Spa Holiday For Food Lovers

With a long history going back to the Romans, who built baths around thermal and mineral springs, Germany and Austria are home to some of the world’s best spa and wellness resorts. Spas known not only for their health facilities, many are also destinations for food lovers from around the world.

Europeans seem to understand the benefits of taking a spa holiday and know that good food is as much a part of the whole travel experience as is relaxation, clean air, mountains and rivers…all contribute to a sense of well being. They visit the spas to benefit both their body and mind.

Whether called a spa, wellness center, therme or bad, these modern spas have a variety of steam rooms, dry saunas, hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, cold plunges and relaxation areas as well as quiet rooms for spa treatments. Spa goers can totally unwind from the stress of their busy lives.

While on their holiday, they make every effort to enjoy the fresh air in the resort’s outdoor surroundings. They go horseback riding, play golf, hike, bike, and perhaps swim in the cold waters of a pristine lake.

.Just imagine a day where you receive a massage with hot stones then get wrapped in a thick terry robe and relax in a lounge that has floor to ceiling windows with views of a beautiful lake or mountain scenery. After a day of pampering, you dress for dinner at one of the resort’s gourmet restaurants and enjoy fine regional cuisine of the area.

If fine dining is as important to you as a relaxing massage or facial, then you will want to follow along over the coming weeks as my husband and I travel once more to Europe and visit “spas for food lovers”. This year, we will be staying at eight outstanding spa resorts, four in Germany and four in Austria.

While we enjoy traveling to many other parts of Europe, the states of Bavaria and Baden-Württemberg in Germany and the states of Tirol and Salzburg in Austria are more appealing to us than some of Europe’s more famous but overcrowded destinations. With their good roads, postcard vistas, pristine villages and friendly residents, these regions keep drawing us back for another visit.

Each of the fantastic resorts have something special about them…one is a restored 18th century German hunting lodge, one sits high up on a 4600 ft. plateau surrounded by the Austrian Alps, another has the largest private Lipizzaner stud farm in Europe with 40 white stallions, and another is a stylish lakeside retreat just 45 minutes from Munich. One thing they all have in common is beautiful spa facilities that focus on wellness. Each hotel has excellent restaurants, some accumulating many fine dining awards. Two of the spa resorts have well known restaurants that have been awarded three stars by Michelin.

****

“Beauty, relaxation, vitality, joy and pleasure…they are a vital part of life”, is the philosophy promoted at Wellness-Residenz Schalber, one of the top rated spa hotels in Austria. That seems to sum up why spa holidays are enjoyed by so many Europeans.

 

 

 

 

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in food, lifestyle, photography, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

101 Responses to Spa Holiday For Food Lovers

  1. Looks and sounds wonderful.

  2. Karen says:

    Thank you Jovina, It will be a wonderful trip.

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Wow, what beautiful scenery and Michelin starred food – you could be in heaven!

  4. kitchenriffs says:

    That’s the way to travel in style! Gorgeous scenery, then you pamper yourself — both in the spa and later at the restaurant. Love the pictures. Fun post — thanks.

  5. Absolute heaven Karen! I am super envious. You will have to enjoy a massage for me.
    Have a beautiful time away.
    🙂 Mandy xo

  6. I might be able to fit in your suitcase Karen!!
    In Salzburg, one of my most favorite places in the world, you must dine at
    Monchsberg 32–overlooking Salzburg—I wrote a trip advisor review about our experience back in 2012 after our trip..“quite a journey only to be wonderfully rewarded”
    If you’ve not had the pleasure, I highly recommended it as the views are stellar, the food equally as wonderful and our service made me want to take the young man home with us 🙂
    Oh have a marvelous and invigorating time for me please!!!!

  7. Absolutely agree Karen…..thank you for sharing your passions and knowledge with others!

  8. I’m sold! This is a journey we must add to our bucket list. Great scenery, food, etc. What more could a girl ask for.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bobbie, I agree with you, what more could a girl ask for. I’m very lucky to have such a wonderful husband that enjoys traveling as much as I do. I would wholeheartedly recommend adding this journey to your bucket list. I’ll be writing about some of our favorite hotels and also some new hotels that are supposed to be wonderful.

  9. I love these Spas and are always happy when I get to visit one. These are privately run spas but the Germans also have government run spas (not as fancy but nice) for their citizens to recover from a serious illness. My mom spent four weeks in one of them to recover from her heart attack. It’s paid for by their insurance if approved.
    Have a wonderful vacation Karen.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Gerlinde, We are looking forward to our vacation, thank you. Wasn’t it nice that your mother was able to recover at one of the government spas. We have been to a couple of the spas that are not part of a hotel and they are indeed very nice.

  10. Have a wonderful trip, Karen, and look forward to reading all about it.

  11. monique says:

    Looks out of this world Karen:)

  12. Darlene says:

    Perfect settings for a Spa! Looks amazing.

