Spring Is Late, Mud Season Has Arrived

After enduring New England’s harsh winters, I believe springtime is one of the most beautiful and must longed for seasons that comes our way but spring is late this year. Usually in April, the green floor of our orchard is interspersed with pastel colors of wild strawberry and viola blossoms and large swatches of brilliant yellow dandelions. Around the base of our colonial home, daffodils nod their yellow heads in the warm spring breeze. Neighboring homes have colorful trees in bloom while we await the fragrant blossoms of pear and apple trees which will start to bloom in late April or the early part of May.

“If we had no winter, the spring would not be so pleasant: if we did not sometimes taste of adversity, prosperity would not be so welcome.” – Anne Bradstreet

Unfortunately this year, spring isn’t giving us the usual beautiful blossoms that gladden our hearts. After one of the coldest and snowiest winters ever, springlike weather has been slow to arrive in New Hampshire. With chilly daytime temperatures and nights below freezing, there is snow still on the ground in our area. I am growing ever so impatient for warmer days that will finish melting the snow and bring green back to our world. In the meantime, we are experiencing the ugly side of spring.

More Than A Foot Of Snow Still Covers The Orchard The First Week Of April

More Than A Foot Of Snow Still Covers The Orchard The First Week Of April

If you live in a temperate climate, you might not know about spring’s ugly side. It is the squishy, messy time of the year when rising temperatures melt the snow and mud abounds. New Englanders and others that live in snow country call it “mud season”. Let me explain how we manage during this annual early spring event.

On the fashion front, dressing is a mixed bag. I no longer have to wear my winter down coat that is so puffy it made me look like the “Michelin man” and that is a huge improvement.  Instead, I now wear a light down jacket that can be folded into a package about the size of a well stuffed sandwich when not in use.  Wool slacks have been traded for jeans…the better to hide dirty water stains that splash up on pants legs as you go about your daily outside activities.

To ensure that my feet stay nice and dry, I wear Clarks “Muckers”. Certainly not stylish, the lower half of the leather shoes are encased in rubber. They are very practical though when it comes to removing accumulated mud. If going out to dinner or to a friend’s home, I carry a second pair of shoes in a plastic bag. I can look nice after changing into pretty shoes and the muddy ones are stored in their “mud room” until I’m ready to leave.

My Car Is Coated In Winter "Salt Grime White"

My Car Is Coated In Winter “Salt Grime White”

When driving during this season, you must make sure your car has a full supply of windshield washing fluid. This is to insure that you can see where you are driving after a passing motorist sprays your car with the accumulated water from snow runoff on the roads. The water is quite dirty from the salt and sand mixture that was spread on the roads during all the winter snowstorms. At the end of a day of driving, my car goes from a shiny silver to “salt grime white”. When loading or unloading packages from the back of my car, I have to remember to stay a good distance away or my clothes will become filthy.

Pruning The Apple Trees Is Postponed This Year Because Of The Snow

Pruning The Apple Trees Is Postponed This Year Because Of The Snow

The apple trees would normally be pruned by now but that job has been postponed because of the snow still on the ground. As for the trees themselves, they will more than likely bloom late. Our magnificent stand of rhododendrons were hard hit by the record-breaking cold winter weather and I’ll be amazed if they make a comeback. I’ll prune off all the dead wood as soon as possible but that also means loosing this year’s buds.

Rhododendrons Damaged By Crushing Snow And Harsh Temperatures Below Zero

Rhododendrons Damaged By Crushing Snow And Harsh Temperatures Below Zero

Since we are putting our home and orchard up for sale, I’m not planting tomatoes this year. Instead, I’ll plant flower seeds in place of vegetables in our garden when the snow melts, the ground thaws and the soil dries up. With snow from plowing our drive piled so high by the garden gate, I’ll have to wait until the snow is gone to see how the herbs in the raised garden bed did. They had lots of snow insulating them against the below freezing weather so they should come back.

Snow Blocks The Garden Gate, No Planting Any Time Soon

Snow Blocks The Garden Gate, No Planting Any Time Soon

As the old saying goes, hope springs eternal, so I know that this messy mud season will soon be replaced by natures beauty just waiting to sprout and unfurl. In the meantime, I’m in the midst of “spring cleaning” and packing up part of our household goods for the move to Florida. I hope all my readers will understand why I have not visited lately and my posts have been further apart. Let’s all make the most of each passing day, no matter the weather or season.

