Almondine or Amandine

Almondine or Amandine, is a fancy name for a simple food preparation that can change a bland and boring dish into something special. Trout almondine or amandine, (the spelling depends on if  you are American or European) and sole almondine are often found on menus at restaurants in Europe. These two fish are delicate in flavor and lend themselves perfectly to this classic preparation. Both dishes are usually served very simply with buttered new potatoes and haricot vert. Another popular almondine dish is green beans almondine, where browned butter toasted almonds add a wonderful flavor and crunch to tender, young green beans.

After spotting fresh flounder at my local fish market, I decided to prepare flounder almondine. However, you can prepare this dish using any thin, mild tasting, white fish filets such as trout, sole, snapper or tilapia that you have available in your area.

Flounder Almondine

Flounder Almondine

You may think that cooking fish at home is difficult but it is just the opposite, it is easy. To insure that your fish is moist and delicious, just remember to not over cook whatever fish you are preparing. Essentially, this is a recipe for fish that is lightly floured and pan-fried in olive oil and a little butter and then  sauced with a classic butter sauce in which slivered almonds have been browned. A little squeeze of fresh lemon adds just enough acidity to balance the butter. This fish dish comes together very quickly and is perfect for a weeknight dinner. Although easy to prepare, I believe your family or friends will love it.

Flounder Almondine

Serves 2, adjust the recipe according

  • 2 or 3 Tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil
  • Wondra or flour for dusting the fish
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 or two flounder filets per person, depending on size
  • 4 Tbsp. butter, divided
  • 1/4 c. sliced almonds
  • 1 – 2 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp chopped fresh parsley (optional)

Season each side of the flounder generously with salt and pepper. Lightly dust the fish with Wondra or flour and shake off any excess. Heat the olive oil and 1 tablespoon of butter in a large nonstick sauté pan over medium heat. When the butter has stopped foaming, add the flounder (depending on the size of the filets, it may be necessary to cook the fish in two batches). Cook until lightly browned, about 2 minutes, depending on the thickness of the fish. Turn carefully with a large spatula and cook about a minute more. You want to be careful not to over cook the fish as the filets are thin. Remove to individual plates and keep warm.

Drain out the oil and wipe the sauté pan with a paper towel and add the remaining 3 tablespoons of butter to the pan. When the foaming has subsided, add the almonds  to the pan and cook until the butter and almonds are just beginning to brown, 1 to 3 minutes. Add the lemon juice and heat through, 1 to 2 minutes. Pour the sauce over the flounder filets. You can garnish your fish filets with chopped fresh parsley or slices of fresh lemon, if you wish, then serve.

****

When I serve a dish that is basically brown, I like to make sure that I add some color to the plate. As you can see, I served the flounder almondine with parsley potatoes and tiny green beans that were sautéed in olive oil and garlic.   Steamed asparagus, sautéed spinach or a green salad would also be good to serve with the fish. This weeknight meal came together in less that 30 minutes and was anything but ordinary. If you get a chance to try a fish or vegetable served almondine or amandine style, I hope you will enjoy it.

 

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

186 Responses to Almondine or Amandine

  1. That looks delicious, Karen. Good fish served simply like this is always a treat.

    • Karen says:

      I’m glad you like the dish, Kay. I agree with you, when you have a fresh piece of fish a simple preparation is all you need. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  2. The perfect meal Karen, and may I say beautifully presented.

    Madonna
    MakeMineLemon

  3. Sarah says:

    Love this idea – and it’s something I’ve never tried. The green beans with almonds sound delicious. Do you think it might work with asparagus too?

  4. ela hester says:

    Oooh, that’s nice. Simple yet refined.. :) ela

  5. Almondine is one of our favorite ways to prepare trout. You’ve covered all of the bases to make this dish wonderful Karen, including the lemon and colorful vegetables for the plate. Seeing Wondra reminded me to pick some up at the store. I didn’t see it on my shelf the last time I looked and it is not as heavy as all-purpose flour for dusting fish.
    Sam

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sam, I’m glad you agree about how good almondine is with fish…it will always be a favorite of mine. I love using Wondra, it is so finely milled and does give a much littler coating to food. I appreciate your nice compliment.

