Arugula Chicken Salad With Mango, Blueberries, Pistachios And A Honey Lime Dressing

Arugula Chicken Salad With Mango, Blueberries, And Pistachios tossed with a honey lime dressing is absolutely delicious but best of all its heathy. Quick and easy to prepare, it could become one of your favorite main dish salads with its combination of sweet, savory, salty and crunchy goodness. The freshly grated ginger in the honey lime dressing adds a little zing and is the perfect complement to all the amazing fresh flavors in this light yet filling salad.

Arugula Chicken Salad With Mango, Blueberries, Pistachios And A Honey Lime Dressing

You might not think of a salad for your evening meal but this one is too good to just serve for lunch. The roasted chicken breast used in this recipe can either be made at home or you can use a store bought rotisserie chicken or even several thick slices of roasted chicken from your neighborhood deli. For an almost instant dinner, just buy some already shelled pistachios, a ripe mango, a carton of blueberries and a bag of pre-washed arugula. Once you are home and in your kitchen, your meal will be just minutes from being on the table.

The honey lime dressing is also easy to prepare. Honey, fresh lime juice and a little oil are quickly mixed together with some freshly grated ginger and then seasoned with a little salt,  and pepper…it couldn’t be simpler.

Arugula Chicken Salad With Mango, Blueberries, Pistachios 

Serves 2, adjust the recipe accordingly

  • 1 6 oz. package pre-washed baby arugula, about 6 cups
  • 2 c. cubed rotisserie chicken
  • 1 mango, peeled and cubed
  • 1/2 pint container fresh blueberries
  • 1/2 c. shelled pistachios

Toss the salad greens with the chicken, mango, and blueberries. Add the dressing and gently toss again and plate. Sprinkle the pistachios on top and serve.

Honey Lime Dressing

  • 3 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 2 – 3 Tbsp. fresh lime juice
  • 1 tsp. honey, more or less
  • 1 Tbsp. freshly grated ginger
  • salt and pepper to taste

Whisk all the ingredients of the dressing together to emulsify. Taste and adjust the seasoning, if necessary, and set aside until ready to use.

****

If you are trying to eat a little healthier or want to lose a pound or two, think about having this salad as a main meal. Roasted chicken with sweet mangos and blueberries along with the added crunch of pistachios makes for a light but filling meal. My husband, who usually grumbles if I say I’m making a salad for our dinner, not only loved it but went back for seconds. Once you serve this salad to your family, I have a feeling they will be wanting you to make it again and again. Enjoy!

P.S. I want to thank all my loyal followers who have left so many wonderful comments, wishes and encouragement about my health. I can’t tell you how much it has meant to me and I’ve very grateful.

 

 

About Karen

I travel the back roads of New England and beyond, sharing great food and interesting places.
This entry was posted in food, lifestyle, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

63 Responses to Arugula Chicken Salad With Mango, Blueberries, Pistachios And A Honey Lime Dressing

  1. Now that is a salad! 😉

  2. That sounds absolutely divine! I am going to try it for dinner tonight! Thank you for all the fantastic recipes!

  3. Love this type of salad. chicken tastes especially good this way.

  4. This is definitely my kind of salad, Karen. Sweet tangy salad dressing goes really well with bitter arugula..and I too love to add lots of fruit in my salad too. Excellent!

  5. reg45 says:

    Great recipe which I will try this weekend. I have come to the conclusion that store bought rotisserie chicken is the only way to go for many recipes. Aside from time saving, its more economical than using my oven, the results are consistent and I don’t have to heat up the kitchen.

    • Karen says:

      I appreciate your compliment Reg and couldn’t agree more about store bought rotisserie chickens. I hope you will enjoy the salad as much as my husband and I did.

  6. What a gorgeous salad, Karen! Lovely combination of flavours and textures.

  7. Penny says:

    We are having roast chicken tonight, so I am going to use the leftovers to make this simple salad. It sounds scrumptious. So glad you are doing well Karen.

    • Karen says:

      Hi Penny, I think your leftover roasted chicken will be perfect in this salad. Thank you for your nice compliment and wish, I do feel like I’m getting better.

  8. It sounds great, Karen. Thanks for sharing.

  9. flavorsofthesun says:

    I actually gasped when I read the name of this recipe. It sounds absolutely wonderful.

  10. kitchenriffs says:

    During the warm weather months we have a main course salad for dinner several times a week. Great way to eat lighter and enjoy seasonal produce and fruits. Love fruit in salads, so this would be perfect for us. That dressing looks wonderful, BTW. Thanks!

    • Karen says:

      I think this is a perfect warm weather meal John, I’m glad you like it. You are right about the dressing, it really enhances the fruit flavors in the salad. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  11. Ingrid says:

    This dressing sounds yummy … I’m on a roll these days with a honey mustard dressing, and know I’ll need to change it up soon.

  12. Shelba Jean Carroll says:

    Karen, love your recipes and adventures! Shelba

  13. Gerlinde says:

    When I get home from my trip I will try your delicious salad, it will help me with loosing some the weight I am gaining here in France.

