Hotel Nesslerhof, Grossarl, Austria

Hotel Nesslerhof in Grossarl, Austria is less than fifty miles south of Salzburg yet it is surprising that most tourist have never heard about either the hotel or this village in the southern part of Salzburgerland. The small Austrian village and hotel seem to be a well guarded secret except among Austrians and their neighbors from Switzerland and Germany who visit seeking outdoor adventures or just want to relax and enjoy Hotel Nesslerhof’s amenities and its highly rated wellness spa.

Click on any photo in article to enlarge and see a slide show.

Grossarl is located at three thousand feet above sea level in one of Austria’s most beautiful mountain valleys near the Hohe Tauern National Park which is the country’s largest national park. Visitors travel to this alpine region to enjoy its unspoiled natural beauty…hiking and cycling during the spring, summer and fall and then skiing in the winter.

The Nesslerhof is a four star superior hotel owned and managed by the Neudegger family, Hermann and Tina, who are always present and very helpful. Hermann, owner and former chef, oversees a team who are behind the wonderful culinary creations that feature Austrian cuisine based on local products. Tina, his wife and partner, runs the front of the house operation as well as marketing. She is also the sommelier and introduced us to some fine Austria wines during our stay. We had a chance to chat with each of them and they are a genuinely friendly couple and made us feel comfortable and welcomed from the beginning to the end of our stay at the Nesslerhof.

The bright and modern alpine hotel has a contemporary style and is decorated with natural stone and wood from the region. The large open rooms are furnished with a blend of traditional and modern furniture all covered in fine fabrics. Large glass windows provide wonderful views of the great outdoors and let in lots of natural light throughout the hotel. The modern hotel has a stylish sense of sophistication without loosing any of its Austrian charm. There is also a touch of whimsy which can be found in the fun artwork in various areas of the dining rooms.

The hotel has 71 very comfortable rooms and suites. We reserved the Suite Weitblick, one of the new, spacious suites on the top floor with breathtaking views of the mountains through a large wall of floor to ceiling windows. The amazing room was done in light woods with contemporary lighting and furniture. It had a kingsize bed, fireplace, sitting area, an open bathroom with a rain shower, bathtub, double sinks, its own combination of infrared/sauna cabin and a separate toilet with its own sink. There was a wonderful loggia where you could relax and enjoy the splendid views of the snow capped mountains and the hotel’s beautiful gardens.

After a long day of outdoor activities or touring, it is nice to come back to the hotel’s  extensive wellness complex with indoor and outdoor pools, a spa with panoramic views of the outdoor gardens and surrounding mountains as well as a gym. My husband and I had a couples massage twice during our stay…probably the best we have ever had. The hotel also has a delightful terrace that can be reached by stairs from the spa area where you can go in your bathrobe to sit and enjoy a snack while admiring the surrounding view of the mountains.

Each evening, we would head down to the bar for an apéritif then on to the dining room for our evening meal. You could start with selections from the buffet, then order an excellent five course dinner from the menu. There was always an option to choose a seafood dish, a vegetarian dish as well as delicious Austrian specialties. Each and every item the kitchen served, was imaginative and featured products from the region.

****

Hohe Tauern National Park

Although my husband and I are not outdoor adventurers, we are enchanted with the beautiful mountain landscapes of Austria, the charming village of Grossarl and the Hotel Nesslerhof was a nice discovery. This area with its green mountains topped  with glistening white peaks is a destination that we hope to return to, it is nature at its finest. With very good mountain roads leading  into this alpine valley of lush  pastures, the Nesslerhof makes a good base for day trips. You might want to visit the beautiful lake town of  Zell am See and then drive the famous Grossglockner Road in the heart of the Hohe Tauern National Park, both very memorable outings.

Our stay at the Nesslerhof was one of the highlights of our European trip last year. The region is beautiful, the hotel and its staff were wonderful and the food was delicious, what more could one ask for.

 

Posted by

I travel the back roads of the world, sharing great food and interesting places and enjoyable pastimes.

169 thoughts on “Hotel Nesslerhof, Grossarl, Austria

  1. You always find these little gems, and this one is no exception, it is outstanding. From the spacious rooms to the awesome views. The food looks delicious too.

    1. Hi Eva, I do months of research to find these hotels and the Nesslerhof is one we hope to return to in the future. We loved everything about it.