  6. Norma Chang says:

    I am getting ready to sit down for breakfast and thinking your Flounder Almondine with new potatoes and string beans would make a healthy and satisfying breakfast allowing me to stay in the garden the whole day and get much needed work done. Drooling.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Norma, You are correct about this being a healthy meal that is very satisfying. Thank you for your nice compliment. I worked in our gardens in Maine over the weekend so I can appreciate knowing the work ahead in yours.

  7. reggiorif says:

    I usually don’t really crave fish… but you made me reach such state of mind ;) – it looks simple and delicious and the almonds sound like a great addition; so nice!

  8. Eha says:

    A beautiful dish the variation of which I have at least once a week. Tasty, healthy and fast!! And I do agree about the need for colour on the plate. [Actually colours - health: easiest food chemistry to remember :) !] ‘Almondine’ and ‘amandine’ – methinks I have never thought of the spelling!! Now I am European-born and Australians spell a lot of words differently from the Americans, but I believe I also use ‘almondine’ mostly!!! Am laughing because my Australian speller is trying so hard to make me write ‘almandine’ here – that makes three variations on the theme !!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eha, I’m glad you agree with me about almondine being a nice preparation for fish. My spell check doesn’t like the spellings I’ve used either. I had to override it every time I typed it in this post, I’m sure it wouldn’t approve of the Australian way of spelling it either. :D

  9. This looks like it could become my new favorite as I love almonds and fish and have occassionally had Almondine but when out. Delicious!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Laila, If I see this dish on a restaurant menu, I order it too. I’m happy that you like it as well. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  10. Monique says:

    A classic..
    simple ..elegant and delicious!

  11. Ruth says:

    Yummy, I love fish! I’m so happy you chose flounder, too, it gets overlooked so often for “fancier” fish. Now I kind of wish I had a plate of fish and chips lol.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ruth, We get fresh flounder in our market a lot and I love its delicate flavor. Fish and chips, oh yes, one of my favorites too.

  12. Penny says:

    I have a big bag of sliced almonds and a trip into town on my agenda today. Think I will get some flounder fillets. Thanks for the great suggestion Karen.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Penny, I’m happy that I could inspire you evening meal. I hope you enjoy the flounder almondine as much as my husband and I did. :)

  13. Love this preparation of fish! Yummy!!

  14. Lovely post Karen.
    How did your orchard handle the winter? Too early to tell?

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Diane, I’m happy that you enjoyed the post. I appreciate your inquiring about the orchard, it seems to have handled winter just fine. There should be blossoms opening any day now.

  15. A delicious looking plate!

  16. lulu says:

    No matter how it is spelled, I like it! Such simple touches are a wonderful way to enhance a meal and make it seem very special. You are so very good at that.

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your lovely compliment, Linda. It doesn’t take much to take a meal from ordinary to special and I think almondine does that. :)

  17. I love fish almondine and used to find it more on the menus around here…thanks for reminding me of this wonderful dish that we can prepare here.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Donna, This is such an easy dish to prepare at home that there is no need to go to a restaurant to enjoy it. I’m glad you liked the post, thank you!

  18. Simple yet elegant. I love those nights when dinner is done in under 30 minutes and it is, as you say, anything but ordinary. Fish is easy to cook, it just takes a little practice and an eye on the time to trust that it’s done. Lovely recipe, Karen.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Judy, I think we all enjoy the nights when dinner comes together so quickly. I’m glad you like the dish and thank you for your nice compliment. I appreciate your visit and hope each day you are feeling better and stronger.

  19. Kristy says:

    I’m certain we will give this preparation a try. It sounds too easy and delicious not to, and it will add some new variety to our menu.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristy, This is such an easy dinner to put together and I believe it would fit into your family’s busy schedule. I hope your family will enjoy it. :)

  20. Very complete and detailed post and a great image. When we lived in Louisiana we always had trout amandine/almondine on our frequent visits to New Orleans. Great post.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Darryl, I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the post and photo. Trout almondine is a true classic…I order it in the restaurants in Germany when we are traveling there during the fall. :)

  21. Looks wonderful Karen. I’ll have to try this, I have never had fish with almonds. And I love your food combining here. Great dinner.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Seana, for your nice compliment. I believe you will enjoy this dish…it is a real classic preparation that I love and so simple to prepare.