    • Karen says:

      Enjoy your time in France Gerlinde. You are right about the salad helping shed a few pounds after traveling. I’ll have the same problem after our trip to Europe but eating all the delicious food is too hard to resist…especially French food. 🙂

  14. Madonna says:

    This salad sounds delish. I like the idea of the lime as the acid in the dressing, it lightens the dressing and sounds so refreshing in our hot weather.

  15. Karen says:

    Thank you for your nice compliment Madonna. You are right about the lime, it is a perfect match for the fruit…we thought the salad was delicious.

  16. Gary Lum says:

    Fabulous Karen! It’s the last day of winter here. I found mangoes from the Top End of Australia last week after the first harvest was brought forward. It made me so happy to eat a mango salad in winter.

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for your kind words Gary, this was a delicious salad. The mangoes are plentiful here in Florida this time of the year…I’ve been using a lot of them.

  17. lulu says:

    You can imagine that anything with blueberries in it sounds good to us right now as they are still abundant.

  18. That sounds so tempting, Karen! I am not surprised you husband went back for seconds. I have never heard of Arugula, though. I wonder if any other green salad leaves can be used.

  19. Karen says:

    Thank you Fatima, for your lovely compliment…I’m happy to know you like the recipe. You probably know arugula by another name, it tends to be called rocket in your part of the world. If it isn’t available, I think the salad would be good with other greens as well.

  20. Larry says:

    Glad to see you back Karen

  21. This looks so fresh and yummy!😍

  22. This sounds so delicious.

  23. Eha says:

    *huge smile* Have been unpacking my month’s on-line food shopping for the last couple of hours. You would not believe I have everything in your salad and I eat those as ‘main meals’ – mine usually at lunchtime – all around the year! Even have blueberries on special – they are normally beyond the pale cost-wise here in Australia. Delightful but simple recipe which will probably be on the plate tomorrow with the single difference that working from home I do cook my own chicken, usually steaming it . . . .

  24. Liz Posmyk of Bizzy Lizzy's Good Things says:

    Love this idea, Karen. So delicious, and so simple!

  25. Thanks to our CSA we have a main course salad for dinner a few times during the summer. with the greens we receive. My favorite is arugula salads! That dressing sounds divine. Glad you are feeling better. 😁

  26. Love fruit and nuts in a salad. It looks absolutely delicious Karen!

  27. Diane says:

    Love Aragula that we call rocket! sound the perfect dish to me. Take care Diane

  28. Love salad dinners with fruit, sounds yummy and satisfying.

  29. Delicious looking recipe and something I could actually make. Thank you. 🙂 Hope things are going well for you.

  30. What a colorful plate, love it, Karen!

  31. Such enticing flavour combinations in this salad – thanks for sharing!

  32. We enjoy a good salad for dinner at least once a week. The honey lime dressing sounds so inviting on this fresh and flavor packed recipe!

  33. Hi Karen .. it sounds delicious. I’m a huge fan of fruit in salad. I wonder if this would by yummy with watermelon?

  34. David says:

    This looks delicious, Karen, and seems the perfect summer dinner. Love the use of fruit with the chicken!

  35. I can literally taste the dressing while reading it Karen! Totally making this, thank you! ♥

  36. What a great salad. Thanks for sharing!

  37. chef mimi says:

    A beautiful salad! And to think people can’t make their own lunches at home! So silly!

  38. sippitysup says:

    I agree. So many tastes and textures on the plate I could be happy poking around this plate all evening. GREG

  39. Eva Taylor says:

    Salads are commonplace in my house, serving a hot portion over greens like spinach is a wonderful contrast in flavours and textures as the heat from the hot portion slightly wilts the greens. Even using zucchini noodles instead of actual pasta seems lighter and healthier. The flavours you have combined sound mouth watering and I’d have it a couple of times a week for sure. Not only does it sound delicious, but it looks wonderful too. Glad things are working out for you.

  40. Such a delicious salad for lunch or a fast and fresh dinner!

  41. Wow, this looks good! I might get side-tracked and go for eating all the blueberries and mango fruit- they are my favorite!

  42. ZazaCook says:

    I absolutely love salads like this! Have a great weekend, Karen:)

  43. mjskit says:

    Fabulous little salad. With the chicken, this is definitely the kind of salad Bobby and I can make a meal out of. Thanks!

  44. love this salad look absolutely delicious Karen !
    how are you doing ?
    hugs !

  45. What a gorgeous meal! I have a feeling I’d have to grill a chicken breast for the hubby, but your salad is exactly the kind of meal I enjoy!

  46. Debra says:

    I have been enjoying a very similar salad recipe this summer, but I like your dressing recipe much better than mine. And the grated ginger is a very nice touch. I copied mine from a local restaurant that added in feta cheese and candied pecans. I didn’t feel I needed the cheese and I eliminated the pecans, but it was still extremely tasty. I think adding in a few pistachios would be worth the few extra calories. A little goes a long way! 🙂

  47. This is our kind of salad ! LOve all the ingredients in it and it’s a healthy meal all alone! Hope you had a great summer! Have a good week!
    Xo Anna

  48. For the Love of Cooking says:

    I am loving everything about this salad. It looks wonderful!

Leave a Reply