    1. Hi Sandra, Thank you for stopping by for a visit. The hotel, located in truly a beautiful part of Austria, was a very relaxing place to stay.

  2. What an amazing place – in the photographs it has an aspect of hidden village to it, even though, it’s obviously set up for visitors. The food looks fantastic too, I’m sure you know I’d like the crispy suckling pig!

    1. Hi Mad Dog, If you look at a map your statement isn’t that far off. We are so happy that we discovered Grossarl. Yes, I know you would like the crispy suckling pig. 😀

  3. Such terrific pictures! And what a neat hotel — just lovely. Thanks for introducing this to us — you’re right, a part of the world that’s totally unknown to me.

    1. Hi Deb, I’m glad that you enjoyed the post and that it brought back memories of your time spent in Austria. I do hope you get a chance to return, I know you would love it.

    1. You are welcome Gerlinde, I’m always delighted to supply you with ideas for when you are in Europe. I’ll have a couple more for you soon. 🙂

    1. Thank you Darlene. Honestly the photos of Austria really can’t do justice to how it looks when you see it in person. It is what keeps drawing us back.

  4. I don’t think I would venture out once checked in, such a beautiful place and the amenities sound quite amazing, beautiful countryside too. Enjoy reading about your travels, very well written. Happy New Year Karen!

    1. Thank you for your kind words and wish Cheri, they are much appreciated. You are right, the amenities and food do make you want to stay. 🙂

    1. Hi Judi, The food was so good, we were pleased with everything the kitchen presented. You would love Austria if you ever got the chance to visit.

  5. Somewhere I really want to go to, not that far but it would have to be in summer!! Winter and our health do not go together!! Lovely post Diane

    1. Hi Diane, You are right about Austria not being that far away. I would love to visit in the summer but we usually take our trips in the fall as it is easier to book flights then.

  6. You always find the best places Karen! That hotel looks fabulous. We drove along that Grossglockner route years ago and it was quite stunning. Hope you get to visit that region again one day – the mountains/Alps have something addictive about them don’t you think? 🙂

    1. Thank you Cathy, for your nice compliment and wish. I really do hope we get a chance to go back. You are correct about the Alps having an addictive affect, they are so beautiful.

  7. Oh, how beautiful! What time of the year did you go? We are planning a trip in 2019. I will be keeping this place in mind. Thanks for sharing!

    1. Hi Marcellina, I’m glad you enjoyed the post. We usually plan our trips to Europe between September and October. We were at the Nesslerhof the last week of September and the weather was very nice.

    1. Hi Debs, Thank you for stopping by for a visit and your nice compliment. I think you would enjoy the Nesslerhof. If you are thinking of Austria, I have written quite a few posts about it over the years…just type in Austria in my search box for other parts of the country you might want to visit as well.

    1. Hi Pam, I’m always happy to take you along on my adventures. I’ll be sharing a new one tomorrow. Thank you as always for your kind words.

    1. The Nesslerhof was a great discovery, Lisa…it was perfect in every way. We have been fortunate in finding these wonderful family owned hotels, in our country most hotels are owned by big corporations. I’ll be sharing another tomorrow.

  8. Salzburg being my favourite town in Austria, already for its glorious ever-present music, I have been to the valley and wandered around a time or two in the National Park. A truly beautiful part of the country. Like this choice of yours better than any of the previous as there really is an Austrian feeling of ‘gemütlichkeit’ around the place and even with food some attempt seems to have been made to present the local and seasonal . . . love the bed being so close to the window and the views one can enjoy upon waking . . .

  9. Oh, I love Austria! And this hotel looks magnificent, Karen! Talk about rooms with a view, these are it, the Alps! I would go back to Austria in a minute, a gorgeous place to visit! Thanks for the info and awesome photos!

  10. Lovely, Karen! I think I’d very much enjoy staying with a family-owned and operated hotel with the opportunity to visit and get to know the proprietors. Beautiful! The cuisine is a work of art, too. 🙂

    1. Thank you Debra, We really did enjoy the opportunity to meet with Hermann and Tina. They were gracious hosts and it was fun learning about their family and hotel. We loved every aspect of our visit at the Nesslerhof.

  11. I love the organic design of the Biosauna! And the food looks delicious! I want to try making the stuffed chicken breast – it is so pretty and looks quite tasty, too!

