“It’s Just Steak” – Not If It’s A Bacon Wrapped Filet

You might think “It’s Just Steak”, But Not If It’s A Filet. This meal is all about a well seasoned filet mignon that is wrapped in applewood smoked bacon that adds both flavor and moisture, then pan seared for a nice crust on the exterior and finished in the oven to achieve a perfect pink and tender center.

Pan Seared Bacon Wrapped Filet Mignon With A Baked Sweet Potato And Parmesan Crusted Asparagus

Pan Seared Bacon Wrapped Filet Mignon With A Baked Sweet Potato And Parmesan Crusted Asparagus

Served with baked sweet potatoes, parmesan crusted roasted asparagus and a side of what my husband calls “melted steakhouse onions”, this meal should please almost every steak lover. It is a wonderful restaurant style dinner that can be prepared at a fraction of the cost of eating at a steakhouse.

I’m still recuperating from my broken foot so my husband continues to do all the cooking for us. While shopping at our local grocery store, he got two steaks that our favorite butcher hand cut for him from the center of a certified Angus Beef tenderloin. Later that evening when I saw what he had prepared for us, I told him that I wanted to take a photo of his meal. His comment was, “why, it’s just steak”. I thought otherwise. The filet, which is my favorite steak. was cooked to perfection, nicely plated and the steak was delicious.

Bacon Wrapped Filet Mignon

In this recipe, the steaks are started on the stove in a heavy oven safe skillet and then finished in the oven. When you start cooking the steaks, the meat needs to be brought to room temperature, so you will want to take them out of the refrigerator at least 30 minutes before you’re ready to cook them.

Cook the bacon in a skillet over medium heat until it’s just starting to brown but still pliable. You can also microwave the bacon between paper towels until it is partially cooked. When the bacon is cool enough to handle, wrap 1 or 2 strips (depending on the size of the filet) around each steak and secure with tooth picks. Then season the steak very well with salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder. *My husband calls this mixture SPOG.

Preheat the oven to 400°F. When the oven comes to temperature, heat an oven safe  skillet over high heat until the pan is hot. Add about 1 or 2 Tbsp. of peanut oil and when oil is hot, add the steaks and cook without moving for about 2 to 2-1/2 minutes. Turn the steaks and cook an additional 2 to 2-1/2 minutes. Place the steaks in the oven for about 5 to 6 minutes (depending on thickness). Make sure to use a timer, you wouldn’t want to overcook these wonderful steaks.

Check the steaks with an instant read thermometer inserted into the thickest part of the meat. If you like your steaks rare, they should register 120°F and be deep red. If medium-rare is more to your liking, wait until they register 125°F or are deep pink or 130°F for medium. If the steaks aren’t ready, put them back in the oven for 1 or 2 more minutes and then test again. Let them rest 5 to 10 minutes before serving (the temperature will rise 5 to 10 degrees after they are removed from the oven).

**

Sliced Filet Mignon Drizzled With Extra Virgin Olive Oil Served Room Temperature With Sautéed Baby Eggplant And A Basil And Tomato Salad

Sliced Filet Mignon Served Room Temperature With Sautéed Baby Eggplant And A Tomato And Basil Salad

The steaks were large and we ended up having enough meat left over for a second meal from this delicious (although expensive) cut of meat. It was a simple dinner of sliced steak drizzled with extra virgin olive oil served at room temperature with sautéed baby eggplant and a tomato and basil salad. Simple but oh so good!

****

While this isn’t something you’ll be cooking on a weekly or monthly basis, it is a wonderful meal to show someone just how much you care. While my husband could have cooked rib eye steaks which are his favorites, he treated me to these great tasting bacon wrapped filets which I love. They took me back to my early life in Texas where a good filet mignon was never thought of as “just steak”.

 

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to “It’s Just Steak” – Not If It’s A Bacon Wrapped Filet

  1. Mad Dog says:

    I sounds perfect. I hope your recovery is going well 🙂

  2. Hope the recuperation is going well. It appears your husband is taking very good care of you and that’s always a nice thing. 🙂

  3. Hello Karen , what a fantastic steak meal, cooked by your wonderful husband. That certainly isn’t ‘ only a steak ‘.Thank you for popping in to read my posts, I can never reply to you, as your comment comes as a ‘noreply’. I hope you are managing summer with your plaster. Unfortunately I’m back in the clinique for 5 days, having cortisone-epidural injections & treatment for my re-occurring back problem , thankfully this time it seems to have worked , so I’ll be home again tomorrow. Take care.

  4. bacon makes everything better!!!–how bout that walking boot of yours—how much longer? and what of the house and move??

  5. A steak like that can never be ‘just a steak’. How nice for you Karen that your husband is such a great cook too. Though I imagine you’re also looking forward to being able to get back to cooking yourself!

