Turkey Tenderloin With Blood Orange Sauce

Inspired by recipes from the Estremadura region of Spain that feature their famous Pimenton de la Vera smoked paprika, Turkey Tenderloin With Blood Orange Sauce brings the flavors of Spain to your table. The vivid color and sweetness of blood oranges and the smoky flavor of smoked paprika from Spain are the perfect ingredients to enhance a poultry product that can sometimes be bland and dry.  This recipe is a great way to usher in spring as it is lighter and healthier than the winter comfort foods we’ve been eating over the past few months.

Turkey Tenderloin With Blood Orange

Turkey Tenderloin With Blood Orange Sauce

The smoked paprika in this recipe contributes color and flavor in both a marinade that the turkey rests in overnight and the blood orange sauce.

The Spanish Smoked Paprika Known As Pimenton De La Vera

The Spanish Smoked Paprika Known As Pimenton De La Vera

If you can not find blood oranges at your local market, navel oranges will be a good substitute although the color of the sauce won’t be quite as vivid.

The Glistening Red Orange Flesh Of A Blood Orange

The Glistening Red Orange Flesh Of A Blood Orange

If I lived in the Estremadura region of Spain, I would prepare this dish with a tenderloin from the famous black ibérico pigs that feed on nuts and acorns that give them an unbelievably rich flavor. You may live in an area where you can buy meat from a local farmer who raises these pigs and if so, prepare the dish with pork, if you wish. I have made this recipe with pork before and it is wonderful as well.  Whether using pork or turkey, I would suggest brining either meat for several hours to ensure that the meat will be very moist after cooking.

Turkey Tenderloin With Blood Orange Sauce

Blood Orange Sauce

  • 2 blood oranges (navel oranges may be substituted)
  • 1 garlic clove, minced fine
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/4 c. white wine
  • 1 1/2 c. orange juice (the reserved blood orange juice plus addition regular orange juice)
  • 1/2 tsp. sherry vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp. smoked paprika
  • salt and pepper to taste

Peel the oranges, removing as much white pith as possible. Place a strainer over a bowl and segment the oranges, letting the segments fall into the strainer and the juice collect in the bowl below. Set the segments aside and retain the juice.

Place the oil to a small sauce pan over medium heat, add the garlic and sauté for one minute until just golden. Add the wine and let reduce by half. Add the orange juice, vinegar, paprika, salt and pepper and simmer until thickened until desired consistency. Add the orange segments and carefully stir. Remove from the heat and keep warm.

Turkey Tenderloin

  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp. oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper
  • 4 Tbsp. orange juice
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 turkey tenderloin about 3/4 lb. (a pork tenderloin may be substituted)
  • 1 additional Tbsp. olive oil

Place all the ingredients except the additional oil into a ziplock bag, rub mixture over the tenderloin, remove the air and seal tightly. Refrigerate for at least 4 hours, preferably over night and up to two days turning from time to time.  Drain off the marinade, pat the tenderloin dry and let sit for 20 minutes before cooking.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Place oil in a ovenproof sauté pan and sear the tenderloin on all sides for about 5 minutes. Place in the oven and bake for 15 to 25 minutes, depending on size, until the tenderloin reaches 160 internal degrees on a meat thermometer. Place the turkey on a cutting board, cover with foil and let rest for 10 minutes. Slice about 1/2 inch thick, plate and top with sauce and blood orange segments.

 ****

To complete the dinner, I served the blood orange sauced turkey tenderloin with Catalan spinach that was sautéed with raisins and pine nuts and roasted potatoes with fresh herbs. A glass of Spanish Albarino white wine went perfectly with the citrus flavors in this dish. The glistening red-orange colors and citrus flavors in the meal made me forget about the doldrums of the winter that just passed and had me thinking of sunny Spain.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

198 Responses to Turkey Tenderloin With Blood Orange Sauce

  1. Gary Lum says:

    Looks gorgeous Karen :-)

  2. David says:

    Karen – this looks absolutely delicious. As locally raised turkey is hard to get here, I am going to go with locally raised pork! The flavor and color combinations on your plate are just gorgeous. Can’t wait to try this!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you David, for your nice compliment. I know you will enjoy this dish with locally raised pork…I’ve made it that way several times and it is delicious.

