Home Decor, It’s All In The Details

We all can appreciate a home that is decorated well and, if you are like me, you love going on house tours. While spending a week with good friends at their summer home on Nantucket recently, I mentioned to my girlfriend how photogenic her house was and asked if I might photograph and share their lovely home with my readers. I held my breath as I waited for her answer and was delighted when she said “yes”.

A Beautifully Decorated Nantucket Home

A Beautifully Decorated Nantucket Home

My friends purchased their house located on a cliff road above downtown Nantucket some years ago. Even though the old house needed to be completely renovated to suit their family’s needs, they had a clear vision of what it could become. They designed the house with a nod to the past, keeping the best of the old features but added modern conveniences throughout.

The home is decorated with easy summer living in mind. Soft neutrals and shades of green seem to bring the outdoors in on the first floor living areas. Large windows on all sides of the house let in lots of natural light as well as the cooling breezes the island is known for during the summer.

The core of their house is their family room, a large, comfortable and welcoming room where family and guests like to gather. There is a relaxed but stylish mixture of upholstered furniture that is perfect for watching a movie in the evening or reclining with a book on a lazy afternoon. Every corner features charming vignettes…do you see the two little children’s wing chairs at a small table ready for games located next to the fireplace?

(Click on any photo in this article to enlarge and see a slide show.)

Bigger is not necessarily better and that can be seen in the pretty parlor. While on the small side compared to the family room, the parlor is bathed in natural light and the green tones give it a restful feeling. Small touches such as the writing desk and chair on the right side of the fireplace give the formal room a personal touch.

The bright and airy dining area is divided into two sections and has a mix of vintage and designer pieces of furniture. The white painted beadboard walls are a perfect background for the botanical prints that line them.

One Of Two Dining Areas

One Of Two Dining Areas

The room is casual yet chic, a pretty wire and crystal light chandelier hangs over a white painted antique dining table with rush seat chairs.  My girlfriend can serve sandwiches and salad as easily as a three course dinner in the room. While always entertaining with style, making her family and friends comfortable is very important to her. She will tone down the formality of a multi course dinner with casual table settings and wild flowers (pokeweed and queen ann’s lace in these photos) in tall, decorative handblown vases on the table. It’s again, the small details that give the room an inviting feel.

They are both collectors of antiques and art, having a sure eye and a great sense of style and it’s their attention to the details that has filled their home with warmth and reflects both of their tastes and personalities. They love to hunt for antique treasures and art and that can be seen throughout the home with collections that have been gathered over time, piece by piece, and displayed in interesting ways.

Even the halls offer visual appeal, dark wood floors, a beautiful wide staircase with a seat before reaching the second floor, all showcasing their collections.

The bedrooms have each been decorated in a style that makes any guest feel welcomed. Here again, it is the details that make each room enjoyable. A special lamp, shell encrusted keepsakes, chenille covered wicker or an antique ship diorama give each room a special feeling.

Even the bathrooms have special little features that give them a wonderful charm. Antique claw foot tubs and sinks remind you of the history of the house but they are accompanied by modern showers and toilets.

I hope you have enjoyed taking a peek inside one of Nantucket’s most beautiful homes. I think you will agree with me that where home decor is concerned, it is all in the details. They are what give an overall impression of comfort and charm to the homes we live in.

****

I want to thank my dear friends for not only inviting my husband and I to their Nantucket home over the years, I also want to thank them for opening up their home to my readers. My girlfriend kindly gave me permission to show you her lovely home and who among us wouldn’t want to while away the summer hours there if we had the chance.

 

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in Home, lifestyle, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

86 Responses to Home Decor, It’s All In The Details

  1. What a beautiful home. Thanks to you and your friend for sharing 🙂

  2. Mad Dog says:

    That’s a beautiful home – I particularly like the nautical themed decorations.

  3. A_Boleyn says:

    Gorgeous home. I’m sure you put in a lot of planning and work to get such results.

  4. absolutely wonderfully perfect—warm and inviting while maintaining the stylishness of a place and time sweetly caught in both space and time—

  5. Karen, what a lovely home your friends have. Like the nautical theme, the drawing room and especially the dining room – what a great place to entertain friends like you 🙂 I just love love the wild flower arrangement on the table – so effective. Please thank her for allowing us to see this.