  13. lifeincharente says:

    I would love to spend a few days at a spa but generally they are quite expensive! Great post. Diane

    • Karen says:

      Hi Diane, I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the post, thank you for your nice compliment. A few days at a spa is a great way to rejuvenate your body and will be much appreciated by my husband and I as there is nothing like them here. Where we will be staying, the price of the room includes all the spa facilities and food. 🙂

  14. Deb C says:

    How wonderful Karen! It would be enjoyable traveling with you.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Deb, Wish I could take all my blogging friends along in real life but I’ll do the next best thing and share our adventures with you on my blog. 🙂

  15. I don’t know why we never took a vacation to a spa. I guess we found other ways to enjoy beautiful views and local food. Looks like we missed out on some good times 🙂

  16. Enticing photos – and so true! Traveling from spa to spa seems a wonderful way to spend your vacation (and afterwards you check into another spa to loose some weight? 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your nice compliment Karin, I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos. We do think this is a nice way to spend our vacation. Now about loosing the weight, we’ll see. 😀

  17. Bavaria & Austria are so beautiful. I can’t think of a more peaceful and serene spot to be pampered, then top off the day off in a fabulous restaurant. Lucky you.
    Sam

  18. Spectacular! Absolutely spectacular! I wish someone would invent a plane that would get me from Australia to these places in an hour or two!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Liz, Spectacular is the perfect word to describe the regions where we will be visiting…makes the long nine hour flight worth it. If someone invented that plane, I’d be visiting your country as well which is half way around the world from us. 😀

  19. Oh boy, oh boy, OH BOY! Time for vacation— I’m so excited to see where you take us!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your enthusiastic comment Kelli, you gave me a real smile. I’m happy that you are looking forward to following along on this year’s vacation to Europe. 😀

  20. Eha says:

    Oh dear, Karen! You know I am about to be ‘cheeky’ in a nice way: so you take it off in daytime and put it on at night!! Hmm: not a bad way to go!!! That said: wish I could join you in this autumnal joint, tho’ I would probably order “Krug’ rather than The Widow!! Knowing both German and Austrian cuisine rather well, am not at all surprised at the plethora of luxury venues available after dear doc has said ‘this . . . or else’ 🙂 ! Am v much looking forwards to your trip and SO promise to be ‘good’!!!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eha, You gave me a chuckle. The food is going to be real good so let’s hope that as I put weight on at night that then I can actually take it off in the daytime. 😀 I’m happy to know that you will be following along on this year’s adventure. Thank you!

  21. Cathy says:

    You have got some wonderful photos Karen. Look forward to hearing all about your trip this year! The scenery will be wonderful with the autumn colours just beginning now, and they are possibly further on down south than in our region. Have a great holiday!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your compliment Cathy, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. Yes, we should see some autumn color…it is one of the things I miss since our move from New England. We are looking forward to visiting your lovely country and I’m happy to know that you will be following along, thank you.

  22. You have me dreaming … And so envious! 😃

  23. Kiki says:

    So looking forward to your travel posts, Karen! And it’s great to hear you enjoy Baden-Württemberg so much – we really do have lovely state 🙂 .

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Kiki, I’m happy to know that you are looking forward to my travel posts. Your state of Baden-Württemberg has so much to offer…so much beauty, history and some of the best food in all of Germany.

  24. I feel relaxed just looking at the pictures! Thanks Karen.

  25. Gretchen says:

    You have picked some of the best states for those countries, I completely agree! Ah, the salt mines near Salzburg, mountains, hiking, biking, gorgeous views and so much more. Have fun and I can’t wait to see everything.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Gretchen, I’m glad to hear that you agree with me on the states we have chosen to visit on this trip. It’s their natural beauty, history and good food that keep us returning to these areas. I’m happy to know that you will be following along…I hope the posts remind you of your recent trip.

  26. I’m sold! I elect you to be my personal travel agent! Your recommendations are very appealing. Thanks, Karen.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Rosemary, If you ever decide to make a trip to the regions we have visited, I’ll be more than happy to let you know what we think should not be missed. I believe you will enjoy seeing what we discover on this trip.

  27. chef mimi says:

    I’m ready for a vacation after looking at these photos!!!

  28. Larry says:

    Sounds like a great trip Karen – do you need a bag boy?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Larry, I believe it is going to be a great trip. I’ve got my bags almost packed. Even though small they will be heavy…you might want to think about that offer. 😀

  29. Sounds like an idyllic, relaxing and delicious trip!

  30. Can’t wait to see them all, Karen. Despite flying over the Alps on a weekly basis, they’re definitely more spectacular from the ground. Have a wonderful time.

    • Karen says:

      Hi David, I have to agree with you about the mountains being more spectacular from the ground…just hope we will have sunny and clear weather to appreciate all their beauty. I’m happy you will be following along, thank you.

