a trip down memory lane. Don’t be too surprised if you hear a knock on you door.
    How are your tomato plants coming along?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Norma, It seems that this post is taking a lot of my friends down memory lane…that makes me happy. Oh yes, lobster rolls are hard to resist. The tomato plants are all in the garden now and seem to be doing well. I’ll do a garden update soon…everything seems to be a little behind schedule this year because of all the rainy gray spring days.

      • Norma Chang says:

        Compare to last year, I am waaaay behind. But then last year was unusually warm and this year so far the weather has been wild and unsettled, perhaps it will calm down and behave normal.

      • Karen says:

        I know you are right…our gardens were spoiled last year with the early warm spring. I hope the weather returns to a somewhat normal pattern…we are supposed to have thunderstorms every afternoon this week. It will definitely be an interesting gardening season.

  46. Larry says:

    “Maine, The Way Summer Should Be” – don’t believe I can add to that

  47. Karen the last image of sunset from your dock is stunning. And all the other images are gorgeous too, Maine looks and sounds like a fantastic place to visit. One day!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you B, for your nice compliment…I’m glad that you liked the photos. I think if I used a tripod that I would be able to get some better shots of sunset…somedays they are so beautiful. Maine is a wonderful place to visit…so much to see and do.

  48. Wow.. thats gorgeous.. What a change of pace from Miami… Would love to visit sometime..

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Cristy, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post and photos. I know what you mean, I lived in Coral Gables, Florida before moving to New England. Maine is totally different from Florida even though both have the ocean and lakes.

  49. Your timing in uncanny. Just yesterday I was staring at a photo collage I have on the wall from our trip to New England/Maine in 2008. And my thought? “That was just a perfect trip”. Love Maine!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Heather, I think we always look back on our vacations fondly. I do have to agree with you that New England is wonderful. We originally came here for a year while my husband was working on a project outside of Boston. I told him I couldn’t leave knowing that I would never return on a regular basis and as they say “the rest is history”. :)

  50. Mary Ann says:

    I love this post! I have always wanted to visit Maine. Our South Texas Gulf Coast summers are brutally hot! My husband and I celebrate 50 years of marriage this year. Maybe we should take a trip to Maine and try the lobster!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mary Ann, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. I grew up on a ranch outside of Houston and I do know what you are talking about the brutal summer heat. You would love visiting New England. I think you would enjoy the beauty of Maine and the relief from the heat and humidity of summer in Texas. By the way, congratulations on your 50 years of marriage…that is wonderful. :)

  51. What a boating paradise my friend :)

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • Karen says:

      Hi Uru, You are right…Maine is a boater’s paradise. My husband and I will take everyone out to see our lake from the water during the summer. I hope you will come along for the ride. We will be going by boat but I’m thinking you might prefer the jet ski. :)

  52. Absolutely breathtaking photos, Karen. You captured New England summers so well… aren’t they so ideal? I lived in Massachusetts for years and summer was always my favorite. Here in Texas, not so much! ;) I would love to be in a breezy, seaside Northeast town this summer instead of sweating it out all day. Thanks for sharing!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Georgia, for your visit and compliment…I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos. Having been born in Texas and living there for years, I totally understand summer in Texas and why you wish you could spend summer in a seaside town in New England. :)

  53. Love Maine especially Mt Desert Island! We usually go around Columbus Day. So beautiful up there!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Elizabeth, Columbus Day is a wonderful time to visit Acadia National Park. Mt. Desert Island is less crowded and the weather is usually wonderful. Love the views from the top looking out at the islands. :)

  54. Candace says:

    Gorgeous photos of a gorgeous state! I absolutely adore Maine. Thanks for sharing.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Candace, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post and photos. Isn’t it nice living in New England…we have such lovely places to visit.

  55. Lovely, lovely, lovely. It is Americana personified. Beautiful part of America,….thanks for sharing.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Teresa, for your lovely compliment. I do think you are right about Maine. Summer is like living in a Norman Rockwell painting…very much Americana. I’m glad that you enjoyed the post.