Soon Spring Warmth And Sunshine

Soon Spring Warmth And Sunshine Will Give Birth To Nature’s Beauty

 

 

 

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

145 Responses to Spring Is Late, Mud Season Has Arrived

  1. Gary Lum says:

    Beautiful photographs Karen. I wish it was spring here instead of autumn.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your compliment, Gary. I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the photos. Autumn here in New England is wonderful but I know that you enjoy hot humid weather. I’ll be having a lot of that when we make our move to Florida. 🙂

  2. Mad Dog says:

    It’s good to see you Karen – i hope the spring arrives soon!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Mad Dog, for your nice wish. I’m looking forward to when all the snow melts and the flowers start to bloom. I’ve been away from blogging too long. The construction of our home in Florida and readying things for our move there is taking all my time…hopefully, life will get back to normal soon.

  3. Karen, I truly hope spring is on it’s way & everything outside improves pronto. You’ve certainly explained why New England homes require mud rooms. I must say I would not be a happy camper. I didn’t even like for my shoes to get dirty (much less muddy) as a little girl. Hurry back to Florida where the bougainvillea is in full bloom. Hope you have a blessed Easter.
    Sam

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your nice wish Sam, I’m wishing the same thing. We had a warm up yesterday but snow is in our forecast for the upcoming week. The good thing is that it will melt quickly this time of the year. A mud room is essential in our neck of the woods as well as a good pair of shoes that can take the yucky, muddy mess. We will be back in Florida later this month for another inspection and the closing on our home. 🙂 Happy Easter to you and Meakin.

  4. Norma Chang says:

    I can totally relate to this post. We do not get as much snow as you do but still have the snow related issues to deal with. I am so tired of this winter and needed to see some colors so wrote about the Conservatory Garden at Central Park on Monday. Love the quote from Anne Bradstreet.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Norma, I’m glad you like the quote, I thought it was perfect for this post. I think all of us in the Northeast are so anxious for beautiful spring weather and flowers. The gardens in New York are especially lovely when in full bloom…we were there a few years ago with our friends from Connecticut.

  5. What a terrible winter you’ve had. Here in UK we had a fairly mild winter so spring is early. The daffodils have not only been but almost gone! Wishing you a wonderful summer ahead and all best wishes for your move.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kay, We’ve called it the winter that won’t end but at least there is light at the end of the tunnel now. Where the snow has melted, the daffodils have pushed up about an inch. The ones in my photo were taken two years ago on the same week as now…what a difference this spring. Thank you for your nice wish, we have lots of work ahead with this move.

  6. Diane says:

    Wow that does look cold, it makes me wonder why I am complaining about the weather here!! Have a good Easter weekend Diane

    • Karen says:

      Hi Diane, It has been especially cold this spring. You haven’t had the snow but I know the weather in France has been wet and cold as well. Let’s hope for sunny warm days ahead. 🙂 Happy Easter to you too.

  7. Debra Kolkka says:

    Spring is a bit late here in Italy too. My peonies were more than 12 inches high this time last year, but they are just poking their little heads through the dirt this year…but it is much warmer than where you are.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Debra, The weather this spring has put all our beautiful flowers behind schedule…lets hope we have sun and warmth so we can enjoy their beautiful blossoms soon.

  8. You must certainly be looking forward to Florida. as an Australian I see the beauty in the changing seasons but Florida’s weather is far more attractive to me. I hope the spring comes soon. good luck with packing

    • Karen says:

      You are soooo right, Tania. As much as I love living where we have a change of seasons, the horrid winter and now this cold spring has me hoping that our home will sell quickly so that we can make the permanent move to Florida. Thank you for your wish about the packing…it certainly is hard packing up but keeping the house looking good.

  9. Sheri Goff says:

    This all sounds very much like Breckenridge, CO where I used to live. The term “mud season” is used there but goes much longer than you will experience. They got 9 inches of snow yesterday!There’s barely a spring and then summer arrives about July 4th. We are now in PA and our snow is gone but it’s chilly and windy. A friend posted her daffodils in full bloom on April 1st, 2007. This year the daffodils are out of the ground about two inches as of now. I am especially sorry to see the damage to your rhododendrons. We have a large bank of them as well and fortunately did not have that happen. We lost a few small branches. Won’t you miss your place, though, when you move? It looks beautiful!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sheri, Thank you for stopping by and your comment. This has not been an easy year for any of us living in the north…I’m just tired of looking at snow. I’m really sorry to see what the winter did to the rhododendrons, they were 10 feet tall and spectacular when in bloom. We will have to cut them back almost to the ground and see what grows back. I appreciate your lovely compliment about our home. We will definitely miss it but winters are making us head south.