  22. Flounder would be my choice also since it is plentiful in my area. I love the taste the almonds and butter give to the fish.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jovina, We are lucky that flounder is usually available fresh at the markets in the Northeast. It is such a nice delicately flavored fish, I love it. I’m glad you like this combination as much I do. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  23. That looks so inviting! I had cod with almond before, so I know this is DELICIOUS!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Angie, I’m glad you like the recipe. Brown buttered almonds go so well with fish, I’m sure cod would be great prepared this way.

  24. David says:

    Looks delicious, Karen! I don’t think – in all my years of obsessive eating – I have ever had a fish prepared amandine. I think it is about time that I tried it! Thanks for the recipe!

    • Karen says:

      Oh my goodness, David…I can’t believe you have never had a fish prepared amandine in all your travels, especially in Germany. If you have had sole meunière and liked it, then you will love any thin mild fish prepared this way.

  25. Ngan R. says:

    Hi Karen, I have never heard of almodine or amandine, so you’ve taught me something completely new here. I have fish on a weekly basis and would like to try this new style of preparation for a nice white fish, specially now that greens and new potatoes are in season. I admit though, I’m forever overcooking fish. Eck! I just have to keep a more watchful eye. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ngan, I think that is one of the things I love most about blogging…all the new ideas and foods we have never experienced that we are introduced to. I do believe you would enjoy this dish, especially with a thin mild flavored fish. The trick to cooking seafood is definitely not to over cook it or it will be dry or tough. The fish filets like I cooked don’t need more than a minute or two on either side to become golden. They are done as soon as they turn opaque. Have the rest of your meal prepared before you start cooking your fish and you should be able to keep an eye on it. :)

  26. wok with ray says:

    Many delicious dishes hide behind the cover of simplicity and this Almondine is one of them. This is just a perfect and delicious supper meal. Have a good week Karen! :)

  27. Sissi says:

    I have never had fish prepared with almonds (it sounds like a dish of Spanish origins; they use a lot of almonds in savoury dishes too, from what I have seen), but it sounds absolutely delicious. Especially with my beloved asparagus which accidentally goes perfectly well with almonds.
    It would be a nice change if in France restaurants served it from time to time instead of the ubiquitous sole meunière (which is good of course, but becomes boring). I must see if I find it in Germany when I travel there next time.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sissi, I think you could say that almondine is like a cousin of meunière. :) I don’t know what country lays claim to originating this dish but you are right about the Spanish using almonds in lots of their dishes. I don’t think you will have any trouble finding the dish in Germany. I had a delicious version at a restaurant in Lindau which is on Lake Constance which is shared with Switzerland.

  28. kitchenriffs says:

    This is such a great dish. And one, I’m amazed to report, I haven’t eaten, much less made, for way too long. I need to do this again, soon, because it truly is terrific. And as you point out, it’s really quite simple to make. Lovely recipe, perfectly written — thanks.

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your very nice compliment, John. Isn’t it funny how we have dishes that we really enjoy but that somehow get overlooked when it comes to preparing our dinners. I think that is especially true of food bloggers as we are always trying to come up with new recipes instead of sharing some of our favorites…especially the simple ones. :)

  29. The almonds really add a lovely crunch of texture Really enjoy it on fish. Your recipe looks delicious!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sandra, I totally agree with you about the almonds adding not only lots of flavor but great texture as well. I’m glad you like the recipe, thank you for your nice compliment.

  30. This looks like a really tasty dish, Karen. Thanks for the recipe. I love the taste of almonds. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sylvia, I’m happy to know that you like the recipe. The brown buttered almonds give wonderful taste to this dish. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  31. Conor Bofin says:

    Classic cooking beautifully executed Karen. Lovely indeed.

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your kind words, Conor. I just love the flavor the brown buttered almonds add to the fish and you are correct, it is a classic dish.

  32. The flounder almandine looks delicious. Although I have served green beans with browned almonds I have never thought of using them with fish, so thank you for the idea. ;)

  33. A_Boleyn says:

    I have sole, I have almonds … I am SO going to make this. The dish looks so elegant that I need to buy some white wine to serve with it to do it justice.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Boleyn, It sounds like my timing was perfect with this post. I do hope you will enjoy the sole almondine. A nice white wine will be perfect. Thank you as always for your nice compliment.