  56. twbarritt says:

    So beautiful! It’s been too long since I’ve been to Maine. I have visited Acadia and Bar Harbor often over the years. That blueberry tart, the lemonade, the lobster roll and the lobster floats bring tears to my eyes!

    • Karen says:

      Hi T.W., I’m happy to know that you are a lover of Maine as well. Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor are wonderful, especially when the weather is clear. Everywhere you go, there are wonderful views. I make a blueberry tart each year from the wild blueberries I pick from the bushes on our property. Only one…the critters and birds eat all the rest. I appreciate your compliment…thank you!

  57. Michelle says:

    Love Maine! I used to visit frequently for work, and miss those days. Thanks for the reminder.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Michelle, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post and that it reminded you of your time spent in Maine. My husband and I love Maine as well…it is the perfect place to spend summer.

  58. Amy says:

    I knew when I saw the title of your post that I shouldn’t even open the link because I’d be so jealous. It’s so gorgeous up there! Man, I wish that was in my backyard. My husband and I keep saying our next trip will be to Maine. I might be asking you for some recommendations!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Amy, I appreciate your nice compliment. Maine is only a five hour drive away from where you live. You and Nate would absolutely love a trip to Maine…especially with your love of the outdoors. If you decide to plan a trip to Maine, I’d be more than happy to give you recommendations. :)

  59. I’ve never been to Maine, but I know I would love it. I really enjoyed the photos, Karen. I wouldn’t need to do much more than spend some time on the lake to consider it a wonderful vacation! I am sure you’re already enjoying your summer months and I’ll look forward to a loon every now and then if you can share one with me! :-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Debra, We are enjoying the beginning of our stay at the cottage. As much as you love relaxing by the water, Maine is a great destination for you to visit. So very different from the west coast. The lake is very relaxing…sitting on the porch with a book watching the boats go by and yes, hearing the loons. I have a wonderful surprise coming up for you about the loons that I think you will really enjoy. :)

  60. Hi Karen! I always love visiting your blog! I haven’t been able to visit blogs for a while. But what a treat to get back on the computer and travel to Maine with you! So incredibly lovely. Thanks for taking me along :-) Dana

    • Karen says:

      Hi Dana, I know your hard work in the garden keeps you very busy. I’m always happy when you have a moment to stop by…thank you. I’m glad that you enjoyed the little trip across the pond to visit Maine for a few minutes. :)

  61. gotasté says:

    Gorgeous photos Karen! Would love to dig up more infos on Maine.

  62. That looks such a wonderful place. I have to put Maine on my “to do” list, that’s for sure.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Roger, I think you would enjoy visiting New England in general and Maine is wonderful. I feel the same way about New Hampshire. The only thing you will have to overlook is the experience of flying across the pond.

  63. What a beautiful post Karen! Maine is gorgeous, I hope that some day I will be able to visit it ;)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Giovanna, for your lovely compliment. I’m glad that you enjoyed the post. You are right, Maine is a beautiful state. I do hope you have the opportunity to visit the state someday.

  64. Amazing – so many beautiful photos. Hope it’s a wonderful summer for you!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Tanya, for your lovely compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. Summer is always fun on the lake…hope you have a nice summer as well back on the mountain.

  65. Hi Karen – you have me sold:-). Your pictures as usual are dreamy and make me want to take a trip up North right now! My husband used to go to summer camp in Maine every year and I think those are some of his favorite childhood memories. Your view from your dock is beautiful and I want a slice of that pie!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Becky, I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos…thank you for your nice compliment. There is a wonderful and well known boys summer camp across the lake from us. It is owned by Jeffrey Konigsberg and his wife Joan Lunden that we all know from Good Morning America. Maine’s camps are considered some of the best because of the wildness experiences that they offer. I can see why your husband has such wonderful memories of his camping experiences. I wish I could offer you a piece of that pie while sitting on our dock. :)

  66. Tandy says:

    The ice cream looks fab! I love the pic from your dock – what a stunning view. Enjoy your summer in Maine :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tandy, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. The ice cream is from a little shop in town that sells all natural ice cream…my favorite flavor is ginger. Thank you for your wish about summer. :)

  67. ladyfi says:

    It really looks like a gorgeous place to be. Lovely photos.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Ladyfi, for your nice compliment. We think our little spot on the lake is wonderful. Maine is a wonderful place for some summertime fun.