  10. Penny says:

    I am sure you have your hands full packing and getting your gorgeous property ready to sell. Good luck with it all. We are facing packing up our Florida house and I am not sure what to do with everything, so I can understand what you must be going through. Blog when you can. We will all be here Karen. My Best, Penny

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your kind words Penny, they are much appreciated. I do have my hands full but I feel bad when I can’t get to visit my blogging friends or write a post. Since the first of the year, we have been flying down to Florida once a month for inspections, meeting subcontractors, etc. I’ll be having barn sales, advertising on Craig’s list, and giving lots to Goodwill as our new home will be less than half the size of our present one. I know you have the same thing ahead of you.

  11. I can’t remember a longer winter than this. “Mud season” here isn’t quite what you have, but squishy enough for me, Karen. Spring has to really be here one of these days. But at least I’ve lost my “Yak-Trax!”

    • Karen says:

      Oh Rosemary, I certainly agree with you and any kind of squishy is not good as far as I’m concerned. To our friends that live in the tropics, Yak-Traxs are an ice traction device that you slip over your shoes to help walk on ice, and yes it is very good that we no longer need them. 😀

  12. cote8050 says:

    I know this season well! Maine is right there with you, my yard is still covered in at least two feet of snow, may get the garden planted in June this year! Nicely done story and wonderful pictures, thanks!!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you MC, for your lovely compliment. I’m happy that you enjoyed the post and photos. I’ve thought about our little cottage that we sold in Maine, hoping that it weathered the snow of this past winter. Gardening is hard when the growing season is so short…good luck this year.

      • cote8050 says:

        It is hard but I love doing it, I grow enough food to can and dry for most of the winter and lots and lots of herbs! I live in a little cottage in the big woods, just perfect! field across the street where I can have my gardens, just love it here, when spring finally comes I feel like I have accomplished something, surviving another winter!! best to you.

      • Karen says:

        Indeed you have!

  13. Maureen | Orgasmic Chef says:

    I remember mud season and it wasn’t my favorite time of year. Once the ground dried out a bit and the flowers were in bloom, then I was on top of the moon. As much as I’m nostalgic about New England, I will confess that I don’t miss the bitter cold nor mud season. 🙂

    • Karen says:

      I’m right there with you, Maureen. I know I’m going to miss our lovely home, friends and the beauty of New England but I’m definitely not going to miss the snow except on Christmas day. As for the mud, I won’t mind leaving that behind either. 😀

  14. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    That’s just COLD! Hopefully the spring arrives very soon.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Angie, It is 45F degrees, the wind is howling and we have a chance for a little snow twice in the coming week. It’s definitely too cold for spring.

  15. Such beautiful pictures! I just saw this morning our wild violets blooming in the front – I hope to get a picture today and maybe it will be pretty like yours! 🙂 I know your yard will look magnificent by the time you are finished, the house will sell and next year, you will be growing those tomatoes in Florida and we can grow them with you! I always look forward to that…………:)

    • Karen says:

      You are so sweet Kelli, thank you for your lovely comment. I’m sure your violets are lovely, they are such a sweet flower. I’ve been out to visit the landscaper that will be planting the trees and shrubs in our yard in Florida and I told him I plan on trying to grow tomatoes, herbs, Meyer lemons, etc. in our small yard. Hopefully, I’ll have good luck next year as there is nothing better than a homegrown tomato. 🙂

  16. plumdirt says:

    What a winter note to leave on. If you were at all in the fence about the move to warmer climes, this delayed spring after such a winter must’ve helped you over the fence!

    • Karen says:

      So true Plumdirt, so true. When we decided to move, I had serious doubts about leaving New England but after this winter…I can’t wait. 🙂

  17. Madonna says:

    I don’t miss the snow, but I would love to have had some of your moisture. Our governor is starting to issue rationing in our state.

    I had to have a peek at the related articles on apple orchards – certainly a lot of work, but oh to have a real apple. It is getting more difficult to buy a “good” apple.

    Happy Easter.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Madonna, I was thinking about all my blogging friends that are dealing with the drought. I sure wish I could send some of this moisture your way. There really is nothing like an apple picked fresh from the tree. The loud crunch and juice that spills out of it as you eat it. 🙂 Happy Easter to you as well.

