Pozole Verde

How about a nice steaming bowl of pozole verde? Haven’t heard of it…what if I said pork and hominy stew with green chilies. This traditional dish is the comfort food of Mexico. There are many varieties of pozole using different meats but the classic is made with pork. Their color comes from the different chilies which are used and will be called white, red or green pozole, which happens to be the colors in  the Mexican flag.

Throughout the state of Guerrero in the southwest part of Mexico bordering the Pacific, every Thursday the locals sit down at pozolerias where all they serve is this dish. I just had to try something that famous. I can tell you that I could definitely eat pozole once a week also, it is that good.

Pozole Verde With Traditional Condiments

Pozole Verde ( Pork and Hominy Stew With Green Chilies)

The word pozole actually means hominy in Spanish. In some markets, you can find dry pozole which you would have to cook several hours before starting this dish.  For most of my readers (including myself), you will have to use canned hominy (pozole). Just drain and rinse before using. The texture will not be the same as cooked from scratch but it is good and is also a definite time saver as well.

  • 2 lb. pork shoulder or butt cut into 1 – 2 inch cubes
  • 1 or 2 Tbsp. oil
  • 2 c. onion, chopped
  • 4 large garlic cloves
  • 1 lb. fresh tomatillos, husked, cooked till tender and pureed (about 2 cups) *
  • 2 poblano peppers, charred, skins removed, seeded and chopped
  • 2 or more jalapeño or serrano peppers, depending on heat, diced
  • 2 c. chicken broth
  • 2 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. salt or to taste
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 1 can hominy, drained and rinsed
  • 3 Tbsp. of toasted pepitas grounded fine
  • 2 Tbsp. of chopped fresh cilantro
  • juice from 1/2 lime

* 1 jar (16 oz.) of tomatillo salsa can be used (Rick Bayless is preferable) if fresh tomatillos are not available.

Heat oil in a sauté pan until hot and sear the pork cubes in batches until brown on all sides.  Remove to a pot where you will finish cooking the dish. In the same sauté pan, (add more oil if necessary) add the onions and cook till soft and translucent. Add the garlic and cook 1 minute more. Remove and add to the pot with the pork. Deglaze the pan with the chicken broth and pour on top of pork. Stir in the pureed tomatillos. Add the peppers, cumin, oregano, salt and pepper. Simmer until pork is fork tender. Taste for additional seasoning.

At this point I let the stew cool, covered and placed in the refrigerator overnight. The next day I skimmed off some of the pork fat on the top and brought the dish up to a simmer. (This step is not necessary but the does give the flavors a chance to develop).

Add the hominy and pepitas and let simmer  uncovered until thickened. Right before serving add the cilantro and lime juice and adjust the seasonings to taste.

I made this dish in my slow cooker. It can also be slow simmered on top of the stove in a heavy pot with a lid.

Pozole is served with bowls of condiments. They include shredded cabbage, sliced radish, chopped onions, avocado, cilantro, limes, dried chilies, and dried oregano. The various flavors and textures of the condiments add a depth to the stew that shouldn’t be skipped.

La comida mexicana es deliciosa!

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

154 Responses to Pozole Verde

  1. kevinsden says:

    that looks AMAZING!! you’ve made me hungry now.

  2. Rachel says:

    Let me be the first to tell you – this looks mighty fine! Oh for “scratch n sniff”…! We’re finally having “winter” here and this looks to be just the ticket for a gray, wet, chilly (by central Texas standards, anyway) weekend! Mmmmm… I’m off to the market!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rachel, Thank you for your very nice compliment. I saw on the weather that it wasn’t very nice right now in Texas. This would warm things up a little. Being a Texas girl… you might even want to heat the dish up a little more with extra chilies.

      • Rachel says:

        Actually, I am *not* a Texas girl, but a relocated Pennsylvanian! Your recipe is almost a little spicy for me ;-) Mmmm… just right!

      • Karen says:

        Sorry about that. Then please use just what is called for in my recipe and you should be happy. Whenever I use any chili, I always take a tiny piece to check the heat….they vary so much.