  68. Great photos Karen! Maine looks as beautiful as Colorado ;)

    Nazneen

  69. megtraveling says:

    Summer in Maine is idyllic and your pictures are gorgeous. I’m planning on being there during July – I can’t wait!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Meg,I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos. It is nice to know that you are going to be visiting Maine soon…I hope you have a great time.

  70. Juliana says:

    Beautiful photos Karen…thanks for the tour, I love it!

  71. I can not agree more. Maine is a place made for summer fun and relaxation. My friend is at her Maine house now and I “envy” her summer spent there. I can say that about you too! Your photos are fantastic and really show the Maine experience. Oh I wish to be lounging beach side! Off to San Francisco on Thursday, so I guess all is not so uneventful!

  72. Oh how I loved this post, Karen! I think I’ve told you about my fascination with Maine – it’s one of the few places in the US that I’d truly love to visit. Thank you for taking us on such a wonderful tour!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Celia, We have a wonderful time spending our summers in Maine and I enjoy sharing our adventures with my readers. I’m happy to know that you enjoy my posts about Maine…thank you are always, for your nice compliment.

  73. Velva says:

    I can totally imagine a summer in Maine…..Wouldn’t that be an awesome experience!

    Happy summer.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Velva, Thank you for your nice comment and wish. Summer in Maine is a lot of fun. I’m be sharing more about Maine over the summer…perhaps you will get a chance to visit sometime.

  74. mjskit says:

    WOW! Thanks for the tour! My brother-in-law has been trying to get us to go to Maine for the summer for quite a while. He’d move up there if it weren’t for your winters. The pictures are lovely, but the best one is the last one. Ready for some house guests? :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi MJ, I’m glad you enjoyed the little tour. I know you would enjoy a visit to Maine in the summer. Yes, winter is another story although not that different from New Hampshire. Our cottage isn’t insulted so it is strictly seasonal.

  75. ohlidia says:

    I’ve been to Maine numerous times and I have always loved it! The older I get though, the harder it is to have a swim in that ocean! Beautiful photographs Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lidia, I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos. You are braver than I am…I’ve never been in the ocean water in Maine. I don’t go into the lake until a little later in the summer. :)

  76. Karen, it’s all so stunning! Looks straight out of a travel brochure.

  77. Rosa Mayland says:

    That is such a beautiful and peaceful place! Perfect for relaxing.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  78. Charles says:

    Hi Karen, you’ve got me sold! If I ever visit the US (which I probably never will, but IF I do) then I’ll be sure to try and stop by Maine first. It looks gorgeous – so idyllic! The “Lobster Boats at Anchor” photo… the shoreline in the background looks familiar, did they ever film any TV shows there? Looks like the shoreline in one of the episodes in the TV show “Haven” (Which I think is based around a fictional town in Maine maybe?)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charles, It is funny you mentioned the TV show “Haven” a fictional town in Maine. It is loosely based on a novel by Stephen King. He used to live on our lake. The show is not filmed in Maine, its filmed in Nova Scotia. I’m glad you enjoyed the post…even if you never cross the pond. :)

  79. Karen, you make me want to hop on a plane right now and enjoy a holiday in Maine. I love your slide shows and whether your views are from the land, sea or air, you have some amazing shots. You should see if the Maine tourism board is interested in this post as it really is quite nice. I also love the lazy day slides with the pie and the hammock and the sunset. Thanks for taking me on your journey.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Bam, for your kind words…I’m happy you enjoyed the post. We have an awful lot of those lazy kind of days during the summer. :)

  80. Sues says:

    I was just in Ogunquit for the weekend and never wanted to leave! Your photos are beautiful :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sue, I’m happy that you enjoyed the photos. Ogunquit is a wonderful little town…I’m glad you had a nice visit. One of our favorite places there for a nice lunch is MC Perkins Cove. Wonderful spot with good food.