  18. I remember mud season when I lived up north. The flowering trees are beautiful, though.

  19. Beautiful photos! Hopefully springs is really around the corner. It’s time! 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your nice compliment, Ronit. I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos. This week is going to be cold with the possibility of a little more snow but this weather has to change soon…it’s April after all. 🙂

  20. flavorsofthesun says:

    Your photos say it all–the beautiful glory and the down side. Like life.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Vicki, As they say, a photo is worth a thousand words. I thought the difference was really amazing from this time last year. I’m glad you enjoyed the post. I was thinking about you just the other day as my butcher was talking about his wonderful holiday in Mexico.

  21. Gerlinde says:

    I can only imagine how you long for spring to arrive. My girlfriend in New Hampshire has been telling me how difficult this long and snowy winter has been for the people living there. I love your positive attitude and hope that spring arrives real soon. Happy Easter, Karen and good luck with all your spring cleaning and packing.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Gerlinde, for your kind words and wish. Since we can’t do anything about the weather, we just have to make the most of the days we are given. 🙂

  22. A_Boleyn says:

    Oh, yes, mud season. I know it well even here in south-western Ontario where it’s rained for the last couple of days. A mix of rain and snow showers predicted for Easter Sunday. No flowers have bloomed yet either and I miss the grape hyacinths that have usually sprung up in the past among the weeds.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Boleyn, Hard rain woke me early this morning…that always helps to melt the snow but definitely adds to the mud situation. It sounds like our weather is similar as they are predicting a little snow two days this coming week. Let’s hope pretty flowers will be here soon.

      • A_Boleyn says:

        I hope so too. It was pleasant today. I should have bbq’d but I’m holding off until tomorrow … burgers and lamb kofta kebabs. I made Boston baked beans and finished baking of the 2nd half of a batch of sugar cookie dough instead and stayed inside.

  23. kitchenriffs says:

    Our spring is a little late, although not as late as yours! We have tulips up, Bradford pears are blooming, and dogwoods are beginning to bud out. Lovely photos — thanks.

    • Karen says:

      Hi John, It must be lovely in your neighborhood with all the blooming trees and tulips in the flowerbeds. I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos, thank you.

  24. restlessjo says:

    Oh dear, Karen 🙂 You certainly won’t miss all this when you make your move, will you?
    Happy Easter, hon!

    • Karen says:

      You are so right, Jo…I won’t miss the snow, cold and mud. What I will miss is our home but I’m looking forward to our new adventure in Florida. Thank you for your wish, Happy Easter to you and your family as well.

  25. You have had one heck of a winter and early spring, Karen! We were more fortunate in Wisconsin. Even through February was extremely cold, by the middle of March the snow had all melted. Not to say that we couldn’t still have a snow shower or two! Hope you are quick to ‘catch up’ there and those flowering trees and daffodils will come soon.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Susan, This winter has been one for the record books…I’ll be so glad when the snow is gone. Thank you for your wish, I’m looking forward to the spring blossoms.

  26. Jane says:

    I didn’t know you still had so much snow on the ground, Karen! What a shame. I do know your area was hard hit. Hope for a lovely spring, if not a short one!!

    Jane xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jane, We have a lot of rain in the forecast this week that will wash away part of this snow. I’m looking forward to apple blossoms next month. 🙂

  27. One consolation: just think of all that free nitrogen…;-)

  28. Gosh that has been a long hard winter for you and with all the other upheavals in your life, snow still on the ground is the last thing you need right now 😦

    • Karen says:

      So true Tanya. We were hoping for an easy winter and early spring as we can’t put our home up for sale until the snow melts. Anyone interested in our home will want to be able to walk around our 13 acres and see the orchard.

  29. Sue says:

    I’m tired of winter as well. This morning we had snow—though it isn’t “sticking”….but I’m impatient to get back outside. Enough is enough.
    I just loved that bottom photo. Can’t wait to see a warm spring day like that.
    Happy Easter, Karen

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sue, I hope you had a wonderful Easter. I know what you mean, this is the time of the year when we all want warm days, sunshine and a chance to dig in the earth…not snow.

  30. Monique says:

    Exactly that..here… and it snowed all night.The children will be searching for eggs in boots and hats etc..brisk and cold here.Sunny at least.
    I hate all the little gravel our boots bring in this time of year..
    Oh well..c’est la vie..

    Happy Easter Karen..

    Soon all this will be but a memory to you;)

    • Karen says:

      Hi Monique, Yes, it looks as though we are both experiencing the same late spring. I’ve hopped over to your blog and saw that it looks as though the snow didn’t stop your grandsons from enjoying Easter…I’m glad. You are right, this will be behind us soon.

