Roasted Corn And Caramelized Onion Quesadilla

Who can resist an oozy, gooey cheese quesadilla? This simple Mexican creation is the ultimate finger food that makes a great snack but it is also is perfect for quick and tasty lunch or dinner. My roasted corn and caramelized onion quesadilla…crispy golden brown tortillas with a filling of melted pepper jack cheese, roasted corn and caramelized sweet onions, may take a little longer to put together but I believe the result is worth it. The sweet flavor of roasted corn and caramelized onions in this quesadilla will put a smile on your face after the first bite.

Caramelized Onion And Roasted Corn Quesadillas

Roasted Corn And Caramelized Onion Quesadillas

Cooking a quesadilla (think about a grilled cheese sandwich) is about as simple as it gets and you don’t really require a recipe. All you need are some flour tortillas, a couple of handfuls of your favorite soft grated cheese and oil for brushing. If you would like to be more creative, you are only limited by your imagination. The possibilities are endless on what kinds of cheese, veggies or proteins you add to the quesadilla.

Roasted Corn And Caramelized Onion Quesadilla

Serves 1 or 2, adjust the recipe accordingly

  • 1/2 c. corn kernels
  • 1 tsp. oil plus more for brushing tortillas
  • 1/2 small onion, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/8 tsp. cumin
  • 1 c. shredded cheese, such as a sharp cheddar, Monterey Jack or Pepper Jack
  • 2 (9 inch) flour tortillas (I like to use Chi Chi’s flour and corn tortillas)
  • a handful of chopped cilantro, optional
  • pico de gallo and guacamole, optional

Heat a skillet over medium high heat and add the corn. Cook stirring frequently until the corn is slightly charred. Remove from the pan and set aside. Add the oil to the pan and when hot, add the onion, season with salt, pepper and cumin. Cook, stirring occasionally over medium heat until soft and golden brown. Remove from the pan and add to the corn and mix until combined.

Brush one side of a tortilla with oil and place in a skillet. Sprinkle with half the cheese, add the corn and caramelized onion mixture and then add the remaining cheese. Brush the remaining tortilla with a little oil and place oiled side up on top of the cheese. Cook until the bottom tortilla is brown, about five minutes, then carefully turn the quesadilla over using a large spatula and cook until the bottom tortilla is brown. Remove to a cutting board and cut into quarters. Serve with pico de gallo, guacamole and chopped cilantro as a garnish.

****

Roasted Corn And Caramelized Onion Quesadilla Served With Guacamole And Pico de Gallo

When you have a busy day and want something simple, this is a Mexican treat I think you would enjoy. If you are planning a Cinco de Mayo celebration, this flavorful meatless dish would be perfect as part of a large Mexican buffet as well. Served with a rich, creamy guacamole and pico de gallo, it will have your thinking about sunny Mexico. Add a chilled Margherita and you are ready for a Mexican fiesta. Olé!

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in food, lifestyle, photography, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

120 Responses to Roasted Corn And Caramelized Onion Quesadilla

  1. ms lemon tart says:

    Yum….Sounds like lunch… sans cilantro. 🙂 I don’t think we have Chi Chi’s here, but I will look. I have tried making my own tortillas, but so far it has been a fail. There must be a secret since the ingredients are few.

    Madonna

    • Karen says:

      Hi Madonna, This would make a delicious lunch. We like the Chi Chi’s flour & corn enchilada style tortillas because they have masa in them which I think makes them more flavorful. They are made by Mission and I found them at Walmart…hope that helps.

  2. Penny says:

    The perfect meal for Cinco de Mayo. Love your colorful plating! Have a great weekend Karen.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Penny, That is what I thought as well. 😀 Thank you for your nice compliment about how I plated this dish, it is very much appreciated.

  3. I’m on my way Karen! 😉

  4. Lea Ann says:

    Love your analogy about the grilled cheese. A great way to think about those easy quesadillas. And caramelized onions? Sounds wonderful! Have a great weekend.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Lea Ann. I’m glad you like my analogy about a grilled cheese and a quesadilla being similar. This is such a simple dish that I almost didn’t share it but it does have loads of flavor. Thank you for your lovely compliment and wish.

  5. Yum, I have an avocado sitting on the counter….

  6. Gerlinde says:

    I enjoy eating quesadillas and your quesadillas looks delicious, especially with the caramelized onions. Have a great weekend.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Gerlinde, I’m glad you like the addition of caramelized onions…their sweetness combined with the roasted corn did make for a good quesadilla. Thank you for your nice compliment. BTW, are you back from your holiday in Germany…just now planning our trip back there for this fall.

  7. Getting the margaritas ready! It’s time to stir up some guac and make these — YUM!

  8. here we love quesadillas and make at dinners usually.
    Love yours I have to try these !
    xo

  9. Mad Dog says:

    I’m sold – it looks delicious!

  10. They sound really delicious. Enjoy! Viva Mejico!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Fatima, I think the quesadilla would be perfect for anyone wanting to celebrate Cinco de Mayo, I’m glad you like the recipe…thank you.