  3. A_Boleyn says:

    A very intriguing dish. I’ve heard of it but several of the ingredients are quite unique so I’ve never thought of sourcing them out.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Boleyn, Thank you for your nice comment. I don’t think you will have trouble finding the ingredients. If your market doesn’t have fresh tomatillos you should be able to find the salsa to use in their place.

  4. LOVE this post! My dad was from New Mexico and their version of Pozole is Posole. Although not of Mexican heritage, it was tradition at our house – and still is – to serve tamales on Christmas Eve and Posole on New Year’s Day. Your recipe is sounds and looks divine! I prefer the verde to the rosa and my mouth is watering just looking at your picture. I might add that this dish freezes so well. We make it in large quantities and then freeze individual servings to take to work for lunch. Great post!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kelli, Thank you for your very nice compliment. You are right…it is spelled different in the US. I grew up in Texas and loved the homemade tamales that friends would give us at Christmas. The verde or green pozole is my favorite as well.

  5. Mad Dog says:

    That looks and sounds delicious and I’ve never had it before. I wonder if I can find hominy in London…

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mad Dog, Thank you for your nice compliment. Good question about hominy in London. If a market has Goya products, then you might be in luck. If not you could leave it out but then it would be called green chili pork stew…still good.

  6. This is a new one for me! I’m not even sure we can buy pozole here but if we can, I ‘ll be trying your recipe, Karen. Looks delicious!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jenny, Thank you for your comment. As I just mentioned to Mad Dog, you can leave the pozole out. It would then be green chili pork stew. To impart a little of the pozole flavor you could add a small fine ground cornmeal to the dish will it is simmering.

  7. Michelle says:

    I adore all the pozoles—red, white and green. And yours looks particularly good.

    • Michelle says:

      They sell the best dried hominy I’ve ever found at Fox & Obel in Chicago. I’m going to Chicago next month for a conference and plan to stock up. For sure, I’ll make your recipe after that!

  8. I really, really love the sound and looks of this dish. I’ve had it, but never made it, and yours looks amazing…way better than what I’ve had. I’m adding this to my “to do” list! Love your plating, too!

  9. I wish I could remember where I just read about a tomatillo salsa because it would be great on top of this. Looks delish!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Wendy, Thank you for stopping by and your nice comment. All of the ingredients that are in tomatillo salsa are in the pozole. You could always just increase the ingredients if you wanted more tomatillo flavor.

  10. Appetizing and sounds like a perfect recipe! I’ll have to go search out my canned hominy in the garage.

  11. Lea Ann says:

    I always make mine with pork. It’s one of my favorite soup-type dishes to prepare. Absolutely delicious. I’ve got two recipes, one called “simple” and one that’s more involved. Love them both. There’s just something wonderful about the texture and flavor of hominy in soup.

  12. Fantastic idea for the slow cooker – too often the slow cooker has kind of a “canned soup” reputation, but this pork is so tasty and authentic!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you T.W. for your nice compliment. You are sooo right about the slow cooker reputation. It is a wonderful tool to have in the kitchen.

  13. Tandy says:

    I’m going to Google Hominy to see if we get something similar here :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tandy, It will be interesting to see if there would be something available…let me know. If not, leave it out and just enjoy green chili pork stew.

  14. Southern California is not short on good Mexican food, and I’ve seen this on menus forever! Never made it, though, and I have a son-in-law–last name Guerrero by the way–who would fall down at my feet if I made this! All his favorite ingredients. Great fun for me! :-) Debra

  15. k.m. says:

    I once had this dish in a restaurant in, I think, Arizona. It was so good. Now I’m glad I can make it at home.

    Also, for your UK readers, mexgrocer.co.uk sells pozole. Hope that helps!

  16. Larry says:

    I’ve never heard of it but like everything in it so I’m sure I’d love the dish.

  17. What a pretty post.. I love all the ingredients and the colours just shout spring!! I’m seeing avocados pop up everywhere!! They’d be so fantastic with this dish!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Smidge, Thank you so much for your nice compliment. The creaminess of the avocado goes so well when eaten in the pozole. Actually I loved putting all of the condiments in the dish. The crunch the fresh vegetables gave was perfect.

