Maine, Where Memories Are Made

It Must Be Maine; The Way Life Should Be

After spending five delightful summers at our lakeside cottage in Maine, I have to say that the above state slogan is very appropriate although I think it could be, Maine, Where Memories Are Made. My husband and I have enjoyed experiencing the natural beauty of its rugged ocean coastline, lakes and mountain vistas and indeed have wonderful memories of our time spent in Maine.

Click on any of the photos in the photo galleries to see a slide show.

In my first post on Back Road Journal, Let’s Take A Ride I wrote,  “many people wish they could have a little place to escape to…by a lake, in the mountains, on a sandy beach or wherever their dreams take them. No matter where, no matter how small a place we find, we all enjoy a little freedom from our everyday life.” When we found our little cottage, we thought the location was perfect…on a lake with its own little beach, in the picturesque small town of Naples in the Lakes Region of Maine only two hours from our New Hampshire home.

The Waterfront Lawn Of The Cottage Has Been Professionally Landscaped

Our Little Maine Cottage On Long Lake, Naples, Maine

Our Private Little Beach

Our Private Little Beach

The small house which everyone referred to as a camp needed “a little work“. We turned the camp into a cute little cottage decorated with a mixture of old and new, making it an easy to care for summer getaway.

Summers were spent enjoying the slow pace that Maine seems to be all about. Countless books were read in the shade, gardens were tended and short excursions to other parts of the state were enjoyed.

Living on the lake meant that there was always the opportunity to spend time on the water with our family or friends boating or jet skiing.

A cocktail was often had at the end of our dock as we watched loons swim by, spectacular sunsets or the evening fireworks celebrating the 4th of July.

Of course there was great eating involved. Foremost on everyone’s list when they came to visit us at the lake was lobster and chowder, followed closely behind by steaks, burgers and chicken hot off the grill and a few s’mores made around the fire.

Each fall when we closed down the cottage, we would say a little “goodbye” and hoped the cottage, gardens and the little critters we befriended would survive though the hard winter snows. Come spring, we were always anxious to open the cottage for another year of summer fun in Maine.

View Of The Mountains At Sunset From The Dock

View Of The Mountains At Sunset From The Dock

This summer will be a little different as we have sold the cottage. The rooms may be empty of furniture and art but as we head back to New Hampshire we know that we are leaving the cottage a much better place than it was before. It is now time for others to come to our little place on the lake in Maine, Where Memories Are Made.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

198 Responses to Maine, Where Memories Are Made

  1. What a great place to get-away and I can certainly see why you’re anxious to return each year. I would love to sit by the lake and enjoy that sunset with drink in hand.
    Sam

  2. Karen, what a beautiful cottage you created. So full of life and memories. It will miss you, and hopefully the new owners will love and cherish it the way you did. All the best, Terri

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Terri, for your nice compliment. Remodeling and decorating the cottage was an enjoyable project. 🙂 I do hope that all the future owners will love it as much as we did.

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Oh, that’s a shame. I hope you’ll be doing something equally enjoyable this summer instead 🙂

  4. What a beautiful cottage and location, Karen. It must have been hard to leave it for the last time but what wonderful summers you’ve had there to fill your memories.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kay, We loved everything about the cottage and it will be missed. We had a great five years and made lots of memories. Thank you for your kind words.

  5. Sue says:

    I know you have a lot of great memories from that cottage.It’s a dollhouse–so sweet.

    When we sold our vacation home, I felt like part of a burden was lifted—there was always ongoing maintenance and work, but now, years later, a little part of me regrets the decision.
    I have to think of all the fun the “new” owners must be having with it.

    Enjoy the week, Karen. It’s hard to believe the 4th is just around the corner!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sue, It was like a cute little doll house…just over 800 sq. feet. You summed up our feelings about selling it perfectly. We loved every moment spent at the cottage and hope others will as well. I agree with you, this year is flying by. I hope you have a great week as well and enjoy the celebrations on the 4th.

  6. Bonnie says:

    “On Golden Pond” came to mind as I read your post. What a lovely place.

    Best,
    Bonnie

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bonnie, I have always felt a lot of similarities to the movie…especially when I heard the cry of the loons. It was a sweet place to spend our summers.

  7. Maine is a beautiful state and your cottage was gorgeous. New Hampshire welcomes you back for the summers. 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your nice comment, Judy…we did love our time in Maine. Since you and I both live in New Hampshire, we do know that our state has lots of wonderful spots for summer fun as well. 🙂

  8. Hamilton says:

    It looks like summer is a beautiful time to be in Maine. Happy travels! 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Hi Hamilton, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice comment. Summer in Maine is delightful. I hope you get a chance to visit someday. 🙂

  9. Ruth says:

    Oh, Karen, I think my heart broke a little when I read the cottage has been sold!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Ruth, That is so sweet. It was not an easy decision as we had wonderful times at the cottage. We are leaving a little piece of us behind at the cottage and the beautiful gardens we created for others to love as we did. 🙂

  10. Andrea Mohr says:

    Unbelievably delightful cottage, dear Karen – what an incredible place to create such beautiful memories at! I am sure that the new owners will indeed cherish the cottage and its surroundings as much as you did!
    Thank you for all the lovely pictures!
    Have a great Monday!