  6. What a fabulous home, so glad they let you share it for us all to see, it looks so welcoming as if you could just spend hours there, at home relaxing. Just as a home should be.

  7. Beautiful home and the photographer did a great job.

  8. kitchenriffs says:

    Wow, spectacular looking home! How nice to live — or visit! — there. And how kind of you and your friend to share this with us. Thanks!

  9. Karen Harris says:

    Gorgeous! Thanks for sharing.

  10. Your friend’s house is really beautiful. I love all the attention to detail, as well as the artwork and antiques. The child’s painted chair is so delightful. I’m sure it was a real pleasure to be a guest in her lovely home, Karen.

  11. Pam says:

    It’s a fabulous home that looks perfect for the area. You are a great photographer, Karen! Thanks for sharing!

  12. Darlene says:

    An exquisite house, well decorated. I love the Cranberry Harvest painting especially. What a lovely place to spend some time at. Thanks for sharing.

  13. Podso says:

    A lovely home and so gracious of your friend to let you share it with your readers!

  14. Madonna says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this lovely house/home. I do love a peek at what others are doing. I love the botanicals.

    And, thanks for checking in on me. I have been struggling with an allergy, but I am just about in control again. My appetite and creativity has suffered because of it, but hope to be back soon.

  15. Shelba Carroll says:

    Karen,

    This post was absolutely fantastic! One of the most beautiful homes I have seen! Elegant but casual! Thanks so much! Blessings, Shelba

  16. Helen says:

    Wow! I wish I had their space… Such a beautiful home – clean and airy. Thank you very much for sharing your friend’s home with us – and thanks to her, too. I enjoyed the tour very much.

  17. I hope you are gathering all kids of ideas and then scurry over to my place to give it an overhaul. LOL…Love the nautical plate collection on your tour.

  18. I’m reading this, Karen and looking at your beautiful photos of this gorgeous house….and then I’m looking around at my house :/
    What a delightful place and I see your friend has worked hard to make it so beautiful.

  19. I am loving the restful colourways. So beautiful. Thank you for sharing, Karen xx

  20. Emily says:

    What a beautiful home. I love how it is decorated and the nautical theme. Thanks to your friend for letting us take the tour.

  21. Your friend has exceptional taste, and it shows in every corner of her beautiful home. There are too many things to list individually that I love so I’ll just say this gorgeous home could be included in any architectural or decorating magazine I can think of. I did smile at the pokeweed in the vase. It is very unusual, and I must admit I’ve never thought about bringing it in, but it was attention grabbing with her table setting. Gorgeous.

  22. arlingwoman says:

    The house is gorgeous and beautifully done. Lucky you to be able to visit and lucky us that you could share!

  23. absolutely beautiful home Karen and what beautiful pictures !

  24. Eha says:

    Thank you for this ‘weekend gift’! Have also collected art and certain antiques all my life: so enjoyed this humongously! [Well, in my case it is Asian antiques and modern Australian and aboriginal art]. Love the neutral colours and the no curtains . . . . peaceful and elegant. Am ‘jealous’ of the botanical prints of which I too have a number and that ‘Cranberry’ picking painting is totally collectable!! Thank you!!!!

  25. cheri says:

    Looks like your friends have put their hearts and soul in their home, what a gorgeous place. Thanks for sharing!

  26. Amira says:

    Oh my, this looks so beautiful. The house is so bright and inviting, I wish I can make mine like this, but kids won’t leave it that neat hahahaha. Thanks for sharing.

  27. Your friend is talented as you are, Karen. What a beautiful home. Fabulous furniture too. I thought, I had some sense in home decorating, but I now know that I don’t. I am moving in a week from San Francisco suburb to Arizona. It is a Spanish style house. I am thinking of adding some Spanish flare to what I already have.

  28. ladyfi says:

    What a lovely home – and so tastefully decorated! (And tidy – so tidy!)

