Wellness Residenz Schalber In Serfaus, Austria

While only 50 kilometers from St. Anton and an hour away from Innsbruck, most people have never heard of the small Tyrolean village of Serfaus unless they are skiers living in Europe. Surrounded by the Ötztal Alps with peaks over 9200 feet high, it is absolutely beautiful.

Located just north of the joint Austrian, Swiss and Italian border, Serfaus-Fiss-Ladis (three historical villages)  is one of the biggest ski resort areas in Austria. The towns specialize in holidays for families with children. They come to ski in winter and then return again in the summer to hike and bike on the trails of the high plateau. This area is sometimes referred to as Austria’s “sun terrace” as it is said that the sun shines more often and more intense than anywhere else in the country.

Schalber Hotel In Serfaus, Austria

Schalber Hotel In Serfaus, Austria

My husband and I aren’t skiers, hikers or cyclists so you might wonder what has brought us back for a second visit to Serfaus. One reason…the Wellness Residenz Schalber. Rated 19 out of 20 points and awarded the top rating of 4 lilies by the Relax Guide of Austria, Schalber is one of the top spa hotels in Austria.

The Majestic Mountain Peaks Surrounding Serfaus, Austria

The Majestic Mountain Peaks Surrounding Serfaus, Austria

A serpentine road, that made me wince a few times, takes you up to the village. As you enter Serfaus, the road ends at a parking garage where you leave your car if you are a day visitor then take the free Dorfbahn, considered to be one of the world’s smallest and highest subways, into the village. If staying in a hotel, you can bypass the subway and drive up to where you are staying.

Schalber is at the beginning of this little village of chalets and is easily recognized by its striking entrance and beautiful fountain. After a warm and friendly welcome, a valet delivers you to the front desk, takes the luggage to your room then parks your car in the hotel’s underground garage while you are given a tour around the hotel and a welcome glass of Champagne. Gault Millau once wrote about the hotel…”from the reception to the service, all employees deserve the title extraordinary,” and I would certainly agree. From the gracious owners to the very courteous staff, everyone wants to make sure that you have an unforgettable experience at their hotel.

We had a junior suite decorated in the tradition alpine style of light colored woods. The room had a nice seating area and a balcony that looked out at the magnificent view of the surrounding mountains.

The price of the room includes full board which offers you culinary treats throughout the day. There is a large breakfast buffet, a lunch buffet, afternoon beverages served with pastries and then a five course gourmet dinner, including a salad bar. The courses feature Austrian and international cuisine with many of the ingredients coming from the hotel own’s organic farm and hunting grounds.

The beautiful spa truly feels like an oasis of relaxation with many different types of saunas and steam baths, a separate ladies spa, a large panorama sauna with wonderful views of the mountains, an outdoor pool, seawater pool and a relaxation area with lounge chairs and waterbeds and a fitness room.

Life in Serfaus is geared towards outdoor adventures for all ages but we enjoyed just walking through the narrow lanes winding through the village, stopping into the beautiful church on a lovely sunny afternoon.

****

The Tyrolean village of Serfaus is picture perfect. The first time we visited Schalber was during the Christmas holiday season a few years ago and it looked like something out of a postcard.

Wellness Hotel Schalber During The Winter Season

Wellness Residenz  Schalber During The Winter Season

Unfortunately, my husband was very ill and never got to leave our room for the three days we were there. We knew that we had to return someday and on this visit, we made up for everything we missed out on and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and all of its wonderful facilities.

 

 

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in lifestyle, photography, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Wellness Residenz Schalber In Serfaus, Austria

  1. Shelba Carroll says:

    Beautiful!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. flavorsofthesun says:

    What a beautiful and enticing place. Very special.

  3. sure beats where we stayed in Innsbruck 4 years ago!! 🙂
    Gorgeous!!
    It is so hot here right now as I’ve decided Fall has decided to miss Georgia this year–and we’re in a severe drought—so the images of those lush Swiss Alps and that crystal blue sky is calling my name—or was that a yodel 😉

  4. Stunning views and beautiful hotel. Thank you for sharing.

  5. Helen says:

    I like the two basins in the bathroom!

    I’ve never been to Austria but this post has tempted me – the spa looks divine.

  6. Maureen says:

    That’s gorgeous! We spent one Easter not too far from Innsbruck and it was breathtakingly beautiful.

  7. Liz Posmyk of Bizzy Lizzy's Good Things says:

    Oh Karen, another amazing place! Tell me, have you ever been to Schwanenstadt?

  8. Norma Chang says:

    What a wonderful way to relax, with all that delicious food I am sure the pools and fitness center are very popular.