    • Andrea Mohr says:

      By the way, this is getting to be almost funny, the blog will not let me comment as “Kitchen Lioness” – so A. Mohr it is for now…

      • Karen says:

        I had to pull your comments out of the spam file, Andrea. Thank you for taking the time to comment again, it is much appreciated.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Andrea, I feel that anyone who spends time at the cottage will fall in love with it the way we did. I don’t know what is going on with the problems we are both having commenting on each other’s blog. I just found you comments on the Southwestern salad in my spam file. I marked them as Not Spam. Hopefully you won’t have any more problems in the future as I always appreciate your find words. I hope you and your family have a great week. 🙂

  11. Madonna says:

    Several of your photos remind me of the movie On Golden Pond. Your cottage is gorgeous and your post is a perfect tribute.

    Madonna

    • Karen says:

      Hi Madonna, The first time I heard the loons on the lake, I thought of the movie as well. I’m glad you enjoyed the post, I hoped it would reflect all our wonderful memories we have of our summers spent at the cottage in Maine. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  12. Eha says:

    A little sad to read this part of your life has come to an end . . . smile when I realize I must have been reading your posts for quite awhile as I so remember all your loon photos and those beautiful sunsets which we could share. I am certain that those inhabiting it from now will enjoy the way you left it. One chapter has ended . . . I hope you have exciting plans for the next one . . . . happy 4th wherever you will be 🙂 !

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your kind words and wish, Eha. It is a little sad to leave something behind that brought so much enjoyment to us. I totally agree with you about it being another chapter in life and there is yet another page to turn. 🙂

  13. Darling, yet I would suggest painting the cottage’s exterior to match the super color scheme of the living room (one with the coral loveseat)!

  14. hotlyspiced says:

    That’s so sad! I’m so sorry to hear you’ve sold the cottage as I’ve very much enjoyed your posts that show me how life is in a country cottage in Maine. It’s so gorgeous and I can tell you’ve done a lot of work to it – the new owners are very blessed xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, I appreciate your kind thoughts. I’m happy to know that you have enjoyed the posts I’ve written about our time spent in Maine. It is a little sad that we are leaving our sweet cottage behind but I know that anyone who spends time there will enjoy it as much as we have. I’ll be sure to take you on new adventures to other spots in New England. 🙂

  15. janetknight57 says:

    Hi karen, I have only recently started reading your blog, and I love your photos, your holiday home is so lovely, I’m sure the new owners are really excited I know I would be.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Jane, I’m happy to know that you have enjoyed my blog and photos…I appreciate you following along. I’m glad you liked our little cottage and I think you are right…I believe it will be enjoyed by anyone who gets to spend time there.

  16. Sophie33 says:

    You already told us about your little get-away! It is just perfect with it’s own private beach andso,…have a great time there! 😀

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sophie, You are right…I have written posts about our cottage in Maine each summer. This post was just a way of summing up all our adventures that we experienced in Maine over the five summers we were there. 🙂

  17. Sophie33 says:

    Ooh sorry, I didn’t read the last 3 sentences,.’.others Will love it too! Good fun memories were made there by you,…😉

  18. I must tell you a tear trickled down my cheek as I read of the selling of the cottage. You had created the perfect hideaway, so very charming. You did the things I have dreamed of doing and will probably not get to do.

    We once rented a house on Highland Lake, I believe it was called, inPortland Maine for several months. It was one of the best times in my life. I have always wanted a Summer home in Maine and live in New Hampshire…….still stuck in Texas where the political and environmental climates both so not agree with me.

    So enjoyed your post!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Tin Man. I have shed a few tears over selling the cottage as well. The cottage was a dream come true for my husband and I and we both loved every moment we were there. We will both miss miss our summers there but have lots of wonderful memories. We won’t have the cottage to stay at anymore but that doesn’t mean that we can’t still spend time in Maine. 🙂

  19. What a beautiful and peaceful little place! You must be very sorry to see it go, but you will always have the happy memories and nothing can take that away from you. I am sure that the next lucky owners will look after it and enjoy it as much as you did.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Fatima, for you nice comment. We were lucky to have such a delightful place to spend our summers and it was not an easy decision to let it go. I do believe that it will bring happiness to others that experience time at the cottage on the lake.

  20. savourytable says:

    All good things must come to an end at some point. We are slowly getting our house ready to put on the market so we can enter a new phase in our lives. One kid gone and one to go shortly after, leaves us rattling around a house that is much larger than we need or want. I know how bittersweet it must be for you. The camp is a beautiful place. Now it will be home to someone else’s memories. How exciting for them.

