The Wald And Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe

As you approach the Wald and Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe, you feel like you’ve been invited to stay at a stately country home of an aristocratic German family. The hotel is located on lovely landscaped grounds and consists of several buildings, the most notable being “The Hunting Lodge”. The lodge was built in 1712 by Count Friedrich II and was the former summer residence of the Hohenlohe royal family.

The Wald And Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe Hunting Lodge

The Wald And Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe Hunting Lodge

You know you have arrived at the entrance to the property when you see a large bright red stag statue standing next to the village road.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

The hotel is spread out among different buildings on the property. The rooms and suites are located in the main house or the contemporary spa attached to it, the hunting lodge, the gatehouse, or the garden house. All of the rooms are designed and decorated differently. Usually, I would choose to stay in a historical building like the lodge but the two times we have stayed here, I’ve requested a room in the modern spa annex. It is connected to the main house which makes it convenient for using all the hotel’s facilities. It is also nice not to have to go outside to another building if the weather is bad.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

When you book a room at this hotel, the price only includes breakfast which is served in a lovely glass walled conservatory. In the afternoon you can have tea and cakes in the comfortable fireside lounge.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

There are several choices when it comes to where you can dine. The Jägerstube is an informal and comfortable restaurant that serves regional cuisine. There is also a bistro at the spa that serves light and organic dishes. Besides these two restaurants, there is also the Forest Tavern on the grounds but it has never been open when we stayed at the hotel.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

We’ve eaten twice in the beautiful Gourmet restaurant which is formally decorated. They have a new chef since our last visit and we thought the food was very good. It is rated sixteen points by Gault Millau German restaurant guide.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

For a before or after dinner drink, there a small cozy bar and a separate cigar lounge.

The large spa is on three levels with separate men’s and women’s sides with thirteen treatment rooms. The spa uses Vin Sano products which are made from local grapes, using the seeds, cold-pressed grape seed oil and extracts from red wine. There are seven saunas and both an outdoor pool and an indoor pool with a fireplace as its focal point.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

There is also a high-tech fitness room, a tennis court and a twenty-seven hole golf course next door to the hotel. There are also walking trails throughout the area.

The peaceful countryside location of the hotel is in the area of Germany called the Hohenlohe, lying between Stuttgart and Nuremberg, in the German state of Baden Württemberg. It is an ideal base for exploring this area of southwest Germany, including Heidelberg and the well known Romantic and the Castle roads.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

If you like to travel the back roads like we do, you won’t have to travel very far to find charming towns with half-timbered buildings and castles perched on cliff tops in this lovely area of Germany. Many of the castles have been restored into private homes, romantic hotels and museums.

****

We’ve only stayed for two days on each of our two trips to this hotel but there is so much to see in the Hohenlohe region that I have a feeling we will return again in the future. I can just imagine how beautiful this area must be in the spring and summer when the rolling hills are a bloom with wildflowers and fruit trees.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in food, lifestyle, photography, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to The Wald And Schlosshotel Friedrichsruhe

  1. Again, I feel such a place calling my name…as I make my wishful list for travel…
    and should you return before I can put together my own adventure…leave room in that suitcase of yours this time!! 🙂

  2. I am in love! The Garden House. The Indoor Pool with the fireplace. The Gate House is beautiful. The food made my mouth water. So gorgeous and relaxing. Thank you for sharing 🙂 Jen

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Yet another beautiful hotel and region. It sounds like the food was good too 🙂

  4. Gerlinde says:

    Summer and Spring are wonderful in Germany. I love the long days and warm nights. You picked some beautiful spots Karen. Thank you for sharing them. I am making your scallops with polenta and corn again tomorrow night. It has become one of my favorite dishes.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Gerlinde, We enjoy fall because of the cool weather but we also seem to get a lot of rainy or gray days so we are thinking of a different time of the year. The hotels really were wonderful on this trip…some of our favorites mixed in with some new ones and they were all great. I’m glad to know that my recipe for the scallops is one of your favorites, it is always nice to get feedback from readers that have tried my recipes…thank you.

  5. Your back roads are the best roads! This is another fantastic find. Love the pictures — thanks.

    • Karen says:

      You gave me a real big smile John, thank you for your lovely compliment. I do try to pick scenic and interesting roads that not only my husband and I will enjoy but that I can share with my readers.

  6. Very impressive. This looks like a very nice place to visit.

  7. The best of two worlds – historic surroundings and modern elegance

  8. Absolutely wonderful, Karen! I’m sure you pampered yourself plenty! Did your husband or you golf?

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kathryn, Neither of us play golf which is a shame as two of the hotels on this trip have their own courses. We did make us of the spa though. 🙂

  9. Gretchen says:

    That pear chocolate torte is calling my name!