  29. niasunset says:

    Wonderful home decoration, I loved all the details and the colour in the home. Thank you dear Karen and Thanks for your friend too. Love, nia

  30. What a beautiful home! I love the paintings and the wall decoration.

  31. What a great place, Karen–I am SMITTEN with that childs chair painted like that! And the beadboard—SWOON!
    You’ve got some terrific friends. Sounds like you had a fine time.
    Happy FALL (yay!!!), Karen

  32. You’re right, Karen. Gorgeous house.

    I tried to reply to your comment yesterday, but my blog is doing funny things at the minute. Just wanted to make sure you hadn’t been badly affected by the hurricane.

  33. Gorgeous Karen! Thank you for sharing…

  34. What a fabulous house! I could just move in. So calming and elegant. I particularly like the botanical prints and the collections.

  35. This is a lovely home Karen, I especially like the claw food bathtub and the hand painted children’s chair. Thank you for sharing and thank you your friend for sharing her beautiful home with us.

  36. David says:

    What a beautiful home – love their collection of art and folk art! How nice that you were able to stay there with them!

  37. restlessjo says:

    Thanks for the tour, Karen. 🙂 I rather like the wall of plates. We have a delft rack where ours mostly live.

  38. Amazing! And so many wonderful pieces .. Lovely that your friend would let you share 😄 thanks

  39. What a gorgeous home! Such special touches in every room. Thank your friend for sharing with us all!

  40. What a gorgeous home! Thank you for sharing all its charming details with us.

  41. Karen, I thoroughly enjoyed touring your friends’ beautiful home! My husband and I are going to Nantucket at the end of the month and I can’t wait to visit! Pam @ Everyday Living

  42. Yep, I love a house tour! This looks like such a relaxing place to be, I’m sure you had a wonderful trip!
    Jenna

  43. Eva Taylor says:

    What a beautiful home, the colours are so soothing, I can certainly see what a relaxing home this would be. How nice that your girlfriend allowed you to photograph her lovely home, thank you for sharing it with us.

  44. flippenblog says:

    Ooooh those pink jugs in the dining area! I want ! Thank you for sharing.

  45. sippitysup says:

    I am very charmed by their artwork. GREG

  46. The artwork is gorgeous! Queen Anne’s Lace is one of my favorite flowers reminding me of my Nana’s garden and kitchen table. Please extend our thanks to your girlfriend and thank you for taking us on such a lovely tour!

  47. Absolutely beautiful home, so tastefully decorated and how lovely to be able to visit Karen.
    Have a wonderful week ahead.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  48. Every room/hallway looks perfect. Thanks for sharing your friend’s beautiful home. You can tell there is a lot of love there. A neighbor once told me that my yard “had a lot of love” and I feel the same way about the inside of this well-decorated home 🙂

  49. Beth says:

    What a lovely home! Thanks to you and your friend for sharing it with us.

  50. This is a beautiful home and resembles my dream home at the shore. I love the decor but the thing I love the most about it is the fact that it looks like a comfortable inviting home.

  51. “Casual elegance” comes to my mind. What a lovely home, and how gracious of your friend to let you share it with us, Karen. I can easily picture myself there. It doesn’t look “decorated” but simply comfortable and beautiful at the same time. VEry welcoming. (And thanks for checking in on me; doing better. New post soon!)

  52. I love seeing a well decorated home. That sailboat diorama is really something!

  53. nancyc says:

    What a beautiful home–I love it!

  54. It is gorgeous! And your friend lives here with her family? Wow that’s something!! My dream is to be able to decorate my home AND for for it to stay that way…have to wait a few more years for the kids to grow 😊
    Tell your friend that I loved her house, congratulations!!

  55. Velva says:

    Nantucket is on my bucket list. I would love to visit after the summer crowd is gone, and the cooler air moves in- Your friends home is beautiful. Exactly how I would envision a nantucket home.

    Velva

  56. Velva says:

    (Not sure my comment took and I am going to try one more time) Nantucket is on my bucket list. I want to visit when the summer crowds are gone and the cooler air has moved in. Your friends home is beautiful. Exactly how I would have imagined a Nantucket home.

    Velva

  57. lulu says:

    Quite lovely for a second home. It’s always fun to see how someone expresses their personal taste.

