Stir-Fried Beef With Broccoli, Peppers And Onions

Asian inspired food, especially Chinese, is one of the most popular cuisines found around the world. Whether it is eaten in a restaurant or ordered for takeout to have at home, we all seem to enjoy it. Stir-Fried Beef With Broccoli, Peppers and Onions is a savory dish of tender slices of beef and crisp vegetables that are glazed with a sauce that is a combination of sweet, salty, and spicy flavors.

The dish is so quick and easy to prepare at home that you can forget about calling for takeout from your favorite neighborhood Chinese restaurant. Not only will the dish be hot off the stove in the same amount of time that it takes to cook rice that you will want to serve with the meal, it will be much healthier as well.

Stir Fried Beef, Broccoli, Peppers And Onions

Stir Fried Beef, Broccoli, Peppers And Onions

Sirloin, flank or steak of your choice is sliced thinly across the grain and then marinated for a few minutes to help tenderize and flavor the meat. It is quickly stir-fried with broccoli, peppers and onions for a delicious meal. What is nice is that the dish is very versatile.  If you don’t want beef, no problem…just use pork or chicken. If you don’t have red bell peppers, you could add jalapeños or other peppers of your choice. With a few items from your refrigerator and pantry, you can serve a quick and easy meal to your family any time during the week.

This is one dish where everything must be prepped before you start your stir-fry as the cooking is very quick. Make sure that you have uniform size pieces of meat and vegetables, that your pan is hot, and that you let your meat sear quickly and do not overcrowd the pan. The last thing to know is that you don’t need a wok. A large sauté pan with high sides works great…that’s what I use even though I do have a wok.

Stir-Fried Beef With Broccoli, Peppers And Onions

Recipe serves two, adjust the recipe accordingly.

  • 1/2 to 3/4 lb. of steak, sliced 1/4 inch thin, across the grain
  • 2 c. broccoli florets, cut in half, blanched for 30 seconds (I did mine in the microwave with 1 Tbsp. of water), then drained and blotted dry
  • 1 small onion, cut in half and then cut into slices
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded and sliced into uniform pieces
  • 2 Tbsp. canola or peanut oil (I use peanut for flavor)

For the marinade

  • 1 Tbsp. soy sauce (I use low sodium)
  • 1 tsp. white wine
  • 1 tsp. sesame oil
  • 1/4 tsp. white pepper
  • 2 tsp. corn starch

For the sauce

  • 2 Tbsp. soy sauce (I use low sodium)
  • 2 Tbsp. hoisin sauce
  • 1 Tbsp. hot chili garlic sauce or to taste
  • 2 Tbsp. white wine
  • 1 Tbsp. grated ginger
  • 3 garlic cloves, grated or chopped
  • 1 tsp. sesame oil

Place the sliced meat into a bowl, add the marinade ingredients and mix until you can’t see the corn starch and let sit for a few minutes, or up to 1 hour. Place all the sauce ingredients into a bowl and stir well.

Heat a wok or sauté pan over high heat and then add 1 Tbsp. oil. When shimmering, add the beef (in two batches so there is no overcrowding) and let sear for 30 seconds to 1 minute until brown. Turn and let sear on the other side until brown but still underdone, then remove to a plate. Add 1 Tbsp. of oil to the wok or sauté pan, add the broccoli, then the onions and peppers and stir-fry until the vegetables are tender crisp. Return the meat along with any juices to the pan and add the sauce. Cook until everything is coated and the sauce thickens to a glaze.

