Summer Strawberries…Sweet And Savory

Sweet, succulent berries are one of the pleasures of summer. In New England, blueberries are probably the most popular summer berry but my personal favorite is strawberries. Strawberries have been in the market for months now but with white tops and no sweet smell, it is easy to see that they have been shipped in from across the country. I’ve been patiently waiting for some local, just picked deep red berries…their sweet aroma making them irresistible.

Sweet Summer Strawberries

Sweet Summer Strawberries

We all know that strawberries are great in desserts such as strawberry shortcake, ice cream and pies but their sweet juicy flavors are also perfect in savory dishes. I made two savory recipes using strawberries as part of our evening meal…both quick and easy. The first is a fresh strawberry salsa but if you have family or friends who don’t care for peppers and cilantro, you can serve them the other dish, a green salad with balsamic marinated strawberries and candied pecans. They both go very with chicken, pork or even a mild fish like the pan sautéed sole that I served them with. If you happen to find strawberries like the beauties we discovered at a farm stand, please do try one of the recipes I’m sharing with you.

Filet of Sole With Strawberry Salsa And A Strawberry Salad

Filet of Sole With Strawberry Salsa And A Balsamic Strawberry Salad With Candied Pecans

Strawberry Salsa

  • 1 pint strawberries, hulled and finely diced
  • half of a small sweet onion, diced
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, seeds removed and finely diced
  • a handful of fresh cilantro, chopped
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • salt and pepper to taste

Add all the ingredients to a bowl and toss gently. Let stand at room temperature for at least 30 minutes for the flavors to meld. Taste and adjust seasoning, if necessary. If the salsa isn’t spicy enough, add a few shakes of your favorite hot sauce, I like Tabasco Jalapeño. Serve as a side with chicken, pork, fish or with a big bowl of crispy chips.

Marinated Balsamic Strawberry Salad With Candied Pecans

Serves 2 to 4

  • 1 pint sliced hulled strawberries
  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • 2 – 3 Tbsp. balsamic vinegar
  • 3 – 4 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 4 c. of salad greens
  • a large handful of candied pecans

Add the first three ingredients to a bowl and gently toss. Let stand at room temperature until there is lots of juice, at least an hour. The berries can be used “as is” to top ice cream or pound cake. If making a salad, strain the juice into a small bowl, drizzle in the extra virgin olive oil, and season with salt and pepper. Taste the vinaigrette and adjust the seasonings, if necessary. Drizzle the vinaigrette, as much as needed for the amount of greens you use and top with the marinated strawberries and candied nuts. If you want to serve the salad as a main course, you might want to add some crumbled goat cheese for a more substantial dish.

****

Both of these accompaniments were so simple to prepare that I almost hesitated sharing them with you but the sweet and savory flavors of the summer berries were too good not to let you know how much I enjoyed them. If you are lucky enough to come across really ripe strawberries, I believe you will enjoy these quick and easy recipes.

*****

I wanted to take this opportunity to thank everyone for all your kind words concerning my broken foot, which happened eight weeks ago. I can’t tell you how very much they have meant to me. I’m slowly returning to a somewhat normal routine and making a presence back in our kitchen. Even though my bones are just now starting to show signs of new bone growth, I no longer need crutches and have traded the big air cast in for a smaller shoe cast.I am now happy to say that I can share grocery shopping duties with my husband, using an electric riding grocery cart when needed. I have quite a way to go but life is a lot easier but very hectic. We have a closing on our home in New Hampshire scheduled in two weeks and are very busy with packing up our household. I appreciate your patience concerning my blog. I’ve read your comments but unfortunately have not had the time to answer all of them or visit all my blogging friends. Life will get back to normal soon, I promise.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to Summer Strawberries…Sweet And Savory

  1. Strawberries are my favourite too … especially – like you – local ones in season. I love your salsa recipe. I’ve never used strawberries in this savoury way and will try it. Really pleased to hear your foot is mending well!

  2. Darlene says:

    I love both of these recipes! So please to hear your foot is on the mend. It takes a while and a lot of patience, I know. Good luck with the move. ❤

  3. Madonna says:

    Love berries and balsamic.

    Glad you are getting better. Moving is difficult when you are feeling 100%, I can’t imagine trying to do all that is involved with a broken foot. I feel like such a wimp when I hear my blog friends accomplishments. I have to say you have been an inspiration.

    M.

  4. Angie@Angie's Recipes says:

    o gosh..look at those glorious strawberries!! Both salsa and salad look so fresh and divine!

  5. What a magnificent meal Karen. Can’t wait for our summer strawberries.
    Have a beautiful day.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  6. Kiki says:

    Ooooh – strawberries & cilantro… sounds like a fantastic combination. Why didn’t I think of that!? Have bookmarked this and will try soon before strawberries go out of season here.