      • A_Boleyn says:

        I made the dish with sole and posted a picture which will drop Thursday. Not quite as elegant a presentation as yours, especially as I was too lazy to wipe out the pan before toasting the almonds in a fresh pat of butter. But it was tasty and a fast meal for one.

      • Karen says:

        Hi Boleyn, It was so nice that you let me know that you made I sole almondine and enjoyed it. Thank you!

  34. Such a great combo Karen. Being unable to get to the fishmongers during opening hours most days, I order this kind of thing too when out. Love it.

  35. Liz Posmyk of Bizzy Lizzy's Good Things says:

    Delicious… and thank you for the explanation of almondine!

    • Karen says:

      I’m glad that you enjoyed the post about almondine, Lizzy. I have to agree with you, this is a delicious fish dish. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  36. Becki Jacobs says:

    I love yummy seafood recipes and this sounds wonderful! I love the combo of the lemon and butter with the nuttiness of the almonds. I always try to put some color on my plate, too:-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Becki, I’m happy that you like this combination of flavors and appreciate you nice compliment. I’m glad you agree with me that color on our dinner plate is always important. We eat with our eyes as much as with our mouth. :)

  37. hotlyspiced says:

    This looks great and I love how it is put together so quickly. I’ve actually never heard of this dish and it looks wonderful xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, This is such a quick dish to put together that you should have all your sides ready before starting the fish. It is perfect for a weeknight meal when you are short on time. I’m happy to have introduced you to fish prepared almondine style and appreciate your compliment.

  38. This is such a great way to serve fish :)

  39. Karen, almondine is one of my very favorite way to prepare fish – we love it with trout and plaice and flounder too! Your dish looks just perfect with those lovely string beans and potatoes!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Andrea, Whenever I think of almondine, I think about all the wonderful trout I have had in Germany prepared this way. I’m happy to know that you like it as much as I do. String beans and potatoes just seem to be the perfect accompaniment to this dish. Thank you for your nice compliment. :)

  40. I’m so pleased you cooked the flounder first, Karen. I’ve seen so many recipes that put the almonds on the fish and tell you to grill it. At which point the nuts burn and fish stays uncooked. I don’t know how they get into print.

    • Karen says:

      Hi David, I’m glad you agree with me about how this dish should be prepared. The brown buttered almonds are an addition to the sautéed fish. :)

  41. Sophie33 says:

    I only ever had & made this once at home & I liked it. So, I will make your version for sure!

  42. I haven’t thought of pairing fish and almonds! You gave me a new way of eating fish!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Katerina, I believe that you will really enjoy the combination of a mild fish and brown buttered almonds. I’m happy to inspired you.

  43. What a great classic combination! I always love fish and our local green beans are arriving in our CSA, so this is perfect timing.

  44. Hi Karen. Love that classic mix of recipes in your repertoire that you share with us. This is one of the exact dishes I learnt in my fish & shellfish module at school. Light, delicate flakes of seafood, with a golden burnished almond and butter sauce. Yum!

    Life would be truly sad without almonds…or butter ;)

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Alli. I can see why this dish would be one taught at culinary schools…it is excellent. It’s very true about your observation on almonds and butter. :D

  45. I love Tilapia and this method sounds perfect! I have never served any fish “almondine” and think it’s so elegant! Like you’ve mentioned, any plain fish would do well. I love the way the almonds turn the “ordinary” into a very special meal suitable for guests! And it’s nice to have an option where the ingredients are always handy! :-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Debra, It really doesn’t take much to turn a dish into something special and “almondine” is one way of doing just that. I hope you will enjoy the recipe. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  46. TasteFood says:

    I love this simple and classic preparation.

  47. Simply sophisticated and sophisticatedly simple – a winner!

  48. hey either way it is delicious and one of my favorite ways to eat trout or flounder. Thankfully I have been calling it almondine so wheew! I am safe!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jessica, I thought it was interesting that the name depends on where you live. I’m glad that you like almondine as much as I do.

