Braised Short Rib Stew

Braised Short Rib Stew is a deeply flavored dish of succulent chunks of beef short ribs slow cooked in a red wine and mushroom broth until the meat is meltingly tender. Towards the end of cooking, potatoes, carrots and pearl onions are added to the beef and soak up some of the rich, flavorful sauce. The end result is mouth watering delicious.

Braised Short Rib Stew

Braised Short Rib Stew

While the stew cooks in about three hours, this is a recipe that benefits from preparing it a day ahead of time. The flavor of the dish develops over time and the cooking liquid can be defatted after being refrigerated which is a win, win situation as far as I’m concerned.

Braised Short Rib Stew

Recipe serves two, adjust accordingly                                    Preheat oven to 325 degrees

  • boneless beef short ribs, 2 per person about 6 inches long by 1 inch thick, cut in half
  • 1 c. red wine
  • 5 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 sprigs fresh rosemary
  • 6 sprigs fresh thyme

Place short ribs, wine, garlic, rosemary and thyme in a ziplock bag, seal and refrigerate. Let marinate for 3 hours or up to 24 hours. Remove the short ribs and dry thoroughly. Reserve the marinade and herbs.

  • 2 – 3 Tbsp. olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 large carrot, chopped
  • 1 stick of celery, chopped
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 c. mushroom broth (made by soaking several pieces of dried porcini mushroom in boiling water, then strained through a coffee filter to remove any sediment)
  • 4 c. beef broth
  • 1 additional c. red wine
  • 1 Tbsp. tomato paste
  • 1 tsp. anchovy paste

Heat oil a heavy ovenproof pot or Dutch oven. Season the dried short ribs and brown well on all sides in batches (do not overcrowd), add a little more oil if necessary. When brown remove to a plate.

Add the chopped vegetables to the pot, stirring up all the brown bits, and sauté until tender and light brown. Add the reserved marinade and herbs, cook until the liquid is reduced by half. Return the meat to the pot.

Add the bay leaves, both broths, additional wine, and the tomato and anchovy pastes. Bring the ingredients to a simmer, cover the pot and place in the oven. Braise for 2 1/2 to 3 hours until the meat is tender. (The stew can also be cooked on the stove top at a low simmer, if you wish). Remove from the oven to cool, then refrigerate covered overnight.

Remove any congealed fat, then gently rewarm stew on the stove top. Remove the meat to a bowl, strain sauce, discarding the vegetables and herbs. Put the sauce back into the pot along with the meat. Taste the sauce and adjust the seasonings, if necessary.

  • 2 c. Yukon gold potatoes, peeled, and cubed
  • 4 carrots, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 1 c. frozen pearl onions

Now add the potatoes and carrots to the pot and cook uncovered on medium high for ten minutes. Add the pearl onions and cook until the vegetables are tender. If the sauce is too thin, make a slurry with 1 Tbsp. flour and a little red wine and add to the sauce. Cook, stirring gently, for a few minutes more, until the sauce reaches the desired consistency. Serve the stew in warm bowls.

****

The braised short rib stew is perfect for a chilly night when you are looking for a heartier, comforting meal. Since I like to make this dish a day ahead of time so that the flavors can meld to produce a rich, flavorful sauce, I find that it’s a perfect meal to share with friends. I suggest making extra as I believe your guests will be asking for a second helping.

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in food, Home, lifestyle, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

114 Responses to Braised Short Rib Stew

  1. Wow, this looks fabulous. Pinned. I’m such a short rib fan, I must make this stew soon.

  2. What a wonderful flavorful meal Karen.
    Have a happy weekend.
    Mandy xo

  3. aFrankAngle says:

    Braised short ribs always gets my attention on a menu … and I’m printing this one! Many thanks!!!!

  4. Gorgeous recipe, Karen, and just perfect now winter is setting in.

  5. Mad Dog says:

    That’s a delicious stew – perfect for this time of year 🙂

  6. So delicious! The ribs look really tender.

  7. ms lemon tart says:

    I love this meal. Now if I could just remember to make it a day ahead. Pinned.

  8. Looks delicious! Comfort food at its best. I totally agree about preparing such dishes a day in advance. The flavor is so much better the day after.