  7. savourytable says:

    I love strawberries too. My favorite savory recipe has to be a strawberry and baby greens salad with honey mustard, bacon and parmesan. I’m going to have to try your salsa. It sounds delicious.

  8. Glad to hear you are doing better. Lovely ideas for strawberries! 🙂

  9. Beautiful fresh strawberries and what delicious ideas for enjoying them, Karen. So happy to hear that your foot is making good progress now. What a relief that must be. Good luck with the preparations for your move. xx

  10. ladyfi says:

    Fabulous berries! The salsa sounds delicious.

  11. kitchenriffs says:

    Exciting news both about your foot improving, and the closing of your house. Hope all goes well with both! And speaking of both, these are two terrific recipes. I love the combo of strawberries and heat. Need to make that salsa, in particular. Have you tried roasting strawberries? They’re terrific in a salad with balsamic vinegar. Anyway, good post — thanks.

  12. That salsa looks great! I’ve seen some recipes for it. I’m gonna save yours for later use.
    So glad your foot is healing well and your Florida plan is falling into place. We miss you but understand your time away is important. Look forward to your next post…😊

  13. What nice ideas Karen. Strawberries are just a memory here in VA, as late summer brings on a bounty of local bell peppers, squash, tomatoes, melons, and herbs at our local farmer’s market.

  14. And congrats on the swift sale of the farm! Just in time to spend a cold winter in your new digs in FLA. Must be quite a relief, with the huge responsibilities and healing your foot. 😉

  15. Mad Dog says:

    Those do look like excellent strawberries and that sole is done to perfection 🙂

  16. David says:

    Gorgeous berries, Karen! Long gone herein the dessert – I will have to wait till next year to try these fun recipes!

  17. Penny says:

    So glad to get an update on your foot and house sale. You have had quite a summer so I am glad things are looking up. The strawberry dishes sound delicious. I guess you must be glad to be back in the kitchen.

  18. I love the looks of that strawberry salsa. I will make it this weekend when I get my strawberries at the farmer’s market. Thank you Karen and I hope you are doing well.

  19. Monique says:

    Great news re the healing and signing!Love salsas!

  20. Kristy says:

    Strawberries, balsamic, basil and goat cheese are a favorite of ours – especially of Miss A. I love your salsa idea too. I bet that’s great with several meat dishes and what a fun way to use strawberries in a savory dish. (Have to say though – when you mentioned blueberries, I was lost in thoughts of Maine and those delicious little berreis. How we love them!)

  21. Glad to hear you are healing and can get around better! Both of these recipes sound fantastic! There is such a difference in taste when you eat local foods. Glad the strawberries are now available 🙂

  22. Lovely salad and when you move to FL, you will have a long strawberry season to make you happy. So glad to read your are mending.

  23. Those strawberries look absolutely irresistible, Karen! Love the use of them fresh throughout summer. Good luck with the closing – I’ll be thinking of you!

  24. viveka says:

    Love strawberries … our season has been over from about 4 weeks now .. never tried them in salsa. See you when normal life is back! Have a good weekend.

  25. viveka says:

    Karen, sorry to read about your foot … you take it easy, girl .. because I have a couple of friends that didn’t take it easy .. and the problems they have to live with. Things can wait for another day.

  26. So glad that you are making a gradual return to health – but don’t push yourself too hard too soon. I agree with what you say about buying local strawberries. In England we get lots of imports that look great but are mostly tasteless but we are still enjoying locally grown strawberries for a short while longer and I’m looking forward to trying that salsa!

  27. lifeincharente says:

    Hope the foot keeps getting better. This sounds delicious, but sadly as much as I love strawberries they don’t like me!! Take care Diane

  28. It’s amazing the difference in fragrance and taste between local and shipped-in berries. Your strawberry salsa is so unique, I will definitely try it.

  29. Sorry to hear about your foot! That’s awful and the timing couldn’t be worst with moving and all. Nice to see your post today and I love the idea of savory strawberries. We still have some very sweet, juicy, local strawberries in the market and I’ll just have to pick some up to make your salad. Hope you heal up quickly!

  30. hotlyspiced says:

    It’s good to hear you no longer need to be on crutches. What a busy time you are having. I wish you well with all the packing – it always seems to be an endless job and so much can’t be done until the last minute. I do love the look of the strawberries! xx

  31. Eha says:

    Strawberries, nice or tasteless, come around every year . . . lifetime moves and broken feet combined do not! For the next few weeks and months you have to think ahead of every move you make . . . it’s kind’of for good!! All the very best and we’ll see you on the other side – we’ll be here 🙂 !!!!