  9. Gerlinde says:

    Hi Karen, I hope your husband is feeling better. I know the area but have never been to Searfus. I think there is a pass to Italy nearby that my husband and I took years ago.

  10. Karen, I’m so sorry to hear that your hubby was so sick during your trip. I had the same experience as you once in Salisbury, England, and I walked the town for three days by myself, but it’s hard to enjoy it when you know your dear one is so ill. I hope he has recovered fully and was able to enjoy the rest of your trip. The town and the hotel are both truly picture perfect and your photos are amazing! The light wood decor is interesting and so different from the look of most contemporary hotels. I would love to visit! Thank you for sharing and hope your hubby is well. Linda

  11. Sheila Best says:

    I always enjoy reading about your travels. However, this village really spoke to me. Don’t know why, but I’m so glad to read there is a paradise like this for people to visit.

  12. I’m so sorry your husband was ill but — Oh My Stars! What a gorgeous place to be on the mend. I hope all is well with you both as you continue on your vacation!

  13. Eha says:

    First and foremost: hope your husband did and has recovered fully to enjoy the rest of the journey. Beautiful area and, tho’ I practise Buddhism these days, what a glorious small church to visit. Since I have preferred light-coloured woods in my décor al my life the interiors are comfortable to my eye. Just such a pity that you both could not have so enjoyed the culinary offerings together . . .

    • Eha says:

      In spite of Mr Google spitting at me during the past few days, managed to come back to look at the photos: can’t get the ‘Serfaus Kirche’ out of my mind . . . have always loved the Wieskirche in Bavaria I know you also enjoy, but one could almost reconnect with days gone past in childhood imaging being in that one . . ., thank you!

  14. kitchenriffs says:

    Hate getting sick when I travel. It does happen sometimes, though. Such a bummer when it does. Anyway, lovely photos — such a pretty spot. Thanks!

  15. Lovely and so picturesque! By the way, I just returned from Nantucket and had a fabulous time! Here’s my post on the trip-http://katherinesdaughter.com/lifes-a-nantucket-beach/

  16. Absolutely gorgeous! I am so sorry the hubby was ill, but it gives you a great excuse to go back!

  17. Debra says:

    Magical! It really is. I am so glad you had the opportunity to revisit such a beautiful location. I was stunned by the beauty of the hotel/spa, and then I saw the church! Really spectacular, Karen.

  18. Such a wonderful place and those photos are breathtakingly beautiful!

  19. That looks like heaven on Earth to me, Karen. So glad you got to come back for both of you to enjoy this time. Great photos. Thanks for sharing. 👍💜

  20. Larry says:

    Looks like a very nice resort in a beautiful area. You guys find the neatest places

  21. Karen, you and hubs find the most perfect spots on the planet! I think I would enjoy summer there as skiing is no longer an option for my knees. Thanks for sharing your travels with this landlocked woman! Diane

  22. lifeincharente says:

    Stunning scenery and photos. I hate the cold but it is beautiful to look at! The hotel looks like an absolute pleasure to stay at. Have a good day Diane

  23. Mad Dog says:

    That place looks amazing – it’s such a sham your husband was ill.

  24. Wow Karen, it is so beautiful!! Thanks for sharing. I’ll leave this post open on my husband computer…I hope he’ll get the hint 😝
    Take care!
    G

  25. Gallivanta says:

    Glad you were able to enjoy your stay so much more this time. It looks a perfect place to be in any season.

  26. Gretchen says:

    We aren’t skiers either but the hiking and biking sounds/looks fantastic. I’m so jealous of your trip right now, time to bake another Austrian or German treat today to drown my sorrows!

  27. Cathy says:

    What a beautiful view from your room Karen. So glad you could revisit to make up for last time, and that you had such gorgeous sunshine too!

  28. Serfaus looks glorious. I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay this time and such a shame your husband was ill when you last visited.

  29. Beautiful! I’m happy to hear your husband was well enough to enjoy this visit…what an amazing place. I always enjoy your photos!

  30. Tricia Buice says:

    I don’t think my last comment posted – so I’ll try again! Every single photo is amazing. I gasped and wow’d to each and every one. You didn’t help my terrible case of wanderlust! Glad your husband enjoyed this visit a little more than last time. Worth the second trip!

  31. dawnyucuiscooking says:

    Beautiful pictures!!

  32. Mél@nie says:

    I’ve been in love with Austria for decades… ❤

  33. Cecile says:

    I’m glad you and your husband both had good health this time around and enjoyed your visit so much! Such gorgeous locations – those mountains !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  34. What gorgeous pictures!

Leave a Reply