  31. Cathy says:

    It really was a tough winter for you – those poor rhododendrons suffered! We occasionally have a very dry frosty winter which is just as damaging as snow for the plants. I do hope spring comes really soon and all those muddy puddles dry up. At least you can use the continuing cold spell to start packing and sorting for the move. Have a Happy Easter Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Cathy, I’m sorry to just now be answering your and other’s comments. I’ve been packing for our future move. We had a wonderful Easter with friends. We are having rain each day this coming week so that will end the stubborn patches of snow that refuse to melt.

  32. lizzygoodthings says:

    Glorious photos as always, Karen. It’s autumn here, but more like winter… bitterly cold this weekend and a drop of more than ten degrees from last week. Wishing you a happy Easter and a trouble free time ahead.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Liz, for your nice compliment, I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the photos. I imagine our weather is similar now, cool enough that you need a jacket when outdoors.

  33. Happy spring! You guys had a hell of a winter in New England. New York got it, but not like you guys. And yes, spring is so beautiful and very messy. Look at those rhodos. If it’s not the weather it’s the deer.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Amanda, I appreciate your wish…spring is one of my favorite seasons. Our rhododendron usually make it through each winter without a nibble from deer but boy, the extreme cold weather did a number on them.

  34. Beautiful photos! I keep hearing from North American friends about the prolonged winter. Those puffa coats are very good but yes I know what you mean about feeling like a Michelin Man in them! Happy Easter Karen! 😀

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lorraine, I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos, thank you. Yes, I’m glad that I don’t have to wear my puffy coat anymore, they aren’t flattering but do keep you warm.

  35. Cecile says:

    Such gorgeous photos – and such sad rhododendrons…. I still have snow in my yard but nothing like you have in your orchard. And I, too, where ‘muckers’ when the conditions outside call for them. They’re not very ‘cute’ but they do the job!! ++ I bought a few bags of new dahlia tubers – and can NOT wait to plant them.

    • Karen says:

      I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos, Cecile. Would you believe that half way through the month of April that we still have a couple of patches of snow that refuse to melt. I’m sure your dahlias will be absolutely beautiful later in the year…I love them.

  36. Larry says:

    Mud season does not sound very appealing. Since you’ve sold your vacation home and now putting your home up for sale, I can only assume you’ve seen the light and are relocating here to God’s Country in East Tennessee 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Your comment gave me a real chuckle, Larry. God’s Country in East Tennessee is beautiful but Vero Beach, Florida will be our new home. Our closing is at the end of the month, if everything goes well. 😀

      • Cecile says:

        You chose a GREAT location – Vero Beach is wonderful !! So, you have sold your home? It’s such a gorgeous place – but I’ve always loved to move…. new beginnings and all that!! And you’ll make your new place gorgeous as well !!

      • Karen says:

        We love Vero Beach, Cecile. We haven’t sold our home in N.H. yet…it will not be put on the market until the end of May as we were waiting until we have the closing on our new home at the end of this month. Hopefully we will find a buyer that loves our historical home and orchard as much as we have. Thank you for your lovely compliment, our new home will definitely have a totally different look, I’ll be sharing photos as we make our move and start to get it decorated.

  37. Eha says:

    Thank you for a last walk thru’ your early spring NH property . . . Wherever one resides in the world you have always provided a beautiful place for us to visit. Sad it is ending, but a coolish Easter Sunday here [oh it is above 16 C at 10 am 🙂 !] and definitely no mud season makes one look at your beauty perchance differently . . . you must be moving soon . . .

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your lovely comment, Eha. I’m happy that you have enjoyed all the posts I’ve done about our home and orchard here in New Hampshire. We will be heading down to Florida for the closing on our new home at the end of the month. We will be doing a partial move, waiting for our home to be sold before we call Florida our new home. 🙂

  38. chrisscheuer says:

    I know spring will be a sight for sore eyes for you and everyone up in your area. Wow, what a winter. It’s glorious here in NC and it coming your way without a doubt!

  39. Sartenada says:

    Very interesting post. I mean that when comparing the spring there and here in Finland. I can say that so similar situation! Here nights are below freezing point and during days the temperature rises. Winds are generally cold.

    The dirtiness of my BMW 535d 3.0 xDrive has same problem than Yours!