  9. Gerlinde says:

    I have never made short ribs but this recipe might change that. My husband is not a big fan of it but I like them. Have a great weekend. I am making your scallops with polenta again tonight. It has become a favorite meal in my household.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Gerlinde, I think your husband might enjoy this recipe because of the way the short ribs are prepared…they aren’t fatty and become very tender. Thank you as always for your nice compliment. I’m happy that you both enjoy my scallop and polenta recipe, that is great.

  10. kitchenriffs says:

    Oh, yum short ribs! LOVE them! And braising is the way to go. This looks terrific — thanks!

  11. Barbara says:

    Hi Karen!
    What a marvelous, hearty stew! With lots of my favorite herbs and those tender short ribs. Looks delicious!
    Have a wonderful weekend!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your compliment Barbara, I’m glad you like the stew. Even though our weather here in Florida isn’t cold, I do like stew this time of the year.

  12. What a lovely meal – warm and satisfying.

  13. This stew sounds wonderful for a delicious meal on a chilly night. Thanks for sharing.

  14. Sheila Best says:

    Yum!

  15. nancyc says:

    I love a good bowl of stew in the winter–this looks so good!

  16. cheri says:

    Short ribs make the best stew, love meals like this, so delicious and hearty. Happy Holidays!

  17. I dearly love tender short ribs. Now I wish I would have bought short ribs when I was at Costco today! I’ll be pinning this to make soon, Karen. Thank you!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Susan, I wish I had a Costco near me as I understand they have great short ribs. They are very hard to find here and I was only able to buy the one package for this recipe. I’m hope you will enjoy the recipe, thank you for the pin.

  18. This is such a perfect meal for a cold, snowy day! We have short ribs from our new cow in the freezer that would be excellent for this. I can just smell the aromas!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kathryn, You are right, my kitchen was filled with the best aromas while cooking this stew. No snow here but we still enjoyed the short rib stew. 🙂

  19. Deb says:

    We love short ribs, and since we stay for New Year’s Eve, I think I will make this. 😄

  20. lulu says:

    Something very similar is on my list of things to make sometime during the next week. In the meantime, I have to use a ham bone and the last of the turkey.

  21. There is nothing more cozy than a bowl of short ribs stew. I bet the meat is super tender and filled with flavor. Bookmarking this recipe for later.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Bobbie, The meat is definitely tender and full of flavor. Even though we both live in a part of the world that doesn’t get that cold, a bowl of stew is nice this time of the year.

  22. Monica says:

    This is one of the best meat dishes…there’s something about short ribs and them there’s that thick gravy. Just looks mouthwateringly delicious!

  23. Gallivanta says:

    Hmmm….wish I could take a mouthful right now.

  24. Hi Karen-this looks like a great winter-time recipe…something wonderful to cook up when the snow is flying and it’s nice to be “hunkered in” for the day. I shall be trying this!
    Hope you’re having a nice winter down there. We’ve FINALLY gotten snow for skiing(insert Happy Dance here!)
    Have a wonderful holiday season.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Sue, Well I know you enjoy your snow but I’ve heard you’ve got some awfully cold weather so this certainly is a good dish to have while you are hunkered down. It is sunny and going to be warmer than usual here today, around 82. Thank you for your wish, enjoy the holidays as well.

  25. Whenrver I see beef short rib on the menu I always have to order it!! 😀

  26. Short ribs really do have amazing flavor. Even boiled, as I can attest from this week’s beef broth. But this takes it to a whole other level.

  27. Larry says:

    Looks delicious Karen and I like the addition of anchovy to it. We just made a similar recipe the other day and I now know I am a fan of braised boneless (had never heard of them) short ribs.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Larry, I did see that you had prepared short ribs as well. I used to cook with boneless short ribs all the time when we were in New Hampshire but unfortunately here in Florida they are difficult to find. I knew this stew would be perfect with the one small package I was able to buy.

  28. lifeincharente says:

    Bet that tastes amazing. Have a good weekend Diane

  29. What a beautiful dish! I can only imagine how rich and succulent it is with the short ribs! Perfect for winter!!

  30. Eva Taylor says:

    Short ribs are one of my husband’s favourite meals. Having this braise over several hours would make the house smell wonderful! A great winter dish.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eva, I have a feeling that most of our husbands are crazy about short ribs, mine sure did enjoy this stew and we don’t even have cold weather. 😀

  31. restlessjo says:

    Sounds delicious, Karen. 🙂 Hope you’re enjoying your weekend.