****

This richly flavored stir-fry is delicious and easy to prepare. The quick cooking preserves the nutrients in the vegetables with very little fat needed. I  served rice with the stir-fried beef with broccoli, peppers and onions. I cooked the rice, then added soy sauce, sesame oil and scallions. The heat of the cooked rice was enough to cook the scallions but still kept their green color. I hope you will enjoy this stir-fry. It is a quick and easy recipe that is the perfect meal to serve during a busy weekday.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

188 Responses to Stir-Fried Beef With Broccoli, Peppers And Onions

  1. trendyhammer says:

    Reblogged this on Kevs' Blog and commented:
    YUMMY. 🙂

  2. I love a quick and easy dinner like that. Looks delicious!

  3. Oh, yum! I haven’t had Chinese food in ages…that’s got my taste buds going 😀

  4. savourytable says:

    Whole Foods now sells pre-chopped and sliced stir fry vegetables by the pound making this the perfect “fast food” dish. I’m having a garage sale today so this might just be a great option for supper tonight. I will be exhausted.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Karen, This dish is so easy to put together. With your market selling the pre-chopped vegetables, you will have this dish ready in a matter of minutes. Good luck with your garage sale.

  5. Gorgeous! I’m making a stir fry today too 🙂

  6. Monique says:

    We’ve always enjoyed stir fries..They pack everything tastefully and healtily together don’t they?

  7. Liza M. says:

    Looks delish. What kind of steak did you use? I was thinking that I need a stir-fry for next week. This just might be the one.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Liza, Thank you for stopping by and your nice compliment. I use sirloin tips but flank steak or london broil would be good cuts as well. Some markets even have beef pre-sliced for teriyaki that would work for this dish. I hope you enjoy the recipe.

  8. Karen, I love this recipe. There really is not a good Chinese takeout here in Nashville, TN so this is a recipe I will treasure and try. Thanks so much. Happy Spring.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Teresa, for your nice compliment…I’m glad that you like the recipe. I know what you mean, we have to drive several towns over to Chinese food and it is just OK. It is so easy to make at home and I think it is better…at least to what we can get around our area.

  9. I have to try this.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ron, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice comment. I’m glad you like the recipe…I hope you enjoy it. Look forward to seeing you again.

  10. That looks really good Karen!! Thanks for sharing 😀

    • Karen says:

      Hi Letizia, It is always my pleasure to share the dishes I create…I’m glad you like the stir-fry. Thank you for your nice comment.

  11. Very good looking dish.I love the stickiness of the sauce on the beef.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Roger, I’m glad you like the dish. I think letting the sauce glaze the meat makes it delicious…it is just enough sauce to flavor everything.

  12. We love stir fries – they are always so full of flavour.
    Think I shall have to take out a piece of steak to try your lovely recipe.
    Have a super weekend Karen.
    🙂 Mandy xo

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mandy, You are right…stir-fries are a very flavorful dish to prepare. I hope you will enjoy the recipe. Have a nice weekend as well.

  13. Norma Chang says:

    Wonderful stir-fry Karen. Like how you add scallion to your (brown?) rice instead of serving it plain. Nowadays, I prep and refrigerate all my ingredients in the morning or the night before, so when I enter my kitchen meal is on the table the in no time.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Norma, I’m happy you like the stir-fry. It is a great idea to prep your ingredients ahead of time…then it only takes a matter of minutes to prepare your meal. I like the flavor that the scallion adds to the rice and it makes makes it look more appetizing. I like using either both brown or white rice, they are both good prepared this way.

  14. Looks great Karen!! I love that your chopsticks are blending into the dish too, very funky!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Lisa, I’m glad you enjoyed the post. Yes, my chopsticks look almost like the meat…I need to get some that are a different color. 🙂

  15. sybaritica says:

    Just my sort of lunch 🙂

  16. This looks fabulous. My husband is a wiz with a wok and shovel and I act as prep chef. Not sure who got the best job 🙂

    Beautiful presentation.
    Sam

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Sam, for your lovely compliment. You and Meakin make a terrific team. My husband and I like to help each other out in the kitchen as well.

  17. Mad Dog says:

    I’m sure it tastes better than a takeaway too 😉

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your nice comment, Mad Dog. By the time takeaway arrives at your table it is lukewarm. If I have to reheat something, I might as well make it myself to suit my own taste.