  6. Madonna says:

    I would love this dinner. Your tip about precooking the bacon is a great idea. I hate flabby bacon wrapped anything. 🙂

    Hope your healing process is going well.

    M.

  7. Looks really delicious. Hope your foot will soon be healed. 🙂

  8. If I got to eat like this every night, I would never go back in the kitchen. Great steak Karen and bacon wrapped only makes it better. Hope you are doing better everyday.
    Sam

  9. Penny says:

    I consider a filet a real treat and I savor every bite. Your hubby cooked it just right. Hope you will be free of the boot soon. I’m sure it has been a hard time. My Best.

  10. What a delicious looking dinner. My favorite cut of beef-tenderloin. This isn’t just steak!

  11. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    Bacon makes almost everything taste better, doesn’t it? The filet cooked to perfection, Karen.

  12. Kristy says:

    Glad to hear you are recovering. I’m sure you’re ready to get moving and cooking again. How wonderful that your husband is such a good cook. This filet looks amazing! And the recipe is not intimidating at all. I think I’m often more afraid of a good steak than I should be. This was beautifully cooked and plated. 🙂

  13. I love your husband’s idea of cooking…much in line with ours. I especially love the next day meal! Wishing you a speedy recovery Karen!

  14. I love a good filet of beef tenderloin. In fact, I bought a whole tenderloin a while back and did a roast tenderloin just the other day. Post forthcoming. 🙂 It’s such a wonderful piece of meat. Wrapping it in bacon is a very nice touch. Hope your foot is healing and you will be back to normal soon.

  15. Karen, I’ve been thinking of you and what an ordeal you are going through. What a nice and caring husband, cooking you such a delicious meal. Wishing you a speedy recovery.

  16. kitchenriffs says:

    I always start my steaks on the stovetop, then move to the oven. This is a particularly good technique if you have really thick steaks (3 inches or more) — impossible to properly cook them on the stovetop. This looks great — super meal. And although I’m sure you’re enjoying your husband’s cooking, I’ll bet you can’t wait for your foot to heal!

  17. Perfect – my favourite steak of all! Do hope the recovery continues well 🙂

  18. A_Boleyn says:

    As an earlier comment-er said, ‘everything IS better with bacon’ though a plain steak is hard to beat. Your hubby is a sweetheart cause everything looks delicious in this meal. Well done. I hope your foot is mending well and you’re not overdoing it trying to get back on your feet and do things. Enjoy the rest.

  19. It’s too early in the day to get this hungry, but with such perfect steaks and lovely looking plates it’s hard not to! 🙂

  20. Pam says:

    That filet is my favorite meat, and yours looks delicious! With bacon, is even better. I’ve never had it with baked sweet potatoes and will do that next time. Take care

  21. Larry says:

    I hope the recovery is going well and it’s good to hear from you. Looks like hubby is taking good care of you.

  22. cheri says:

    Hi Karen, looks and sounds like your husband is taking good care of you, delicious looking dinner.

  23. It’s good to know the stand in chef has a few tricks up his sleeve when needed. I’d eat both of these anytime.

    Hope the foot is sorting itself out.

  24. Monique says:

    Me too I hope your recovery is going well!

    Lovely dish:)

  25. Looks delicious! Love the addition of peanut oil to cook these steaks in. I bet that adds delicious flavor with the SPOG!

  26. Saskia (1=2) says:

    Anything wrapped in bacon MUST be good, and there’s nothing better than leftovers, especially leftover filet mignon. Yum. Sounds like your husband is taking very good care of you!
    Your dinner does indeed look restaurant quality. That baked sweet potato looks scoopingly good. Just reading the word ‘Steakhouse’ makes me yearn (and drool) to be back in the USA. Man, you guys do a good steak!

  27. Ingrid says:

    Yum…. we just enjoyed a couple of Filet Mignons the other day. Great idea for the left overs (assuming there’s any). Any nibbles on the house?

  28. Your husband is a great guy! How nice that he would make you a lovely meal like this one while you are out of commission. My favorite steak is rib eye as well but my husband is a fliet man like you!

  29. arlingwoman says:

    Nothing like a good meal to make you feel better. What a sweet husband you have Thanks for the directions. I usually just grill these with a close eye.

  30. lizzygoodthings says:

    Oh dear, a broken foot… I can sympathise and empathise… I did mine last year… surgery needed! Take care… life will get back to normal eventually. My Peter took great care of me while I was recuperating, just as your husband is doing. Aren’t they wonderful! In the meantime, love this recipe… so yummy.

  31. Your husband is a gem, and those steaks?? OMG!!!!!

  32. Ooops, sharing my friend, your husband rocks!!

  33. Eha says:

    Counting weeks that heavy cast should almost be off for you and lots of exercise on the menu to build up those wasted muscles . . . all the very very best! Have just put my crutches aside in favour of sticks after five long weeks . . . no darling husband in sight so had to do all the cooking, cleaning, carrying laundry to the bottom of the garden and even gardening with two crutches holding me up! Managed 🙂 !! Have not had a filet mignon for ages: am a sirloin and rump gal and at the moment have switched my red meat ‘likes’ to heaps of kangaroo and other ‘wild’ meats, very rare!!!!

