Cheers To The New Year

Father time is waiting in the wings to remind us that a new year is on the way. With that in mind, I’m here to say “Cheers To The New Year“. As we count down the hours until the arrival of 2014, I though I would pour two flutes of champagne to celebrate the approaching new year. Of course, a little nibble to go along with the bubbly is always nice and I thought some spicy roasted mixed nuts would be appropriate for the occasion.

Cheers To The New Year

Cheers To The New Year

Whether you are having a sophisticated black tie affair with passed canapés, jammed into Time Square to watch the ball drop or are staying home to watch fireworks where you live, one thing that is hard to resist is a handful of nuts to nibble during the celebrations.

Spicy Roasted Mixed Nuts

Spicy Roasted Mixed Nuts

Spiced Roasted Mixed Nuts

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees

  • 2 1/2 lb. fancy mixed nuts (about 8 cups, mine were salted)
  • 1 large egg white
  • 1 tbsp. water
  • 8 tbsp. packed dark brown sugar
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. powdered ginger
  • 1 tsp. cayenne
  • 1 tsp. cumin

Combine the brown sugar and spices together in a small bowl. Taste and adjust the spices   to your liking. (If the nuts you bought were unsalted, add about 1 tsp. salt.) In a large bowl whip the egg white and water until frothy. Add the nuts and toss until they are completely covered. Sprinkle in the sugar and spice mixture and mix until well coated. Spread out on two Silpat or parchment lined baking sheets in a thin layer and place in the oven. Bake for 30 minutes, stir once, until nuts are golden…watching so they don’t burn.

****

As this year comes to a close, I want to take this opportunity to say “thank you” to all the readers who have visited my blog this year. Whether you are a regular or have just stopped by occasionally, I have appreciated your kind words about my recipes, my travels along the back roads of Europe and New England and our homes and gardens. I look forward to the new year and I hope you will continue to follow along. Let’s celebrate the passing of 2013 and welcome 2014 with eager anticipation. I hope that all your dreams will turn into realities in the coming year so let’s say “Cheers To The New Year”.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

270 Responses to Cheers To The New Year

  1. What a terrific idea! My dad and I were going over the New Year’s post meal snacks and nuts are on the menu! Will send him this and see if he gets as inspired as I am!
    And of course, Happy New Year to you. I wish you happy travels and safe journeys….

    • Karen says:

      Hi Natalia, spiced nuts are always nice to put out whether for a celebration or just to enjoy while watching TV. Thank you for your wish, I looking forward to the New Year and am already planning our first trip. Happy New Year.

  2. Saskia (1=2) says:

    Merry Christmas! Those are some extremely tasty looking nuts. I had no idea egg white was the magic ingredient for glossy nuts. Love the dash of cayenne for a touch of bite. Yum! Definitely pinning this to try later.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Saskia, We had a very nice Christmas…thank you. Egg whites are the best way to keep with spices and sugar on the nuts and does make them glossy. I hope you will enjoy the recipe. Happy New Year.

  3. I love these nuts. My recipe’s spice mix is just a bit different but I can’t leave them alone. I think New Year’s Eve would be the perfect time to try your recipe. No calories on New Year’s Eve I’ve been told. :)

    Happy New Year!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Maureen, I’m glad you like the nuts…the spices are a little different. Of course we never count calories on New Year’s eve, it would take all the fun out of it. After all, we all resolve to loose a little weight after the first of the year. :) Happy New Year.

  4. I really enjoy your blog Karen so many thanks for all you’ve shared through 2013 and I eagerly await reading about your travels and adventures in 2014. Wishing you a very happy new year!!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your lovely compliment, Kay. I’m happy that you enjoyed my posts this year. I’m already planning our first adventure for 2014 and hope you will like where we are going. Happy New Year.