  18. adinparadise says:

    This sounds really good. Thanks for the recipe. 🙂

  19. Wouldn’t you know, we’ve had quite a few stir fries lately! This looks delicious. Downright decadent.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Greg, We do tend to prepare similar dishes. 🙂 I glad you like the looks of the beef and broccoli…thank you for the compliment.

  20. Karen, this looks wonderful! One of the big things I want to start doing is making more Asian food at home — and not feeling that I can only go out to eat for it!
    Kenley

  21. They say you eat with your eyes, the picture certainly makes me wish I could actually eat it straight from the screen!

  22. Pretty dish! And loads of flavor. I love Asian dishes, and this one looks wonderful. Most American stoves don’t really get hot enough to use a wok IMO, so I always use a big frying pan too. It works quite well. I actually have an electric wok that works quite well! It doesn’t get quite hot enough for some things, though, and because it has a nonstick (!) surface it can’t build up that great coating that woks get with age, but it’s so convenient. Anyway, great recipe – thanks so much.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you John, for your nice compliment. I’m glad you agree…you don’t need a wok, a large sauté pan works just fine to make a stir-fry.

  23. Just love stir fry!! Its so quick and simple.. Perfect for a hectic weeknight!!!

  24. That looks so good that I want some now! I love how you fancied it up by doming the rice and making it all nice as well! Is that chopped up green onions in the rice? White rice with soy or brown rice?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ducky, I’m happy to know that you like the recipe. Yes, that is green onions in the rice (white). After the rice is cooked, I like to mix them in with a little soy and sesame oil…it really gives the rice a nice flavor that goes well with the stir-fry. Thank you for your compliment.

  25. Thank you Karen, truly looks delicious and seems quick to prepare as you say…will try soon to take a break from other fast (italian) fares — Ciao ciao !!

    • Karen says:

      Ciao Myriam, I’m glad you like the looks of the beef and broccoli dish. We can all use a little change now and then with what we prepare for our meals. It doesn’t get much faster than a stir-fry. Thank you for your nice compliment. Have a nice weekend. 🙂

  26. gardenjon says:

    Looks great and I love your presentation with the cute rice! I often forget how easy Chinese food can be to make so I think I’ll be trying this or something similar soon, thanks!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jon, Thank you for nice compliment…I’m glad that you liked how I plated this meal. I’m happy to have reminded you how fast and easy Chinese stir-fries are to prepare.

  27. Nothing better or easier than a stir fry and you can make it so many ways too! Happy Weekend:)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Renee, There are so many options when it comes to what you can use in a stir-fry…it is so easy. I hope you have a nice weekend as well.

  28. Gardengirl says:

    I love stir-fry! It’s quick and easy and so versatile. Like you said, you can use whatever is on hand. I have trouble finding good sauces so I’ve bookmarked this recipe to try later. Thanks!

  29. Not only does your stir fry look delicious, your rice looks fantastic!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Tiny, for your nice compliment. I’m happy that you like the looks of this meal. It doesn’t take much to take rice from boring to delicious. 🙂

  30. Eva Taylor says:

    Presented with elegance that no Chinese Food restaurant can even come close to Karen. When my hubby first moved out of his parent’s home, the first thing he did was buy a wok and he stir-fried everything. I haven’t had restaurant Chinese food in about 30 years, it’s just so salty and questionable quality so making it at home is the only way to go.
    Our weather is much much nicer now, and the foliage is in full bloom. The weather man is predicting nice weather for our first ‘summer’ long weekend (Monday is Victoria Day and a Statutory Holiday). And it’s also our 27th Wedding Anniversary! Yes indeed, I was a child bride. Hope you have a wonderful weekend. We’re heading up north to our cottage so I’m not sure how much blogging I will be doing

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your kind words Eva, I really do appreciate your compliment. You can definitely control the salt when you cook at home…I like to use low sodium soy sauce. Have a wonderful anniversary and a great time at your cottage. We have opened up our cottage in Maine but not staying full time yet.