    Happy Sunday!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sartenada, It does seem like our lives are very similar…not only with the weather where we both live but the cars we drive as well. 🙂

  40. Suzanne says:

    That certainly looks like a lot of snow and I can only imagine what happens when all that melts. There could be a river running through your property. Spring will be more than welcome this year, I imagine.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Suzanne, We did have a lot of water as the snow melted…the snow is all gone now except for a few stubborn spots that don’t get a lot of sun. We have had a lovely spring weekend and it was certainly nice.

  41. Barbara says:

    I know exactly what you mean about mud…spent 32 years of my life in Michigan. You in the NE have had a really bad winter. I’ve had Michigan friends tell me their winter was fairly normal, but for the first time in years, my NYC daughter complained about the weather. I feel for you, Karen, and hope the great melt is over soon and you can bring in some forsythia to force for some springlike yellow in your home!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Barbara, thank you for your kind thoughts, the snow is all gone except for a couple of spots in the shade. Love the bright yellow of forsythia…it always makes me smile.

  42. It has been a long winter in old England too, if not quite so cold as in New England, but still miserable and grey. We are now in southern France enjoying the first day of proper sunshine and warmth and even had lunch outside by the lake just now.

    I hope spring arrives to your neck of the woods soon and leave all that snow and muddy fields behind. Good luck with the packing and the move to Florida. All the best. 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Hi Fatima, I’m glad that you got to get away to France for a little sun and warmth. The snow has finally melted and days are getting warmer. Thank you for your wish, I’ve been packing for the last couple of weeks. Two moving pods will be shipped south this week as we are having the closing on our new home at the end of the month but our permanent move will be later in the year.

  43. Hello my dear Karen………..oh what a Spring you are having!………..or rather lack there of! I am saddened that you will be selling your glorious home. I am curious as to your next step in life. If you want email me at emil@gvtc.com I have news of Virginia from Bel’ Occhio. I feel that we have become friends and would like to share information with you. My best to you and wishes for warm sunny days to come!

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your kind words, Tin Man. We will miss our beautiful home but are looking forward to our new adventure in Vero Beach, Florida. I emailed you, hope you received my message.

  44. hotlyspiced says:

    I’ve heard your Spring is very late this year. What a shame! I was just visiting a Canadian blog and it snowed on Easter Sunday! She too, is over the cold weather and longing for Spring. I do hope the mud season is a quick one and that all the snow and ice and mud quickly gives way to a long, hot summer xx

  45. Australia is usually too dry to have a mud season, but wow, didn’t realise prolonged winters were that long!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • Karen says:

      Hi Uru, This was indeed a prolonged winter. Spring was late in coming but it has now finally warmed up and melted our snow. Mud season is one that I will not miss when we move to Florida.

  46. Heather says:

    Beautiful pictures regardless! We hardly had any snow so I’m worried that things won’t come up! I can’t wait to see the pictures when it is all gone!

    • Karen says:

      I’m glad that you liked the photos, Heather. Nature has a way of presenting problems to us all…I hope that you get the moisture that your area needs and soon. The snow has finally melted here, just a few small patches that don’t seem to want to go away.

  47. David says:

    I hate to say it, but thanks fro the reminder as to why we moved to Tucson! 🙂 Keep your eye on the prize, as your summer will be glorious!

    • Karen says:

      Hi David, Yes…winter forces many of us to move no matter how much we love New England and all it’s beauty. Forecasters are saying summer will be wetter than normal here in New Hampshire but it will at least be warm. 🙂

  48. Some gorgeous pics in spite of the snow, Karen. What a winter you’ve had!

    • Karen says:

      What a winter indeed, Sylvia. Hopefully this will be the last one before we get to make our move to Florida once our house in New Hampshire is sold.

  49. mjskit says:

    Oh my goodness Karen! I can’t believe that you still have all of that snow! Thanks so much for the pictures but otherwise, it would be hard for me to imagine. Our spring is in full blown and so are the spring winds. Wish our winds could move up there and help dry things out. Hang in there and let’s hope that your flowering plants survived for another year.

    • Karen says:

      Hi MJ, Sorry to be so late in answering all my comments but I’ve been busy packing. One nice thing is that now that it is the middle of April, we only have a couple of small patches of snow in shady spots. Our daffodils started to bloom two days ago so I know that spring is finally here. 😀

  50. Oh, I can so relate to the ugly side of spring. Like you, I know that great beauty is coming, but oh, it’s hard to look out the window and see grey grass. dirty streets and remnants of snow banks (but not as much as you seem to have). No green in sight here yet! I visited my new home last week on a pre-closing inspection, and my heart sank when I saw the back yard — there was just nothing uplifting about it, although I have faith that will change. Good luck with your packing and preparing your home for sale! I certainly understand how that impacts things like blogging (instead of been there/done that, I’m there/doing that!).