  32. What original recipes and they sound really delicious too! I really must try them. I love the sound of candied pecan nuts as I’ve never had them.

    I am also very pleased about your foot getting better and you being more mobile and enjoying life again and, of course, about the closing of the sale of the house. Great news indeed! 🙂

  33. I’ve never tried strawberries in a savory dish, but I am curious to see what your recipes taste like.
    I’m glad to hear that your foot is healing. All the best with the packing!

  34. Fabulous news! I’m so glad to hear you are doing well and are able to get around more comfortably Karen. I think of you often. I don’t think I would be coping nearly as well as your are with the move and healing. Your salads sound amazing and I too love strawberries. I’m very fond of savory with fruit and we eat a lot of savory fruit salsas around here.
    Sam

  35. Also love strawberries! But really, just wanted to say, I’m so glad you’re healing up and life is returning to normal. All the very best with your packing and moving.

  36. It’s a lovely plate of food – I just love filet of sole – and the strawberries were the perfect addition! So glad your foot is healing on time and the closing of your home is still on track!

  37. So sorry Karen about your foot! Somehow I missed a few posts while traveling and working this summer, but am happy to back in the loop. Take care of your foot! We need them so much!
    This is a great post about strawberries and ways to use them. We often toss some strawberries in our savory salads to add just the right rounding out of flavor…a bit of sweet with salt. Love the salsa.

  38. I am hoping to get my strawberries going again for next year. And these are yummy recipes to try.

  39. Looks wonderful! We can’t grow strawberries because the squirrels and chipmunks eat them all. 😦 But we grow a lot of raspberries and I picked blueberries. There are bags of each in the freezer, and I enjoyed some this morning with breakfast. Fresh berries – now that’s a good thing. 🙂 Hope you’re back on your feet.

  40. plumdirt says:

    I cannot eat enough strawberries in season! Perhaps I will travel across the globe following their seasons someday just to extend their “season” in my belly.

  41. Jean says:

    Glad to hear your foot is mending. Good luck with the rest of the packing and moving — a big job even without a broken foot!

  42. Debra says:

    I do love strawberries, too! I occasionally make a version of strawberry salad, but never salsa! How intriguing! I’m definitely interested in making this and fortunately, strawberry season is long here in California. I am so glad to hear that you’re progressing and experiencing improved mobility! I hope that by the time you arrive to your new home you’ll be able to resume a more normal routine! This is a year you will never forget, I’m sure, Karen! ox

  43. Wow. Fresh, local strawberries in August! Love your salsa recipe. What a great idea. So glad you are on the mend and that you’ve sold your house. I know it’s a busy and stressful time, but am glad you can see the light at the end of the “tunnel” now!

  44. I love strawberries in salads and use them almost exactly like your recipe. The salsa sounds good and I never made that before. Sorry you broke your foot, but glad to hear you are on the mend. I remember breaking my ankle and was so glad it was not in summer. I feel for you! Hope your move goes smoothly.

  45. aFrankAngle says:

    Those strawberries look awesome. Strawberries are so versatile that your use of sweet and savory in the title is perfect. Good luck with the upcoming closing and best wishes for a continued recovery.

  46. I’m so sad I’ve been away long enough to have missed out on hearing about your broken foot. I’m sorry to hear that and hope you’re going to be in perfect shape in no time. I also didn’t know you were moving. Did you decide to move from the beautiful home I’ve been admiring all these years? Or did you buy a second home? Much love, glad I stopped by..xxx

  47. Debbie says:

    I love our local strawberries and have been enjoying strawberry balsamic sorbet from our CSA. I would love your salsa!

  48. chef mimi says:

    I love the idea of the strawberry salsa! I bet it would be good with just about any protein!!! Thanks for the inspiration.

  49. cheri says:

    Beautiful meal, very colorful and summery. So glad your foot is getting better………Have fun with your move!

  50. Sophie33 says:

    Two wonderful tasty recipes! Yummm!

  51. Eva Taylor says:

    I am so pleased that you were able to sell that beautiful home of yours Karen, it must take a huge load off for you and your husband. I’m glad to hear that your foot is healing well and that you are becoming more and more mobile, I can only imagine how upsetting being immobile would be for an active woman like yourself.
    We have the same problem with strawberries but sadly our season has long finished. We’re back to the tasteless berries from across the globe. I love the surprise of a strawberry incorporated into a savoury dish, plus the splash of colour is beautiful.

  52. I love all of the fresh fruit and veggies when they are in season. Glad to hear you are recovering and starting to get around better 🙂

  53. Yes, I love the smaller strawberries you can get at farmers’ markets this time of year. Judy and I were just at an outdoor market in Montreal and bought some strawberries that we snacked on all the way to Quebec City.