  31. This looks super yummy, I love stir fried beef and broccoli. Can’t wait to try!

  32. Oh this looks delicious. Lately I’m into stir-fry so will have to bookmark this!

  33. Another beautiful dish. The marinade and sauce is wonderful! 😀

  34. The beef slices look very tender! A delicious stir-fry.

  35. dhphotosite says:

    Yummy yummy yummy…quick, easy, tasty, and versatile. Can’t get much better than that!

  36. Barbara says:

    Wow. That is a fabulous photo of your yummy dish, Karen! Those colors and flavors are marvelous. I do love stir fries…..we don’t have a decent take out around here, but homemade beats take out no matter what.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Barbara, for your lovely compliment…I’m happy that you like the photo and recipe. We have to drive several towns over for a Chinese restaurant and it is just OK. I do think homemade beats takeout, at least in my experience.

  37. Love this dish. Healthy and it makes a nice presentation at the table too.

  38. A_Boleyn says:

    One of my favourite stir fries. I don’t make it nearly enough and now I have a beef craving. I like your beautiful rice mound best though … all the rice grains look plump and round not like the mushy ones currently in my fridge. I have a whole bag of parboiled rice (don’t remember WHY I bought it) in my pantry and it ends up either crunchy or mushy. I just can’t get the timing right. And I have no problem with sushi or jasmine rice so I’m frustrated.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Boleyn, I glad you liked this meal…especially the rice. Rice can be tricky sometimes and I don’t really know why. Jasmine rice would be perfect with this dish. 🙂

  39. ohlidia says:

    It’s 5:00 PM and I have no idea what to make for dinner. Actually, I HAD no idea. I have pretty much everything except the beef & broccoli. I’m off to the grocer’s and THIS is what I’m making for dinner tonight. Thank you!

  40. This does look delicious & you’re so right about it being an easy dish to prepare. The last time I made stir fried beef it was great but I was really disappointed in my rice. Tried to do a fried rice w/eggs & it was just okay, not great. I’m thinking your sauce would jazz it up a bit.

  41. lizzygoodthings says:

    This is my kind of food, Karen…. I love it and I love my wok! Interesting that you use a teaspoon of wine.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lizzy, I’m happy that you enjoyed the post…stir-fry is always a great meal. I use wine in the marinade to help tenderize the meat. You can use white wine, rice wine or sherry…you can even use rice wine vinegar.

  42. It’s hard to find a good Chinese stir fry around here. Everything I order all tastes the same! This looks like a great recipe to try, thanks!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kathryn, I appreciate that you stopped by for a visit. I’m happy to know that you like the recipe…thank you for your nice compliment.

  43. Wow, Karen! This looks so mouthwatering and easy. I’m always trying to add more Asian flair to our dinners and this looks perfect. Thanks for sharing!

  44. Eha says:

    A lovely recipe which has put a big smile on my face. Living alone at the moment I cook this kind of dishes 3-4 times a week. I don’t think any two have ever been alike 🙂 ! Like Norma I prep early in the day and marinate a tad longer. Love zucchini and snow peas in it also! Talking of geographical variations again, very many ‘ordinary’ Australian kitchens now have a wok burner on their stove: SE Asian cooking has become a large part of life whatever one’s race or origin!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eha, I’m always happy to know when you enjoy one of my posts. I think you and Norma are very clever to do your prep early in the day. Yes, the longer you marinate the meat the better the flavor. It really says something about the popularity of SE Asian cooking, that so many people in Australia have a wok burner as part of their stoves. You always share such interesting tidbits about where you live…thank you!

