How To Have A Barn Or Yard Sale

It is the season for barn and yard sales in New England. Instead of outdoor barbecues or trips to the beach, fall is the time of the year when people like to take a ride along the back country roads. Savvy New Englanders know this and we spend days going through our basement, closets and garage looking for stuff we want to get rid of. We wait for the perfect day or weekend when the “leaf peepers” will be out enjoying the fall color and we Have A Barn Sale. 

The Beautiful Fall Colors Of New England

The Beautiful Fall Colors Of New England

Like all of you, I have accumulated lots of things over the years that I don’t use anymore. If you are like me and need to declutter your life, think about having a barn or yard sale. You may not make a lot of money but you will make space in your home by selling things you no longer use to people who will enjoy them.

If this sounds like something you’d like to do, check with your town to see if you need a permit or if there are any rules in your community regarding having a sale. I have a long driveway with plenty of parking but if you have limited space, talk with your neighbors to let them know what you are planning. They might ask if they could join you with a table of their own things.

Plan your sale well in advance, trying to avoid any days when an event will be held that would keep people away. It’s great if you can coordinate your sale with a “town wide yard sale” in your area. I did that and I found that Saturday was a lot busier than Sunday.

I asked buyers what brought them to my sale and most said it was the signs. I made mine using 15 by 19 inch white corrugated plastic and vinyl lettering that were easy to read from a distance. It rained during my sale but the weather didn’t harm any of my signs. If I had used paper, they would have buckled and been impossible to read. Remember to take down the signs at the end of your sale or you will have disappointed buyers after you close.

Think of advertising in the newspaper, on Facebook and on internet sites like craigslist. With craigslist, you can add 24 photos which will give people an idea of what you are selling. You can start a month in advance…updating the ads every two days. If you have any unique items, be sure to provide as much information about them as possible.

Before selling items that may have some real value, check on sites such as eBay and etsy to see if you have a real treasure. If so, you might want to try placing them in an antique shop on consignment.

When it comes to pricing, remember an item is only worth what someone is willing to pay for it, not what you originally purchased it for. Put price tags on everything and include a description when you think it might be helpful. If you enjoy haggling or expect everyone will be offering you less than what you want, price things accordingly.

I decided to sell everything in whole dollar amounts and nothing under a dollar as I didn’t want to have to deal with coins. To make change, I started out with five $10’s, six $5’s, and twenty $l’s that I kept in my pocket. I kept my cellphone in another pocket to use as a calculator or if needed in an emergency.

It is important to have everything ready the day before your sale as you may have early buyers waiting for you to open on the morning of the sale. I believe organizing the items in pretty displays makes it easier to sell them for your asking price. I had many shoppers say how neat and clean everything was…that it was like shopping in a little store. They also mentioned they loved being in our historic barn with its lingering aromas of hay and apples while they looked for a few bargains. What they found were some great deals on furniture, collectables, housewares, and seasonal decorations.

Having a barn sale is a lot of hard work but just know that you will be decluttering your life and meeting a lot of nice people in the process. Items you no longer want will be irresistible to someone else and they will happily give them a new home. What doesn’t sell can be boxed up and given to charity. It is like a fairytale where “they all lived happily ever after”.

 

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

181 Responses to How To Have A Barn Or Yard Sale

  1. A lot of work is right, seems everything has to be labelled, categorised and processed to the T – despite the hard work, you have done a fantastic job 🙂
    Good luck with your yard sale!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. Misky says:

    I love yard sales! So much fun to browse through reasonably priced items. 🙂

  3. Norma Chang says:

    You are such an organizer and very detailed oriented. I agree with your shoppers: your displays are neat and clean that it was like shopping in a little store. I need to declutter and should start ASAP.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Norma, I think all of us could use a little decluttering in our life. 😀 Displaying items in little groups like you would see in a home store seems to get buyers attention.

  4. Lots of great ideas here Karen, especially the signs and on-line sales. Leaf peeking in your part of the world is spectacular. Wish I could have been among them. I for sure would have stopped for your sale.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Sam, I’m glad you liked the ideas. I think good signs are very important…that is how the majority of people have come by my sales. Our fall color really gets people out on the back roads enjoying the beautiful leaves.