    • Karen says:

      You summed it up perfectly, Karen. Not only do we share the same name but our thoughts and experiences are often similar. It is always hard to let something go that you have enjoyed but I know future owners will love it like we did. Let’s hope we both enjoy the new phases in our lives. 🙂

  21. While I am sorry you sold the cottage, it was probably a huge issue to take care of 2 homes at once.Besides, you have all those great memories and you will always have those……..and pictures, your beautiful pictures. 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kelli, You are right about always having the memories and the photos. That is one nice thing about blogging, I probably would never have taken as many photos as I did of the cottage and the lake except that I wanted to share them with my blogging friends. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  22. Monique says:

    I’m sad !
    i loved that place..
    It’s difficult running 2 homes and you love to travel..Thanks for sharing her again with us..
    You did make her special.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your sweet words, Monique. I was sad too when we made the decision but you are correct about it being difficult running two homes, especially when a home is not lived in through our northern winters. We will definitely have more time now to travel. I’m hoping that I’ll get a chance to visit Canada in the next year or two, its been too many years since I have been to your beautiful part of the world.

  23. I always love seeing your Maine photos and reading your posts about the Pine Tree state. 🙂 As you know, Maine has been on my bucket list for quite some time. Unfortunately, I haven’t managed to get there yet and as I don’t live in the U.S., I am not close by. Also, life has been alternately busy and stressful (sometimes both!) over the past couple of years, with studying for my undergraduate degree and then an unexpected severe illness that put my mother in hospital for three months in 2012 – 2013.

    I was her caregiver during that time and after she returned home to start the long recovery and, of course, my Maine plans flew out of the window! But I would love her to accompany me to Maine and New England next year. I have been looking at “New England in the Fall” tours, which sound wonderful! It would be fun to do a big trip together.

    Even though you have sold the cottage (I am envious of the new owners 😉 ), I hope you still enjoy returning to ME and your happy memories of summering there.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Grace, I do know how much you loved my posts and photos about Maine and I appreciate that. Hopefully you and your mother will get a chance to visit New England, it is especially pretty during the fall foliage season. You are correct, just because we don’t have our cottage doesn’t mean the end of going to Maine. Our New Hampshire home is just thirty minutes away from the border into Maine.

  24. David says:

    It is a beautiful place, and I can only imagine how hard it is to say goodbye. Having lived in Maine, we often visited that region and I found it so relaxing and so much more interesting than the oceanside. It is idyllic. Onward to your next Back Road Journey.

    • Karen says:

      Hi David, We loved every minute of our time at the lake in Maine as it truly was an idyllic spot. I appreciate your comment and you are correct…there are new adventures just waiting to be experienced along the back roads.

  25. lulu says:

    Oh Karen, I hate hearing that you are 2 hours further away as I was hoping you all would find your way up the coast this summer. If that’s a possibility, just let me know as you will always be welcome. Ends of eras are always a bit nostalgic.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Linda, It is so true about being nostalgic about what was but there are always new adventures to look forward to. Two hours extra will never keep us from spending time with you and Pete. We will definitely have to set a date…it will be great getting together again. 😀

  26. I think I would love Maine…thanks for sharing!

  27. I’m so sad you sold your cottage…wish I could have bought it! Such an adorable place and I know you will miss it. I can imagine that one feels compelled to be there every summer when you have it, and perhaps there are more places you’d like to explore during the warmer months and not be bound to a property. Still I know you have such sweet memories there and that it must have been quite hard to part with it. Thanks for sharing it with us!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Betsy, It was a decision that was not easy as we have had such wonderful summers in Maine but your thinking is correct about feeling compelled to spend your entire time at a summer vacation home. We will have a lot more flexibility traveling in the future. I’m happy that you have enjoyed the posts that I have done about Maine, thank you. 🙂

  28. Kristy says:

    You’ve sold the cottage! I was not expecting to read that at all. Well, I for one am glad that you were able to share some of those memories with us. As you know we love Maine. We’ve spent two glorious summer vacations on the shores and it has stolen a piece of our heart each time. Your posts always gave me a little taste of it again. I’m sure the new owners of the cottage will make many memorable visits as well. I now look forward to what your summers have in store in New Hampshire. Thank you for sharing these memories with us. 🙂

  29. libraryselkie says:

    Dear Karen, such a difficult decision and one that was not made lightly – I’m sure. There’s something to be said for a simpler life style. I can only hope to see you and your husband exploring other fabulous nooks and crannies in Maine and beyond!

    Happy 4th of July!
    Mary

    • Karen says:

      You are right Mary, it was not an easy decision to make but when you can simplify your life, it is always step in the right direction. 🙂 There will still be trips to Maine as well as other parts of New England that we have not visited in several years. I hope you have a great 4th at the beach…the weather should be good for the fireworks.