  49. ramblingtart says:

    Oh mercy this looks SO good!!! I love fish with nuts – they go so beautifully together. :-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Krista, I have to agree with you about nuts and fish being such a good flavor combination. I’m glad you like the recipe…thank you.

  50. Raymund says:

    Simple but that looks really good! I love it

  51. Trout is my favorite choice for fish, so delicious! How have I never tried Almondine, it would be amazing! Definitely saved to make very soon! Yum, Hugs, Terra

    • Karen says:

      Oh my goodness Terra, you must try trout almondine…you will love it. When we travel to Germany in the fall, trout almondine is featured on many menus and I must order it. :)

  52. How lovely with flounder, Karen! Love it with lemon sole, as well. Sometimes, classic pairings (whoever thought of them back in the day!) are just great as they are.

  53. It looks like something my husband would love – I already have a green bean/almond recipe on my calendar for July – once we have some nice fresh beans! Very nice!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Donalyn, If your husband is like mine, he will love the dish. I’ll be looking forward to seeing what you do with the green beans. :)

  54. This dish is possibly my favorite way to eat fish, and you never see it anymore, thanks for the reminder, I need to make it!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sue, I appreciate your visit and your nice comment…thank you. I’m glad that my post reminded you of how much you like this dish.

  55. Oh I haven’t had fish like this for so long… I am instantly craving this dish. Thank you so much for sharing.
    Julie
    Gourmet Getaways

    • Karen says:

      Hi Julie, Isn’t it funny how dishes we enjoy can be forgotten about until we get a reminder that we haven’t made them in a long time.

  56. The almondine adds such elegance!

  57. I love eating fish. This sounds like yummy!

  58. ladyfi says:

    Looks utterly delicious.

  59. Georgina says:

    What a lovely recipe, Karen. I’m sure that it must have tasted wonderful!

  60. I love flounder and this preparation makes it looks so easy that even I could try to make it. I have always been a bit leery of cooking fish at home – I did once years ago flounder and leeks and over cooked by a LOT! – maybe it is time to try it again with this recipe!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kelli, I know for a fact that you could prepare this dish with no problem. Just remember that flounder or any other thin fish only needs to be cooked a couple of minutes on each side.

  61. This fish is certainly delicious looking :D
    I love the name as well, it is quite pretty! It is so golden!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  62. Eva Taylor says:

    I had no idea it was amandine! And all these years I thought my FIL was pronouncing it incorrectly!

  63. thelady8home says:

    This is a terrific dish, and I would love love love to try it. Beautifully presented….bookmarked.

  64. My favorite fish preparation! What an inviting dish.

  65. Liz says:

    I remember searching for sole to no avail when I made this years ago. What a delicious dish! I think I ended up using grouper.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Liz, This really is a delicious dish, I’m glad you like it as much as we do. We get sole occasionally in our markets but we always have fresh flounder but any mild fish works great.

  66. Almondine or Amandine? Either way, what a gorgeous dish, Karen!

  67. It was always amandine at our house. I didn’t know about the other spelling. It was my mother’s favorite.

  68. I love this look absolutely beautiful!

  69. This plate make me feel hungry:)

  70. A delicious way to enjoy almonds, for sure!

  71. ohlidia says:

    That fish looks lovely. I love the sliced almonds over the top, just perfect. But it’s those baby potatoes that have caught my eye… :-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lidia, The fish was as good as it looks with the almondine topping. The baby potatoes were great…I don’t find them that small very often.

  72. Barbara says:

    I agree, Karen, there’s nothing as delicious as fish almondine. Any fish! Easy to prepare and a delight to the palate. Trout is fabulous this way…I used to make it often.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Barbara, I’m happy you agree with me about how good fish almondine is. Trout, flounder, sole…they are all delicious prepared this way.

  73. Such a simple but delicious dish Karen! We always cook fresh flounder when we are at the beach during the summer. Will have to try this!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Christin, for your nice compliment. Fresh flounder is usually available at our market and I’m glad it is available where you are as well. I believe you and your family will enjoy this preparation, my husband and I think it is delicious.