  32. This stew looks so delicious and comforting! I’m feeling warm and cozy just looking at it! I adore short ribs, but never thought about cooking them in a beef stew/post roast style. Fabulous idea! I’ll definitely be making this as the weather gets colder! Pinned! Thanks for sharing!

  33. hotlyspiced says:

    That stew looks really good and I can just imagine it’s intense flavours. Love how this is slowly, slowly cooked. Great comfort food for those evenings that are cooler xx

  34. What a rustically delicious stew! The tip about making it the day before is a really good one.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jeff, While very good eaten the same day it is cooked, I do believe making it the day before serving really brings out the flavor. I’m happy that you like the recipe and tip, thank you!

  35. What a magnificent stew! The perfect wintertime meal to warm the soul. Thanks for sharing, Karen!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your nice compliment, Stacy. I thought this would be the perfect time to share this recipe since so much of the country is getting hit with a blast of cold weather. While Florida doesn’t get particularly cold, I still enjoy a bowl of stew this time of the year.

  36. Karen, this looks so good! I think I could almost smell it cooking! I love braised short ribs and I will definitely be making this stew…maybe tonight!! 🙂 Yum!

  37. Be it a simple braise or an elegant nut risotto you have an eye for glorious food. GREG

  38. This is one of my favourite all time recipes for cold winter nights 🙂

  39. Holy cow, Karen…this looks incredible! It just snowed 4-5″ last night, and I still have to go out and shovel/snow blow. I’m kinda wishing I had a nice big bowl of this stew waiting for me back inside the house. I’d gladly eat this one for breakfast!! 🙂

    • Karen says:

      I really do appreciate your enthusiastic compliment David, thank you! 😀 Having spent many hours shoveling and snow blowing when we lived in New Hampshire, I definitely know where you are coming from. This stew would be a nice way to thaw out and warm up.

  40. What a perfect looking stew. Just a lovely meal for the chilly winter upon us now.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Amy, for your nice compliment. You certainly are having your share of winter weather now and I agree about this stew being a good choice for an evening meal. Stay warm.

  41. NativeNM says:

    Comfort food at it’s best, especially this time of year. Looks and sounds delicious!

  42. So much deliciousness in this stew! First the short ribs, then the wine, anchovy paste, and on and on. The flavor must be amazing!

  43. Loretta says:

    Just reading through those ingredients, brings comfort to my stomach and my soul 🙂 Love the addition of wine in the short rib stew too. I’m sure you could make it in a crock pot too after browning the meat. Definitely a satisfying dish on these cold winter days.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your kind words Loretta, they are very much appreciated. You could definitely prepare this in a crock pot. I would brown up the meat and veggies then put them in the crock pot to cook low and slow.

  44. Beyond delicious!! I could literally dig right in my friend!! ♥

  45. For the Love of Cooking says:

    My kind of comfort food… I love that you marinate the ribs in wine first.

  46. Look absolutely delicious , lovely comfort food 🙂

  47. Tricia Buice says:

    Mouthwatering delicious is right! Nothing like a great bowl of stew on these cold days. Thanks for sharing

  48. Karen says:

    I’m happy you like the recipe Tricia, thank you. So much of the country is cold right now and stew is a satisfying meal that will keep you warm.

  49. I love short ribs prepared any way so long as they’re tender. Your stew fills the bill.

  50. Perfect winter comfort food, Karen!

  51. Cocoa & Lavender says:

    Perfect fare for the chilly nights we are finally getting in Arizona! Thanks, Karen!

  52. rozpaige says:

    This unseasonably cold weather in the Carolina’s this winter is screaming for more hearty, rib-sticking recipes to be prepared such as yours, Karen! I’m feeling all warm and comforted just reading this post!

  53. Just a great recipe Karen. Makes me feel cozy and hungry at the same time!

  54. This stew looks delicious Karen. I love the way meat just falls apart and melts in the mouth when it is slow cooked. Definitely, as you say, a good choice for a chilly evening.

  55. Karen says:

    Hi B, I appreciate your nice compliment…the stew was as good as it looks. Thank you.

  56. Such a perfect cold-weather dish … and one of the bonuses of a stew like this is that your house smells great for hours! Braised ribs are one of my favourites, yet I haven’t turned them into a stew before. New ideas always welcome!

  57. Deb says:

    Hi Karen, I made your stew and it was wonderful!

Leave a Reply