  30. What lovely images of an idyllic place!

  31. Such a lovely place, Karen, a refuge I am sure. I have enjoyed your Maine photos over the last few years, it I remember correctly there was quite a lot of water there a summer or two ago. I am confident the new owners will benefit greatly from your improvements and diligent care of the cottage. You’ll have to find a little place in Italy to replace it. 😉

    • Karen says:

      So true, Judy…the cottage was a love place to enjoy after the snows of winter had melted and we loved it. You do have a great memory, two years ago the melting snow cause the lake to flood. I believe the new owners will enjoy the cottage as much as we did. You gave me a chuckle about a little place in Italy. Don’t give me any encouragement as we are trying to simplify our life. 😀

  32. Larry says:

    I’ve enjoyed reading about your summers in Maine and believe I would have enjoyed being the next resident, so I’m a little envious of those that are.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Larry, I’m happy to know that you have enjoyed the posts about our Maine summers. I remember when I first discovered your blog and knew we had so much in common with homes on the water, pontoon boats and jet skies. You definitely would have loved our cottage. 😀

  33. A_Boleyn says:

    Your cottage is beautiful. I’m sure you’ll miss it and all the great summers you spent there but the next owners will love what you’ve done with it.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Boleyn, for your nice compliment. We were very happy with the way the cottage turned out and had wonderful times there. I do believe the new owners and anyone that follows will enjoy spending summers there.

  34. Peter/Outlaw says:

    A bittersweet moment indeed. How fortunate that you have so many beautiful memories to take with you. I’ll bet that tending only one garden will be a relief!

    • Karen says:

      Yes Peter, it was a bittersweet moment. You are right that I will only have one garden to tend besides the orchard but I will definitely miss the beautiful gardens that we created in Maine…they were just approaching the time of the year when they are at their prettiest. 🙂

  35. What a wonderful post, Karen. You know how much I love Maine & you have left your cottage there full of soul & memories for others to enjoy everything that’s great about summer.

    • Karen says:

      What a lovely compliment, Ksenia. I have always believed that the love you put into a home will be felt by those who follow. Hopefully I am right. 🙂

  36. kitchenriffs says:

    I always love your Maine posts — what a nice peaceful place. So I was shocked at your ending! Although I understand totally — we all have different stages in our lives, and closing one chapter opens another. Glad you’ll have such great memories of a gorgeous spot of the world.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you John, I’m happy to know that you have enjoyed the Maine posts. I know the ending of this post was a surprise to many of my readers. I could have started off by saying that we sold the cottage but I wanted this post to be about everything we loved about Maine. The ending is just a new beginning in our lives as we continue to discover the back roads. I’m glad you understand and appreciate your thoughts.

  37. I was just wondering if you were heading up to the cottage. I’m sure you’re going to miss it, especially that little beach which is exactly where I’d park my butt all day. You did such a beautiful job turning it into a cozy get-away and I’m sure you’ll have moments where you’ll miss it dearly. But time for new memories. Gorgeous photos Karen, really outstanding.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Diane, I have had so many readers wondering about when we were going to Maine. We will indeed miss the cottage but have great memories of all the fun we had with our family and friends who visited. As you said it is now time to make new memories. Each day is a new adventure that we all need to look forward to. Thank you for your nice compliment and the smiles you have always given through your comments.

  38. Jane says:

    I could see by reading your words in the “past tense” that the cottage was no longer a part of your life. Oh, I’d miss it, too, but you put it in perspective…you’re leaving it better than it was before. I really enjoyed your pictures! I have been along the coast of Maine just once, just out of New Hampshire. I have always wanted to vacation there. It really is a little slice of heaven.

    Jane

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jane, This post was totally written in the past tense. I’m glad that you have enjoyed the posts about Maine and hope you get a chance to return someday. Many of my blogging friends have homes on the water like yourself and I will think back on our Maine adventures when I read about others experiences. 🙂

  39. ohlidia says:

    Awww…:-( So glad you have such fond and warm memories of your cozy cottage Karen.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Lidia, Our small cottage reinforced the idea that the size of a house doesn’t matter. We shared great times with our friends and family within its walls, out by the lake and on the water. Thank you for your thoughts.

  40. Oh I felt a little sad when I read this but then I pulled myself together and reminded myself that you had some amazing times there and created many happy memories and now other can do the same – and you still have your beautiful home! Looking forward to finding out what other plans you have 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tanya, It is hard to let go of any house without being a little bit sad because you created a home you love. I believe the new owners will enjoy it as much as we did. There will be more adventures on the back roads as we love to travel and I glad you are looking forward to following along…thank you. 🙂

  41. A very beautiful place to spend the summer vacation. The cottage looks so cozy and lovely.

  42. Beautiful Country – Beautiful Captures 🙂 Happy Week!

  43. Such a gorgeous cottage in a really idyllic place, Karen. You and your family must have made so many happy memories there. It must have been a wrench to leave it for the last time, a bit like I’m going to feel in a few weeks when we leave our house by the sea and head for pastures new, Your photos are wonderful, and the food pics are delicious. 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your lovely compliment, Sylvia. Yes, we are in similar positions at the moment it appears. It can be hard to give up what has made us so happy but new adventures and memories lie ahead. 🙂

