Restaurant Bareiss, Deserving Of Its Three Michelin Stars

The best of the best…it wasn’t a hard choice when trying to decide which meal my husband and I enjoyed the most while in Germany this year. Restaurant Bareiss, in the well known resort Bareiss, located in the small village of Baiersbronn-Mitteltal was the hands down winner. While we had many delicious meals in other restaurants in Germany, nothing could compete with the lunch prepared by Chef Claus-Peter Lumpp, who has earned three Michelin stars for the restaurant year after year since 2007.

We had made a reservation months in advance for one of the eight tables in the elegant dining room of Restaurant Bareiss. We wanted to make sure that we would be able to experience one of the chef’s multi course tasting menus during our three day stay at this Black Forest resort. Our lunch was everything we hoped it would be.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

We were graciously welcomed into the beautiful dining room by Thomas Brandt, the restaurant manager. After being seated, we ordered a glass of rosé Champagne to enjoy while we decided on our meal. There was a choice of four different complete menus as well as an à la carte menu from which to order. We chose the tasting menu and soon the delicacies started to arrive. The first to come to the table was an Apéritif Étagère, a little tower of canapés, each one a tiny work of art.

Over the course of the next several hours, we were served small, artistically composed dishes. The lunch started with both a cold and warm amuse bouche of mushrooms. I loved the presentation, it reminds you that wonderful mushrooms can be found growing in dense forests of this region.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

After the delicious small gifts from the kitchen, it was on to the creative main courses which were classic French in style but with a modern regional German twist. The first course served was a variation of assorted goose foie gras with fragolino grapes and salted caramel along with a thick slice of brioche.

Assorted Goose Foie Gras With Fragolino Grapes And Salted Caramel

Assorted Goose Foie Gras With Fragolino Grapes And Salted Caramel

Next were two seafood courses. The first was a flamed scallop with smoked sweet corn cream and sour cream. This was a lovely dish with variations on corn including popped and even an ice cream. A white halibut with nut risotto, lemon and butter sauce followed.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

White Halibut With Nut Risotto and Lemon Butter Sauce

White Halibut With Nut Risotto and Lemon Butter Sauce

The fourth and fifth courses were meat based. The fourth was sautéed veal sweetbreads with celeriac, lamb’s lettuce and black truffle vinegar. When I mentioned to Mr. Brandt that I wasn’t sure about this dish because of the sweetbreads, he told me that Chef Lumpp would happily prepare the dish with filet of veal which made me very happy. My husband went with the dish the way the chef intended it to be and we decided both versions were delicious.

The fifth course was variations on deer. There was a saddle of roe deer that came from the Bareiss hunting grounds served with rose hip and romanesco as well as a small dish of braised shoulder of deer.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

Next a cheese trolley was pushed over to the table to be served with a selection of grapes, honey, jams and mustard. By now we were getting full, so we didn’t take any fruit and only chose three cheeses from a choice of about fifty perfectly ripe cheeses to share between us. To finish this wonderful meal there was not one but several delicious sweet courses prepared by pastry chef Stefan Leitner. Again, we shared the dessert courses. After all, this was only the second day of our trip and my wardrobe had to fit for the remainder of our holiday.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

Jürgen Fendt, the talented sommelier at Bareiss, selected several different glasses of wine from their 20,000 bottle cellar to accompany our lunch, each was a perfect pairing. From beginning to end, everything about this meal was perfection. My husband and I were so pleased when Chef Lumpp came out of the kitchen to ask how we enjoyed the meal and, of course, we gave our very enthusiastic approval.

It Was A Pleasure Meeting Chef Claus-Peter Lumpp

It Was A Pleasure Meeting Chef Claus-Peter Lumpp

****

This extraordinary meal came at the start of our almost month long holiday through Germany and Austria. There is a saying in Germany “nach dem essen sollst du ruhn, oder tausend schritte tun” which translates to after eating, you should rest or do a thousand steps. In Baiersbronn, it is certainly easy to do both as the region has great food and hundreds miles of well marked hiking trails and wonderful wellness resorts. After this meal, I made sure that plenty of steps were taken during the remainder of our holiday.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in food, lifestyle, photography, travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

80 Responses to Restaurant Bareiss, Deserving Of Its Three Michelin Stars

  1. lulu says:

    You do know how to pick outstanding places to dine. The halibut looks divine. Why don’t you duplicate it and share the recipe?

    • Karen says:

      That we do Linda. When I’m planning a trip, the restaurants are as important as the hotel. The halibut was as delicious as it looks. I’ll see what I can do about the recipe. 🙂

  2. Sues says:

    All of these courses are so bright and colorful! And your photos are perfect. Looks like such an amazing experience!!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Sues, for your nice compliment about the photos. We had a table next to the window so there was good light. It was an amazing lunch that will not be soon forgotten.

  3. A_Boleyn says:

    Great food and elegant presentations. The halibut looks exquisite and the venison braise and grill(?) plates appealed to my basic carnivore.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Boleyn, The presentation of the food was beautifully put together…so very precise. You would have been happy with the halibut and venison, they were both delicious.