  5. We have car boot sales here but oh…how I wish I could have have a rummage through all your treasures!

    • Karen says:

      Yes, your boot sales sound like fun. I believe you would have good time rummaging through my treasures. Some would remind you of home, three of my oil lamps are from England and I have hand painted plates from Spain. 🙂

  6. Perfect. Wish I lived closer…;-)

  7. lulu says:

    Omigosh….all of this came out of your house? That’s a lot of stuff. I am expert at garage sales much to my family’s chagrin, but I actually find them fun and I am always amazed that others find my throw aways desirable.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Linda, Yes…you can see why I need to declutter. Since we sold the cottage in Maine, I have a least two or more of everything plus different styles as well so I trying to marry everything that works and putting everything else in the barn sale.

  8. Well these leaf peepers stopped at lots of barn sales and quite a few goodies found their way home with us. Your sale looks quite fun and interesting! I have no doubt it was very successful.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Tin Man, I thought about you so often when I found out you were visiting New England. Not the best of weather but I’m glad that you had a good trip. I’ve had two weekend sales so far and I am happy with the way it is going. 🙂

  9. Eva Taylor says:

    Great sale Karen, you sure do have a lot of stuff having had to downsize from your summer home! I bet there were some great bargains to be had. Hope you did well.

  10. Looks like a wonderful sale…lucky people…love the barn.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Roger, The barn is beautiful isn’t it…post and beam built in the early 1700’s. People do seem to be happy with the things they are buying and that makes me happy as well. 😀

  11. savourytable says:

    Thanks for the helpful ideas. Where we live the community garage sale is the only time to have one, otherwise you have very few buyers. You have some beautiful things. Love that rocking chair. Good thing we live so far apart or I would have bought you out and my husband would have killed me.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Karen, I’m glad you liked the post. Community wide garage sales are a great idea as you get so many buyers on one day. I love rocking chairs and that one is beautiful and in perfect condition…I hope I can find a good home for it.

  12. Sarah says:

    I wish I lived closer, your barn sale looks like a great event to visit… although I might have ended up making an offer for the whole barn and moving in, what a beautiful building!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sarah, You are not alone in loving our barn. Everyone that comes into the barn says the same thing. We had it restored along with our home…they were both built in the early 1700’s.

  13. Monique says:

    They must have felt so lucky to land upon your barn sale..Beautiful location and great finds.
    You are super organized!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Monique, It appears everyone has been enjoying the barn sale…I’ve had it over two weekends so far. It has been a lot of work to organize but it seems to be working as most everything I’ve sold has been at the prices on the tags. 😀

  14. Agi says:

    Great tips, thank you. And I would have loved to stop by, you had some beautiful things for sale!

  15. I want almost everything I see in the pictures. Thank God you aren’t closer to Texas! However, I DO want to come see those leaves……. 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rachel, I’ve been thinking about your comment and was wondering if I had anything in my sale from when I lived in Texas and guess what…yes, a vintage lamp. Thanks for taking me back to when I lived there and bought it. You should definitely plan a trip sometime to visit New England when the changing leaves are at their peak…it is beautiful.

  16. Daphne says:

    Good Afternoon Karen, I am not surprised to hear that a lot of the items you are selling have already been sold, because to buy something, which has been displayed beautifully, only enhances the purchasing pleasure.
    I love the idea that anything which is not sold will be donated to charity as there will be many people who will the thrilled to find your much loved items.
    Best Wishes
    Daphne

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Daphne for your sweet comment. Displaying the items seems to be working well for me. Yes I think donating what doesn’t sell is good for everyone in the end. 🙂

  17. I haven’t had a yard sale for years and years. I could certainly use one! I do remember how much organization it took. You had some real gems there and thanks for the great tips on pricing.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Susan, for your nice compliment. I’m glad that you enjoyed the tips…they are all things that seem to be working for me. Having sold our summer cottage suddenly has given me the challenge of have two of more of most things you would have in your home.