  44. TasteFood says:

    How bittersweet. We visit Maine every summer to the Camden area to see my mother. She sold her house on the coast and now lives in a condo, and we miss her seaside home with every visit. Wonderful memories indeed – I am sure the new owners of your home will carry them on.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Linda, The Camden area of Maine is beautiful and I’m sure you miss your mother’s seaside home there. Isn’t it nice that we always have the memories of the places we have enjoyed over the years. I believe the new owners will enjoy the lakeside cottage just as we did. 🙂

  45. Cathy says:

    Such a sweet story and a beautiful little getaway. All good things come to an end, but hope that means there’s a new beginning in sight this summer!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cathy, It was a beautiful little spot to get away and one of the things I loved most were the beautiful gardens we had there. I wish I could have dug them up and brought them back to New Hampshire with us. New adventures lie ahead and I hope you will enjoy following along. Thank you for your nice thoughts.

  46. Thanks so much for sharing your summer visits to Maine. I have enjoyed them and I know this is a bittersweet experience for you.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Southern, I’m happy that you have enjoyed the posts about our times spent in Maine. Yes, it is a little bittersweet but I’m looking forward to sharing other parts of New England with everyone. Thank you, I always appreciate your visits.

  47. Marigene says:

    I would find it hard to hand the keys over to someone else…what a peaceful little cottage. I have many wonderful memories of summer vacations in Maine when my kids were little.
    Have a super good week, Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your comment and wish, Marigene. Maine is such a wonderful place to spend a vacation. I’m happy that you have nice memories from there as well. 🙂

  48. Your descriptions were so beautiful, I felt a pang of loss to know the cottage was sold my friend!
    At least your memories last forever 🙂

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  49. I hope you will find a little respite from the craziness of life in your New Hampshire home.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your wish, Elizabeth. Summers will be different but now we will get a chance to visit other spots in New England. Perhaps we will make our way back to the Cape this year. 🙂

  50. plumdirt says:

    I could read the melancholy through your post and had an inkling of the ending. I’m glad you were able to enjoy (and improve upon) such a magical place while it lasted. Onto the next adventure?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Plumdirt, I tried to keep an upbeat attitude when writing this post but since it was in the past tense I guess my readers could figure out the ending ahead of time. It was a wonderful five years and yes, there will be new adventures on back roads yet to discover. 🙂

  51. Michelle says:

    Such happy colors. I’m sure it was hard to let it go.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Michelle, I thought decorating with bright, sunny colors was perfect for a summer cottage. I’m glad you like the look. It was hard to leave but we’ve passed the cottage on to a new family who will continue the summertime fun.

  52. We were in (just a little part of) Main in autumn, and have heard that it is gorgeous in the summer. You have done a great job with the ‘camp’! The food is yummy too! 😛

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Fae, for your nice compliment. I’m glad that you like how we changed a “camp” to a cottage. The colorful foliage in New England during the fall is famous the world over but summer vacations lakeside and oceanside are celebrated by New Englanders and visitors for the nice (less hot) weather we enjoy during the summer.

  53. Raymund says:

    Lovely summer photos, I now feel like I want to go on a vacation in somewhere sunny. Its witer here at my place

    • Karen says:

      Hi Raymund, I’m happy that you enjoyed the photos of the summers we spent in Maine, thank you! Hopefully you winter weather will not be too harsh and that you can get away for a few days of warmth somewhere. 🙂

  54. Arlene Poma says:

    Karen, it hit a record 111 degrees here in Sacramento. We are having July/August temperatures on June 30. Oh, well. Most of us just go about our business and go from one air-conditioned building/vehicle to the next. I must say that your post was so refreshing! Thank you for a Great Escape!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Arlene, I had no idea that Sacramento weather got that hot, especially this early in the summer I’m glad that my post gave you an enjoyable escape. Thank you so much for your lovely compliment.

      • Arlene Poma says:

        Karen, it hits 115 degrees in Sacramento during the summer. But that’s usually in July or August. After experiencing heat and humidity while on a road trip through Missouri, Tennessee, Louisiana, etc., I vowed never to complain about valley heat. If I do, I quickly remind myself of “melting” in the heat and humidity of the South. Works for me!

      • Karen says:

        So true…humidity really does add to the misery when it is hot outside. Thankfully, we don’t often have to contend with it here in New England.

      • Arlene Poma says:

        New England is on my travel bucket list. Thank you for being my online travel guide!

      • Karen says:

        My pleasure…I do hope you get a chance to visit New England.