  45. Your version looks so fresh and delicious!

  46. musingmar says:

    Your recipe reminds me that I used to make a beef and broccoli stir fry that all three of my kids loved (no mean feat to find a dish that pleases everyone). It’s been far too long since I’ve made it! Next time I may change it up a bit to enjoy the bright colours and extra flavours of your recipe.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Marlene, Isn’t it funny how we have dishes that everyone enjoys but for some reason we stop making them. I hope you will enjoy the recipe.

  47. This is one of my favorite stir-fry meals. Love the veggies you added!

  48. gotasté says:

    Karen, you have put me to shame with this mouth watering Chinese dish. I love the soy sauce, sesame oil and scallions you’ve added to the rice. So delicious!…..danny

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Danny, for your lovely compliment…but I’m sure you make a great stir-fry as well. I do like dressing up the rice instead of just serving plain white rice. I’m glad you like it, thanks.

  49. You’re so right,having everything prepped first is so essential and once it is, it’s so gratifyingly quick!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lorraine, I’m glad that you agree with me. Prepping ahead of time is absolutely necessary for a stir-fry because it only takes a matter of minute to cook.

  50. Karen, another delightful, healthy and colorful recipe! We also love to eat Asian style food and beef with broccoli is always such a delicious choice for stir fries!
    Have a wonderful weekend!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your compliment, Andrea. I think beef and broccoli tends to be a favorite of a lot of people. I hope you are having a wonderful weekend with your family as well.

  51. That dish looks better than what we can get here. Maybe I don’t eat out often enough to know but your plate is outstanding!

  52. Sue says:

    Sounds delicious—and your photo is beautiful. At first I thought I might just cook the veggies, but I think this rates our weekly meat day treat. You always share the best recipes. I’ve never been much of a creative cook……but your recipes make it easy.
    Have a great weekend, Karen.
    I think I might be able to plant something this week-Hooray! It sure has been a miserable spring here. We even had SNOW last weekend. Ugh!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you so much Sue, for your very kind words. I’m happy that you enjoyed the photo and recipe. For the most part, I do try to create simple recipes that I think most anyone can make and enjoy. It makes me feel good that you think they are the kind of recipes you like. I can’t believe the weather that you have had this year…hopefully you have had your last snow. I’m going to delay planting my tomatoes in Maine this year. Wait until you see what I’m going to do with them until they go into the ground…I think it will give everyone a chuckle.

  53. Larry says:

    Delectable looking dish Karen. We haven’t made Asian in a while and need to cook something with asparagus.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Larry, Thank you for your nice compliment. Asparagus works well with Asian flavors…I can’t wait to see what you will be making.

  54. Great stir-fry recipe – with all the basic ingredients and steps described perfectly.

  55. Hi Karen quick and easy is my kind of recipe! The rice looks lovely in the pic and I am now hungry having read your excellent recipe! Roll on dinner time.

    • Karen says:

      Hi B, If you like quick and easy meals…this is one that is perfect. I’m happy that everyone likes the rice…it takes so little to take plain white rice and make it special with just a couple of ingredients.

  56. reg45 says:

    I have a similar recipe which uses a dash of 5 spice powder in the marinade. My sauce is quite different from yours, as I use sugar, oyster sauce, cornstarch and water only. I am definitely going to try yours asap since it has my favorite – hoisin sauce! Thanks for all the wonderful recipes I receive from you over the years!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Reg, I really appreciate you compliment…I’m glad that you have enjoyed all my recipes. If you like hoisin sauce, I think you will enjoy this stir-fry dish…it is a little sweet, a little salty and a little spicy.

  57. viveka says:

    You always get your dishes to talk to me … and very loud too.
    I like stir fry – one of the few times I eat beef – the thing is that a couple of weeks ago I had an true urge after beef – so I have some in the freezer – this will be great for a left over dish.

  58. Christine R. says:

    So simple and healthy! Thanks for sharing. We are always looking for a meal to cook on weekdays when we don’t have that much time.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Christine, A stir-fry is a perfect weekday meal as it can be put together in no time at all. I’m glad that you like the recipe…thank you!