  11. That looks so GOOD, esp. the filling!! Have to double the filling because I want to enjoy it with a spoon :-))

  12. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Sounds and looks delicious! Perfect for the day!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Peter, I had to share the quesadilla with it being Cinco de Mayo. I’m glad you like the looks of the dish. Thank you for your nice compliment, my gardening friend. 🙂

  13. kitchenriffs says:

    Quick, easy, and really tasty — such an enticing dish. My kind of food — thanks.

  14. You are right – who can resist a quesadilla?This looks like a delicious recipe and now that corn is coming into my market, it would be a very good time to make your recipe.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Jovina, I’m glad you agree, it seems that it doesn’t matter if you are six or sixty, everyone loves a quesadilla. I’m glad you like my version, enjoy!

  15. This sounds delicious and looks just as good. I hope your family appreciates your culinary skills because they are impressive. 🙂

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your kind words Judy, thank you very much. Actually, it doesn’t take much skill to make a quesadilla although this one does have a few extra things going for it. 😀

  16. It’s ‘fajita friday’ here but we love quesadillas. Keep taking pics for a post but they always look like a dog’s dinner! Yours look fabulous!

    • Karen says:

      You gave me such a laugh Amanda talking about food photos. I have several meals that I’d love to share with my readers but have to remake because I wasn’t happy with the photos. I know what you mean but I’ve never seen one of your dishes looking like a dog’s dinner…that is too funny. 😀

      • Karen you would not believe how many posts are discarded as the photos are out of focus, the light is wrong or one of my experiments didn’t come out right! We always eat it though as every post is dinner. In any case my Weimaraners are only too happy to help if required!

  17. What a perfect Cinco de Mayo treat! I love the caramelized onions and roasted corn filling, great summertime meal too!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Katheryn, I’m glad you like the combination of flavors…thank you. You are right, this is perfect during the summer when fresh corn is in season.

  18. Hamdzinski says:

    Looks very delicious 😍

  19. Monica says:

    Looks delicious! We’re having taco night tonight and seeing this makes me even more excited. And I’m wondering why I’ve never had quesadilla with corn and caramelized onions. Sounds so good!

  20. Yum! I love the combination of the caramelized onions and roasted corn.

  21. I love quesadillas – the fillings are endless and they are always delicious. I love the filling you’ve chosen here. They look delicious!

    • Karen says:

      You are right Amy, I think the reason quesadillas are so popular is because the fillings are endless. I’m glad you like the combination I used, thank you.

  22. Darlene says:

    I eat quesadillas often and will be sure to try this recipe! Thanks!!

  23. cheri says:

    Oh caramelized onions and cheese!!! this sounds wonderful. We love quesadillas they can make the perfect snack or meal. Love your presentation!!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your nice compliment Cheri, I’m happy you like not only the recipe but how I presented the quesadilla as well. 🙂

  24. Liz Posmyk of Bizzy Lizzy's Good Things says:

    Totally yummy!

  25. sippitysup says:

    It does put me in the fiesta mood. GREG

  26. Michelle says:

    Nice. I used to make black bean and corn quesadillas all the time. Thanks for reminding me to put those back in the rotation!

  27. Pam says:

    Perfect, easy and delicious! You know how to do it, Karen! Kudos to you for a great Cinco de Mayo with gorgeous flowers and delicious food! Cheers!

  28. Eha says:

    Hopeless I am !! Have never had a quesadilla to the best of my knowledge! But get the idea!! And ‘thank you’ for being one of three to remind of the 5th of May importance in Mexico! Some red faces, I am afraid . . . more and more I do think that we may all speak variations of the same language but that geography oft makes us think on a different parallel . . .

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eha, It doesn’t really surprise me that you’ve never had a quesadilla knowing where you have lived over the years. There are so many good versions to try from simple to ever so fancy…hope you get to try one some day.

  29. doreen@foxdenrd says:

    Roasted corn makes everything better. Sort of like bacon :).

  30. Jane says:

    This sounds heavenly, Karen! I’m not a big fan of corn in my salsa and Mexican dishes, but roasted? I like that!

    Thanks for a great recipe!

    Jane x

  31. lulu says:

    I wouldn’t resist these for a second! I love all the things that you can put between tortillas and call it a quesadilla.

  32. lifeincharente says:

    Yum yum that does sound good, something quite different. Have a good day Diane

  33. Cecilia says:

    I admit I am a quesadilla monster, I collect and cook all possible variations of it, this recipe will be made this weekend. Thanks!

  34. Our corn season is just beginning and I can’t think of a better way to enjoy it! Charred with melty cheese and caramelized onions these quesadillas are fabulous!

  35. Marigene says:

    I want you to know I made this for supper last night and it was delicious! Thanks for sharing, Karen.
    Have a great weekend.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you very much Marigene, for taking the time to let me know that you made and enjoyed the quesadillas…that is very kind of you. Sorry to have responded so late, I’ve been traveling.

  36. This recipe looks great and just what I am looking for on my new diet!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Kelli, You are in my thoughts and I hope you are feeling much better. I’m happy to know that this recipe can fit into your new diet. Thank care my friend.

  37. chef mimi says:

    This looks oozy good! Corn is such a lovely thing, and who can resist quesadillas?!!!