  81. Reblogged this on Maine Roots and commented:
    This post from Back Road Journal says it all – Maine, The Way Summer Should Be

  82. Between your fruit tree posts and this one, sometimes I think I want to go live in Maine…then I remember the winter, jaja!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Paula, I’m glad that you enjoy your visits here. Living in New England is wonderful but we do have those snowy winters. Although…if it wasn’t for the winters, I think it would be very crowded here. :)

  83. Katerina says:

    Beautiful photos Karen! they reminded me of my days there! Have a great summer!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Katerina, for your nice compliment. I’m glad that my post brought back nice memories of your time spent here. I hope you have a wonderful summer as well.

  84. What a wonderful tour Karen.
    Maine is indeed a wonderful place with so much to see and enjoy

  85. Purely.. Kay says:

    I love everything. From the atmosphere, to the food, to the fun. Love it. I definitely need to go on a vacay right now :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kay, I’m glad that you enjoyed this post about summer in Maine. I do think you would enjoy visiting…there is so much to do. I hope you get a chance to have a vacation soon. :)

  86. Sarah says:

    What great photos – makes me want to quit the day job, hop on a plane and spend the next few months in Maine!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sarah, I’m glad to know that you enjoyed the photos of Maine. Maybe you shouldn’t quit your job but I do think you would enjoy visiting Maine sometime. :)

  87. Barbara says:

    That was delightful, Karen. I adore Maine. You are so fortunate to summer there.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Barbara, I’m glad that you enjoy Maine as much as I do and enjoyed the post. My husband and I say all the time how lucky we are that we have our little cottage at the lake…we have such good times.

  88. Ruth says:

    You had me at lobster and blueberry pie, lol. One day I will make it up to Maine! Can’t wait too see more of your adventures there this summer, Karen. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ruth, Lobster and blueberry pie are hard to resist. I’m glad that you always enjoy following along on our adventures in Maine. There will be more of summer in this lovely state coming soon.

  89. catherinefarley says:

    What a beautiful state! I visited Maine years ago and remember thinking how calm the coastline is compared to the Pacific NW. When I visit I will immediately head to one of the lobster shacks for a big, fat lobster roll.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cathy, It is amazing how different the two coasts of our country are and I have to agree with you about the beauty of Maine. . Oh yes, one must enjoy a lobster roll when visiting Maine. :)

  90. adinparadise says:

    Maine is such a beautiful place according to your photos, Karen. I suppose even in the cold and snow of winter, there is still much to enjoy there. I remember that the novel, ‘Shawshank Redemption’ was set in Maine. That lighthouse is really pretty and I love your view from the Biplane. Thanks for sharing your wonderful photos. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sylvia, I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos of our time spent in Maine. My camera cannot do justice to some of the beautiful sights that abound in this state. We only spend our summers in Maine, the rest of the year we are in New Hampshire. Yes there is lots of snow and cold in both states but if you are into winter sports, there is plenty to keep you busy. If not, you can sit by the fire and dream of spring, summer and fall when the weather is very nice. :)

  91. Completely agree – I try to get to Maine as often as I can during summer weekends. The sunset view from your dock is incredible :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Pumpkin, We do have lovely sunsets from our dock although I think they are prettier in person than seen through the camera. I’m glad to know that you agree with me about Maine. Who knows…we may have passed each other on the streets and not known it. :)

  92. krimkus says:

    My husband and I were just talking about the fact that we haven’t seen enough of our own country and need to plan vacations like this one. What a beautiful place to visit – I’m not sure I’d want to come home!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristi, Our country has many beautiful places that I haven’t visited, as well. I think you would enjoy a vacation in New England and summer in Maine is absolutely wonderful.