  5. Happy 2014, when it arrives tomorrow at midnight. :)

  6. Happy New Year! And I just might be serving those!

  7. niasunset says:

    Thank you dear Karen, Happy New Year, love, nia

  8. Happy New Year to you and your family, Karen!

  9. I couldn’t agree more, Karen – nibbles are imperative to any party! Happy New Year!

  10. Mad Dog says:

    It looks like Father Time is in for a good evening. Happy New Year :-)

  11. Norma Chang says:

    Yes, Cheers to the New Year. I have enjoyed your blog and learned a great deal (especially through your travel posts). Looking forward to reading your future posts.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Norma, for your kind words. I’m happy to know that you have enjoyed my posts and are looking forward to those coming up in the New Year. You know there will be more traveling involved. :) Happy New Year.

  12. Oh yum, spiced nuts – my favorite. I must try your recipe. I’ve never used cinnamon or ginger and they both sound like a welcome addition. Cheers and Happy New Year to you too Karen. I have enjoyed your travels and fabulous tips and I look forward to more in the coming year.
    Sam

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sam, I like the flavors that the cinnamon and ginger add to the nuts…especially at this time of the year. I’m happy that you have enjoyed my posts this year. I’m already planning a new trip…heading down your way to get out of the snow for a week or so in a couple of months. I hope you and Meakin have a Happy New Year.

  13. Another nice recipe to try. Happy New Year and many happy adventures Karen. Diane

  14. Happy New Year Karen. You seem to be well prepared:)

  15. Karen Harris says:

    I love spiced nuts! As a matter of fact of loved nuts coated in pretty much any spice blend, sweet or savory. They just say party to me. These look wonderful. I hope you have had a wonderful holiday season and 2014 brings you wonderful things.

  16. Monique says:

    Your Santa is so photogenic Karen..:)

    All the very best to you in the coming year..

    • Karen says:

      Hi Monique, I do enjoy my Father Time…I got him for the Millennium New Year as it was such an important celebration that year. Thank you for your wish, I hope you have a wonderful New Year as well.

  17. And a happy New Year to you to Karen! Those nuts look great but I really love your Father Time. New Year’s Eve has been a very quiet one for me for years since my husband is a controller for a large company in the area & has to be there at midnight at closing to shut the books. Some years he makes it home before midnight, sometimes not but it’s sort of a cozy night for me with a fire & a good book. Cheers!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Diane, for your compliment and wish. Our New Year’s eve is always quiet too. Never knowing what the weather will be like, we enjoy staying home and cook a nice dinner…always better than what we can get at the restaurants in our area. :) I hope you and your family have a great 2014.

      • I agree completely – my days of elbowing through crowds of people are long gone. And next year, if all goes according to plan, my husband will be retied & we’ll spend New Year’s eve together for the first time in over a decade. Now, that will be memorable.

  18. David says:

    Happy New Year to you both, Karen! The nuts look perfect, and not too sweet – the perfect pairing with champagne! I am looking forward to seeing life through your back roads travels this year.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you David, for your nice wish and compliment. You are right, these nuts are not too sweet and do go nicely with champagne. I’m happy that we met in the blogworld and that you have enjoyed the back roads that I travel. Happy New Year.

  19. Lovely photos, as usual, Karen and nice recipe for the roasted nuts, too. :) Love your Father Time figurine. Hope you have a wonderful New Year. Cheers! :)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your nice compliment, Richard. I’m happy that you enjoyed the photo and recipe. I do like my Father Time…I got him for the Millennium New Year’s celebrations. I hope you have a great New Year.

  20. Looks tasty! These would make a good little gift too.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Anna, I’m glad you like the spiced nuts. They would make a perfect hostess gift, a little “thank you” gift or for any occasion, actually. Happy New Year.

  21. Carine says:

    Wishing you a fun New Year’s Eve and a very Happy 2014!