  4. Mad Dog says:

    That looks like a fantastic menu – I know I would have really enjoyed myself there 😉

  5. Karen, you are doing such a great job sharing your recent trip to Europe. Your lunch looks exquisite. Maybe I get a chance to eat there when my husband and I go to Germany.

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your kind words Gerlinde, thank you very much. I’m happy to know that you enjoyed following along on this year’s trip to Europe. If you get a chance to visit this area, I would definitely recommend both the hotel and the restaurant. They are simply wonderful.

  6. Peter Herpst says:

    Exquisite food beautifully presented. What a delightful experience and especially nice that you were able to meet this talented chef. Thank you for taking us along!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Peter, for following along on our travels and your lovely compliment. I was indeed happy to have the opportunity to meet the chef so that both my husband and I could let him know how much we enjoyed his outstanding meal.

  7. What a wonderful meal, Karen. Everything looks and sounds beautiful. Thank you for sharing your holiday; it’s been great to see the places you’ve visited and food you’ve eaten.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kay, I’m happy that you have enjoyed all the places we visited during our travels to Germany and Austria…thank you. Staying at Bareiss and enjoying this meal was memorable.

  8. What a magnificent meal!
    🙂 Mandy xo

  9. I am ready to pull my chair up to the table with you Karen… 🙂

  10. lifeincharente says:

    It looks delightful and the sort of menu that we would both enjoy. Diane

  11. That food is a work of art!
    And I love the photo of you with the Chef…..you look radiant!
    Glad you had such a nice time.
    I’m sneaking in your luggage next time–haha!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Susan, the food was indeed works of art. I can’t imagine the work that goes into each presentation. Thank you for your lovely compliment, it is much appreciated. Everyone seems to want to sneak into my luggage for our next trip…I think I’ll need steamer trunks and a bus. 😀

  12. kitchenriffs says:

    What a terrific meal! The menu looks perfect — such a nice assortment of dishes. And 50 cheeses! I’d have been in heaven. Although, like you, after that meal would have only been able to sample 2 or 3. Fun post — thanks.

    • Karen says:

      I’m happy that you enjoyed the post John, thank you as always for your nice compliment. We did enjoy the menu, it was a nice selection of the chef’s specialties. And yes, as much as I would have enjoyed sampling more of the cheeses we all reach our limits.

  13. To coin the American phrase, awesome. I love the first photo how the champagne bucket and flowers are the same size of your table!

    • Karen says:

      I totally agree with you David, awesome is a great word to describe our experience dining at Bareiss. I’m glad you liked the photo, I’ll pass the compliment along to my husband. 🙂

  14. Some of the most beautiful food I have ever seen and although each bit looked tiny – it added up to a good lot of food. I bet you were full. My favorite photo is the one of you and your husband……..lovely!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kelli, The entire meal was just beautifully presented and each bite was absolutely delicious. I’m glad you enjoyed the photo, thank you for your nice compliment. Thomas Brandt, the restaurant manager was kind enough to take it.

  15. From the looks of the food I am sure the three stars are very well-deserved! It all looks so tempting!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kathryn, We have been fortunate enough to have eaten in a few three star Michelin restaurants and Chef Lumpp definitely deserves his recognition.

  16. Eha says:

    Can SO understand your enthusiasm. A very special menu well deserving of its stars and not ‘preciously’ plated as many these days. I am basically a ‘fish gal’ but thought the sweetbread/deer combo absolutely sans pareil in this case. Oh Karen: if I had the chance of purchasing, sweetbreads would top the list: remember the days they were still easily available at top Australian butcheries . . . well . . . I am a liver/kidney/tripe gal also . . .

  17. Jane says:

    I can see why you made reservations well in advance. Lovely meal! My most memorable times traveling include trying local cuisine and experiencing the knowledge and artistry of a great chef. I so enjoyed this post and pictures, Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jane, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post, thank you very much. Yes, we made reservations at the beginning of April for lunch at the restaurant and so enjoyed the meal.

  18. Some of the most beautifully presented dishes. The eyes eat first in this case. The presentation just gorgeous. Well said by Susan, you are radiant! Thank you for sharing this divine experience!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Lisa, I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the post about Bareiss. You are right, the food was as beautiful to look at as it was to eat. Thank you for your kind words, I’m glad you liked the photo. I was happy to have the opportunity to meet Chef Lumpp and he was kind enough to let my husband take a photo of us both.

  19. Oh my! Three stars are hard to earn, but it looks like Bareiss deserves them all. Your wonderful images give us a vicarious chance to share. Thanks.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Darryl, Three stars are indeed very hard to earn and I think Chef Lumpp deserves each of them. Thank you for your lovely compliment, I’m happy to know that you enjoyed the photos and post about Bareiss. 🙂

  20. Looks like a great dining experience, thanks for sharing. I will share this to all of my chef friends on Facebook.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Daniel, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post, it was a very memorable experience. I hope your chef friends will like seeing the food that Chef Lumpp created.