  18. flavorsofthesun says:

    Good advice with lots of terrific ideas. My house could definitely use some decluttering.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Vicki, I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I’m hoping that people will be able to get ideas from what I’ve found is working for me in decluttering my life. I think it is something we all need to do every once in a while. 😀

  19. David says:

    Oh, I would have loved to be at your barn sale! I see several things in these photos I don’t think I can live without!

    I admire your energy to have a sale – it is a ton of work! We are fortunate that our neighborhood doesn’t allow for yard/garage sales. I think our estate can have one when we die… but that wont’ be my problem!! 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Hi David, Wish we weren’t so far apart. When we lived in Coral Gables, Florida, you had to pay for a permit and were only allowed 2 one day sales a year and you could only have 1 small sign set back in your yard. At least you didn’t have to die. 😀

  20. wok with ray says:

    Thank you for these tips on having a yard sale. Once in a while, I would go to yard sale just to browse around and sometimes buy items that are interesting. You have a lot of beautiful furniture there. Thank you for sharing this post, Karen. 🙂

  21. Mad Dog says:

    When I lived in Georgia, I had a fantastic time the first Saturday I went looking for yard sales – it was a nice Fall day and there were loads of them. I found a lady selling her Tupperware collection and couldn’t believe she’d want to sell it, but she reassured me by saying she’d bought all new versions! I bought some of the old stuff, it seems to last forever…
    I bet your barn sale was good 🙂

  22. Such beautiful items and so nicely arranged – definitely the key for a good sale. 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Ronit, for your lovely compliment. I really do believe that arranging items in groupings does make it easier for a buyer to visualize how they might appear in their own home.

  23. The big risk of yard and barn sales, of course, is that if you go to them, you run the risk of trading your stuff for someone else’s stuff.

    • Karen says:

      You gave me a real chuckle, Darryl. It is so true…so many people said they have bought something that they absolutely loved and now have to find a place for it. The nice thing is that they love my treasures as much as I have and are willing to add them to their own home. I know the items are going to enjoyed for more years to come and that makes me happy. 😀

  24. kitchenriffs says:

    What a fun way to unload things you no longer want! Barn/yard sales usually are a good deal both for the seller and the buyer — both benefit. Great idea to price things in increments of a dollar to avoid the change issue! Fun post — thanks.

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, You are right about the sales being good for both the seller and buyer, I think we both end up happy. I would say not dealing with change makes life much easier. I’m glad you liked the post, thank you!

  25. A_Boleyn says:

    Great ideas, Karen. Everything looks so attractive at your sale.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Boleyn, I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I believe that arranging things nicely gives people ideas of how they would look in their own homes.

  26. My yard/garage sales aren’t nearly as organized as yours. But usually mine are done last minute, so that is the price I pay (or don’t get paid) for lack of organization. I hope your sale continues to be successful!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kathryn, It does take a lot of time to research and price everything but I really do think in the end it is worth it. I’ve had my sale two weekends and had two rainy days but it has gone very well so far.

  27. This is so well organized. Can you believe that I have never been to a yard sale?

  28. winesnoop says:

    Hi Karen, We had a yard sale in July, along with a couple of other families. We opened on Friday evening from 5-7:00 p.m. and then again, of course, on Saturday. It brings in a different crowd and is a lot of fun. For those of us who don’t have a barn, it also forces one to be ready for the big day on Saturday! Very nice piece…makes me want to drive north!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Susan, I bet you had a nice sale. My barn has lights but not enough for everything to be seen well at night…especially since everyone keeps buying my lamps. Thank goodness I have everything in my barn because two days of my sale it rained.

  29. Helen says:

    Really interesting. In Britain, we have carboot sales but this is altogether more classy!

  30. Hi Karen and well done you , it does sound like a lot of hard work.

  31. Sophie33 says:

    Great ides here, dear Karen! Well prepared is the word & good labeling too! And a lot of patience too!