  22. And wishing you a wonderous New Year filled with delights and fantastic discoveries. You friend Tin Man has been stricken with the H1N1 Flu and for a week now has been lying in bed oiling his squeaking joints. I shall rise up on the eve of the New Year for a toast of bubbly…….not to worry.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tin Man, I’m so sorry to learn that you have the flu, that is terrible. I wish I could send you some nourishing soup to make you feel better. Absolutely, get those joints oiled and have a little bubbly. Champagne may not cure you but it will lift your spirits for a little while. Here is to a healthy and happy New Year, my good friend. :)

  23. Happy New Year to you Karen! It’s been wonderful visiting with you. I look forward to your posts in 2014!
    Btw, the spicy nuts look great, I could easily eat the whole bowl!

    Nazneen xx

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Nazneen, for your nice wish and lovely compliment. I’m glad that you like the spiced nuts…they are really good. Wishing you a healthy and Happy New Year.

  24. ladyfi says:

    Wishing you a magical New Year.

  25. A_Boleyn says:

    That’s my kind kind of nibble with a glass of bubbly. Just noticed that Father Time is dropping the ‘ball’ into a glass himself. :)

    Happy New Year

    • Karen says:

      Hi Boleyn, I’m happy to know that you like the spicy nuts, they do go very well with champagne. Here is a toast to your friendship…I hope you have a wonderful New Year.

  26. Nice recipe, lovely photo. Wishing you and yours the best of 2014 in every good way.

  27. Happy New Year Karen! Wish I had a big bowl of your nuts to nibble on, they look wonderful! Hope you have a wonderful start to 2014.

  28. Viveka says:

    Cheers to you 2 … I wish you a fantastic ending followed by a gentle beginning. Thank you so much for this beautiful and great idea …. Karen, a hearty thanks for your friendship during 2013!!!

  29. Mary Ann says:

    I have some Texas pecan halves just waiting to use this recipe. Thank you, Karen, and Blessings for your New Year!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mary Ann, A girl after my own heart. I used to live in Texas and we had lots of pecan trees on our property. They are my favorite nut and I put lots of them in this recipe. Their grooves hold all the spices really well…I hope you will enjoy the recipe. Happy New Year.

  30. The spiced nuts look delicious. Thanks for the recipe. In this part of the world, smoked salted pecans are a favorite at New Year’s Eve. Happy New Year.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Darryl, I’m glad you like the looks of the spiced nuts…thank you. I’ve never seen smoked salted pecans here but they must be incredibly good.

  31. kitchenriffs says:

    I love spicy roast nuts! I make a similar recipe, and love them. I should try yours sometime. I hope you have a wonderful New Year!

  32. barbaralilian says:

    I’ve loved being able to see the lovely places you’ve visited this year, especially Bavaria. The spices you’ve chosen for the roasted nuts.sound like a tasty mix, I’ll have to try those.. I send my very best wishes to you and your family for the new year 2014. and look forward to sharing your next travels.

  33. Jane says:

    Thank you for your good wishes, Karen, and the same to you! Your recipe for spiced nuts looks like just the perfect thing to go with champagne and an evening before the fire (yep, that’s us!). Thank you for the recipe! :)

    XO,
    Jane

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jane, I’m glad to know that you like the recipe…the nuts do go very well with champagne. Hope you are feeling better soon…wishing you a healthy and happy New Year. :)

  34. bellasabroad says:

    Ciao Karen! I love this recipe! I would love to share this on Pinterest. Are you able to add this button to your blog? Happy New Year!

    • Karen says:

      Ciao Trina, I’m happy that you like the recipe. I’ll try and get that button up on my blog. Wishing you and your family all the best for the New Year.

  35. Peter/Outlaw says:

    I like the idea of starting to drink now! Your nut recipe looks wonderful. May this be your happiest year ever!

  36. And thank you too to you Karen for a great year of sharing so much with us! Happy New Year to you and your loved ones.

  37. dhphotosite says:

    Cheers to you and your family for a happy and prosperous new year! Mixed nuts and bubbly…I’ll be right over! Should I park on the left or right side of the drive?

  38. Cathy says:

    Cheers Karen! Look forward to another yearof following you – Have a good new year’s party!