  93. that is how summer and every day of your life should be! Just beautiful

  94. Karen – Fabulous photos – many of which bring back memories of fabulous summer days in Maine (I lived in RI and spent time in ME). I just love the crisp blue water against the evergreens. Most of all, I love the food that comes out of that blue water!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Jeannee, for your very nice compliment. I’m happy that you enjoyed the photos and that they brought back memories of your time spent in Maine. Oh yes, most everyone that lives in New England enjoys all the fresh seafood that is available here.

  95. That last photo is just stunning, it totally draws me in….wow.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Chris, I’m happy that you enjoyed the sunset photo. I always say there has to be some clouds to get a wonderful sunset. We get a lot of clouds in the afternoon because we are so close to the mountains here at the lake. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  96. I have never visited Maine–but do hope to someday. Your photo essay is stunning, and really gives a lovely sense of what it’s like there in the summer.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Nancy, for your lovely compliment. I’m glad that you enjoyed the post about summer in Maine. I hope that someday you get a chance to visit…I think you would love Maine.

  97. Anonymous says:

    Karen, these photos are so breathtaking. I would love to visit Main. You should be their official marketing director. Geni – Sweet and Crumbly

    sweetandcrumby.wordpress.com

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Geni, I appreciate your very kind words. I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the post and photos. I do hope that you get a chance to visit Maine someday…I know you would have a great time.

  98. Thanks for stopping by my cooking/life blog! I really enjoyed your Maine photos. Wow! We just spent a little time in Bar Harbor; maybe one of my pics on my last post were from there. (If not, I’m going back and adding one.) Of all the ports I’ve pulled into on cruise ships, Bar Harbor is the most beautiful–bar none. (ha.) Not only did we love Bar Harbor, I really enjoyed the blueberries in every way. They’re my favorite fruit and the tiny Maine berries are so luscious. I had lunch at the Jordan Pond House and adored the berry sauce on their ice cream. Great memories! I need to see the rest of Maine. Enjoy each day of this summer.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Alyce, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice comment and wish. Your cruise from Boston to Canada had to be terrific. I’m glad that you enjoyed Bar Harbor…we do as well. I hope you had the popovers as well as the wild Maine blueberries when you had lunch at Jordan Pond House. Hopefully, you will get a chance to see more of Maine on another visit.

  99. Beautiful photos of Maine…I love it here! Enjoy being here (and your tomatoes) (: …

  100. Adri says:

    This article with your glorious photographs is more tempting than any travel brochure!

  101. Raymund says:

    Look at all that sunshine, I want it to be summer now. So cold here in NZ

  102. One of the most beautiful sets of photos! So glad I found your blog– We live in California and now a summer visit to Maine is on my wish list. thanks!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Rhonda, for your lovely compliment. I’m happy that you stopped by for a visit and enjoyed my blog. I think you would enjoy visiting Maine in the summer…I know my husband and I enjoy our summers here.

  103. cquek says:

    wow!wow!wow! great pictures. i just can’t stop looking at your shots.

  104. restlessjo says:

    You’ve convinced me, Karen! You’ve convinced me. I want that view of the Tall Ship and I spotted a free seat at the table in the waterside cafe. On my way. :)

  105. lolarugula says:

    Wonderful photos, as usual! I’ve only been to Maine a handful of times but I remember how gorgeous it was. (I stayed at a B&B in Kennebunkport many moons ago, on my way to PEI) I especially love your shots of the trail, the antique shop and the the farmers stand!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Lola, for your nice compliment. I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos. Kennebunkport is a terrific little town to visit…we love going to Mabel’s Lobster Claw for lunch when we are there.

  106. Misky says:

    I’ve never been but I sure want to visit Maine now! Fab post, Karen.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your lovely compliment, Misky. I’m happy that you enjoyed the post about summer in Maine. I hope you get a chance to visit someday.