  74. Thanks Karen for another great way to hide fish from teenagers under a lovely bed of almonds. Good thinking. I have not made this dish in years and it has brought back some lovely memories of times back home. I will have to try this with another white mellow fish here as flounder is not big here in Asia. Have a super weekend. Take Care, BAM

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bam, I’m happy to know that my post brought back nice memories of your time back at home. I believe that you can prepare any mild white fish almondine style and it will be delicious. You will have to let me know how those teenagers of yours like the dish…cover it well with almonds. :D

  75. Beth says:

    I rarely make fish at home, but I’d love to try this recipe. And I loved the serving suggestions – sounds like a beautiful presentation.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Beth, I hope you will give this dish a try, it really is delicious and so easy to prepare. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  76. It’s funny, during catering college I was always the one chosen to make the fish dishes. Which never seemed to be any sort of accolade, believe me. Especially as no one else wanted to help. You’re right, it’s so easy. Yet, so much can go very easily wrong. The funny thing is – I never make fish dishes at home! Those experiences put me off. But this is what I would order when eating out. And two of my favourite lunches in Spain several years ago were both fish. One of them brown trout caught nearby within a national park, just pan-fried with ham. So, so good!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Johnny, I’m glad you agree with me on how easy it is to prepare fish. I’m surprised that so many people enjoy ordering fish at a restaurant but don’t seem to cook it at home.

  77. Adri says:

    Oh my, but this one brings back memories! This was the first “fish dish” I learned, and it was such a hit at home. Nicely cooked fish, a little brown butter and some fragrant slivered almonds – simple and delicious. This one made me smile. Thanks!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Adri, I’m glad that you enjoyed this post and that you like fish almondine as much as I do…it is a true classic. There are certain dishes that I love making and almondine is one of them. :)

  78. That’s great Karen, this is very original, I’ve never thought to use almond with fish!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Margherita, for your nice compliment. I’m happy to know that you like the recipe. It is a favorite of mine and I believe you would enjoy fish prepared this way.

  79. Amira says:

    I can almost taste this lovely flounder. Perfect and clever . I’ve never tried almonds with fish before.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Amira, Thank you for stopping by to visit my blog. I appreciate your lovely compliment and believe that you would enjoy fish topped with browned butter almonds…I think it is delicious.

  80. Rachel says:

    Mmmmmm! Easy, pretty, and yummy – can’t beat it! Oh, and “good for you” I’m sure as well! Hungry NOW!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rachel, I have to agree with you on all counts. It is a healthy meal that truly is delicious. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  81. Kathy says:

    This looks like a wonderful recipe. The first time I ever had fish almondine was in a college dorm. It was my favorite meal of the week. Your recipe would, I’m certain, surpass it!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Kathy, for your nice compliment. I believe that you could prepare fish almondine and it would definitely surpass your memories of your college meal. :_

  82. We are eating so much more fish these days and my son prefers “white” fish for the most part:) So this one will have to be whipped up for the family this week, it sounds scrumptious! xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Barbara, I’m partial to the white fish myself even though we eat a lot of salmon. I hope your family enjoys this as much as we did. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  83. I’m pure American, so it’s Almondine for me. I’ve been threatening to make this ever since Larry was here and ordered it in my favorite French restaurant. And I’m sure I didn’t notice that they called it Amandine.

  84. Mélanie says:

    HL=huge like… :) we simply call it “truite aux amandes” as Amandine is a feminine name and a cake(une patisserie)! :)

  85. Charles says:

    I’d never heard of amandine, but I know I’d like it. I recently cooked a fish which had been freshly caught… I forget what it’s called now in English (actually I forgot what it’s called in Swedish too, lol) but I think this would have been perfect with it!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charles, I’m surprised that you never heard of amandine while living in France. If you catch one of those fish again, you must give this recipe a try…I think you would like it.

  86. Liz says:

    Thanks for teaching me about amandine. Never heard of it but I love the way the fish is flavoured with butter, almonds and some lemon juice. I love easy and simple recipes so I shall bookmark this one for a later date. Have a pleasant weekend!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Liz, I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the post, thank you. I believe that you will enjoy fish prepared amandine style…I think it is delicious.

  87. I love the little lessons that sometimes accompany the recipes. Thanks for this one!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sara, Thank you for stopping by to visit my blog. I’m glad that you enjoyed the almondine post and recipe. I appreciate your nice compliment.

Leave a Reply