    • Karen says:

      Cheers to you too Cathy. I’m happy to know that you have enjoyed following along on the back roads with me. No partying, just a quite evening at home with my sweet husband, a little champagne and some good food. :)

  39. Karen, what a lovely post and a great recipe for NYE. Thank you for your beautiful posts throughout the year. May 2014 bring good things to your kitchen, my friend xo

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Lizzy, for your kind words…I welcome your visits and have enjoyed your friendship over the last year. Hopefully I’ll some recipes that will tempt you in the new year. :)

  40. megtraveling says:

    It’s hard to believe another year is almost over. It’s been wonderful and I hope you have a very Happy New Year Karen!

  41. Your mixed nuts recipe sounds wonderful, Karen. I would be quite happy with these, and a flute of champagne. :) Happy New Year to you and yours. xx

  42. Love the roasted nuts, and your Father Time is so festive. Happy New Year Karen and thank you for all your kind comments, it is always a pleasure to hear from you. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Seana, I’m glad you enjoyed the nut recipe with Father Time looking on. I have had him since the Millennium New Year celebration. I appreciate you sweet comment and wish. Happy New Year to you.

  43. I definitely have to try the recipe for your spiced nuts.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jovina, I hope you will enjoy the nuts…they are nice little nibble with a glass of wine or champagne when having a gathering of friends. Everyone seems to enjoy them.

  44. And cheers to you too Karen! And the snacks you made us are perfect. Claire x

  45. Wishing you a Happy New Year, prosperity and health!

  46. Eha says:

    Well, Down Under we are less than 11 hours away from writing down 2014 . . . may it be a good one for you and me and all those on the page – may each of us reach for what we need or want and hopefully achieve that. Thanks you for all the wonderful posts thru’ which I have learned much more than how to cook certain dishes fabulously well :) ! Oh, love your nuts – have never gone to quite so much ‘trouble’ – methinks well worth it :) ! Happy New Year, Karen!!

  47. Lulu says:

    Phil would love the nuts, and he’d like a martini to go with them. Can you believe we are about to greet another year?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Linda, Yes, the year has passed so quickly with the new one arriving in a few hours. All the best to you and Phil. You are right…the nuts would go well with Phil’s martini. :)

  48. Monica says:

    Cheers to you and a very Happy New Year ahead! I love spiced nuts to go with drinks and to have around for a party. And it is definitely party time!

  49. These are the perfect thing to serve at a holiday cocktail party! I can hardly believe we’re at the end of another year. Wishing you a very happy new year!

    Warmly,
    Allison

    • Karen says:

      Hi Allison, I know what you mean…this year seems to have flown by. Guests seem to always enjoy munching on nuts even when you have more substantial offerings. Happy New Year.

  50. Will definitely raise my chamomile tea to your bubbly and clink in the New Year! And will definitely be trying these spiced nuts. Can’t get enough of them, in differing ways, at this time of year. Wish you, and yours, well for ’14!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Johnny, I’m glad you like the spiced nuts…they are such a nice little snack. Your chamomile tea will ensure a good night’s sleep and a fresh start for the New Year. Wishing you all the best in the new year.

  51. My Kitchen Stories says:

    Hi Karen
    Hope you had a lovely Christmas. Thanks for visiting My Kitchen Stories in 2013. It was great to meet you. I hope you have a delightful new year nibbling on these tasty nuts. Best for 2014 Tania

  52. laurasmess says:

    Those nuts look delicious Karen! I keep telling myself that I’ll make spiced nuts for Christmas but I’ve only done them once so far, a couple of years ago. Hm, maybe I should make some for new year’s tonight instead. Snack central! Hope that you have a brilliant celebration and a blessed start to the new year! xx

  53. Wishing you Health and happiness for 2014. Loved reading about your adventures and recipes. Looking forward to see where you will be going in 2014.

  54. Joanne says:

    Happy new year chica!!

