Post Hotel Lermoos

The Post Hotel in the small village of Lermoos, Austria seems to have it all…beautiful rooms, delicious food  and spectacular views of the Zugspitze. It also has a wonderful spa and is one of Austria’s Best Wellness hotels. You can enjoy relaxing therapies as well as beautiful scenery and that is what keeps my husband and I returning to this lovely hotel.

View Of The Zugspitze From The Hotel Post Lermoos
View Of The Zugspitze From The Hotel Post Lermoos

The hotel began as a post office in the center of Lermoos in 1560 and became an inn in 1702. In 2006, the hotel was completely rebuilt into the four star superior hotel that you see today.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

Decorated in a sophisticated yet casual country house style, the hotel and its employees make you feel welcome the minute you walk through the front door.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

After checking in at reception, we headed up to our beautiful room. This year we had a junior suite with a view of the Zugspitze that was quite lovely. It had a kingsize bed, a comfortable seating area, a large flat screen TV, and a small table and bench next to a tiled heater for cold nights. The large bathroom had double sinks, a bathtub and walk in shower and separate toilet.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

After unpacking, it was time to head down to the hotel lobby. There is a nice bar and a separate smoking lounge, if you are so inclined. Next we always head out onto the terrace at the back of the hotel to enjoy the  breathtaking scenery.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

If it is a nice day, a light lunch or a slice of Sacher torte at one of the dining tables on the terrace is delightful. If it is cool, you can snuggle in one of the fur lined chairs next to one of the fireplace heaters that line the terrace.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

The afternoon is a great time to head down to the wellness center. You are provided with a bag, bathrobe and slippers for the spa. There is both an indoor and outdoor pool that are connected with a glass door that you can swim through and a whirlpool. 

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

In the spa area there is an herbal steam bath, brine bath, aroma bath, bio sauna, Tyrolean sauna, ice cave, cold water plunge and relaxation rooms. There is even a separate family area with a steam bath and sauna. The beauty spa has all kind of treatments, scrubs, baths and massages available.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

In the evening, it is time to head down to the bar for an before dinner cocktail and then on to dinner. The price of your room includes full board which is a full breakfast, a light lunch, cakes in the afternoon and in the evening you are served a six course gourmet meal. The wine cellar, overseen by sommelier Markus Saletz, has been voted one of the best in Austria. Markus has remembered us each time we have visited the hotel and always recommends a wonderful wine to go along with what we have ordered for dinner.

Click on any photo to enlarge and see a slide show.

After a good night’s sleep, it is a pleasure to awake to the wonderful views of the mountains and plan you day’s adventures. Within an hours drive of the hotel, you can cross the border into Bavaria and visit the beautiful pilgrimage church of Wies, Ludwig’s famous Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Palace outside of Fussen, Garmisch-Partennkirchen, and the storybook villages of Oberammergau and Mittenwald.

****

Sun Setting At The End Of A Wonderful Day
Sun Setting At The End Of A Wonderful Day

Whenever we travel to Austria, I believe the Hotel Post in Lermoos will always be one of our stops. The countryside is beautiful and the hotel leaves nothing to be desired.

Posted by

I travel the back roads of the world, sharing great food and interesting places and enjoyable pastimes.

81 thoughts on “Post Hotel Lermoos

    1. Sorry to be answering your comment late Marcelle, just home from our trip. We keep returning to the Post Hotel for all the reasons you mentioned…absolutely wonderful.

    1. We are just home from our trip and a slice of sacher torte would be very nice as I catch up on all the comments. Thank you for following along, Julie.

      1. Just wish I’d made my way to that suitcase of yours!! Hang in there as you come back to reality– the Christmas following our return home late October the time we’d gone to Austria– I decided to order a sacher torte from the hotel sacher– it was to be my son’s birthday cake for his 23rd bday– needless to say– he was unimpressed 😎

      1. Heading for knee repair (no surprise!) surgery on Tuesday, so that is why I have worked so hard here in my gardens for the past month.
        25 here this AM, so no more growing season for me…now only to rake up the crape myrtle leaves and winter can slow my chores for a few months.
        I so enjoy your posts…
        Happy Holidays! Diane

      2. Thank you! Let’s both pray for a snowless winter here in VA…my knee needs a break!

  1. Love the sunny and cheerful exterior color of the hotel. It is breakfast time and I would be happy to break all rules and have a selection of dessert. Thanks again for a beautiful tour.

    1. Hi Norma, I’m just catching up with comments now that we have returned home. I’m with you, I’d like a bite of dessert this morning as well…the Post Hotel in Lermoos had some delicious ones. 🙂

    1. Thank you Sumith, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos from our stay in Lermoos. Sorry that it has taken awhile to answer, we just gotten home and I’m catching up on comments.