  32. cheri says:

    Hi Karen, I love going to garage sales, I think a barn sale would be even better.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cheri, Everyone who has stopped by our barn has said how interesting it is to see it. The nice thing about a barn is that there is a lot of room to show everything you are selling. 😀

  33. Such an attractive sale, Karen. You’ve laid everything out so beautifully. I’m sure it will sell very well. Just the mention of leaf-peeping has put visions of those gorgeous multi-coloured trees in my head. I would love to do it again one year. 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sylvia, I thought about you when I was writing this post as I know you had to sell many of your lovely treasures when you moved. One day you will have to travel up the east coast and visit New England again.

  34. Raymund says:

    Wow look at all those, I can definitely fine a lot of treasures there. We do a lot of sales here but more of a garage sale rather than a barn yard, I always find something interesting

    • Karen says:

      Hi Raymund, There are a lot of garage and yard sales in our area too but those of us lucky enough to have a barn, use them for sales like this. You are right, you can usually find something you like.

  35. Sue says:

    Hi Karen-you have so many beautiful things pictured–I’m sure you “moved” a lot of things during your sale!
    Love the fall foliage. It’s my very favorite time of year.
    Enjoy the week
    🙂

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sue, I have sold quite a few things but will be having my sale again this weekend as I still have the upholstered pieces of furniture that I need to find a home for before we get out first snow as our barn is a working barn where we keep our tractors, truck and snowplow during the winter. Hopefully, I’ll find someone soon that will enjoy items from our summer cottage in Maine. Wish we were neighbors, I still haven’t sold the little antique Swedish child’s chest that I have at the antique store…I know how much you like it. 🙂 Hope you are well, my friend.

  36. I would love to attend your barn sale. Here we have garage sales in spring mostly but I do love a good barn sale. Our neighborhood has a big neighborhood garage sale every spring….we don’t usually participate as it is hard work and we just don’t have anything worth enough to sell.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Donna, What doesn’t sell in my barn sales in the next couple of weeks will have to go into my basement and heated garage until spring. Hopefully, there won’t be too much because it will be a big job to move it out and back into the barn after having already moved it from our summer cottage in Maine that we sold. I don’t want this to be a continuing saga. 😀

  37. I was just wondering if you’d had your sale yet. You really did a spectacular job of displaying your items. Into great that you have the barn in case of rain too. We had a neighborhood yard sale a few years back and it does bring more buyers if you advertise multi- family sales – makes it easier for the people who really want to shop. I think when I did mine I put too much out and oh, what a job hauling it back inside. We did get rid of a lot though. I had to laugh though when you mention dealing in whole dollars to not fuss with change because I had an elderly lady who was going through a big bin of yarn I put out. She found a few skeins and wanted to pay 10 cents…that’s when you just give it away and she was thrilled when I gave her all of it.
    I sort of had my own ‘free’ sale this weekend because my daughter and her fiancé finally moved into their new home in Dorchester. My attic and basement were packed with things while they were in betweens homes since they had to move out of their apartment a month ago. It’s so nice to have some clear space.
    Now I’m putting some things into consignment and hauling plenty off to the town dump where we have a take it/leave it shed. Clothes are the tough things to get rid of but I just found a church that’s doing a coat donation for St. Vincent DePaul. I love the idea of giving things to people who need it rather than just tossing things away.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Diane, A lot of my readers were wondering if I had barn sale. It has taken a lot of time to organize and tag everything. I decided to wait until fall as summer sales aren’t as successful as you have to compete with vacations and days at the beach. I would definitely suggest that anyone having a sale have nothing under a dollar. It is better to bundle if you have to rather than having items selling less than a dollar. I agree with you…what doesn’t sell will go to charity. That way, everyone is happy.

  38. chezbliss says:

    Man…if I lived closer I’d be over there in a snap. First, I would help you and then I would shop. You have the barn/yard sale thing down to a T. I have been saying I will do one for the last 2 years and still haven’t. I usually just haul everything off to Goodwill or, if it has any significant value, list it on Ebay, Etsy or Craigslist. Funny I should sit down and read this post right after I got done purging in the Family Room. One cabinet left to do…the CDs. Uuugh.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Heather, (formerly know as Bliss aka the french chic, now chezbliss… :D), I too, wish you lived closer. I not only would appreciate your help and friendship but I think you would enjoy so many of the items I’m selling. The beautiful historic fireplace cover is originally from Paris.