  55. Happy New Year, Karen! I was just reading something about the health benefits of nuts so this is a great snack for many reason. I love the spiciness with the cayenne and ginger – yum!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Becki, You are right, I heard about the health benefits of nuts as well. I like the little bit of spiciness and it can be adjusted to your own taste. Happy New Year.

  56. Penny says:

    Happy New Year Karen. I am so happy to have found your blog this year. We are with friends in the Florida Panhandle for the New Year’s Celebration this year. I love exploring new places and Destin, Florida has a lot to offer. Your spiced nuts look divine.

  57. Alway enjoy your blog Karen – I look forward to more in 2014.! Happy New Year.

  58. It makes my day very special to see your blog post in my e-mail box. Thank you Karen and I wish for you A Very Happy New Year and many more sensational posts!

  59. Sophie33 says:

    Cheers to the New Year, dear Karen!! Yeahhh! A lovely nuts recipe too! xxx

  60. Happy, happy New Year to you! Looking forward to reading more of you in 2014!

  61. Happy New Year to you Karen! Looks like a great spiced nut recipe – not too sweet and not too spicy.

    Guess what my resolution is this year? To keep up with my blogging :-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jeannee, First let me say that I like your resolution, I’ve missed your posts. :) You are right about the spice mix, not too spicy or sweet but easily adapted to anyone’s taste.

  62. Perfect for a party…perfect for a quiet evening home. Love this… Happy New Year Karen! All the best to you and your loved ones…

  63. Love that Santa – Happy New Year – Many Adventures for 2014!!!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Renee, I’m glad you like my Father Time…I’ve had him quite awhile. Thank you for your wish, I’m looking forward to more adventures this year.

  64. We honestly have still been debating whether to go out this evening (slim pickings on our little island but still a few) or stay in. The more blogs I read this morning the more I’m leaning towards staying in and enjoying easy yummy nibbles like these nuts and champagne.
    I look forward to many wonderful recipes and travel posts from you in 2014! Happy New Year Karen… x wendy

    • Karen says:

      Hi Wendy, I can certainly understand…there are very few restaurants where we live that serve a special meal tonight. We know if we stay at home that we will eat and drink well. With weather in the single digits, home seems like the best place to be. :) Thank you for your kind words, I always appreciate your visits and you nice comments. Happy New Year.

  65. What flavorful mixed nuts recipe and great pictures to welcome the New Year, Karen! Wishing you a very,very happy 2014!

  66. Love the sweet/spice kick! A VERY Happy New Year to you and yours, Karen!!!

  67. Wonderfully spicy mix you have there. I do hope the personalities you meet this new year are equal to the exceptional variety this mix reveals. Have a great New Year and God bless you.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Kerryman, for stopping by for a visit and liking my blog enough to follow. I appreciate your eloquent wish and look forward to your return. :)

  68. Suzanne says:

    What lovely photos. We had a couple of glasses of Prosecco at midnight – lovely. Happy New Year, Karen.

  69. Susan says:

    Oh my! Those nuts sound so good – and easy. I’ll have to give them a go. Happy new year, may 2014 be a good year for you.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Susan, for your nice compliment. The nuts are indeed good and so easy to prepare. I appreciate your nice wish and hope this year will be a good one for you as well.

  70. Happy New Year, Karen! :D Fae.

  71. Happy New Year Karen!! May 2014 be the best for you and your family!! ♥

  72. What a simple, yummy way to usher in the new year! I’d be pulling out the cashews first, then munching down the rest. Happy New Year!!! xo

    • Karen says:

      Hi Liz, You are right…the nuts are easy to make and a nice little nibble. The cashews are my husband’s favorite and I’m partial to the pecans. :)

  73. Happy New Year Karen! I love the recipe, those nuts look delicious :) All the best for 2014
    G

  74. I love nuts,particularly when spicy and roasted! A lovely idea up there. Wishing you a fanatabulous year ahead. Happy New Year :D

  75. Francesca says:

    Dear Karen,
    I wish you and your family a very happy and heathy New Year!