  21. Penny says:

    What an extraordinary meal Karen. Thanks for sharing the experience.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Penny, I thought that all my foodie friends would like this post. 🙂 We enjoyed the meal that we had at Bareiss…it was truly a memorable experience.

  22. Monica says:

    What an amazing, memorable meal. Thanks for giving us a peek into this restaurant. Looks like a magnificent vacation…hope you enjoy every second of it.

  23. Stunning meal and what a wonderful experience!

  24. WOW!!! Aren’t you lucky? The foie gras pate!!… the halibut!! … the cheese and honey!! Would you like a travelling companion next time???!!!!

  25. Karen says:

    You gave me a chuckle, Lindy. I do think I’m a lucky girl to have gotten to enjoy this wonderful meal. It seems like I have a large crowd that wants to come along on my next adventure. 😀

  26. Juliana says:

    Oh Karen, what a treat! Everything looks so delicious and perfect! Thanks for all the pictures…
    Have a wonderful week ahead 🙂

  27. hotlyspiced says:

    After a meal like that I would most certainly do the stars as well. What a wonderful dining experience; the restaurant is so beautiful and the meal sounds incredible. The presentation of each dish is stunning. Lovely to see a photo of you! xx

    • Karen says:

      Hi Charlie, So happy to have you stop by, you’ve been missed. The meal was incredibly good, we enjoyed the entire experience. I’m glad you enjoyed the photos of the meal as well as my photo with the Chef Lumpp…thank you!

  28. Eva Taylor says:

    What a wonderful experience Karen, thank you for sharing it with us. Would you mind sharing the cost of a 3-star Michelin? Our 1-star in Spain was quite reasonable but Spain is always so. The mushroom dish reminded me of the mushroom dish we enjoyed at our Michelin Star restaurant. I prefer to have the main meal at noon so you have more time to digest and work off the heavy meal. It looks like your courses were quite generous. It was also very nice that they had a menu in English to take home with you, much better than our experience.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eva, We did have a wonderful experience dining in the restaurant. Yes, English is spoken by everyone at Hotel Bareiss and all of it’s restaurants have menus printed in English for their guests as well as all the information about what is happening throughout the hotel for each day during your stay. There were menus at different price ranges as well as a la carte…a meal costs about the same as at other three star Michelin restaurants in NYC, California, France and other parts of Europe that we have tried.

  29. Wow what a treat! You guys look like you had a blast at this restaurant, it’s making me major hungry right now!

  30. A Michelin star restaurant in the gorgeous Germany… with food fit for royalty! So glad you and your husband had a wonderful time!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Denise, My husband and I had a fantastic trip and this meal was certainly memorable. Thank you for your kind thoughts, they are much appreciated.

  31. I have visited that restaurant 20 years ago when it had just one Michelin star. Nice to know it still exists and is even better. The area was lovely, too.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Karin, It is nice to know that you got to experience the restaurant as well. This area of Germany really is lovely and we were happy to return. We loved everything about our experience at Bareiss.

  32. Karen, what a treat to be able to spend a whole month eating and trying out various restaurants. Looking at your photos, I’m getting new ideas for my next posts (I won’t copy of course)!

  33. mjskit says:

    WOW! I’m speechless. What beautiful restaurant and absolutely gorgeous food! Lucky you to get to actually taste it all. Bet there were a lot of “YUMMMMS”.

  34. What a great place to dine! I love the food!

  35. dawnyucuiscooking says:

    The food looks wonderful. It sounds like a wonderful trip!!

  36. Your meal looks absolutely divine…and one that will become a special memory and experience that can always to be returned to in the form of a memory. Lovely.

  37. What a beautiful meal and your descriptions were perfect. I am kind of a foodie, so I loved and savored every photo!

  38. Karen says:

    Hi Pam, thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. As another foodie, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post about Bareiss and the photos

  39. Velva says:

    What a fabulous experience! Thanks for taking us on the culinary experience with you. Loved it.

    Velva

  40. Gallivanta says:

    What a superb dining experience. I am as taken with the flowers as I am with the food.

  41. Each course was a work of art! What a memory! So many of our best travel memories are intertwined with food.

  42. Thanks Karen for taking us along on your elegant meal!! I’m pretty sure I’ll never get there myself, but loved seeing it all and imaging how it would taste!! Beautiful all around! Merry Christmas from here! xo

  43. rozpaige says:

    My husband and I dream of our return visit to Germany. I will certainly remember this post and your recommendation for dining here, since during our travels, it is the only time that we splurge for the best restaurants outside of where we live and dine ordinarily. It’s our favorite part of traveling! Thank you for sharing your experience and the photos that certainly have me hungry once again, even after enjoying our own dinner, Karen!

  44. Oh my gosh, it’s like a fairy tale! Wow, what a meal. And isn’t blogging great – now you have a virtual scrapbook! 🙂 I think that little dessert stand is so fun! Everything else goes w/o saying!

Leave a Reply