  55. cheri says:

    Hi Karen, we are at our second home in Yachats Oregon, the coast line is very rocky like that of Maine, we have listed our house this summer, bittersweet is all I can say. Wish you many great new memories.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cheri, I’ve been enjoying your posts for Yachats and yes, it does remind me of the rocky coastline of Maine. Knowing that you have listed your second home, I know all the feelings you are having as well. My husband and I have moved many times and some homes are much harder to leave than others. We take away good memories and then make new ones wherever we go next. Good luck!

  56. That is amazing and looks like such fun…

  57. Awww, you’ll miss it but oh the memories. When I was a kid I thought it was cute that places on lakes in Maine are all called camps and places along the shore are all called cottages. Maine – they do things just a bit differently. 🙂 I haven’t seen a loon in so long but I can close my eyes and hear him.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Maureen, You are so right, we will definitely miss our sweet cottage at the lake and all the fun we had there. I agree with you…I never figured out why the same little house would be called a cottage if it was oceanside but a camp if it was on a lake. They do things very differently in Maine, that is for sure. 😀 I think the best memories I’ll take away from the lake are the loons, their beauty and their haunting call. I’ll always remember when a mother and her little chick actually came up on our beach and I got a chance to photograph them.

  58. Liz Posmyk of Bizzy Lizzy's Good Things says:

    Wow, what treasured memories you will have of this beautiful place! Thank you so much for sharing it with us all.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Lizzy, for your nice comment. I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the post. Yes, we will have wonderful memories of our time spent in Maine…they were special.

  59. How bittersweet it must have been to sell this special cottage fulled of happy memories! As others have said, we go through different stages in life and now you will have new summer adventures.and memories, Karen. Your photo of your lobster roll made me so hungry! I miss fresh seafood and especially Maine lobster. It is hard to find here and very expensive. I try to indulge in it as much as possible when i travel to the eats coast!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Pat, You are one person who can truly understand leaving a place that you have loved since your move from New York to Colorado. We do indeed have wonderful memories but make new ones wherever we go. I’ve always been amazed at how expensive lobster can be outside of New England and the east coast. Thank you for your nice comment. 🙂

  60. This is a beautiful place, I hope the new owners will appreciate the place and the work done in the cottage!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Katerina, for your lovely compliment. I do hope that they enjoy our summer place and take care of it the way we did. 🙂

  61. Karen, I have mentioned you and your Maine cottage to my hubby several times as we begin our decision making regarding our retirement plans, and we even saw Long Lake recently. (We are Maine lovers too, and it is indeed “the way life should be” for fun, beauty and relaxation!) Your lake was so beautiful, and the way you have decorated the cottage is so lovely and inviting. I am sad for me, as one of your readers, that I won’t be seeing and hearing of your Maine adventures, yet happy for you. Growing up my family had a cottage on a lake, and I know the amount of work and worry that is involved in having a second home. I hope you have something wonderful planned for this summer. Linda

    • Karen says:

      Hi Linda, I appreciate your lovely comment, thank you. I mention my blogging friends to my husband as well…he knows that you and your husband live close to our friends who live in Weston. 🙂 I’m glad that you agree with me about how delightful Maine is. We will truly miss our little place on the lake and it is nice to know that you enjoyed our Maine adventures. There really is a lot of work to owning a second home especially if it’s closed up for half the year with below freezing temps and snow involved.

  62. Eva Taylor says:

    Oh I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve sold your little cabin, I’ve enjoyed your posts from there. I can’t imagine selling our place; I’ve been cottaging since the early 80’s, summer wouldn’t be summer without the cottage. I hope you have other adventures planned since you’ll have the time this summer.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eva, I appreciate your nice thoughts and wishes. We will miss our little cottage on the lake. I’m glad that you enjoyed following along during our summers there, thank you.

  63. Chris says:

    So much beauty: the land, cottage, decor, beach….It’s a shame to have to leave. Beautiful photos too. Everything looks so good.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Chris,Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. I’m glad you liked the photos. We enjoyed every summer spent in Maine, it really is a beautiful state.

  64. What lovely memories you have. It made my heart a little sad for you when I read that you sold the charming little cottage. Thanks for sharing a beautiful piece of America with us.

  65. ramblingtart says:

    How I love, love, love these images. So many glorious memories for you. I hope you are able to find a spot that brings you many more treasured memories and experiences in the years to come. XO

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Krista, for your sweet wish. We had delightful summers at the lake and look forward to new adventures in the years to come. 🙂

  66. rozpaige says:

    What a lovely spot to enjoy! Your cottage is beautiful and I love all of the color, especially in the sun room with the mint and peach (2 colors that I use in my own home). I’ve never been to Maine and certainly am missing out!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Roz, for your nice compliment. I had never used the color combinations before but thought they were perfect for a summer cottage. I do hope you get a chance to see Maine sometime…it is a wonderful state to visit.