  76. I love your Father TIme centerpiece, Karen. He’s gorgeous! I am really delighted to have a good spiced nuts recipe. This is a recipe that would be enjoyed throughout the year. We have had so many guests throughout the holidays that I feel like I’ve indulged entirely too much and need to put a quick halt on the appetite! But it will return–probably too soon. LOL! Our NYE was very quiet. We went to the movies and that was it–I’m surprised we rallied to leave the house! And now the new year begins, and I send you a warm California wish for a happy and joy-filled new year. I love the first day of the new year. It always feels hopeful to me. Let’s see where it takes us. :-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Debra, I’m glad you like my Father Time, I got him for the Millennium New Year’s celebration. I think you would like the nuts. Stored in an airtight container, they will keep quite a long time. We could use some of your warm weather…tomorrow’s high is supposed to be 13 and we are going to get about a foot of snow. Thank you for your nice wish. :)

  77. We opted for a fun evening at home. Hope you had a great time ringing in the new year. Happy 2014!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lisa, It appears that there are a lot of us that have decided that the nicest way to ring in the New Year is at home. Wishing you all the best in this new year.

  78. ms lemon tart says:

    Karen, what a great treat. Hope you have a wonderful New Year.

  79. Sissi says:

    Brilliant idea, Karen! Some snacks, good champagne or/and other wines… and there is no need for a “regular” dinner ;-) Happy New Year!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Sissi, I’m glad you like the nut recipe. New Year’s eve was exactly that…a duck pate, triple cream cheese, nuts, crackers and a glass of champagne. Wishing you all the best this year.

  80. Cheers to the New Year, Karen. 2014 is going to be one tasty year!!! Thank you so much for sharing…

  81. hotlyspiced says:

    Happy New Year, Karen to you and all your family. I love the look of your spiced nuts and yes, they would go very well with a beautiful flute of champagne xx

  82. Thank you for your warm and wonderful posts, Karen. I have enjoyed your blog immensely and I am grateful you stopped over at my blog to introduce me to yours. Thank you for always sharing a little bit about yourself and your life along with your recipes and photos. Warmest wishes to you and yours for a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year! xo

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Stacy, for your kind words…I really do appreciate your lovely compliment. I hope this will be a wonderful year for you as well.

  83. Oh no Karen! That recipe looks really good – too good! I can see me eating tons of those nuts! :-) So lovely, I can’t wait to try it! Happy New Year to you and your husband. I’ve really enjoyed your blog and look forward to reading more. Best wishes, Dana

    • Karen says:

      Hi Dana, I’m glad you like the recipe…they really are good and keep well in an airtight container. Thank you for your lovely compliment and wish.

  84. Happy 2014! These spiced nuts look and sound incredible! :)

  85. Hello Karen, wishing you a very happy 2014. ;)

  86. Hi Karen, Yes, I can smell the ghost of gingerbread cookies (as well as these delicious nibbles). Your lovely house is Christmas personified. Wishing you and your family a thousand good things in 2014.

  87. I love roasted/spiced/glazed nuts. I make them for gifts every Christmas and people love them. Yours look delicious and a perfect snack for New Year’s! Happy 2014!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Amy, I’m glad you agree with me about this easy recipe. The nuts do make a nice gift as everyone does seem to love them. Thank you for your nice wish.

  88. Those nibbles look tasty! Wishing you a wonderful year, Karen! Looking forward to more of your posts :)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Sandra, for your nice compliment and wish. I’m happy to know that you enjoy my blog and are looking forward to this year’s posts.

  89. Happy New Year Karen! These mixed nuts would be a huge hit in our home! Love your holiday decorations it really gets you in the spirit. Wishing you a super 2014! Take Care, bAM

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Bobbie, for your wish and compliment. I’m glad you like my Father Time…I think he is nice. I’m sure the nuts would be very popular in your home, especially with your boys. :)

  90. ohlidia says:

    LOVE that Santa Karen! And I know I’d love those nuts. Happy New Year and all the best in 2014! xoxo

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lidia, I’m glad you like my Father Time, I’ve had him since the Millennium New Year’s celebration. The nuts are a nice mix of spice and sweet. I’m happy you like them, thank you.