  3. hotlyspiced says:

    I love blood oranges, and yes they do give great colour to any dish as well as bring a lot of prettiness. I’m looking forward to seeing them back in the shops this season. This is a lovely turkey dish and I can see it would also work well with pork tenderloin xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, I’m with you about the great color that blood oranges add to a dish. It was an especially nice way to add color to a meal after our long white winter. This recipe works very well with a pork tenderloin.

  4. Dear Karen, let me take this opportunity and wish you a very Happy Easter (Frohe Ostern) – it is still Easter Monday – hope you had a wonderful time with family and friends and lots of really fabulous food!
    Turkey tenderloin is a wonderful cut of meat and this recipe certainly looks colorful and delicious – what a lovely presentation with the amazing blood oranges (alas, the season for blood oranges, or “moros” from Italy is over around here). I am sure this recipe works very well (as you already mentioned) with navel oranges!
    Wishing you a wonderful day!
    Greeetings from very sunny Bonn!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Andrea, for your kind wish and compliment. My husband and I had a wonderful day with friends that invite us to their home each Easter. I usually prepare this recipe with a pork tenderloin but wanted to make the dish with turkey this time to show people what a versatile cut of meat it is. The blood oranges give this dish a vibrant color but the flavor will be the same with navel oranges. I hope you are enjoying your Easter Monday celebrations with your family.

  5. Hopefully we will get blood oranges next season so that I can try this :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tandy, The blood oranges give this recipe wonderful color but can be prepared the navel oranges with the same good results. I hope you will enjoy the dish, thank you for your nice comment.

  6. Not only is this gorgeous, the taste must be incredible with the citrus, paprika and vinegar. I always have a jar of Pimenton on hand and use it often and the same goes for the bottle of sherry vinegar. Great dish Karen and so healthy too.
    Sam

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Sam, for your lovely compliment. I’m glad you like the ingredients that I used in this dish. People tend to only think of turkey for a holiday dinner but this meal was so delicious and healthy that it would be great any time of the year.

  7. Norma Chang says:

    What a wonderfully delicious meal, I am sitting down for breakfast and wish I could have what is in the photo, yes for breakfast!.
    Your blood orange sauce would go well with many other dishes, thinking: baked ham even tofu.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Norma, I’m glad you liked the turkey with the blood orange sauce. You are right, the sauce would be terrific with a lot of dishes…especially with pork and poultry.

  8. Sounds delicious. Those of us in this area of the state are sure fortunate that Tender Crop Farm has reopened Tuttles Farm, and we now have access to local, grass fed, fresh meat choices. Happy Spring. :-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Judy, I’m glad that you like the sound of the turkey with blood orange sauce, it really was delicious. We lived in Merrimac, Mass. when we first moved to New England and I used to drive down to Tender Crop for their meats and produce. I’m happy they are taking over Tuttles farm, it is a win, win situation for everyone. I hope you have a great spring as well. I appreciate your nice wish and compliment on the meal.

  9. This looks and sounds delicious, Karen. What an unusual recipe – I must see if there are any blood oranges still around as I would love to try this. Thanks for sharing!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your nice compliment, Selma…I’m happy you like the recipe. If you can’t find blood oranges, navel oranges will have the same flavor just not the vibrant color.

  10. Maureen says:

    I was swooning over the turkey (or pork) and then I read the spinach with raisins and pine nuts. I’d be in heaven for sure. What a clever dish.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Maureen. I’m happy that you liked the whole meal…I think each component of the meal was a good complement to the other.

  11. Penny says:

    This looks so vibrant Karen. Blood oranges were in season in Florida when we were there last month. I will have to check around here to see if I can find them. Blood oranges also make the prettiest pink cream cheese frosting for cakes. Your dish is inspiring.