  67. Gosh, I wasn’t expecting that last paragraph! I almost gulped.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Johnny, I know the reaction…I thought we would be spending the summer in Maine but things happened very quickly. We never actually put it on the market, it happened because we mentioned it in passing that we might be thinking of selling the property.

  68. flippenblog says:

    So sad for you. Certain things one will always think of your own, no matter who owns it. Cherish your memories.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Flippen, Your comment made me smile…I do think I will always think of it as ours even though others will be getting to enjoy it now. 🙂

  69. Susan S says:

    This reminds me so much of the fun times we had at my in-laws lake house and my parents lake cottage in northern Wisconsin, complete with loons and gorgeous sunsets like those in your photos. Great memories, indeed! Your cottage was a beautiful place to escape. On to the next adventure!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Susan, I’m glad that my post reminded you of your fun visits to you in-laws lake house. Don’t you just love the beauty of the loons and their haunting cry. Yes, there are memories to last a lifetime and now I’m looking forward to new adventures. 🙂

  70. You’ll always have your memories…what fun times you’ve must have had in that beautiful idyllic locale. And that’s got to be one of the best looking lobster rolls I’ve ever seem!!! Lucky friends and family!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Liz, We did have wonderful summers in Maine with our family and friends…they won’t be forgotten. Lobster rolls are great, I had one over the weekend. 🙂

  71. Daniela says:

    Oh Karen, your cottage looks heavenly!
    You created a beautiful, peaceful place and enjoyed it many summers.
    I’m sure your cottage will miss you and you will bring along wonderful memories for the next summer in another place.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Daniela, for your sweet comment. We loved fixing up our little cottage and spending our summers there. Hopefully it will be well taken care of by many others over the years and they will enjoy it as we did.

  72. Hi Karen,
    I’m sure it was a difficult decision to leave the cottage. I thought I would never get over leaving my place in Westhampton but I know the people who live there now LOVE it as much as I did. The new owners of your cottage will make more memories and the cottage will live on…And you dear Karen will explore many more roads, lol…Thank you so much for sharing, Karen…

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your kind words, Louise…thank you. It was not an easy decision but we have left the cottage to a very nice family. I know they and their friends will enjoy the cottage as we did. There are definitely more roads to discover and I hope you will enjoy our adventures.

  73. We have just returned from our summer camp, which is idyllic in its own way but not nearly as charming as your darling cottage. I know you will miss the place but just think of the new adventures that lie ahead of you!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kathryn, The cottage may have had charm but I’m sure you summer camp at the river offers you lots of solitude and great pleasure and that is what is important. We will miss the cottage but are looking forward to new adventures. Thank you for always following along. 🙂

  74. I did not expect this ending to your post Karen…I am sad to hear that you sold the cottage but I know you will be off to another adventure soon. I enjoyed your tales by the lake and that little cottage is better with you having owned it…

    • Karen says:

      Hi Donna, I didn’t expect this ending as well…it happened quickly without us even listing the property for sale. It was hard to say “goodbye” to our sweet cottage but there will definitely be new adventures in our life. I appreciate your lovely comment and that you enjoyed following along during our summers in Maine. Thank you so much. 🙂

  75. Velva says:

    Noooo! It obviously was a good decision for you. What a beautiful cottage. We absolutely need a place that we can escape to from everyday life-A place to disconnect then reconnect with what is important. I know you will misss the cottage. Best of luck!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Velva, You are right, deciding to sell the cottage was not made lightly. We enjoyed our cottage and it provided us with a wonderful escape from everyday life but we felt that now was a good time to look for new adventures. Thank you for your nice comment and wish, it is very much appreciated.

  76. Karen, Maine is one of the few states in the USA that I have not visited and it is now for sure on my list. Great photos and memories.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Teresa, I know that you would definitely enjoy Maine and I’m glad that you have added it to your list. Thank you for your nice compliment, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos and post.

  77. Michael's says:

    What a wonderful place to have, great getaway 🙂 The lake is absolutely beautiful

    Michael

    • Karen says:

      Hi Michael, I’m glad you liked our cottage on the lake. We enjoyed our summers there and we will miss it now that we have sold it.

  78. I am sure the moment was bitter sweet when you said goodbye!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tandy, It was bittersweet, especially after we put so much work into it to make it our own. Now it will be enjoyed by others. 🙂

  79. Mélanie says:

    wonderful memories for us, too… we visited Maine a few years ago, we’ve even stopped over in Bangor, but we didn’t meet Stephen King! 🙂 Acadia Nat Park(Frenchman bay and Mt Cadillac) is really awesome and Bar Harbor lobster sooo yummy! 🙂 It reminded us of our Bretagne… 🙂 btw, Cadillac is a village in Gironde, near Bordeaux… cheers! 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mélanie, It sounds like you got to see some of the loveliest spots in Maine and have wonderful memories as well. Would you believe that Stephen King once had a home not far for our cottage on long lake?