  58. I always say that a beautiful home can house beautiful memories! Looks lovely!

  59. Summer Daisy says:

    Your friends home is so gorgeous. I love all the little details

    summerdaisycottage.blogspot.com

  60. Very beautiful home and magazine worthy decorating. I find Nantucket and New England interior design very soothing and easy in which to live. It is bright, cheerful and relates easily to the nature and scenic views around it.

  61. Oh my goodness Karen, your friends decorating is spot on. My favorite, ultimate was the wall with the glass plates! So elegant, so chic!! Thank you so much to both you and your friend for sharing this wonderful home with us! ♥

  62. I agree it is fun to go on house tours…I have great curiosity about how other people decorate and live…a bit of a voyeur in an innocent sense…I always pick up a few tips. Love this post Karen.

  63. Oh my goodness, your friends home is SO charming!!! Love all the character the home has and how it definitely still holds the old charm with an elegant twist! Beautiful! Thank you for sharing!

  64. Such a gorgeous living space, all of it! I absolutely love the nautical theme and it’s so perfectly classic for an airy New England home. I love all the windows and natural light throughout the house too. Thanks for sharing!

  65. Sissi says:

    Thank you so much for tis fascinating visit! The house is so carefully decorated, with not even a tiny corner accidental, if it wasn’t you, I wouldn’t believe it’s really lived in! Thank you friend for having agreed to share with us her wonderful house.

  66. What a beautiful home! I love all the greenery and the nautical touches.

  67. Juliana says:

    Absolutely gorgeous picture Karen…thank you so much for sharing it!
    Have a wonderful week ahead 🙂

  68. It’s a gorgeous home and decorated very tastefully. How nice of them to invite you in and let you share their house with us. 🙂

  69. mjskit says:

    Oh I do love going into other people’s home too! Sometimes I’ll go to open houses, just to get ideas. Your friends home is lovely and definitely feels like a Nantucket home.

  70. Such a beautiful home. Thanks for sharing Karen!

  71. This is such a beautiful house, what a wonderful tour Karen!

  72. What a beautiful home! She has a real eye for details and I love that she has kept to her theme. The thing that really caught my eye was the bamboo plate charger. That was gorgeous!

  73. Jane says:

    Absolutely wonderful and so inspiring. Great job, Karen, and thank you!

    Jane

  74. Pat says:

    What an absolutely beautiful home! I like their soft sea green and beige color palette and their comfortable furniture and interesting collections. Nantucket is a wonderful island to live ion –they are indeed fortunate!

  75. I am in love with that stool with ABC/Whale on it – gorgeous! I love quirky pieces like that!

  76. Nice house! I especially love that it’s located on a cliff above downtown, because the minute they decide they don’t like one of their couches or whatnot, just one tiny shove and voila, maybe it lands on a resale shop.

  77. Maureen says:

    Karen, what a gorgeous home your friends have. There’s a designer’s touch in every room but there’s also a hint of love. I’ll be honest and before the first paragraph finished I was thinking, “there once was a man from Nantucket…” LOL

  78. vagabonde says:

    What an elegant and comfortable home. It was so gracious of your friend to share it with us. I love all the details like the plates on the wall. We are going to move from our Georgia home where we have been for 40 years to a 1930 bungalow in a historic district of Nashville. I have to clear out so much here, but at the same time want to retain some of our vintage and antique pieces for Nashville – it is not easy to decide. Your friends’ home shows a good balance between vintage/antiques and modern pieces.

  79. Gallivanta says:

    What a pleasure to see this beautiful home. Many thanks to your friend. I love the cranberry harvesting painting. Is this just a summer home? Or is there central heating as well as cooling?

  80. Wow, that is some house! Love the writing desk most of all 🙂

  81. TheMintThief says:

    What a beautiful home. 🙂

  82. Karen, This home is so beautifully decorated and interesting too! I just googled millinery irons and found out something new. The children’s table must be a favorite of all the little ones who visit. I would enjoy sitting in the green sofas with a book or a glass of wine after a day at the beach! The green is so refreshing and unusual for an island house I think, and I do like it. Thank you to your friends for sharing their house. Linda

  83. thehandbaghoe says:

    Your home is beautiful!! You really have great taste

  84. nuurdesigns says:

    waaaooo you friend did a really good job. I love the vintage pieces around the house.

Leave a Reply