  39. Francesca says:

    Such a great post, Karen! I have never had a yard sale. Maybe because I have always lived in big cities and this is my first time living in a small town.
    Great tip about checking the need of a permit. Never crossed my mind! 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Francesca, for your nice compliment. I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the post. Yes, many towns require a permit. When I was planning a sale in Florida before moving to New England, I learned the town we lived in required a permit. We were only allowed to have a one day sale twice a year and needed to pay for a permit before even advertising the sale.

  40. lizzygoodthings says:

    Oh my goodness, Karen, I’d have a ball attending barn sales in your part of the world! Love it!

  41. Eha says:

    I hope your hard work has really paid off and will continue to do so. A lot of beautiful things available : one wishes to have been closer! Your pictures do show a veritable art gallery!! When I lived in the country both my widowed neighbour and I departing for greener pastures had our garage sales on the same day . . . as my top floor in the house was huge [five rooms in one] mine was actually indoors with girlfriends walking around making certain nothing ‘walked out’ ere dollars were exchanged 🙂 ! But did people have to start knocking on the door at 5am!!! A lot of Hong Kong style ‘haggling’ went on but over 90% was gone by nightfall: actually we both found it huge fun besides!!!! Do hope you will sell most and have room for your usual implements!!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your lovely wish, Eha. I have had two weekend sales with another one coming up this weekend. I appreciate your kind words about what I’m selling…they are lovely treasures that I have collected over the years. The nice thing is that I have had very little haggling. Most everything that I have sold went for the price on the tag…I’ve been very realistic about my prices.

  42. Love the wooden barn with all the wood and open beams. It must be a really great work space. It would make an amazing studio and living space.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, I do have to agree with you about how beautiful our post and beam barn built in the early 1700’s is. It really would make a wonderful studio or living space. 🙂

  43. Gerlinde says:

    Karen, I love your barn sale, so much classier than our garage sales. As for couches, try Craig’s list. My husband just sold our old dining room table. I don’t know if you have Craig’s list in New England . It is an Internet site. Good luck.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Gerlinde, I’m glad you like my barn sale. I really am lucky to have such a beautiful barn to stage my sale…slowly but surely I hope to sell most everything from our summer cottage. Yes, I have been using craigslist…it is a great way to find buyers. I sold my dining tables and chairs from listing on craigslist. Hopefully, I’ll find someone who wants the upholstered furniture. 🙂

  44. You have such beautiful taste. Your barn and property are just wonderful. And even though you have the right attitude (release things back to the world!) it isn’t necessarily easy to let go, is it? I’ve done it a few times – especially when moving overseas. And somehow I re-accumulate so quickly. However, I’ve just moved again and am trying very hard to be a minimalist AND stay put for a while! I still looked longingly at your lovely photographs and all your wonderful things…

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Lindy, for your very sweet compliment. It is so true about it being hard to let go of some of our treasures…it is the memories they hold. The other thing is how you feel when no one seems to want some of your things and you wonder why not. 😀

  45. hotlyspiced says:

    Your barn sale looks like it has lots of quality items that are gorgeous and would be treasured in a new home. I love the old pram and the lamps. I do hope your sale went well xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, I have had my sale two weekends so far and another planned this weekend. It seems we have the same taste…I love the pram and lamps as well. Now if I could only find a buyer that thinks like we do. 😀

  46. You are very organized, Karen! If I lived closer, I would visit your Barn sale. We have been very slow at accumulating furniture (which is not a bad thing) our basement recreation room is essentially empty at the moment. But, it’s easier to accumulate stuff than to get rid of stuff. 🙂 So we are not in a rush to get a whole bunch of stuff, hehe.