  10. Pat says:

    What a wonderful resort and beautiful photos! Germany is high on my bucket list of places I’d like to visit one day. I enjoyed my visit with you. Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Karen says:

      Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family as well Pat. I’m happy that you enjoyed the post. If you do plan a trip to Germany, please feel free to ask me for suggestions as we’ve been so many times.

  11. Pam says:

    Love that area of Germany! And what a gorgeous hotel! We lived in Bamberg, and you’re so right about traveling the back roads. That’s where you see all the good stuff❣

    • Karen says:

      Absolutely Pam, there is so much to be discovered on the back roads. Little towns that are loaded with charm but aren’t overrun with tourists. We only run into one America tourist on our almost month long adventure and she had just moved to Germany for work. I’m glad you enjoyed the post, thank you.

  12. Impressive! You have been to so many places.

  13. Larry says:

    I believe I would like to spend about a year in southern Germany and Austria

    • Karen says:

      My husband and I both feel the same way, Larry. Two beautiful countries, the nicest people ever and delicious food. Yes, a year would be perfect. 😀

  14. Once again the food looks lovely. I love the idea of a fireplace in the indoor swimming pool space – how cosy is that. 😉

    • Karen says:

      Hi B, The food was very good in both of the restaurants we tried. I’m with you about the fireplace at the indoor pool…that and a thick terry robe was indeed cozy.

  15. Such a lovely picturesque place! Lovely photos too!

  16. Gorgeous!!! Living vicariously through you my friend! ♥

    • Karen says:

      Hi Didi, Perhaps one of these days you will get a chance to visit. Until then, I’m happy to know that you enjoy following along on our adventures. Thank you.

  17. Germany is such a beautiful country and it looks like you are having an amazing time! I love that gorgeous breakfast room!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sandra, We love southern Germany, it is a wonderful area to visit. The breakfast room really is lovely with its stained glass, crystal chandeliers and large windows looking out at the gardens.

  18. If I was visiting this area I sure would stay at this hotel – just lovely Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Judi, This is probably the nicest hotel in this area…so nice that we had to return for a second visit. I’m glad you enjoyed the post, thank you.

  19. Cocoa & Lavender says:

    I know the region well from my time living in Germany, and it is truly beautiful. The hotel looks wonderful, too.

  20. That bright red statue is giving me inspiration… might need a pink one for our property! Awesome trip – thanks for sharing!

  21. I just love your beautiful photos, Karen! It’s been awhile since I was in Germany but I loved every moment of it. Thanks for the tour. I felt as though I was there!

  22. Eva Taylor says:

    The photos are beautiful and it is quite clear that you are having a wonderful time, spa treatments and eating well! It’s been some time since I was last in Germany so your posts are making me yearn to return.

  23. Amira says:

    Such a beautiful peaceful place!!! This will go to my to do list when I have time and money to fulfill my dream :).

    • Karen says:

      I do hope that you get the opportunity to visit this area, Amira. I believe you would definitely enjoy visiting Germany, I know my husband and I do.

  24. Love German architecture and their desserts…are just amazing. Seriously they know how to bake. I could spend the better half of the day just hanging out in the bakery and to have a bite of traditional German gingerbread would be heavenly.

  25. Karen says:

    I totally agree with you Bobbie about the architecture as well as the desserts of Germany. 🙂

  26. Your Austria posts have been so thorough and diverse. I see how much of the country I missed by only visiting the old section of Vienna. GREG

  27. I love traveling with you to places I’ve never seen – the food and the atmosphere are so wonderful. I’d be diving into that hotel pool. My hubby always laughs at me because it’s the first thing I scope out before we even see the room. 🙂

  28. Oh, my gosh, another stunning hotel—and the food looks amazing! Hope we can visit the area one day!!!

  29. Nice photos, Karen, and your description makes me want to definitely go and visit this place!

  30. rozpaige says:

    What a beautiful part of Germany and lovely property to stay in. Now that I’ve visited Germany, I will always think of it so fondly (especially this time of year). As always, I am saving your posts for my (hopeful) future visits!

  31. You are such a wonderful ambassador for these lovely hotels and restaurants, Karen! Great photos!

  32. Dear Karen,
    First of all: thank you for your wonderful post about our hotel. We’re really happy you enjoyed your visit! Hopefully you’ll come back again soon, so you can experience and enjoy spring or summer in our area and try our Forest Tavern, too!

    • Karen says:

      Guten Tag Bianca, I am happy to know that you liked the post I wrote about your hotel. I know my readers enjoyed learning a bit about your wonderful hotel. This was our second visit and certainly won’t be our last. Yes, it would be nice to try the Forest Tavern on our next visit. 🙂

  33. Sartenada says:

    What a wonderful place for a visit. Your photos praise its beauty so well.

Leave a Reply