  18. Karista says:

    Oh yum! My mouth is watering just looking at the picture. ! I love this dish especially when home prepared. I always look forward to your posts Karen. :)

  19. Oh, this looks delicious. I’ve heard of pozole, and your recipe sounds delicious.

  20. I love about everything you make. But I really love it when you head to Mexico or Italy. Oh wait, seafood, Southern… man you do it all!

    • Karen says:

      Thanks Greg, I always enjoy your comments and compliments. When you live in an area without a lot of restaurants, you have to be a versatile cook.

  21. Mona says:

    I haven’t had this in years and your post is telling me that the local Mexican restaurant is the perfect place for dinner tonight.

  22. lulu says:

    Living in Texas, you can imagine how appealing this dish is, another one I will definitely try. Karen, you do a great job staging and photoing your foodie creations. You will have to give me some helpful hints.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lulu, Thank you for your nice compliment. I try to remember that you enjoy food with your eyes as well as what you taste. No technical tricks that I can give other than I have a floor lamp with two 5000k (temp.of light) bulbs that are used since the meals are all prepared at night.

      • lulu says:

        thanks. Knowing that you shouldn’t use flash in food does make night shots difficult. I see you have solved that rather simply.

      • Karen says:

        My pleasure, Lulu. I know you have seen the photos of our antique home. Keeping the feel of the home means that we don’t have the light…natural or artificial that most people have.

  23. Geek Goddess says:

    Oh, I love pozole. I found a smaller dried hominy that I can make in my slow cooker, and it works great, but the bulk hominy I bought at the local mercado was still a bit hard after many hours of cooking. I think precooking a bit might help, but canned always works, and I can find that VERY easily around Texas. :) BTW, my BFF lives in New Hampshire – we started a blog together, which is how I found you. Can I link your blog on ours? (twodifferentgirls.com) ?

  24. Sissi says:

    Karen, it looks like something I could also eat once a week! I love Mexican food when well made and I’m sure yours is perfect.
    Remember when you told me you had problems with getting Japanese/Korean products? Well, I’m not sure if it’ll comfort you, but hominy, tomatillos or japaleños or pepitas are absolutely impossible to find here. (The only place where I can hope for canned tomatillos or jalapeños is an extremely expensive American shop). I must content myself with admiring your terrific dish and beautiful presentation :-)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sissi, Thank you for your nice compliment. Yes…I can sympathize with you as far as these ingredients being hard to find in Switzerland. I think whenever we post a recipe with unusual ingredients, it is going to be a problem for some depending on where they live. Sorry that you will have to sit this one out.

  25. I love pozole…love it, love it and probably could eat it everyday of the week. Thx for the recipe Karen!

  26. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve only had pozole a couple times and loved it! Your recipe here is the first one that I’ve seen that I actually want to make. Then, to top it off, you use the name “Rick Bayless”, the mere mention of which is kryptonite for Chicagoans that love Mexican cuisine. This recipe must be good and woe to the person who states otherwise! :)

    • Karen says:

      Thanks John, for your nice compliment. Rick Bayless…yes, I think he is a very talented chef. I like his products, all natural ingredients when fresh isn’t available.

  27. Misky says:

    This is definite comfort food; even the ingredient list is comforting!

  28. Karen Harris says:

    Oh, this looks so delicious. I love hominy.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Karen, Thank you for your nice compliment. You and I agree as far as hominy is concerned. If more people tried it, there would be a huge fan club out there.

  29. musingmar says:

    Mmm, this sounds and looks so good! Another idea to broaden my repertoire … it’s great finding new recipes with information about their origins.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Marlene, Thank you for your nice compliment. I think it is always nice to add to our repertoire of meals we prepare. New foods and flavors are always fun to try.

  30. Yum! I love Mexican food. Although most of the time it’s been burritos or tacos. I am definitely bookmarking this to try!

  31. Sarah says:

    Hi Karen, This looks delicious and makes me anxious to begin cooking Mexican again (I’ve been on hiatus since I’ve just returned from living in Mexico for the past 3 years). Pozole looks like the perfect recipe to begin my reintroduction back into Mexican food. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sarah, Thank you for stopping by to visit. I’m happy to have inspired you to try the pozole recipe and some of the other food from your time spent living in Mexico.