    • Karen says:

      This was one for the record books for many of us, Marlene. Our snow has melted now except in a few shady spots…hopefully it has at your new home as well. We are headed to Florida later this week for our pre-closing inspection. I’ve been packing like crazy as we have two moving pods going south this week. When we get back, I’ll get the house ready to put up for sale. I’m happy to have someone that understands how hectic life is when putting a home up for sale and making a move…thank you for your thoughts. 🙂

  51. I think you have done a really good job of sharing the ugly side of spring! I have been watching reports of the endless winter you’ve been experiencing, Karen. One of m closest friends lives in MA, and I keep her city weather report on my phone so that when we communicate I’m in touch with what she’s going through, and this year I’ve received multiple texts with photos and a barrage of exclamation points. It’s been brutal, that’s a fact! We obviously don’t have mudrooms in California, but I can sure understand now why in climates such as yours a mudroom would be a necessity! Let’s hope you get some lovely spring flowers very soon! ox

    • Karen says:

      Hi Debra, The ugly side of spring is not one that is common in many areas…especially in your area that is suffering from one of the worst droughts in recorded history. I do wish I could have shipped some of our snow that causes the mud your way. Yes, mudrooms are indispensable if you live in our area. My daffodils just started blooming two days ago, yea!

  52. Misky says:

    Be of good cheer; spring is coming! It was 15c yesterday! 😄

  53. Agi says:

    I like that name, Ugly Season, it definitely is!

    • Karen says:

      Ugly indeed, Agi. Thankfully, the ground has started to dry out but we have rain forecast for the entire upcoming week. One the bright side, everything should turn real green. 😀

  54. Brr and yuck. You reminded me of why we moved from the mountains of Utah and Colorado. Hope that it has warmed up by now.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Darryl, Yes, it is why we decided to sell and move south to Florida. It has finally warmed up here, the snow has melted and the ground has been drying up. Rain forecasted for the entire week ahead but it will differently green things up around here. Heading to Florida in a few days for the closing on our new home. 🙂

  55. Dear Karen, take heart, spring will come soon but I must admit from the pictures that we have been seeing on the news and from the stories that my friends living in the US and Canada have been telling me, this must have been one of the harshest winter ever and I certainly do not envy you for it. We were lucky this year, no much ice or snow! Soon your garden and your orchard will look amazing!
    Hope you and your husband had a wonderful Easter weekend!
    All the very best,
    Andrea

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your sweet thoughts, Andrea. Spring warmth has finally arrived and my daffodils started blooming two days ago. I’m happy that your area in Germany had a mild winter…I’m sorry that we didn’t get to visit Germany this past fall. Once we make our move, hopefully we will get to return soon.

  56. Raymund says:

    I think season changes now are quite late, that one thing I noticed during the last couple of years.

  57. Ah Karen, You’ve certainly nailed mud season. What do you think – are we really, finally, truly done with the snow now? I’m going for an optimistic probably. We’ve still got the big snow piles in the back where it’s shady & the front yard is ankle deep in water.
    I’ve got the additional fun of trying to get a large dog into the house without tracking all that lovely mud in too. I keep a pile of my husband’s old tube socks by the back door & wrestle her into them – at least on the front paws. They may not stay on for long, but a lot of the mud & wet get absorbed before she rips them off. Towels everywhere of course.

  58. How wonderful for folks in your are to see the signs of spring. We are so spoiled in the West Coast. How true is Anne Bradstreet’s quote.

  59. I am just amazed at how much snow still exists in the Northeast! I bet your move to Florida is looking better and better each day. Post when you can, do not worry about us, we’ll still be here!

  60. It all looks and sounds so familiar! But unlike you, we had an abnormal winter with very little snow…I think last year you had a winter with more snow as well. Our landscape is brown and only maybe a little snow in the ditch. The ice on the lake across the road will soon go out, today or tomorrow. But we have mud season as well and a mud room. Otherwise there would be dirt and mud everywhere and now matter how hard we try a little slips in anyways! 🙂 Happy Spring and good luck with all of your projects.

  61. Lovely images Karen. I do live in a temperate so it is hard for me to believe that so much snow could be on the ground during the first week in April. I hope your Spring arrives with a colourful flourish soon. 😉

  62. aFrankAngle says:

    Your spring is coming, so think of all the plants with all that pent-up energy ready to burst forth.