  31. Oh, my gosh, Austria and Germany have just moved up on my bucket list!! SO much fun!!!

  32. Ah, a spa holiday in one of those lovely places sounds like perfect bliss. 😃

    I’ve always wanted to visit Tirol in Austria, ever since I read the Chalet School series of books when I was a child. They were set in Tirol — the books were about a boarding school for English girls in the 1930s — and they made the Austrian way of life sound wonderful.

    Have a great trip!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Grace, I do hope you get a chance to visit the Tirol, it is such a beautiful part of the world and the people living there make sure that you enjoy every moment in their wonderful region.

  33. Can I please crawl inside your suitcase Karen? I’ll even go on a strict diet and loose weight to be lighter…lol! I feel relaxed just looking at the photos in this post. I envy your trip and cannot wait to hear all about it when you return. Have a wonderful time! Safe travels!!!

  34. Karen says:

    Hi Debbie, I think I may have to buy a bigger suitcase as several of you have the same idea. 😀 Thank you for your nice wish and I appreciate that you will be following along on our holiday.

  35. You are so right, Karen: it is hard to beat Austria, Germany and the Alps for sheer beauty and relaxation. We were lucky enough to spend some time in Obermoos, Tirol, last summer and this campsite in Austria was probably the best 4 days we’ve ever had whilts motorhoming: simply superb! Enjoy your treats and your food! 👍

    • Karen says:

      It is a small world Fatima as we are staying for the third time at the Post Hotel Lermoos, which is just six kilometers away from Obermoos. It certainly is a beautiful part of the world, isn’t it. The last photo in the first photo gallery is from there with the Zugspitze in the background. I hope all is well with the two of you…I miss following along on your adventures. Thank you for your wish, I know we will have a great time.

      • Thank you, Karen. It sure is a small world. Wouldn’t it be nice if we happened to be in the same place at the same time. I am now blogging under the name of sayselltravels as I found the fee too high for a poor service (the app for tablets is not very good). I have started this new blog for free. I would love to see you there some time. All the best! 💟

  36. Wonderful images, and the food looks amazing. What a great holiday.

  37. Karen says:

    Thank you for your nice compliment, Darryl. I know we are going to have a wonderful holiday and yes, the food will be amazing.

  38. Louise says:

    Oh how exciting for you and your husband, Karen, a spa and foodie holiday. It sure sounds heavenly!!! Wishing you optimum weather and relaxing moments. Have a ball!!!

    Thank you so much for sharing the lovely pictures and sensational news!!!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Louise for your lovely wish and compliment, I appreciate your kind words. I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the post and photos.

  39. Timelesslady says:

    I enjoyed viewing your gorgeous photographs…especially the churches.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kathy, Thank you for stopping by and your lovely compliment. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos. There are some absolutely beautiful churches that we will be visiting on our trip. I’m always amazed at the small ones in the little villages…wondering how they raised the money for their magnificent interiors with so few residents.

  40. cheri says:

    Hi Karen, what a lovely vacation you have in store for yourselves, can’t think of a better way to enjoy life. Can’t wait to see more pics!

  41. dawnyucuiscooking says:

    I need a get away to a spa. I love all the beautiful pictures. This would be a fantastic vacation!

  42. Sissi says:

    I stay every year in Tokyo for 10-14 days and love the noise, the crowds, etc., so nothing to do with a calm spa 😉 but I love travelling to completely different destinations through your blog and find extremely interesting the way you spend holidays. Enjoy your stays in Germany and Austria!

  43. What a beautiful post. I enjoyed it so much!

  44. Looks beautiful there, Karen! Enjoy!

  45. Eva Taylor says:

    We just returned from a three week holiday in Europe, I could sure have used a few days in a spa. The weather just started getting chilly when we left Paris last Wednesday.

  46. Postcard views indeed! How relaxing and delicious, all at the same time.

  47. reggiorif says:

    Great pictures… Soon I’ll be going for a weekend away and the images you posted make me eager to travel among our Alpine lands 🙂

  48. What an beautiful experience! I traveled vicariously with you my friend! Thank you!! ♥

  49. I’m having a stressful week with work so I’m going to close my eyes after looking at your pictures and pretend I’m there!

  50. I’ve never been to a spa, I’d totally love the experience and the food of course!

  51. Spa-ing is one of my favorite ways to pamper myself and I haven’t even visited these. Even in China we treated ourselves to foot and body massages several times. Never fails to revive me!

  52. Norma Chang says:

    Looking forward to following along on your travel to Europe visiting “spas for food lovers”.

  53. Cecile says:

    Wow oh wow oh wow – I’ve stayed at some lovely 5-star places with my husband – but NOTHING like this amazing resort. As, always your photos are wonderful. Thanks for ‘taking us along with you’!! ; o )

  54. This is great! Such a beautiful place!

Leave a Reply