  59. This is literray my grown up meals as asian descent…
    my mom used to cook deer venison this way too…
    Damn, you make me droll with your photograph Karen….

    • Karen says:

      Hi Dedy, I’m happy that my dish makes you think of your mother’s cooking. I love venison and I’m sure that your mother’s stir fry was delicious using it. Thank you for your nice compliment…I’m glad you liked the photo.

  60. When I was in my 20s I took an evening course with a woman who had emigrated from China…it was amazing eating Chinese food fresh and I loved making it…i lost all the recipes after moving so many times and I wish I had some of them now…this reminds me of one of them so I thank you…now I can get back to some fun cooking ….I have missed cooking since working such long hours the last 15 years….retirement will allow me time to explore and enjoy again!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Donna, I’m happy that my recipe brought back memories of your cooking class. How lucky you were to have had the opportunity to take that course. I know you will enjoy being able to do so many things that you haven’t had the time to do because of your job.

  61. Lulu says:

    I stir fry at every opportunity. Love the flavors, it’s easy and a great way to use whatever little bits are on hand. M wok is well used!

  62. Very nice, Karen. We love stir fry and this looks and sounds fabulous. Love the chopsticks, too. 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Richard, for your nice compliment…I’m glad you liked the recipe. With the wonderful beef that you get in Texas, this would be a nice way to enjoy some of it. 🙂

  63. A dinner like this is definitely a winner my friend, great job 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  64. Suzanne says:

    You are right – stir frys are so easy that there is never an excuse to go out for takeaways.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Suzanne, When you order takeout, you end up with a meal that is lukewarm at best. I would rather take a few minutes preparing a homemade fresh meal with all the flavors that I like in a matter of minutes than taking the time to reheat a takeout dish of dubious flavor. 🙂

  65. hotlyspiced says:

    This looks like a very yummy meal. And I love the look of your rice too. Is it a fried rice? xx

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Charlie, I’m glad that you like the meal. The rice is not fried rice…I cook white rice and then add some soy sauce, sesame oil and sliced scallions and toss. I’m happy that you like it.

  66. ChgoJohn says:

    I’ve only recently began cooking Asian dishes, Karen, and those are mostly Thai. Your stir-fry, though, looks delicious and far better than anything I’ve had delivered or picked up. I definitely want to give this dish a try. Thanks for sharing.

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, If you have started cooking Asian dishes (Thai) then you will probably have most everything you need for this recipe. Perhaps you will need the hoisin sauce and the sesame oil…the hot chili garlic sauce is used in a lot of Thai dishes. I do think you will enjoy this dish. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  67. Gorgeous, tack-sharp image!!

  68. The beef does look incredibly tender…YUM! I like this a lot =)

  69. mjskit says:

    What a delicious looking plate of food! Love that sauce!

  70. I love beef and broccoli! This looks terrific Karen.

  71. I love cooking up story-fries, especially as the weather warms up because they are a quick and easy meal and you can use so many different veggies. This looks really pretty and quite tasty!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Amy, Thank you for your compliment. I agree with you that stir-fries get you in and out of the kitchen in no time at all, making them perfect for when the weather is hot.

  72. Kristy says:

    Hi Karen! I’ve stir fried numerous times, but I don’t think I’ve ever used beef. I’m just not a big beef eater (except for every now and then). I bet Mike and Mr. N would thoroughly enjoy this dish though. And stir fries are always such fun to make. 🙂

  73. Rachel says:

    Once in France I made a (less fancy than yours but close) stir-fry for friends. What is pretty much “dorm food” to me was exotic to them and they loved it. Gave me a new appreciation for a basic. Mmmm… yours is so pretty! Hungry now!!

  74. So excited to try this! I’ve been wanting a change from the ‘same old, same old’… I will try with tempeh and tofu…I love the versatility! Thanks for sharing.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jennifer, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice comment. It is nice to change things up when we are cooking. I hope you enjoy the recipe…I think your substitutions will work terrific.