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your kind words, Penny…thank you! When I find blood oranges or Meyer lemons which are both hard to find here, I buy some extra and keep them in the bottom of my refrigerator…they last quite a long time when used for cooking. I can imagine how nice they would be for pink cream cheese frosting…my fingers were quite pink after peeling and segmenting the blood oranges. :D

  12. Karen we love smoked paprika and recently discovered it…and we fell in love with blood oranges when we were in Italy…so this seems like a perfect meal for us to try…I can smell all those spices with the oranges melding together…OK now I am hungry!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Donna, I’m happy that I have provided you with a recipe for some of your new favorite food ingredients. Even if you can’t find blood oranges and use navel oranges, I think you will really enjoy this dish. Thank you for your nice compliment but sorry to have made you hungry. :)

  13. This sounds just delightful………AND…..now I want to go back to Spain!!!!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Tin Man, I believe this is a dish that you would enjoy. I know what you mean…when I see posts about foods from where I have traveled, they always make me want to go back. :)

  14. Cecile says:

    Karen – this looks AMAZING!! I have a recipe for cooking a whole chicken with wine and oranges – and I can’t wait to try this recipe with either turkey or pork ’cause the juice from the oranges seems to tenderize the meat and adds so much flavor. (Just remembered I also love preparing beef simmered in a whole bottle of red wine and oranges/juice….. I should get going and blog both of those recipes!!) Pinning this baby – as always!! ; o )

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Cecile, for your nice compliment. I’m happy to know that you like my recipe for the turkey with blood orange sauce, it really was delicious. I hope you will enjoy the dish as much as my husband and I did. I appreciate your pin. :D

      • Cecile says:

        Will you be leaving soon for your summer place? I spent one night at our home in the Pocono mountains on my way back from what I’ve been calling My Big Trip (one whole month!!).

      • Karen says:

        If the weather is nice, we will go up this weekend to start the process of opening up the cottage. It always takes a few trips to Maine to get the systems up and running and stocked with food. :)

      • Cecile says:

        Our Pocono home is open all year, so that’s easy but, when we had the farm in Quebec, we’d drain all the pipes etc. Do you do that in Maine? And I know what you mean… it does take several trips to get everything the way you want it when you re-open the house. I’m still dragging stuff back & forth between the Poconos and this house – things I think might look better at one place as opposed to another!!

      • Karen says:

        Yes, we do drain all the pipes and shut down the well, put antifreeze in everything, disconnect and take back to New Hampshire the faucets and our instant hot water heater. That’s what we will be taking up this weekend so the plumber can get the water back on for us.

  15. lulu says:

    We are off to Spain today, and I can’t wait to taste the flavors of the country.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Linda, I hope the two of you have a great time in Spain. I know you will enjoy the food, even the fries are cooked in olive oil. Everything that I ate while traveling there was delicious. Have fun. :D

  16. ela hester says:

    Blood orange sauce..? My Goodness….that must be fantastic! :) ela

  17. bakeritalia says:

    Looks wonderful, I love the idea of paprika and blood orange!

  18. This looks like a delicious recipe for turkey. Something different to make. Thanks for sharing.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Jovina, for your nice compliment. I’m glad you like the recipe…it really is a different way to prepare turkey and a delicious one at that. :)

  19. Karen, this looks amazing! The turkey tenderloin looks really tender and delicious, but that citrus sauce with smoked paprika has stolen the show. Beautiful!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Angie, I’m happy to know that you like the turkey with the blood orange sauce. I have to agree with you about the citrus sauce…it did still the show, the flavor was amazing. :)

  20. Such lovely colors and flavors, as ever, Karen!

  21. What a beautiful dish and I will try this with a pork tenderloin, one of my favorite cuts of meat. I might even start up my grill :)

  22. Sophie33 says:

    My dinner for tomorrow evening for sure! It all looks freaking delicious, dear Karen! Yum yum Yummmm! :)

  23. Ngan R. says:

    Smoky blood orange sauce over turkey tenderloin! Wow, I have not had such a pleasure but am pinning this to try that sauce. The fixings look good too!

  24. laurasmess says:

    Amazing post Karen! That header picture is entirely mouthwatering, splashed with colour, beautiful! I admit that I hardly cook turkey at home. I can imagine how wonderful that blood orange sauce would be with it though. Yum! I’m going to give this a go :)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Laura, I appreciate your lovely compliment. Turkey seems to be one be an overlooked meat but when cooked properly, is moist, tender and delicious.