  47. You offer some great tips for having a sale, Karen. I had one in August and it felt so good to get rid of things I don’t use any more and I love having room in my closets and cupboards so things aren’t so crowded. I wish I could have dropped by your sale. It looks likes you sold some wonderful things.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cathy, I’m glad you liked the tips. I know you must be happy to have space in your closets and cupboards from you sale. Once I’ve gotten rid of all the duplicate items we acquired after selling our cottage, I’ll think about another sale in the springtime to clean out my own closets. 🙂

  48. reggiorif says:

    It’s so cute the way you presented your barn sale Karen… it’s such a good idea to declutter the house. It’s not something common in Switzerland and it makes me wonder if it’s something which is actually allowed… I’ll have to search for answers.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Didi, Thank you for your nice compliment. I believe that presenting your things nicely definitely helps sell them. Yard, garage and barn sales are very popular here. It would be very interesting to know if you are allowed to have them in Switzerland.

  49. Hi Karen, I loved this post! Trouble is, I don’t have a barn, haha. But I do have a nice sized garage and love the idea of de-cluttering. I think it’s a great idea not charging under a $1 for items so you don’t have to deal with change. And of course, I think the idea of meeting lots of new and fun people at the sale sounds fun. Because, I’m sure you didn’t make a ton of money! It’s more for the fun aspect and getting rid of junk, scratch that bit, good stuff bit. Seriously, your stuff looks so nice, wish I could swing buy to make a few purchases =)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Laura, I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the post on how to have a sale. Out of the two weekends I’ve had the sale, it has rained one of the two days so that is when a garage or in my case, a barn, comes in real handy. Certainly not making lots of money but the decluttering is really good and I’ve been meeting so many nice people. It is a win, win situation for us all. 🙂

  50. You always have so many lovely and loved things, Karen! How wonderful. Sometimes, it’s hard for me to let go of household items, books, and even knickknacks.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Ksenia, for your lovely compliment. I do have a hard time letting go of many of my little treasures. Unfortunately when I have doubles from selling our summer cottage, I have had no choice but to try and pare down.

  51. Sissi says:

    Oh, how I wish I could participate in your sale… I’d travel hundreds of kilometres! (Thousands is a bit too much alas 😉 ). Thank you for all the tipr!

  52. Sissi says:

    (Oops, sorry… I meant “tips”).

  53. Larry says:

    Thanks for the advice as we are considering a sale

    • Karen says:

      Hi Larry, I’m happy that I could pass on some of what has worked for me. I’ve had my sale over the past two weekends. Unfortunately the weather hasn’t been great so I’m planning another for this weekend.

  54. how fun Karen! I love looking at all of the stuff!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jessica, It has been a lot of work getting it all together. What is fun is all the nice people I’m meeting…everyone has a story to tell. 🙂

  55. aFrankAngle says:

    Unquestionably a lot of work .. and wow … love the offerings!

  56. Hi Karen! I bet you had no problem selling your goods, especially since you were well prepared and organized! Your barn looks like a show piece in itself. Great to have that space so folks can wonder around like they do at a store 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sandra, Our barn really is a beautiful building and everyone that comes in for the sale comments on it. I’ve been doing well but still have more to sale…I’ve had rain the two weekends I’ve had it. I’m trying again today and tomorrow but there will be scattered showers both days. 😦

  57. You had so many treasures to organize and sell, Karen! It must have been so much work getting ready, but I’m sure it was delightfully successful. Have a barn sale sounds so much better than the typical yard sale! We’ve certainly had yard sales before and it is a good way to thin out and de-clutter. I could really stand to have another one myself. Where does all the stuff come from! I think it multiplies while I’m sleeping! 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Hi Debra, It was hard work organizing the sale but I think it was worth it. I have sold a lot but still have about half remaining. Will be trying again this weekend but the weather is not going to be very good. You might be right about things multiplying. When everything was in our summer cottage it didn’t look like a lot. 😀

  58. So many beautiful things. I wish I lived closer! Good luck with your barn sale.

  59. I’d love to take a country drive to look at fall color leaves and visit a barn sale! I’ve been de-cluttering as we packed and moved, and I’ve been selling things online. It’s so great to pass things along to someone else who will use them rather than just throwing things away.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lisa, Weekends in the country on a nice fall day…it doesn’t get much better than that. You are so right, I’m glad that my things are finding new homes as each person seems happy with what they are buying. We sold our dining set to a young couple who had just bought their first home and said the set was perfect. 🙂

  60. I LOVE Barn Sales, Karen! They really are alot of work for the seller but oh as the buyer, oh what fun!!! I’m kinda sorry I missed yours. I spy quite a few treasures:)

    Thank you so much for sharing…

    BTW, I used your Portsmouth link as a resource in the blog post I di today. I hope you don’t mind:)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Louise, You can usually always find a little treasure at a barn sale. This time I’m doing the selling instead of the buying but it is still fun because of all the nice people you meet. You were very nice to list me as a resource on Portsmouth…thank you very much!

