Antiques for the Cottage Look

It is so much fun to find an antique shop that carries furniture and small decorative items that you like when you are looking to decorate your home, beach house or country getaway in the cottage style. It is even better when it is the perfect shop that you can return to again and again as the inventory is constantly changing.

When we started to decorate our lakeside cottage in the Lakes Region of Maine, we were lucky enough to find just such a shop less than a mile for our home. My Sisters Garage is owned by two sisters, and is actually in the cute old-fashioned garage of one of the sisters.

Our sofas, chairs, beds and dining table were new but we needed the small items to make the cottage have a warm, inviting feel. Not only were we able to find items that we both thought would be perfect at their sweet shop. but we found that their prices were very reasonable.

When we came up this spring to open the cottage we drove by our favorite shop, My Sisters Garage and knew that something had changed. Their sign was missing at a time of the year when they should just be opening their door.

My Sisters Garage sign

While driving south on Rt. 302 in Windham, we noticed their sign at what at one time was an old home right on the highway.

Shop front

As it was the first of the week and they are only open Thursday through Sunday,  we made plans to return at another time.

When we returned to their new shop we were pleasantly surprised with the new and larger place. Take a look at the photos we took inside. Everything is displayed in wonderful little groupings. I’m sure you will agree that there is something that most anyone would love to have for that cottage look.

Look at this charming iron bed, one of a pair.

Charming Iron Bed (one of a pair)

A lovely white dresser.

A lovely white dresser with mirror

What a great high back bed.

High back bed

Here’s a pretty brass and iron bed.

Brass and iron bed

What a romantic bed

Romantic bed

If you look closely at the photos,  you will see side tables and lamps, chandeliers, chairs and all kinds of accessories. There is also vintage clothing and so much more.

This little antique shop is a great shop less than thirty minutes away from either Portland, Maine or the Lakes Region of Maine. You can always find a little treasure here.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Antiques for the Cottage Look

  1. Mary says:

    How fortunate you are to have such a shop nearby. It sounds like a real find. I hope you have a great holiday. Blessings…Mary

  2. Susan says:

    Looks like a wonderful shop. It’s getting harder to find quality shops. I think the economy over the past years has taken a lot of the good ones out of business. What a shame. Love those old iron beds.
    Hubby and I were just discussing the other day how we’d love to go back to Maine and upstate New York again. I’m keeping this for future reference!

  3. That looks like a fun place to shop. I do hate seeing antiques painted white. I know, I know people love it and it looks nice. Guess, I’ve just had to strip and refinish too many vintage pieces. Such a spoilsport!

    • Karen says:

      Yes, there is a lot of white painted furniture on the market now. I think so many of those pieces were probably in bad shape originally and a quick coat of paint makes them appealing. I think seeing the same pieces in the original condition can be intimidating to some people. Others will take a piece in its original condition and bring it back to its former glory. I think it all depends on the look of the room where it will be placed.

  4. I love to poke around in wonderful little shops like this. We don’t have many in my area and every so often I find what I think is a real treasure. Those little things are what give a room personality. You have a lovely blog, Karen, and I enjoy your posts very much.

  5. JamieAnne says:

    What lovely things!

  6. Cathy says:

    I am fortunate enough to live in Windham, a mere 3 miles from the shop! The first time I entered, I wanted to move in! I stop in about every two weeks to shop and dream. Glad you love Maine!

  7. Rhonda from gorham says:

    This is my favorite place to shop for vintage things. They have so much to look at.always new things and they are always rearranging rooms so u never see the same things in the same spot. The girls are absolutely wonderful. Love them. Very warm and welcoming shop. Must go see.😀

Leave a Reply