  25. Looks like a MUST to try Karen, I’m pleased that it can just as delicious with pork tenderloin, as here in France I find the Turkey not so flavourful ! Only just out of hospital and taking some tablets that make me feel a bit queasy, so my appetite is not back to normal, but this recipe will be put on hold to try in a week or two. especially with a nice glass of chilled white wine, which will have to be French of course. Enjoy the rest of the Easter celebrations, It’s rather quiet this year for our household.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Barbara, I think you will enjoy the recipe made with pork…I’ve done it several times and think it is delicious. Even though a hospital is supposed to make you better, sometimes it takes a while to start getting back to normal from all the medicines they give you. I hope that you and Mr. France had a nice even if it was quiet Easter. Hope your back is much better soon. :)

  26. kitchenriffs says:

    I love the color of blood oranges! So vivid. This is a wonderful dish — loads of flavor. I actually do have access to decent pork — great idea to use it in this dish. Super dish — thanks.

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, You are right, the blood oranges give this dish a vibrant color but the flavor is the same if you have to use navel oranges. I believe you will really enjoy the recipe made with a pork tenderloin. Thank you for your nice compliment, as always.

  27. afracooking says:

    What a unique combination of flavours! And really ever so pretty! Beautiful dish, Karen!

  28. Love the combination on the plate, the blood oranges and the spices… Beautiful! :)

  29. Anonymous says:

    Lots of ingredient I love – blood oranges and Spanish smoked paprika. The turkey tenderloin is a wonderful compromise. I would need a loan to make the dish with ibérico ham.

    • Karen says:

      I’m happy that you like the recipe. I agree about the ibérico pork being expensive if and when you can find it. The turkey tenderloin or a regular pork tenderloin both work well, I’ve made the dish both ways. Thank you for your nice compliment and visit…sorry I don’t have your name. :)

  30. A_Boleyn says:

    What a stunning combination of colours and flavours, Karen. I want to reach into my monitor and snatch up that plate. :) I haven’t bought blood oranges in ages … I’ll have to keep an eye open for them at the grocery store.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Boleyn, I appreciate your lovely compliment. I have one blood orange left in the fridge…they really do add wonderful color to a dish.

  31. ah! look at those photos! so beautiful! Looks delicious Karen!

  32. As always another dish that looks and sounds amazing!

  33. Conor Bofin says:

    I love the idea of a blood orange sauce with the turkey. Very inventive.
    Belated Happy Easter Karen.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your nice compliment, Conor. I thought the spices and blood orange sauce really gave some pizzazz to the turkey. I appreciate you wish, we had a lovely Easter. I hope you and your family did as well. :)

  34. lvaletutto says:

    This looks very delicious. I’m sure the citrus lightens up the dish and adds a great contrasting flavor to the poultry. I like the idea of garnishing the turkey not just with the gravy but slices of oranges too!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Laura, The turkey was as good as it looks, even if I do say so myself. Turkey can be bland sometimes and I thought the citrus was a great accompaniment to the dish. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  35. These Spanish flavors sound wonderful, what a mouth watering dish!

  36. glamorous glutton says:

    This looks very delicious, I bet the orange sauce tastes amazing. I haven’t brined meat before but I think I’ll give it a try. GG

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your nice compliment, GG. The orange sauce is great and would go well on many dishes. I think you will be pleased the the results of brining…from a few hours to overnight, especially on lean meat such as pork and turkey that can sometimes be dry when cooked. You can find two techniques I’ve used if you check my porchetta or bourbon glazed pork chop recipes. :)

  37. Boy, could I go for that right now. It looks so good in your photo. Such a different way to serve the turkey in place of traditional gravy.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Donna, I’m glad you like my turkey tenderloin with blood orange sauce. Yes, it seems that most turkey dinners include gravy but I wanted to do something with a little more taste. I appreciate your nice compliment, thank you.