  63. chef mimi says:

    All I could think of as I read this post is muddy paw prints!!!

  64. We are in beyond mud to muck and soup with the melt and now heavy rains…no gardening for a while.

  65. Juliana says:

    Wow, still so much snow…thanks for sharing all the pictures…and I sure hope Spring is coming to your way soon.
    Enjoy the rest of your week Karen 🙂

  66. The snow here on Cape Cod finally was all melted last weekend. Unfortunately this week has been cold and rainy almost everyday. I think it’s going to be one of those years where we get no spring and then bam straight into summer!

  67. Quote the delayed spring this year, Karen, that is for sure… I hope that will only make summer sweeter!

  68. Sophie33 says:

    Many lovely pictures of Spring! Too bas about that mud & all of that snow! Good to hear that the snow has disappeared but that you have to do a lot od cleaning! 😦 x

  69. Oh Karen, we can relate to the longing for spring, we are in an in between stage right now where lawns have started to green, but trees are still reluctant to blossom (I’m still waiting on our apple tree). Every green blade of grass or promising bud is encouraging. All the best to you while you pack and prepare for your move. 🙂

  70. Ruth says:

    Mud season is right, Karen! Our snow is gone down here in VA and the pear and cherry blossoms are in bloom, but all the spring rain keeps everything nice and damp and the temperatures down. Can’t wait to see your garden in bloom, especially your orchard!

  71. Beth says:

    I love your photos – and can so relate to everything you’ve written. We’ve definitely experienced it all this winter and spring in Toronto. The only difference is that our snow was gone by the end of March. Hope you’re enjoying your last spring in New England!

  72. oh it is beyond muddy here but spring is finally showing itself and the sun is peaking out! Your photos are just gorgeous

  73. Roz says:

    I have vivid memories of this time of year (from when I lived in the Midwest) and you have captured them perfectly in your photographs! What a winter you’ve had . . . and soon you’ll be enjoying more of my favorite season, SPRING, and all of its beauty!

  74. velva says:

    I can’t even fathom the idea of so much snow. Wow. I live in north Florida (sigh). Where we do have a mild change of seasons and spring is like New Hampshire’s summer. You would crave snow, if you had to endure a mosquito swamp heat summer (laugh).

    The mud is on its way out soon and spring will be in the air in New Hampshire 🙂

    Velva

  75. Georgina says:

    It’s been a long winter here too – although not as harsh as yours. But Spring is – at last – really beginning to make its presence felt now, thank goodness. I hope that you don’t have to wait too much longer…

  76. lindaravello says:

    Hello Karen, just found your blog by accident – but so glad that I did – I am a complete novice at this – but you have inspired me to continue….spring is in full swing here also (Region Parsienne) and I did make a little post about this a couple of days ago – love the tapas also, not sure how t follow you, but would love to. Lindy

  77. Eva Taylor says:

    Spring couldn’t come faster if you ask me. Although the snow is gone and we’ve had a few warm days, we are not as far along as you are. Still only a few crocuses, snow drops but not a sign of tulips or daffodils.

  78. Gallivanta says:

    I can’t believe how much snow was still around at the beginning of April.

  79. Beautiful spring flowers but the mud is something that I do not miss about Michigan weather at all. My cars were never clean. Brown snow is just not very inviting. I hope by now most of his has melted. Take Care, BAM

  80. Selling and moving is a big job, Karen, but it will be a wonderful new adventure and hopefully you will noy have to go through a harsh winter again. Best of luck with your relocation!

    Spring at 6,000 feet elevation, where I live, means that we can have snow and frost until late May, but we are also fortunate that it is often sunny and warm here. I have not worn a heavy winter coats at all –a medium jacket suffices.

  81. Jerry says:

    I feel your pain (although our winter wasn’t as harsh as yours to the east). As much as this has been a challenging winter I confess to loving the changing seasons. It is amazing how quickly the garden burst to life after that first hint offspring’s warmth.

  82. Anonymous says:

    Hi Karen, thank you for visiting my blog and for your kind comments, there are so many beautiful places in the world and each season brings with it joy and not so much joy. Being able to travel and move about is a blessing but also a curse, it brings exciting new adventures but saddens your heart for what is left behind. I have enjoyed reading your posts this weekend especially your travels and photography, Kathy

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kathy, Travel enriches our lives in so many ways. You are right, it is sad when we have to leave but we always have our memories. I’m happy to know you have enjoyed my posts and appreciate your nice compliment.

Leave a Reply