  32. hotlyspiced says:

    Well no! I have never heard of this dish but we don’t have a lot of Mexican cuisine here in Australia. That looks very delicious and like it would be full of flavour. Love how you plated it too. xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, I sure there isn’t much Mexican cuisine in Australia. There isn’t much here in New Hampshire where I live either. That is why I like to cook it at home. I really like to eat food from all over the world. As they say, variety is the spice of life.

  33. Oh this really does look good. Now it is cooling off here this will be a great thing to make

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tania, Thank you for your nice compliment. It’s just starting to warm up a little and melting the snow while it’s cooling down there. Perfect timing for both of us to make this dish.

  34. Anonymous says:

    Karen, just the look of this will make me sweat – hot and DELICIOUS – not that familiar with Mexican food. Do a fantastic Fajita, that’s about it, So this will go on it my food file. Can feel the heat from your photo. Thanks for sharing.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Viveka, This is a very flavorful Mexican dish but not really that hot. You can control the heat by how many peppers you add. The poblanos usually
      don’t have much heat at all. Basically, the spiciness will come from the jalapeño or serrano…add as little or as much as you want.

  35. I am so happy to discover your blog! And your pozole looks wonderful. Green is my favorite pozole, and I love to see how others interpret it. Thanks!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Victoria, Thank you for stopping by my blog and you nice compliment. I like green the best as well and I’m sure you make a delicious one.

  36. I have never cared much for hominy, but you have caused me to rethink that, Karen. The flavors in this dish are some of my favorites and who could resist those delicious toppings. Next time I get the craving for Mexican food this will be my choice.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cathy, I think that this is one time that you might enjoy hominy. You could leave the hominy out and it would be very good but I like the texture that it gives to the dish.

  37. I’ve made a chicken version with red chiles, and I was instantly a fan! I love all the toppings added to pozole. Some day, I need to enjoy a bowl in Mexico.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lisa, If you had a red pozole with chicken then I’m sure you would love the green with pork. A bowl in Mexico would be perfect. Thanks for your comment.

  38. Susan says:

    I love all of the flavors in this delicious dish except I’ve never had hominy and don’t even know what it tastes like!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Susan, Hominy is dried corn kernels that have been been soaked in an alkali solution and the process preserves the corn. It has been a staple with the people of Mexico and with many native Americans. You can usually find it in markets that carry Goya products.

  39. Leo Cotnoir says:

    Great recipe! By the way, you can cook dried hominy in a pressure cooker for about 30 to 40 minutes.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Leo, Thank you for your nice compliment and your suggestion for cooking the dried hominy in a pressure cooker before using in this recipe. I always love the contributions fellow bloggers make. Thank you again.

  40. Liz says:

    What a fabulous, flavorful dish!!! I think I could even pull this off with my picky crew…they do love pork!! Thanks for sharing and the lovely inspiration~

  41. Karen, I always have posole when I travel in Mexico and in New Mexico. There are so many versions, but they are all tasty. Your recipe looks so wonderful and savory!

  42. Zoe @ Pantry and Fridge says:

    Love Pazole :)

  43. I have been interested in trying a similar recipe. Looking forward to attempting yours!

  44. Your pozole looks amazing! I just saw some in the store the other day. I have to make this!

  45. Kristy says:

    I would love to sit down to this dinner. We may have to revisit Mexican cuisine again. :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kristy, Thank you for your nice comment. Mexico is like the US, each state usually has a special food they are known for. Maybe a quick trip. back.

  46. Looks so good! Spicy too! Just the way I like my food :)

  47. This looks instantly comforting and I can see why you could have this several times a week! :)

  48. I love posole (which is how they spell it in New Mexico). I often make really quick versions with canned hominy, chicken broth, green salsa, etc. but I’m sure your longer-cooked version is delicious.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sharyn, It is spelled two ways as so many food preparations are. Slow cooking does bring out a lot of flavor in the dish. I’m sure your chicken version is very good, especially when you need to get a meal on the table in a hurry which so many people do.