  38. Karen I have some questions about your travels to Germany. I’d like to address them through emails if possible. Would you mind sharing an email address with me at linda@theorangebee.com – (which is my email) I know you’ve travels extensively and remember specifically (I think) that Germany was a place you wrote about that intrigued me. I’ll try to find it by searching but I may have questions that go beyond what you posted! Thank you so very much!

  39. Susan S says:

    This is such a deliciously fresh recipe for spring, Karen! The sauce looks so good. Turkey often gets overlooked after Thanksgiving but this is a great reason to change that!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Susan, for your lovely compliment, I’m glad to know that you like the recipe. It is so true that turkey tends to be thought of only during the holidays. The price is usually good, it is healthy and there is so much that you can do with it. :)

  40. Barbara says:

    Both dishes sound wonderful! I will be giving them a try. Thank you for posting.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Barbara, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. I’m happy to know that you like the meal and want to give it a try. I hope you will enjoy it as much as my husband and I did. :)

  41. What a colourful meal Karen! Definitely paints a picture of sunny Spain in my mind!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ming, I’m glad that you like the meal and that you are like me…that the ingredients remind you of sunny Spain. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  42. Beautiful, Karen! We love turkey with citrus at our house. In fact, every Thanksgiving we make a roasted turkey with tangerine glaze. (No other turkey has compared when we change things up. We keep going back to it!) I cannot wait to try your recipe with the blood orange sauce with wine! Love the smoked paprika addition to the turkey tenderloin as well as the sauce, too. Thanks for sharing!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Stacy, If you like citrus with turkey, I believe you will really enjoy this recipe. A tenderloin is especially nice for a meal during the week as it doesn’t take long to cook. Thank you for your lovely compliment, as always.

  43. Velva says:

    Rock on! This recipe is beautiful. Smoked paprika is an important ingredient in Spanish cooking.

    Velva

    • Karen says:

      I’m glad you like the recipe, Velva and appreciate your nice compliment. Yes, smoked paprika is a wonderful ingredient…I use it in lots of dishes…Spanish or not. :)

  44. Eha says:

    Lovely recipe already filed for making! Am ‘pretend-tasting’ every part on my palate typing and know I’ll love it, tho’ can’t get blood oranges here in the country usually. Turkey as a healthy and quite cheap protein seems to have become very popular Down Under . . . . the main processing plant in NSW is only about ten kms from me and has its own farm shop . . . . so one product I can always get. Oh: beautifully plated also!! Thanks!!!!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Eha, I’m happy to know that you have filed this recipe away to make in the future. The dish will taste the same with navel oranges, the sauce just won’t have the dark red orange color. I’m surprised that turkey isn’t cooked more often here because as you said, it is a healthy choice and reasonably priced.

  45. Simply beautiful! And I’m sure amazing-tasting too.

  46. wok with ray says:

    Blood orange and paprika — nice combination for the turkey. Love the vibrant colors as it make the dish very appetizing. Have a good week Karen! :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ray, I’m glad you like my combination of flavors in this dish…I thought they were great. Thank you for your compliment and wish, I hope you have a nice week as well.

  47. reggiorif says:

    It must be just delicious. I love the combination of white meat and citrus fruits. I just woke up but I admit I could have this dish right now… I just have a question: is the taste of smoked paprika much different from the regular one? I can’t find the smoked kind… so I guess I will have to order it.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Didi, You are right, the combination is delicious. The smoked paprika does have a smokey taste to it and is used a lot in Spanish recipes. I have regular paprika as well but have not used it in the dish but I’m sure it would be good too. If you decide to order it, there are two versions…sweet and hot and I use the sweet.

  48. Liz Posmyk of Bizzy Lizzy's Good Things says:

    What a delicious combination of flavours! Love it!

  49. Fantastic combination. Such a gorgeous looking sauce! I’ll be keeping my eye out for some blood oranges!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Sandra, for your nice compliment. I’m happy to know you like the recipe. If you can’t find blood oranges, navels are a good substitution.

  50. Karen your recipe is mouth-watering! orange juice, sherry vinegar and sweet paprika the taste has to be great!

  51. Love the photos – such a great collection of colors. There is something special about paprika, especially the smoky kind.