    1. Thank you Rosemary, for your nice compliment. We’ve just returned home and I’m catching up on comments. It is hard to resist the beautiful countryside that surrounds the Post Hotel in Lermoos.

  2. Oh wow – this looks unbelievable. The hotel, the room, views are just amazing. I would love to be sitting out on that terrace enjoying a Sacher torte and admiring that unbelievable view with my family. Thanks for sharing.

    1. Hi Monica, We just returned home and I’m catching up on comments. I wish I was back on that terrace enjoying a piece of Sacher torte and the view of the Zugspitze right now.

    1. Hi Summer, We’ve just returned home and I want to go back there now too. Back to reality though so I’m catching up with comments, thank you for yours.

  3. Oh wow, I’ve never been to Austria, and clearly I need to add it to the top of my ‘Places to Visit’ list, because it is GORGEOUS! Your hotel in Lermoos is so charming and the views are stunning! Thank you so much for sharing! Cheers!

    1. Sorry to be answering your comment late Cheyanne, we’ve just returned home from our trip. You definitely should put Austria on the top of your list. I’m glad you enjoyed the post, now I’ve given you even more choices. 🙂

    1. Hi Deb, I do hope you get a chance to visit someday, we keep going back because the area and hotels really are amazing. The Post hotel is one of our favorites. We’ve just returned home…sorry it has taken awhile to answer your comment.

    1. Hi Angie, Just returned home and I’m catching up on comments. Aren’t the views of the Zugspitze wonderful from the hotel…it is almost in their backyard.

  4. Wowzers, the view is getting better and better at each hotel. I’m not jealous at all of these amzing hotels one after the other. Really need to rethink my holidays from now on.

    1. Hi David, I’m just catching up on answering comments now that we are home. This year’s hotels were simply the best. My husband said he could do the exact same trip again they were all so good. Perhaps someday you will visit some of them. 🙂

  5. I see why you keep returning! What an amazing hotel and breathtaking scenery. The food I’m sure is delicious and to wake up with that view. Thanks for sharing the tour………..
    Happy November.

    1. Hi Emily, Just returned home and catching up on comments. Don’t you just love the view of the Zugspitze. The Post is one of our favorite hotels and yes, the food is delicious.

  6. Delighted that it is still called Post Hotel as it brings back the memories. It looks a fabulous place and food is so inviting. Diane

  7. That really does look wonderful Karen! I believe I have driven along the famous mountain passes there, but never stopped at Lermoos. Fantastic views from your hotel room and the terraces. 🙂

  8. Remember this from your previous trips! You will forgive me for a smile that Sacher Torte and six-course degustation meals are served in a ‘Wellness’ hotel . . . . well, one’s mood would certainly be that afterwards 🙂 ! As you know this is not my preferred part of the world, but, after many years would like to walk thru’ Linderhof again and see whether I would still feel the old charm of yesteryear . . .

  9. this place looks so wonderful. and you have to have a piece of sachertorte of course. we had it actually from the Hotel Sacher when we were in vienna years ago. ah the memories!

  10. Wow, a place that turns bed pillows into sculptures- I must go there! I went to Oberammergau in 1970 and saw the passion play that is performed every 10 years. Hmmm, the next play there will be in 2020- maybe I should return after 50 years!

  11. I hadn’t visited recently and had forgotten what wonderful places you visit. As I read down your description I kept thinking that is exactly where I would like to be right now.

  12. Karen, what a gorgeous and fantastic place! The views, the ambiance and the food all look fantastic! Thank you so much for sharing this lovely tour! 🙂

  13. What a beautiful spot to relax, take in a breathtaking view, eat fabulous food, and enjoy a day in the spa! I have been to Austria only once, but I should return! Thanks for sharing! Pam @ Everyday Living

  14. Hi There, Thanks for visiting my blog. Please come back anytime…

    Loved reading some of your blog posts. What awesome areas you are/have visited….Love your slideshows –and all of the gorgeous photos….Relaxation is what we all need at times….Would love being there. Thanks again. Hugs, Betsy

  15. Everyone I’ve ever known who has visited Austria, speaks of it fondly and with awe, and for years following! I can see you had an incredible experience. Stunning views, and the cuisine is a work of art!

  16. Wow – that looks just fantastic, Karen. As you know, it is one of my favorite areas of the globe, and a view of the Zugspitze? Ausgezeichnet! The ceramic stove in the hotel dining room is beautiful, and I imagine a welcome bot of warmth in the winter!

Leave a comment