  61. t hink i will hunt for a food photography property there, lol

  62. Madonna says:

    Karen, I have been involved in a few sales and they are really fun, but so much work. I can’t imagine two weekends. I admire your stamina and your organizational skills. I just keep thinking someone just starting out could find everything they need at your barn.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Madonna, I do have to agree with you about how fun a sale can be. I’ve been meeting so many nice people and hearing such interesting stories. I’m very happy to have had a few couples who are furnishing their first homes and I’m happy that some of my loved items are going into their homes. 🙂

  63. Juliana says:

    Karen, you are amazing…everything so neat and organized…nothing like the yard or garage sales that I have seen…I kind of like the sound of “barn” sale…cute!
    Have a wonderful week 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your nice compliment, Juliana. I think it is very important to be as organized as possible when you have a sale. It makes it easier for both you and your buyers. Everyone seems to have enjoyed seeing the barn as well as what I had for sale in it.

  64. Such fun! I’d love to spend a morning going from barn sale to barn sale…not like I need one more thing in my house, but you never know what treasures you’ll find. I’m sure your sale was a huge success!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Liz, I’m having fun having the barn sale and from the comments of people stopping by, it has been fun for them as well. I’m having the sale again this weekend…hopefully I’ll find new homes for some of my treasures.

  65. We’ve recently done a bit of that and the money you get isn’t a whole lot but the immense satisfaction of getting the stuff gone was (is) wonderful. I now have a room that I can take photos in that before had bits of a full-sized pool table and all sorts of stuff. I remember New England ‘yahd sales’. My mother never missed a one.

    • Karen says:

      I agree with you Maureen, having space in your home is the real reward for having a sale like this. Since selling our Maine home, we ended up with two of everything and no room for it. 🙂

  66. When I saw this post title, I saved it for today when I knew I would have uninterrupted time to read it several times and check out the pictures. I love your posts about the barn sales. Last year was so fun and exciting too. I enjoyed this and just love all the sweet little finds etc…I certainly wish I could have been there!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kelli, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post, thank you. I thought that people might like to know what has worked for me during this barn sale.

  67. megtraveling says:

    Great suggestions and your sale looks amazing Karen! I imagine you had a lot of happy people after they stopped by!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Meg, I’m glad that you liked the post. I thought my readers my enjoy learning what has been working for me during my sale the last couple of weekends.

  68. marycheshier says:

    What a great barn sale! A fabulous way to spend a fall morning!

  69. marycheshier says:

    Reblogged this on Travels with Mary and commented:
    Double Wow!

  70. chrisscheuer says:

    You have this down to a science Karen! I know you were thrilled afterwards to be rid of the clutter. But I have a feeling that your buyers were even more thrilled with their treasures!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Chris, I’ve been having the barn sale every weekend over the last month. This coming weekend will be my last and almost everything will be gone. You are right, everyone has been thrilled with what they have bought. It has been a fun experience. 😀

  71. I simply love all of your tips and advice Karen. I would definitely go to this sale. There’s nothing better than a good sale.

  72. I sure wish I could come to one of your barn sales, Karen. Looks like you have some wonderful things to sell! If we were just a few hundreds of miles closer. 😀 Good luck this weekend and Happy Fall!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Betsy, Thank you for your nice wish. I’m having my last sale this weekend and hopefully most of what is left will go. It has been a fun experience for me as well as the people who have stopped by. I wish you were closer as well. :

  73. One of my new favorite books is “When Organizing isn’t Enough: Shed” – It’s been a great help.
    I think I would love to come to your barn sale.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Wendy, Too bad you live on the opposite coast…I think you would enjoy the barn sale. Luckily, I’ve been able to sell most of the items from our summer cottage. It is nice to find new homes for everything.