  52. The bloody orange is so flavoursome, I bet it really added a delicious twist and kick to this turkey :D
    So tender!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  53. that blood orange sauce looks divine! Simple amazing alongside the turkey

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jessica, The blood orange sauce is so good you want to just eat it with a spoon. It went great with the turkey, I’m happy you like the recipe.

  54. annelifaiers says:

    I love the sound of this dish….such fresh and vibrant flavours. And the colour! Wonderful :)

  55. Arlene Poma says:

    Oh, Karen! The photographs are sooooooo beautiful. Of course, I love the recipe, too. I am a big fan of paprika. I’d also like to try this with pork, too.

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your lovely compliment, Arlene. I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos and recipe. I’ve made this recipe with pork as well and it is delicious. I believe you will like the meal prepared either way.

  56. Raymund says:

    Karen that sauce looks so delicious, it matches well that turkey

    • Karen says:

      Hi Raymund, I’m happy to know that you like the recipe for the blood orange sauce. It is delicious and does go very well with the turkey. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  57. Kristy says:

    Having just returned from Spain, i would love to get Spain on my kitchen table ASAP! This looks phenomenal Karen.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristy, I appreciate your nice compliment and think you would enjoy this recipe as it does included a lot of the flavors from Spain. I’ll be looking forward to hearing about your trip.

  58. Karen – I love the idea of these flavors together and that plate of food looks just wonderful! And I love turkey – we eat it often and this gives me another way to prepare it – thanks!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Donalyn, for your nice compliment…I’m happy that you like the recipe. If you eat turkey often, I believe you will enjoy this meal. :)

  59. Daniela says:

    Blood oranges are one of Mother Nature’s best gifts.
    I just love their color and flavor.
    To use them in a sauce, accompanying a savory turkey tenderloin is a brilliant idea!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Daniela. I’m happy that you like my idea of using blood oranges in a sauce to compliment the turkey. My husband and I really enjoyed the dish.

  60. chantal says:

    Hi Karen,
    Your dish sounds yummy and I’am also very happy to discover your nice blog.
    Chantal

  61. Eva Taylor says:

    I must say that blood orange lends a fantastic colour to the sauce and the dish. Even though we should be wanting more salad like dishes the weather has not been very spring-like and this dish would be certainly welcome. I can only imagine how wonderful your beautiful home must have smelled while you were creating this dish.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Eva, for your nice compliment. This is a healthy meal that I think you your enjoy Blood oranges add wonderful color to this dish but the nice thing is the flavor is just as good with navel oranges. :)

  62. The blood orange sauce sounds divine! I’m not even sure were to get blood oranges from around here, I’ll have to keep my eyes open for them!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Amanda, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your lovely compliment. If you can’t find blood oranges, navels will work just as well…you just won’t have as vibrant of color to the sauce.

  63. plumdirt says:

    Oooh, I’m going to have to try this!

  64. What an amazing dish!!
    It looks so delicious and comforting and full of wonderful flavours.
    Thanks for sharing.

  65. I think this would be great with pork! I’m not sure I could get my Mr. Picky Eater to enjoy a turkey tenderloin but he loves a pork one and I am going to try the orange with it. Sounds like a wonderful combo!

  66. Adri says:

    My, but this is sunny Spain on a plate! Pimenton is wonderful – so flavorful, and blood oranges are one of my favorite fruits. I grow them in my garden, and every year I just treasure those oranges. Thanks for another great way to use them!

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your kind words, Adri. You are so lucky to have blood oranges growing in your garden…I’m happy that I could provide you with a new way to use some of them. Enjoy!

  67. ladyfi says:

    Love the colour of that Spanish pimenton!

  68. What a wonderful recipe using blood oranges! I think I missed them during their last season as they’re only around for such a short time. But they’re such a treat!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lorraine, I’m glad you like the recipe. If blood oranges aren’t available, the sauce can be made with navels and have the same flavor just not the color.

  69. I love smoked paprika and i always have a little bag in my pantry! I also love the sweet and savory flavors in meals and I know that this dish is exactly what I would love to try!