  80. lvaletutto says:

    Karen, I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve sold your little “cottage” on the lake in Maine. How sad. I know that you spent much time and love over the years fixing up the house and turning it into your summer home. I hope the new inhabitants will appreciate all the work that you put into the house and into the yard and garden as well.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Laura, It was a spur of the moment decision and the cottage sold in a matter of weeks without even being listed with a realtor. That’s small town living…mention something in passing and it quickly spreads by word of mouth. 😀 I don’t think the new owners are into gardening so I hope they get help from their landscaper when it comes to maintaining them. They were just at their prettiest when we left last week.

  81. Suzanne says:

    How sad to be leaving such a gorgeous place but everything changes and we can’t stand still but must keep changing too. I am sure you will find a new retreat.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Suzanne, I think we are probably a lot alike, my husband’s mother called us gypsies because we moved so often. We will be looking for a new retreat…just don’t know where it will be as yet. Thank you for your kind thoughts. 🙂

  82. Beautiful photos, I would love to retreat in Maine!

  83. Oh, it must have been hard to say goodbye to this beautiful cottage in its heavenly setting. However good the reasons are, I’m sure the leaving is bittersweet.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mariene, Yes, saying goodbye to the cottage was bittersweet as we had delightful summers there. On the positive side, we are looking forward to the freedom of summer adventures in new places. Thank you for your nice comment.

  84. Amy says:

    What a gorgeous little cottage! I’d love to spend summers there. It must have been hard to say goodbye 😦

    • Karen says:

      Hi Amy, We loved the little cottage…it was the perfect summer getaway. You are right, it was hard to leave it behind but we have great memories.

  85. I’ve been having some WP problems, Karen, and have missed your recent posts. I’m glad I didn’t miss this entirely, since I have really enjoyed your posts from Maine. Thank you for sharing such beautiful photos that show what a lovely home it has been for so many summers. I always think of your loons. They mesmerized me. I’m sure it wasn’t a decision you made without some pause, and I know friends and family will miss the house, too, but how wonderful that a new family will love the house you put so much of yourself into. I hope the summer as a whole is going well for you. Sorry I’ve been absent! I enjoy following you around, experiencing some vicarious travel. 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Hi Debra, Please don’t worry, I’m always happy when you have a chance to stop by for a visit and always appreciate your lovely compliments. There have definitely been some issues with WP but please don’t worry. My life has been very hectic and I’m so far behind myself with blogging and reading your posts as well. Yes, we will definitely miss our cottage but I will always have the memories of it and the beautiful loons that swam right up to our beach with their little ones. Thank you as always for your kind words and wishes. I couldn’t ask for a more thoughtful and loyal reader as you…thank you!

  86. Once i had a chance to visit maine, i definitely foraging for maine famous lobster!!!

  87. cabinet stew says:

    OH NO! I am sad that you sold the cottage but understand. I felt the same way last year when I watched our newly-sold family boat drive out on the back of someone else’s truck. But when its time its time and I am just grateful for all the many good memories – I am sure you can relate.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Carol, I feel exactly like you about knowing when it is time to sell something. We will miss our cottage but have great memories of our summers there.

  88. Cecile says:

    Your readers’ feelings, including mine, show how attached readers become to special places a blogger shares with them. I feel sad that you don’t have the cottage anymore for selfish reasons (although I do know how hard it is to leave a place you love, after doing it many times..). My selfish reasons are that I (we) won’t ever again read your wonderful posts, complete with excellent photos, of your times at your lovely cottage in Maine.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cecile, I know that my readers really enjoyed my posts about our cottage in Maine and will miss them. New England has other wonderful places that I will introduce everyone to…hopefully you will enjoy them as well.

  89. flavorsofthesun says:

    Another incredible space you have created–just wonderful. I can’ see how you would love to spend time there. I had saved a number of your posts during a stressfully busy time to read all at once–and I am so glad I did. I feel the continuity reading them like this, though I hate to get behind.

  90. Linda and John Hoadley says:

    Hi Karen and of course, Mickey. Just found the time to look up your blog and look thru it all. Amazing!!! Knew you guys were fun but didn’t realize how talented you are. This blog is so interesting. Read your “Moving” blog and understand completely. We just sold our home in Mass and are going thru the same things. Have 6 weeks to be out and need to clean out 44 years of “stuff”. What do you do with it all? Had to make serious decisions. Tough to do after all these years. We had a great summer at the cottage this year and next year that will be our base of operation. A lot has happened within the last 5 months and we are excited to start this new chapter in our lives. Think of you often especially when we look around the cottage and see your touches. Hope you know how happy we all are to have the cottage and hope you know that it will see a lot of love for many years to come. You know where we are….both in Naples, ME and in Naples, FL. Hopefully, we can get to see you at some point. We are headed back to Florida next week and are letting the lawyers handle all the details of our MA sale. House needs to be empty before we can head out so I need to get back to work. Love your blog. Keep up the good work! Love to you both!!!!

Leave a Reply