  74. Daniela says:

    This is great and valuable advice, thank you Karen!
    You are an extremely well organized girl.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your kind words, Daniela. I’m glad that you enjoy the tips on having a sale. It took a long time to get everything organized but it really has paid off.

  75. Ruth says:

    I am an absolute HORRIBLE planner…but I’m a great shopper lol. Thank goodness for organized people like you Karen or we’d never come across awesome finds!

    (PS. Are those pictures from your barn sale(s) or from your travels?)

    • Karen says:

      You gave me a chuckle, Ruth. I need more people like you stopping by my last sale this weekend. 😀 All of the photos were taken in my barn…it is the stuff we moved in there when we sold our summer cottage in Maine.

  76. Gallivanta says:

    I would have enjoyed being at your barn sale!

  77. I love both the “white” and “red” version. each one has its own personality and flavor!

    • Karen says:

      I’m glad to know that you like both of the recipes, Katerina…thank you. Even though they are both made with beans and sausages, they are totally different. As you say, each has it’s own personality. 🙂

  78. What a wonderful job you did! Everything looks so organized, clean and neat…I would love to come visit your sale if I was a bit closer. I think I would find a few treasures 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Laila, for your kind words. Getting everything ready for my barn sales was a lot of work but well worth it. I held the sale over four weekends and sold all the furniture and some small items. I was very surprised that most everything involving the kitchen didn’t sell, also books and linens. I think when the spring warmth melts our snow next year, I may try another sale. 🙂

  79. I think visiting a barn sale would be so charming. I like how all your merchandise is clean and neatly arranged in groupings. In our area, we have garage sales and having a 100 year old clay tile garage helped in the ambiance for the sale of items. Your barn really gives the sale an antique store feel. Great you have the built-in traffic too. Would love to visit at leaf-peeping time.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Donna, Everyone that visited my barn sale seemed to have a good time and they all commented on our historic barn itself. I do believe that the way I arranged everything was part of the success to the sale and most everyone paid the prices I had marked on each item. 🙂

  80. I could never go pass a barn sale and I’m often amazed at the treasures and trinkets, that folks are prepared to part with. I just might need to get inspired by this post, before (our big) interstate move in the new year!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Alli, If you decide to have a sale, I think my suggestions might be helpful. After four weekends, I sold all the furniture that we brought back from our cottage in Maine after we sold it. I still have some kitchenware that didn’t sell and will probably do another barn sale come spring as I certainly don’t need multiple sets of dishes, etc.

  81. Mélanie says:

    Hi Karen! one question, please: have you ever tasted the famous saucisse de Toulouse and a genuine “cassoulet” of our region?… simply divine… 🙂
    http://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/2014/07/26/maison-du-cassoulet/

  82. Saskia (1=2) says:

    We love having a yard sale – a great way to socialize with the neighbors too. Your barn is so beautiful.
    PS. I have my eye on that yellow ‘Refreshing lemonade’ pot – gorgeous!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Saskia, I agree with you about a sale being a great way to socialize with your neighbors…it is a fun event that everyone seems to love. Would you believe that everyone said they liked the lemonade pot but no one bought it. Actually, no one even made an insulting offer. 😀

  83. Hi Karen, gosh it sounds like you’ve been busy! I’m sure I would have found a few new pieces for my home from your sale. Hope all is well with you, Claire x

    • Karen says:

      Hi Claire, It is so nice to hear from you. Yes, life has been busy but good. I hope you are doing good as well. I do indeed think you may have found something you liked. If nothing else, I think you would have recognized some of my antique pieces that were originally from England. 🙂

  84. Deb C says:

    If I lived closer, I may have been your best customer:-) I even spotted an iron that I have on display in my laundry room and love. Pottery Barn was selling them a while back. Your blog is one of my favorites!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Deb, I wish you did live closer as well. I still have a nice collection of antique laundry items as well. Every time I look at one of the irons or washboards I keep telling myself…we’ve come a long way baby. 😀

  85. Pingback: Does It Stay Or Does It Go | Back Road Journal

Leave a Reply