  107. Beth says:

    Your photos look absolutely idyllic. I’d love to spend a summer in Maine (or even a couple of weeks). Thanks for sharing these pictures and memories with us!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Beth, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post and photos. Idyllic is the perfect description for a summer visit to Maine. I hope you get the opportunity to spend some time here someday. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  108. cabinet stew says:

    wow! wonderful pictures and I am so happy to say I have spent many happy days in Maine! but the real question is how you got that fancy photo/slideshow layout?! wow!
    (and of course like everybody else I agree you should be compensated by the Maine board of tourism!)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Carol, for your kind words. As to the photos…click on “add media” when you are ready to insert photos into your post. You will see “create a gallery” on the left hand side then you just click on that. Believe me, if I can do it then anyone can. :)

  109. I love the photos from the biplane scenic trip! That must have been a thrill!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Ducky, I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos. The biplane trip was to celebrate my birthday…very thrilling and truly memorable. :)

  110. I’ve always wanted to visit Maine. After looking at your pictures, I told myself that I have to make it happen. What a gorgeous place!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Denise, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. I believe that you would really enjoy a visit to Maine…it is beautiful.

  111. Karen, what stunning photography and I envy you right now (I mean in a really good way, of course) – your photos make me want to join you for a visit this summer, take in all the sights and sounds and take millions of pictures myself! Waht a beautiful place to spend the summer and to take a break from everyday life!
    As I look outside, there is nothing but clouds and rain and more rain!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Andrea, I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the post about Maine. We do enjoy spending our summers at the lake. I have read about all the rain in Germany. We have been having lots of rain here as well…certainly not typical for this time of the year. We had sunshine yesterday after endless days of rain. :)

  112. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve always enjoyed your posts about Maine and its many sights & attractions. That State is truly blessed.

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, I’m glad you enjoyed the post about summers in Maine. It is a lovely place to visit and we love spending our time here each year.

  113. No thanks to you, I’m yearning to visit Maine soon! And can’t wait to sample great seafood as many of raved.

    Beautiful photos, thanks for sharing :)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Kiran, I’m happy that you enjoyed the photos. It’s not a bad thing to want to visit Maine. I think you would enjoy visiting and yes, the seafood is delicious. :)

  114. Treedson says:

    What a great photo you have. Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to your next travel log photograph. :-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Treedson, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos of Maine. I look forward to your return.

  115. Jerry says:

    I’ve had the pleasure of three summertime visits to Maine. I couldn’t agree more about what a wonderful spot it is to visit! This year we’re off to explore the Cape Cod area in a few days. I am expecting far fewer trees and rocks, more sand but just as much amazing seafood!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jerry, I’m glad you have enjoyed visiting Maine. I look forward to our summers here each year. Enjoy the Cape…sand, sun and seafood sounds good to me. :)

  116. Simply gorgeous. I can’t wait to visit one day:)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Wendy, I do have to agree with you about the beauty to be found in Maine. I hope you will get a chance to visit sometime in the future.

  117. what a wonderful selection of photos Karen, showing Maine at it’s best!

  118. So picturesque and so perfect for summer. Love the Mayors office, I certainly wouldn’t mind trading places. The other thing I wouldn’t mind is that giant kitsch lemonade cooler, retro-tastic indeed!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Alli, We do enjoy spending our summers in Maine. Don’t you just love the lemonade cooler. I had to buy it for the cottage the minute I saw it…thanks.

  119. archecotech says:

    Spent many summers in Maine, clam bakes, building sand castles, running on the beach. Great memories. Thanks for posting. Will be back to enjoy more.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Archecotech, Thank you for taking the time to visit. I’m glad that you enjoyed the post and that it brought back nice memories of your time spent in Maine. I appreciate your comment and look forward to your return.

  120. Sartenada says:

    Sigh. How beautiful.

Leave a Reply