  38. Eva Taylor says:

    The grilled corn really makes it; I recently hosted a Mexican-themed dinner party and made a couple of courses with grilled corn as the ingredient and boy did it make a difference! I had a quesadilla from a famous burrito place on Friday, it was supposed to be vegetables but it was vegetable (like one measly green pepper), your recipe sure tops that for sure!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Eva, You are right, grilling corn definitely adds lots of flavor and I’m glad you like this version of a quesadilla. Too bad the one you had recently wasn’t very good.

  39. mjskit says:

    Quesadillas make a great lunch and this one is so simple, that it would be easy to throw it together. I can see making it for a lazy dinner as well. A quesadilla that would be a big hit in this house. Thanks Karen!

  40. Norma Chang says:

    I am getting ready to sit down for breakfast and would love to have your quesadilla instead of the oatmeal I prepared.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Norma, A quesadilla for breakfast…absolutely. I’ve been know to have enchiladas for breakfast when on vacation in Mexico. 😀

  41. Un delicioso desayuno muy tentador y sabroso ,abrazos Karen.

    • Karen says:

      You gave me a smile Rosita, you are the second person who thinks the quesadilla would make a good breakfast. Me alegro de que te guste la receta, gracias.

  42. Tricia Buice says:

    We adore the cheesiness of a good quesadilla and love your grilled corn version. We had carnitas yesterday and I bet they would make a good quesadilla too. Have a great week!

  43. Wow! That’s a delicious looking quesadilla! One of my go to foods!

  44. NativeNM says:

    You had my attention at quesadilla!! The roasted corn and caramelized onion sounds delicious between two tortillas with melted cheese. I feel the coastal presence with the beautiful flowers which is lovely!

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your kind words Jan, as you make such delicious southwestern dishes yourself. Thank you for your lovely compliment and I’m happy to know you like the presentation.

  45. Oh yes! I haven’t cooked these in ages. Thanks for the divine gooey reminder ..yum!

  46. 2 Sisters Recipes says:

    HI Karen! We love quesadillas and made a different version on Friday! However, we can’t wait to try this recipe! Thanks again!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Anna and Liz, I do hope you enjoy the quesadilla recipe if you get a chance to make it. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  47. I tend to think of quesadillas as an appetizer. You opened my eyes! A “grilled cheese sandwich” and soup would be a great lunch. The caramelized corn is one of those genius additions. Gracias, Karen.

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your lovely compliment Rosemary, thank you. Yes, not too much difference between a quesadilla and a grilled cheese in my mind. I’m glad you like my version. 🙂

  48. Cocoa & Lavender says:

    Lovely, Karen – and perfect for those of us in the Southwest. Good choice on the ChiChi’s tortillas – we used them often back East! Nowadays, we get them made fresh at the farmers market and I feel so lucky!

    • Karen says:

      Oh to have your freshly made tortillas for this recipe David. I think ChiChi’s flour and corn variety is a good option for those of us who can’t get fresh. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  49. Maureen | Orgasmic Chef says:

    Roasted corn and caramelized onions together sound fantastic but when you pop it into a quesadilla – it turns to magic. I really love this idea!

    • Karen says:

      I’m glad you like my idea Maureen, we thought the combination made for a good tasting quesadilla. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  50. Juliana says:

    The quesadilla looks delicious…and I am loving the idea of charred corns…so much flavor!
    I hope you had a fabulous Cinco de Mayo!

  51. Sweetcorn is one of my favourite veg, love the sound of it roasted in these quesadillas.

  52. eliotthecat says:

    I love these combinations!!!!!!

    • Karen says:

      I’m glad you like my combination of roasted corn and caramelized onions Debra, it did make for a good tasting quesadilla. Thank you.

  53. Yes, this quesadilla does look like a grilled cheese sandwich (‘on steroids’)- just my kind of food!

  54. dawnyucuiscooking says:

    We love quesadilla at our house. This recipe sounds wonderful. I love the roasted corn.

  55. Mary Frances says:

    mmmm. I love quesadillas but I honestly love most food 🙂 I love to put goat cheese in mine, along with cheddar. I know its not very traditional but it gives it such a nice pop of flavor, I am obsessed!

    • Karen says:

      Hi Mary Frances, I really like the idea of adding goat cheese for extra flavor. As far as not being very traditional, I don’t think this recipe is either. 😀

  56. Karen, these quesadillas are filled with everything I love…..corn, cheese and caramelized onions. I must make these for lunch this weekend! 🙂

    • Karen says:

      Hi Anne, If you had a chance to try the quesadilla recipe, I hope you enjoyed it as much as we did. Thank you for your lovely compliment.

  57. adina says:

    I don’t know much about Mexican food but I do know and love quesadila. Yours look fantastic.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Adina, If my memory serves me correct, you live in Germany. In all my travels there, I don’t believe I’ve ever come across a Mexican restaurant. I appreciate your nice compliment about the quesadilla, thank you.

  58. I know I can’t resist your version of this dish, Karen! Yum.

  59. Karen says:

    Thank you Ksenia, for your compliment. I’m happy to know that my version of a quesadilla sounds good to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