  12. i can’t even think about austria without the sound of music coming to mind, and that alone is enough to make me want to go and sight-see! gorgeous pictures!

    1. Hi Grace, I think that you and half the world are the same way…Austria and the Sound of Music will always be linked. 🙂 Thank you for your nice compliment about the photos.

    1. Thank you for your lovely compliment Lesley, I’m glad that you enjoyed the photos. Yes, I think we all need to try and see this beautiful world of ours when we can.

  13. This looks like a gorgeous place to relax – the wellness area looks fantastic and I love that it is so close to Salzburg!

    1. Hi Miriam, I agree, the Nesslerhof has a lot going for it. It is a perfect place to relax yet is so close to Salzburg that it makes a nice base for exploring.

  14. This lovely destination is going on my bucket list! I’ve been after my husband to take me to Austria for years – we had hoped to go this past fall but life happened. This is what my dreams are made of!

    1. Hi Tricia, I do think you would enjoy a visit. Life does get in the way of our travels sometimes but I do hope that you get a chance to get to Austria. If you make plans, I’ll be happy to make suggestions.

    1. Hi Amanda, I do hope you get a chance to travel to Austria someday…it is not that far of a trip for your. Thank you for your lovely compliment, I’m glad you enjoyed the photos.

    1. It was my pleasure Amy, I’m glad you liked the post about the Nesslerhof. I do hope you get a chance to visit someday, I know you would enjoy it.

    1. Thank you Linda, I work for months on our trips trying to find the real gems that have not really been discovered by the tourists yet. The Nesslerhof was indeed a winner.

  15. Pretty amazing the places you stay! Do you make photo books after..you would have a phenomenal collection!I bet the pastries were divine;)
    You are wonderful world travelers together.

    1. I really appreciate your kind words about the photos from our travels Monique, they are very much appreciated. I haven’t made any photo books of our travels and I’m thinking that you are right. Especially, since the only place they are stored is on my computer and this blog. Thank you!

  16. Karen, what a delightful post. Your travels are amazing. It is always nice to get another’s perspective and recommendation. We are looking to take my mom on a River boat cruise. Have you even gone on one? I keep viking brochures.

    1. Thank you for your nice compliment Linda. I haven’t been on a river boat cruise but my son and lots of our friends have and they love them. If there was on complaint, it was that the food could have been better…hope that helps.

    1. Thank you Jenna, I’m glad that you like to follow along on our adventures. I do months of research to try and find special places and hotels to visit and so far it has really paid off.

    1. Isn’t Austria just beautiful Nancy, it is what makes us keep returning. Thank you for your nice compliment about the photos, it is much appreciated.

  17. What a beautiful place! We are hoping to visit Austria someday with my husband…this would be the perfect place to stop and rest up after a day of adventure. Thank you for sharing!

  18. Austria is a beautiful country. The landscape is stunning. Several years ago we enjoyed Christmas and a skiing adventure in Salzburg. This was a great post. Really enjoyed it.

    Happy new Year to you.

    Velva

    1. Thank you for your nice compliment Velva, I’m glad you enjoyed the post. We spent two Christmases in Austria and you are right about Austria and the city of Salzburg, we loved its Christmas markets.

  19. Karen, what a wonderful trip this must have been. The hotel is awesome with the spa and wellness complex but the views are stunning! For me, when I travel I always look for hotels with views. The views stay etched in my mind! Love your travel posts, takes me away………

    1. Thank you for your kind words Emily, it makes me happy to know that you enjoy my travel posts. You can’t believe how stunning the views are in person, a camera just can’t capture the grandeur of it all.

    1. Hi Fran, The Nesslerhof sounds like the perfect hotel for your to visit. There are wonderful walks that you can take right from the hotel.

    1. Hi Debra, I loved the spa at the Nesslerhof, probably one of the most comfortable and enjoyable I’ve been to. Thank you for your nice compliment about the photos, I’m glad you enjoyed them.

  20. These are amazing vistas Karen! You captured everything so beautifully, I feel like I was there too. Which gift to this stay at home mom of a special needs little boy who will likely not be heading that way any time soon. But a girl can dream. 🙂 Thanks for this lovely oasis in my week! xo

    1. Thank you Mimi, I am glad that you enjoyed my photos and I agree with you, the views were stunning. Actually my camera doesn’t do justice to how stunning the area really is.

Leave a comment