  70. Qué gran post!!!! Es muy bueno….Tu blog nos parece fantastico.
    Saludos Karen.
    http://www.recetasbonappetit.wordpress.com

  71. I already love Duck and Orange, so something tells me that Turkey and Blood orange is the next best thing. No doubt you are enjoying the last of the fresh Spring days, before the swelter of Summer hits.

    Turning on the oven and basking in it’s warmth, included!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Alli, You are correct, orange does go so well with poultry…I believe you would enjoy this recipe. Actually our spring has been very cold so far and the kitchen feels good when the oven is on. One nice thing about living in New England is that we usually don’t have very many sweltering days. As a matter of fact, a heat wave is three consecutive days over 90 degrees and that doesn’t happen often. :)

  72. Delicious recipe! Love the colours and all the flavours!

  73. Liz Berg says:

    I love brining turkey and pork, too…sure helps prevent a dried out entree! And that blood orange sauce sounds amazing!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Liz, I’m glad you agree with me about brining turkey and pork to keep it from drying out when cooked. The orange sauce was so good, I could have eaten it with a spoon. :) Thank you for your nice compliment.

  74. Juliana says:

    Beautiful combination Karen…turkey tenderloin and blood orange, I always like turkey paired with fruit…
    Thanks for the recipe…hope you are having a wonderful week :D

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your lovely compliment, Juliana. I have to agree with you about fruit going so well with poultry. I’m glad you like the recipe. I hope you have had a nice week as well, thank you.

  75. Beth says:

    What a gorgeous meal! I love making meals based on our trips – they bring back so many memories. Love the blood orange sauce.

  76. mjskit says:

    That sauce with the blood orange and the smoked paprika is such a gorgeous color. Being a lover of anything smoked (especially chile powders), I can already taste the sauce and how it must really perk up that turkey. Great dish!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your kind words, MJ. Yes, I think you are a person who can really appreciate the flavor that the smoked paprika adds to this dish. I’m glad you like the recipe.

  77. saucygander says:

    That sounds delightful! I love smoked paprika, and citrus on poultry!

  78. I love a different way to serve turkey. This is so beautiful, Karen. To be honest, I love smoked paprika so much sometimes I add it to things that probably don’t really benefit all that much from the addition. LOL. And I have never really utilized blood oranges, although I have access to them, so this is a perfect dish for me to try. I’m really impressed with the many flavors in this dish. It’s very appealing to me! :-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Debra, Since you have access to blood oranges, you really should try making this sauce…I think you would love it. I am like you and use smoked paprika in lots of dishes…it adds a nice smokey element that I enjoy.

  79. Hi Karen!
    What an amazing dish you have presented us with today! Love the color and the flavorings sound awesome! I think I would go with the turkey but pork sure sounds good too! Thank you so much for sharing, Karen…

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your kind words, Louise…I’m happy that you like the recipe. I’ve made the dish both ways and it is equally good with pork or turkey.

  80. I swear Karen, you should write food reviews. Not only does this look delicious but your description had my mouth watering before of even saw the finished meal. You must also have a very refined palate because you seem to pick out and describe each flavor so well. Yes, I could see this working with pork too.

    • Karen says:

      You are so nice Diane, I really do appreciate your lovely compliment about my food posts. My husband and I thought the dish was very good…I’m glad you like the turkey with the orange sauce.

  81. Sissi says:

    Gorgeous tangy dish, Karen. Brining turkey breast is an excellent idea because it tends to dry a lot. I will remember your tip next time I cook it. What a coincidence: I also love albariño variety wines and actually have just bought a case from a new producer!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your nice compliment, Sissi. I’m happy that you like the recipe and the tip about brining the turkey. Brining does keep both turkey and pork from drying out when it is cook. I love Albarino wine and think it goes very well with many meals that I prepare…I’m glad that you agree. :)

  82. What a lovely feast and so perfect to usher in the lighter meals of spring. Is it true.. you have spring now?? I sure hope so.. we haven’t had many consecutive days of sun, never mind warmer temperatures. My puppy is begging to go for her walk and I can’t bear the thought of boots and coats and toques again:P Wishing you spring soon!! xx

    • Karen says:

      I’m happy that you like the meal, Barbara and appreciate your lovely compliment. The turkey was indeed a lighter meal than all the comfort foods that I prepared over the winter. Our spring has been colder and wetter than normal…I’m still wearing a jacket when I’m outside as well. Let’s hope it warms up soon. :)

  83. Karen, I thought I had commented, but must have got distracted. Your dish looks delish and so colorful, it has to be healthy.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Madonna, Don’t worry, that happens to me all the time. :) I appreciate your taking the time to come back and comment…that is so nice. I’m glad you like the recipe, my husband and I thought it was a nice flavorful and healthy dish.

  84. What a beautiful plate of food. And with the paprika, I must try this very soon. I’m not sure what a turkey tenderloin is, but I’d love to try this with a roasted turkey breast.

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your nice compliment, Lea Ann. A turkey tenderloin is a tender piece of white meat under the breast of the turkey. All of the companies that sell different parts of the turkey sell tenderloins as well; they usually come two to a package. You can also find pre-seasoned individual ones but I don’t use them…I would rather brine and season them myself. I like to use the tenderloins as they cook so quickly for weeknight meals but this would be terrific using a turkey breast. :)

  85. twbarritt says:

    It’s so rare to find blood oranges where I live, but what a beautiful sauce it makes!

    • Karen says:

      Hi TW, I know what you mean…I can only get the blood oranges at one market in our area. The sauce can always be made with navel oranges. The taste will be the same, the color will just be a little less vibrant. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  86. Mary says:

    Hi Karen, looks delicious, it looks like a nice alternative to a low calorie turkey meal. I’ll bet your sauce would also be nice with chicken or pork too! Thank you for a yummy recipe!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Mary, for your nice compliment. The orange sauce is so good that you will want to eat it by the spoonful so yes, it will be great with pork and chicken as well. :D

  87. loving all these colours!!!

  88. wow what a wonderful sauce love blood oranges, love citrus season but excited for fresh local berries

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rebecca, I’m glad you like the blood orange sauce. Yes, I love fresh berries as well. Here in New Hampshire where the snow only melted a few weeks ago, we’ve got a pretty good wait before we see any local berries. :)

  89. Mélanie says:

    OMG, Karen: it’s rainin’ outside and in my mouth… :) sooo yummy!!! the orange sauce caramélisé is very popular in France, too, we often have it with duck and/or pork…

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mélanie, I’m glad you like the recipe. You are right this sauce is very good with pork and duck as well. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  90. This dish is so pretty and looks really delicious. Blood oranges are such a great treat this time of year and add such nice color and flavor to many things.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Amy, I’m glad you like this dish and appreciate your nice compliment. The blood oranges do give wonderful color and flavor to the dish but when not in season can be substituted with navel oranges.

  91. Karen, you are making me so hungry. Both your photography and your description of your dish are amazing. Love that blood orange sauce. I hope there was a little left over for you as I bet this would be amazing as lunch the next day.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Bam, for your nice compliment. I think you would really enjoy the orange sauce. Yes, the leftovers were great. :)

  92. Serena says:

    I love this recipe Karen, the pictures are stunning! It must be so tasty!

  93. bellini says:

    I should have made a blood orange sauce rather than a cake. But then again………….there would be room for both:D

  94. viveka says:

    Very nice dish and I like the idea about the sauce, but as you know I don’t like turkey inn any shape or form. But this sauce I will try with chicken and of course excellent with duck. Smoked pepper I can’t find anywhere in Landskrona, have to put on my shopping list for Chicago.
    Or maybe I can find it in Denmark. And I like that you have kept the blood orange wedges in the sauce. Blood orange we only have in the winter … so this will be bookmarked.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Viveka, I thought about you when I wrote this post because I remember you saying that you don’t like turkey. The blood orange sauce is delicious and would be great with duck or chicken. It was so good, I had to stop myself from eating by the spoonful. I hope that you can find smoked paprika somewhere, I use it in so many dishes. Thank you as always for your lovely compliment.

  95. cabinet stew says:

    wow wow wow! Now I NEED to make this!

Leave a Reply