  91. Hi Karen, Welcoming in the new year with a glass of bubbles is obligatory! I love that these snacks would equally suit a canape affair, a night out with pals or a night in with loved ones. A very happy New Year to you and your loved ones. Thank you so much for taking the time to stop by and enjoy my recipes and for your delightful thoughts & comments!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Alli, I agree with you about a glass of bubbly to celebrate the New Year. Yes, these nuts are very versatile…my husband is having some while watching football right now. I’ve always enjoyed the creativity on your blog. :)

  92. Who can say no to spiced nuts! Have an amazing 2014 Karen!

  93. Happy new year! I make some very similar nuts, they’re a very yummy snack :)

  94. Very nice–I’ve been looking for a new recipe for spicy nuts. Mine is tasty, but too complicated and involves deep frying. I’ll give yours a try!

  95. twbarritt says:

    Spiced nuts are perfect! I was sent a gift of spiced nuts this holiday, and it was delicious. All the best for the New Year!

    • Karen says:

      Hi TW, Spiced nuts are easy to make and everyone loves them. They make a perfect gift, not only for the holidays but as a “thank you” or hostess gift. Thank you for your wish, all the best to you as well.

  96. mjskit says:

    Hope you had a wonderful New Years Karen and that 2014 is off to a great start! Love the spiced nuts! Great beginning. :)

  97. Happy New Year Karen! Whenever I put out a bowl of freshly roasted and seasoned nuts they’re gone. If I put out the average store purchased variety, people pass them by. I’ll be saving this recipe for next year. Scratch that – this will go great for the Super Bowl!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Kristi, for your wish and compliment. I totally agree with you, everyone loves roasted nuts. They will be great for the Super Bowl, my husband is actually enjoying some now while watching the playoff games. :)

  98. Raymund says:

    Happy New Year! May you have more success this year on your blog :)

  99. Happy New Year and all the best to you and yours, Karen!

  100. I wish to you and your family a Very Happy and Prosperous New Year Karen! I love roasted spiced nuts!

  101. Rosa Mayland says:

    Happy New Year and best wishes for 2014!

    Those nuts look delicious.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  102. These look wonderfully addictive, I love the spices. Happy New Year, Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Laura, I’m happy to know that you like the roasted nut recipe…they do have a nice blend of spices and sweetness. Thank you for your compliment and wish.

  103. Hope your New Year is off to an amazing start! Hope it’s a wonderful, perfect year for you and your loved ones. =)

  104. wok with ray says:

    I think is is perfect for a pajama New Years Eve party. :) Thank you Karen and have a wonderful New Year! :)

  105. Velva says:

    Happy New Year Karen! I am looking forward to enjoying your travels and experiences on your blog in 2014.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your wish, Velva. I’m happy to know you are looking forward to following along on my travels. I’m already in the planning stages of a trip to Florida. Getting out of the cold and snow will be a welcomed change next month. :)

  106. Feliz año 2014 lleno de Alegrìa y Paz rica receta para picar,abrazos y abrazos.

  107. Kristy says:

    Happy New Year Karen!!! Thank you for taking us on all if your adventures. Here’s to a fabulous year ahead. Your nuts look scrumptious. We recently finished our batch of spiced nuts. They are great for holiday snacking!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Kristy. I’m happy that you have enjoyed by adventures and are looking forward to new ones. How about a trip out of the cold to sunny Florida next month. :)

  108. Lea Ann says:

    Happy New Year Karen. And look forward to a blogtastic 2014

  109. Eva Taylor says:

    Happy New Year to you too Karen, I wish you all the best for the coming year! Your roasted nuts look like the perfect snack with a little bubbly!