  54. Pleased to hear everything is moving in the right direction, Karen. As for strawberries on a main meal, I have to admit he jury is still out. I try to gauge fruit on a savoury course if it goes with salt or not. Call me a purist but the salts not getting anywhere near my strawberries.

    Take care.

  55. Raymund says:

    Definitely that salsa is a must try, never used strawberries like such. Love the idea

  56. Absolutely delightful 2 strawberry recipes. Glad to hear you foot is healing (wow 8 weeks already) and wish you a smooth and happy move. 🙂

  57. Saskia (1=2) says:

    Love your first photo with the cute aqua-colored boxes. Can’t wait to spot the strawberries without white tops. We’ve had nasty flavorless ones for months here now, but it’s nearly berry season 🙂 Your salad looks zesty and fabulous. Love the sound of candied pecans!

  58. Sissi says:

    These strawberries look so delicious! Fantastic photograph! You are so right about the taste… I’ve noticed that not only those shipped from far away but also the early varieties are not even half as good as the late ones. Now I’m enjoying the small, dark lat summer strawberries much more than the ones I had throughout the summer. Thank you so much for inspiration. I must say I’ve never prepared strawberries in savoury dishes…apart from a chilli and strawberry hot sauce I preserve every year. I’m glad to learn you are already back on your feet!

  59. Great news about the closing and that your foot is on the mend! I transplanted some ailing strawberries I found tucked away in our “new” home’s yard. The plants themselves are flourishing but no fruit on them this year. I’m hoping I get some fresh strawberries next year to go with one of your recipes!

  60. mjskit says:

    So glad to hear that you are doing better and started to get back out and back into the kitchen a bit. Bet it’s so nice to just being able to step outside without that big old cast. Just don’t overdue it and have set back. Take your time. (I’m speaking from experience here. :)) During strawberry season I can’t get enough of them. Always looking for new salads and both of these look fabulous!

  61. I know what you mean about the faux strawberries. I love strawberries in a spinach salad with the balsamic vinegar and have even found a raspberry balsamic that’s pretty terrific.

    I guess I got behind on posts during all of the wedding festivities and didn’t realize that you’d broken your foot! I had the same happen a few years ago and it really is frustrating being limited with crutches (I drive a stick shift so that gets to be a big challenge). But it’s good to hear that you’re on the mend. Good luck with the packing and I hope that all goes well with your closing.

  62. You concentrate on yourself my sweet friend. We are here…

  63. Glad to hear that your foot is healing well! I love the use of strawberries in a savory dish like this.

  64. Daniela says:

    Oh, these gorgeous strawberries, perfectly ripe and colorful.
    The strawberry salsa sounds fantastic, a must try.

  65. TheKitchenLioness says:

    Dear Karen, I am relieved to read that things are going well and that your broken foot is healing – it does take such a long time! Wishing you all the very best with your full recovery and with your move and the sale of your incredibly beautiful home!
    Your strawberry salsa is utterly delightful – I so enjoy the combinatin of savory and fruits in my cooking – I can just imagine how delicious your recipe is! An dI love the color of that salsa too, so bright amnd so late summery!
    Sending you a big hug and wishing I could come over and help you!
    Andrea

  66. I have missed a lot, Karen. You sold your home, moved to Florida, broke your foot…but you’re still cooking up delicious foodie posts for our visual delight! I’ve been madly busy at work too, and have missed writing, although I still cook. Get well soon!

  67. How is it that I’ve never made a strawberry salsa? It’s one of those brilliant ideas that seems so obvious now that I’ve seen it mentioned — why didn’t I think of that?! No matter … now that I know, I’ll be making this next June when the strawberries come back in season (unless I pick up some late-season overbearing beauties first). Glad to hear your healing is progressing well. And good luck with your move!

  68. sprinklesandsauce says:

    we LOVE strawberries! that salsa looks great!

  69. These strawberries are so beautiful. I enjoyed how you used them… to make both the salsa to serve with fish and marinated with balsamic for the salad. Creative!

  70. milkandbun says:

    Who does not like strawberries?! 😀

  71. Zirkie says:

    I really like strawberries in savoury dishes! These strawberries are looking fabulous!

  72. Gorgeous strawberries, tasty salsa they resulted! 🙂

  73. Fareeha says:

    Lovely salsa. I hope you recover completely pretty soon and settle down fast

    • Karen says:

      Hi Fa, I appreciate your lovely wish and compliment. My foot is almost completely healed. I just have to be careful with what kind of shoes I wear…no girly ones for awhile. 🙂

  74. Yum!! Such a refreshing recipe!

Leave a Reply