  75. Your stir fry certainly looks healthier, prettier and like it tastes better than any take-out variety!

  76. Rosa Mayland says:

    A tasty stir-fry! Broccoli is such a wonderful vegetable; healthy, flavorful and versatile.

    Cheers,

    Rosa

  77. emanuelle says:

    I’ll be trying this very soon! Looks so delicious!!!

  78. Sophie33 says:

    I made your tasty dinner yestrady evening & my husbnad Peter & I absolutely loved every bit of this fab dinner! 🙂 It was superb, Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you so much Sophie, for letting my know that you made this meal and that you and Peter enjoyed it. I always appreciate when someone takes the time to let me know that they prepared one of my recipes.

  79. afracooking says:

    This stir fry looks beautiful – fresh, healthy and tasty!

  80. Stir-fry is one of my favorite mid-week meal to prepare. I’ll be trying your sauce. The dish looks delicious!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sandra, Stir-fries are a perfect meal for during the middle of the week as they are so fast to prepare. I hope you will enjoy the sauce.

  81. I like this recipe, as it is a straightforward way to cook good Chinese stir-fry and get the right balance of sweet-salty-savory tastes.

  82. Lea Ann says:

    This is one of my favorite combos for stir fry. Love that you’ve added wine to this. I’ll be doing that next time.

  83. The food of my youth, Karen! Your version looks scrumptious! I’m indulgent these days and use eye-fillet – my Pete doesn’t like the cornstarch flavour, so we leave it out!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Celia, I’m glad that you like my version of beef with broccoli and that it reminded you of the dish you had when you were young.

  84. Amy says:

    Yummy! I love homemade chinese. So much healthier! 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Hi Amy, I agree with you that homemade Chinese dishes are much healthier than getting takeout…I’m glad you like the recipe.

  85. Tandy says:

    I must try white wine with my next stir fry! and those chop sticks are so pretty 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tandy, I’m happy that you liked my version of the stir-fry. I’m glad you liked the chop sticks…I was worried about them blending in too much with the beef.

  86. Sissi says:

    It looks so easy and delicious… who would order a takeaway instead? I have also stopped ordering main courses in Chinese restaurants because they are always greasy and not as good as at home (I only take dim sum which are either difficult or impossible for me depending on the kind). I appreciate you saying “if you don’t want beef” because I am always the one who chooses pork and most people look at me as if I were crazy 😉

  87. Perfect mouthwatering image Karen, though it’s never easy to start craving dinner in the morning hours. 😉

  88. Comfort food at its best!!

  89. Monica says:

    Mmmm…this is delicious! It’s so nice to re-create restaurant favorites and be able to enjoy healthier, lighter versions. I love hoisin sauce and all the Asian flavors – that’s my comfort food, for sure! : )

    • Karen says:

      Hi Monica, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. I totally agree with you that it is nice to recreate dishes that you might have at a restaurant and make them healthier.

  90. Ashley says:

    I love making stir-fries at home – so much better than take out! This one looks great – I usually use chicken but I think I need to switch it up with beef!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ashley, Thank you for stopping by for a visit. Stir-fries are so easy to prepare at home. I’m glad you like the recipe…I appreciate your compliment.

  91. Amy says:

    Love this recipe. Thank you so much, Karen!

  92. rosita says:

    OMG plato fantástico para un almuerzo ..karen estoy impresioanda por sus fotos maravillosas ,su huerto y los lugares preciosos que nos enseña,gracias por compartir,hugs,hugs.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rosita, Muchas gracias por sus amables palabras. Estoy feliz de saber que usted disfrute de mis mensajes y fotos. Este plato sería agradable para el almuerzo. 🙂 I appreciate your lovely compliment and I’m happy that you enjoy my posts, photos and recipes.

Leave a Reply