  110. Karen, Happy New Year to you and your family. I have so enjoyed all your posts about food and travels this past year. Time certainly does fly does it not? Thanks for stopping by my blog so often and leaving such nice comments. We all have to support each other in this blogging world don’t we. Looking forward to your life in 2014!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Teresa, Years seem to be flying by…I wish I could slow time down some. I’m happy that you have enjoyed my posts and are looking forward to my adventures this year, thank you.

  111. Charles says:

    Happy New Year Karen, in case I didn’t say it before!
    Love the look of the nuts – I didn’t think of making something like this before… great idea!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your wish, Charles. The spiced nuts are nice to put out when having a celebration. I’m sure you had so much delicious food during the holidays, perhaps you can make these next year when your family is visiting. :)

      • Charles says:

        Aah, “if” they visit… not sure they’ll be able to come every Christmas alas as they have other family members back in England who would like to see them I’m sure at Xmas, but perhaps in the summer!

      • Karen says:

        Actually Charles, they would probably love to come back to visit during the summer. That way you will be able to show them more of the new country you are now calling home. :)

  112. Wishing you continued health and happiness in 2014, Karen. To more great culinary journeys!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Nancy, for your lovely wish. I’m already working on a trip to sunny Florida to escape the cold and snow next month. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get a couple of chefs to share some of their good recipes. :)

  113. Amy Tong says:

    Yummy snacks to ring in the New Year! Cheers to you and wish you all the best in 2014!

  114. cquek says:

    This just screams comfort! Perfect for these cool autumn days/nights

  115. gotasté says:

    Happy New Year Karen! I have never tasted spiced nuts with such lovely ingredients. May you be blessed with a wonderful 2014! With your lovely smile and passion, beautiful recipes and gorgeous pictures, I will certainly continue to follow along if you don’t mind :) warmest, danny

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Danny, for your kind words…they are very much appreciated. I’m very happy that you will be following along this year. I think you would enjoy the nuts, I hope you get a chance to prepare them.

  116. afracooking says:

    Dear Karen, wishing you a wonderful New Year full of exciting travel, gorgeous food, loud laughter and an abundance of happiness.

  117. Love the recipe for the nuts – so yummy! Hope you have a wonderful 2014!

  118. Thank you for visiting my Blog and I wish you a healthy,happy and delicious 2014. I’m happy you enjoyed Bruges, it is gorgeous :-) And those nuts look delicious!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Marie, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice wish for the new year. I’m happy that you like the recipe for the nuts…they are as good as they look. I’m hoping that my husband and can return to Bruges in the near future, it is a wonderful city. :)

  119. grace says:

    i made glazed nuts to give out to all my friends and family this year–it was a great decision. :)

  120. Hi Karen,
    These spicy nuts look gorgeous! Wishing you a very happy and prosperous New year!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Asmita, for your nice compliment…I think you would enjoy the nuts. I appreciate your nice wish, I hope you will have a great year as well.

  121. Just wanted to pop by to let you know i made these nuts last night for my family and it was a huge hit. A little spicy, sweet, salty…it had it all going on. Take Care, BAM

  122. These look great! I hope you’ve had a great start to 2014 :)

  123. Happy New Year!! Pretty picture – perfect for the occasion. Bubbly is always welcome in our house! Seems to create a party out of an everyday occasion around here. Why wait for a holiday, right? LOL!

  124. Happy new years to you and wow – I love those nuts!!

  125. Hannah says:

    Happy 2014 to you, Karen! Wishing you a delicious, healthy, joyful new year. We inhale spiced nuts and yours look just wonderful. Your photos are stunning, too!

  126. Karen this sounds like a great and yummy recipe!!

  127. Happy New Year! Here’s to a wonderful 2014!

  128. Amy says:

    I’ve obviously very late to comment here, but I hope your new year is starting off great, Karen! I love a good spiced nut mix :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Amy, You are never too late as far as I am concerned. I appreciate your nice wish and that you took the time to read so many of my posts. Thank you very much.

Leave a Reply