  49. Katerina says:

    Definitely a warm and comfort food especially for here that the temperature has fallen again and it is very cold. This winter reminds me of the one I had while studying in New Hampshire!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Katerina, Thank you for your nice comment. Yes…the winter weather here in New Hampshire does get cold and this dish is perfect. I know that you have had cold weather as well and this would be a nice way to warm up.

  50. I agree, the condiments shouldn’t be skipped, for me, that is what brings it all together. Great recipe, Karen!

  51. cjdelgrosso says:

    Pozole? Wow, I am impressed! Most gringos have no idea what pozole is let alone know how to make it! Great recipe Karen!

  52. aldoquev says:

    Ufff, Green Pozole is my favorite. Thanks for the reminder, I need to bring it back into the rotation for next weekend!
    Great Blog, congratulations!

  53. Purely.. Kay says:

    Just look at that Pork shoulder.. wow.. it is just so amazing and I bet is definitely delicious. Wonderful job with this Karen :)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kay, Thank you so much for your very nice compliment. Pork Shoulder is such a versatile piece of meat and is usually less expensive than the rest of the pork cuts that are available. More people should make use of it…the flavor is so good.

  54. France says:

    This is something I could totally eat once a week. The flavors sound amazing.

    • Karen says:

      Hi France, Thank you for your nice comment. I agree…this is so good you can definitely eat it more than once a week. The bonus is that the flavor just gets better if you make a big pot and have it a second day or freeze for another time.

  55. This is absolutely something I would love Karen. The colours are just gorgeous and the condiments…I just ate dinner and my mouth is watering! Need I say more? Please check out my blog tomorrow, I have nominated you for four awards!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Eva, for your very nice compliment. The pozole is delicious on it’s own, but when you add the condiments, it’s outstanding. Oh my goodness…four awards. What can I say but thank you for thinking of my blog. It is truly an honor when your peers enjoy your blog enough to bestow an award. Thank you again.

  56. Looks really good! Thanks for visiting today and leaving a comment. :-)

  57. simply Life says:

    I tried hominy for the first time last year and really liked it- thanks for the reminder!

    • Karen says:

      If you like hominy, then you will really like this dish. It would be a great dish without the hominy but it adds such a lovely texture and flavor.

  58. Mary says:

    What a wonderful pozole. This looks and sounds delicious. My family will love it. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  59. TasteFood says:

    I was dubious about hominy when I first discovered it. Now I am a convert. Great recipe!

    • Karen says:

      I started eating hominy when I was young and have always liked it. It really adds a nice taste and texture to this dish. Thank you so much for your compliment.

  60. ping says:

    Oh Yum! This looks like something I’d dunk some crusty bread into … I love this, Karen. But I don’t think we have hominy here. What’s a good substitute? I searched and the suggested substitutes were either corn or barley.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ping, Thank you for your nice compliment. Hominy is a processed corn which no longer has its bran or germ. I think the taste and texture is different from normal corn. Barley has a texture similar to hominy but is much smaller. I think you could use either or cubed potato. You could also leave the hominy out altogether.

  61. CorkAndSpoon says:

    The beauty of pictures! Sounded a bit strange, well the English translation did, but the dish looks fabulous and delicious! Love how to color of those radishes pop on the plate. ~Ruth

  62. sarah says:

    My husband and I were talking about pozole this weekend. So excited to try your recipe!

  63. MMMMmmm, in Canada we lack good Spanish/Mexican/South American food. This recipe looks fantastic! I’ll probably even stock up on Rick Bayless salsa when I go to Chicago in a couple of weeks. Thanks for posting!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Anna, Thank you for visiting and your nice comment. I like Rick Bayless products. I’m always reading ingredient lists and I like the fact that his products aren’t full of corn syrup, preservatives, etc. Enjoy his restaurant while you are there.

  64. cjdelgrosso says:

    Reblogged this on The DelGrosso Food Blog and commented:
    This is a recipe that tugs right at my heartstrings. I love pozole and this recipe from Karen at The Back Road Journal does this traditional dish proud! Viva Pozole!

  65. delicio8 says:

    Hello, is this the same as a chili verde? I don’t think Chili verde has pozole in it but otherwise I do believe they are similar. This has definitely been added to my “to do” list!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Delicio, Thank you for stopping by and your nice comment. I would say that it is similar to chili verde depending on where you leave. In some places verde would have dried red chilies. Pozole is different because of the hominy. I do hope you will enjoy the recipe.