  34. mjskit says:

    Sorry to read that your foot is still keeping you from doing what you want to be doing. Hope you’re finding some great books to read. 🙂 What a nice husband to step up and cook for you. He hit this one out of the park. What a great plate of food and who doesn’t like steak with bacon!? Best wishes for a fast recovery!

  35. ladyfi says:

    The vegetables look delicious – especially the asparagus and sweet potato.

    Hope the time flies by and your foot heals well!

  36. A filet is NEVER “just steak!” It is great that your husband continues to cook for you while you recuperate. I’m hoping your recovery is going along as planned. Hugs!

  37. Sue says:

    Hi Karen!
    So nice to see you posting–I was just thinking of you the other day and wondering how you were doing. I’m glad you’re on the mend, and that hubby is taking good care of you.
    As for the price of the cut of meat, it’s funny that people quibble about the cost of good food at home, but don’t think twice about going out to a “fast food” restaurant (UGH!) and spending as much as they would on quality ingredients at home. We eat organic and take a lot of grief for our “fancy” food, but they shut right up when I compare the cost of that to what they eat in restaurants. Healthy, quality food at home is ALWAYS cheaper.
    I love the pics of your meals–just the way we eat–well rounded and healthy.
    Take care, sweet Karen. It was good to see you posting again.

  38. ramblingtart says:

    I’m so sorry you’re still dealing with your poor broken foot. XO What an exhausting time for you. SO glad you have such a lovely man to care for you so well, and make such delicious things. 🙂

  39. My Kitchen Stories says:

    Oh you guys make such a good team. I hope you are better soon!

  40. He did such an amazing job! You are a household of chefs 🙂 love the steak served with the sweet potatoes and asparagus too. Keep taking it easy and giving your foot time to heal!

  41. Nice story. Nice images. Hope you’re on the mend.

  42. hotlyspiced says:

    Sorry to hear you are still recovering from your broken foot – so inconvenient! Great your husband is helping out in the kitchen. I do love fillet mignon and I do like the sound of the apple wood smoked bacon. Yes, it’s not a dish you have every night of the week but it is wonderful to enjoy on a special occasion xx

  43. This is a lovely special dish (the whole meal looks wonderful). I hope your foot is better soon!

  44. Love it! This is the kind of stuff I crave, but rarely make. Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  45. Jane says:

    Looks delicious. As usual I’m Pinning!!

    Thank you.

    Jane x

  46. Debra says:

    As much as you must be eager to get around on your own again, but your dear husband sure has stepped up to the plate–pun intended! 🙂 I haven’t had filet mignon in quite a while, but this looks delicious. The entire meal looks very special. It’s good to hear from you Karen, and I hope you’re doing well with your move and that you’re healing well–and will soon be independent in the kitchen. Of course, after all this practice, I think a team approach sounds good going forward!

  47. chef mimi says:

    wait. your husband has been doing all of the cooking?

  48. OMG! Both plates look so wonderful! I am drooling. 🙂

  49. libraryselkie says:

    What a sweetheart! It looks amazing! The first time I has a steak cooked like yours was in Colonial Willliamsburg at the Kings Arms Tavern, it was divine. I’ve only made this once for the hubs . . . Maybe I will again soon!

    Feel better soon!

  50. Eva Taylor says:

    I’m with you Karen, I’d much rather eat a really good quality steak less often than something not as good often! The bacon wrapping sounds lovely too, just the right amount of saltiness for the meat. What a beautiful dinner your hubby made for you.

  51. aFrankAngle says:

    Both dishes look wonderful. Cheers to hubby’s cooking!

  52. I do hope you are recovering quickly, Karen! I would think the steak helps. 🙂 This dish looks fantastic, you are a lucky lady to have your husband cooking such great food for you.

  53. Raymund says:

    Bacon on steak that is the perfect man meal!

  54. Gotta love a man who can cook, eh? That looks wonderful, Karen! Thanks for sharing – just gave me some ideas for my husband’s birthday coming up. He loves steak.

  55. Glad to see you posting – even if it’s just steak 🙂 Honestly, you are so lucky to have a husband who can cook for you. This looks like such a wonderful meal I totally understand how you’d love to share it. Kudos to your husband and hope you’re totally mended soon!

  56. I am wishing you a speedy recovery and your hubby is the best for making you one of your favourites. He looks like quite a good cook, send him on over to HK…Take care, BAM

  57. Sophie33 says:

    My hubby Peter is the beef eater in our family. He loves a lovely excellent filet mignon & that specula bacon around it myst be heavenly in the mouth! Yum!

Leave a Reply