  66. karencooking says:

    This sounds tasty! I love learning about new dishes!

  67. One of my favorite restaurants in Houston used to make an amazing pozole verde but now that I’m on the East Coast, I figured I’d have to just give up on it. But this recipe changes everything! This seems like something I can tackle for myself! Thanks!

    • Karen says:

      So happy to have you stop by for a visit. I lived in the Houston area for years so I know what you mean about giving up dishes we were fond of. This is really an easy recipe and one that I think you will enjoy.

  68. spicegirlfla says:

    You’re expanding my foodie love here! I’m so intrigued with all the flavors and new ingredients to me. Looks absolutely comforting!!

  69. Charles says:

    I’d never heard the term “hominy” before – I just looked it up. Nice to learn a new term :) This soup and the accompaniments looks absolutely amazing – I could totally wolf this down once a week… or more :D

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charles, I know I have given you more than one ingredient that you have had to investigate. Thank goodness for google. It truly does have amazing flavor. Thanks for your comment.

  70. ....RaeDi says:

    Perfect timing… I was just looking for a recipe for hominy soup/stew… T has been asking for me to make some! It looks delicious and I love your photo!

  71. I have never heard of this but it´s definitely the sort of dish we like here in Andalucía. Will have to talk to Big Man and see if he knows what the beans are and if we have them here (sometimes things go by very different names here in the south) and I will get to work on it!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tanya, Pozole is a processed corn…it will be interesting to see if Spain has something similar. I buy it canned as a Goya Product if that might help. Mad Dog had wondered if he could find it in London and one of my readers suggested mexgrocer.co.uk. Even without the pozole (hominy), I think that this is a dish that you will really enjoy. If you find as source, let me know and I’ll make sure to let others know.

  72. I have been to Mexico twice and never had the pleasure of eating this dish. Looks great. I will have to give it a try.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Summer, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice comment. I think you will really enjoy this dish…it is so full of delicious flavors. If you visit the area around Acapulco…that area is where it is most well known but you can also find pozole all over Mexico.

      • You’re welcome! Oh, I see. The area around Acapulco. I have been to Guadalajara, which is not near there, but I heard Acapulco was just lovely so I hope to visit some day.

  73. delicio8 says:

    Reblogged this on delicio8 and commented:
    Just made this tonight and it is fantastic! Did it in my slow cooker and had to use canned hominy. Oh so good and Oh so easy! I even have some leftover for tomorrow and I can tell the flavor will be even better then, it will funkyfy I call it!

    • Karen says:

      I am so happy that you enjoyed the recipe so much that you decided to share my pozole recipe with your readers. It does get better, the flavors meld so beautifully.

  74. delicio8 says:

    I made this for dinner and it was so wonderful thank you! I reblogged it on my site delicio8.wordpress.com. I can tell it will have a deeper flavor tomorrow for dinner (if I can wait that long). I was skeptical about the hominy because I had only had it years ago in Menudo and I was not ready for that. I’m glad I took the chance, I really enjoyed it.

    • Karen says:

      I am so happy that you enjoyed my pozole recipe. It really does get better after the flavors have melded. Hominy adds to the texture of the dish as well as the flavor. I’m really glad that you included it…pozole is the Spanish word for hominy and really should be included unless it is unavailable where you live.

  75. La comida Mexicana si es deliciosa y este plato para chuparse los deditos.

  76. cabinet stew says:

    NOW you are “cooking” my language – although I have never heard of this dish – it is SO the kind of dish I like! Esp with my love of pork! Lucky for me I can get just about any ingredient here in the Boston area. I will definitely give this a try and I liked the tip about using the pressure cooker, time for me to drag that out again!

    • Karen says:

      I’m glad this dish is talking to you, Carol. I’m sure you will enjoy it. For sure you will be able to find everything you need. Living in the Boston area definitely has its advantages when it comes to ingredients.

  77. Pingback: Pozole Roja…A Pork And Hominy Stew With Red Chilies | Back Road Journal

Leave a Reply

